St. Molaise Gaels
Ballymote
Calry/St. Joseph's
Tourlestrane
St. Mary's
St. Farnan's
St. John's

Mano - my understanding is its points difference first, then points scored. Assuming they finish level (i.e. Harps beat Curry and Marys beat Shamrock Gaels) Harps would be top and Curry have an advantage of 11 over Mary's. Still possible for Mary's with a big win and even a narrow defeat for Curry.

Maybe someone can confirm I'm right? I did read the rule recently cirulated and would be surprised if I were wrong.

FROM SLIGOGAA.IE CLARIFICATION

The C.C.C. wish to clarify the procedures for qualification for the Quarterfinals of the Intermediate & Senior Championship and the Semi Finals of the Junior A Championships.

Following a change of rule at Congress 2009 which came into effect for all Competitions which commenced after May 18th 2009, the following is the Rule for deciding on Table positions.

Rule 6.22 (c) T.O. 2009 (was Rule 117 T.O. 2008)

Where Teams finish with equal points for qualification for the concluding stages, or Promotion or Relegation, the tie shall be decided by the following means and in the order specified:

(i)Where two Teams only are involved-the outcome of the meeting of the two Teams in the previous game in the competition;

(ii) Scoring difference (subtracting the total scores against from the total scores for);

(iii)Highest total score for;

(iv) A playoff.

Exception to 6.22(c)

(i)if the accumulated scores of a Team, so involved, are affected by a disqualification, loss of game on a proven objection, retirement or walkover, means (ii) and (iii) may not be used.

(ii)Regulations (i) (ii) and (iii) shall not apply to under 16 or younger age grade competitions.

This means that if two Teams are level on points in a group, that the result of the game between the two Teams decides Table position. If that game was a draw it then goes to (ii)scoring difference, (iii) highest total score for and (iv) A playoff in that order.

If three or more Teams are level on points then (i)result of the game between the two Teams is not used and Table position is decided by  (ii)scoring difference, (iii) highest total score for and (iv) A playoff in that order.

Quarterfinal & Semi-final Draws:

The Quarterfinal draws for the Senior & Intermediate Championship will take place following the final group Games as follows;

Two separate draws will be made for the Senior Quarterfinals & the Intermediate Quarterfinals. The four groups (A,B,C,D) will go into a hat. The first two groups drawn will play each other i.e. (W) Winner 1 V Runner up 2 &(X) Winner 2 V Runner up 1. The second pair drawn will play each other as follows(Y) Winner 3 V Runner up 4 & (Z) Winner 3 V Runner up 4.

The four quarterfinal pairing will be put into two hats. W and X in one hat and Y and Z in the other hat. The first pairing out of each hat will play in semi-final 1 and the second pairing in each hat will play in Semi-final 2.

The Semi-finals of the Junior A Championship will take place as follows;

Winner Group A V Runner Group B

Winner Group B V Winner Group A

Relegation:

Senior(Three Teams Relegated to Intermediate for 2010)

The six Teams that fail to make the quarterfinals will be drawn into two groups of three Teams to play a round robin(each Team plays 2 games). The bottom Team in each group is relegated. The two second placed Teams play each other with the loser relegated. The top Team in each group play in the Reserve Championship Final.

Intermediate(Three Teams relegated to Junior A for 2010)

The four Teams that fail to make the quarterfinals will enter a group of 4 to play on a round robin basis(each Team gets 3 games). The Top Team remains in Intermediate and the remaining 3 Teams are relegated to Junior A for 2010.Table positions for relegation will be decided in accordance with Rule 6.22(c) T.O. 2009 as above.

Dates for your Diary:

Weekend 22/23 August; Round 2 of Junior A and Quarterfinals of Junior B Championships

Weekend 29/30 August; Senior & Intermediate Championship Quarterfinals

Weekend 5/6 September; Round 3 of Junior A and Semi-finals of Junior B Championships

Weekend 12/13 September; Senior & Intermediate Championship Semi-finals

Weekend 26/27 September; Senior Championship Final & Junior A Semi-finals

Weekend 3/4 October; Intermediate, Junior A and Junior B Finals

Weekend 17/18 October; Preliminary Round of Connacht Club Championships.

Coiste Cheannais na gComortaisi,

Coiste Chontae Shligigh.

If Harps beat Curry and Marys beat Shamrock Gaels 3 TEAMS ALL ON 4PTS.......SO DOWN TO SCORING DIFF. If Curry beat Harps or draw no issue..........Glad its clarified. Seanie was spot on.

That rule makes the John's-Easkey game utterly irrelevant, since Easkey are in the relegation playoffs (never realised all six teams would be in it), and John's cannot not finish top of the group, since they beat Calry and Tubber, even if Easkey hammered them it'll not matter a jot.

Predictions:

John's
Calry
Curry - just
Mary's
Tourlestrane
Ballymote

Drumcliffe
Curry  :'(
Michael's
Mullinabreena

Quote from: Owenmoresider on August 14, 2009, 10:23:35 AM
That rule makes the John's-Easkey game utterly irrelevant, since Easkey are in the relegation playoffs (never realised all six teams would be in it), and John's cannot not finish top of the group, since they beat Calry and Tubber, even if Easkey hammered them it'll not matter a jot.

Predictions:

John's
Calry
Curry - just
Mary's
Tourlestrane
Ballymote

Drumcliffe
Curry  :'(
Michael's
Mullinabreena

Have to say Im excited about the Harps Curry game, cant wait to hear how it goes, exciting finish in store, I was suprised to learn Shamrock gaels were a pt up against Curry at HT, so marys might not have the walkover they think but theyll win, just not sure theyll get the pts diff required. Id like to see Marys and Curry get through...

Enjoy yere games and I wish all clubs the best of luck. Any Club players on showing well that are not on County panel? I see David maye is coming on sub in Currys games, Liam Kennedy and Johnny Kelly are flying for us along with Mark Quinn..... The first 3 will be involved with u21s..

Sligo SFC match odds (PaddyPower, Saturday's only):

St. John's 2/7
Easkey 11/4
draw 9/1

Calry 13/8
Tubbercurry 4/7
draw 7/1

Curry 11/8
Eastern Harps 8/11
draw 13/2

St. Mary's 1/4
Shamrock Gaels 10/3
draw 8/1

Outright (Ladbrokes):

Curry 9/4
Eastern Harps, Tourlestrane 11/4
Coolera 11/2
St. John's 13/2
Ballymote 12/1
Tubbercurry 14/1
St. Mary's 16/1
St. Molaise Gaels 25/1
Calry 33/1
Castleconnor, St. Farnan's 200/1

Buckass

Ladbrokes Odss
19:30     Easkey     9/2
   Draw    17/2
   St Johns    2/11

19:30    Calry St Josephs    6/5
   Draw    13/2
   Tubbercurry    5/6

19:30    Curry    3/2
   Draw    15/2
   Eastern Harps    8/13

19:30    Shamrock Gaels    5/1
   Draw    10/1
   St Marys    1/7

Who has it right..Powers or Ladbrokes? Think Calry/Tubber double at 5-2 with Powers looks value.

From SligoGAA.ie

Senior Championship Group A
Team 1 Score Score Team 2 Venue Comment   
Calry/St Josephs  2-11 1-7 Tubbercurry  Markievicz Park Round 3

Senior Championship Group B
Curry  0-9 1-15 Eastern Harps  Tourlestrane Round 3   
Shamrock Gaels  0-6 1-13 St Marys  Ballymote Round 3

Intermediate Championship Group C
Enniscrone/Kilglass  2-5 0-9 St Michaels  Ballymote Round 3 

Intermediate Championship Group D
Cloonacool  0-7 0-5 Coolaney/Mullinabreena  Tubbercurry Round 3   

U16 B Championship Finals
Castleconnor  3-3 3-8 Tubbercurry  Markievicz Park U16B Champ. Final 

U16 C Championship
Owenmore Gaels  2-5 2-15 St Michaels  Markievicz Park U16C Champ. Final

Eastern Harps  3 2 1 0 51 27 24 4
St Marys  3 2 1 0 38 28 10 4
Curry  3 2 1 0 38 36 2 4
Shamrock Gaels  3 0 3 0 20 56 -36 0

Curry are gone, have to say Im suprised how comfortable Harps won..anyone at it? Fair play to Calry on a good win for them, they finish 2nd in Group A...behind Johns...

It means we can get, Marys, Calry or Coolera/Tour, obviously would want the first 2 but either way we should give any of thoise teams a fair ould rattle.

From Sligo GAA.IE

Senior Championship Group C
St Farnans  0-11 0-18 Tourlestrane  Tubbercurry Round 3   

Senior Championship Group D
Ballymote  1-12 0-13 Castleconnor  Tubbercurry Round 3   

Intermediate Championship Group A
Drumcliffe Rosses Point  3-14 0-4 St Marys  Markievicz Park Round 3   

Intermediate Championship Group B
Curry  0-8 0-10 Owenmore Gaels  Markievicz Park Round 3

Congrats to owenmoresider and teeling gael on great win even if oms didnt believe going into it over curry today.Other suprises in intermediate championship was cloonacool beating coolaney last night 7 to 5 and enniscrones win over michaels.

Tourlestrane have opened the door for Coolera in scoring diff stakes...Balymote continue to struggle with a tight victory over CC.

Mighty win for us today, no matter if Curry aren't up to much and it was a struggle in the end, survival was the prize and we have managed that. Played some good stuff in the first half and that won it for us. Faded badly in the second half but Curry weren't taking their chances, and were down to 14 men before half time. Last 10 mins were hard to watch, Curry only needed the draw so we were hanging on, but we did. Hopefully we can perform better in the QF than we did last year, three times in four years we have got to the last eight, good going I suppose. Plus next year we're back to one-up, one-down, so the chances of prolonging our stay at that grade are looking better now.

Elsewhere Cloonacool managed to make the quarters as well, sneaking a win over Mullinabreena in what was supposedly a dire game. Enniscrone surprised Michael's too, and Drumcliffe won easy as expected. Michael's or Pat's (or both?) will be playing Junior football next year, bad blow for Michael's if it happens, but for St. Pat's to fall that far would be remarkable, for so long one of the top senior teams, to be slumming it in the bottom tier.

Harps had a great win over Curry, pressure was on them and they delivered. Curry couldn't keep it tight, and Mary's giving Shams a similiar beating put them out. Calry won which wasn't a huge surprise in fairness, Farnan's seemed to put up a good fight against Tourlestrane, gives Coolera a chance to finish top. And Ballymote just about got through, must be worrying to make such a hames of an easy group. Potential five northern teams in the last eight, didn't see that coming. Curry, Tubber, Shams, Easkey, Castleconnor and probably Farnan's in the relegation battle. Chalk Curry out of that and it's hard to know. C'connor and Farnan's showed up well today so you wouldn't know, the other three have had demoralising results. A west-less Senior Championship next year?

Mano

Was at a few of the club games at the weekend. The Curry Eastern Harps game on Saturday night had all the makings of a cracker and it started off in that fashion with some heavy hits and some good scores. Curry looked dangerous when they got good ball into their forwards where Kilcoyne, Davey and Marren were impressive. Harps should have been further than 3 points in front at the break and one wondered whether they would pay for it in the second half. However they produced a dominant display of football in the second half and were on top in every position on the pitch. They will be very difficult to stop now if they continue to produce performances like this. Couldn't name any individuals as it was a excellent team performance.

Curry on the other hand had players who were out of their depth at this level and a player who was struggling for fitness midway through the first half which is very strange considering the yoiung talent at their disposal on the bench (Maye, J Marren).
Durcan in goals was excellent all through and saved them from a worse drubbing, Davey and Kilcoyne were also good. Ball into the forwards in second half was brutal and Marren and Maye when introduced couldn't make an impact as a result.

Tourlestrane Farnans game was close for 3 quarters on the match. Farnans battled for every ball and had 2 good goal chances before half time which were missed. Tour attitude was all wrong they were been beaten to the 50/50 balls and looked as if they thought they would win easily. Hopefully they can get more intensity into their game as they meet better opposition.
Second half they increased the intensity and scored some good points. S Henry at centre forward was impressive and scored some great points with both feet. This is his best position imo and he doesn't have the workrate required for midfield. A Dunne, EOH, John Marren and Gerry were also good but too many of others were below par with a few getting back to fitness after recent injuries. For Farnans E Cawley was excellent and has a great left peg from play and frees. The full back line were tight and tenacious. No 11 also had some good moments. They will give Coolera a good game but i would expect Coolera to come through with enough of a points difference to top the group.
Refereeing in this game was some of the worst i have seen at championship level. Eamon did very well to avoid getting a card from the ref who sent him off in league final last year for talking too much ;)

Saw first half of Ballymote Castleconnor game. It was a tough close game with the lead swaaping over on a number of occasions. Naughton was good in midfiled and CC no 14 scored some good points (Fox i think), Judge looks a nice player and is accurate from frees. Ballymote got  1-2 before halftime which gave them a cushion (Sweeney getting the goal after a good fielding from Clancy). Number 10 was best player of the half for Ballymote- don't know who he is but he was very lively. Sweeney, McGowan and Munds came into it as the half wore on.

Quote from: Mano on August 17, 2009, 10:51:24 AM
Was at a few of the club games at the weekend. The Curry Eastern Harps game on Saturday night had all the makings of a cracker and it started off in that fashion with some heavy hits and some good scores. Curry looked dangerous when they got good ball into their forwards where Kilcoyne, Davey and Marren were impressive. Harps should have been further than 3 points in front at the break and one wondered whether they would pay for it in the second half. However they produced a dominant display of football in the second half and were on top in every position on the pitch. They will be very difficult to stop now if they continue to produce performances like this. Couldn't name any individuals as it was a excellent team performance.

Curry on the other hand had players who were out of their depth at this level and a player who was struggling for fitness midway through the first half which is very strange considering the yoiung talent at their disposal on the bench (Maye, J Marren).
Durcan in goals was excellent all through and saved them from a worse drubbing, Davey and Kilcoyne were also good. Ball into the forwards in second half was brutal and Marren and Maye when introduced couldn't make an impact as a result.

Tourlestrane Farnans game was close for 3 quarters on the match. Farnans battled for every ball and had 2 good goal chances before half time which were missed. Tour attitude was all wrong they were been beaten to the 50/50 balls and looked as if they thought they would win easily. Hopefully they can get more intensity into their game as they meet better opposition.
Second half they increased the intensity and scored some good points. S Henry at centre forward was impressive and scored some great points with both feet. This is his best position imo and he doesn't have the workrate required for midfield. A Dunne, EOH, John Marren and Gerry were also good but too many of others were below par with a few getting back to fitness after recent injuries. For Farnans E Cawley was excellent and has a great left peg from play and frees. The full back line were tight and tenacious. No 11 also had some good moments. They will give Coolera a good game but i would expect Coolera to come through with enough of a points difference to top the group.
Refereeing in this game was some of the worst i have seen at championship level. Eamon did very well to avoid getting a card from the ref who sent him off in league final last year for talking too much ;)

Saw first half of Ballymote Castleconnor game. It was a tough close game with the lead swaaping over on a number of occasions. Naughton was good in midfiled and CC no 14 scored some good points (Fox i think), Judge looks a nice player and is accurate from frees. Ballymote got  1-2 before halftime which gave them a cushion (Sweeney getting the goal after a good fielding from Clancy). Number 10 was best player of the half for Ballymote- don't know who he is but he was very lively. Sweeney, McGowan and Munds came into it as the half wore on.

Cheers Mano, appreciate the reports. Curry need to filter through the youngsters, weve already blooded Kennedy, Brennan, Kelly, wlison and Gilsenans all starting for us in Championship when they were 17.

The no10 for Balymote, was that Peter Lyons?

Details for all the draws,

http://www.sligogaa.ie/ArticleDetail.aspx?articleid=5505

Tuesday night it is...in Sligo Park Hotel.

Should be interesting, You know was just thinking there about OMS west Sligo point, Sligo needs Castleconnor and Easkey to be in senior, or else players may be tempted to jump ship. Castleconnors Feile u14 team was rightly highlighted recently after doing ok at feile at c level, but ballina stephenites were doing ok in A at feile so at that age both clubs are strong, we need the likes of Castleconnor to stay competitive, keep up the coaching and pass on the passion.

Senior QF's:

Winner Group C (Coolera/Tourlestrane) v Ballymote
St. Molaise Gaels v Runner-up Group C (one of above duo, or Farnan's)
Eastern Harps v Calry/St. Joseph's
St. John's v St. Mary's

Semis:

Harps/Calry v SMG/Grp C RU
Johns/Marys v Ballymote/Grp C Winner

Senior relegation:

Group A - Curry, Shamrock Gaels and Castleconnor
Group B - Tubber, Easkey, Group C loser (probably St. Farnan's)

Intermediate QF's:

Bunninadden v Drumcliffe
Geevagh v Enniscrone
Mullinabreena v Owenmore Gaels
Eastern Harps v Cloonacool

semis:

Bunninadden/Drumclffe v Harps/Cloonacool
Geevagh/Enniscrone v Mullinabreena/O. Gaels

Have to be content with that, the alternatives were near certain beatings, so Mullinabreena gives us some chance at least. Can't be any worse than last year surely.

Quote from: Owenmoresider on August 19, 2009, 01:04:30 AM
Senior QF's:

St. John's v St. Mary's

Semis:

Senior relegation:

Intermediate QF's:

Bunninadden v Drumcliffe
Geevagh v Enniscrone

semis:

Have to be content with that, the alternatives were near certain beatings, so Mullinabreena gives us some chance at least. Can't be any worse than last year surely.

Ye can beat Coolaney if ye play to yer potential, there no great shakes and when i was home I seen alot of ye, some decent young players coming through, ye beat us in Grange once last yr if memory serves me. Consistency maybe yer downfall.

Tough draw for us but I know no easy games at this stage, looking forward to it, Could be any of the 3, id expect Coolera, either way they'll have to play well to beat us, I think we are in with a shout to be honest...I was going through the team with my Dad last night and with the Gilsenans back, Dara Currid and Alan Caraway all back from injury and travel, it gives us options on the bench aswell and Im sure some will start, whilst not fair on some when you get to this stage you have to play your best players. Actually not to many weaknesses in our team now with them included, Best of luck of St Molaise Gaels.

Johns Marys would be worth a watch, very close call, I presume all 4 games double headers in the Park? Calry will put it up to Harps but I cant see Harps losing.

Have to say times have changed when you look at the draw, I say there is one or two suprises left in the Championship yet. Not sure Harps will win it, either way I hope the winners represent Sligo well and win Connacht, who is the best equipped to do so?.

Mano

Firstly i don't think this draw should have been made until all the group games have been decided. With all respect to Farnans Coolera can choose which route to the final they can go - face Ballymote and then John's/Mary's in the semi final and avoid the Harps or play Molaise Gaels and the Harps. Maybe i'm just been a cynic but i think the group games should have been decided first.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 19, 2009, 07:54:04 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on August 19, 2009, 01:04:30 AM
Senior QF's:

St. John's v St. Mary's

Semis:

Senior relegation:

Intermediate QF's:

Bunninadden v Drumcliffe
Geevagh v Enniscrone

semis:

with the Gilsenans back

Where have these lads been? If they have been travelling then do they deserve a place on the team when other lads have been training away and have got ye to the quarter finals?