Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Christmas Lights on December 11, 2013, 02:37:19 PM

Title: The Christmas Gift ideas thread
Post by: Christmas Lights on December 11, 2013, 02:37:19 PM
Its that time of the year where we are all struggling to think of gift ideas for family and friends so maybe we can all help each other out here in this thread.

Any suggestions for a pregnant wife as I'm fresh out of ideas...

On another note, see below link for gift set from boots that was £50 and now selling for £16 online.

http://www.boots.com/en/Elizabeth-Arden-Eight-Hour-Cream-Winter-Essentials-Kit_1380493/ (http://www.boots.com/en/Elizabeth-Arden-Eight-Hour-Cream-Winter-Essentials-Kit_1380493/)

Maybe we can all help each other out with bargains and gift ideas like the one above  ;D
Title: Re: The Christmas Gift ideas thread
Post by: Olly on December 11, 2013, 03:03:59 PM
Gift for a pregant women - some kind of book to get them to shred the excess pounds after birth - like a army-style boot camp one where she gets the message like that 'lose the pounds or else' type of thing.

Other gifts for minorities like pregnant women would be appreciated:

.bald men
.people with nervous dispositions
.people from the west of Ireland
.women with bulbousness in their eyes.
Post by: seafoid on December 11, 2013, 03:15:17 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on December 11, 2013, 02:37:19 PM
Its that time of the year where we are all struggling to think of gift ideas for family and friends so maybe we can all help each other out here in this thread.

Any suggestions for a pregnant wife as I'm fresh out of ideas...

On another note, see below link for gift set from boots that was £50 and now selling for £16 online.

http://www.boots.com/en/Elizabeth-Arden-Eight-Hour-Cream-Winter-Essentials-Kit_1380493/ (http://www.boots.com/en/Elizabeth-Arden-Eight-Hour-Cream-Winter-Essentials-Kit_1380493/)

Maybe we can all help each other out with bargains and gift ideas like the one above  ;D
Does she like cooking when she is not pregnant?

This book is the dog's bollocks (pan roasted)

http://www.bookshop.kennys.ie/book/UK/9780747599777/The_Flavour_Thesaurus
Post by: CD on December 11, 2013, 03:30:45 PM
Lads - I have it on good authority (from herself) that 'Pearls are all in this year.' 

Other notions - a nice quality leather handbag, scarf and glove set, leather gloves.

Also suggest the novelty bedroom slippers - they always go down a treat here.

Beyond that, I'm at a complete loss myself. I'd usually do the nice weekend away, concert tickets, running gear, massage vouchers and clothing but as Mrs CD is in a similar condition to Mrs CL, I'm having to go out of my comfort zone!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 11, 2013, 03:54:00 PM
Quote from: CD on December 11, 2013, 03:30:45 PM
Lads - I have it on good authority (from herself) that 'Pearls are all in this year.' 

Other notions - a nice quality leather handbag, scarf and glove set, leather gloves.

Beyond that, I'm at a complete loss myself. I'd usually do the nice weekend away, concert tickets, running gear, massage vouchers and clothing but as Mrs CD is in a similar condition to Mrs CL, I'm having to go out of my comfort zone!

Getting women a cook book is like getting them a book on diet's, or how to look good in larger clothes, a treadmill, Ironing board, a washing machine ffs!! They'll hate it.

I never buy jewelry but they love that and perfume, though let them pick it or look at what they have in there bag, buying them clothes are a big no no and unless you've seen the bag they want then forget it, they'll bring it back at best or at worst leave it at the bottom of their wardrobe and you'll not even notice lol.

Post by: Cold tea on December 11, 2013, 04:21:46 PM
Quote from: Olly on December 11, 2013, 03:03:59 PM
Gift for a pregant women - some kind of book to get them to shred the excess pounds after birth - like a army-style boot camp one where she gets the message like that 'lose the pounds or else' type of thing.

Other gifts for minorities like pregnant women would be appreciated:

.bald men
.people with nervous dispositions
.people from the west of Ireland
.women with bulbousness in their eyes.

Referring to yourself.  :)
Post by: laoislad on December 11, 2013, 04:22:19 PM
Quote from: CD on December 11, 2013, 03:30:45 PM

Mrs LL is also in the same  condition. Is there something in the boards water supply?

Anyway this year she will be getting same as she does every year. .money.
She can then go buy whatever she wants herself.
Is it rosemantic? No but does she get a Christmas present she actually wants? Yes because she can go buy whatever she needs herself. It's a win win situation as far as I'm concerned. I haven't time or the energy or the interest in trying to think of something new every year.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 11, 2013, 04:24:40 PM
I'm sending my better half away skiing for the weekend.

Just so happens to coincide with Superbowl weekend  ;D
Post by: Under Lights on December 11, 2013, 04:28:07 PM
Ugg slippers are suppose to be the in thing. However they could set you back £70. I was on the ball and got them off a guy that gets these things imported. Charged me £25. Nice.

Also you won't go wrong with the eye shadow Urban Decay Naked Pallet 2. £30 in Debenhams but shop around and you should get it for £25.

Converse trainers are always a winner and gaagle/canterbury tracksuit bottoms. £32.00 on o'neills.

Cecila Ahern's new book is out. £7 in most places.

Post by: laoislad on December 11, 2013, 04:30:10 PM
Runners and tracksuits bottoms.... do you live in Tallaght by any chance?
Post by: Under Lights on December 11, 2013, 04:30:20 PM
What would you all consider to be the last date for ordering online? I am getting stuff delivered to work but we finish on the 20th. Gonna try and be safe and not order anything online after today (or else have to put in different delivery address)
Post by: Under Lights on December 11, 2013, 04:34:50 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 11, 2013, 04:30:10 PM
Runners and tracksuits bottoms.... do you live in Tallaght by any chance?

I can't say I understand this reference. Explain.

The new gaagles are nice for women

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ1lgfYh8hYEv4iqfmickgRLAazaadOTtV6IfXocXXJ2lgubPH5 (https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ1lgfYh8hYEv4iqfmickgRLAazaadOTtV6IfXocXXJ2lgubPH5)
Post by: CD on December 11, 2013, 04:40:13 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on December 11, 2013, 04:30:20 PM
What would you all consider to be the last date for ordering online? I am getting stuff delivered to work but we finish on the 20th. Gonna try and be safe and not order anything online after today (or else have to put in different delivery address)

I ordered from Amazon on 9th Evening and it arrived today! Pretty impressive. I also posted Christmas cards at 1pm on Monday and they arrived next morning! Second class too!
Post by: Under Lights on December 11, 2013, 04:43:42 PM
This time last year my wife received a Christmas card from her uncle in England. He always had £20 in it. The envelope landed through our door open. No money inside. The uncle was contacted and he did indeed send the money. Dunno if when they were robbing us they didn't just scrap the card totally.

Also two ipods that were ordered as gifts were left outside the porch in the rain. Not under the porch like.

Post by: offtheground on December 11, 2013, 04:48:17 PM
Braun electric tootbrush for £15...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B003U9V7LE/ref=pe_385721_37986871_TE_item (http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B003U9V7LE/ref=pe_385721_37986871_TE_item)

If she's delighted with it, tell you want her to get you of these in the Jan sales;

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B003E44TBK/ref=dp_olp_new?ie=UTF8&condition=new&qid=1386758397&sr=1-1 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B003E44TBK/ref=dp_olp_new?ie=UTF8&condition=new&qid=1386758397&sr=1-1)

Post by: Fuzzman on December 11, 2013, 04:53:32 PM
I can't remember that brand name it was but a friend of mine recommended a great pregnancy stretch mark cream. It was about €40 I think but she loved it and it worked well.
I would never have dreamt of buying her this but she was very grateful for it.
Post by: CD on December 11, 2013, 04:58:24 PM
Quote from: offtheground on December 11, 2013, 04:48:17 PM
Braun electric tootbrush for £15...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B003U9V7LE/ref=pe_385721_37986871_TE_item (http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B003U9V7LE/ref=pe_385721_37986871_TE_item)

If she's delighted with it, tell you want her to get you of these in the Jan sales;

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B003E44TBK/ref=dp_olp_new?ie=UTF8&condition=new&qid=1386758397&sr=1-1 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B003E44TBK/ref=dp_olp_new?ie=UTF8&condition=new&qid=1386758397&sr=1-1)

Love the review of it!!

The second I saw this beauty on Amazon I knew I had to have it. I mean I only have to take out another mortgage on the house to afford it, but what's another 20 years worth of debt?

Sadly my wife disagrees and after purchasing the item she insisted that I returned it. Unfortunately I had misplaced the receipt, lost my job and am living on the street.

I was going to give it 1 star for ruining my life, but thankfully it came in a rather large box, which I'm currently using the house myself in. So I'll give it an extra star for that.
Post by: Under Lights on December 11, 2013, 05:05:11 PM
He must be camped outside McDonalds using the free wifi.
Post by: Bingo on December 11, 2013, 05:13:00 PM
The father in law bought the mother in law a Clothes line one year, no joke, and it was very welcome. He a good traditional man, great man in fairness.

LL has it spot on. I've asked and get told the standard list - clothes, jewellery, creams/potions, etc. Sure thats  as wide as its long! I've suggested i'll throw her a few quid, she can buy herself or wait for the sales.

I'll provide a few token pressies for the day - a book, CD, DVD and the like.
Post by: Christmas Lights on December 11, 2013, 05:26:31 PM
Giving your significant other money for Christmas is just plain lazy.  You need to put in some effort IMO
Post by: laoislad on December 11, 2013, 05:29:44 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on December 11, 2013, 05:26:31 PM
Giving your significant other money for Christmas is just plain lazy.  You need to put in some effort IMO
Nonsense.
You're right in fairness it is lazy but it works!
I don't go anywhere near a shopping centre from start of December to middle of January. Too many people to annoy me in in those places at this time of the year.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 11, 2013, 09:45:18 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 11, 2013, 05:13:00 PM
The father in law bought the mother in law a Clothes line one year, no joke, and it was very welcome. He a good traditional man, great man in fairness.

LL has it spot on. I've asked and get told the standard list - clothes, jewellery, creams/potions, etc. Sure thats  as wide as its long! I've suggested i'll throw her a few quid, she can buy herself or wait for the sales.

I'll provide a few token pressies for the day - a book, CD, DVD and the like.
The missus bought her own present this year. She saw it in a one day sale when there was 20% off. I chose well when I got her  :D
Post by: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2013, 10:22:18 PM
How do you give the woman the money. Is it note in a brief case, a wad of cash tied in an elastic band, perhaps pile of 2c coins in a bank bag or do your romantically write her a cheque on Christmas morning. Genuinely interested to know how the transaction takes place.

I've bought nothing yet - panic is starting to set in am I am afraid I might end up buying the Fellaini fella from Man Utd.
Post by: laoislad on December 11, 2013, 10:31:05 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2013, 10:22:18 PM
How do you give the woman the money. Is it note in a brief case, a wad of cash tied in an elastic band, perhaps pile of 2c coins in a bank bag or do your romantically write her a cheque on Christmas morning. Genuinely interested to know how the transaction takes place.

I've bought nothing yet - panic is starting to set in am I am afraid I might end up buying the Fellaini fella from Man Utd.
I give her my Visa debit and tell her not to go too mad with it.
In fairness to me I do drop her up to the shopping centre and collect her when she's done.
I'm good like that.
Post by: Under Lights on December 12, 2013, 08:13:18 AM
Lolz at the Fellaini dig  :) :) :)

Giving money is a complete cop out.  Terrible form. Even if you were to get them something small as a surprise.
Sure why not just say- 'I'll give you the money and you can go to the January sales'. I feel sorry for your women.

But all is not lost. This very thread will help you out.
(https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR64gnhc-uoHTTI5g0DwQfjZFTV5yGHAqfbQSNuL_ci49pbKTcJ)
Post by: laoislad on December 12, 2013, 09:05:20 AM
Quote from: Under Lights on December 12, 2013, 08:13:18 AM
Lolz at the Fellaini dig  :) :) :)

Giving money is a complete cop out.  Terrible form. Even if you were to get them something small as a surprise.
Sure why not just say- 'I'll give you the money and you can go to the January sales'. I feel sorry for your women.
Nonsense.
My wife is very lucky to have me and I tell her that on a regular basis.
Post by: J OGorman on December 12, 2013, 09:18:19 AM
I started a tradition a few years back of giving the wife a photo album  containing photos of the year just past...she loves it. Has a laugh and wee cry in equal measures and it travels around with us when visiting family and relatives.
I stumbled across beauty stuff whilst doing a last minute shop a couple of years ago in Debenhams called 'Origins'..you can buy as few or as many items as you need and they gift wrap it...body lotions and the like. She absolutely loves it. Not the cheapest though
I always wrap a box of dishwasher tablets or non-bio too for the craic

Post by: Under Lights on December 12, 2013, 10:02:54 AM
I'm a real delight at Christmas.
Post by: Bingo on December 12, 2013, 10:06:53 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on December 12, 2013, 09:18:19 AM
I started a tradition a few years back of giving the wife a photo album  containing photos of the year just past...she loves it. Has a laugh and wee cry in equal measures and it travels around with us when visiting family and relatives.
I stumbled across beauty stuff whilst doing a last minute shop a couple of years ago in Debenhams called 'Origins'..you can buy as few or as many items as you need and they gift wrap it...body lotions and the like. She absolutely loves it. Not the cheapest though

BURN HIM  >:(  >:(
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 12, 2013, 10:07:13 AM
Quote from: laoislad on December 11, 2013, 10:31:05 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 11, 2013, 10:22:18 PM

I give her my Visa debit and tell her not to go too mad with it.
In fairness to me I do drop her up to the shopping centre and collect her when she's done.
I'm good like that.

Thought she'd be the type to like it left on the bedside table.......... ;)
Post by: laoislad on December 12, 2013, 10:17:59 AM
Christ I'd say people love ye when they see you coming with yer photos  ;)
I remember one Christmas we had a couple over who were just recently married. What did they bring with them only their Wedding DVD and photos.
I've never even watched my own wedding dvd ffs why would I want to watch someone else's  ::)
2 and half hours sitting through that muck and then we had to look at a few hundred photos. Never invited them back again.
Post by: clarshack on December 12, 2013, 10:20:32 AM
Quote from: Under Lights on December 11, 2013, 04:43:42 PM
This time last year my wife received a Christmas card from her uncle in England. He always had £20 in it. The envelope landed through our door open. No money inside. The uncle was contacted and he did indeed send the money. Dunno if when they were robbing us they didn't just scrap the card totally.

Also two ipods that were ordered as gifts were left outside the porch in the rain. Not under the porch like.

received a couple of letters in the post recently that had been opened. fortunately there had been nothing valuable inside them.
just shows that this sort of thing is still rife.
Post by: Bingo on December 12, 2013, 10:21:01 AM
Quote from: laoislad on December 12, 2013, 10:17:59 AM
I remember one Christmas we had a couple over who were just recently married. What did they bring with them only their Wedding DVD and photos.
I've never even watched my own wedding dvd ffs why would I want to watch someone else's  ::)
2 and half hours sitting through that muck and then we had to look at a few hundred photos. Never invited them back again.

But you told me you enjoyed the DVD and photos? And when we call, you tell us that you've "cowboy builders in" and its not ready for guests?  :(
Post by: J OGorman on December 12, 2013, 10:43:47 AM

good craic, I know what you mean. Mon and watch us in Bundoran, its only 6 hours of footage! I hand over the pics, thats my job done. My ma and motherlaw like going through them with a wee Eggnog or 2
Post by: moysider on December 12, 2013, 11:38:08 AM

I m married so long it's on tape!

Like you I ve never seen it. Almost 20 years now anyway and a lot of the guests are now at the great banquet in the sky. Wouldn t have the heart to watch it now.
Post by: take_yer_points on December 12, 2013, 12:10:03 PM

I just did that exact thing this morning - ordered online. Hoping it'll get there in time as it says it takes a few days to put together.
Post by: Under Lights on December 12, 2013, 12:52:17 PM
My wife done something similar for her mother. We had our first child this year, and it' the first grandchild on their side, so the album full of photos of the wee doll.
She's 10 months old now and getting the following from Santa:
V Tech Walker
Raa Raa the Lion doll
A Furreal Walking Cat
A real Goldfish (bought the tank couple of months back)

Post by: Under Lights on December 12, 2013, 03:40:53 PM
Thought this was very good

http://www.stuff.tv/christmas-2013/christmas-gift-guide-2013-every-brilliant-gift-so-far/feature (http://www.stuff.tv/christmas-2013/christmas-gift-guide-2013-every-brilliant-gift-so-far/feature)