Quote from: theticklemister on June 16, 2025, 08:15:06 PMHere's one......
A ref blows a whistle, and realizes it's a mistake. For example, blows a free thinking the fella was inside the arc and received the ball from a kickout, but he was wrong and he was outside. He realizes his mistake and tells everyone he made a mistake.
He still gives the free against the team because he said he made a decision and has to stick to it.
Is this correct?
Yes and no
Common sense tells the ref to get the keeper to retake the the kick or give a hop ball.. but if a ref has indicated a free and given it, then by rule book must carry on..
Different if the ref blows for an obvious free for one team and mistakenly raises hand the other way, but waves it back straight away