Cycling

Started by Jimmy, February 18, 2010, 10:20:27 PM

Quote from: ThomasMullan on January 08, 2024, 10:11:03 AM
Quote from: markl121 on January 06, 2024, 06:46:16 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2024, 05:39:14 PMCan youse try to not be on the road when I'm going places. Today had them out in droves. Thanks in advance.
As long as you pass us like you would any other car...

If you want to be treated like 'any other car' don't ride two abreast and don't ride in groups.

And since your groups travel at the same speed as an agricultural vehicle, show some courtesy to the trail of 15 cars behind you or the HGV that hasn't a hope of getting past safely, and pull over into a lay-by every once in a while.
Riding two abreast is safer.
When in groups we always single out on narrow roads to allow cars to go past. And we'd pull over if there was traffic behind and we knew the road ahead was winding.
Cyclists are entitled to use the road the same as anyone.
It's usually idiot motorists who cause the danger

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 08, 2024, 05:11:22 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2024, 05:39:14 PMCan youse try to not be on the road when I'm going places. Today had them out in droves. Thanks in advance.

If you want to be treated like 'any other car' don't ride two abreast and don't ride in groups.

And since your groups travel at the same speed as an agricultural vehicle, show some courtesy to the trail of 15 cars behind you or the HGV that hasn't a hope of getting past safely, and pull over into a lay-by every once in a while.
When in groups we always single out on narrow roads to allow cars to go past. And we'd pull over if there was traffic behind and we knew the road ahead was winding.

Definitely been an improvement over the past few years but still plebs out there (as there is behind the wheel) who remain totally oblivious to the snake of traffic behind them most of whom have places to go and aren't out on "leisure time" with the lads.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 08, 2024, 06:33:11 PM

Definitely been an improvement over the past few years but still plebs out there (as there is behind the wheel) who remain totally oblivious to the snake of traffic behind them most of whom have places to go and aren't out on "leisure time" with the lads.
They're entitled to their leisure time though
Same as pedestrians on the road

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 08, 2024, 07:04:15 PM

Cars aren't trying to overtake pedestrians

grounded

Quote from: imtommygunn on January 08, 2024, 12:47:49 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2024, 12:39:23 PMYeah I get that, people wearing headphones and poor awareness of what to do, but I'm only giving you my versions.

My dogs on the toepath are not on a lead, they have great recall and generally never leave my side, they hear me saying bike, and they move in behind me, the worst are people with the long bloody leads and forget about bikes, just ordinary walkers have problems with them!

If the tide is out I walk along the beach away from the path, easier for everyone.. Was out yesterday morning, frosty and ice on path, did that deter runners or cyclists? Nope! I never ran on ice and would never consider cycling when icy.

Most people are fine but about 10 or so % aren't. I thought I was getting set on by a dog recently and it was the owner. Tbh there is a common theme. The problem is not cyclists, runners or dog owners it's just people   :(

Exactly, the selfish prat in the car will be the same on the bike and most other aspects of life.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2024, 07:08:21 PM

If a pedestrian is on your side of the country road then you are

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 09, 2024, 06:13:03 PM

You mean in the countryside where there's no path and some header is walking with the traffic?

Nope,  I'm talking cars don't have to worry about pedestrians on a footpath, unless they are drunk

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2024, 06:50:31 PM

You mean in the countryside where there's no path and some header is walking with the traffic?

Nope,  I'm talking cars don't have to worry about pedestrians on a footpath, unless they are drunk
Where else do people in the countryside have to walk? Except alongside the road, against the traffic?

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 09, 2024, 08:44:36 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2024, 06:50:31 PM

Where else do people in the countryside have to walk? Except alongside the road, against the traffic?

That's grand your point is clear as mud. The pesky absentminded pedestrians having leisurely walks on roads, they are up there with cyclists who ride bikes on the ice!

grounded

Quote from: maddog on January 08, 2024, 10:53:44 AMHave ordered a rocker plate for zwifting sessions as i cant do more than 45mins without getting "sore". Anyone any experience of them?

Friend of mine bought a lifeline rocker plate. Hated it at the start but swears by it now. He couldnt manage more than 45 mins previous.
   He did say it took a while to get used to the side to side motion particularly when out of the seat. His power was down as well he said but not overly bothered as he dosen't race on zwift.

majestic

anyone with a shimano 105 di2 12 speed noticing a serious battery drain? I'm not sure if its the cold weather, but I checked my battery level on Sunday, it showed green (50% plus) - done my normal commute on monday (10km each way) and it died on my journey home on Tuesday, less than 40km since it showed green.

grounded

Quote from: majestic on January 10, 2024, 04:24:48 PManyone with a shimano 105 di2 12 speed noticing a serious battery drain? I'm not sure if its the cold weather, but I checked my battery level on Sunday, it showed green (50% plus) - done my normal commute on monday (10km each way) and it died on my journey home on Tuesday, less than 40km since it showed green.

Could be a number of different issues.
   Battery itself, the firmware or a short in one of the components(most commonly the right shifter).
  Quickest way would be take it to the bike shop who can plug the bike in and diagnose the problem with shimano box.
   Otherwise you can try to isolate each of the components (derailleurs and shifters) and see if the battery is still draining.
   These bikes are getting as complicated as cars! Lot to be said for an older mechanically geared, external cable routed, rim brake.
    Good luck with it.

Thought something similar had happened me a while back but it was the CR2032 coin battery in the shifter that had died.

scout

Anyone ever done a Spanish cycling trip to Canary Islands?

If so: where's the best sort of location/area to base yourself out of? Any hotel recommendations etc..
And bring your own bike or rental?

Thanks

Done multiple cycling trips to Tenerife and Gran Canaria. Playa de las Americas/los Cristianos/Ajede area in Tenerife and Playa Del Ingles / Maspalomas in GC - but by no means the only areas that cater for cyclists. Bikepoint & Free Motion are your bike hire go tos but there are other smaller operators too. Bike hire is 100%, never have taken our own bikes. Wouldn't concern myself with hotels, they all seem to cater for cyclists, one handy to your collection shop is an idea, some can deliver to hotel for a fee (never done that).