All Ireland Football Final 2017 Mayo V Dublin

Started by never kickt a ball, August 27, 2017, 07:24:59 AM

The Hill is Blue

Quote from: From the Bunker on September 13, 2017, 09:24:32 PM
There is nothing really to talk about. The Bandwagon fans in Mayo are really excited. Probably because they don't know to much about the real job in hand. Most (unbelievably) are caught up with talk of homecomings. That's how far removed they are. The synopsis from the more knowledgeable fan is what Crete Boom says above. We will burst a gut. But Corporation Dublin will prevail and after the winter break prepare for 4 in a row. More of their successful under 21's will be assimilated into the first team after retaining the O'Byrne Cup with their third team.

It's a terrible place to be as a knowledgeable Mayo fan. A sort of (what feels like an) eternal Limbo! Good enough to be at the Top table. But still feeding from the scraps. You know this period of a decent football side is coming to an end and you know the heavily financed Dublin machine gets bigger and bigger!

Did you watch football during the 70s and 80s? How do you account for Kerry winning seven All Irelands in nine years between 1978 and 1986 other than that they were an exceptional group of players?
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

longballin

Quote from: The Hill is Blue on September 13, 2017, 10:36:51 PM
There is nothing really to talk about. The Bandwagon fans in Mayo are really excited. Probably because they don't know to much about the real job in hand. Most (unbelievably) are caught up with talk of homecomings. That's how far removed they are. The synopsis from the more knowledgeable fan is what Crete Boom says above. We will burst a gut. But Corporation Dublin will prevail and after the winter break prepare for 4 in a row. More of their successful under 21's will be assimilated into the first team after retaining the O'Byrne Cup with their third team.

It's a terrible place to be as a knowledgeable Mayo fan. A sort of (what feels like an) eternal Limbo! Good enough to be at the Top table. But still feeding from the scraps. You know this period of a decent football side is coming to an end and you know the heavily financed Dublin machine gets bigger and bigger!

Did you watch football during the 70s and 80s? How do you account for Kerry winning seven All Irelands in nine years between 1978 and 1986 other than that they were an exceptional group of players?

True... same as Kilkenny hurlers recently. Great players and manager

Did Kerry also have a population of 1,600,000 to pull from and way more money and grants than everyone else too?

It genuinely amazes the rest of us that any Dublin fan could point backwards on this one because it only highlights how much worse this can become because of Dublin's off-the-field advantages that Kerry didn't have.

Look - you've had years to come up with a good response to why the system is not totally broken but you've failed to produce one. Maybe take that as a hint that, rather than everyone else being wrong, it's you who needs to reconsider their position?

Yes, I did watch football in the '70s and '80s. How many of the Kerry players from that era where there from beginning to end? You'd find that it was the same 12+ that were there. How many of the 2011 team are starting for Dublin these days! The exceptional group have evolved into another exceptional group......How coincidental? Lightening strikes twice! Must be a freak of nature!

Quote from: imtommygunn on September 13, 2017, 10:22:06 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on September 13, 2017, 10:00:49 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 13, 2017, 09:57:40 PM
Higgins wouldn't be debatable at all. Mcloughlin wouldn't get near dublin team imo though. Parsons probably not either.

It was more the fact that Higgins isn't a traditional CHB but I wedged him in there anyway. He's having a super year though, great outside bet for POTY @ 12/1

He's a fantastic player. Seems to almost get better with age.

In my opinion Mayos best player throughout this whole era. Similar to Karl Lacey was, a real out and out footballing defender.

sid waddell

Re pitch invasions, after some years of cognitive dissonance on this, I've come around to accepting that the reason they are banned is simply because, at Croke Park anyway, they are unsafe.

And that's all there is to it, really.

In the old days, there were fences in front of the spectator areas. Fences are rightly associated with poor spectator safety as a result of Hillsborough. But paradoxically, they made pitch invasions safer, as it took a bit of time time for people to enter the playing area. They either had to crouch between the wires in the fences in front of the Hogan or Cusack Stands or wait for the narrow gates to be opened at the Canal End or Hill 16.

When the new Croke Park came into being, fences were rightly abolished. But it meant that when supporters invaded the playing area, it
became more dangerous, as large numbers of people clambered over the advertising hoardings before the final whistle in anticipation of running on. Instead of trickling on in dribs and drabs as before, people sprinted in unison from all around the pitch. See Tyrone 2005, for instance. And it was dangerous.

Now, were these sorts of pitch invasions to continue, the probability is there wouldn't be a serious incident. But you couldn't have been 100% sure. And ultimately, the GAA has a duty of care to the spectators.

Sadly we now have the fence in front of Hill 16. The reasoning for this is obviously that it is far more difficult to stop people coming onto the pitch from a non-fenced standing area than from a seated one, thus if there were no fence, pitch invasions would thus continue. But that fence is an eyesore and if you get stuck behind it it destroys your view of the match. It's a very unsatisfactory "solution".

The new presentation is rubbish. There's no doubting that. It's soulless, corporate, bland, everything about it is a let down. Which is why I haven't bothered sticking around for the presentation at the last three All-Ireland finals I've attended. And there's no point pretending it's anything other than corporate, soulless and bland.

A pitch invasion is more thrilling, exciting and fulfilling on every level. If there was a way you could magic 10,000 people onto the pitch at the end, that would be great. But you can't, because if you allow people on, masses of people will sprint on. And the GAA have a duty of care. And so All-Ireland trophy presentations will always be a let down from now on.

It's unfortunate, and it's shit, but that's the just the way it is.

But should Mayo win, that doesn't mean I don't hope to see people clambering on in their droves and defying the authorities like they did in 2002.

Of course they were exceptionally talented, there could have been no other reason for their phenomenal success in those years. I mean they hadn't have anything else that their closest rivals didn't have. In fact, they were at a distinct disadvantage in many ways when compared to the likes of Cork or Dublin.
If you go by sheer talent alone, Micko's men were the best of all time, whereas present day Dublin has the best team that money could buy.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on September 14, 2017, 01:11:58 AM

Of course they were exceptionally talented, there could have been no other reason for their phenomenal success in those years. I mean they hadn't have anything else that their closest rivals didn't have. In fact, they were at a distinct disadvantage in many ways when compared to the likes of Cork or Dublin.
If you go by sheer talent alone, Micko's men were the best of all time, whereas present day Dublin has the best team that money could buy.

I think by talent, or skill, or whatever label you put on it, this Dublin team have all others beat.

What they've proven that the money and the coaching and nurturing it brings is more important than any innate transcendent talent in this sport. We have a relatively small small size so absolutely exceptional athletes are rare. Only a few in my time come to mind, Gooch, Michael Murphy.

So it's a sport where you can 'make' great players. And by God if Dublin haven't made a machine capable of making them.

Ignoring the people who get paid for physio and other stuff around the senior team (no different than Mayo, Kerry, etc), none of the Dublin players would have received coaching from paid coaches. It would all have been parents over underage club teams and mostly volunteer past players on Dublin development squads.

Geography and population, where we have big numbers and all live within a reasonably close area are the genuine advantages we have (as well as being the best run county board in the country). Our club game at senior level is better than most too. The work that goes in by players at the 16 top senior clubs is unreal, all training 3 /4 times a week, a generation of fitness fanatics with builds that Olympic swimmers would be proud of.

But it'll be 15 v 15 on Sunday (or 21 v 21 by the end), we can't play any more than anyone else, and it'll be a combination of the most talented and hardest working that prevails, and there's never been much between these two teams. And whichever team prevails, the begrudgers can go feck themselves.

All the talk is Flynn will get the final wing forward position ahead of Scully, Connolly, Lowndes.

Not sure about that one. I've lost a bit of faith in Flynn, but he must be going well. He doesn't have the legs to cope with the maurauding forward runs of the Mayo half backs, and I can foresee a lot of Flynn pointing at teammates to pick up runners as he tries to find someone who's staying at home to stand close to.

But if Mayo are able to put genuine pressure on the Dublin kickout and there's a lot of 50/50 ball in the middle of the field, then I don't think there's any doubt that Mayo have the better fielders, so putting Flynn in there would go some way to evening things out. He's arguably the best fielder we have. Flynn's also really good at getting early accurate ball into the full forward line and a good man to take a point (not all days, but most days).   

Is it rue that affiliated Dublin youth players get their food delivered to them. Is it true that the senior team are driving sponsored vehicles. These are just rumours?

Quote from: Hound on September 14, 2017, 08:48:12 AM
But it'll be 15 v 15 on Sunday

love it, was the same when the Dubs played Carlow, and Westmeath and Kildare  :D  ! Ye hear this line trotted out all the time, or 11 v 11, or 5 v 5 etc, usually by the red hot favourites.

Quote from: Hound on September 14, 2017, 09:28:39 AM
All the talk is Flynn will get the final wing forward position ahead of Scully, Connolly, Lowndes.

Not sure about that one. I've lost a bit of faith in Flynn, but he must be going well. He doesn't have the legs to cope with the maurauding forward runs of the Mayo half backs, and I can foresee a lot of Flynn pointing at teammates to pick up runners as he tries to find someone who's staying at home to stand close to.

again, this is Dublin, not a junior B team ! It's scientifically impossible to downplay this Dublin juggernaut

Quote from: rrhf on September 14, 2017, 09:44:21 AM
Is it rue that affiliated Dublin youth players get their food delivered to them. Is it true that the senior team are driving sponsored vehicles. These are just rumours?
Do sponsored cars make you play better? I wonder was it the sponsored cars that made our hurlers play so poorly this year?

Mayo and Kerry lads have sponsored cars. Dublin had sponsored cars under Pillar, and probably before that too. Maybe its because we've changed to Subarus that's brought the improvement.

Quote from: rrhf on September 14, 2017, 09:44:21 AM
Do they pay benefit in kind tax on their free cars?
How much would it cost if you changed your car every 6 months?

What do the Carlow or Leitrim lads get? Free sandwiches?