FBD 2024

Started by Farrandeelin, November 08, 2012, 05:43:01 PM

Quote from: seafoid on January 18, 2015, 05:32:49 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 18, 2015, 04:36:43 PM
Cold winter day brighten/warmed up by a superb Roscommon team performance in MacHale park against a Mayo side with around 10 lads that have All Ireland final experience. In truth if we had taken the numerous goal chances created we would have won by double the margin than what we did.

Only the FBD we also bet Mayo last January and should have beaten them 2013,12 as well. The main plus point is bouncing back from last weekends very disappointing display, onwards and upwards we go & are due a home FBD final against Galway as last one was played in Tuam.
Shoulda coulda
Will Ros be involved in the business end in 2015 ?
Probably not.

Ah well. We had a good run for the last 4 years. The year off will do us good.

Best of luck to Ros in the AIF.

I assume Foid is just trying to distract from this woeful prediction:

Quote from: seafoid on January 12, 2015, 12:45:23 PM
It looks like a Galway- Mayo final. Will Mayo continue the experimental approach ?

Shoulda coulda
Probably not.
Same as Galway so. You shouldn't be worrying your little head about this FBD, surely you have another guardian soccer related article for us all to read.

Quote from: muppet on January 18, 2015, 05:35:21 PM

Nah our lads learning the ropes while Mayo for Sam as ever.

Quote from: ross4life on January 18, 2015, 06:09:56 PM

Shoulda coulda
Probably not.
Same as Galway so. You shouldn't be worrying your little head about this FBD, surely you have another guardian soccer related article for us all to read.

Quote from: muppet on January 18, 2015, 05:35:21 PM

Nah our lads learning the ropes while Mayo for Sam as ever.

I wonder who of Galway and Ros will do better this year. I think the FBD is a bit early to be saying anything.

''Nah our lads learning the ropes while Mayo for Sam as ever.''

Not one Mayo supporter with an ounce of cop on thinks we are in with a chance of glory this year. New management , new ideas and it could actually take a long time before we are back in croker .  Roscommon probably not going to reach the heights Mayo have over the last 15/20 year s but they are very likely going to share connacht Glory with Galway for the next 4/5 years.

Quote from: larryin89 on January 18, 2015, 06:24:30 PM

Not one Mayo supporter with an ounce of cop on thinks we are in with a chance of glory this year. New management , new ideas and it could actually take a long time before we are back in croker .  Roscommon probably not going to reach the heights Mayo have over the last 15/20 year s but they are very likely going to share connacht Glory with Galway for the next 4/5 years.

When can we expect your signature to change Larryin?

)   Kenneth O'Malley - Ballinrobe
2)   Chris Barrett - Belmullet
3)   Donal Vaughan - Ballinrobe
4)   Lee Keegan - Westport
5)   Colm Boyle - Davitts

6)   Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
7)   David Drake - Ballaghaderreen
8)   Seamus O'Shea - Breaffy
9)   Barry Moran - Castlebar Mitchels

10) Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
11) Morgan Lyons - Ballyhaunis
12) Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
13) Enda Varley - Garrymore
14) Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
15) Darren Coen - Hollymount/Carramore

So today we had no

Robbie Hennelly,
Tom Cunniffe,
Ger Cafferkey,
Brendan Harrison
Keith Higgins
Richie Feeney
Kevin Keane
Aidan OShea,
Jason Gibbons,
Mickey Conroy
Tom Parsons
Alan Dillon,
Alan Freeman,
Andy Moran,   
Cillian O'Connor

David Clarke, 

No Panic button just yet ;)

Quote from: From the Bunker on January 18, 2015, 07:51:47 PM

So today we had no

Robbie Hennelly,
Tom Cunniffe,
Ger Cafferkey,
Brendan Harrison
Keith Higgins
Richie Feeney
Kevin Keane
Aidan OShea,
Jason Gibbons,
Mickey Conroy
Tom Parsons
Alan Dillon,
Alan Freeman,
Andy Moran,   
Cillian O'Connor

David Clarke, 

Gibbons and Freeman came on.

I could have listed all we were missing last week or this week too. Why, though? Everyone knows it's only January but both teams do take this one a little more seriously than other FBD games and it should be good preparation for everyone involved. For the record, we had 9 starters from June starting, ye had 7.

Quote from: Syferus on January 18, 2015, 07:56:46 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 18, 2015, 07:51:47 PM

So today we had no

Robbie Hennelly,
Tom Cunniffe,
Ger Cafferkey,
Brendan Harrison
Keith Higgins
Richie Feeney
Kevin Keane
Aidan OShea,
Jason Gibbons,
Mickey Conroy
Tom Parsons
Alan Dillon,
Alan Freeman,
Andy Moran,   
Cillian O'Connor

David Clarke, 

Gibbons and Freeman came on.

I could have listed all we were missing last week or this week too. Why, though? Everyone knows it's only January but both teams do take this one a little more seriously than other FBD games and it should be good preparation for everyone involved. For the record, we had 9 starters from June starting, ye had 7.

Ah it is just to give perspective. A lot of people lose perspective this time of the year. As you know you'd rather lose a game in the FBD and find a player or two than win the competition.

Conroy or Varley or D Coen much of a muchness.

Tom Parsons or Diarmuid O'Connor? i think O Connor is very much a future Mayo player likewise Stephen Coen in defence.

How many starts will Andy Moran,Alan Dillon,Richie Feeney all 30 somethings get this year?

Why didn't Cillian O'Connor play some part today? UJJ out of McKenna and available for selection.

Quote from: Blowitupref on January 18, 2015, 08:20:44 PM
Conroy or Varley or D Coen much of a muchness.

Tom Parsons or Diarmuid O'Connor? i think O Connor is very much a future Mayo player likewise Stephen Coen in defence.

How many starts will Andy Moran,Alan Dillon,Richie Feeney all 30 somethings get this year?

Why didn't Cillian O'Connor play some part today? UJJ out of McKenna and available for selection.

Cillian had a long season with the club. He does not need football at this time of the year.

Is anybody surprised by this result. Don t think so. Best of luck to Ros. all the same. No doubt they are going in the right direction.

As for us, let's wait and see. I took a look at today's selection and decided to give game a miss. An exercise in giving a few more lads a run and boys who showed promise in earlier rounds making way for others. A few stalwarts like Boyle, Seamie and Keegan getting a first run back and probably a bit ring-rusty. Nothing wrong with that; has to be done. But more serious stuff starts in 2 weeks and the selection for that will tell us a bit more about what H&C are thinking.
Unlike Larry I hope the feck they don t think they have to go rebuilding or anything. We ve never had any luck with that! My aunt Dotty could keep this Mayo panel in Div.1 and make AI 1/4s. Most of the regulars are not broken yet and don t need fixing. Their brief is to find solutions to a couple of troublesome positions and identify a few players who will improve the team - not root and branch restructuring.
H&C need to make sure the team's performances does not slip back in their watch. They can do nothing about improvement in Roscommon and Galway. But there is a gun to their head, no doubt. They can t use rebuilding as an excuse because they ve been handed a top 4 team - most of whom are in their prime or improving.

Quote from: Syferus on January 18, 2015, 07:04:06 PM

When ye beat Mayo in Castlebar. (league or championship)

You are 100% there Moysider. Its about trickling in a couple of players in troublesome areas. No need for the madness the ensued Galway post 1983! H&C I expect will have most of the familiar faces come Summer. Momentum in 2013 was phenomenal. Not so much in 2014. It will be interesting to see our hunger in 2015! New faces are one thing, but will we have that small bit of extra cuteness with the established players?

As for Connacht we are still champions of the province and no matter how much the opposition are improving we will be hard dethrone. A piece of history beckons for this group in getting the five in a row so each provincial title has a bit more worth than usual. That said there will be some celebration for our opponents if one them dethrones us. But that the beauty of sport.

Quote from: larryin89 on January 18, 2015, 10:12:38 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 18, 2015, 07:04:06 PM

When ye beat Mayo in Castlebar. (league or championship)

You'll still need to change your sig, though. It needs to include your terms and conditions that were never known before now. Otherwise it's just wrong 8)