Things you don't often see at GAA matches anymore................

Started by SouthArmaghBandit, June 21, 2007, 12:33:07 PM

SouthArmaghBandit

Pioneer Pins. Years ago every second male was wearing one, now they're rare.

Armagh fans?  ;D

Bacon

Paper hats in county colours that stain your face when it rains.

A thing of the past - just like Pioneer Pins, string vests and Armagh fans.
Down Championships Prediction League Winner 2009

Quote from: Lecale2 on June 21, 2007, 12:34:51 PM
Armagh fans?  ;D

Hawkers - lads walking between the rows of seats with tubs of ice-cream or stalls set up inside the gate and ould wans roaring "apples, oranges, pears, bananas or choclah".  (How come they were always from Dublin, even if the match was in Skibereen?). Crepe hats (you still see the straw cowboy hats, though - specially on Galway and Mayo supporters). Touts - where have the skangers in shiny track suits gone who used to hang around on Drumcondra Road - "spare tickets - buyin or sellin".

Some things haven't changed though. There's a fella on the corner of Whitworth Road and Drumcondra Road with the finest pair of lungs you ever heard - "hats flags or headbands". You can nearly hear him above at Cross Guns Bridge.

Is The Pecker Dunne still alive?

Aristotle Flynn

Quote from: Lecale2 on June 21, 2007, 12:34:51 PM

Armagh fans?  ;D

:D :D

Men in suites with the trousers held up by bailing twine.
A tyrant must put on the appearance of uncommon devotion to religion.

The subs kicking around at half time! Why did they stop that?  ???

Feckitt

Pecker Dunne is still alive, and there was a programme with him on it this week on TG4 about Travellers and Music.

You don't see any flag sellers trying to sell off coloured saffron flags to Armagh fans.

Hawkers going round the crowd, annoying everyone while the match is in progress, selling ice cream etc.Used to be a feature of Ulster Finals until someone from the Ulster Council had a brainwave of opening a shop selling taytos,chocolates and programmes.

Also a feature of the old Clones in the 70s and 80s was a load of Clergymen, from Bishops, Monsignors, Canons, Curates etc walking down, inside the pitch to the best seats.

I was going to say lads pissing out in the open until I remembered that at least two Armagh Minor subs did this last week while warming up in Clones, at the corner of the pitch,which I seriously thought was disgraceful >:(

People staying on to the end - there usually a mass exodus 5 minutes from the end of the match in a race to see who can get to the car the quickest so that they ring their mates shortly after the final whistle and say " where are you at ? " and they'll say, " ah, we're just leaving Clones ( or whatever other venue ) " and yer man saying " ah, Jesus, what kept ye, we're nearly home, plus we stopped for a feed ! "