Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on March 28, 2019, 06:38:11 PM

Poll
Question: What do you call this game?
Option 1: Kerbsy votes: 28
Option 2: Kerby votes: 6
Option 3: Cribby votes: 4
Option 4: Other votes: 7
Title: Kerbsy, Kerby or Cribby?
Post by: BennyCake on March 28, 2019, 06:38:11 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D2sCpFAWwAIEsZn.jpg:small)

Just seen this on the news. Never heard it called Cribby. It was always Kerbsy around our way.

What do you call it?

Also, what were the rules round your place? We had a rule if you hit both kerbs, you won the game.
Title: Re: Kerbsy, Kerby or Cribby?
Post by: AZOffaly on March 28, 2019, 06:52:18 PM
Just Kerbs down here.
Post by: armaghniac on March 28, 2019, 06:53:03 PM
we didn't have kerbs.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 28, 2019, 07:06:52 PM
We called it Cribby in Belfast
Post by: Don Johnson on March 28, 2019, 07:42:01 PM
Kerbsy.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 28, 2019, 07:45:55 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 28, 2019, 06:53:03 PM
we didn't have kerbs.

We still don't.  :D
Post by: Puckoon on March 28, 2019, 07:49:34 PM
Kerbsy in Sperrin Close back in the day.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 28, 2019, 08:04:11 PM
Aye kerbsies here. Kribbie must be a city thang. Fcukin chip munchers

There was points for a kerb hit that rolled back,
More points if kerb hit and came back an you caught it
And as u say maybe more again if both kerbs hit....

Ah the memories. Nigh on 30yrs ago now *gulp*
Post by: general_lee on March 28, 2019, 08:08:23 PM
Kerbsie. A crib is something you stick on your hall table at Christmas
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 28, 2019, 08:15:52 PM
Cribby in Belfast. City thing
Post by: laoislad on March 28, 2019, 08:30:02 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 28, 2019, 06:53:03 PM
we didn't have kerbs.
Neither did we, I didn't grow up in a housing estate though.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on March 28, 2019, 08:38:43 PM
it's a curb afaik
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 28, 2019, 08:52:23 PM
100 points if you hit the kerb over a moving car.

It's Kerby.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 28, 2019, 08:59:47 PM
Kerbsie in Portadown. We also played a version of football using lampposts as goals called polesy.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 28, 2019, 09:00:17 PM
Country yokes didn't have foot paths or any need for it, their local game was shagging sheep
Post by: BennyCake on March 28, 2019, 09:07:50 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on March 28, 2019, 08:59:47 PM
Kerbsie in Portadown. We also played a version of football using lampposts as goals called polesy.

That reminds me. We used to play 'cratesy', mainly in the winter when the grass was in gutters. Borrow a couple of milk crates and play on the road. You had to hit the crate for a goal, rather than using them as goalposts.
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 28, 2019, 09:17:19 PM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on March 28, 2019, 08:38:43 PM
it's a curb afaik

Bite the curb Scene from American History springs to mind. I think we call it kerb here.
Post by: armaghniac on March 28, 2019, 10:47:37 PM

what colour were your kerbsies?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 29, 2019, 07:12:32 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 28, 2019, 09:07:50 PM

That reminds me. We used to play 'cratesy', mainly in the winter when the grass was in gutters. Borrow a couple of milk crates and play on the road. You had to hit the crate for a goal, rather than using them as goalposts.

Kerbsies. We played gates as well. No goalies and the gates were the goals. Used to drive the auld ones wild with the ball battering off their garden gates!!!
Post by: bennydorano on March 29, 2019, 09:12:43 AM
Cribben where I grew up! Guessing someone misheard something somewhere along the way and it stuck by the looks of it!
Post by: tyrone girl on March 29, 2019, 09:35:29 AM
Kerbsy
Post by: trailer on March 29, 2019, 09:38:13 AM
In the country we just played football. Probably explains why we always humped the townies. They were too busy throwing the ball against a kerb.
Post by: lurganblue on March 29, 2019, 09:40:14 AM
Kerbsy. Never heard of cribby until this week. In Belfast when the local lads painted the edge of the footpaths with their choice of colours... what do they call them? Cribs or kerbs?

Anyway, we had loads of different rules. Catching the rebound before it hit the ground = Double points. Throwing it behind you and over your shoulder - 50 points. Every 20 you get to go to the middle of the road. If you miss while in the middle of the road your opponent gets the chance to hit you before you get back to the safety of your own side. If hit you return to zero. Great craic. Probably a lost game now.

I remember the old fella's used to play quoits in the summer evenings. Another game that has gone now.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 29, 2019, 09:43:19 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 28, 2019, 10:47:37 PM

what colour were your kerbsies?

Kerb coloured! We couldn't afford paint on the Garvaghy Road.
Post by: toby47 on March 29, 2019, 09:48:14 AM
https://twitter.com/paddyb_ireland/status/1111552062867816448

Post by: GetOverTheBar on March 29, 2019, 10:03:03 AM
Generally Kerbsy in Tyrone.

Of course we don't accept any other version. Maybe have a bit of a twist over use of a K or C.
Post by: rosnarun on March 29, 2019, 12:23:17 PM
in mayo its call Girly
Post by: Sheugh Water on March 29, 2019, 02:57:33 PM
In Derry City its called kerbsy or padsy. Never heard cribby until this week
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 29, 2019, 09:16:23 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on March 29, 2019, 09:40:14 AM
Kerbsy. Never heard of cribby until this week. In Belfast when the local lads painted the edge of the footpaths with their choice of colours... what do they call them? Cribs or kerbs?

Anyway, we had loads of different rules. Catching the rebound before it hit the ground = Double points. Throwing it behind you and over your shoulder - 50 points. Every 20 you get to go to the middle of the road. If you miss while in the middle of the road your opponent gets the chance to hit you before you get back to the safety of your own side. If hit you return to zero. Great craic. Probably a lost game now.

I remember the old fella's used to play quoits in the summer evenings. Another game that has gone now.

Ever see the big sign at the side of the road saying "Tannaghmore Tossers Quiots Club" near the Mile House?
Post by: ONeill on March 30, 2019, 10:37:44 AM
Quote from: hardstation on March 28, 2019, 08:23:49 PM
Cribby isn't just the name of the game. It's also the name for the kerb stone. For example, you might fall and hit your head off the cribby.

Is that the same for kerbsie etc or is that just the name of the ball game?

Yous fcukers put sy or sie at end of every buckin thing.