Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: DrinkingHarp on February 23, 2012, 01:09:38 AM

Title: Man sues Hermitage Golf Club for Lowering his Handicap
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 23, 2012, 01:09:38 AM
This could have been in the WTF or Golf threads but I think it needs its own thread.

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/golf-devil-ball-golf/mans-sues-golf-club-13-2-million-lowering-175136549.html

Man sues golf club for $13.2 million for lowering handicap.

.By Jonathan Wall | Devil Ball Golf – 7 hours ago.. .

How much is your handicap worth to you? For one golfer in Ireland, it's apparently worth €10m (about $13.2 million USD). In a bizarre story that, honestly, belongs in The Onion, 75-year-old golfer Thomas Talbot is suing his former club, Hermitage Golf Club, after the handicap secretary reduced his handicap by 7.7 shots between 1999 and 2004.

As the Irish Independent reported, Talbot claimed the handicap reduction took a personal toll on him over the last six years, as friends at his former club refused to play with him and labeled him a cheat.

The golf club claimed  that based on GUI Rule 19, it had an obligation to lower his handicap if it felt it was too high relative to his ability on the course. But Talbot didn't see it that way, and so here we are ... talking about a guy suing his golf club for a lowered handicap. A LOWERED handicap.

"This case has been going on for the past six years. It has been hugely stressful. I didn't care so much about the handicap issue, it is more the principle of it.

"I'd turn up for a competition and there would be nobody to play with. I have learned the hard way that friends are a funny species -- they're never there when you want them.["]

On one hand, I feel bad for Talbot because playing golf with friends is one of the best things on earth. But on the other hand, I want to know how he went five years without questioning his handicap. If this was such a big deal back then, why didn't he just talk to someone at the club and get things cleared up? That's the real question that needs to be answered.

Title: Re: Man sues Hermitage Golf Club for Lowering his Handicap
Post by: thebigfella on February 23, 2012, 09:20:04 AM
Read some background on this guy, he's a hateful cnut.....
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 23, 2012, 09:34:56 AM
I'm thinking of sueing the club for highering my handicap, nobody wants to play with me either
Post by: Billys Boots on February 23, 2012, 09:36:46 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on February 23, 2012, 09:20:04 AM

I thought they only had those type of members in The Hermitage?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 23, 2012, 09:42:09 AM
The last paragraph is gas

Lovers united after three decades apart now fight over house
By Ray Managh
Tuesday June 24 2008
A COUPLE who split up in the 1960s after they married different partners and then were reunited following 28 years apart are locked in a legal battle over the house they share after "splitting up" again.
A High Court judge heard that the couple, Marie Sheehy and Thomas Talbot, now lived in an intolerable situation in which they share the same roof but barely speak to each other.
Counsel for Ms Sheehy, Martin Gleeson, told Mr Justice John Edwards the couple had lived above a shop his client owned in Sutton, Dublin until they jointly bought a three-bedroomed house, Inbhir Ide, in Malahide, Co Dublin,
Mr Gleeson told the court how his client had originally asked the Circuit Civil Court to determine ownership of the €500,000 property in Malahide. The court then ruled that the house should be divided 50-50. But Mr Talbot, a retired insurance official, had appealed the Circuit Court's decision to the High Court.
Judge Edwards heard that, following the break-up of Mr Talbot's marriage and the death of Ms Sheehy's husband, the couple had been reintroduced by a mutual friend and became lovers. They had contributed almost evenly to buy the Malahide property for €48,000 in 1992. They had rented Inbhir Ide out until 1995 when Ms Sheehy (64) had sold The Tuck Shop and they had moved into it themselves. Ms Sheehy said that following a kitchen extension Mr Talbot would have owed her just under €12,000.
Mr Talbot (71) said he had raised a €28,000 mortgage towards the purchase of Inbhir Ide and had carried out a lot of work to the house and gardens, caring for Marie following her two hip operations.
He told Judge Edwards he estimated he would need €350,000 from any sale of the house, giving him a split of 65/35 in his favour. Mr Talbot, when cross-examined by Mr Gleeson, agreed it would be impractical to physically partition the house which would cost in the region of €200,000 to give them separate apartments.
He said he was currently involved in court cases against his former employer as well as Hermitage Golf Club, the club secretary and the Golfing Union of Ireland as well as a company of solicitors he claimed had defrauded him. He was also disputing his mother's will.
Judge Edwards reserved his decision on apportionment of interest in Inbhir Ide.
- Ray Managh

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/lovers-united-after-three-decades-apart-now-fight-over-house-1419967.html

Post by: deiseach on February 23, 2012, 09:47:38 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 23, 2012, 09:36:46 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on February 23, 2012, 09:20:04 AM

I thought they only had those type of members in The Hermitage?

Aye, that was a tautology if ever there was one

It's some crazy tale. Hermitage and the GUI are respectively €200k and €300k in the hole (http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/other_sports/86733/) (ho ho) in legal costs, all for a man who plans to spread his winnings  - there's no other word for it - among his children who 'for personal reasons (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/golfer-75-sues-for-10m-after-handicap-lowered-3026902.html)' won't have anything to do with him. As the original report above noted, The Onion would dismiss this as being unbelievable.
Post by: laoislad on February 23, 2012, 09:50:15 AM
I only live a stones throw from this Golf Course. Played there once and found it to be a place where they are all very much up their own arses.Nice course but not very welcoming patrons.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 23, 2012, 10:07:59 AM
Be careful what you say about this cnut, ye never know where the Board might end up for defamation of his "good" character!
Post by: Hardy on February 23, 2012, 10:58:29 AM
OK - I think it's dawning on me why people won't play golf with him and it's got nothing to do with his handicap.
Post by: Bingo on February 23, 2012, 11:27:06 AM
After years off been constantly ungraded by the club and left as a Junior B & C player and been overlooked by senior management as a result, I'm going to sue my club and the GAA. I turned up at County training with my gear on several occassions but they wouldn't play me cause they said I wasn't even playing with the club seniors. 
Post by: LeoMc on February 23, 2012, 11:38:16 AM
Must remember that excuse the next time I bump into someone I don't like, "I can't talk to you because you got your handicap lowered".
Post by: heffo on February 23, 2012, 12:57:24 PM
Quote from: Bingo on February 23, 2012, 11:27:06 AM
After years off been constantly ungraded by the club and left as a Junior B & C player and been overlooked by senior management as a result, I'm going to sue my club and the GAA. I turned up at County training with my gear on several occassions but they wouldn't play me cause they said I wasn't even playing with the club seniors.

You should move to Straffan and declare for Kildare - McGeeney will let you train with Kildare!

"If he wants to play for Kildare, the same as anybody else wants to play for Kildare, I've an open door policy," McGeeney said on KFM.

"He can come here, turn up, play, train and I've never stopped anybody who's wanted to play for Kildare.
Post by: leaveherinsir on February 23, 2012, 07:11:33 PM
Very much a true story. I was on the Handicap Committee in my club last year.  We had the GUI into do an audit of handicaps (all clubs are getting this done at minute).  The two boys told us about this story, one of the upshots is that you can only cut players under the "General Play" rule once a year now, when you are completing the Annual handicap review. Also you must inform the Provinical Branch in writing about any players you increase or decrease in the Annual Review.

I remember years ago the Handicap Secreatary just picked a number of thin air for new members.  It was normally .. "aye that boy has played a bit of soccer/rugby/gaelic, he'll be handy enough, give him 14"
Post by: Bingo on July 27, 2012, 04:07:19 PM
I see this guy has lost his case and won't get his 10m in damages. In addition he faces a 500k legal bill  :o

Crazy stuff.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 27, 2012, 04:41:10 PM
Quote from: Bingo on July 27, 2012, 04:07:19 PM
I see this guy has lost his case and won't get his 10m in damages. In addition he faces a 500k legal bill  :o

Crazy stuff.
Sounds like it couldnt happen to a nicer chap.
Post by: deiseach on July 27, 2012, 05:20:41 PM
I heard Anglo made him do it
Post by: Tubberman on July 27, 2012, 05:26:32 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 27, 2012, 05:20:41 PM
I heard Anglo made him do it

Good for him - he won't have to pay his legal fees so.
Post by: stew on July 31, 2012, 10:08:09 PM
The man could be mentally imbalanced, he is suing anyone that looks at him sideways and has destroyed his financial situation to the tune of a half million, that is madness and the fcukers that represented him should be ashamed of themselves, this was a case that was never going to be won and they milked him dry.

If he is not mental then hell slap it up him.
Post by: heffo on July 31, 2012, 10:09:14 PM
Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 10:08:09 PM
The man could be mentally imbalanced, he is suing anyone that looks at him sideways and has destroyed his financial situation to the tune of a half million, that is madness and the fcukers that represented him should be ashamed of themselves, this was a case that was never going to be won and they milked him dry.

He represented himself
Post by: deiseach on July 31, 2012, 10:23:24 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 31, 2012, 10:09:14 PM
Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 10:08:09 PM

He represented himself

Yeah, the costs would be those incurred by Hermitage in defending the action.

I'd say something about him but he might sue the Discussion Board for two gagrillion euro
Post by: stew on July 31, 2012, 10:26:30 PM
If he represented himself he is feckin mental, how did he expect to win doing that?

The man cannot be well, he is nucking futs.
Post by: deiseach on July 31, 2012, 10:30:19 PM
Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 10:26:30 PM
If he represented himself he is feckin mental, how did he expect to win doing that?

Narcissism isn't a mental illness, it's a character flaw
Post by: stew on July 31, 2012, 10:47:45 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 31, 2012, 10:30:19 PM
Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 10:26:30 PM

Narcissism isn't a mental illness, it's a character flaw
He is old and could be slipping upstairs, that is just as likely as him loving himself!
Post by: deiseach on July 31, 2012, 11:02:55 PM
Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 10:47:45 PM
He is old and could be slipping upstairs, that is just as likely as him loving himself!

Took me a second to get this, must be slipping upstairs ;)

Seriously, there doesn't seem to be any evidence that he's doting. I think you are saying that people shouldn't be allowed to waste the time of the courts with clearly idiotic cases like this, and I can sympathise with that. But if a man who is compos mentis wants his day in court and ignores all advise to the contrary, and you can be sure he went to several solicitors who laughed in his face, what can you do?
Post by: stew on August 01, 2012, 01:50:35 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 31, 2012, 11:02:55 PM
Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 10:47:45 PM

Took me a second to get this, must be slipping upstairs ;)

Seriously, there doesn't seem to be any evidence that he's doting. I think you are saying that people shouldn't be allowed to waste the time of the courts with clearly idiotic cases like this, and I can sympathise with that. But if a man who is compos mentis wants his day in court and ignores all advise to the contrary, and you can be sure he went to several solicitors who laughed in his face, what can you do?

Could the Judge not have thrown this out as frivolous?

It is a disgrace that the golf Club ponied up $500,000 to defend themselves, Deiseach that was a good post.

It appears he is just a gold digger alright, feck him, I hope he loses the other ridiculous cases also.

Is he liable for court costs? will the club recoup any portion of the money they spent on this case? I hope so.
Post by: Bingo on August 01, 2012, 02:07:27 PM
You might be dismissing it but apparently he wasn't a mile away from winning the case (not sure what he'd have been awarded). Judge said that as the wording on which he was suing was detailed to him on his private login with his handicap details wasn't made public, he had no grounds for claiming that they ruined his reputation, accused him of cheating etc. It was a private matter between him and the handicap committee.

If it had been on a public noticeboard, could have been a different outcome in his favour.
Post by: deiseach on August 01, 2012, 02:24:37 PM
Quote from: Bingo on August 01, 2012, 02:07:27 PM
You might be dismissing it but apparently he wasn't a mile away from winning the case (not sure what he'd have been awarded). Judge said that as the wording on which he was suing was detailed to him on his private login with his handicap details wasn't made public, he had no grounds for claiming that they ruined his reputation, accused him of cheating etc. It was a private matter between him and the handicap committee.

If it had been on a public noticeboard, could have been a different outcome in his favour.

But it wasn't, and presumably it wasn't for a reason. The Devil's in the detail
Post by: Bingo on August 01, 2012, 02:29:49 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 01, 2012, 02:24:37 PM

Yeah, thats very clear but shows that the man wasn't mad or it wasn't a frilovous case, the passing of the comment was down to the Judges interpetation, which he took some time to consider.
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 01, 2012, 11:36:40 PM

Deiseach is as cute as an ould fox.  In normal circumstances his handicap would be public if he is a member of the GUI or has a CONGU handicap and if you put your number in when you log in to www.howdidido.co.uk  you can select any club in Ireland or England, Scotland or Wales and see any players handicap. For example, I can log in to Ringdunferrin in Down and see everyones handicap. Strange that every club is listed EXCEPT Hermitage or Lucan and only for the fact that this is the only club I see missing from the list is what could have cost poor old Tom half a million. It is also fair to say that Tom brought more attention to his handicap than if he was hitting holes in one on all 18 holes every day for a month and he must have a fairly bad swing if he missed the wife and let her bring him to another court to take as much off him.  Gaaboard "Tom Talbot Fundraiser" golf classic anyone
Post by: orangeman on August 01, 2012, 11:56:53 PM
Would this man sponsor the next GAA BOARD outing or put a wee prize up ?

He seems a very decent sort who takes his golf very seriously, maybe a bit too seriously, allegedly ?

Not saying anything bad about him or anything.
Post by: deiseach on August 02, 2012, 09:18:34 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 01, 2012, 11:36:40 PM
In normal circumstances his handicap would be public if he is a member of the GUI or has a CONGU handicap and if you put your number in when you log in to www.howdidido.co.uk  you can select any club in Ireland or England, Scotland or Wales and see any players handicap. For example, I can log in to Ringdunferrin in Down and see everyones handicap.

Scary! Has golf always been as upfront about a player's handicap?
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 03, 2012, 09:59:04 AM
Afraid so, you tell me the player in Ireland and I will tell you his handicap. Got into a bit of a dispute last Saturday myself, I birdied 3 par 3 holes and also one of those 3 holes was nearest the pin in the competition. Queries arose over my handicap and a lad (at 9.30pm) in the bar simply sent a text and all my details came back to his phone instantly. Didn't matter though, I told him to f off with himself anyway !
(http://www.docmecoc.com/USERIMAGES/FunnyGolfLesson1.jpg)
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 03, 2012, 10:30:59 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on August 01, 2012, 11:36:40 PM

Deiseach is as cute as an ould fox.  In normal circumstances his handicap would be public if he is a member of the GUI or has a CONGU handicap and if you put your number in when you log in to www.howdidido.co.uk  you can select any club in Ireland or England, Scotland or Wales and see any players handicap. For example, I can log in to Ringdunferrin in Down and see everyones handicap. Strange that every club is listed EXCEPT Hermitage or Lucan and only for the fact that this is the only club I see missing from the list is what could have cost poor old Tom half a million. It is also fair to say that Tom brought more attention to his handicap than if he was hitting holes in one on all 18 holes every day for a month and he must have a fairly bad swing if he missed the wife and let her bring him to another court to take as much off him.  Gaaboard "Tom Talbot Fundraiser" golf classic anyone
It's very strange that Hermitage is the only club in the British Isles that doesn't have the members' handicaps listed. There has to be a connection with the Tom Talbot case.
It just can't be mere coincidence.
The judge dismissed Tom's claim because his handicap wasn't made public- or so it seems.
Does that mean that he could have been awarded damages if the Hermitage details had been listed on this website?
If so, every other club on both islands had better watch out.
There may be trouble ahead...
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 03, 2012, 10:46:57 AM
Thats the first thing I though when Deiseach flagged it.  I think the law in relation to defamation is that the details would have to be circulated to 12 people or more but it is certainly strange that every golf club except Lucan/Hermitage is missing from the list. There was another case out there a few years ago that cost a million in legal fees as well if you remember, one member hit another member a box in the face and the case went on for years. Lovely place with some fairly interesting members.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/golf-club-match-wager-ended-in-bloodbath-like-sopranos-2174857.html (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/golf-club-match-wager-ended-in-bloodbath-like-sopranos-2174857.html)

The sopranos !!  :D ;D
Post by: thebigfella on August 04, 2012, 02:23:33 AM
Sorry Bud but you talking sh1te. Your club has to register for HowDoIDo and has nothing to to do with the GUI. You'll not find my handicap listed anywhere after I left South County; and I now play at one of the best courses in Ireland ;)
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 04, 2012, 05:48:40 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on August 04, 2012, 02:23:33 AM
Sorry Bud but you talking sh1te. Your club has to register for HowDoIDo and has nothing to to do with the GUI. You'll not find my handicap listed anywhere after I left South County; and I now play at one of the best courses in Ireland ;)

Good man, you got your chance to let everyone know that you left South County golf club and joined the best club in Ireland. Howdoido has more to do with Microsoft forums, the website I referred to is howdidido.co.UK. with regard to your handicap not being listed anywhere if you are the holder of a GUI card, I'm not even going to bother to explain.
Post by: Puckoon on October 21, 2014, 08:11:20 PM
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/golfer-faces-half-a-million-euro-legal-bill-over-handicap-30682249.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/golfer-faces-half-a-million-euro-legal-bill-over-handicap-30682249.html)

I see your man lost his case anyways.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2014, 09:55:52 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 21, 2014, 08:11:20 PM
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/golfer-faces-half-a-million-euro-legal-bill-over-handicap-30682249.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/golfer-faces-half-a-million-euro-legal-bill-over-handicap-30682249.html)

83 days?!  :o I think he has been shafted.
Post by: orangeman on October 22, 2014, 12:56:58 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2014, 09:55:52 PM

It seems he has made an absolute dog leg out of this. It's "rough" justice - somebody could get plugged over this whole affair. The papers will put their own spin on this. There could be a few barristers green with envy over not getting this gig. There could be links to this over the course of a few shots of liquor in the local clubhouse. The poor old man thought the result was in the bag when he saw an albatross in the Sky coverage but his case got wedged in the back lift in the "Fore" Courts.

When he putt his case to the judge, the whole thing just fell in a hole and the barristers had him by the ball. His driver took him every day for 83 days, some nights it was pitch black,  to see if they could iron things out. He's have taken a draw at the end but a wee birdie told him to scramble and get out of bounds cos there always hazards to be found when you drop shots like this.

Enough of that. This is par for the course now. He'd never make the cut as a legal eagle.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 22, 2014, 08:22:03 AM
Quote from: orangeman on October 22, 2014, 12:56:58 AM

It seems he has made an absolute dog leg out of this. It's "rough" justice - somebody could get plugged over this whole affair. The papers will put their own spin on this. There could be a few barristers green with envy over not getting this gig. There could be links to this over the course of a few shots of liquor in the local clubhouse. The poor old man thought the result was in the bag when he saw an albatross in the Sky coverage but his case got wedged in the back lift in the "Fore" Courts.

When he putt his case to the judge, the whole thing just fell in a hole and the barristers had him by the ball. His driver took him every day for 83 days, some nights it was pitch black,  to see if they could iron things out. He's have taken a draw at the end but a wee birdie told him to scramble and get out of bounds cos there always hazards to be found when you drop shots like this.

Enough of that. This is par for the course now. He'd never make the cut as a legal eagle.
You could have left us some scraps  :D
Post by: muppet on October 22, 2014, 01:29:07 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 22, 2014, 08:22:03 AM
Quote from: orangeman on October 22, 2014, 12:56:58 AM

You could have left us some scraps  :D

He is your Master(s).
Post by: theskull1 on October 22, 2014, 01:33:05 PM
I think OM's post has putt this thread to bed
Post by: orangeman on October 22, 2014, 02:44:14 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 22, 2014, 01:33:05 PM

That would all depend on whether it's a favourable "lie" or not surely ?.

Post by: muppet on October 22, 2014, 06:25:49 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 22, 2014, 02:44:14 PM

You provided no links though, which was foul. I had to flag you on that.
Post by: orangeman on October 23, 2014, 12:44:28 AM
Quote from: muppet on October 22, 2014, 06:25:49 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 22, 2014, 02:44:14 PM

You provided no links though, which was foul. I had to flag you on that.

Please don't drop me in it. I'll take a stroke especially if I see the bogey man.