snooker world championship

Started by anportmorforjfc, April 09, 2007, 01:13:57 PM

Quote from: Hound on April 17, 2023, 08:45:16 PM
Makes climate change look like a looney left wing policy. Brainless toads.

Is there any logic for climate change activists targeting a snooker event?
Gobshites. Probably even worse than the heros at the national the other day. Both making the reasonable people who are concerned about climate change and horses welfare look like loopers.

Quote from: Saffrongael on April 17, 2023, 11:12:40 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 17, 2023, 11:04:45 PM

Draws attention to the topic. Seems to be working.

Yeah and the only "attention" I can see is negative
Suppose they say bad publicity is better than no publicity. But yeah shite like that is going to turn reasonable people against their cause .

JPGJOHNNYG

So the cnut with the orange powder has been arrested 6 times for his other antics. Just shows what a joke the legal system is. The twat is free to just keep causing trouble again and again. At some point surely something has to be done to act as a deterrent

Pub Bore

Clever move by Just Stop Oil.  Forces people to admit that they think snooker is important.

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 17, 2023, 11:18:12 PM

Suppose they say bad publicity is better than no publicity. But yeah shite like that is going to turn reasonable people against their cause .

Snooker fans the world over turning up their boilers today

Aristo 60

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on April 18, 2023, 10:47:03 AM
So the cnut with the orange powder has been arrested 6 times for his other antics. Just shows what a joke the legal system is. The twat is free to just keep causing trouble again and again. At some point surely something has to be done to act as a deterrent

Back in the day he'd have been boiled in oil :)

AustinPowers

Quote from: square_ball on April 17, 2023, 08:07:13 PM
Idiots

https://twitter.com/goonerlee180/status/1648029098839535616?s=46

How did  he get  to the crucible?  Bus? Taxi? Train?

How  do these people  get to work?  Just stop oil , my hole

I never heard of them before reading this thread and what they did.

Mission accomplished.

I think most reasonable, fair-minded people can separate the manner of the publicity stunt from the legitimacy of the cause.

Especially when last month was the second hottest month on record and the 529th consecutive month of above average temperatures for that month.

The boy who tied himself to the post at the everton newcastle game last year was one of the same group. That was very noticeable as you watched on tv the stewards take boltcutters to cut cable ties and you thought this boy might be lucky to keep his hands here  ;D

smelmoth

Quote from: thewobbler on April 17, 2023, 08:17:40 PM
It would be for the greater good if these selfish, revolting people were given sentences along the lines of murder.

Something somewhere has to able to strike fear in anyone inclined to do this.

On the other hand there is the small matter of the planet we live on. What's the plan here? Openly chose to do nothing and ignore the consequences? Pretend there aren't going to be any consequences and yet live through them? Or keep going the way we have been going?

Quote from: smelmoth on April 18, 2023, 03:58:19 PM
It would be for the greater good if these selfish, revolting people were given sentences along the lines of murder.

On the other hand there is the small matter of the planet we live on. What's the plan here? Openly chose to do nothing and ignore the consequences? Pretend there aren't going to be any consequences and yet live through them? Or keep going the way we have been going?

If we continue to keep doing nothing the earth will still be here after you have died ;)

It's billions of years old, it will die out eventually, the biggest problem is the population is getting bigger with more demand for things. Look at limiting the population growth worldwide, it would certainly stop the demand. Everyone wants climate change reversed but want their internet. their phones and holidays

Waste of time. We (Ireland and UK) are tiny in comparison to China and India. EVs, separating your rubbish, buying a wooden toothbrush, it all makes you feel good but it is pointless. Utterly pointless. What we need is for science to solve the problem through some not yet invented technology. Otherwise we're fucked and Keady won't be the only uninhabitable place on the planet.

smelmoth

Quote from: trailer on April 18, 2023, 04:20:21 PM

Waste of time. We (Ireland and UK) are tiny in comparison to China and India. EVs, separating your rubbish, buying a wooden toothbrush, it all makes you feel good but it is pointless. Utterly pointless. What we need is for science to solve the problem through some not yet invented technology. Otherwise we're fucked and Keady won't be the only uninhabitable place on the planet.

No harm to you but that is an infantile response.

Why are you choosing UK and Ireland?
In any event is Uk not in a very good position to exert influence?
Why are environmental actions pointless? Would having cleaner air not be beneficial? Would reducing climate impacts not be beneficial?
Sitting waiting on a magic bullet. Now that is pointless. And just a waste of your time but a waste of your opportunity to something decent that could benefit you, people around you, people across the globe and the peoples of the future.

Quote from: J70 on April 18, 2023, 03:35:41 PM

I never heard of them before reading this thread and what they did.

Mission accomplished.

I think most reasonable, fair-minded people can separate the manner of the publicity stunt from the legitimacy of the cause.

Especially when last month was the second hottest month on record and the 529th consecutive month of above average temperatures for that month.
Was baltic down here. Sooner it heats uo the better.