GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: cornetto on July 18, 2017, 02:44:24 PM

Title: Galway v donegal
Post by: cornetto on July 18, 2017, 02:44:24 PM
Does not seem to be any great interest in this game from both sets of supporters,as a galway man all's I want to see is them be competetive,if they bow out well and good.It has the makings of a good game,the positioning of Michael Murphy will be crucial good god the thought of him in the forward line,against our dodgy backline! The prize for a win for galway is kerry.A donegal win would give them ross/kerry.
Title: Re: Galway v donegal
Post by: seafoid on July 18, 2017, 04:20:22 PM
This is a big game for Kevin Walsh. 2 very bad defeats in 2016 and this year don't look good on the CV
Post by: BluestackBoy on July 18, 2017, 04:48:15 PM
 I think there will be a good enough support there from Donegal. We saw glimmers of progress against Meath & will be hoping for another step forward for this young team against Galway.

Mind you if Donegal do beat Galway we will be waiting for the QF draw with bated breath, Kerry or Roscommon.......
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 18, 2017, 04:49:26 PM
It's hard to be confident going into it given the manner of the Roscommon defeat, comprehensively beaten both on the pitch and on the sideline on the 9th.
Galway haven't played well in either of their championship clashes against Mayo or Roscommon, will there be any kick in them at all this summer? Galway also haven't scored a goal in 4 games since the Down match on the 26th of March either, no chance on Saturday if that isn't rectified.
This match will be like a home game for Donegal in terms of supporter numbers as well.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 18, 2017, 04:54:35 PM
Absolutely zero chat about this game in Galway. I think many have lost faith in the team again to be honest and with festival season in full swing and the hurlers having a semi-final coming up they have fallen down the list of attractions this month. To be honest even if they were to somehow get over Donegal I think many are already fearing the booby prize of a hiding from Kerry in the quarter-finals.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2017, 04:59:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 18, 2017, 04:20:22 PM
This is a big game for Kevin Walsh. 2 very bad defeats in 2016 and this year don't look good on the CV
And on the other hand a win against Mayo and Connacht title won 2016 and this year a win against Mayo and Div one promotion gained looks good on his CV.

I think this will be a similar game to the Meath v Donegal contest and it might even need extra time to separate the two.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 18, 2017, 06:58:18 PM
Given what happened the last day I've barely thought about the game, its certainly dampened my enthusiasm for it.
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2017, 07:48:46 PM
Will that mindset extend to players and management I wonder?
Post by: Syferus on July 18, 2017, 08:02:17 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2017, 07:48:46 PM
Will that mindset extend to players and management I wonder?

If Galway copy us last year they're going to turn up for this one in a catatonic state.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 18, 2017, 09:31:18 PM
Don't know what to think about this game to be honest, there's been so much hype about this team being on the up that they were never going to live up to it anyway but they really made a show of themselves against Roscommon, you'd hope that, along with the criticism after the Tipperary game last year, would be enough to motivate them to give a performance but I don't know. They're so flaky and unpredictable. I hear talk that Bernard Power is going to be in goal but I still wouldn't be surprised to see Lavelle there when the team is named. Based on current form I'd be going with Power to be honest, Ruairi is a better shot stopper but he doesn't have the presence in goal now, he's too slow to kick out, takes the wrong option and he doesn't organise his defence if he sees gaps in front of him. Having seen Power in action for Corofin in the 2 rounds of club championship played so far he's been assured at all times, he's roaring at his backs to get back in position if needed, he picks the player in space if he's going short and crucially he has a spare ball beside the goal ready for the kick out straight away, the length the kick outs took the last day was crazy. I'll be travelling more in hope than expectation but hopefully they'll go out and put some pride back in the jersey anyway.
Post by: galwayman on July 18, 2017, 10:32:40 PM
Who knows what to expect from this Galway team.
Consistency is not something they tend to bring to the table.
We were desperately poor in the Connacht final & if this game were played last weekend I think we'd have had very little chance.
We're capable of winning it but I don't think we will in all honesty.
I'm totally deflated after the last game and I'm only a supporter.
Not sure how the lads will react to it but you would imagine if you were involved in a team that put in a performance like that you'd be out to show you're a lot better than that.
Like I said though you never know what you're going to get with this team.
We do have a chance of winning but a lot depends on the intensity the players bring to the party on saturday.
Post by: cornetto on July 19, 2017, 12:12:45 AM
A piece from peter mc eniff former donegal manager.

McEniff View: Galway is a good draw and a game we can win
First of all Donegal are a Division One side and albeit Galway will play in Division One next season, they have been playing in the second division for the last few years.
As we saw last weekend against Roscommon, Galway may not be as good as they are cracked up to be.
They have shortcomings in the half and full-back lines and I feel we have forwards who, if given room, will cause problems.
I know we only scraped past Meath, but I felt we were the better team and I think we proved that the way we recovered when Meath went one up late on.
Ryan McHugh showed the leadership and after a few below par performances, he finished strong and was back to his best.
I was also impressed with Mark McHugh, too, when he came on. But overall I thought we had recovered from the Ulster semi-final defeat by Tyrone.
And I expect them to be even better in next weekend's game.
Caolan Ward and Eoghan Bán Gallagher have settled into the defence and the other boys at the back, Neil McGee, Paddy McGrath, Frank McGlynn and Ryan McHugh, have a wealth experience and are all playing well.
We have been doing well in midfield supplemented by Michael Murphy and Patrick McBrearty had a great game up front. He scored seven points including the late winner.

Seven points is a big score in a championship game and it is good to see Patrick coming into form; it could not be more timely.
The other big advantage we have is that we have two games in the QualifIers played and have the momentum.
Galway are having their first outing in the Qualifiers after losing to Roscommon by nine points. That is a right good trimming and there will be psychological damage done by that defeat to Roscommon.

Post by: seafoid on July 19, 2017, 01:07:31 AM
Donegal are a work in progress and a good bit off 2014 standard. A lot will depend on Galway's attitude. System collapse is a psychological thing . You would imagine that they would be motivated to perform and see how good they are against Kerry. 
Post by: magpie seanie on July 19, 2017, 09:05:36 AM
All Ireland U21C hurling final Sligo v Donegal as curtain raiser. Huge involvement from my club. Sligo will be underdogs though I'd imagine. Get there early.
Post by: BluestackBoy on July 19, 2017, 09:42:10 AM
Quote from: cornetto on July 19, 2017, 12:12:45 AM
A piece from peter mc eniff former donegal manager.

McEniff View: Galway is a good draw and a game we can win
First of all Donegal are a Division One side and albeit Galway will play in Division One next season, they have been playing in the second division for the last few years.
As we saw last weekend against Roscommon, Galway may not be as good as they are cracked up to be.
They have shortcomings in the half and full-back lines and I feel we have forwards who, if given room, will cause problems.
I know we only scraped past Meath, but I felt we were the better team and I think we proved that the way we recovered when Meath went one up late on.
Ryan McHugh showed the leadership and after a few below par performances, he finished strong and was back to his best.
I was also impressed with Mark McHugh, too, when he came on. But overall I thought we had recovered from the Ulster semi-final defeat by Tyrone.
And I expect them to be even better in next weekend's game.
Caolan Ward and Eoghan Bán Gallagher have settled into the defence and the other boys at the back, Neil McGee, Paddy McGrath, Frank McGlynn and Ryan McHugh, have a wealth experience and are all playing well.
We have been doing well in midfield supplemented by Michael Murphy and Patrick McBrearty had a great game up front. He scored seven points including the late winner.

Seven points is a big score in a championship game and it is good to see Patrick coming into form; it could not be more timely.
The other big advantage we have is that we have two games in the QualifIers played and have the momentum.
Galway are having their first outing in the Qualifiers after losing to Roscommon by nine points. That is a right good trimming and there will be psychological damage done by that defeat to Roscommon.

Peter McEniff?????
Post by: cornetto on July 19, 2017, 02:18:41 PM
It's going to be like a home game for donegal 8,000 tickets already,just checked the capacity there it is 18,000.how many will travel from galway 4,000 that's pushing it!!
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 19, 2017, 02:42:56 PM
There isn't a notion of 4000 Galway people being there.
Post by: Syferus on July 19, 2017, 02:49:53 PM
400 would be much closer.
Post by: cornetto on July 20, 2017, 08:11:46 AM
M.breheny independent sport.

The cold, hard facts of life for Connacht final losers leave Galway footballers facing a massive psychological challenge as they prepare for Saturday's qualifier clash with Donegal in Markievicz Park.
It won't be much easier for Leinster runners-up Kildare as they look ahead to their meeting with Armagh on Saturday week.

Beaten Connacht finalists have the worst record of any province in Round 4 qualifiers; winning only three of 16 games since the back-door championship format was introduced in 2001.

All four provincial finals produced big wins, which adds to the pressure on the losers as they bid to relaunch their All-Ireland ambitions.

Galway's case is especially acute, since unlike Cork, Kildare and Down, they were overwhelming favourites to win the Connacht final.

However, they were blitzed by Roscommon who won by nine points in what was Galway's biggest Connacht final defeat since losing to Mayo by 16 points.
"A big defeat like that takes it out of you," added Joyce.
"However hard you try, you're going to be down in the dumps for a week or so. It leaves only a few days to get right for the qualifier game against a team that has a few wins behind them.

"They have a different mindset, having recovered from the provincial quarter-final or semi-final defeat," said Joyce.

Galway manager Kevin Walsh will be looking for a similar response from his squad. Joyce was as puzzled as the rest of Galway by the poor performance against Roscommon but suspects that the aftermath of beating Mayo for a second successive year could have been a factor.

"Most people thought after the Mayo game that Galway would win the Connacht final, especially after the way they beat Roscommon last year. That can get through to players however hard they try to ignore it," said Joyce.

Despite that big setback, he believes that Galway could beat Donegal if they play to their full capabilities.
"That's the big question. Will they be able to put the Roscommon game behind them and get back to their best? Inconsistency has been an issue for Galway, not just over the last year or two, but for ten years. Most people think Donegal will beat them but that's the very time they could turn it on," said Joyce.

"Apart from the disappointment of losing and the knock to your confidence, you're coming up against a team with a few wins. They're thinking that if you lost your last game, you can lose the next one too," said Joyce.
"It's even worse when you're coming off a big defeat. Donegal will be looking at Galway and saying, 'if that's what happened them against Roscommon, why should we have any fears, especially since we beat them in the qualifiers before?'

"Galway have to put all that out of their minds and get back to the positive mindset that helped them beat Mayo for the last two years. If they do, they have a great chance,"

Ryan agrees that how players react mentally is crucial to their prospects after a provincial final defeat.
"In Galway's case, they had a very good year up to the Roscommon game, winning promotion to Division 1 and beating Mayo," he said.

"They'll be thinking, 'we were on the right lines, everything can't have gone from us in one game, what have we learned from the Connacht final and how will be make it count?' That will be very important for them."

Donegal have beaten Galway in their last three championship clashes.
Post by: Rossfan on July 20, 2017, 10:15:45 AM
I see we still have the narrative "Galway were awful" .......
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 20, 2017, 10:20:31 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 20, 2017, 10:15:45 AM

Fast forward to the week leading up to your next game and the narrative will be Roscommon were brilliant.

Galway were awful.
Post by: rosnarun on July 20, 2017, 10:31:07 AM
if there is anything in this galway team This is the match they will have to produce it in.
Donegal are equally flaky anf the the hammering by tyrone must have been a severe reality check
but even if doneegal lose they have some where to go from here .
for Galway it could be Rip it up and start again time
Galway by 4 points
Post by: Syferus on July 20, 2017, 12:25:08 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 20, 2017, 10:20:31 AM

Fast forward to the week leading up to your next game and the narrative will be Roscommon were brilliant.

Galway were awful.

Roscommon will be underdogs unless by some miracle Cork beat Mayo, so you really scored an own goal with that response.

The usual narrative is when a big favourite lose it's because they underperformed rather than them being prevented performing. It's lazy journalism, punditry and supporter commentary but no one should be taking it seriously in the first place.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 20, 2017, 01:37:46 PM

Well they were awful. It's hard to gloss over it.

It's not liked they played well and just got beat or played OK and lost. They were septic.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 20, 2017, 03:33:01 PM

Galway haven't played well in either championship game to date imo, didn't play that great in the Connacht semi-final but had some good individual performances on the day allied to Mayo not being able to capitalise due to their own on-going issues in terms of uneven performances, Aidan O'Shea not being fit to start, being down to 14 men for a lot of the match etc.

Galway were worse again in the Connacht final and definitely the fantastic Roscommon performance contributed to this as Galway weren't let play. I'm not a fan of the narrative that Galway took Roscommon for granted, the Rossies had done their homework on the weaknesses (which Galway did little to rectify in the interim) that were shown in the Mayo match,  hit them in the jaw the first 15 minutes and a Galway response wasn't to be found.

I don't think anyone is trying to (nor should they) take credit away from Roscommon by saying Galway were awful, it's just a statement of fact.
Post by: Rossfan on July 20, 2017, 03:40:38 PM
Ye Galway lads mightn't but the Brehenys and the rest of the media are.
Then again they were over estimating Galway in the first place.
Will ye're players be able to re focus or will they remain shell shocked and disillusioned?
Post by: seafoid on July 20, 2017, 03:58:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 20, 2017, 12:25:08 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 20, 2017, 10:20:31 AM

Galway were awful.

Roscommon will be underdogs unless by some miracle Cork beat Mayo, so you really scored an own goal with that response.

The usual narrative is when a big favourite lose it's because they underperformed rather than them being prevented performing. It's lazy journalism, punditry and supporter commentary but no one should be taking it seriously in the first place.
Mayo will probably tank Roscommon for lèse-majesté.
You can take Ros out of Connacht (every decade or so) but you can't take Connacht out of Ros.
Post by: Jinxy on July 20, 2017, 08:19:22 PM
Galway are a busted flush, and you can take that to the bank.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 21, 2017, 07:57:10 AM
This sort of thing happens with Kevin Walsh. When he's replaced by a proper intercounty manager Galway will be decent. The new managerial selection is critical for Galway.
Post by: mouview on July 21, 2017, 11:47:20 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 21, 2017, 07:57:10 AM
This sort of thing happens with Kevin Walsh. When he's replaced by a proper intercounty manager Galway will be decent. The new managerial selection is critical for Galway.

Ain't that simple. Walsh's problems have been the same as his many predecessors all the way since '01. Lack of good players - simple as. We haven't had a decent CB since Mannion; midfield has usually been poor and inconsistent. I've often said it - there are no great defenders in Galway football anymore.

Hard to call the Donegal match; as it gets closer, optimism is returning to Galway fans but hope is the last thing to die in a person anyway they say. It could be a tight match with Galway scraping home, or Donegal could take a look at our defence and decide to go to town on it again. Maybe, just maybe, the changes that the dogs in the street are barking about might just give Galway the impetus to get there. We'll be so bad v Kerry in the next round that we'll confuse them into submission!
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2017, 12:06:12 PM
One of the people on the Ulster Final thread said this about Down and it applies equally to Galway :

"Lesser teams (and we are one) find it hard to keep going for 70 minutes with full energy and determination when things look bleak."

Galway don't have that experience yet.
Dara O Sé had a good article in the Irish Times :

"When it comes to the white heat of the championship, keeping cool under extreme pressure and taking the right option becomes a rare skill. Only a select few possess that.

Sometimes, it's better to just stand back, take a deep breath and do a few simple things – make a pass, make a run to try and play your way back into the game. But even that takes composure."

They are better than the last day. Donegal are also trying to build a team.
Post by: dlgael on July 22, 2017, 07:32:29 AM
Hoping for a Donegal win but hoping is the height of it. We are a mixed bag and haven't had a good 70 mins yet. Kickoff strategy is vital as we'll probably need to play around midfield rather than through it. We need Murphy, Ryan McHugh and Frank McGlynn to put in big performances and we're in with a shout. Safe travels to all. Ádh mór orainn.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 09:14:47 AM
Time for the Fancy Dans to see that there is more to Championship football than beating Mayo!
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 09:56:09 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 09:14:47 AM
Time for the Fancy Dans to see that there is more to Championship football than beating Mayo!
Beating Mayo seems to reach the parts that other matches don't. 
Or maybe it''s like the end of Gladiator. The effort required is just too much

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=12iorWj83P0
Post by: cornetto on July 22, 2017, 12:00:43 PM
Galway could have a surprise starter today in Ian Burke,I suppose there is no time like the present,that would bring to four the changes from roscommon, power,Burke,Armstrong,sice/steede.
Will it be enough let's hope so!!!
Post by: Manning18 on July 22, 2017, 12:52:46 PM
Do you actually know the team or are you just taking the piss over on HS? Who loses out?
Post by: cornetto on July 22, 2017, 01:52:42 PM
Steede will lose out,will more than likely come on at some stage.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 22, 2017, 02:26:33 PM
Quote from: cornetto on July 22, 2017, 12:00:43 PM
Galway could have a surprise starter today in Ian Burke,I suppose there is no time like the present,that would bring to four the changes from roscommon, power,Burke,Armstrong,sice/steede.
Will it be enough let's hope so!!!
Did Burke play any league or championship match for Galway this year? Sice and Armstrong back no surprise but both aren't the future for Galway. Power is another accident waiting to happen.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 22, 2017, 03:40:33 PM
Team as per the programme:

1. Lavelle
2. Kerin
3. Kyne
4. Sweeney
5. O'Donnell
6. Bradshaw
7. Silke
8. Conroy
9. Heaney
10. Flynn
11. Daly
12. Brannigan
13. Cummins
14. Comer
15. Walsh
Post by: Manning18 on July 22, 2017, 03:42:14 PM
Quote from: cornetto on July 22, 2017, 01:52:42 PM

Which players are dropped for the 3 outfielders coming in?
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 04:29:24 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on July 22, 2017, 03:42:14 PM

Team the last day

Ruairi Lavelle; Cathal Sweeney, Declan Kyne, Eoghan Kerin; Gary O'Donnell, Gareth Bradshaw, Liam Silke; Fiontan O Curraoin, Paul Conroy; Thomas Flynn, Michael Daly, Johnny Heaney; Eamonn Brannigan, Damien Comer, Shane Walsh.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 04:37:00 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 04:29:24 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on July 22, 2017, 03:42:14 PM

Team the last day

Ruairi Lavelle; Cathal Sweeney, Declan Kyne, Eoghan Kerin; Gary O'Donnell, Gareth Bradshaw, Liam Silke; Fiontan O Curraoin, Paul Conroy; Thomas Flynn, Michael Daly, Johnny Heaney; Eamonn Brannigan, Damien Comer, Shane Walsh.

Cummins  for O Curraoin the only change if the program team lines out as selected.  Flynn,Conroy midfield with Heaney a sweeper again?
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 04:44:16 PM
Maybe Galway should use under 12 tactics and get a big lad to kick the ball out.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 06:49:19 PM
Is this match starting at 7pm or will be delayed?
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 22, 2017, 06:51:51 PM
Delayed to 7.15
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 07:13:18 PM
3 changes Galway - Power in goal; Armstrong in for Brannigan; Burke in for Cummins
Post by: illdecide on July 22, 2017, 07:30:22 PM
Anyone got a link up for the match
Post by: mick999 on July 22, 2017, 07:33:22 PM
be sure and have an adblocker :

http://cricfree.sc/sky-sports-arena-live-stream
Post by: omagh_gael on July 22, 2017, 07:42:05 PM
Galway make big move in 2md quarter now 4 up
Post by: Aughafad on July 22, 2017, 07:46:05 PM
Will the real Galway please stand up
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 07:48:08 PM
Donegal look stuck to the floor, a side that used up all of their energy in the league?  credit to Galway though well up for this game after their disappointing Connacht final performance.  31 mins gone Galway 2-7 Donegal 0-5
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 22, 2017, 07:53:24 PM
Donegal as bad as they were against us.

How bad are Meath?
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 07:56:30 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 22, 2017, 07:53:24 PM

How bad are Meath?

How good are Roscommon?
Post by: weareros on July 22, 2017, 07:57:45 PM
Well done Galway. Exhibition first half.Connacht championship was a much higher standard than Ulster this year.
Post by: dclane on July 22, 2017, 07:58:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 07:56:30 PM

How bad are Meath?

How good are Roscommon?
They are shite.
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 07:58:11 PM
Galway are Roscommonesque this evening. The team obviously need a good therapist.
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 07:58:53 PM

How bad are Meath?
Quite bad
Post by: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 08:01:28 PM
I haven't seen Donegal as bad in a championship game since that All Ireland quarter defeat  to Mayo in 2013.  Credit to Galway though they have been very impressive. Galway 3-9  Mayo 0-7 at HT.
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 08:07:51 PM
If Galway win this there will be 3 Connacht teams in the quarter finals.
Post by: Denbobjoe on July 22, 2017, 08:13:54 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 22, 2017, 08:01:28 PM
Galway 3-9  Mayo 0-7 at HT.
Mayo had a big game recently and were too tired to play Galway tonight  ;D ;D ;D
Meanwhile Galway will have to improve to beat Galway
Half-time Galway 3-09 Galway 0-07 : source rte  ;D  ;D ;D
Post by: clarshack on July 22, 2017, 08:18:12 PM
How can Galway be so bad one day and so good the next?
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 08:20:51 PM
14 points in it now. I think I remember some of the Donegal poster wondering if Rory Gallagher was the man for Donegal.
Post by: mrdeeds on July 22, 2017, 08:21:42 PM
That could be the worst call of a black card ever.
Post by: square_ball on July 22, 2017, 08:22:02 PM
What was that black card for?
Post by: Chimley on July 22, 2017, 08:22:55 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on July 22, 2017, 08:21:42 PM

It's not going to make any difference to the result so it's not too bad from that point of view.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 08:23:59 PM
Quote from: square_ball on July 22, 2017, 08:22:02 PM
What was that black card for?

Mercy killing.
Post by: mrdeeds on July 22, 2017, 08:24:11 PM
Quote from: Chimley on July 22, 2017, 08:22:55 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on July 22, 2017, 08:21:42 PM

It's not going to make any difference to the result so it's not too bad from that point of view.

Just emphasis the disaster the black card has being.
Post by: bennydorano on July 22, 2017, 08:24:16 PM
Ref doesn't know the rules. Comer should have been black instead of yellow as well.

Some implosion by Donegal, surely a few retirements and change of manager.
Post by: square_ball on July 22, 2017, 08:25:27 PM
Since when has kicking out at someone become a black card?
Post by: Chimley on July 22, 2017, 08:25:33 PM
Donegal have imploded totally now. No subs left for these black cards.
Post by: Aughafad on July 22, 2017, 08:25:54 PM
Cheerio R Gallagher
Post by: clarshack on July 22, 2017, 08:26:42 PM
No sympathy for Murphy. He's got away with plenty in the past. The second black card actually looked like it could have been red for me.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 22, 2017, 08:27:13 PM
Time to split Galway
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2017, 08:27:25 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 22, 2017, 08:18:12 PM
How can Galway be so bad one day and so good the next?
The performances of the opposition plays a big part in it. Donegal woeful today while Roscommon were very good in the Connacht final.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 22, 2017, 08:29:08 PM
Not a nice way for a lot of these Donegal lads to end their career. Gallagher has to take a lot of blame, some of these young lads should have seen more football over the past couple of years. He's basically chucked about 7 or 8 lads into the starting team this year who have played little to no Championship football. They're an absolute mess.
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 08:29:25 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 22, 2017, 08:27:13 PM
Time to split Galway
Between Salthill and the rest of the county
Post by: Aughafad on July 22, 2017, 08:31:44 PM
Time people realised Gallagher hasn't a clue as a manager
Post by: DickyRock on July 22, 2017, 08:32:35 PM
Someone needs to give the ref a couple of the rule book. That was a harsh sending off.
Post by: clarshack on July 22, 2017, 08:34:58 PM
Joke yellow card for the Galway full back.
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 08:40:26 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 22, 2017, 08:29:08 PM
Not a nice way for a lot of these Donegal lads to end their career. Gallagher has to take a lot of blame, some of these young lads should have seen more football over the past couple of years. He's basically chucked about 7 or 8 lads into the starting team this year who have played little to no Championship football. They're an absolute mess.
Kilkenny are going through something similar. So will the Dubs
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 08:42:07 PM
Dying to hear Indiana''s view
Post by: T Fearon on July 22, 2017, 08:43:57 PM
I suppose Rory Gallagher will have the Bullfrog Blues.
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 08:51:19 PM
4 minutes extra
That is some hammering . It would make you wonder how good Tyrone are .
Post by: Aughafad on July 22, 2017, 08:52:08 PM
No it wouldn't
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 08:56:49 PM
15 points in the end. Amazing turnaround.
Post by: sid waddell on July 22, 2017, 09:07:00 PM
US president Donald Trump has asked Rory Gallagher to join his cabinet. Trump is losing staff at an alarming rate, and is quickly running out of people that have a proven ability of presiding over an utter shambles. Gallagher was an obvious choice so Trump was quickly on the case.

So much winning.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2017, 09:09:32 PM
I haven't seen Donegal as bad in a championship game since that All Ireland quarter defeat  to Mayo in 2013. 
Mayo 4-17 Donegal 1-10 was the result of that game. Donegal bounced back to back to reach the 2014 All Ireland final after that. This Donegal group are in deep transition now and won't be bouncing back anytime soon. 
Post by: dublin7 on July 22, 2017, 09:33:53 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 08:40:26 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 22, 2017, 08:29:08 PM
Kilkenny are going through something similar. So will the Dubs

Done be dragging the dubs into this. There's plenty of other threads were posters have done this to death
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 22, 2017, 09:37:10 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 22, 2017, 09:09:32 PM
I haven't seen Donegal as bad in a championship game since that All Ireland quarter defeat  to Mayo in 2013. 
Mayo 4-17 Donegal 1-10 was the result of that game. Donegal bounced back to back to reach the 2014 All Ireland final after that. This Donegal group are in deep transition now and won't be bouncing back anytime soon.

Gallagher is not Jim McGuinness, just a man on the sideline who spits a lot of water and has no clue what do!
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 22, 2017, 09:39:12 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 08:51:19 PM
4 minutes extra

It's a good train of thought. Bad formline for Ulster football. Its a quirk if Tyrone are good enough above it.
Post by: square_ball on July 22, 2017, 10:05:22 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 22, 2017, 09:39:12 PM
4 minutes extra

It's a good train of thought. Bad formline for Ulster football. Its a quirk if Tyrone are good enough above it.

Yip we've beat a team heading to division 3, a team that survived div 2 by the skin of their teeth and a Donegal side on the slide.
Post by: cornetto on July 22, 2017, 10:17:05 PM
Just leaving Sligo what a day,we're in Sligo park hotel after match, some craic team are having their meal,now they got a great welcome!!what a difference 2 weeks make!!Don't know will we be singing after kerry,but the lads are in great spirits,you would never know???
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 10:24:51 PM
Well done Galway! That's the talk! Now don't be just happy to play nice football against the Kingdom. Time to get that overdue win in Croker and who better to beat than Kerry?
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2017, 10:33:23 PM
3 Connacht teams in the last 8.
Not bad for Ireland's Gaza Strip.
Hope we can keep the ball kicked out to the mighty Rhubarbs.
Post by: tyroneman on July 22, 2017, 10:38:10 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 22, 2017, 09:39:12 PM
4 minutes extra

You can only beat what's in front of you.
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 10:52:23 PM
It was great to see Meehan getting some time on the pitch
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 11:02:15 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 10:52:23 PM

Legitimately, hope he avoids injury and finishes his playing career the way he started it!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 22, 2017, 11:03:43 PM

Absolutely.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 11:10:43 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 11:02:15 PM

Legitimately, hope he avoids injury and finishes his playing career the way he started it!

I don't mean to be a spoil-sport but Meehan has been a glorified mascot for Galway since he was added to the panel. With Armstrong out for the CF and Galway shoddy on frees the fact Meehan made no appearance spoke volumes about his role, much more than coming on in a match that had been over for 40 minutes. Apparently he's not going very well in training, but honestly that shouldn't come as any surprise given he has a bum ankle. Walsh either misled Meehan or thought his ankle had magically healed itself, I don't know which of the two scenarios make him look worse. Either way, a return for a player who was unwilling to admit his enforced retirement a few years ago was even what it was, retirement, would have been an easy sell.

I hope the best for the lad because in terms of pure talent he is one the best players I have ever witnessed and he seems a good guy to boot, but no matter what happens this is not a fitting end for a great player. I hope he goes into coaching because he has a lot to give still to the sport and that would be a more fitting finale to his story than this sideshow.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 11:18:19 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 11:10:43 PM

I don't mean to be a spoil-sport but Meehan has been a glorified mascot for Galway since he was added to the panel. With Armstrong out for the CF and Galway shoddy on frees the fact Meehan made no appearance spoke volumes about his role, much more than coming on in a match that had been over for 40 minutes. Apparently he's not going very well in training, but honestly that shouldn't come as any surprise given he has a bum ankle. Walsh either misled Meehan or thought his ankle had magically healed itself, I don't know which of the two scenarios make him look worse. Either way, a return for a player who was unwilling to admit his enforced retirement a few years ago was even what it was, retirement, would have been an easy sell.

I hope the best for the lad because in terms of pure talent he is one the best players I have every witnessed and he seems a good guy to boot, but no matter what happens this is not a fitting end for a great player. I hope he goes into coaching because he has a lot to give still to the sport and that would be a more fitting finale to his story than this sideshow.

Look, even if he does not hit top form again, It was nice for Meehan and the Galway Supporters to have a final proper goodbye!
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 11:24:17 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 22, 2017, 11:18:19 PM

I hope the best for the lad because in terms of pure talent he is one the best players I have every witnessed and he seems a good guy to boot, but no matter what happens this is not a fitting end for a great player. I hope he goes into coaching because he has a lot to give still to the sport and that would be a more fitting finale to his story than this sideshow.

Look, even if he does not hit top form again, It was nice for Meehan and the Galway Supporters to have a final proper goodbye!

All 500 of them.. :-X
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 22, 2017, 11:37:08 PM
Fair play to the Galway team response to the Roscommon debacle, can only beat what's in front of you.
Any shade being thrown on Meehan's return isn't worth a response, the man is a gent, great to see him out there.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 11:49:28 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 22, 2017, 11:37:08 PM
Fair play to the Galway team response to the Roscommon debacle, can only beat what's in front of you.
Any shade being thrown on Meehan's return isn't worth a response, the man is a gent, great to see him out there.

It would take someone being a real ass to take what I said as throwing shade on Michael Meehan.
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 22, 2017, 11:57:44 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 22, 2017, 11:49:28 PM

It would take someone being a real ass to take what I said as throwing shade on Michael Meehan.
Didn't see this as a dig at Meehan just the level of Galway support.
Post by: seafoid on July 22, 2017, 11:58:43 PM
Donegal were favourites. It wasn't the easiest way to get to the quarter final.
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2017, 12:02:37 AM
Galway are back in to 22/1 after a few weeks at 66/1
Post by: ck on July 23, 2017, 08:49:18 AM
Was at the game. Donegal were shocking. A shambles of an outfit.
Galway are best team in Connacht despite their blip against Rossies. If they can get a win in Croke they could be hard to top.
Post by: ballinaman on July 23, 2017, 09:00:19 AM
Has Gallagher resigned yet?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2017, 09:10:55 AM
Donegal have landed about 7 or 8 players into the starting team without any real Championship experience.

Look at the team yesterday - Ward, McGee, Brennan, Gallagher all started when it would have been their first year of Championship football. In addition to that they've also had Ciaran Thompson, Michael Carroll and Cian Mulligan starting Championship football this year who are in the same boat.

Kieran Gillespie saw a few appearances last year in Championship but isn't experienced at this level, even the likes of Hugh McFadden and Eoghan McHugh haven't seen much before last year so you're looking at a side where two thirds of it have been mostly unexposed to Championship football.

You have to lay the blame at Gallagher's door with this, I think some of these lads should have seen more time and been phased into the side when they had a lot of experienced players around them. Now there doesn't seem to be any real leaders on the side - Lacey and McGlynn were two magnificent players whose legs have given out, Michael Murphy looks in danger of being flogged to death, if a manager wants to play him in the middle of the pitch he simply can't expect him to be going box to box, it's simply not his game and he's not mobile enough. McBrearty is up front trying to do everything himself. They are a shambles.

Donegal could do a lot worse than Pete McGrath right now, he was able to organise Fermanagh and set them up very well defensively. I'm sure Lacey and McGlynn will now call it a day but if Donegal get MacNiallais and McLoone back in might help in some way.

There seems to be a huge age gap between the Donegal team, you have McGlynn, Lacey and McGee now over 30. Then you have the likes of Murphy, McElhinney and McGrath who were part of the u21 side which lost to Dublin in the final. Apart from that, there seems to be a massive gap in any sort of talent until you hit McBrearty and Ryan McHugh. If you look at the majority of top sides now they will nearly all have the nucleus of their team in the age group around 24-30, there's not much in Donegal there.

Post by: PW Nally on July 23, 2017, 09:25:43 AM
Quote from: square_ball on July 22, 2017, 08:25:27 PM
Deliberate trip is a black card.
GAA Black card offences are:

1 To deliberately pull down an opponent

2 To deliberately trip an opponent with hand, arm or foot

3 To deliberately body collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away or for the purpose of taking him out of the movement of play

4 To use abusive or provocative language or gestures to players

5 To remonstrate in an aggressive manner with a match official.

http://www.gaa-dna.com/gaa-talk/GAA%20-black-card-.html
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 23, 2017, 10:24:06 AM
Quote from: PW Nally on July 23, 2017, 09:25:43 AM

1 To deliberately pull down an opponent

2 To deliberately trip an opponent with hand, arm or foot

3 To deliberately body collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away or for the purpose of taking him out of the movement of play

4 To use abusive or provocative language or gestures to players

5 To remonstrate in an aggressive manner with a match official.

a kick is a RED CARD
Post by: PW Nally on July 23, 2017, 10:25:47 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 23, 2017, 10:24:06 AM
Quote from: PW Nally on July 23, 2017, 09:25:43 AM

1 To deliberately pull down an opponent

2 To deliberately trip an opponent with hand, arm or foot

3 To deliberately body collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away or for the purpose of taking him out of the movement of play

4 To use abusive or provocative language or gestures to players

5 To remonstrate in an aggressive manner with a match official.

a kick is a RED CARD
So ref made the RIGHT decision  ;D
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2017, 12:22:52 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 23, 2017, 09:10:55 AM
Donegal have landed about 7 or 8 players into the starting team without any real Championship experience.

Look at the team yesterday - Ward, McGee, Brennan, Gallagher all started when it would have been their first year of Championship football. In addition to that they've also had Ciaran Thompson, Michael Carroll and Cian Mulligan starting Championship football this year who are in the same boat.

Kieran Gillespie saw a few appearances last year in Championship but isn't experienced at this level, even the likes of Hugh McFadden and Eoghan McHugh haven't seen much before last year so you're looking at a side where two thirds of it have been mostly unexposed to Championship football.

You have to lay the blame at Gallagher's door with this, I think some of these lads should have seen more time and been phased into the side when they had a lot of experienced players around them. Now there doesn't seem to be any real leaders on the side - Lacey and McGlynn were two magnificent players whose legs have given out, Michael Murphy looks in danger of being flogged to death, if a manager wants to play him in the middle of the pitch he simply can't expect him to be going box to box, it's simply not his game and he's not mobile enough. McBrearty is up front trying to do everything himself. They are a shambles.

Donegal could do a lot worse than Pete McGrath right now, he was able to organise Fermanagh and set them up very well defensively. I'm sure Lacey and McGlynn will now call it a day but if Donegal get MacNiallais and McLoone back in might help in some way.

There seems to be a huge age gap between the Donegal team, you have McGlynn, Lacey and McGee now over 30. Then you have the likes of Murphy, McElhinney and McGrath who were part of the u21 side which lost to Dublin in the final. Apart from that, there seems to be a massive gap in any sort of talent until you hit McBrearty and Ryan McHugh. If you look at the majority of top sides now they will nearly all have the nucleus of their team in the age group around 24-30, there's not much in Donegal there.
It''s all about possession, Bomber, and playing a system as a team. The moves have to be practiced over and over . Players need to know what to expect from the others and vice versa. Older players have experience that younger ones don't.  If you take a couple of older lads with loads of experience and replace them with young lads with none it is going to be very challenging.
Galway have been doing the iterations for a bit longer.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 23, 2017, 02:20:45 PM

Gallagher didn't help things by flogging the U21 players this year. Had them playing in the McKenna cup instead of the seniors and overplayed them in the NFL. The Donegal U21s had a right good chance of winning the All Ireland but the Dubs were too fit and fresh for tired team. Donegal seniors maxed themselves out for the NFL this spring from beating Tyrone well and holding them to just 0-6 in March to getting beat out the gate by Tyrone in June. The writing was on the wall for Donegal before yesterdays game.
Post by: Gael85 on July 23, 2017, 02:53:50 PM
Great to see Michael Meehan back playing for Galway yesterday.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 23, 2017, 03:08:02 PM
Great to see Galway respond to the horror show the last day although surprised at how poor Donegal were but the warning signs were their with the dreadful display against Tyrone.

Power did well, kickouts were good and he hits them with a better trajectory then Lavelle does and the pen save and follow up save were great keeping. That was easily Flynn's best performance in a while, playing with FOC & Conroy clearly doesn't work and I hope we never see the 3 of them starting again. I thought Ian Burke did well, his pass for Heaney's first goal was superb and not many players would have taken it on. Once again we're all fully aware of the limitations of the full back line and how it will be exposed next Sunday but its great to see a bit of fight in this bunch and there's plenty of hope for for the future.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 23, 2017, 03:41:28 PM
Quote from: ck on July 23, 2017, 08:49:18 AM
Galway are best team in Connacht despite their blip against Rossies. If they can get a win in Croke they could be hard to top.
Losing by 9 points at home in a game Galway could have lost by 15 is a quare blip. Roscommon deserved their Connacht success they beat the team that Mayo couldn't comfortably but the championship is in the business end now and look at the odds to see who people think are the best in Connacht.

We'll find out more about Galway next week but i feel that game yesterday said more about Donegal than Galway.
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2017, 03:50:39 PM

Galway are the third best team in Connacht.
Post by: ballinaman on July 23, 2017, 04:09:30 PM
Galway need to appeal if Kyne is not suspended for next weekend.
Post by: Manning18 on July 23, 2017, 04:11:12 PM

I hope the best for the lad because in terms of pure talent he is one the best players I have ever witnessed and he seems a good guy to boot, but no matter what happens this is not a fitting end for a great player. I hope he goes into coaching because he has a lot to give still to the sport and that would be a more fitting finale to his story than this sideshow.

The weekend Meehan returned, he kicked 12 points in a club game. His first challenge game he got 1-3 from play. Ive heard he was badly off the pace in a subsequent game against Kerry, but that was coming off the injury to his other "good" ankle. On all club action seen of him in the last 2 years, he's comfortably in the top 10 forwards in the county, nothing to do with him being a big name. Bringing him back in was very fair at the time.

There's only space for 2 inside forwards in Walsh system, or 4 overall. Comer has to be one. Then youve Army playing well, Ian Burke had a good debut yesterday. Danny Cummins was all star nominated last year and cant get a look in now. Lundy can't get a squeak, same with Sice who's been our most consistent performer for a few years. Galway have problems elsewhere but the forwards have a lot of depth. I suspect he's doing ok, just not to say, Armstrongs level at the moment. The way Shane Walsh talked about him coming back in, saying they were in awe. Can't be bad from a team perspective having him there. If he's happy enough, then its all ok.
Post by: Manning18 on July 23, 2017, 04:11:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 23, 2017, 03:50:39 PM

Galway are the third beat team in Connacht.

What's the logic you're using here?
Post by: twohands!!! on July 23, 2017, 04:15:37 PM

There is definitely some blame to be attached to McGuinness for this as the number of lads that he gave championship debuts to during his time in charge was miniscule - he took a very short-term approach and didn't bother at all in terms of bringing through younger players into the squad - it was always a matter of when this was going to catch up with Donegal.

There is an interview with Gallagher on Donegal Daily and it doesn't sound like he had any notion of resigning.
Post by: maigheo on July 23, 2017, 04:31:47 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on July 23, 2017, 04:11:52 PM

Logic and Syferus do not go together so do not hold your breath waiting for a logical answer
Post by: Syferus on July 23, 2017, 04:46:07 PM

Galway are the third best team in Connacht.

Mayo's two AI finals last year, Galway's hammering to Roscommon. Simple, clean and obvious.

You'd think you'd be happy the hype train  was gone from your county, it did wonders for us.
Post by: seafoid on July 23, 2017, 05:01:26 PM

The logic of the parallel Rossiverse
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 23, 2017, 06:21:57 PM
Good team performance last night and it was badly needed after that Debacle in the stadium a few weeks ago.  Donegal were poor enough in all fairness and the game was over by HT to all intents and purpose.  Great to see Meehan getting a run and by all accounts his influence within the panel is hugely appreciated by all involved.  We don't have the defence to handle Kerry but it's our own fault we are in this position, so we may as well make the best of it. 
Post by: tonto1888 on July 23, 2017, 09:31:04 PM
Makes you wonder how good Tyrone actually are
Post by: StephenC on July 24, 2017, 07:55:03 AM
Well done Galway. Terrific performance and well-worth the lop-sided scoreline. Best of luck against Kerry.

Not sure where we can go now. We have had no defined style of play all year. We bring numbers back but our defense has been poor. We are trying to play a running game but end up in cul-de-sacs pretty much every time. Tough to take TBH.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 24, 2017, 10:51:19 AM
Brilliant to see Mikey Meehan back. Some embarrassment of riches ye have in terms of forwards in Galway. Ye have your defensive frailties but in the modern game, especially in Croke Park, you need to be able to score heavily and I think ye can. Galway were always going to get a tough draw but always seem to perform against Kerry. I expect they'll do well the next day. Need to come up with some way of avoiding goals to give themselves a chance.
Post by: galwayman on July 24, 2017, 10:59:08 AM
Yeah it was great to see Mikey back in a Galway jersey.
No more passionate or committed player has represented the county.
Cannot see any way our back line can hold that Kerry forward line though.
Post by: skeog on July 24, 2017, 01:31:44 PM
Good to see Michael Meehan return Saturday doubt he will play next Sunday.Kerry will be a different animal.
Post by: Taylor on July 24, 2017, 01:47:32 PM
Is Meehan playing much club football or is he back in the panel on reputation alone?