Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Feckitt on November 18, 2013, 03:48:38 PM

Title: Irish Government/IRFU to bid for 2023 RWC
Post by: Feckitt on November 18, 2013, 03:48:38 PM
On RTÉ news now.  Leo Varadkar signals Government/IRFU intent to bid for 2023 World Cup.

Last time out New Zealand did it with 12 stadiums.

By 2023 we will have the following

1. Aviva Stadium - 51,700 all seater stadium
2. Thomond Park - 26,500
3. RDS - 18,500 - Would probably get an upgrade for the World Cup
4. Windsor Park - 18,000 all seater brand new stadium
5. Ravenhill - 18,000 redeveloped stadium
6. Musgrave Park, Cork or Sportsgrounds Galway - Would probably get an upgrade for the World Cup

We would then need 6 GAA grounds.

1. Croke Park - 82,000
2. Casement Park - 38,000 brand new stadium
3. Pairc Ui Chaoimh - 45,000 redeveloped stadium

Then take your pick for 3 out of
Semple Stadium - Thurles
Gaelic Grounds - Limerick
Fitzgerald Stadium - Killarney
McHale Park - Castlebar
Breffni Park - Cavan
St Tiernach's Park - Clones
or any other County Ground

Aviva, Thomond, Windsor, Ravenhill, Croker, Casement & Pairc Ui Chaoimh will all be first class modern stadiums.  You don't need 12 world class stadiums.

I would guess that your groups will be based as follows,

Ireland's group - Aviva, Croker, RDS

Scotland's group - Ravenhill, Casement, Windsor

Group 3 - Thomond, Limerick Gaelic Grounds, Pearse Stadium, Galway Sportsgrounds.  3 out of that 4.

Group 4.  Pairc Ui Chaoimh, Musgrave Park, Killarney, Thurles. 3 out of that 4.

Hopefully this goes through.  Would be absolutely brilliant to see it.
Title: Re: Irish Government/IRFU to bid for 2023 RWC
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 18, 2013, 03:55:12 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on November 18, 2013, 03:48:38 PM
On RTÉ news now.  Leo Varadkar signals Government/IRFU intent to bid for 2023 World Cup.

Last time out New Zealand did it with 12 stadiums.

By 2023 we will have the following

1. Aviva Stadium - 51,700 all seater stadium
2. Thomond Park - 26,500
3. RDS - 18,500 - Would probably get an upgrade for the World Cup
4. Windsor Park - 18,000 all seater brand new stadium
5. Ravenhill - 18,000 redeveloped stadium
6. Musgrave Park, Cork or Sportsgrounds Galway - Would probably get an upgrade for the World Cup

We would then need 6 GAA grounds.

1. Croke Park - 82,000
2. Casement Park - 38,000 brand new stadium
3. Pairc Ui Chaoimh - 45,000 redeveloped stadium

Then take your pick for 3 out of
Semple Stadium - Thurles
Gaelic Grounds - Limerick
Fitzgerald Stadium - Killarney
McHale Park - Castlebar
Breffni Park - Cavan
St Tiernach's Park - Clones
or any other County Ground

Aviva, Thomond, Windsor, Ravenhill, Croker, Casement & Pairc Ui Chaoimh will all be first class modern stadiums.  You don't need 12 world class stadiums.

I would guess that your groups will be based as follows,

Ireland's group - Aviva, Croker, RDS

Scotland's group - Ravenhill, Casement, Windsor

Group 3 - Thomond, Limerick Gaelic Grounds, Pearse Stadium, Galway Sportsgrounds.  3 out of that 4.

Group 4.  Pairc Ui Chaoimh, Musgrave Park, Killarney, Thurles. 3 out of that 4.

Hopefully this goes through.  Would be absolutely brilliant to see it.

I think Casement has already been outlined as a potential venue ahead of Ravenhill. Not sure how well that will go down.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 18, 2013, 04:01:30 PM
It's likely that they would offer a quarter final each to Edinburgh and Cardiff in return for their support.
Post by: Feckitt on November 18, 2013, 04:04:46 PM
I know that that has been a feature of previous world cups, I even think France ended up playing in Cardiff during France 2007.  However that kind of shite shouldn't be allowed by the IRB.  Have it one country, or share it between two countries, don't have this siphoning off of games.

Ireland will have the ability to hold the entire thing, and I hope they are given the opportunity to do so.
Post by: snoopdog on November 18, 2013, 05:33:01 PM
how much will the GAA be getting for offering the use of their stadiums?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 18, 2013, 05:35:26 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on November 18, 2013, 04:01:30 PM
It's likely that they would offer a quarter final each to Edinburgh and Cardiff in return for their support.
I'm nearly sure they're trying to eliminate that sort of venue trading for future hosting.
Post by: Syferus on November 18, 2013, 05:41:17 PM
So where's the Hyde, like? Best spot in the country.
Post by: muppet on November 18, 2013, 06:38:30 PM
I have heard about this for a couple of years now and MacHale Park will be included. It has the Biggest capacity in Connacht.

Here is the current list (usual caveats apply).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_stadiums_in_Ireland_by_capacity (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_stadiums_in_Ireland_by_capacity)

(apologies for formatting)

#   Stadium               Location           Owner(s) and/or Tenant(s)     Main use(s)                  Capacity   Seated            Floodlit
1   Croke Park               Dublin           Gaelic Athletic Association     Gaelic football/Hurling   82,300   69,500                 Yes
2   Semple Stadium    Thurles           Tipperary GAA                     Gaelic football/Hurling   53,000   26,000                 Yes
3   Aviva Stadium       Dublin           IRFU/FAI/Leinster Rugby     Rugby union/Soccer     51,700   51,700                  Yes
4   Gaelic Grounds       Limerick           Limerick GAA                     Gaelic football/Hurling   49,500   24,000                  Yes
5   Páirc Uí Chaoimh       Cork           Cork GAA                             Gaelic football/Hurling   43,550   19,500                  No
6   FitzGerald Stadium    Killarney   Kerry GAA                             Gaelic football   43,180   9,000                                  No
7   McHale Park           Castlebar   Mayo GAA                             Gaelic football/Hurling   42,000   42,000                  Yes
8   St. Tiernach's Park Clones           Monaghan GAA                     Gaelic football/Hurling   36,000                             Yes
9   Dr. Hyde Park       Roscommon   Roscommon GAA             Gaelic football              33,612  (18,890 Safe)      No
10   Pearse Stadium      Salthill           Galway GAA                    Gaelic football/Hurling   33,000 (26,197 Safe)    8,000   No
11   Casement Park      Belfast           Antrim GAA                    Gaelic football/Hurling   32,600                   8,000   Yes
12   Breffni Park      Cavan           Cavan GAA                         Gaelic football   32,000   6,000                                   Yes
Post by: Feckitt on November 18, 2013, 06:44:27 PM
I think Rugby wastelands like Mayo, Roscommon, Monaghan etc will be very unlikely to be included.  On the west of the country they won't go any further North than Galway for a host of reasons, Rugby heritage, infrastructure, tourism.  Galway, Limerick, Killarney, Cork, Dublin, Belfast. Sin é.

Btw, I was reading through a lot of rugby forums earlier today, and there was a lot of discussion of the pros and cons of venues which may or may not be considered.  Musgrave Park, Tallaght Stadium, Castlebar, Galway Sportsgrounds, Nowlan Park, Ravenhill etc, but absolutely no-one mentioned Windsor Park in Belfast who are getting a brand spanking new all-seater stadium.  It just goes to show how much of an irrelevance NI soccer is to most Irish people that they can talk about Ravenhill and Casement and completely forget about Windsor.
Post by: CD on November 18, 2013, 07:03:02 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 18, 2013, 06:38:30 PM
I have heard about this for a couple of years now and MacHale Park will be included. It has the Biggest capacity in Connacht.

Here is the current list (usual caveats apply).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_stadiums_in_Ireland_by_capacity (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_stadiums_in_Ireland_by_capacity)

(apologies for formatting)

#   Stadium               Location           Owner(s) and/or Tenant(s)     Main use(s)                  Capacity   Seated            Floodlit
1   Croke Park               Dublin           Gaelic Athletic Association     Gaelic football/Hurling   82,300   69,500                 Yes
2   Semple Stadium    Thurles           Tipperary GAA                     Gaelic football/Hurling   53,000   26,000                 Yes
3   Aviva Stadium       Dublin           IRFU/FAI/Leinster Rugby     Rugby union/Soccer     51,700   51,700                  Yes
4   Gaelic Grounds       Limerick           Limerick GAA                     Gaelic football/Hurling   49,500   24,000                  Yes
5   Páirc Uí Chaoimh       Cork           Cork GAA                             Gaelic football/Hurling   43,550   19,500                  No
6   FitzGerald Stadium    Killarney   Kerry GAA                             Gaelic football   43,180   9,000                                  No
7   McHale Park           Castlebar   Mayo GAA                             Gaelic football/Hurling   42,000   42,000                  Yes
8   St. Tiernach's Park Clones           Monaghan GAA                     Gaelic football/Hurling   36,000                             Yes
9   Dr. Hyde Park       Roscommon   Roscommon GAA             Gaelic football              33,612  (18,890 Safe)      No
10   Pearse Stadium      Salthill           Galway GAA                    Gaelic football/Hurling   33,000 (26,197 Safe)    8,000   No
11   Casement Park      Belfast           Antrim GAA                    Gaelic football/Hurling   32,600                   8,000   Yes
12   Breffni Park      Cavan           Cavan GAA                         Gaelic football   32,000   6,000                                   Yes

The new dimension to the current discussion is that it is to be very much an All Ireland bid. This will be very attractive given the state of 'the Peace Process' etc so it would give the bid impetus at an International level. As such, expect more northern venues to be a certainty. That wiki article is out of date,
Post by: Rossfan on November 18, 2013, 07:10:21 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on November 18, 2013, 06:44:27 PM
I think Rugby wastelands like Mayo, Roscommon, Monaghan
I'm so proud of that designation. ;D ( pity you couldn't have left out that other place)
Post by: Feckitt on November 18, 2013, 07:22:53 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 18, 2013, 07:10:21 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on November 18, 2013, 06:44:27 PM
I think Rugby wastelands like Mayo, Roscommon, Monaghan
I'm so proud of that designation. ;D ( pity you couldn't have left out that other place)

Ok,

Rugby wastelands Longford, Leitrim and Roscommon
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 28, 2013, 10:33:07 AM
Robert Kitson - The Guardian

It is impossible to please everyone when staging a major international tournament and the 2015 Rugby World Cup is proving no exception. Blame it on the London Olympic afterglow, perhaps, but charging £715 for the best final seats and arranging for all England's four pool games to be 8pm kick-offs is already testing the faith of ordinary families.

The lack of discounted child tickets in the knockout stages and a cheapest adult price of £50 for Argentina v Tonga in Leicester were also among the details tucked away in the schedule announcedon Wednesday by England 2015 organisers, many of whom helped deliver last year's Olympics. They clearly hope the next Rugby World Cup will forge enough memories that people forget how much they had to fork out for the privilege.

But goodness knows it is going to cost them. Want a ticket to England's opening game against Fiji or the Cook Islands on 18 September? Even a category C adult ticket – that is, somewhere behind the dead-ball line staring at the corner flag – will set you back £160, with a posh halfway line seat available for £315. Fancy watching the final under the eaves of the vertiginous South Stand? That will be £150 a pop. "Our aim is to sell out every ticket at every venue," said Debbie Jevans, England 2015's chief executive.

The elephant in the boardroom is that the organisers have to stump up a whopping £80m for the privilege of staging the event and can claw that sum back only through ticket revenue. With Old Trafford becoming unavailable and Wembley limited to only two games because of clashes with other events, there has to be a premium paid elsewhere. The IRB hopes to make a surplus of £130m from the tournament, compared with £122.4m in 2007 and £90m in New Zealand in 2011 when the host union ended up losing £30m. The RFU hopes to make a £15m profit, quite apart from the sizeable knock-on benefits for the domestic economy.

The demands of broadcasters, however, also need accommodating which is why England's pool games are being played at night, slightly undermining ER2015's claims of family-centric entertainment. Waiting for the same packed train with thousands of other noisy fans at Twickenham station is an uncertain environment for eight-year-olds in late afternoon, never mind at 10.30pm when the pubs have been open all day and you live in Norfolk. "This is a global event with TV audiences on the other side of the world," countered Brett Gosper, the International Rugby Board's chief executive. In fairness, the 14 evening kick-offs in 2015 contrast favourably with 26 in New Zealand last time around.

The good news is that bargains will be available. Under-16s can watch the pool game between England and Wales at Twickenham for only £15, and a family of four can watch the Springboks play Uruguay or the United States at the Olympic Stadium for a grand total of £70.

There is also a better spread of fixtures for the Tier Two nations who, in most cases, will have virtually the same amount of recovery time between games as their Tier One cousins. It is a shrewd move, too, to offer the first wave of public tickets in May/June next year to rugby club members, with the rest going on general sale in September 2014. In total, say the organisers, half a million of the 2.3m available tickets will be sold at £50 or less.

By 2015 it is also hoped the planned redevelopment of Twickenham station will be mostly complete, with talks already commencing with the train companies to minimise the transport bottlenecks which afflict every major international day. As yet, though, no government intervention has been forthcoming to minimise the number of tickets being sold on by touts. "We believe passionately there should be a legislative process as there was during the Olympics," Jevans said.

There is also no guarantee the host nation will make it out of the pool, which includes Australia and Wales, an issue no organising committee can control. "If you're going to succeed, you've got to play the best and be the best," said Bill Beaumont, the RFU chairman .

Nor is there a chance of unblocking the fixture logjam which will force England to field a below-strength side in the opening Test of next year's tour to New Zealand on 7 June because of its proximity to the Premiership final.

If the RFU are struggling to re-couperate the initial outlay for staging the tournament, what chance does Ireland have!!
Post by: Canalman on November 28, 2013, 11:15:14 AM
Pie in the sky stuff. Won't be able to satisfy rules in relation to hotel rooms, transport access, etc etc. Good chance though if Ireland/ Wales and Scotland combined. Dublin , Limerick and Belfast would be the venues with maybe Cork at a stretch.
Post by: thewobbler on November 28, 2013, 11:17:56 AM
I can only imagine that the outlay of £80m will be revised for future tournaments.

Either that or the relevant RFU will need to tap the local tourist board(s) for a strong sub.

Brian Moore argued quite convincingly on TalkSport this morning that IRB need this 80m levy, as a) it's their only income, b) it only happens every 4 years, c) they plough every penny of it back into promoting and supporting grassroots rugby worldwide. I agreed with him until I saw the ticket prices below.

But I'm confused. Where does sponsorship and TV revenue from a RWC go then, if not directly to IRB? Should that not be their source of revenue, along with a smaller stipend from the host country?
Post by: johnneycool on November 28, 2013, 11:20:15 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 28, 2013, 11:17:56 AM
I can only imagine that the outlay of £80m will be revised for future tournaments.

Either that or the relevant RFU will need to tap the local tourist board(s) for a strong sub.

Brian Moore argued quite convincingly on TalkSport this morning that IRB need this 80m levy, as a) it's their only income, b) it only happens every 4 years, c) they plough every penny of it back into promoting and supporting grassroots rugby worldwide. I agreed with him until I saw the ticket prices below.

But I'm confused. Where does sponsorship and TV revenue from a RWC go then, if not directly to IRB? Should that not be their source of revenue, along with a smaller stipend from the host country?

if not the IRB, then it has to be the organising rugby board, in this case the English RFU, so you'd think that between ticketing and media rights the 80M wouldn't be such a big stretch.
Post by: thewobbler on November 28, 2013, 11:21:28 AM
Quote from: Canalman on November 28, 2013, 11:15:14 AM
Pie in the sky stuff. Won't be able to satisfy rules in relation to hotel rooms, transport access, etc etc. Good chance though if Ireland/ Wales and Scotland combined. Dublin , Limerick and Belfast would be the venues with maybe Cork at a stretch.
The last RWC was in New Zealand. I don't have the figures, but I'd be pretty sure Ireland's transport link and accommodation option are significantly stronger (when ROI and NI are combined).
Post by: CD on November 28, 2013, 11:30:14 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 28, 2013, 11:21:28 AM
The last RWC was in New Zealand. I don't have the figures, but I'd be pretty sure Ireland's transport link and accommodation option are significantly stronger (when ROI and NI are combined).

7 million tourist visitors in 2012. (and going to be higher when 2013 figures are released)  Think we'll find a seat on a bus and a scratcher for a few thousand rugby fans.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 28, 2013, 11:40:45 AM
Mayo could easily accommodate visitors, all it needs is busses laid on linking Castlebar to Westport, Ballina, Claremorris etc and trains shipping them down from Roscommon and Athlone. NAMA could make a rental bomb.

I'm sure other places could easily cope.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 28, 2013, 11:44:09 AM
The mid west/south west area would have no problem swallowing up a pool, in terms of venues, supporters and teams. Every hotel in Clare, Limerick, North Tipp, and North Kerry would lick their lips at the thoughts of games in Limerick, and if you used Fitzgerald Stadium in Killarney as well, the hotels down there would be orgasmic.
Post by: muppet on November 28, 2013, 12:36:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 28, 2013, 11:44:09 AM
The mid west/south west area would have no problem swallowing up a pool, in terms of venues, supporters and teams. Every hotel in Clare, Limerick, North Tipp, and North Kerry would lick their lips at the thoughts of games in Limerick, and if you used Fitzgerald Stadium in Killarney as well, the hotels down there would be orgasmic.

I think Canalman was on the wind up, him never having seen beyond The Pale.

'maybe Cork at a stretch' is hardly a serious contribution.
Post by: Canalman on November 28, 2013, 12:47:49 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 28, 2013, 12:36:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 28, 2013, 11:44:09 AM

I think Canalman was on the wind up, him never having seen beyond The Pale.

'maybe Cork at a stretch' is hardly a serious contribution.

Yeah was being a bit mischievous alright.

Still think though we don't quiet have the infrastructure to host the RWC all on our own. Big difference in the crowds coming to Ireland for a WC and going to NZ in 2011. Can't imagine that most teams brought any more than 2,000 or so supporters to NZ given the distances.

Still think that a dual/ triple bid with our Celtic cousins would be the best way forward.

GAA grounds would need serious facelifts though imo.
Post by: deiseach on November 28, 2013, 12:54:16 PM
Quote from: Canalman on November 28, 2013, 12:47:49 PM

My biggest concern is that a point would be reached where the IRB will say "yeah, you have a chance but some of the grounds look a little grotty for a global audience". Before we know it the meeja and the politicians are denouncing the GAA for not spending its own money to bring the grounds up to scratch for reasons that are of no direct use to the GAA but are very much In The National Interest.
Post by: grounded on November 28, 2013, 01:36:23 PM
Quote from: CD on November 28, 2013, 11:30:14 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 28, 2013, 11:21:28 AM

7 million tourist visitors in 2012. (and going to be higher when 2013 figures are released)  Think we'll find a seat on a bus and a scratcher for a few thousand rugby fans.

133,000 travelled to NZ in 2011 for the RWC. http://www.med.govt.nz/sectors-industries/tourism/news/rugby-world-cup-visitors-spent-390-million

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 28, 2013, 01:54:16 PM
Iarnrod Eireann, Bus Eireann, Ulster Bus, private operators, Northern Irish Railways, Aer Lingus, Irish Ferries, Ryanair, Aer Arann etc. would all be happy bunnies.
Post by: Rossfan on November 28, 2013, 02:05:29 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 28, 2013, 12:54:16 PM

My biggest concern is that a point would be reached where the IRB will say "yeah, you have a chance but some of the grounds look a little grotty for a global audience". Before we know it the meeja and the politicians are denouncing the GAA for not spending its own money to bring the grounds up to scratch for reasons that are of no direct use to the GAA but are very much In The National Interest.
Since when did rubby become our National game? that we're all supposed to fall over backwards to accomodate them to have their "World"( yeah right) Cup.
In the immortal words of Jack Boothman " Tell them to feck off".
Post by: rodney trotter on November 28, 2013, 02:12:23 PM
There was grass banking behind the goals in some of the stadiums in NZ. I doubt they are going to turn every stadium being used ,into all seater arenas. An upgrade obviously, but hardly essential to have every stadium  seated.
Post by: mc_grens on November 28, 2013, 02:15:59 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 28, 2013, 02:05:29 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 28, 2013, 12:54:16 PM

Since when did rubby become our National game? that we're all supposed to fall over backwards to accomodate them to have their "World"( yeah right) Cup.
In the immortal words of Jack Boothman " Tell them to feck off".

I don't think anyone's saying it's the national game! The economic boost, particularly to the construction industry would be great, and it might help bring some of those forced to leave the country home. That's no bad thing.
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 28, 2013, 02:16:44 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 28, 2013, 02:12:23 PM
There was grass banking behind the goals in some of the stadiums in NZ. I doubt they are going to turn every stadium being used ,into all seater arenas. An upgrade obviously, but hardly essential to have every stadium  seated.

What you tend to find in this case (Super 15/NRL grounds) is that the two stands running either side of the touchline are of very high spec, with grass banks behind their goals. Australia and to a lesser extent NZ have the climate to accomodate such facilities.
Post by: rodney trotter on November 28, 2013, 03:59:23 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on November 28, 2013, 02:16:44 PM

What you tend to find in this case (Super 15/NRL grounds) is that the two stands running either side of the touchline are of very high spec, with grass banks behind their goals. Australia and to a lesser extent NZ have the climate to accomodate such facilities.

Yeah I guess so, NZ can get its fair share of the rain at times too.

Point I was making was some stadiums here could use terrace as they already do
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 28, 2013, 07:03:37 PM
With use of GAA stadiums along with existing rugby stadiums ireland could host this! it comes at the end of the GAA season too, The world cup keeps revolving around New Zealand 2011, Australia 2003, NZ & Aussies joint 1987, 5 Nations 1991, South Africa 1995, Wales 1999, France 2007, with England coming up next, thats left only Ireland and Scotland as top tiered teams never to host a world cup.
Post by: Leo on November 29, 2013, 11:25:58 PM

What you also tend to find away from your average GAA stadium is the meaning of "toilet". Even Croke Park bogs are a total disgrace.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 30, 2013, 12:00:18 AM
Quote from: Leo on November 29, 2013, 11:25:58 PM

What you also tend to find away from your average GAA stadium is the meaning of "toilet". Even Croke Park bogs are a total disgrace.
Come on, they are functional. You can't expect 5 star bogs in a public stadium.
Post by: muppet on May 19, 2015, 01:35:14 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2015/0519/702215-dick-spring-ireland-have-40-of-rwc-2023-vote/ (http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2015/0519/702215-dick-spring-ireland-have-40-of-rwc-2023-vote/)

Croker, Aviva, Casement (subject to...well read the thread yourselves), Fitzgerald and McHale Park mentioned.

Even as a Mayoman I have to say it looks a bit too political, even if the stadia involved would be well able for what may be asked of them.
Post by: deiseach on May 19, 2015, 01:41:22 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 19, 2015, 01:35:14 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2015/0519/702215-dick-spring-ireland-have-40-of-rwc-2023-vote/ (http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2015/0519/702215-dick-spring-ireland-have-40-of-rwc-2023-vote/)

Croker, Aviva, Casement (subject to...well read the thread yourselves), Fitzgerald and McHale Park mentioned.

Even as a Mayoman I have to say it looks a bit too political, even if the stadia involved would be well able for what may be asked of them.

Sadist.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 19, 2015, 03:09:12 PM
Good to see age hasn't dampened Dick Spring's arrogance or lack of tact.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 19, 2015, 03:29:07 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 19, 2015, 03:09:12 PM
Good to see age hasn't dampened Dick Spring's arrogance or lack of tact.

Rugger Bugger in Tactless Arrogance Shocker .... not.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 19, 2015, 04:39:47 PM
I suppose they'll watch the Women's WC 2017 closely to identify potential weak points.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on May 19, 2015, 05:11:07 PM
Spring claiming he has 40% of the votes in the bag this far in advance could backfire spectacularly and perhaps even be one of his legacies! That and dropping a catch in Cardiff.
He's practically telling his competitors the target list of votes they need to badger, bribe and blackmail. Also, it could be perceived as arrogantly presumptuous by those he thinks he has in his column.

If this process in any way resembles the way soccer World Cups and Olympic Games are awarded, I'd assume absolutely nothing before votes are counted. We've seen England's anguish trying to secure World Cups when slimey Johnny Foreigner fails to be wowed by the glory of bidmeisters David Cameron and Prince William.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/england/8176849/Englands-World-Cup-2018-bid-blame-lies-for-humiliation.html
Post by: magpie seanie on May 20, 2015, 12:38:04 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on May 19, 2015, 05:11:07 PM
Spring claiming he has 40% of the votes in the bag this far in advance could backfire spectacularly and perhaps even be one of his legacies! That and dropping a catch in Cardiff.
He's practically telling his competitors the target list of votes they need to badger, bribe and blackmail. Also, it could be perceived as arrogantly presumptuous by those he thinks he has in his column.

If this process in any way resembles the way soccer World Cups and Olympic Games are awarded, I'd assume absolutely nothing before votes are counted. We've seen England's anguish trying to secure World Cups when slimey Johnny Foreigner fails to be wowed by the glory of bidmeisters David Cameron and Prince William.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/england/8176849/Englands-World-Cup-2018-bid-blame-lies-for-humiliation.html

That's what you get when you put Dick Spring in charge of anything. A seriously dubious choice to lead this campaign. f**king politicians again. Himself and Bruton made a complete arse of the 1st IRA ceasefire, the whole thing nearly went off again thanks in no small part to them. He shouldn't be let near organising a cake sale.
Post by: muppet on May 20, 2015, 03:27:41 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 20, 2015, 12:38:04 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on May 19, 2015, 05:11:07 PM

That's what you get when you put Dick Spring in charge of anything. A seriously dubious choice to lead this campaign. f**king politicians again. Himself and Bruton made a complete arse of the 1st IRA ceasefire, the whole thing nearly went off again thanks in no small part to them. He shouldn't be let near organising a cake sale.

I like the way you can subtly sew hot topics together.  :D