FAI...New Manager Hunt continues

Started by Cúig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Quote from: Syferus on November 16, 2017, 05:01:09 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on November 16, 2017, 04:50:33 PM
I dread the idea of O'Neill walking away.  Who would be in the running to replace him and get more out of this group of players?

In fairness spirit has never been an issue for any Irish team so to even try to credit it to this management is fracking daft as fûck.

MON's very poor tactically, his subs at HT prove that much at least. No one is going to lose much sleep if he walks.

They didn't have too much spirit or togetherness when they fell behind Tuesday evening; starting calling each other out, some of them.

The highlight of O'Neill's tenure was the Euro's last year, where, in spite of the Belgium result, they grossly over-achieved. Performances and player-form has dropped off drastically since. Very similar to Kevin Walsh and the Galway football team, I don't think it matters whether O'Neill remains on or not - whoever is in charge may as well go for broke and introduce a raft of new young players and try and build something for 5/6 years down the line. If they are to go that route, they may as well jettison Roy Keane, for that approach is definitely not his forte.

JPGJOHNNYG

MoN will stay as qualifying for the now ridiculously bloated euros should be easy enough. Dont forget Dublin will be hosting some of the games so I think its something he would want to be involved in.
Its difficult for the fans because in fairness to him he has got some big results against Germany, Italy, Bosnia something we hadnt done for 14 yrs previously, we have at times played some good football esp at the euros but unfortunately we have also played a lot of dung. On one hand we did well to get to the playoffs but on the other hand we completely blew a very good chance to top the group. O'Neil probably should stay simply because there isnt many alternatives. Defo need to blood new players and search deeper into that granny bank.

Quote from: thewobbler on November 14, 2017, 10:04:10 PM
Dunphy, please quit.

Hoolahan is busted flush and a career journeyman. He's not the messiah.

—�

Game was lost on Saturday night. A lack of an away goal meant that any goal for Denmark tonight was going to see Ireland chasing at least two goals, the very concept of which filled them with dread, fear and nervousness. You can't go from no attacking plan to goal threat at the drop of a hat.
Most sensible thing I've read on here.

Quote from: Applesisapples on November 17, 2017, 10:30:48 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 14, 2017, 10:04:10 PM
Dunphy, please quit.

Hoolahan is busted flush and a career journeyman. He's not the messiah.

—�

Game was lost on Saturday night. A lack of an away goal meant that any goal for Denmark tonight was going to see Ireland chasing at least two goals, the very concept of which filled them with dread, fear and nervousness. You can't go from no attacking plan to goal threat at the drop of a hat.
Most sensible thing I've read on here.
Wobbler also had this:

They are a group of professional players who in the evidence of the past two years cannot pass, cannot trap, cannot cushion a header, cannot play a one touch pass, cannot create space, cannot use either foot for anything other than a bejasus big swipe at the ball. So why presume any of them can cross?

It was in fine contrast to this :

Hendrick said: "Don't get me wrong. He is a good player. We have watched clips. He has got good delivery from set-pieces, he has clever movement, he has done really well.

"But he is only one player. We have played against better players than him. That is not doing him down. He still has to play his game and he has to stop us  as well.

"They play good football, you expect that with some of the players they have. But it's not anything we're not used to. We play against a lot of bigger countries with players at big clubs. The group we have here, it doesn't seem to faze us much.

Esmarelda

Quote from: mouview on November 17, 2017, 09:55:20 AM
Quote from: Syferus on November 16, 2017, 05:01:09 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on November 16, 2017, 04:50:33 PM
I dread the idea of O'Neill walking away.  Who would be in the running to replace him and get more out of this group of players?

In fairness spirit has never been an issue for any Irish team so to even try to credit it to this management is fracking daft as fûck.

MON's very poor tactically, his subs at HT prove that much at least. No one is going to lose much sleep if he walks.

They didn't have too much spirit or togetherness when they fell behind Tuesday evening; starting calling each other out, some of them.

The highlight of O'Neill's tenure was the Euro's last year, where, in spite of the Belgium result, they grossly over-achieved. Performances and player-form has dropped off drastically since. Very similar to Kevin Walsh and the Galway football team, I don't think it matters whether O'Neill remains on or not - whoever is in charge may as well go for broke and introduce a raft of new young players and try and build something for 5/6 years down the line. If they are to go that route, they may as well jettison Roy Keane, for that approach is definitely not his forte.
A draw against Sweden and a win against a second string Italy is overachieving?

Ask Stephen Kenny to manage them. We might lose half our games but we might get some entertainment along the way. The midfielders might have even find the ball at their feet some of the time.

Quote from: Esmarelda on November 17, 2017, 10:44:43 AM

Ask Stephen Kenny to manage them. We might lose half our games but we might get some entertainment along the way. The midfielders might have even find the ball at their feet some of the time.

*They* didn't beat *us* in fairness; I thought it would be 2012 all over again where we got whacked in every game. We also gave a good go against France who were jittery for a while.

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on November 17, 2017, 09:57:51 AM
MoN will stay as qualifying for the now ridiculously bloated euros should be easy enough. Dont forget Dublin will be hosting some of the games so I think its something he would want to be involved in.
Its difficult for the fans because in fairness to him he has got some big results against Germany, Italy, Bosnia something we hadnt done for 14 yrs previously, we have at times played some good football esp at the euros but unfortunately we have also played a lot of dung. On one hand we did well to get to the playoffs but on the other hand we completely blew a very good chance to top the group. O'Neil probably should stay simply because there isnt many alternatives. Defo need to blood new players and search deeper into that granny bank.

I think the granny bank is part of the chronic problem. As long as we're getting English 'cast-offs' and 'not good enoughs' we'll always be playing catch-up to them and others. Not saying every player we got this way is like that or anything, but the best players who could qualify for either country tend to stick to the stronger one, e.g., Wayne Rooney, Harry Kane. We really need to make our home league stronger, keep our better players for longer, and maybe think of sending them to other leagues in Europe rather than just the tried-and-trusted cross-channel ones. Not at all easy I know.

Esmarelda

Quote from: mouview on November 17, 2017, 11:17:42 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on November 17, 2017, 10:44:43 AM

*They* didn't beat *us* in fairness; I thought it would be 2012 all over again where we got whacked in every game. We also gave a good go against France who were jittery for a while.
That's all fine but I wouldn't call it overachieving.

JPGJOHNNYG

Quote from: mouview on November 17, 2017, 11:24:25 AM

I think the granny bank is part of the chronic problem. As long as we're getting English 'cast-offs' and 'not good enoughs' we'll always be playing catch-up to them and others. Not saying every player we got this way is like that or anything, but the best players who could qualify for either country tend to stick to the stronger one, e.g., Wayne Rooney, Harry Kane. We really need to make our home league stronger, keep our better players for longer, and maybe think of sending them to other leagues in Europe rather than just the tried-and-trusted cross-channel ones. Not at all easy I know.

It depends on the player of course most would declare for England first but as long as they seem up for it right from the start unlike some who seem to dither over the call up. At least Mark Noble was consistent and just refused any approach. The problem with the granny rule is there are not many English lads playing in the premiership hence why even half decent championship players are starting to think they are close to a call up.
Alos a number of these so called wonder kids who look like the next big thing end up being a bit shite just seem to disappear into the reserves of lowly teams - Bamford , Crowley, Grealish etc

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on November 17, 2017, 11:41:27 AM
Quote from: mouview on November 17, 2017, 11:24:25 AM

It depends on the player of course most would declare for England first but as long as they seem up for it right from the start unlike some who seem to dither over the call up. At least Mark Noble was consistent and just refused any approach. The problem with the granny rule is there are not many English lads playing in the premiership hence why even half decent championship players are starting to think they are close to a call up.
Alos a number of these so called wonder kids who look like the next big thing end up being a bit shite just seem to disappear into the reserves of lowly teams - Bamford , Crowley, Grealish etc

We should be abusing the parentage rule more, not less. Ffs, take Arter, McCarthy, Christie out and we'd be removing most of the half young, half decent players in the fúcking squad. Jon Walters when fit was still a damn sight better than No Goals Murphy or Long.

People only remember results, not accents.

Randoplh (young for a keeper), Duffy, Coleman, Christie, Arter, McCarthy, Hendricks, McClean and Brady are the core players for the next one or two cycles for us. Plenty of holes for anyone to fill, be they born in Ireland or not.

Quote from: Syferus on November 17, 2017, 12:42:27 PM

We should be abusing the parentage rule more, not less. Ffs, take Arter, McCarthy, Christie out and we'd be removing most of the half young, half decent players in the fúcking squad. Jon Walters when fit was still a damn sight better than No Goals Murphy or Long.

McCarthy, Christie  and decent in the same sentence??  Walters wasn't bad in fairness.
But if we abuse the parentage rule (even) more, we might end up with a completely bastardised international team, highly unrepresentative of our nation. Maybe bite the bullet now while we have time and space to do so, develop what young home-grown talent we have and see where it takes us. Iceland, though no oil painting on the eye, did this with less resources and made progress.

Quote from: mouview on November 17, 2017, 12:59:12 PM

McCarthy, Christie  and decent in the same sentence??  Walters wasn't bad in fairness.
But if we abuse the parentage rule (even) more, we might end up with a completely bastardised international team, highly unrepresentative of our nation. Maybe bite the bullet now while we have time and space to do so, develop what young home-grown talent we have and see where it takes us. Iceland, though no oil painting on the eye, did this with less resources and made progress.

McCarthy at his best is our best midfielder. The current Irish system totally bypasses midfield play of any kind and operates with midfield playing as if it were a second defense.

Nothing bastardised about giving yourself the best shot to win. People seem to forget how many of the heroes of old were exactly what you're decrying. You identify lads who genuinely want to play at international level and see if they're good enough, nothing else even comes into the equation unless you're on some sort of jingoistic jaunt.

Spoken like a true armchair event supporter. It doesn't matter that the players aren't Irish as long as 'we' are winning.

Brady and Hendrick both had very poor campaigns after a good Euros. I expected a lot more from them. Surprised neither of them was removed at HT instead of Meyler/Arter.

Having said that, it was a bit mad removing two centre MFs at that stage. Especially when one of them was replaced by McGeady. Sweet Jaysus.

Quote from: Syferus on November 17, 2017, 01:00:54 PM
Quote from: mouview on November 17, 2017, 12:59:12 PM

McCarthy at his best is our best midfielder. The current Irish system totally bypasses midfield play of any kind and operates with midfield playing as if it were a second defense.

Nothing bastardised about giving yourself the best shot to win. People seem to forget how many of the heroes of old were exactly what you're decrying. You identify lads who genuinely want to play at international level and see if they're good enough, nothing else even comes into the equation unless you're on some sort of jingoistic jaunt.

There is a world of difference between Walters and Arter in terms of their affinity with Ireland - just saying.