The Sunday Game

Started by Jinxy, May 11, 2008, 10:47:55 PM

The only good thing about the Sunday Game is the theme tune.

Personalities are non-existent and actually seem to be frowned upon.
Analysis is just a series of soundbites and cliche's.
Zero entertainment value.
It's so PC it's become a non-entity.

So if there is no entertainment, no decent analysis....then what is the Sunday Game?

They need to completely clear out the personnel. Now that the mainstays are gone its a great opportunity for RTE to get this right.
They need to decide if they are going for entertainment OR in depth analysis because it seems they are unable to get it right if trying to do both. Then based on this decision, recruit entertainers OR analysts. Putting both together on the same panel doesnt seem to work and probably is what has caused friction previously.

Possibly have a panel of anchors and rotate between them as Cantwell just doesn't work imo.

Recently retired players who have played the modern game and who have managed at some level to provide the analysis. Last thing you want is guys on there harking back to the good old days.
But they also need to have some decent presentation skills. What about ex-referee's as analysts? Pat Mceneany for example?

I dont know what the magic formula is but the current formula just does not work.

The reality is that you couldn't please some of you c***ts. He's no good. He's shite. No analysis, his analysis is shit, he was a shit footballer, she's a girl. Take a f**king day off ffs.

keep her low this half

Quote from: tbrick18 on July 27, 2022, 11:35:20 AM
The only good thing about the Sunday Game is the theme tune.

Personalities are non-existent and actually seem to be frowned upon.
Analysis is just a series of soundbites and cliche's.
Zero entertainment value.
It's so PC it's become a non-entity.

So if there is no entertainment, no decent analysis....then what is the Sunday Game?

They need to completely clear out the personnel. Now that the mainstays are gone its a great opportunity for RTE to get this right.
They need to decide if they are going for entertainment OR in depth analysis because it seems they are unable to get it right if trying to do both. Then based on this decision, recruit entertainers OR analysts. Putting both together on the same panel doesnt seem to work and probably is what has caused friction previously.

Possibly have a panel of anchors and rotate between them as Cantwell just doesn't work imo.

Recently retired players who have played the modern game and who have managed at some level to provide the analysis. Last thing you want is guys on there harking back to the good old days.
But they also need to have some decent presentation skills. What about ex-referee's as analysts? Pat Mceneany for example?

I dont know what the magic formula is but the current formula just does not work.

i am not sure if it is possible given rules about broadcasting but if we could have more actual game time shown and less pundits rambling it would be a better show. In fairness I enjoy some of the hurling analysis, I think Brendan Cummins is very good. As for the football zzzz.

Crazy in this day and age. . . you have easy access to all broadcast sports and can see the successful broadcasting formats.

You audition lads for personality and give them some media training so they can handle themselves properly on screen without losing their opinions and backbone.

The fact there isn't a recap style show like MNF with proper analysis and a legend of the game as a guest to add some extra insight is ridiculous as far as I can see.

Even some kind of mish mash magazine show presented by the 2 Johnnies (or someone like that) lacing a bit of craic through the GAA scene would be deadly.

They have so much they can do and they just won't it's so frustrating!

Quote from: screenexile on July 27, 2022, 01:06:08 PM
Crazy in this day and age. . . you have easy access to all broadcast sports and can see the successful broadcasting formats.

You audition lads for personality and give them some media training so they can handle themselves properly on screen without losing their opinions and backbone.

The fact there isn't a recap style show like MNF with proper analysis and a legend of the game as a guest to add some extra insight is ridiculous as far as I can see.

Even some kind of mish mash magazine show presented by the 2 Johnnies (or someone like that) lacing a bit of craic through the GAA scene would be deadly.

It's possible to do it in NZ..

https://youtu.be/3WQHVD3n9AU

Redhand Santa

Breaking ball used to be a good effort at a magazine style show on rte.

From an ulster point of view used to enjoy end to end in the mid 2000's on utv. Just basically a chat show from memory but provided good build up to the games involving ulster teams.

Brilliant idea.

bigarsedkeeper

Parkinson said he pitched a mid week show to them and they didn't even acknowledge him. RTE have a lot of programming to fit in but you would think an hour long show would be cheap enough to make and you'd have a decent audience. Look at the amount of GAA podcasts going and doing well - you'd think they could get a couple of hours a week out even with decent audience numbers.

They had talked about a GAA channel on SKY in years gone by but now they've turned their attention to a youtube channel with regular content. The success of podcasts like Parkinson has attracted their attention.

A couple of shows a week previewing and reviewing games would attract huge numbers.

RTÉ already have their own excellent GAA podcast. Rory O'Neill and Mikey Stafford are resident.  O'Neil is excellent but already works for TSG. Eamon Fitzmaurice and Michael Foley were on recently.  Very informative. 

The Sunday Game is way past its sell by date. An old tired format that is too light touch and is dominated by the big counties. Its crying out for another show, perhaps mid week, to look at players behind the scenes in the smaller counties and divisions 3 and 4.

Quote from: seafoid on July 27, 2022, 06:33:46 PM
RTÉ already have their own excellent GAA podcast. Rory O'Neill and Mikey Stafford are resident.  O'Neil is excellent but already works for TSG. Eamon Fitzmaurice and Michael Foley were on recently.  Very informative.

Rory O'Neill interupts everybody too much.

Apart from that it's good. Mixture of football and hurling.

I wonder will they continue when the club championships kick in?

Watch the game and make your own assessment, job done

This has been covered quite extensively. The GAA's own rights restrictions preclude RTE from having any type of midweek show - they aren't allowed to use the footage!

Jim Bob

Quote from: DuffleKing on July 28, 2022, 07:57:24 AM

This has been covered quite extensively. The GAA's own rights restrictions preclude RTE from having any type of midweek show - they aren't allowed to use the footage!

You'd wonder why that is the case ?.