Mayo vs. Roscommon Connacht SFC Semi-final (June 16th, McHale Park)

Started by Syferus, May 19, 2013, 05:49:32 PM

How much will Roscommon win by?

1-3 points
4-6 points
I really wish I was born a Rossie

Jason Doherty, Evan Regan, Michael Conroy, Brian Gallagher, Barry Moran and Danny Geraghty didn't play at the weekend. Andy Moran came on as a sub for Ballagh and looked very lively from what I've heard.
Cillian isn't out for the season as of yet. If he doesn't have surgery until the winter, he could be back anytime between six and 12 weeks depending on the nature of the damage. Surgery would be a very minimum of 12 weeks out, probably longer. Not sure on the extent of Doherty's injury but Mayo need him back pronto for frees.

Can we take it that Conroy is well on the road to recovery?

I think it'd be madness for CO'C to put off needed surgery on a reinjured shoulder just to have a chance of maybe playing later in the year. I'd be very frightened to see a player attempt that because there usually is only one way a story like that ends.

Quote from: Syferus on May 28, 2013, 01:47:31 PM
I think it'd be madness for CO'C to put off needed surgery on a reinjured shoulder just to have a chance of maybe playing later in the year. I'd be very frightened to see a player attempt that because there usually is only one way a story like that ends.

I am sure your remedy will be given the highest consideration, but I hope they give the medical team a hearing.

Quote from: muppet on May 28, 2013, 01:58:10 PM

I am sure your remedy will be given the highest consideration, but I hope they give the medical team a hearing.

That is rushing back, whatever kind of gloss you want to put on it.

If the same people who don't want him to rush back don't have a problem with that they are talking out of both sides of their mouth. Are you?

Quote from: Syferus on May 28, 2013, 02:06:12 PM

If the same people who don't want him to rush back don't have a problem with that they are talking out of both sides of their mouth. Are you?
Syfín - will ya for fcuk sake leave the rhubarbs to sort out their own injuries etc.  ::)
I'm hoping that young O'Connor will have 12 months to recover before  he's needed by his county again.  ;D

sans pessimism

Quote from: Syferus on May 28, 2013, 02:06:12 PM

unlike people who yap constantly through their arse
"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

FL/MAYO

I'm with you this, he needs to rest that shoulder, coming back next summer for the four in a row should be his goal ;D
+

QuoteI think it'd be madness for CO'C to put off needed surgery on a reinjured shoulder just to have a chance of maybe playing later in the year. I'd be very frightened to see a player attempt that because there usually is only one way a story like that ends.

He put the surgery off the first time it happened, were you very scared then?

Quote from: highorlow on May 28, 2013, 04:36:19 PM
QuoteI think it'd be madness for CO'C to put off needed surgery on a reinjured shoulder just to have a chance of maybe playing later in the year. I'd be very frightened to see a player attempt that because there usually is only one way a story like that ends.

Hadn't a clue he did that. The exact same logic applies and what's happened since then only reinforces the logic. He'll have plenty more years to play for his county without forcing himself back half-cooked and risking developing a chronic shoulder problem that will haunt his life far beyond his football days.

Quote from: Syferus on May 28, 2013, 04:47:59 PM

Hadn't a clue he did that. The exact same logic applies and what's happened since then only reinforces the logic. He'll have plenty more years to play for his county without forcing himself back half-cooked and risking developing a chronic shoulder problem that will haunt his life far beyond his football days.

Agree with Syferus on this one. He should put his own health and wellbeing first and Mayo second... How's Barry Moran progressing? I was kind of mulling over himself and AOS midfield and SOS at no 11 in my mind today, 3 big men in the middle.

bucko

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 28, 2013, 09:32:03 PM

Agree with Syferus on this one. He should put his own health and wellbeing first and Mayo second... How's Barry Moran progressing? I was kind of mulling over himself and AOS midfield and SOS at no 11 in my mind today, 3 big men in the middle.
[/b]
Not sure I'd agree. The one major difference between our half forward line which struggled during the league and the one that helped contribute to the scoreline against Galway was that we had an out and out forward at 11.

Quote from: bucko on May 28, 2013, 09:44:13 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 28, 2013, 09:32:03 PM

[/b]
Not sure I'd agree. The one major difference between our half forward line which struggled during the league and the one that helped contribute to the scoreline against Galway was that we had an out and out forward at 11.

What can ye say about this. Hope Cillian makes a speedy recovery. The right thing will be done of course - like it was for Andy last year. Andy was n't patched up to play in semi and final.
Class player and if he is gone for the championship it leaves us as mortally wounded as Andy s injury did last year.

Like McBrearty last Sunday v Tyrone I think COC had gone to a different altitude v Galway. I remember having rows on here with lads that wanted him just kept close to goal as a finisher. Galway game showed his radar for reading a game and linking it all up and also allowed Dillon to use his experience to screw a team inside. O Connor might not be a Greg Blaney type 11 but he was bringing his own game and ours to another level. Probably ideal type of player to have around there now with the trad. shape gone. Tecnically good  players like McLoughlin, O Connor, Dillon, Moran are invaluable.