GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: stephenite on November 16, 2006, 05:31:32 AM

Title: Cheeky Dubs cash in on Xmas
Post by: stephenite on November 16, 2006, 05:31:32 AM
 ;D ;D ;D

One rag highlights the launch of another ;)

From Irish Indo

THERE may be six months to go before the championship starts - but that hasn't stopped Dublin GAA coming out with a new team jersey just in time for Christmas.

In a move more usually associated with Premiership

soccer clubs such as Manchester United, Dublin GAA is bringing out yet another new shirt - just three years after its last change.

It may be February before any county football resumes, but Arnotts threw open its doors at 8am today to allow in the desperate hordes of diehard Dubs who couldn't survive another minute without the latest geansai.

They've ditched the usual practice of issuing the new kit in April just before the championships kick-off, in a thoughtful gesture which Arnotts said would facilitate those who want to buy new jerseys as Christmas presents.

The move should be greeted with cynicism and smacked of practices more common overseas, said Dublin City Councillor Tom Brabazon (FF).

"This kind of Manchester United commercialism is putting parents and children under financial pressure and it really is unfair of the County Board to do this," he said.

The price of children's jerseys has been increased from between €28 and €37 to between €30 and €40, and the adult version is unchanged at €55.

However, the timing coming up to Christmas is "incidental", and was based more on the fact that several counties were coming out with new kits shortly, and the launches had to be staggered, said sportskit-maker O'Neill's marketing manager Cormac Farrell. "Dublin supporters have been demanding a new shirt."

The decision on a new kit was agreed between the Dublin County Board, the sponsors Arnotts and themselves with each getting a share of the price.

Title: Re: Cheeky Dubs cash in on Xmas
Post by: liihb on November 16, 2006, 07:49:42 AM
Quotejust three years after its last change.

I thought that was standard practice for the Dubs and most county teams (though I know Offaly haven't changed theres since 1888 :))
Post by: Barney on November 16, 2006, 07:59:12 AM
Cheeky and cyncical it seems  :o and that's coming from one of there own.

Seriously though this shite about jeries in any sport is utter nonsense. You don't have to buy the jersey. All counties now seem to bring out new strips early in the year, and I think supporters like the change. 3 years is great value to get out of any shirt anyhow!
Post by: Lecale2 on November 16, 2006, 08:12:32 AM
I think that Counties should only be allowed to change their shirt after they have won the All Ireland or a provencial title (hurling or football). That way you reward success on the field with commercial success. Fermanagh would have to play in skins but I still think it would be a fair system.
Post by: liihb on November 16, 2006, 09:09:04 AM
Lads for gods sake a change every three years is not exactly ripping the paying public off.

Lecale, I have to say that suggestion below is crazy! Are you allowed to make more changes if you win the all-ireland than if you win the provincial title?
Post by: dubnut on November 16, 2006, 09:11:17 AM
Jaysus, what a big deal over nothing!
Post by: Square Ball on November 16, 2006, 09:17:26 AM
So what if they change it, three years wear out of a shirt that costs £40? is fantastic, my children wear their GAA shirts constantly and saves buying a lot of other shirts
Post by: dubsnsubs on November 16, 2006, 09:23:39 AM
Just back from the launch. Brought the young fella and he got his jersey signd by Pillar "will deliver" Caffrey, Alan Brogan, Shane Ryan, Bryan Cullen and David Curtin from the hurlers. Bernard Dunne was expected but had'nt turned up while I was there. Anyway there was a nice crowd and it was a bit of crack. I did'nt feel one bit ripped off and it makess perfect sense to launch it before Christmas. Up the Dubs!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 16, 2006, 09:31:03 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 16, 2006, 08:12:32 AM
I think that Counties should only be allowed to change their shirt after they have won the All Ireland or a provencial title (hurling or football). That way you reward success on the field with commercial success. Fermanagh would have to play in skins but I still think it would be a fair system.

What a ridiculous statement, so would u have wicklow & fermanagh playing in the same jerseys they started out in 100 yrs ago?
Post by: tayto on November 16, 2006, 09:34:43 AM
Another nothing article from the indo. a new jersey every three years isnt exactly taking the piss is it? ... so what if it's in time for christmas, if they released it just before the championship the cynics would have a pop as well i suppose. Don't premiership clubs change jersey every year? I thought the launch was tonight!?  Hows it look in the flesh?
Post by: amallon on November 16, 2006, 09:35:54 AM
Mayo4Sam - I think Lecales comments might have been  tounge in cheek.  ::)
Post by: Northside Dub on November 16, 2006, 09:45:27 AM
A new Jersey every 3 years isn't that big of a deal :o
I mean its less than €20 a year and it will still be in fashion for the 3 years! ill hav one on my shopping list ;D
Post by: dubsnsubs on November 16, 2006, 09:52:58 AM
Have to say I think I preferred the old jersey but maybe it just takes getting used to!
Post by: blanketattack on November 16, 2006, 09:53:06 AM
Quote from: Northside Dub on November 16, 2006, 09:45:27 AM
it will still be in fashion for the 3 years

It mightn't be out of date for 3 years but I don't think anyone could ever call a Dublin jersey as being in fashion!
Post by: dubnut on November 16, 2006, 10:03:10 AM
Another point is that releasing the jersey right before christmas will mean it still NEW in the minds of the kids.
If this means they ask for a Dublin jersey instead of a Liverpool one then thats gotta be a good thing.
Some kids may only get the one jersey per year at Christmas.
Might keep the Dubs in the minds of people year round too instead of just summer. Maybe some of the kids will even want to go to league games to show off their new jersey!
Wishful thinking but might make a tiny tiny difference.
Same goes for all counties.
Title: Cheeky Dubs cash in on Xmas
Post by: 5 Sams on November 16, 2006, 10:16:36 AM
Down did the same...so what.... good move by the County Board

(Never ever thought I would use those last 5 words in that order:-\)
Post by: neilthemac on November 16, 2006, 10:27:49 AM
(http://unison.ie/images_papers/news/41/14893/pictures/391267.jpg)

Title: Creeping commercialism and prostitution
Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2006, 10:28:26 AM
The county jersey used to be sacred. The only people who ever wore one were men picked to play for the county. It was an honour and treated with respect and even awe. Now you can buy them from hucksters and every bousy, scanger and beer-bellied bosthoon is wearing one, completely oblivious of how much of a tit it makes him look and happy to be a walking advertisement for the likes of Arnotts.

Has anyone ever seen a former county player wear the jersey as clothing? Respect, ya see.

The only jersey I ever bought was a Dublin one to stuff the doormat into.

Bring back respect for the jersey and the days when men were proud to wear the proper uniform of GAA followers - peakey cap, long black coat and boots. Brown or black nail boots or black (definitely not green) wellies, optionally with the tops turned down, were all equally acceptable. What happened to style?
Post by: Northside Dub on November 16, 2006, 10:39:57 AM
Looks great in the flesh there ;D
Title: Re: Creeping commercialism and prostitution
Post by: tayto on November 16, 2006, 10:52:18 AM
Quote from: Hardy on November 16, 2006, 10:28:26 AM
The county jersey used to be sacred. The only people who ever wore one were men picked to play for the county. It was an honour and treated with respect and even awe. Now you can buy them from hucksters and every bousy, scanger and beer-bellied bosthoon is wearing one, completely oblivious of how much of a tit it makes him look and happy to be a walking advertisement for the likes of Arnotts.

Has anyone ever seen a former county player wear the jersey as clothing? Respect, ya see.

The only jersey I ever bought was a Dublin one to stuff the doormat into.

Bring back respect for the jersey and the days when men were proud to wear the proper uniform of GAA followers - peakey cap, long black coat and boots. Brown or black nail boots or black (definitely not green) wellies, optionally with the tops turned down, were all equally acceptable. What happened to style?

Dear jesus, would you ever relax.  :P

Nice attempted wum with the doormat bit aswell.  ;D
Post by: tayto on November 16, 2006, 10:53:03 AM
Quote from: Northside Dub on November 16, 2006, 10:39:57 AM
Looks great in the flesh there ;D

Yea, looks better then the drawing!
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on November 16, 2006, 11:04:37 AM
This is more GAA bashing from the Indo. A little more subtle than usual but the same old agenda. Dublin change their jersey once every 3 years while Man United/Liverpool etc have 3 new strips every year. Also as far as I know GAA jersies are considerably cheaper than soccer ones.

Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2006, 11:16:23 AM
Quote from: tayto on November 16, 2006, 10:52:18 AM
Attempted?  ;D
Post by: tayto on November 16, 2006, 11:19:04 AM
Quote from: Hardy on November 16, 2006, 11:16:23 AM
Quote from: tayto on November 16, 2006, 10:52:18 AM
Attempted?  ;D

Yes atttempted,, I was dear jesusing at the rest of yer point, not the obvious wum  ;)

Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2006, 11:25:32 AM
QuoteI was dear jesusing at the rest of yer point
Exactly. Just FYI, I wasn't exactly being serious. I thought the long coats and wellies would be a giveaway ...

However, I do admit to a grain of truth in my attitude to non-players wearing the jersey and I seriously don't ever recall seeing players wearing the jersey off the pitch. Maybe I'm wrong and many do it, but I haven't seen it. Anyone?
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on November 16, 2006, 11:37:54 AM
Quote from: Hardy on November 16, 2006, 11:25:32 AM
However, I do admit to a grain of truth in my attitude to non-players wearing the jersey and I seriously don't ever recall seeing players wearing the jersey off the pitch. Maybe I'm wrong and many do it, but I haven't seen it. Anyone?

Don't mean to be smart Hardy but is the whole county jersey is sacred attitude not a bit precious. Surely its a good thing. Arnotts, O2, Avonmore and all the rest pay big money to County Boards for sponsorship. This money goes directly back to the grassroots. They would hardly pay the same amount if only the players were allowed wear them.

Re the players I have often seen palyers wearing county polo shirts or jackets  but never the jersey. I would say thats more to do with the fact they would feel like attention seeking gimps parading around the town in the county jersey.
Post by: dubnut on November 16, 2006, 11:39:36 AM
Havent seen ex players wearing it (except Maradonna in the soccer!) but in fairness to them the fans wear the jersey as a show of support.
If people didnt do this you wouldnt have the wonderful displays of colour in summer championship games.
Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2006, 11:52:34 AM
Quote from: Michael Schmeichal on November 16, 2006, 11:37:54 AM
is the whole county jersey is sacred attitude not a bit precious. Surely its a good thing.
I suppose it is a bit precious. And there are more sacred things than that gone forever. And of course the money is a good thing and things won't change now anyway. I'm just saying how I personally feel about it. I'd never wear the county jersey because I never earned the right to wear it. Not that I'd be seen dead wearing a football jersey as clothing anyway. It's just me.
Post by: dubnut on November 16, 2006, 11:54:57 AM
"I'd never wear the county jersey because I never earned the right to wear it"

Ah Hardy, its not that hard to earn a Meath jersey these days!  ;)
Post by: tayto on November 16, 2006, 11:59:57 AM
Quote from: Hardy on November 16, 2006, 11:25:32 AM
QuoteI was dear jesusing at the rest of yer point
Exactly. Just FYI, I wasn't exactly being serious. I thought the long coats and wellies would be a giveaway ...

Ah, It might have been a give away but i didnt get that far, short attention span me, you see.  ;D

I know what ye mean about the grain of truth alright, it's a nice idea, but the extra colour replica jerseys bring to matches and the craic when you see someone abroad wearing one, plus the obvious extra revenue are very good counter points to balance it out. 
Post by: Barney on November 16, 2006, 12:58:02 PM
I bet Alan Brogan hopes it becomes an annual event

(http://www.buy4now.ie/arnotts/images/cropped/p5136.jpg)
Post by: dubnut on November 16, 2006, 01:29:16 PM
I'd say he never wanted to score in a Dublin jersey more than then!
Post by: tayto on November 16, 2006, 02:38:05 PM
It's all about the posture eh? arch that back!
Post by: oneillcup2007 on November 16, 2006, 02:43:46 PM
Isnt she the Dublin ladies wing half forward? O rionn or somenthing.  Shes a bit fit for Gaelic Football.  Underamrmour required here lads!!!!!
Post by: tayto on November 16, 2006, 03:30:27 PM
Quote from: oneillcup2007 on November 16, 2006, 02:43:46 PM
Isnt she the Dublin ladies wing half forward? O rionn or somenthing.  Shes a bit fit for Gaelic Football.  Underamrmour required here lads!!!!!

a bit fit for gaelic? you think she'd be better at running a marathon or something?
Post by: armaghniac on November 16, 2006, 04:11:24 PM
Is this design not vaguely like Adidas, I can't imagine them being impressed by the stripes.
Post by: tayto on November 16, 2006, 04:15:39 PM
i was thinkin the same thing, how do o neills get away with it? didnt adidas copywrte them?
Post by: Pangurban on November 16, 2006, 04:32:45 PM
No problem with Jersey change every three years, though dont see the point other than crass commercialism. Big problem with O Neills no longer full strips for children as a pack, Jersey,Shorts,Socks, as they use to do, for about £25. Each item has now to be purchased separately at a cost of about £40/50. A real rip off
Post by: Gnevin on November 16, 2006, 07:46:43 PM
Your man having a problem with the new jersey is laughable i  purchased the last  Dublin jersey a few weeks after r it came out and had a few spear coins knocking around a got the second one a year and a half later and still got longer out of it than a premiership  jersey
Post by: magickingdom on November 16, 2006, 08:50:08 PM

in soccer i'm pretty sure when a team wins a wc they get to put a star on their jerseys. why not something like that in the gaa (small ones for kerry!). on another level there is to much going on in most gaa jerseys and dont think any really look great bar the beautiful green and gold......
Post by: neilthemac on November 16, 2006, 10:15:24 PM
adidas lost that case over copyrighting a design feature such as the three stripes

that is why O'neills can use it
Post by: Sky Blue on November 17, 2006, 08:13:38 AM
It's a fine looking shirt an so your woman. She can fair stick her chest out! Theres no problem with changing shirts every 3 years. Anything less would be a problem. Kids waer these shirts all the time & get good ware out of them.
Could you cut out the Cheeky Dubs shite! I thought that was left in the old site with that idiot Bacon who started it.
Post by: full back on November 17, 2006, 08:18:51 AM
Changing every 3 years is fine.Mind you, if we get to look at that woman more often they should make it a weekly event
Post by: Mid Mon on November 17, 2006, 04:26:50 PM
O'neills have been using the 3 stripes for years.
If you look at video of a championship match from the 80's the subs will be wearing tracksuits with the 3 stripes on the arms and legs.
Post by: mayoaremagic on December 21, 2017, 08:57:03 AM
it all a money racket with the dubs
Post by: OgraAnDun on December 21, 2017, 10:22:06 AM
A jersey every 2/3 years and released just before Christmas is the norm now. It makes sense for everyone involved to release it at this time of year.
Post by: TheGreatest on December 21, 2017, 12:58:39 PM
Reopening a thread from 2006, Well done. Perhaps not old enough to understand the concept of time.