Tyrone vs Mayo AISF Semi-Final - August 25th

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, August 03, 2013, 08:45:26 PM

Quote from: Crete Boom on August 14, 2013, 05:23:55 PM
Can we start painting the bales of silage green and red yet and is it too soon to start selling the justice for Connor Gormley t-shirts?

Keep up - Philomena Begley has already released a song about it.

CD

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 14, 2013, 05:38:05 PM
Can we start painting the bales of silage green and red yet and is it too soon to start selling the justice for Connor Gormley t-shirts?

First Cavanagh, then Harte and Gormley. Now they're even having a go at the 'Queen of the Silver Dollar'. Is nothing sacred anymore? Mickey Harte's motivational speech will be easy!
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

Crete Boom

Damn it now there will be no money to be made off the 18 verse ode I had just penned to the one and only Davy Brady :'(

Just to be serious for a moment I can't believe only the Tyrone lads are going mental about the way Gormley was banned. Between the Brolly rant , him calling Tyrone people ba$tardrs ' RTE analysis being used as evidence it sets a dangerous precedent that a county can be set upon if the Sunday game panel decides so ( it happened before with Paul Galvin). What if Brolly decides to get stuck into Mayo again before a potential final as the original cynical team? What if Aiden O' Shea has another heavy hit (ala the Frank McGlynn shoulder) which the three wise men judge to be a dirty stroke? I hope Tyrone appeal this and win , not because I think Gormley is 100% innocent but because the process is a sham and we need a proper transparent citing procedure that treats all counties in the same way.

Anyway back to the Mayo arrogance , Mayo by 15 in this glorified training game ;D ;

Arra, better hold off a biteen longer.
We haven't sold too many of the "Justice for Conor Mortimer" ones yet. ;D

Jeez Crete, the last thing we need is some kind of perspective or understanding from outside the county, you'll drive our 'siege mentality' mental! ;)

Quote from: Crete Boom on August 14, 2013, 06:31:03 PM

Damn it now there will be no money to be made off the 18 verse ode I had just penned to the one and only Davy Brady :'(

Just to be serious for a moment I can't believe only the Tyrone lads are going mental about the way Gormley was banned. Between the Brolly rant , him calling Tyrone people ba$tardrs ' RTE analysis being used as evidence it sets a dangerous precedent that a county can be set upon if the Sunday game panel decides so ( it happened before with Paul Galvin). What if Brolly decides to get stuck into Mayo again before a potential final as the original cynical team? What if Aiden O' Shea has another heavy hit (ala the Frank McGlynn shoulder) which the three wise men judge to be a dirty stroke? I hope Tyrone appeal this and win , not because I think Gormley is 100% innocent but because the process is a sham and we need a proper transparent citing procedure that treats all counties in the same way.

Anyway back to the Mayo arrogance , Mayo by 15 in this glorified training game ;D ;

Really sick of this trial by media stuff. If Tyrone were playing anybody else, I would definitely be up for them.

Crete Boom

Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 14, 2013, 06:45:24 PM
Arra, better hold off a biteen longer.
We haven't sold too many of the "Justice for Conor Mortimer" ones yet. ;D

Grand so Lar I'll start with Mk2 Escort first and there is an old Nissan Sunny up in the back field that is ripe for a splash of green and red. ;)

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 14, 2013, 06:52:17 PM
Jeez Crete, the last thing we need is some kind of perspective or understanding from outside the county, you'll drive our 'siege mentality' mental! ;)

Well saying a Mayoman has perspective and understanding around this time of year is a dangerous game so in the spirit of siege mentality I'll take it as an insult, Up Mayo bate them Tyrone bucks out the gate!!!!

Just because a dozen robbers get away scott-free doesn't mean one who gets caught with his hand jammed down the cash register shouldn't pay for his actions. The system needs to be more open and  transparent, sure, but this was only possible because the incident wasn't dealt with in any manner during the game.

Tyrone have had a bit of bad luck (I suppose) getting caught with the Cavanagh tackle and the Gormley and Penrose suspensions all at once but the lack of 100% effective policing isn't a valid reason to ignore a very blatant incident like this.

Suck it up, there's a game to be played. Monaghan are the real losers here.

This was on another thread a while ago.

The Mayo Accent

Have you ever tuned into the voice of a Mayan?
In his mouth the English language is sphagnum moss
Under the bare braceleted feet of a pirate queen:
Syllables are blooms of tentativeness in bog cotton;
Words are bog oak sunk in understatement;
Phrases are bog water in which syllables float
Or in which speakers themselves are found floating face upwards

Or downwards;
Conversations are smudges of bogland under cloudy skies.
Speech in Mayo is a turbary function
To be exercised as a turbary right
With turbary responsibilities
And turbary irresponsibilities.
Peat smoke of silence unfurls over turf fires of language.

A man with a Mayo accent is a stag at bay
Upon a bog rock with rabbits round its hooves.
Why then, Daddy, did you shed   
The pricey antlers of your Mayo accent
For the tree-felling voice of a harsh judiciary
Whose secret headquarters were in the Home Counties
      or High Germany?
Your son has gone back to Mayo to sleep with the island woman
Who talks so much she does not talk at all.
If he does not sleep with her, she will kill him—the pirate queen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KeJc88peIkw

Whishtup

On the practical side...who steps into Gormley's role?  I don't think he'll get off on this one.  He's the one player I had hoped would not get injured as his influence and involvement, craft and guile at crucial times is priceless.  I fancy McGinley and could see him really stepping up in the Monaghan game.  This could be blooding of a new era...

Quote from: Whishtup on August 14, 2013, 08:11:51 PM
On the practical side...who steps into Gormley's role?  I don't think he'll get off on this one.  He's the one player I had hoped would not get injured as his influence and involvement, craft and guile at crucial times is priceless.  I fancy McGinley and could see him really stepping up in the Monaghan game.  This could be blooding of a new era...

McNabb, McKenna or McNamee maybe. I heard Justy McMahon played a full game for Omagh at the weekend so perhaps he could be in the shake up? McGinley started the last two games so he's not really a replacement, but I agree, he as definitely earned his place.

Champion The Wonder Horse

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 14, 2013, 09:48:21 AM

• Mone Jordan came racing over (completely needlessly)
Fixed that for you.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 14, 2013, 09:48:21 AM
  • Mone didn't flinch, in stark contradistinction to moments later and his pathetic simulation after Penrose caught him on the shoulder.
This is a quite wordy, pretentious description of the most important point of the whole thing. Had it been a box from Gormley, I think Mone would have reacted as he did seconds later.
I don't think gormley has a case to answer here and he should be lining out Sunday week.[/list]

Handed out at the Tyrone press night tonight apparently  :-X

SuperHo

justy played but is nowhere near fit. clarke didnt play for omagh either. tiernan mccann mom in my humble opinion.

watched the video of gormley in slo mo and its quite clear that stevie o'neill boxed yer man!!! :o