Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Iceman on October 20, 2015, 04:42:29 PM

Title: raising awareness or just wanting attention?
Post by: The Iceman on October 20, 2015, 04:42:29 PM
What's going on online these days? I see so many video's of "homeless experiments" people pretending to be homeless or people interacting with homeless people, highlighting how they are better people than the ones who walk past them on the street. Social experiments. What's your take on the ones that make these videos? Are they genuinely concerned about the homeless problem? Or just looking for some internet notoriety?
Title: Re: raising awareness or just wanting attention?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 20, 2015, 04:43:33 PM
A little from column A and a little from column B.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 20, 2015, 04:44:25 PM
Was gonna say that AZ,  mostly though I think it is a lot of column B!
Post by: Puckoon on October 20, 2015, 04:45:26 PM
Do you watch them Iceman? Maybe I should but I tend to scroll on by any viral video, unless I see 5 or 6 people re-posting it then maybe it's worth a watch. EXCEPT FOR THAT DANCING SECURITY GUARD AT THE BASEBALL GAME. Tired of seeing that one!
Post by: The Iceman on October 20, 2015, 04:48:07 PM
I look at them sometimes. Mostly the social experiments to see why else I'm a horrible human being......

I can't stand the other video's that fat doll who rants and raves or your man Cian Tomey or the wee buck lip syncing. We are making celebrities out of bolloxes.
Post by: foxcommander on October 20, 2015, 05:23:26 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 20, 2015, 04:48:07 PM
We are making celebrities out of bolloxes.

Don't forget the Kardashians.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2015, 07:57:12 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 20, 2015, 04:45:26 PM
Do you watch them Iceman? Maybe I should but I tend to scroll on by any viral video, unless I see 5 or 6 people re-posting it then maybe it's worth a watch. EXCEPT FOR THAT DANCING SECURITY GUARD AT THE BASEBALL GAME. Tired of seeing that one!
Now come on you miserable hoor, you could watch him all day.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 20, 2015, 08:00:02 PM
I know people who have done these charity 'Cycle China' or 'Hike Nepal' and they couldn't give a shit about the charity aspect of it.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 20, 2015, 09:07:22 PM
Used to work with a lad who at break would buy two cups of Coffee to take away in the local cafe. One for himself and one for a random homeless person on the way back to work. This was not a publicity gimmick, just a decent person doing a simple good willed gesture.

I have to admit I have often partaken in Charity events with little or no real heed on the Charity. Raised some decent cash and had a good time doing it! If that works, great, winners on both sides. We are not all hard line Humanists, so if the ones who are can rope us in with a gimmick and raise a bit of money well good luck to them.

I have to admit I'm not one for real charities, more for local fund raisers for local projects, for the community.
Post by: ThroughTheLaces on October 20, 2015, 09:49:41 PM
I remember one of my Facebook friends posting her "Random Act of Kindness" video online. I simple wrote under it what ever happened to just doing something nice for people without having to let the whole world see how much of a great person you are. As stated, a little from column A and a little from column B.
Post by: BennyCake on October 20, 2015, 10:53:36 PM
I call it Narcissusbook. Look at meee! Look at meee! People today sicken my hole.
Post by: BennyCake on October 20, 2015, 11:04:21 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 20, 2015, 10:56:49 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 20, 2015, 10:53:36 PM
I call it Narcissusbook. Look at meee! Look at meee! People today sicken my hole.
That's a bloody mouthful.

Tis.
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2015, 11:33:23 PM
Tenuous link but the cycling for charity annoys me. Sorta.

Cyclin is enjoyable. Why not run backwards for 8 miles in the snow, bare-chested. Not feckin cycling. Sure any hoor can cycle 200 miles. Just donate the £200 yerself.
Post by: ONeill on October 20, 2015, 11:44:45 PM
You could. Nice and easy. Down to Croke and back.
Post by: TheOptimist on October 20, 2015, 11:48:04 PM
Don't get me started on this one.

Charity is supposed to be private.

One that really gets me is celebrity special quiz shows where the money goes to charity and win or lose the celebrity walks away with an appearance fee.
Title: Re: raising awareness or just wanting attention
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2015, 12:40:19 AM
Quote from: ThroughTheLaces on October 20, 2015, 09:49:41 PM
I remember one of my Facebook friends posting her "Random Act of Kindness" video online. I simple wrote under it what ever happened to just doing something nice for people without having to let the whole world see how much of a great person you are. As stated, a little from column A and a little from column B.
Full of t**sers like that. It's great when they ask someone to film it before the actually perform the act. I'm sure most of here have stopped to change a wheel for someone or some innocuous act but there is a new race amongst who feel they have to seek plaudits online for what should just be a simple act of kindness.
Post by: The Iceman on October 21, 2015, 02:09:16 AM
i would love to follow these ones afterwards with a camera, have a few planted homeless people on their way back to their vehicle, see if they walk by them after making their own video about how awesome the homeless man was for taking the money i just gave him and being food for his homeless friends..............

I agree, charity should be private where possible. But if you want to really raise awareness and go and do some work on the ground like building a house or an orphanage, not a nice bike ride through france, then I think make as much noise as possible to buy more bricks and help the local community you are going to.

I have cancelled the cable subscription now so never see any of those reality tv shows even advertised thank God. It started all those years ago with Big Brother and has only gotten worse!

Post by: AZOffaly on October 21, 2015, 10:24:31 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2015, 12:40:19 AM
Full of t**sers like that. It's great when they ask someone to film it before the actually perform the act. I'm sure most of here have stopped to change a wheel for someone or some innocuous act but there is a new race amongst who feel they have to seek plaudits online for what should just be a simple act of kindness.

All of this is true, but I do think there is some good in it. People today are so led by Facebook trends and the like that even if the people are doing it for the wrong reasons, their videos might inspire other people to make a similar video or whatever.

Of course they are attention seeking, but if the product is that something nice is done for someone needy, it's not really a bad thing. It's not altruism in the purest sense, but it's better than doing nothing.

I still won't watch them mind you :)
Post by: johnneycool on October 21, 2015, 10:35:15 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 21, 2015, 10:24:31 AM

All of this is true, but I do think there is some good in it. People today are so led by Facebook trends and the like that even if the people are doing it for the wrong reasons, their videos might inspire other people to make a similar video or whatever.

Of course they are attention seeking, but if the product is that something nice is done for someone needy, it's not really a bad thing. It's not altruism in the purest sense, but it's better than doing nothing.

I'd agree with the narcissus element of facebook, look at me, I'm eating my dinner FFS. There's a want on some people.

Even that ice bucket challenge was nothing to do with charity in the end although the charity probably did well out of it, I'd say most people hadn't heard of the charity before or since so they'd a nice spike in their funds but SFA thereafter.

When giving alms, your left hand shouldn't know what your right is doing.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 21, 2015, 10:40:58 AM
Not disagreeing with you at all. All I'm saying is it's not harmful, and is probably indirectly doing a good turn for people who need it. The motivation behind it is almost moot.
Post by: BennyCake on October 21, 2015, 11:30:23 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 21, 2015, 10:35:15 AM

I'd agree with the narcissus element of facebook, look at me, I'm eating my dinner FFS. There's a want on some people.

Even that ice bucket challenge was nothing to do with charity in the end although the charity probably did well out of it, I'd say most people hadn't heard of the charity before or since so they'd a nice spike in their funds but SFA thereafter.

I guarantee very few realised that that Ice Bucket thing, the research involved stem cells from aborted feotus.
Post by: Puckoon on October 21, 2015, 02:17:20 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 21, 2015, 11:30:23 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 21, 2015, 10:35:15 AM

I guarantee very few realised that that Ice Bucket thing, the research involved stem cells from aborted feotus.

Incorrect, or pure lies depending on your agenda. They almost exclusively come from extra embryos donated after IVF therapy. Hence the term embryonic stem cells. I say almost exclusively because I've not tracked every source myself, unlike you.
Post by: themac_23 on October 21, 2015, 02:35:33 PM
Or Just giving pages for literally everything, like the one i seen the other day because a families kitchen flooded.....
Post by: Puckoon on October 21, 2015, 02:44:03 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on October 21, 2015, 02:35:33 PM
Or Just giving pages for literally everything, like the one i seen the other day because a families kitchen flooded.....

Got a request the other day for a just giving for a friend who wants help to pay their student loan!
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 21, 2015, 10:21:54 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 21, 2015, 02:44:03 PM

Got a request the other day for a just giving for a friend who wants help to pay their student loan!
How do you mean 'giving' pages?
Post by: Minder on October 21, 2015, 10:26:28 PM

Yeah absolutely, there are some chancers about
Post by: themac_23 on October 22, 2015, 10:59:54 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 21, 2015, 10:21:54 PM

'Just Giving' pages, its basically where you set up a fund for something and people donate to it from their bank, i understand it makes it easier for charitable donations from friends abroad etc but there is no regulating it as far as i can see, for example i could set up a page called 'themac23 holiday fund 2015' and people can donate. Personally i think the whole thing has gone too far and society now everyone just wants to be able to say look at what i done aren't i great. That mixed with the amount of mock outrage and sneering at people with different views i try to stay away from social media and the platform these people have.
Post by: StephenC on October 22, 2015, 05:22:27 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on October 22, 2015, 10:59:54 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 21, 2015, 10:21:54 PM

'Just Giving' pages, its basically where you set up a fund for something and people donate to it from their bank, i understand it makes it easier for charitable donations from friends abroad etc but there is no regulating it as far as i can see, for example i could set up a page called 'themac23 holiday fund 2015' and people can donate. Personally i think the whole thing has gone too far and society now everyone just wants to be able to say look at what i done aren't i great. That mixed with the amount of mock outrage and sneering at people with different views i try to stay away from social media and the platform these people have.

Done.
Post by: TheOptimist on October 30, 2015, 03:34:27 PM
This

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-3296503/Commuter-s-act-kindness-goes-viral-sits-seat-Muslim-woman-wearing-niqab-packed-train-passengers-ostracised-her.html
Post by: ziggysego on October 30, 2015, 04:17:19 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on October 30, 2015, 03:34:27 PM
This

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-3296503/Commuter-s-act-kindness-goes-viral-sits-seat-Muslim-woman-wearing-niqab-packed-train-passengers-ostracised-her.html

He sat beside someone on a bus? Granted I got bored reading this article half way through it, but what am I missing?
Post by: muppet on October 30, 2015, 05:09:11 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 30, 2015, 04:17:19 PM
This

He sat beside someone on a bus? Granted I got bored reading this article half way through it, but what am I missing?

When I fart no one wants to sit near me either.
Post by: ziggysego on October 30, 2015, 05:21:48 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 30, 2015, 05:09:11 PM
This

Not just when you fart
Post by: muppet on October 30, 2015, 06:15:44 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 30, 2015, 05:21:48 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 30, 2015, 05:09:11 PM
This

Not just when you fart

Ouch!
Post by: Kursk on October 30, 2015, 10:33:13 PM
This

Idiots like that are why Europe is doomed. Does he not understand that the feeling is not reciprocated

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mN67nricjI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mN67nricjI)

westerners are either appeasing jihadists or appeasing Zionists. It doesn't matter...always appeasing  ::)