Cycling

Started by Jimmy, February 18, 2010, 10:20:27 PM

markl121

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2024, 10:44:52 PM
Quote from: markl121 on January 06, 2024, 06:46:16 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2024, 05:39:14 PMCan youse try to not be on the road when I'm going places. Today had them out in droves. Thanks in advance.
As long as you pass us like you would any other car...
A metre is plenty of room.
It's not

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2024, 10:44:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2024, 05:39:14 PMCan youse try to not be on the road when I'm going places. Today had them out in droves. Thanks in advance.
A metre is plenty of room.
1.5m is the legal distance
If you're caught on a bike mounted camera in the UK you can be prosecuted by the police
The quicker it's brought in for ROI the better

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 04, 2024, 06:59:56 PMI have 4/5 routes I regularly use depending on the time of day. Roads with very wide verges or secondary or local roads with little traffic.
Old national roads replaced by a motorway are also great.
Always have flashing lights front and rear.
Cycling in the dark is almost safer

This. On my old commute I'd wait for the sun to go all the way down before heading home, I hated riding in twilight. (The sun goes down quickly at this latitude, so you don't get much twilight.) Riding at night's a completely different experience, and I love it. I always lit myself up like a Christmas tree.

I hated it in the old days when you could see more with a candle than with the big clunky lights. You can get some great lights now, so it's very different.

ThomasMullan

If you want to be treated like 'any other car' don't ride two abreast and don't ride in groups.

And since your groups travel at the same speed as an agricultural vehicle, show some courtesy to the trail of 15 cars behind you or the HGV that hasn't a hope of getting past safely, and pull over into a lay-by every once in a while.

As a "cyclist" of sorts thing that drives me mad is the petrol heads that will happily put you in a ditch but then you see them coming up on a couple of people on horseback and they are all smiles and waves. What the f**k is that about?

Have ordered a rocker plate for zwifting sessions as i cant do more than 45mins without getting "sore". Anyone any experience of them?

Quote from: maddog on January 08, 2024, 10:28:46 AMAs a "cyclist" of sorts thing that drives me mad is the petrol heads that will happily put you in a ditch but then you see them coming up on a couple of people on horseback and they are all smiles and waves. What the f**k is that about?

Where I drive, commute and whatever I generally never meet too many groups of cyclists, but when I do its about taking the safest option, we are in too much of a hurry to be places nowadays, patients has went out the window.

Slow down and only pass safely, what I find crazy though is cyclists on a shared footpath where there are dogs, toddlers and people just dandering along, the bike cost 3 grand and no bell on it to warn anyone, they think if the back track the pedals that noise should be enough, there is one bloke I'd love to shove into the lough he goes like the clappers, if a toddler walks out in front of him I'd fear for the child, and if he hits my dogs he'll struggle to use a bike again!

Other than that cyclists are lovely people!

Pre pandemic when we used to work in city centre id often cycle in. Road in as it was early and then canal towpath back. Nearly every single jogger on the towpath would have head phones in. So when you caught up with them they would react like you appeared out of nowhere. Bell wasnt much use then and yes i had one.
Saw the other night a flipping deliveroo guy on a bike. All in black no lights nada. Darwin award material.

If you're on a towpath on a bike you just can't be going silly speeds. You'd do a lot of damage to a kid or a dog then there's runners etc too and i have found peoples awareness in getting out of your way not good even when you're coming from a distance. (I cycled up the one in Belfast once and 4 or 5 guys were walking towards me - I assumed as they'd get closer they'd move but they didn't so I stopped dead and the one who I stopped dead in front of looked at me with a look of shock. Peoples lack of awareness never ceased to amaze me when I was on the bike on the towpath.) Same goes for when I run there and people with dogs on retractable leads.

No reason cyclists shouldn't go two abreast. No reason at all.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2024, 12:09:41 PM
Quote from: maddog on January 08, 2024, 10:28:46 AMAs a "cyclist" of sorts thing that drives me mad is the petrol heads that will happily put you in a ditch but then you see them coming up on a couple of people on horseback and they are all smiles and waves. What the f**k is that about?

Where I drive, commute and whatever I generally never meet too many groups of cyclists, but when I do its about taking the safest option, we are in too much of a hurry to be places nowadays, patients has went out the window.

Slow down and only pass safely, what I find crazy though is cyclists on a shared footpath where there are dogs, toddlers and people just dandering along, the bike cost 3 grand and no bell on it to warn anyone, they think if the back track the pedals that noise should be enough, there is one bloke I'd love to shove into the lough he goes like the clappers, if a toddler walks out in front of him I'd fear for the child, and if he hits my dogs he'll struggle to use a bike again!

Hope you're not an ambulance driver.

I'll get me coat 😋

Yeah I get that, people wearing headphones and poor awareness of what to do, but I'm only giving you my versions.

My dogs on the toepath are not on a lead, they have great recall and generally never leave my side, they hear me saying bike, and they move in behind me, the worst are people with the long bloody leads and forget about bikes, just ordinary walkers have problems with them!

If the tide is out I walk along the beach away from the path, easier for everyone.. Was out yesterday morning, frosty and ice on path, did that deter runners or cyclists? Nope! I never ran on ice and would never consider cycling when icy.

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 08, 2024, 12:35:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2024, 12:09:41 PM

Hope you're not an ambulance driver.

I'll get me coat 😋

patience... Auto spell! Can't spell!

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2024, 12:39:23 PMYeah I get that, people wearing headphones and poor awareness of what to do, but I'm only giving you my versions.

My dogs on the toepath are not on a lead, they have great recall and generally never leave my side, they hear me saying bike, and they move in behind me, the worst are people with the long bloody leads and forget about bikes, just ordinary walkers have problems with them!

If the tide is out I walk along the beach away from the path, easier for everyone.. Was out yesterday morning, frosty and ice on path, did that deter runners or cyclists? Nope! I never ran on ice and would never consider cycling when icy.

Most people are fine but about 10 or so % aren't. I thought I was getting set on by a dog recently and it was the owner. Tbh there is a common theme. The problem is not cyclists, runners or dog owners it's just people   :(

Quote from: imtommygunn on January 08, 2024, 12:47:49 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2024, 12:39:23 PMYeah I get that, people wearing headphones and poor awareness of what to do, but I'm only giving you my versions.

Most people are fine but about 10 or so % aren't. I thought I was getting set on by a dog recently and it was the owner. Tbh there is a common theme. The problem is not cyclists, runners or dog owners it's just people   :(

That's true, entitled arseholes!

Black ice and 25c tyres. Forget about it. Local cycling club just auto cancel weekend rides if under 3c