GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: rrhf on February 16, 2009, 12:43:40 PM

Title: Babhta 3 Tyrone V Galway Saturday 7th March 2009
Post by: rrhf on February 16, 2009, 12:43:40 PM
I must admit Galway look to be a coming force this year, or how bad were the Dubs?  Where exactly are Tyrone at this stage having finished strongly yesterday or did Kerry ease off?  Always a fine game of football, it looks like a battle between Connaght and Ulsters best hope of AI success this year.
Title: Re: Roinn 3 Tyrone V Galway Saturday 7th March 2009
Post by: ziggysego on February 16, 2009, 12:52:09 PM
Greencastle Gala is on that night, so unfortunately I will not be at it.
Post by: ONeill on February 16, 2009, 01:01:17 PM
Galway's attack seem to be a serious force at the minute. This fixture, following on from the Kerry game, shows how important it is to be in division 1. Great match ups early on. What's the story with sean o'neill?
Post by: Zapatista on February 16, 2009, 01:03:27 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 16, 2009, 01:01:17 PM
Galway's attack seem to be a serious force at the minute. This fixture, following on from the Kerry game, shows how important it is to be in division 1. Great match ups early on. What's the story with sean o'neill?

Which one? Do you mean Shaun?
Post by: ONeill on February 16, 2009, 01:07:56 PM
Yep, the blonde bomber.
Post by: Zapatista on February 16, 2009, 01:14:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 16, 2009, 01:07:56 PM
Yep, the blonde bomber.

No story with fitness or anything else as far as I know. It's a pity he hasn't had a run out. He is a real athlete but he needs game time.  After training all year with Tyrone in 08 and playing very little football for Club or County it showed in his club form.
Post by: SidelineKick on February 16, 2009, 01:16:17 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 16, 2009, 12:52:09 PM
Greencastle Gala is on that night, so unfortunately I will not be at it.

"I was working I didnt make it"

"Gala dinner is on, won't be able to make it"

Ziggy you're not a supporter at all!!  :P
Post by: ziggysego on February 16, 2009, 01:18:19 PM
The real reason I didn't make the game on Saturday Sideline was I was likely to throw a punch at you, over your comments about the late-great Drew Kirk (RIP).

Good job I didn't go on reflection, the Ricey thing would have been pale in comparison ;)
Post by: SidelineKick on February 16, 2009, 01:23:30 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 16, 2009, 01:18:19 PM
The real reason I didn't make the game on Saturday Sideline was I was likely to throw a punch at you, over your comments about the late-great Drew Kirk (RIP).

Good job I didn't go on reflection, the Ricey thing would have been pale in comparison ;)

Ziggy you should be able to control that temper of yours!  You can't start bringing Drew Kirk in a football match, even I admit that would be worse than talking about somebody's mother!

Any male on here knows that it only takes a slight touch to set the balls off, Ricey might have just patted him, but a Pat's all it takes! (Or else I have over sensitive testicles  :o :-\)
Post by: clarshack on February 16, 2009, 02:07:35 PM
looks like SON is out for 4-5 weeks

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7892430.stm
Post by: BennyHarp on February 16, 2009, 03:34:40 PM
Quote from: clarshack on February 16, 2009, 02:07:35 PM
looks like SON is out for 4-5 weeks

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7892430.stm

Bad news - was hoping we were going to get an injury free season out of him, he does seem to be a bit jinxed poor fella!
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 18, 2009, 10:03:56 PM
Hopefully Harte will shake things up for this one after the Kerry game. Cassidy did enough during his time at full forward to deserve a chance there. Harte seems to struggle at this time of year so would maybe give him a rest. Would like to see something like this:

Devine
PJ Quinn
Joe McMahon
Conor Gormley
Martin Swift
Ryan "Hero" McMenamin
Jordan
McGinley
Justy McMahon
Tommy McGuigan
Brian McGuigan
Sean Cavanagh
Gareth Devlin
Aiden Cassidy
Mugsy

Biggest concern would be the inexperience in the full forward line but think both Devlin and Cassidy are worth a go.
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2009, 10:51:40 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 18, 2009, 10:05:48 PM
When did Tyrone and Galway get relegated to division 3?

A couple of days ago. Bit of a bummer but we're just getting on with it. If Antrim go up we'll be heading to Casement next Valentine's Day.
Post by: Orior on February 18, 2009, 11:05:24 PM
This thread is blatently just a deliberate attempt to divert attention from the footballers to the football.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 19, 2009, 02:50:11 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 18, 2009, 10:03:56 PM
Hopefully Harte will shake things up for this one after the Kerry game. Cassidy did enough during his time at full forward to deserve a chance there. Harte seems to struggle at this time of year so would maybe give him a rest. Would like to see something like this:

Devine
PJ Quinn
Joe McMahon
Conor Gormley
Martin Swift
Ryan "Hero" McMenamin
Jordan
McGinley
Justy McMahon
Tommy McGuigan
Brian McGuigan
Sean Cavanagh
Gareth Devlin
Aiden Cassidy
Mugsy

Biggest concern would be the inexperience in the full forward line but think both Devlin and Cassidy are worth a go.

What about giving McCarron a bit of time in the FB line?
Post by: StGallsGAA on February 19, 2009, 08:39:17 AM
We definately owe Galway one for the league semi-final when the conspired with the ref to rob a draw to bring us to the west. 

They'll be high on confidence after making the Dubs look like a ladies team so it has the makings of a good match.   Will Gormley be given the job of picking up Joyce?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 19, 2009, 08:50:28 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on February 19, 2009, 02:50:11 AM

Devine
PJ Quinn
Joe McMahon
Conor Gormley
Martin Swift
Ryan "Hero" McMenamin
Jordan
McGinley
Justy McMahon
Tommy McGuigan
Brian McGuigan
Sean Cavanagh
Gareth Devlin
Aiden Cassidy
Mugsy

What about giving McCarron a bit of time in the FB line?

Yeah would be happy enough with that. Looks good at club level and for u21's last year. Hopefully he can make the step up. Dont think he's had a chance since the Kerry game last year.
Post by: Doohicky on February 19, 2009, 08:57:55 AM
Another evening kick off here. I think Tyrone have 5 evening kick off's in the League this year which is seriously annoying for me.
Since I don't drive I have to stay overnight for the games.

Anyway, hopefully I can make it down for this game, but it's GFs birthday that weekend so not sure if she'll be happy with me being away since I was already away for Valentines because of teh Kerry game  :P
Post by: clarshack on February 19, 2009, 09:59:22 AM
Quote from: Doohicky on February 19, 2009, 08:57:55 AM
Another evening kick off here. I think Tyrone have 5 evening kick off's in the League this year which is seriously annoying for me.

Anyway, hopefully I can make it down for this game, but it's GFs birthday that weekend so not sure if she'll be happy with me being away since I was already away for Valentines because of teh Kerry game  :P

you mean throw-in?
Post by: AFS on February 19, 2009, 10:01:11 AM
Quote from: clarshack on February 19, 2009, 09:59:22 AM

you mean throw-in?

Sacrilege!
Post by: Doohicky on February 19, 2009, 02:08:07 PM
Quote from: clarshack on February 19, 2009, 09:59:22 AM

you mean throw-in?

Hangs head in shame. :-[
Post by: longball on February 19, 2009, 04:30:50 PM
Mickey Harte is the only man in sport that i know with two organs in his name.
Post by: rrhf on February 19, 2009, 04:53:44 PM
Is it only me or does anyone else think that Galway women always look half polish?
Post by: ONeill on February 19, 2009, 05:06:23 PM
Honesty, what time is the first drop-out?
Post by: tyssam5 on February 19, 2009, 10:36:53 PM

Take her to Galway for the weekend, if she doesn't like football there's plenty of shops. Liking the evening games myself, never used to be able to see league games on TV as an exile.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 19, 2009, 10:44:54 PM
It's in Healy Park isn't it?

Yep:

Sat 7th March
Healy Park, Omagh@19:30    Tyrone    v    Galway
Post by: omagh_gael on February 19, 2009, 10:59:17 PM
omaghs got good shops too! Treat her to a greasy burger outside healy park an a glass of wine in the clubroom! She'll be grand and you'll get to see the game too  ;D
Post by: ONeill on February 19, 2009, 11:34:46 PM
The thread starter had a Loch an Iúir education, HS. Go easy.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 19, 2009, 11:37:45 PM
I thought the game was in Galway, well lets see if we can win in Omagh for a change.
Post by: Redhandfan on February 19, 2009, 11:47:42 PM

Devine
PJ Quinn
Joe McMahon
Conor Gormley
Martin Swift
Ryan "Hero" McMenamin
Jordan
McGinley
Justy McMahon
Tommy McGuigan
Brian McGuigan
Sean Cavanagh
Gareth Devlin
Aiden Cassidy
Mugsy

I like your thinking here, Tyrone Dreamer, and find it hard to quibble with that team.  I do think we will see changes for the Galway game and I would be pretty sure Mickey will want to try something a bit different.  The three week break should hopefully see Conor Gormley back to full fitness and I would still prefer to see him take up his familiar CHB position, with our hero Ricey dropping back into the corner.  This might help plug a few holes in what has been a leaky defence so far this year.  I like the idea of Swift moving to half back.  He is a fantastic footballer who is good on the ball and seems to love getting forward.  He does not appear entirely comfortable with a man marking role at corner back.  A switch to midfield could do Justy the world of good but we still need to find a settled full back who we can depend on come championship time.  Either of the McMahons can do a job at number three but Mickey will have to decide which one of them to keep at full back and which one has more to offer further outfield.  Devlin and Cassidy are worth a go alright at midfield, but will Brian McGuigan be fit enough to lead the attack against Galway?  I do think it would be a bit unfair to drop McCullagh for the next game.  I thought he showed very well for the ball against Kerry and woould be slightly more deserving of a starting place in that half forward line at present than Tommy McGuigan.

Galway will present another terrific challenge for us in Omagh.....I cannot wait to see if our defence can carry on where they left off in the second half against Kerry.  That Galway attack is as good as you will find anywhere in Ireland, and Tyrone may have to be clocking up a tally of 1-15 or 1-16 to win this game.  Can we hit that kind of figure without Stevie O'Neill?
Post by: ONeill on February 19, 2009, 11:55:00 PM
Will Stevie still be out?

I think that dropping McCullagh would be a major blow to the current forward unit and I'd be amazed if that decision was taken. Swift does seem to be a tidy footballer away from CB. I wasn't overly impressed last year but can see what his supporters see in him as an excellent footballer. Enda and Justin would be an exciting MF partnership but can't see Joe being penned back as a full time FB again. Mickey seems to like his roving role.

Padraig Joyce, Michael Meehan, Sean Armstrong, Paul Conroy....the Corofin lads if available.....this is some test for the defence. I can't see Jordan, Gormley, Ricey (if available), Harte nor Justin going anywhere but starting the game against this calibre of attack.
Post by: Donagh on February 19, 2009, 11:58:31 PM
Whatever happened to 'Snowy' - does his hatrick not warrant a run-out this year or is he Ricey's sparring partner for the duration?
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on February 20, 2009, 08:54:14 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 19, 2009, 11:55:00 PM
Will Stevie still be out?

I think that dropping McCullagh would be a major blow to the current forward unit and I'd be amazed if that decision was taken. Swift does seem to be a tidy footballer away from CB. I wasn't overly impressed last year but can see what his supporters see in him as an excellent footballer. Enda and Justin would be an exciting MF partnership but can't see Joe being penned back as a full time FB again. Mickey seems to like his roving role.

Padraig Joyce, Michael Meehan, Sean Armstrong, Paul Conroy....the Corofin lads if available.....this is some test for the defence. I can't see Jordan, Gormley, Ricey (if available), Harte nor Justin going anywhere but starting the game against this calibre of attack.
The returning Corofin lads that will probably make the first 15 are all defenders O'Neill, namely Kieran Fitzgerald, Damien Burke and Gary Sice.  Corofin dont actually have any outstanding forwards and that may be their undoing against Kilmacud Crokes this weekend.  Win or lose, I doubt they will be considered for this game anyway.

Hopefully Stephen O'Neill will be recovered in time as I really would like to see how our defence would cope with yer best 6 forwards.
Title: Re: Babhta 3 Tyrone V Galway Saturday 7th March 2009
Post by: Rois on February 20, 2009, 09:29:50 AM
Stephen's injury is to the same knee that he's had trouble with.  It's a chronic condition so it'll never be right, I guess the question is whether it's worth the risk for this match.  If we don't get some points we'll be into a relegation battle so it may be.

Title: Babhta 3
Post by: drici on February 20, 2009, 09:35:38 AM
Back in Roinn 1 now.
Post by: rrhf on February 20, 2009, 10:43:08 AM
These games are coming thick and fast, its just about March and this is  babhta 3 of Roinn 1.   I wouldnt risk any doubtful men now, no matter how nice it would be to be competive for a final place in roinn 1.  As I said earlier its babhta 3 theres quite a few babhtas yet to go and I would rather keep a fresh Stephen for the last couple of babtas and be content with a place in roinn 1 for next year than risk it all and lose him anyway.     
Post by: rrhf on February 23, 2009, 05:27:59 PM
Right who is in for Ricey.  Gormley at 6. 
Post by: tyronefan on February 23, 2009, 07:32:02 PM
could see conor going in for ricey alright,  would also like to see PJ getting a run in the corner instead of Mickey Mc Gee for a match or 2
Post by: tieroan on February 24, 2009, 08:09:25 AM
I dont think that Mickey would have picked Ricey at centre half for this one anyway. I think he would have been slightly alarmed at the wholes in the middle of the defence in the 1st half. Correct me if I am wrong but did Ricey not spend the 2nd half marking the Gooch?
Gormley will return to no 6 to mark Joyce.
Post by: tyroneboi on February 24, 2009, 04:03:02 PM
Thought Justin McMahon looked very good at centre half back in the second half the last day. Would rather see Gromley at full back marking Meehan and then leave Justin McMahon to deal with Joyce. Hope Gareth Devlin gets a run out in the corner probably in place of Colm Cav.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 24, 2009, 05:15:58 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on February 24, 2009, 04:03:02 PM
Thought Justin McMahon looked very good at centre half back in the second half the last day. Would rather see Gromley at full back marking Meehan and then leave Justin McMahon to deal with Joyce. Hope Gareth Devlin gets a run out in the corner probably in place of Colm Cav.

I dunno Justy might suit Meehan OK, if his confident is still good. Justy had good speed and Meehan wouldn't have the strength/size advantage that Walsh enjoyed.
Post by: ONeill on February 24, 2009, 11:28:34 PM
Looking forward to seeing this Galway outfit in action. By all accounts the noises are optimistic coming out of the county about the present side. 2 wins from 2, they've scored more than any other side in the division (albeit a goal more than Tyrone) and their confidence but be high. They've plenty of scoring avenues:

S Armstrong (1-2), P Joyce (0-2), C Bane (0-4); P Conroy (1-1), M Meehan (1-3), M Lydon. v Dublin

P Conroy (0-1), P Joyce (0-1), J Bergin; C Bane (0-1), M Meehan (1-5), N Joyce (0-2) v Westmeath

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 24, 2009, 11:44:21 PM
Justy would be a good bet in the half-back line I'd say, he can do damage on his foraging runs. We owe the Tribesmen from last year, when their fitness was well ahead of ours in Salthill.
Post by: Puckoon on February 24, 2009, 11:47:12 PM
Do Tyrone have the speed merchant cbs to handle a full forward line like Galways? I think the Block might struggle on Meehan or Armstrong.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 25, 2009, 12:06:24 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 24, 2009, 11:47:12 PM
I think the Block might struggle on Meehan or Armstrong.
I think it'd be more important to shackle Joyce effectively, he pulls a lot of the strings for that unit.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on February 25, 2009, 08:43:23 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 25, 2009, 12:28:57 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 25, 2009, 12:06:24 AM
I think it'd be more important to shackle Joyce effectively, he pulls a lot of the strings for that unit.
I agree. The most cynical man still playing the game should be watched closely. Dirty fecker.
I wouldn't consider Conor Gormley to be a very cynical player HS  ;)
Post by: Duine Eile on February 26, 2009, 01:04:48 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 25, 2009, 12:28:57 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 25, 2009, 12:06:24 AM
I agree. The most cynical man still playing the game should be watched closely. Dirty fecker.

That's a bold statement Hardstation, care to elaborate?
Post by: ONeill on February 26, 2009, 10:22:09 PM
No team named yet? Tis usually out by now.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 26, 2009, 10:33:31 PM
Its always hard to know with you if your joking! If's it not out this time next week I'll stick that back up.
Post by: ONeill on February 26, 2009, 10:37:42 PM
Jaysus my head's away completely.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 26, 2009, 10:41:39 PM
Without turning this thread into a twisting match has anyone heard how Riceys hearing went tonight? He's going to miss this match no matter what. Gourley will soon/is back training but this match will be too soon. Is Carlin back at the end of March? Two decent options although hard to know if either will force their way back into the 1st 15.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 26, 2009, 10:47:43 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 26, 2009, 10:37:42 PM
Jaysus my head's away completely.

And ya threw mine too ya fecker!

Mightn't know about Ricey until the morning it seems.
Post by: Puckoon on February 26, 2009, 10:51:06 PM
BBC suggests that Dominic McCaughey will get the news in an email tomorrow morning.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 27, 2009, 10:29:55 AM
The Stand for this one is all-ticket (again).
Post by: Puckoon on February 27, 2009, 06:09:42 PM
Phillip jordan is unavailable ("away" according to Mickey Harte) for the Galway game.
Post by: Duine Eile on February 28, 2009, 11:22:22 PM
You shouldn't believe everything you read young lad, ;) Padraic Joyce is not a cynical player, with his talent he doesn't need to be.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 28, 2009, 11:28:14 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on February 28, 2009, 11:22:22 PM
Padraic Joyce is not a cynical player, with his talent he doesn't need to be.

Couldn't agree more, just hope we shackle him enough on Saturday next!  :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2009, 01:45:26 PM
What's the latest with Kieran Fitzgerald Galway folk? Will he be starting this one?
Post by: Fuzzman on March 03, 2009, 01:49:38 PM
From the BBC website - McGuigan returns to club action  

All Ireland champions Tyrone have been given a major boost with the news that Brian McGuigan returned to competitive action at the weekend.
McGuigan has been plagued with injury in recent seasons and he underwent an ankle operation after Tyrone's All-Ireland triumph last September.
The forward came on for Ardboe in the second half of Saturday's Ulster Club League encounter against Derrylin.
McGuigan went on to score a goal in a comprehensive Ardboe victory.
Mickey Harte's Tyrone side face four National League games this month and while McGuigan is unlikely to be involved against Galway this weekend, he could be back in the county jersey before the end of March.

Philip Jordan (holidays) and Joe McMahon (injury) are also unavailable for Saturday's game at Healy Park while Ryan McMenamin will be ruled out by suspension.
In addition, Brian Dooher and Stephen O'Neill will be missing because of injury.
Dooher said on Monday that his recovery following groin surgery has been "very slow".  
The Tyrone captain was speaking after it was announced that he will be one of four grand marshals at this year's St Patrick's Day in Dublin.
"I have a month or two yet. That's about the height of it. It's hard to know yet and there's no point in putting a date on it," said Dooher.
"It's not really slowed than expected because nobody really knew what to expect.
"It's just day by day, week by week and whenever I get strong enough to get fully back I'll be back."

Dooher will be joined as one of the four St Patrick's Day marshals by Kilkenny hurler Henry Shefflin and Cork's All-Ireland winning ladies football and camogie captains Angela Walsh and Caitriona Foley.
The decision to ask the GAA stars to undertake the St Patrick's Day role is to acknowledge the GAA's 125th anniversary celebrations.
Dooher described the announcement as a "huge honour for Tyrone and the GAA".

Anyone know what's wrong with Joe?
Is this game on TV?
Post by: longball on March 03, 2009, 01:54:28 PM
Any1 fair to guess the team?
i think
JD, Quinn, Gormley, McGee, Harte, Justin, Swift, Hub, McGinley, McGugian, Cavanagh, Mulgrew, McCuallagh, Cassidy, Mulligan
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 03, 2009, 02:58:53 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2009, 01:45:26 PM
What's the latest with Kieran Fitzgerald Galway folk? Will he be starting this one?

His shoulder injury wasn't as bad as first thought apparently but not sure if he'll make this game.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2009, 03:22:21 PM
Sláínte GBB, you do have the four Corofin lads availble though, which gives you more starting options.
Title: Re
Post by: Duine Eile on March 03, 2009, 06:31:25 PM
The Corofin lads are back training this week alright but don't think they're being considered for selection on Saturday. That's according to Galway Bay FM today anyway.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 04, 2009, 11:25:03 AM
It would be nice to get a look at Mulgrew again alright as he's been out of the fold for a while now.
He seems to be a bit like Colm Calvanagh & Peter Donnelly where he plays well for his college but so far can't seem to bring it to the next level.

I think Harte will stick with Justy at FB but I think our 2 corner backs so far this year haven't played that well & against Galway forwards this needs to be addressed
I'd like to see PJ in one corner with I suppose McGee or is Gourley back fit again.

I think Cassidy needs more match time at MF and we should use the whole league to bring him up to the level required for the summer as he seems to run out of steam in most matches so far.

Is it this game on telly?
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 12:20:43 PM
Yes i think it is on TV. THOU Was chatting to a member of the Tyrone panel at the weekend and he said don't be suprised if MH looks about pulling all Tyrone games off the telly after what has happened with mcMenamin- as he said if it wasnt on TV there wouldnt have been a suspension
Post by: SidelineKick on March 04, 2009, 12:31:36 PM
Quote from: longball on March 04, 2009, 12:20:43 PM
Yes i think it is on TV. THOU Was chatting to a member of the Tyrone panel at the weekend and he said don't be suprised if MH looks about pulling all Tyrone games off the telly after what has happened with mcMenamin- as he said if it wasnt on TV there wouldnt have been a suspension

Some chance of that happening.

As I said before if we can't use cameras to stamp out these things then when can we expect to stamp them out?  Its unfortunate that some teams will get more coverage than others but its a good start to getting players into the mindset that they can't behave like thugs and expect to get away with it.

Same as playing a club league match, you can pull and haul at your man all you want, hit him off the ball, stand on his feet, but come championship time there will be neutral linesmen and umpires meaning you will not get away with it.  Therefore it is more beneficial to get your mindset right from the start.  The cameras thing is similar to this.  Any team thinking they will progress to a bigger stage where it will be televised needs to be used to being in the mindset of not acting like this.

Its a start, it has its flaws yes, but it needs to be done.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 04, 2009, 02:57:46 PM
The neutral linesmen and umpires didn't seem to make much difference at that Armagh v Laois game.

Anyways think we've had enough of that chat on other threads so do we expect another Tyrone v Galway cracker.
Is it just a NFL final this year or do the Top 4 play off in semis first?

Any more word on injuries?
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 04, 2009, 04:10:51 PM
The Burke cousins, Damien and Alan, will be the only members of the Corofin contingent available to Galway manager Liam Sammon for Saturday's NFL trip to Tyrone.

Corofin were knocked out of the All-Ireland club championship by Kilmacud Crokes last Saturday week, but only two of their players will be available for the Healy Park clash. Michael Comer is a long-term absentee with a cruciate ligament injury, while the versatile Gary Sice is ruled out with an infection.

And while the shoulder injury sustained by Kieran Fitzgerald against Kilmacud isn't as serious as first thought, he will not play any part against Mickey Harte's charges.
Post by: Duine Eile on March 04, 2009, 09:54:12 PM
Galway Team to play Tyrone

1 Adrian Faherty   
2 Niall Coyne   
3 Finian Hanley   
4 Declan Meehan   
5 Garreth Bradshaw   
6 Diarmuid Blake   
7 Darren Mullahy   
8 Joe Bergin   
9 Mark Lydon   
10 Sean Armstrong   
11 Padraic Joyce   
12 Cormac Bane   
13 Paul Conroy   
14 Michael Meehan   
15 Nicky Joyce

One change, Nicky Joyce is fit again, so Mark Lydon moves to midfield with Gary O'Donnell dropping to the bench. Barry Cullinane is back from suspension, was surprised not to see him starting.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2009, 10:03:00 PM
Strong looking Galway line-up there Duine Eile, we'll have our hands full with the forwards.
Post by: Duine Eile on March 04, 2009, 10:19:13 PM
Strong looking line up on paper alright, think Dec Meehan will probably be replaced by Fitzy when he's back to full fitness though, maybe Damien or Alan Burke for Coyne. I'd be a bit worried about Dec Meehan in the corner, our wing backs have a tendency to go forward a bit too much and mid field is still a problem area for us. Hard to know how this one will go. It should give us a bit of an indication of how much progress we have made so far, it's hard to know just how much to read into the Dublin result but Saturday night should tell a story. Has the makings of a good game anyway. Any word on the Tyrone team yet?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2009, 10:20:58 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on March 04, 2009, 10:19:13 PM
Any word on the Tyrone team yet?

Nothing yet, and won't be anything until tomorrow night.

Should be a good one on Saturday.
Post by: Redhandfan on March 04, 2009, 11:34:31 PM
The fecking forecast is not looking too good....more rain on the way for both Friday and Saturday.  A heavy pitch at Healy Park means we are unlikely to see a repeat of those classic league semi-final clashes from a few years ago. 

Right, Mickey, here's the team you pick for Saturday night:

J Devine, PJ Quinn, Justin McMahon, M McGee, D Harte, C Gormley, M Swift, E McGinley, A Cassidy, T McGuigan, C McCullagh, C Cavanagh, G Devlin, S Cavanagh, O Mulligan

On a slightly different note, I cannot understand the logic in making the stand all-ticket for this Saturday night.  I don't think we will see an overly big crowd for this one, especially if the weather is poor.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2009, 11:40:15 PM
Quote from: Redhandfan on March 04, 2009, 11:34:31 PM
On a slightly different note, I cannot understand the logic in making the stand all-ticket for this Saturday night.  I don't think we will see an overly big crowd for this one, especially if the weather is poor.

I'd wonder if it's as spin-off from (or side-effect of) the season tickets RHF, where that has to be administered regardless, with the issuing of those specific tickets as a necessity?
Post by: Redhandfan on March 04, 2009, 11:56:33 PM
I suppose that is one possible reason for it, Fear, but would still not justify putting clubs to all that bother of administering tickets for a small number of their members.  It is obvious that people don't want the hassle of pre-ordering tickets for a NFL match at this time of year.  Tyrone v Kerry attracted well over 10,000 to Omagh a couple of weeks ago but the stand was only three quarters full.  I have no doubt there will be plenty of spare seats this Saturday night as well.  And another thing.....the feckers don't even allow you to access the stand when entering Healy Park from the scoreboard end.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 05, 2009, 08:55:27 AM
Surprised that Barry has not made it back into the starting 15.  I would have thought his presence would have given us a slight edge at midfield.  It will be interesting to see how we get on this weekend.  Whilst it was great to finally get a win against the Dubs, they were very poor on the day and I would expect a much more stern test in Omagh from a weakened Tyrone side.

=====================================================================================

Galway have a realistic chance of getting two points in Omagh

Galway footballers will head to Omagh on Saturday afternoon knowing they face a really tough evening's football and a thorough examination of their mental and physical fortitude.
Ray Silke

How they perform against the current All-Ireland champions will tell us a lot about the real progress being made under Liam Sammon, and a win, especially up there, would do wonders for team morale and put the team in a good position going into a month with four consecutive games.

While there was much to be enjoyed and admired about the team's display in the recent win over Dublin, some questions still exist about how the side will cope with a step up in class. And a few answers will be provided by 9pm on Saturday.

The Galway team was to be announced last night (Wednesday), but there is unlikely to be too many changes from the side that defeated Dublin.

Barry Cullinane is back from suspension and he is a live option to come into the midfield alongside Joe Bergin. Cullinane's power, height, and aerial ability would cause trouble against a Tyrone midfield that are not overly tall. However they are very mobile, with Enda McGinley in particular well capable of breaking forward, creating, and taking scores.

Nicky Joyce is also back from the injury he sustained against Westmeath and his return is a big plus. He too could come straight back into the starting fifteen.

Both Damien and Alan Burke from Corofin are back training with Galway, and while they are unlikely to see much action this weekend, they provide defensive cover for both the corner back and wing-back positions.

Tyrone will be without some top players for this tie and definitely out this weekend are All-Star wing-back Philip Jordan (holidays), big Joe McMahon (injured), free-scoring Stephen O'Neill (injured), Brian Dooher (injured), and the suspended Ryan McMenamin which are all positives for Galway. Each of those men is a very fine player and their unavailability weakens Mickey Harte's hand.

The two key forward players that Galway must curtail if they are to collect two points on their trip north are Sean Cavanagh and Owen Mulligan.

Cavanagh is a magnificent player, and if he is given space and time, he will destroy any opposition – just ask Kerry – so he must be stopped and shadowed at every turn.

It is unrealistic to expect any individual player to nullify Cavanagh completely so each Galway defender and midfielder must be prepared to do some quality harrying and chasing back when required to stop him.

If Cavanagh could be dispossessed a few times, it would frustrate his teammates and the home crowd. And with Dooher, who is one of their main leaders, out, Galway's ability to stop Cavanagh would go a long way to springing a surprise.

Whoever is marking Owen Mulligan must also get very tight and physical with him. He can get frustrated with himself easily enough and I have seen him yellow carded and sent off on occasion when things are not going his way.

Of course the opposite is true too, and when he is on form, he can really fillet a full-back line. Remember his wonder goal against Dublin in the All-Ireland quarter-final replay in 2005? For the record he scored 1-07 in that game.

A key battle from a Galway perspective will be Michael Meehan against Conor Gormley. Meehan has been in great scoring form, and if he can do damage on the edge of the square, then Galway will be in with a great chance of victory. Gormley has an inclination to foul his man, and if Michael runs at him and takes him on as Conor Mortimer did last year, then scorable frees should flow.

Tyrone are expected to come through this with home advantage, but if Galway can continue in the same vein as they did in the first half against Dublin in Pearse stadium, they have nothing to fear.

Kerry went up to Omagh and scored two goals and beat them, and it is not beyond the bounds of possibility that Galway can do likewise.

Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 05, 2009, 08:59:52 PM

Red Hands make sweeping changes

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has made nine changes to his side for Saturday's floodlit Allianz NFL Division One clash with Galway at Healy Park.

Ryan McMenamin has been ruled out through suspension and Philip Jordan is unavailable, enforcing two changes.

John Devine starts in goal and Conor Gormley, PJ Quinn and Cathal McCarron all come into the defence.

Colin Holmes plays at midfield and up front, Ryan Mellon, Martin Penrose and Raymond Mulgrew come into the side.

Goalkeeper Johnny Curran drops out of the team which lost to Kerry last time out.

Tyrone: J Devine, PJ Quinn, J McMahon, M Swift, D Harte, C Gormley, C McCarron, E McGinley, C Holmes, T McGuigan, C McCullagh, R Mellon, M Penrose, S Cavanagh, R Mulgrew.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 05, 2009, 09:08:16 PM
Sweeping changes indeed, and glad to see it. Some surprising omissions: Cassidy, Mulligan...
Post by: gerry on March 05, 2009, 09:33:25 PM
surprised cassidy not on as i thought he had a good game last time, no surprise on mugsy not playing as i am still not convinced he is the real deal
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 05, 2009, 10:00:42 PM
Quote from: gerry on March 05, 2009, 09:33:25 PM
surprised cassidy not on as i thought he had a good game last time, no surprise on mugsy not playing as i am still not convinced he is the real deal

Youre a hard man to please! Mugsy proved he was the real deal a long time ago.

Good to see a few changes, thats what the league is for. Its a big panel as well and its only fair all the players get a run out at some stage. Chance for the likes of McCarron and Mulgrew to stake a claim.
Post by: ONeill on March 05, 2009, 10:48:07 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on March 05, 2009, 08:55:27 AM

Whoever is marking Owen Mulligan must also get very tight and physical with him. He can get frustrated with himself easily enough and I have seen him yellow carded and sent off on occasion when things are not going his way.

Of course the opposite is true too, and when he is on form, he can really fillet a full-back line. Remember his wonder goal against Dublin in the All-Ireland quarter-final replay in 2005? For the record he scored 1-07 in that game.

Well done Ray Silke. Is this fella taken seriously over there?

For the record Ray, he scored the wonder goal in the first game. For the record he score 1-1 that day.

I'd also like to see details of these yellow and red cards Mugsy gets.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 05, 2009, 10:54:00 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 05, 2009, 10:48:07 PM
For the record Ray, he scored the wonder goal in the first game. For the record he score 1-1 that day.

I'd also like to see details of these yellow and red cards Mugsy gets.

I've done enough of the picking up on crap on here over the last few weeks, I thought I'd let those few gems go.

What's your take on the team?
Post by: ONeill on March 05, 2009, 11:06:29 PM
Just glad to see Mulgrew, McCarron, Penrose, Mellon, Quinn and Swift getting good time against a team many see as challengers this year. I'm back to my pessimistic self and don't see us beating a Galway side in-form especially with a lack of scoring power if Sean is bottled up or needed further out the field. It's some test for Quinn and Swift with McMahon v Meehan a battle wirth keeping an eye on esp after Justin's unconvincing performance against Walsh. A bit of 'out of the frying pan' for him. Will it be a Joyce/Gormley joust? I liked the look of McCarron - a good footballer and excellent replacement for Jordan. Reminds me of Killian Young. Surprised at Cassidy's omission and I thought the more starting time Mugsy got the better but this is the time for trying out the alternatives.

Tommy in beside Sean would be my choice and a possibility.  Mellon to dung out around the middle with McCullagh, Penrose and Mulgrew mopping up.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 05, 2009, 11:11:36 PM
I'm glad to see it myself Shane, this is the exact class of game that will kill or cure a few of the possibles. That's not to say, however, that those individuals who fail to rise to the necessary on this occasion are lost causes, though it is to say that those who do rise are right in the grip of the groove. Not surprised with MH.
Post by: ONeill on March 05, 2009, 11:23:14 PM
I think we're now seeing (esp over the last 12 months) how adaptable so many of the players are. All 6 forwards could do an equally good job in any position from 10-15 with Mellon and Sean also viable midfielders (I've actually always though Mellon could do a job at 5 or 7). McGinley is as good a corner forward as he is midfielder. Throw in Joe McMahon who could be named anywhere from 2-15 and Ricey 2-7 and don't forget his stint as a forward in the McKenna a couple of years ago. Justin could play anywhere from FB to FF. Gormley's an all-rounder in defence as well as midfield. Jordan has played CB on occasions. Mickey's head must be wrecked picking horses for courses.

I'm sure if Mugsy's not injured he'll see good time as well.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 06, 2009, 08:58:52 AM
Good to see PJ and McCarron back in the defence.  PJ was perfroming well until he got injured against Down in the marshes last year and I think he has the potential to cement a place in the side, a better option than McGee in my opinion.  McCarron at wing back is an interesting selection, although he predominantly plays full back for Dromore he is strong, athletic and comfortable on the ball.  This will be a very tough assignment for tyrone tomorrow night and if the pitch is in decent shape could turn out to be a very exciting game.
Post by: SidelineKick on March 06, 2009, 09:03:54 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 05, 2009, 11:23:14 PM
I think we're now seeing (esp over the last 12 months) how adaptable so many of the players are. All 6 forwards could do an equally good job in any position from 10-15 with Mellon and Sean also viable midfielders (I've actually always though Mellon could do a job at 5 or 7). McGinley is as good a corner forward as he is midfielder. Throw in Joe McMahon who could be named anywhere from 2-15 and Ricey 2-7 and don't forget his stint as a forward in the McKenna a couple of years ago. Justin could play anywhere from FB to FF. Gormley's an all-rounder in defence as well as midfield. Jordan has played CB on occasions. Mickey's head must be wrecked picking horses for courses.

I'm sure if Mugsy's not injured he'll see good time as well.

Not a bad problem to have!  That's the one thing that has stood out for me with Tyrone, they have so many versatile players.  Add into that mix the fact that their subs are as good and as adaptable its probably the main reason why they're current holders of Sam!
Post by: Fuzzman on March 06, 2009, 11:46:57 AM
I was at the Dublin match and only saw bits of the Kerry match on the telly.

Devine - Kick outs will be under scrutiny again
PJ Quinn - Glad to see him back as think we need another good fast man marker
J McMahon - Thought he got a roasting against Sherlock and also against Walsh until he was moved outfield (Is he happy at FB?)
M Swift - Havent saw enough of him but looks better half back than a man marker in the corner
D Harte - I'm finally convinced now
C Gormley - Convinced ages ago but think he'll have a tough night on Sat
C McCarron - Have never saw him but looking forward from all the reports
E McGinley - More of the same please Enda including another goal
C Holmes - Usually the spoiler MF & was surprised he got in, in front of Hub & Cassidy
T McGuigan - Would like to see him get a few more scores but have high expectations for Tommy this year
C McCullagh - More of the same for Colm though heavy pitches dont suit him.
R Mellon - Another chance for Ryan to shine but he often fades from games.
M Penrose - In & out of the team a lot also but I must say I am a fan
S Cavanagh - Like last year has been quiet in the league & I wonder is he saving himself a bit.
R Mulgrew - Glad to see him back and hope he puts in a good shift as would like to see him playing come the Summer

Its early days but if we play like we did v the Dubs or 2nd half v Kerry we should win
Then again Galway look to be on a mission too so I can see this being a tough game that could hinge on how well Meehan & Cavanagh play.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 06, 2009, 11:55:24 AM
Suprised at the number of changes. Not sure if Harte has ever made this many for a league or championship game. Also suprised that Mulligan isnt starting but maybe he's injured. Glad to see McCarron and PJ get a go and the defence looks strong enough. Not convinced with the forward line, theirs a few players who have something to prove though. This is the sort of game Holmes will come in from out of the blue and do well in.
Post by: Sandino on March 06, 2009, 12:33:08 PM
I think this is an excellent game to give some of the fringe players a chance. Its also a good game to let some of the more established start to make a stronger push for a starting place. Galway are a sporting team who normally play good open football. I think this could be a cracker of a game despite the weather forecast. Let's hope so! To get us back chatting about football rather than incidents.
Post by: mouview on March 06, 2009, 12:52:54 PM
A game that should reveal more about where Galway are at present; can they continue the good form they showed against Dublin? Will the boy Nicky make his mark? Can the likes of Bane and Armstrong finally produce 2 good performances in succession? Mark Lydon starts in midfield and may just get by in this match but is not the long term answer. Tyrone are at home but are weakened and the visitors at 2/1 aren't a bad bet.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 06, 2009, 02:22:28 PM
Quote from: mouview on March 06, 2009, 12:52:54 PM
Mark Lydon starts in midfield and may just get by in this match but is not the long term answer.
Surprised myself that Barry is not starting but I'd imagine Sammon is letting him know that bouts of petulance wont be tolerated now or later in the year.
Post by: tyroneboi on March 06, 2009, 04:27:56 PM
Despite making all those changes when you look through the team there is still 10 players that started the All Ireland final last year (11 if you include John Devine who was due to start of course). Just goes to show you that there is 24/25 that are in serious contention for starting positions come Championship time. Wouldn't be surprised to see Swift and McCarron switch places before throw in. From what I have seen of him, McCarron is more suited to the full back line.

Hard to know how Tyrone will fair out in this game. Galway seem to be going well and they Meehan/Joyce partnership will definitely need close attention. A draw mightn't be a bad bet!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 06, 2009, 09:11:29 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 06, 2009, 11:46:57 AM
I was at the Dublin match and only saw bits of the Kerry match on the telly.

Devine - Kick outs will be under scrutiny again
PJ Quinn - Glad to see him back as think we need another good fast man marker
J McMahon - Thought he got a roasting against Sherlock and also against Walsh until he was moved outfield (Is he happy at FB?)
M Swift - Havent saw enough of him but looks better half back than a man marker in the corner
D Harte - I'm finally convinced now
C Gormley - Convinced ages ago but think he'll have a tough night on Sat
C McCarron - Have never saw him but looking forward from all the reports
E McGinley - More of the same please Enda including another goal
C Holmes - Usually the spoiler MF & was surprised he got in, in front of Hub & Cassidy
T McGuigan - Would like to see him get a few more scores but have high expectations for Tommy this year
C McCullagh - More of the same for Colm though heavy pitches dont suit him.
R Mellon - Another chance for Ryan to shine but he often fades from games.
M Penrose - In & out of the team a lot also but I must say I am a fan
S Cavanagh - Like last year has been quiet in the league & I wonder is he saving himself a bit.
R Mulgrew - Glad to see him back and hope he puts in a good shift as would like to see him playing come the Summer

Its early days but if we play like we did v the Dubs or 2nd half v Kerry we should win
Then again Galway look to be on a mission too so I can see this being a tough game that could hinge on how well Meehan & Cavanagh play.

Many of the same sentiments as that Fuzz, I can see a very, very fluid gameplan from MH here, i.e., big Seán moving back, Justy moving out with Gormley moving back. Should be an intriguing affair.
Post by: amongthebushes on March 07, 2009, 10:22:55 AM
Can tickets for the stand be bought at Healy Park tonight??? It would be a dirty night for the terraces!
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 07, 2009, 10:48:00 AM
I would be shocked if they're not. I'd imagine there has only been a very limited demand among clubs. People cant be bothered with the hassle of running about after tickets for league games especially when they know the ground will only be a third full. If anything making the stand all ticket will put people off going tonight because they will assume they cant get stand tickets.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 07, 2009, 12:47:34 PM
Any word of SoN? will westmeath come too soon?
Post by: gerry on March 07, 2009, 05:54:40 PM
I see a few galway supporters up nice and early
Post by: orangeman on March 07, 2009, 06:37:44 PM
Rumour that Sean Cavanagh is injured for tonight - hope it's only a rumour.  :(
Post by: gerry on March 07, 2009, 06:59:42 PM
Its a grand night for it .poor crowd so far there is only about 20 with me in the terrace , thats a big change from the kerry game
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 07, 2009, 07:29:05 PM
Monsoon conditions. A pity.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 07, 2009, 07:31:02 PM
there's an almighty shower of rain here now! Sean is starting no injury
Post by: gerry on March 07, 2009, 07:32:20 PM
Thank feck they open the stands
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 07, 2009, 09:07:30 PM
FT

Tyrone 0-8
Galway 0-10

Not the best game you'll ever see. Pity about the conditions. Usually Tyrone v Galway games are much more entertaining but what can you do. Not sure how much we will take from it given Tyrone are missing a couple of players but always nice to win anyway I guess.
Post by: AFS on March 07, 2009, 09:14:22 PM
Shit weather + shit pitch + shit new rules = Shit match

Can't read anything into either team's performance considering those condition. Tyrone maybe have a little bit less strength in depth than I previously thought. Galway should've won by more. Hardstation proved correct re. Joyce's cynicism.
Post by: INDIANA on March 07, 2009, 09:18:11 PM
Galway appear to be bigger challengers than people realise.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 07, 2009, 09:27:36 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 07, 2009, 09:18:11 PM
Galway appear to be bigger challengers than people realise.

True, the hoors you can't write them off. ;)
Post by: ross matt on March 07, 2009, 09:37:13 PM
Thought it was a decent match considering the atrocious conditions. Both sides competed well and their intention was to play quality football at all times. Galway deserved their win and should have won by more had they taken all their chances. Meehan (who had a good 1st half) missed a few chances in the 2nd and just before half time Conroy should have goaled when he was put through after a sublime pass by Joyce (who scored a brilliant point at the finish) but he kicked it straight at Devine from 10yds out.

Galway defenders tackled well. Hanley did well on Cavanagh. Mullaghly (what an engine)  and Bradshaw were excellent. They'll have some backline when the Corofin contingent return. Apart from their stlylish brand of football Sammon has added some steel to them. They funnelled men behind the ball tonight and used the short handpass/keep ball tactic until they got past midfield. Bergin grew in to the match as it progressed and hit 2 massive points against the wind in the 2nd half as well as winning some clean high catches. If he stays injury free and mans the middle for the summer they're definitely massive favourites for the Connacht championship and potential last 4 AI finishers.

Tyrone however were missing players and were'nt as cohesive as you'd normally expect them to be. They turned over alot of balls by opting to kick long over the top only for it to be cut out by the likes of Blake, Hanly etc. They did'nt look as hungry as their opponents which is understandable and in the longterm scheme of things tonight's loss will hardly bother them too much although I'm sure they'll want to retain top flight status in the league.
Post by: leenie on March 07, 2009, 09:41:36 PM
cavanagh and mc gingley hardly sniffed the ball, brian mcguigan didn't get the chance to play...

game was grand couldn't have expected more what with them conditions, pitch was tore up by the end..

fair play to galway..
Post by: clarshack on March 07, 2009, 09:42:07 PM
very disapppointing performance. i know the conditions were terrible but the likes of sean cavanagh should be doing better than what we witnessed tonight. the forward line in general was quite poor and players like manies devlin (not being biased), snowy o'neill and jason mcanulla must be wondering what they have to do to get a game.
Post by: Rodman on March 07, 2009, 09:51:33 PM
fancied tyrone to go on and win it when they drew level but fair play to Galway, they dug in well to get the result.  TMG had good chance to draw it and really should of done better. I know Cavanagh was excellent at FF last year but think we need him at MF where he gets more space and not as tightly marked. I think Cavanagh's 14 yard free could possibly have been the worst ever taken in an inter county game!!
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 07, 2009, 10:05:11 PM
All Ireland champions lose 2 in a row shocker
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 07, 2009, 10:36:17 PM
As for ourselves thought Bergin, Hanley, Bradshaw and Conroy were excellent. Mullahy good. Meehan had a very good first half. Quieter in the second. Nicky didn't score from play but was busy and took his frees. Armstrong and Bane quiet enough. PJ sprayed the passes around and got the clinching point. Cullinane did well after he came on. Defence was good overall. Tyrone didn't really have any goal chances. Thought we overdid the long kick passing at times into the forwards. In those conditions you are better off controlling possession a little and shortening your game. Any misplaced kick goes flying off the surface in treacherous conditions like that.
Post by: mouview on March 07, 2009, 10:46:33 PM
Glad I took the odds at 2/1 !  I was absolutely delighted to see Tyrone defeat Kerry last September but with the greatest respect to them tonight's game reinforced my suspicion that they are quite an ordinary team with average forwards, although SoN would have been a big addition. Galway are far from the finished article but showed commendable determination when brought back level and their work rate was good all through. Should have been out of sight by the end however.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 07, 2009, 10:58:19 PM
Definitely played too many long hopeful balls into the forward line early in the first half but thought we smartened up the longer the game went on.  Should have been a lot more comfortable on the score board at HT but showed great resolve to kick the last 2 scores and eek out a good win in the end.  Bradshaw, Bergin, Conroy and Meehan the pick of the Galway lads.  Great clincher by PJ off his "standing" foot to seal the win!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on March 07, 2009, 11:10:02 PM
Galway looked good tonight in conditions that you would think Tyrone would be more adept in. Meehan had an excellent first half, Bradshaw tremendous throughout and Paul Conroy was immense in the second half. Mullahy, Coyne, Hanley and Bergin put in good shifts too. The two Joyces showed good flashes but, worryingly, Armstrong and Bane were quiet. Ironically it was probably a game much more suited to the much maligned Fiachra.

A lot of poor performances from Tyrone. Not too many of the lads on audition put their hands up for further consideration. It looks like its just not gonna happen for poor Ray Mulgrew. Young McCarron at wing-back looked a bit light and Peter Donnelly, even in the weather like tonight, was way too loose and lacking in pace for P Joyce.

Anyway let their be no doubt, Galway at even money to win Connacht is the bet of the year given that Mayo and Ros are on the other side of the draw.
Also 2/1 for tonight was a great price for Galway. Glad I took that for my accum!

One final thought - I saw the Dublin game and I was amazed how Liam Sammon refused to funnel men behind the ball when Galway were well clear - the veyr time you could and probably should close out a game. I thought it was naive but tonight he was practical and got men behind the ball to good effect so perhaps he's not the naive coach many thought - he's a football coach but can cut his cloth to suit his measure. They're at the front of the queue behind Kerry and Tyrone for All-Ireland contenders.
Post by: INDIANA on March 07, 2009, 11:20:58 PM
I'd agree with that I'm going to throw a punt on them. there is no-one else outside kerry and tyrone who could possibly pull it off.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on March 07, 2009, 11:37:38 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on March 07, 2009, 10:58:19 PM
Definitely played too many long hopeful balls into the forward line early in the first half but thought we smartened up the longer the game went on.  Should have been a lot more comfortable on the score board at HT but showed great resolve to kick the last 2 scores and eek out a good win in the end.  Bradshaw, Bergin, Conroy and Meehan the pick of the Galway lads.  Great clincher by PJ off his "standing" foot to seal the win!

I'd agree that Galway played the conditions better as the game wore on, most people would have put the money on Tyrone to adapt better to the conditions but I thought we performed best of the two teams in the appalling weather.

Tyrone were missing a lot of their top players and it showed, Galway were the better team for large parts of the game and should really have been much further ahead at half time. When the scores got level at 8 points each in the second half it was set up for the home team to grind it out but Galway came well again and should have won by a few more than the 2 points. Bergin, Bradshaw and Conroy were excellent, with Meehan also very good in the first half bar the missed free although he was quieter after the break.

A great two points to pick up on the road and I think after tonight we can look ahead to perhaps trying to get to the league final now, obviously nothing to get carried away about at this time of year but beating the all Ireland champs in their own backyard definitely shows we are moving in the right direction.

Kudos to the hardcore supporters who went out in that weather tonight to attend the match, brutal conditions.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 07, 2009, 11:42:46 PM
Quote from: mouview on March 07, 2009, 10:46:33 PM
Glad I took the odds at 2/1 !  I was absolutely delighted to see Tyrone defeat Kerry last September but with the greatest respect to them tonight's game reinforced my suspicion that they are quite an ordinary team with average forwards, although SoN would have been a big addition. Galway are far from the finished article but showed commendable determination when brought back level and their work rate was good all through. Should have been out of sight by the end however.

Wonder what that makes some of the other counties in Ireland. It was a league game on a shit night on a shit pitch (why do we want to play Armagh there?) with Dooher/O'Neill/Joe McMahon/Jordan/Ricey etc missing. Wouldnt read to much into it. We had too many nice footballers on tonight for those conditions.
Post by: orangeman on March 07, 2009, 11:43:39 PM
[/quote

Average team alright - just makes you wonder how they've won 3 AIs recently - it must give other "average" teams a lot of encouragement.  ;) ;) :D
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 07, 2009, 11:48:38 PM
When you saw what Brian McGuigan got sent off for tonight it would make you worry about the new rules. Its tough on players when they're getting sent off for a challenge like that. Im not particularly against the new rules. I think they could work if we had decent refs but most of them seem to have no common sense and are too quick with the cards. They could have a major impact in the championship when some of the best players in the country get sent off for very little or slightly miss time one challenge. Im not convinced by them.
Post by: clarshack on March 07, 2009, 11:50:51 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 07, 2009, 11:48:38 PM
When you saw what Brian McGuigan got sent off for tonight it would make you worry about the new rules. Its tough on players when they're getting sent off for a challenge like that. Im not particularly against the new rules. I think they could work if we had decent refs but most of them seem to have no common sense and are too quick with the cards. They could have a major impact in the championship when some of the best players in the country get sent off for very little or slightly miss time one challenge. Im not convinced by them.

was a bit of a joke yellow card alright
Post by: ONeill on March 07, 2009, 11:51:09 PM
Galway are in good shape right now. Sammon's biggest task is to somehow maintain that level at the very least for another 6 months. Meehan started the game and played the first half as thee form player in Ireland right now. Justin didn't know what way to turn.

Dire pitch, weather and for a lot of it performance. So many kick passes were intercepted or just way off. Twas fairly obvious that the team is about a month behind the likes of Galway in terms of preparation and fitness. It's hard to pick out many positives from that at all. Losing Gormley was a bit of a blow as he may have cutailed Joyce's impact (PJ was lucky his kick at a Tyrone player didn't connect) over the course of the game. Brian McGuigan has a few pounds to lose! McGinley played well in fits and starts but was culpable of some poor passes as was the ever-involved McCullagh. Of the new boys it was a bit hit and miss. McCarron was caught badly in possession and almost cost us a goal only for Devine's save. The Mulgrew connundrum worsens. It's really hard to see where he fits in or what role he has been given to do. A lot of the players didn't really get into the game although Tommy was becoming more influential in the second half. Was that Swift that got the late point? Quinn was so-so.

In saying that, with a poor to average performance, the game was in the balance at 8-8 and that might speak volumes for where Galway and Tyrone really are at. With Ricey, Jordan, Joe, O'Neill, Dooher, BMcGuigan and Gormley missing from the side that finished the game, things aren't too bleak. Mickey should avoid the sack for another week.
Post by: Redhandfan on March 07, 2009, 11:52:38 PM
Ok, the weather was shocking and the conditions were dire, but I was still very disappointed by Tyrone's performance tonight.  There really was no excuse for some of the terrible passing, reluctance to shoot at times, and lack of serious bite all over the field.  The number of times Tyrone players were easily dispossessed and robbed of the ball was also inexcusable.  I know there will be a line of thought that we should not read too much into this game, given the dreadful conditions, but I cannot help feeling slightly let down by that Tyrone display.  I thought Galway were by far the better team tonight and it is a mystery as to how they didn't win by a much more comfortable margin.

I did feel a bit sorry for the likes of McCarron in defence and Mulgrew in attack who were trying to stake a claim for a place in the team, only to be hampered by monsoon like conditions just before the throw-in.  Both struggled to make an impact and I suppose it would be harsh to judge them on tonight's display alone.  Just why, however, some of our more established players appeared to be showing a greater appetite in the Dr McKenna Cup than they are now for the league puzzles me.  On a night when Mickey Harte will have taken few positives from this performance, he will have at least been satisfied with the very sound defensive display of the much maligned Peter Donnelly.  Credit where credit is due....the Coalisland man proved to be an excellent replacement for the sin binned Conor Gormley at centre half back.

And speaking of sin binnings, I rather suspected on my way out of the ground that Mickey Harte would be a little less tolerant of the new rules after seeing two of his star men - Gormley and McGuigan - dismissed for none too serious challenges.  If this game, played in a very good spirit, can result in 3 or 4 yellow cards being issued, then God help us all come championship time if these new rules remain in place.  I felt referee Deegan went a bit OTT with the yellow cards and also did not take into consideration the conditions for many of his decisions tonight.

So, that's two home games so far for Tyrone in this season's NFL and two defeats.  I was in favour a few weeks ago of Tyrone playing the first round championship game against Armagh in Omagh.  Now, I am not so sure as Healy Park is fast becoming a happy hunting ground for opposing teams!
Post by: orangeman on March 07, 2009, 11:56:00 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 07, 2009, 11:51:09 PM
Galway are in good shape right now. Sammon's biggest task is to somehow maintain that level at the very least for another 6 months. Meehan started the game and played the first half as thee form player in Ireland right now. Justin didn't know what way to turn.

Dire pitch, weather and for a lot of it performance. So many kick passes were intercepted or just way off. Twas fairly obvious that the team is about a month behind the likes of Galway in terms of preparation and fitness. It's hard to pick out many positives from that at all. Losing Gormley was a bit of a blow as he may have cutailed Joyce's impact (PJ was lucky his kick at a Tyrone player didn't connect) over the course of the game. Brian McGuigan has a few pounds to lose! McGinley played well in fits and starts but was culpable of some poor passes as was the ever-involved McCullagh. Of the new boys it was a bit hit and miss. McCarron was caught badly in possession and almost cost us a goal only for Devine's save. The Mulgrew connundrum worsens. It's really hard to see where he fits in or what role he has been given to do. A lot of the players didn't really get into the game although Tommy was becoming more influential in the second half. Was that Swift that got the late point? Quinn was so-so.

In saying that, with a poor to average performance, the game was in the balance at 8-8 and that might speak volumes for where Galway and Tyrone really are at. With Ricey, Jordan, Joe, O'Neill, Dooher, BMcGuigan and Gormley missing from the side that finished the game, things aren't too bleak. Mickey should aviod the sack for another week.

I didn't think he was in bad shape at all - but he's getting married next week so !!
Post by: AFS on March 08, 2009, 12:02:11 AM
Quote from: Redhandfan on March 07, 2009, 11:52:38 PM
Ok, the weather was shocking and the conditions were dire, but I was still very disappointed by Tyrone's performance tonight.  There really was no excuse for some of the terrible passing, reluctance to shoot at times, and lack of serious bite all over the field.  The number of times Tyrone players were easily dispossessed and robbed of the ball was also inexcusable.  I know there will be a line of thought that we should not read too much into this game, given the dreadful conditions, but I cannot help feeling slightly let down by that Tyrone display.  I thought Galway were by far the better team tonight and it is a mystery as to how they didn't win by a much more comfortable margin.

I did feel a bit sorry for the likes of McCarron in defence and Mulgrew in attack who were trying to stake a claim for a place in the team, only to be hampered by monsoon like conditions just before the throw-in.  Both struggled to make an impact and I suppose it would be harsh to judge them on tonight's display alone.  Just why, however, some of our more established players appeared to be showing a greater appetite in the Dr McKenna Cup than they are now for the league puzzles me.  On a night when Mickey Harte will have taken few positives from this performance, he will have at least been satisfied with the very sound defensive display of the much maligned Peter Donnelly.  Credit where credit is due....the Coalisland man proved to be an excellent replacement for the sin binned Conor Gormley at centre half back.

And speaking of sin binnings, I rather suspected on my way out of the ground that Mickey Harte would be a little less tolerant of the new rules after seeing two of his star men - Gormley and McGuigan - dismissed for none too serious challenges.  If this game, played in a very good spirit, can result in 3 or 4 yellow cards being issued, then God help us all come championship time if these new rules remain in place.  I felt referee Deegan went a bit OTT with the yellow cards and also did not take into consideration the conditions for many of his decisions tonight.

So, that's two home games so far for Tyrone in this season's NFL and two defeats.  I was in favour a few weeks ago of Tyrone playing the first round championship game against Armagh in Omagh.  Now, I am not so sure as Healy Park is fast becoming a happy hunting ground for opposing teams!

McGuigan's yellow was a joke alright, but Gormley's was very much deserved for a cynical late hit. He can have no complaints.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on March 08, 2009, 12:03:34 AM

Whatever about the McGuigan yellow, there can be no disputing Gormley's. He went to block and then when the ball was gone, he drove the shoulder into the exposed Meehan. Cynical, late challenge that the threat of a yellow card will hopefully remove from the game. Justin McMahon could have went in the first half for a rugby type tackle on Meehan. Maybe Deegan allowed fo the rules in that case. Another Galway player, can't exactly remember, was also lucky to wait on. I think the new rules are ok so far.
Post by: AFS on March 08, 2009, 12:13:20 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on March 08, 2009, 12:03:34 AM

Whatever about the McGuigan yellow, there can be no disputing Gormley's. He went to block and then when the ball was gone, he drove the shoulder into the exposed Meehan. Cynical, late challenge that the threat of a yellow card will hopefully remove from the game. Justin McMahon could have went in the first half for a rugby type tackle on Meehan. Maybe Deegan allowed fo the rules in that case. Another Galway player, can't exactly remember, was also lucky to wait on. I think the new rules are ok so far.

I don't like the rules at all. It seems to me from the games I've seen that for every Gormley like tackle that they rightly penalise, they also result in two or three lads getting the line for harmless things like McGuigan. The punishment is way too harsh in most instances.
Post by: Redhandfan on March 08, 2009, 12:19:07 AM
Without wanting to come across as being overly negative, it should be pointed out that we have not created any worthwhile goal chances in our last two games.  That has to be a slight worry.  O'Neill lists a string of vastly experienced players who have still to come back into the team.  However, we often pride ourselves in Tyrone of having tremendous strength in depth and, even with so many regulars missing, we should be able to do a whole lot better than we did tonight.  I would expect to see Mickey making plenty more changes for the next game, although he may be reluctant to run with guys like Gareth Devlin and McAnulla etc if they are currently involved with the Tyrone Under 21s.

Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on March 07, 2009, 11:37:38 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on March 07, 2009, 10:58:19 PM

I'd agree that Galway played the conditions better as the game wore on, most people would have put the money on Tyrone to adapt better to the conditions but I thought we performed best of the two teams in the appalling weather.

Tyrone were missing a lot of their top players and it showed, Galway were the better team for large parts of the game and should really have been much further ahead at half time. When the scores got level at 8 points each in the second half it was set up for the home team to grind it out but Galway came well again and should have won by a few more than the 2 points. Bergin, Bradshaw and Conroy were excellent, with Meehan also very good in the first half bar the missed free although he was quieter after the break.

A great two points to pick up on the road and I think after tonight we can look ahead to perhaps trying to get to the league final now, obviously nothing to get carried away about at this time of year but beating the all Ireland champs in their own backyard definitely shows we are moving in the right direction.

Kudos to the hardcore supporters who went out in that weather tonight to attend the match, brutal conditions.

Yes, I meant to mention earlier that there was a good sprinkling of Galway supporters in Omagh tonight.  Fair play to them for making the long trip on a very wet and miserable Saturday night.  The Galway folk appeared to be a very civil crowd as well, so much more pleasant and sporting than some of those fecking Kerry animals who were present at Healy Park last month.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 08, 2009, 12:31:35 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 07, 2009, 11:51:09 PM

In saying that, with a poor to average performance, the game was in the balance at 8-8 and that might speak volumes for where Galway and Tyrone really are at. With Ricey, Jordan, Joe, O'Neill, Dooher, BMcGuigan and Gormley missing from the side that finished the game, things aren't too bleak. Mickey should avoid the sack for another week.

I was always a fan of McCullaghs but I thnk in games like this he can really take too much out of the ball (one or two dummys or solo's too many) and give away possesion too easily. He's a very tidy footballer with great skill but I'm not convinced how big an impact he would have in a tight championship game v someone like Kerry. We didnt get the chance to find out last year due to injury. You cant fault his effort though and maybe some of the other players could learn to show for the ball as often as he does. Not many of our forwards tonight worked as hard of the ball as McCullagh. He does lack pace though which means he struggles to get away from his marker at county level.
Post by: orangeman on March 08, 2009, 12:47:34 AM
Brian McGuigan made his return to intercounty duty for the first time since last year's All-Ireland final in the 45th minute but he was quickly yellow carded for a coat-hanger tackle on an opponent.

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte said Saturday's game had caused him to change his mind about the controversial new rules.

"I was prepared to have an open mind about the new rules but I am much more dubious about them after tonight," Harte told BBC Sport.

"Our yellow cards were very harsh - particularly given the dreadful conditions tonight."

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 08, 2009, 02:35:17 AM
Not sure what to think after this evening. We're been spoken off as possible AI contenders far too early IMO. I think we're a bit short of that level yet although at least we seem to be heading in the right direction. Keep tipping along and see what happens sure. We are rarely short of good footballers in Galway but you need a certain chemistry to come together for a successful side. We may need a couple more pieces of the jigsaw yet.

Tyrone won't be half as obliging come August but winning tight games is not a bad habit to pick up I suppose.
Post by: Canalman on March 08, 2009, 08:18:41 AM
Watched the game on Setanta and have to say as a neutral that it was a joy to watch the fluid/skilfull way Galway played last night. They were so comfortable on the ball.
However as posted elsewhere, Galway have possibly showed their cards too early in the season.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 08, 2009, 12:03:19 PM
Despite constant criticism from some of Peter Donnelly I thought he did ok last night when he came on. I've said before I think his only chance of making it at county level is at centre half back. He's a good reader of the game and can pass the ball well. Having said that I wouldn't be inlcuding him on the 1st 15 but think people can be harsh on him.
Post by: Big Mickey on March 08, 2009, 12:54:34 PM

Yes, I meant to mention earlier that there was a good sprinkling of Galway supporters in Omagh tonight.  Fair play to them for making the long trip on a very wet and miserable Saturday night.  The Galway folk appeared to be a very civil crowd as well, so much more pleasant and sporting than some of those fecking Kerry animals who were present at Healy Park last month.

Would these be the same fans that shouted abuse and jeered the opposition team who are the most successful county in GAA history they were leaving the pitch, but at the same time cheering on their own team and players who were acting the tramps (cough), starting rows and generally letting themselves down just because they got beat by a better team.....no wait :P
Post by: cadhlancian on March 08, 2009, 05:24:59 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on March 07, 2009, 10:05:11 PM
All Ireland champions lose 2 in a row shocker
oh what a w**ker ::)
Post by: cadhlancian on March 08, 2009, 05:36:21 PM
Quite an ordinary team! what a donkey comment, any team that has won 3 all irelands in 6years is clearly not average, tonites comment reinforced MY opinion that you are a quite an average Derry or Armagh supporter! ::)
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on March 08, 2009, 06:07:18 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on March 08, 2009, 05:36:21 PM
Quite an ordinary team! what a donkey comment, any team that has won 3 all irelands in 6years is clearly not average, tonites comment reinforced MY opinion that you are a quite an average Derry or Armagh supporter! ::)

Have you anything substantial to comment about regarding this match or are you just going to insult people who have differing opinions to yourself.
Tyrone were certainly ordinary last night, however I wouldn't take much heed to a league result and the likes of McMenamin, Jordan, O'Neill etc. would obviously make a huge difference if they were playing.
Ye have 3 All Irelands to content yourselves with and are currently champions, you'd want to relax a bit.
Post by: AFS on March 08, 2009, 06:46:10 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on March 08, 2009, 05:36:21 PM

Try again. Unfortunately lads, you can't put all criticism down to your 'jealous' neighbours  ::)
Post by: tyrone86 on March 08, 2009, 08:36:29 PM
Quote from: AFS on March 07, 2009, 09:14:22 PM

Can't read anything into either team's performance considering those condition.

Nail on head.

Healy Park isn't, and has never been, particularly conducive to fast and nice football in February and March, especially after a week of rain and to put it into context, it's doubtful either side will have to contend with both the elements and playing on a boggy surface like that again this season.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 08, 2009, 08:43:06 PM
I would agree, not worth getting too concerned about last night's performance, all things considered.

Suffice it to say I felt somewhat better (more positive) after that game last night than I felt after the corresponding fixture of last year in Salthill.
Post by: longball on March 08, 2009, 08:59:14 PM
Brian McGuigan more comebacks than Jimmy Carr.

Couple of points I wanta bring up on last nites game:
Ryan Mellon- Sometimes I wonder what is up with this guy. He has all the talent in the world and the ablility and he has produced some great performances particularly in AI finals but too many games he goes tru without making any impact. Dunno if its a confidence thing or somethin but hes really frustrating.

Sean O'Neill- I like this guy think he deserves a real go over next few friendlys. will use ball very sensibily. Though whenever Jordan wasnt gonna be there that he would have started.

Shaun 'Snowy' O'Neill- Does anyone else think he has earned a go? Been very good for the college he mustnt be standing out at training.

Davy Harte- Real good performance from him good to see as first few league games he was bit off the pace hopefully a sign of things to come from him.

Petey Donnelly- Glad to see him coming on and playing well. Again could be a vital squad member this year.

Colly McCullagh- Vs Kerry and last nite he constantly kicked or gave the ball away not like him will need to improve as competition for CHF role is heating up
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 08, 2009, 09:06:54 PM
Quote from: longball on March 08, 2009, 08:59:14 PM
Brian McGuigan more comebacks than Jimmy Carr.

Couple of points I wanta bring up on last nites game:
Ryan Mellon- Sometimes I wonder what is up with this guy. He has all the talent in the world and the ablility and he has produced some great performances particularly in AI finals but too many games he goes tru without making any impact. Dunno if its a confidence thing or somethin but hes really frustrating.

Sean O'Neill- I like this guy think he deserves a real go over next few friendlys. will use ball very sensibily. Though whenever Jordan wasnt gonna be there that he would have started.

Shaun 'Snowy' O'Neill- Does anyone else think he has earned a go? Been very good for the college he mustnt be standing out at training.

Davy Harte- Real good performance from him good to see as first few league games he was bit off the pace hopefully a sign of things to come from him.

Petey Donnelly- Glad to see him coming on and playing well. Again could be a vital squad member this year.

Colly McCullagh- Vs Kerry and last nite he constantly kicked or gave the ball away not like him will need to improve as competition for CHF role is heating up

I actually thought Harte was very loose again last night. He offers a great option when attacking but when your under pressure he can ignore his defensive duties. I'd say there'll be a few changes again for next week. Wouldnt be suprised if at least 1 S O'Neill starts.
Post by: thejuice on March 08, 2009, 09:28:35 PM
Galway might be good value to win the league. Looking pretty strong so far though Kerry are probably still a step ahead of them.
Post by: red hander on March 08, 2009, 09:38:05 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on March 08, 2009, 08:36:29 PM
Quote from: AFS on March 07, 2009, 09:14:22 PM

Can't read anything into either team's performance considering those condition.

Nail on head.

Healy Park isn't, and has never been, particularly conducive to fast and nice football in February and March, especially after a week of rain and to put it into context, it's doubtful either side will have to contend with both the elements and playing on a boggy surface like that again this season.

Yeah ... let's bring league games back to O'Neill Park where the atmosphere was always far better ... bastard hailstones really hurt on Saturday night, thought I was going to be blinded.
Post by: rrhf on March 08, 2009, 10:10:21 PM
disappointed another league title out of reach. Was concErned with
The hunger of penrose Mellon and mc guigan. Tactics were shocking
But couldn't fault the effort of mc Mahon Harte and mc cullagh even
If they made so many mistakes. Big sean needs a holiday and I was
Glad to see brian mc lined as it was too big a risk last night
Post by: orangeman on March 08, 2009, 10:29:18 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 08, 2009, 10:10:21 PM
disappointed another league title out of reach. Was concErned with
The hunger of penrose Mellon and mc guigan. Tactics were shocking
But couldn't fault the effort of mc Mahon Harte and mc cullagh even
If they made so many mistakes. Big sean needs a holiday and I was
Glad to see brian mc lined as it was too big a risk last night

The replay on RTE tonight shows what a shocking decision it was to send Brian off - compare that to some of the tackles in the Donegal / Dublin game where the referee had a bit of common sense and always allowed for the conditions.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 08, 2009, 10:33:45 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 08, 2009, 10:29:18 PM
The replay on RTE tonight shows what a shocking decision it was to send Brian off - compare that to some of the tackles in the Donegal / Dublin game where the referee had a bit of common sense and always allowed for the conditions.

It was an unbelievable decision, not one of Maurice Deegan's better games.
Post by: Rodman on March 08, 2009, 10:42:46 PM
i really dont see what Mickey sees in Ryan Mellon. Granted he had 2 good AIF's but he rarely impresses and is never appears confident on the ball.  Doesnt look like Mulgrew is going to make it at this level which is disappointing altough I'd stilll give him another chance next week.  Not sure about McCullagh on the 40 either, hopefully he is just keeping that position warm for BMG.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 09, 2009, 08:59:50 AM
I feel a bit sorry for Mulgrew to be honest - Saturday night was his big chance to impress and the weather turned the game into a bit of a nightmare and definately not the conditions he would have wanted! I'd stick with him and give him another few chances in the the remaining games - the talent is there, we cant just discard him after a bad performance in a monsoon! I also wish we'd stuck with Big cassidy from the start - he's the only viable option we have long term at midfield (much more so than Holmesy who is no more than a stop gap these days!) and he should be getting every game, so at the end of the league at least we'll know if he can cut it or not!
Post by: clarshack on March 09, 2009, 09:03:50 AM
how much more time should mulgrew be given? this is his 4th season with the tyrone senior squad and apart from one great goal against donegal he has made no impact at all.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 09, 2009, 09:09:07 AM
Quote from: clarshack on March 09, 2009, 09:03:50 AM
how much more time should mulgrew be given? this is his 4th season with the tyrone senior squad and apart from one great goal against donegal he has made no impact at all.

Fair enough - get rid!!!  ::)
Post by: red hander on March 09, 2009, 04:45:50 PM

He scored an unbelievable point against the Dubs in the first floodlit game too ... that said, he has been a disappointment BUT the conditions on Saturday were atrocious, so he's worth another chance IMO
Post by: rrhf on March 09, 2009, 05:33:30 PM
Mc Guigan only came on for a lock of minutes whilst Mulligan was preparing to warm up.  The best possiblke use of the new rules to date.  Again Mickey is ahead of the pack. 
Post by: tyroneboi on March 09, 2009, 05:36:04 PM
Quote from: red hander on March 09, 2009, 04:45:50 PM

He scored an unbelievable point against the Dubs in the first floodlit game too ... that said, he has been a disappointment BUT the conditions on Saturday were atrocious, so he's worth another chance IMO

He was pretty good in 2007 when Tyrone won Ulster. Did he not get an all star nominee that year as well?
Post by: corn02 on March 09, 2009, 05:40:37 PM
I see a few giving off about Healy. Surely yous wouldn't really want to move it out of Healy (the Armagh game). Would be a great advantage.
Post by: rrhf on March 09, 2009, 05:48:38 PM
Dosent matter where we play it.
Post by: tyronefan on March 09, 2009, 07:06:06 PM
Quote from: corn02 on March 09, 2009, 05:40:37 PM
I see a few giving off about Healy. Surely yous wouldn't really want to move it out of Healy (the Armagh game). Would be a great advantage.

would love to see it played in Croke Park,