GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on June 02, 2023, 05:58:17 PM

Title: What do you think of the new championship structure so far ?
Post by: seafoid on June 02, 2023, 05:58:17 PM
Is it what you expected?
Title: Re: What do you think of the new championship structure so far ?
Post by: markl121 on June 02, 2023, 06:01:56 PM
Feels like a holding pattern waiting for the croke park games
Post by: pbat on June 02, 2023, 07:08:12 PM
Puts a serious financial pressure on supporters,
Post by: seafoid on June 02, 2023, 07:30:48 PM
Losing early in the provincial championships is an advantage in the first round of the group stage.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 02, 2023, 07:36:41 PM
Too soon to fully judge yet, The positive was that every game in one round in the group stage was competitive which was a improvement on the mis-matches we had in the Super 8s.  I think congested nature is the biggest issue, every team should have at least two weeks between every game as championship games especially ones played in the heat are very energy sapping.

The main negative is underage competitions gets lost within it all but what can be done when every Inter County competition must be finished before August?
Post by: thewobbler on June 02, 2023, 07:38:45 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 02, 2023, 07:30:48 PM
Losing early in the provincial championships is an advantage in the first round of the group stage.

This year it has.

Next year the provincial champions will storm out of the gates in the AI series and everyone will tell us it's because they're match fit and battle hardened.

For that was the popular opinion in the alternate years, the first 10 years of the back door, before most people cottoned on that sometimes  teams get up for games and sometimes they don't - their path through the draw isn't relevant.
Post by: Manning18 on June 02, 2023, 09:30:14 PM
Loving it. Potentially the only thing I'd change is 2 getting out from the groups over 3. But still, every weekend there's heaps of football on that I want to watch

Il never understand the attitude of wanting less top level football, to basically going back to seeing your teams and other rival teams playing once or twice a championship. In top level Soccer we see the biggest teams play twice a week for around 30 weeks of the year. A large portion of those games have miniscule importance to the overall picture but doesn't stop people tuning in

In American football, we see teams play for 17 weeks, week on week, until the 'real stuff ' starts with the playoffs. A team can know they're in the playoffs by week 10, and all they've to play for from there is a top seed and bye week (similar to our groups), and yet every game is taken seriously and the fans are still bananas for it.

Over here, if every game isn't a straight knockout it supposedly doesn't matter. We're spitting fire that our best and most successful team might have to play a mere 8 or 9 games to win in a season
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 02, 2023, 09:52:58 PM
I only sat down and diagrammed it yesterday. Only now do I understand it. Will do an infographic to share.
Post by: SaffronSports on June 03, 2023, 12:44:48 AM
Money racket. 24 matches to eliminate four teams....
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 03, 2023, 06:22:08 AM
Quote from: SaffronSports on June 03, 2023, 12:44:48 AM

One more time: The GAA is not a profit-making commercial organisation that pays revenue out to shareholders. The money is reinvested in communities and you can download the annual report to see where it goes.
Post by: lenny on June 03, 2023, 09:08:52 AM

I like the idea of it. If only 2 teams were to go through in each group it could lead to a really good team going out unfairly eg Mayo beat Kerry in the first game, mayo already qualified put out a complete reserve team for last game and Kerry get eliminated as a result. We want to see the very best teams in the last 4. Last season Derry got a record points total in division 2 but weren't promoted because an already promoted Galway side put out a reserve side v Roscommon. That's why it's good that 3 go through, to avoid that kind of scenario.
Post by: Rossfan on June 03, 2023, 10:05:10 AM
A League of Ireland soccer team plays 36 League and maybe 3 or 4 Cup games over 9 months.
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2023, 10:08:40 AM
Quote from: lenny on June 03, 2023, 09:08:52 AM

I like the idea of it. If only 2 teams were to go through in each group it could lead to a really good team going out unfairly eg Mayo beat Kerry in the first game, mayo already qualified put out a complete reserve team for last game and Kerry get eliminated as a result. We want to see the very best teams in the last 4. Last season Derry got a record points total in division 2 but weren't promoted because an already promoted Galway side put out a reserve side v Roscommon. That's why it's good that 3 go through, to avoid that kind of scenario.
That happened Kerry in 2018
Post by: AustinPowers on June 03, 2023, 10:28:18 AM
Quote from: lenny on June 03, 2023, 09:08:52 AM

Put the provincial  winners in to the QFs automatically  and  have the other 12  teams in 4 groups of three, therefore  getting rid of any dud games  you'd get in a  4 team group

24 games  is  far too much to  get rid of 4 teams , probably  3 of which  you'd pick out  before it all started (ie. Sligo Westmeath Louth). 

As for the  best teams in the last 4,   you're always  likely to get a Dublin Kerry Mayo in a semi ..  an outsider  (even  though they'd be  top 16) like  Clare Cavan Louth or  Meath,  they'd be destroyed facing  one of those.  The top 3 or 4 are so  far ahead  it's ridiculous.  Teams ranked 10 or 11  (or even higher) have as much hope  as Kilkenny  winning Sam.  Getting  beat is one thing , but not  able even to compete is  another.  There's something  grotesque about that
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2023, 10:48:48 AM
The point of it is more games for every team. Losing 4 after 3 rounds ignores the fact that another 4 go after the next round of matches.
Post by: Angus MacGyver on June 03, 2023, 11:25:58 AM
A sunny June Bank Holiday and a full slate of good fixtures to get through, football is centre stage this weekend. A few cold ones and watch Tyrone Armagh tonight, then make a long trek to Clones tomorrow. How bad?
You need matches to be relevant. So despite a few glitches, the broad concept is an improvement from half the teams in the country with no games after early May.
People say what's the point in these games yet continue to watch Spurs, Villa, Everton et al drudge through 38 games a season.
Post by: Mario on June 03, 2023, 11:29:22 AM
Provincial finalists need a longer break before the groups. There should be a round without them played first to avoid the situation where some team has 4 weeks to prepare for a provincial finalist eg monaghan or mayo putting the finalists at a big disadvantage
Post by: Rossfan on June 03, 2023, 11:39:51 AM
2 weeks is plenty for the feckers.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 03, 2023, 12:15:20 PM
Quote from: Mario on June 03, 2023, 11:29:22 AM
Provincial finalists need a longer break before the groups. There should be a round without them played first to avoid the situation where some team has 4 weeks to prepare for a provincial finalist eg monaghan or mayo putting the finalists at a big disadvantage

Then the first provincial winner to lose would complain they are at a disadvantage because of a lack of championship sharpness. And on and on the mope train goes....
Post by: Eire90 on June 03, 2023, 04:11:07 PM
does the Tailteann cup give group winners home advantage sam maguire should be like that to but the gaa will want to put all 4 quarters in croke park even if they half full.
Post by: snoopdog on June 03, 2023, 06:22:12 PM
Group stages are pointless. 3 out of 4 qualify. No wonder thr crowds are poor. Nowlan pk is empty for dub v kil. Gaa made some balls of it.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on June 03, 2023, 10:36:22 PM
Shite
Post by: Ed Ricketts on June 04, 2023, 11:25:59 AM
Difficult to get too excited about any of it.

We all know what we currently have is temporary. We all know it's just another intermediate phase on the road to where we inevitably end up.

Eventually, we'll land on a three-tiered system, with full integration of League and Championship, and the compete depreciation of the provincial championship. This will be a roaring success and we'll all wonder why it took so long.

It's just a shame we have to spend these years pissing about to prove concepts and bring enough traditionalists onboard.
Post by: Manning18 on June 04, 2023, 12:32:49 PM
Quote from: Mario on June 03, 2023, 11:29:22 AM

Something needs to be done alright to make it more of an advantage to win your provincial, and punish those that don't. If you qualify in seed 3 or 4 you don't deserve the level playing field of one home, one away etc. Never mind actually having an advantage, with the 4-6 week break prior. Hard to know exactly how to construct it though
Post by: Rossfan on June 04, 2023, 02:00:42 PM
Aye, let's help Kerry and Dublin even more!!
Post by: seafoid on June 04, 2023, 02:07:44 PM
Based on this year the structure gives Kerry and Dublin more time in the competition.
Post by: Eire90 on June 04, 2023, 02:38:21 PM
do people know what they want
Post by: armaghniac on June 04, 2023, 03:12:22 PM
Quote from: Ed Ricketts on June 04, 2023, 11:25:59 AM

We all know what we currently have is temporary. We all know it's just another intermediate phase on the road to where we inevitably end up.

Eventually, we'll land on a three-tiered system, with full integration of League and Championship, and the compete depreciation of the provincial championship. This will be a roaring success and we'll all wonder why it took so long.

It's just a shame we have to spend these years pissing about to prove concepts and bring enough traditionalists onboard.

But what will be different in this new system? Will there only a league? Or will there be a league and something like what we have now and how will that be better than what we have this year?

In the present system 3 teams may go through, but getting though to the QF seems a worthwhile prize for topping the group and a home game seems a worthy objective for aiming for second place. THere is a significant difference between having Cork or Kildare at home rather than Kerry away.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 04, 2023, 04:33:10 PM
Attendances have been shocking across the board of the warmest week of the year.
Post by: armaghniac on June 04, 2023, 05:06:21 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 04, 2023, 04:33:10 PM
Attendances have been shocking across the board of the warmest week of the year.

An 8000 attendance at Derry v Donegal is poor. Where are all those hustling for Ulster final tickets now?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 04, 2023, 05:32:05 PM
It's expensive to go to games.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on June 04, 2023, 05:53:07 PM
Maybe people don't care enough about group stages that only eliminate one team per group?
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 04, 2023, 05:54:38 PM
Top in each group should go through to semis, last should be relegated to the Tailteann (with all group winners there promoted). You'll not eliminate all dead rubbers in every system but that should do for most of them.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 04, 2023, 06:00:43 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 04, 2023, 05:32:05 PM

If the product was worth it then money wouldn't matter. I was delighted with my decision not to go to Omagh yesterday.
Post by: Eire90 on June 04, 2023, 06:38:45 PM
This country has an obsession with going to the beach when its above 12 degrees and sunny so that might play a factor in atteandances this weekend.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 04, 2023, 08:41:56 PM
Competitive group stage games thus far with the average winning margin in games low. Clare the only team with nothing to play for in the final round. improvement on the group stage we had in 2018,19.

Post by: delgany on June 04, 2023, 08:44:36 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 04, 2023, 06:00:43 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 04, 2023, 05:32:05 PM

If the product was worth it then money wouldn't matter. I was delighted with my decision not to go to Omagh yesterday.

Ticket pricing is a joke
£22 for a seat at Healy Park and £22 to stand on terracing.
No group game deals ? Doesn't add up to a fair deal at all
Post by: markl121 on June 04, 2023, 09:25:22 PM
Im a fan of the new set up, I love having more games. For years derry were two games and out in the championship, love getting to see the county more often.
Post by: Eire90 on June 04, 2023, 09:57:28 PM
looked a decent crowd in roscommon
Post by: Rossfan on June 04, 2023, 10:06:55 PM
There must have been a hole in the wall somewhere.
Around 8k there today but official attendance announced as 5,773.
Connacht Council personnel in charge.
A cynic might think the debt on McHale being reduced.
A simple ladeen like me would say things like that wouldn't happen.
Post by: DhoireTheas on June 04, 2023, 10:21:48 PM

The heat can turn people off going to games too, sitting in a hot car for 90 minutes.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 04, 2023, 10:34:02 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 04, 2023, 10:06:55 PM

Looked over 10k in attendance. Did they not want to make it public that a similar size crowd turned up today in Hyde Park than what turned up for their overpriced Connacht final?
Post by: SaffronSports on June 04, 2023, 10:47:13 PM
All the group stage is doing is dragging out teams getting to the do or die stages of Championship and coaches undoubtedly still holding a little something in reserve.

How many of these games will you remember next year? There's nothing memorable about them. Just a process to go through to get the stuff that actually matters.
Post by: ONeill on June 04, 2023, 11:40:43 PM
It's just too expensive to have 2-3 games in a month.
Post by: armaghniac on June 04, 2023, 11:57:08 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on June 04, 2023, 06:38:45 PM
This country has an obsession with going to the beach when its above 12 degrees and sunny so that might play a factor in atteandances this weekend.

Some of the pitches had more sand than many Irish beaches.
Post by: restorepride on June 04, 2023, 11:59:43 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 04, 2023, 11:57:08 PM

This is true - especially Brewster Park.  In some areas more sand than grass.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 05, 2023, 12:02:58 AM
Quote from: restorepride on June 04, 2023, 11:59:43 PM

Newish MacHale Park pitch didn't look good today.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fxx8ec_XgAA_O7a?format=jpg&name=small)
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2023, 12:16:09 AM
 :o
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2023, 12:20:06 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 04, 2023, 10:34:02 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 04, 2023, 10:06:55 PM

Looked over 10k in attendance. Did they not want to make it public that a similar size crowd turned up today in Hyde Park than what turned up for their overpriced Connacht final?
Rumours that lads scanning were pointing their phone in the general direction of the "customers" phone and saying away you go.....
I know mine seemed fairly quick anyway!
Post by: Ed Ricketts on June 05, 2023, 12:21:43 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 04, 2023, 03:12:22 PM
Quote from: Ed Ricketts on June 04, 2023, 11:25:59 AM

But what will be different in this new system? Will there only a league? Or will there be a league and something like what we have now and how will that be better than what we have this year?

After 20 years of tinkering with the championship, we have eventually landed on an abbreviated model of the 'regular' league season followed by knockout 'play-offs' that most other team sports (outside of soccer) have long since adopted. This model makes sense for the AFL, NRL, URC, all the yank sports, etc. - and it'll make sense for the GAA too.

We just have to go through another couple of format iterations before our stand alone leagues and provincial championships can be ditched to give us the consolidated, simplified, standardised intercounty season that Gaelic Football deserves. It's the inevitable and obvious conclusion to all this messing around.
Post by: Eire90 on June 05, 2023, 04:02:29 AM
should be neutral province too for the final round of games so armagh v galway can only be played in leinster or Munster  Munster probably too far so id play that game in Parnell park or nolan park or cusack park westmeath.
Post by: highorlow on June 05, 2023, 07:55:39 AM
Quoteshould be neutral province too for the final round of games so armagh v galway can only be played in leinster or Munster  Munster probably too far so id play that game in Parnell park or nolan park or cusack park westmeath.

Fully agreed, or counties should be allowed to toss for the province. It'll be Limerick or Ennis for Mayo v Cork, instead of Nowlan park.
Post by: larryin89 on June 05, 2023, 08:53:14 AM
Quote from: highorlow on June 05, 2023, 07:55:39 AM
Quoteshould be neutral province too for the final round of games so armagh v galway can only be played in leinster or Munster  Munster probably too far so id play that game in Parnell park or nolan park or cusack park westmeath.

Fully agreed, or counties should be allowed to toss for the province. It'll be Limerick or Ennis for Mayo v Cork, instead of Nowlan park.

Do ya not think they'll stick us in croker with another game like Galway v Armagh or Kildare v ros ?
Post by: snoopdog on June 05, 2023, 09:12:12 AM
I'd say they would be afraid to open croke pk for it as the attendances have been so poor for groups.
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2023, 09:30:05 AM
Group attendances are what you'd expect for Group/qualification games  especially when overpriced, no packages of any sort and no marketing etc. Only the regular followers are going.
The old Qualifier games never drew the big day eventers either.
Some seem obsessed with possible Croker double headers.
Play the games as near to half way as possible. At least 5 or 6,000 will look decent enough in a smaller stadium.
Post by: marty34 on June 05, 2023, 09:42:50 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2023, 09:30:05 AM
Group attendances are what you'd expect for Group/qualification games  especially when overpriced, no packages of any sort and no marketing etc. Only the regular followers are going.
Play the games as near to half way as possible. At least 5 or 6,000 will look decent enough in a smaller stadium.

Is there a package deal for the 3 group games?
Post by: lurganblue on June 05, 2023, 10:01:03 AM
I wouldn't be in favour as it stands.  There is absolutely no doubt that it will kill the provincials.

Supporters are under financial strain. I agree, a 3 game package deal would have been sensible.

The games look flat.  It doesn't feel like championship. Actually, the league games have been at a higher intensity.
Post by: smort on June 05, 2023, 10:04:31 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on June 05, 2023, 10:01:03 AM
I wouldn't be in favour as it stands.  There is absolutely no doubt that it will kill the provincials.

Supporters are under financial strain. I agree, a 3 game package deal would have been sensible.

The games look flat.  It doesn't feel like championship. Actually, the league games have been at a higher intensity.

It actually might save the provincials. As you say, the provincials and league have been at a higher intensity. Not a fan of these group stages at all
Post by: RedHand88 on June 05, 2023, 10:08:49 AM
Are people likely to go to all 3 games when 2 of them are way down the country?
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on June 05, 2023, 10:13:56 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 05, 2023, 12:02:58 AM
Quote from: restorepride on June 04, 2023, 11:59:43 PM

Newish MacHale Park pitch didn't look good today.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fxx8ec_XgAA_O7a?format=jpg&name=small)

Was a good few years since I've been in Ballybofey but what is the story with that pitch. The grass was a lovely surface but feck me the dips and rises on it was mad for a county pitch. Looks like it was graded by a few lads on a Monday morning after a weekend on the sauce or a Friday when then where about to hit it.
Post by: larryin89 on June 05, 2023, 10:23:00 AM
Made the trip down to mchale yesterday, I rarely miss anyway home and away that's just the way it is with me , personal choice as I enjoy it but in all my years following Mayo, yesterday was the first day I remember feeling numb and disinterested, even up in the clubhouse there was nothing , no atmosphere. There's an aerial view pic of 1998 game v Galway in the clubhouse, i looked at it yesterday and a thought ran through my head , look at the crowd , remembering the days of old when mchale was bursting at the seams with people and noise . I've never been in the camp of been in favour of a return to the one chance salon championship but I have to admit yesterday I started to question my theory.
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2023, 10:40:03 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7HahVwYpwo

Inflation has hammered family incomes so the match budget has been hit as much as any other aspect of spending.                                                                                       
Post by: didlyi on June 05, 2023, 11:22:15 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 05, 2023, 10:40:03 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7HahVwYpwo

Inflation has hammered family incomes so the match budget has been hit as much as any other aspect of spending.                                                                                       

Hasnt affected the Munster Hurling Championship attendances or hurling in general. If the product is right then.....
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2023, 11:35:32 AM
The Munster Hurley stuff sure draws them in.
Fairly well populated Counties, playing local derbies, old traditional pairings, a belief that any one of them can beat the other on a given day.
I think it was 266k for the 10 round robin games.
Leinster pales in comparison crowds wise.
9500 at Wexford v Kilkenny for instance.
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2023, 01:05:05 PM
3 provincial finalists and Westmeath prop up the tables after 2 rounds

https://www.rte.ie/sport/results/gaa/2023/6342/tables/
Post by: armaghniac on June 05, 2023, 01:35:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 05, 2023, 01:05:05 PM

You'd expect previous year Tailteann winners to be around the bottom. The others reflect dysfunctional provinces, although Kildare are especially disgraceful given the size of the county.
Post by: seafoid on June 05, 2023, 02:46:16 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 05, 2023, 01:35:57 PM

You'd expect previous year Tailteann winners to be around the bottom. The others reflect dysfunctional provinces, although Kildare are especially disgraceful given the size of the county.
The provincials reflect the absence of seeding more than anything else plus there is the sui generis case of Leinster , where the GAA made a desert and called it a football championship.
Post by: highorlow on June 06, 2023, 08:54:43 AM
QuoteMade the trip down to mchale yesterday, I rarely miss anyway home and away that's just the way it is with me , personal choice as I enjoy it but in all my years following Mayo, yesterday was the first day I remember feeling numb and disinterested, even up in the clubhouse there was nothing , no atmosphere. There's an aerial view pic of 1998 game v Galway in the clubhouse, i looked at it yesterday and a thought ran through my head , look at the crowd , remembering the days of old when mchale was bursting at the seams with people and noise . I've never been in the camp of been in favour of a return to the one chance salon championship but I have to admit yesterday I started to question my theory.

Your weren't alone in thinking that Larry, most people in the crowd were bored.
Post by: Rossfan on June 06, 2023, 09:08:53 AM
Aww boohooo :'(
Poor little rhubairbíns
Post by: theskull1 on June 06, 2023, 09:28:23 AM
Too many in the GAA family need to get paid these days.
Unintended consequences are people losing interest and club reserve fixtures getting cancelled left right and centre.
Post by: blanketattack on June 06, 2023, 11:16:12 AM

The alternative would have seen Clare, Sligo and Westmeath replaced with Meath, Cavan and Fermanagh.

I'm beginning to think Proposal B would have made for a much better and more interesting competition.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 06, 2023, 11:21:24 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 05, 2023, 10:23:00 AM
Made the trip down to mchale yesterday, I rarely miss anyway home and away that's just the way it is with me , personal choice as I enjoy it but in all my years following Mayo, yesterday was the first day I remember feeling numb and disinterested, even up in the clubhouse there was nothing , no atmosphere. There's an aerial view pic of 1998 game v Galway in the clubhouse, i looked at it yesterday and a thought ran through my head , look at the crowd , remembering the days of old when mchale was bursting at the seams with people and noise . I've never been in the camp of been in favour of a return to the one chance salon championship but I have to admit yesterday I started to question my theory.

Omagh was the same from what I heard. An eerie silence for parts of the game, and this is Tyrone v Armagh in the Championship. I was looking forward to this format at the start of the year but it just feels like something to pass the time until the knockouts start in a few weeks.
Post by: statto on June 06, 2023, 11:37:44 AM
Not a fan of the new format at all.  In Armagh club championship last few years been straight knock out and been brilliant.  This years powers that be have decided to revert back to group stage format similar to AI series 4 groups of 4 top team into quarters and preliminary quarter finals.  All just seems a bit of a money racket. 
Post by: Rossfan on June 06, 2023, 11:49:33 AM
Terrible having PLAYERS PLAYING games.
We need to eradicate that kind of thing.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 06, 2023, 12:05:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 06, 2023, 11:49:33 AM
Terrible having PLAYERS PLAYING games.
We need to eradicate that kind of thing.

This is it too. Does anyone want to go back to having their county play 1 or at most 2 championship games in a year? Imagine being knocked out in April/May and knowing your county won't play again until after Christmas...
Post by: weareros on June 06, 2023, 12:18:38 PM
The games are not as bad as the media/podcasters make out. There's just a tradition of media commentary on Gaelic football that is akin to a 1950s parish priest blasting sinners from the altar and the lack of morals amongst the youth at dancehalls. The latest sin is possession. To even think about it is an impure thought but to indulge in it and take pleasure for a 6 whole minutes with innocent Dubs watching is a mortal sin altogether. It's time for the Father Woolys, the Reverend Morher Joanne, Pastor Spillane and the Bishop O'Sheas to give our heads a break. And don't get me started on Pope Donal Óg.
Post by: seafoid on June 06, 2023, 12:33:16 PM
I think the presence of Sligo, Clare, Westmeath and Armagh in the group stages is very good for those counties . Pure jeopardy doesn't help counties develop.
I hope that Westmeath get the finger out and get promoted to D2 so we see them again because they have some class players.
Post by: Rossfan on June 06, 2023, 01:26:45 PM
Quote from: weareros on June 06, 2023, 12:18:38 PM
The games are not as bad as the media/podcasters make out. There's just a tradition of media commentary on Gaelic football that is akin to a 1950s parish priest blasting sinners from the altar and the lack of morals amongst the youth at dancehalls. The latest sin is possession. To even think about it is an impure thought but to indulge in it and take pleasure for a 6 whole minutes with innocent Dubs watching is a mortal sin altogether. It's time for the Father Woolys, the Reverend Morher Joanne, Pastor Spillane and the Bishop O'Sheas to give our heads a break. And don't get me started on Pope Donal Óg.

👍👍👍👍
Post by: trailer on June 06, 2023, 01:32:13 PM
Quote from: weareros on June 06, 2023, 12:18:38 PM

I agree with this.
On the format itself, is it perfect? No. But it is far better to what we had before. What we want is the All Ireland champions to have had a proper test and with the way Leinster and Munster Championships have been that has not been the case. Now we are seeing Kerry and Dublin not getting it all their own way. We are probably a few years away from the provincials being removed all together. Once that happens the it will become the even and fair competition that most intelligent people want.
It will be interesting to see if the groups can throw up a shock in terms of the teams who qualify.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 06, 2023, 01:37:07 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on June 06, 2023, 11:16:12 AM

The alternative would have seen Clare, Sligo and Westmeath replaced with Meath, Cavan and Fermanagh.

I'm beginning to think Proposal B would have made for a much better and more interesting competition.

the proposal B whereby teams ranked 17th and 25th in a given year would be in the race for Sam - but the side ranked sixth wouldn't?
Post by: onefineday on June 23, 2023, 02:06:39 AM
Wondering what people think of the system now?
I liked it even before last weekend and I think people have to see it for what it is, it's starting all qualifiers on a relatively equal footing. They have three games to experiment, find out about their teams and jostle for position before the real deal starts.  There's an excellent incentive for topping the group and a decent reward for coming 2nd vs 3rd and 3rd vs 4th.
We can't complain that teams are walking through weak provinces to places in all Ireland quarters - everyone has to navigate similar standard groups, progress is on merit.
Tweaks I would consider would be:
- remove seedings for provincial finalists
- 3rd game should not be neutral - attendances will be better at non-neutral. Toss for this or if wanting to beef up provincial incentive, award the 2 home games to provincial finalists or 1 and 2 seeds .
You'd like group winners to get a home quarter final, but can understand that teams might prefer the croker trip.

Final suggestion is around the much maligned 3 qualifiers, whilst I've come round to it, there could get another simple tweak. Basically only allow the 3 3rd teams with best records qualify - the 4 group winners progress and the 2nd place team with the best record also progresses. The other three spots are filled by the 3 remaining 2nd place teams playing off against the 3 best 3rd place teams.
This year for example that would see Kerry, Dublin, Derry, Armagh and Galway progress into quarters whilst Kildare, Cork and Donegal would take on Roscommon, Mayo and Monaghan in the preliminary quarters with Tyrone missing out.

All in all though a potentially great run of games from last week onwards.
Post by: onefineday on June 23, 2023, 02:09:49 AM
You'll get the chance to find out if knock out games sell out this weekend.
If every game bar the rossies v cork isn't more or less a sellout this weekend it would be pretty worrying for the gaa. And rossies v cork should be a decent crowd too.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 23, 2023, 09:07:40 AM
Quote from: onefineday on June 23, 2023, 02:09:49 AM
You'll get the chance to find out if knock out games sell out this weekend.
If every game bar the rossies v cork isn't more or less a sellout this weekend it would be pretty worrying for the gaa. And rossies v cork should be a decent crowd too.

Agreed, if Donegal v Tyrone or Galway v Mayo isn't a full house or near it alarm bells should be ringing.
Post by: statto on June 23, 2023, 09:15:33 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 06, 2023, 12:33:16 PM
I think the presence of Sligo, Clare, Westmeath and Armagh in the group stages is very good for those counties . Pure jeopardy doesn't help counties develop.
I hope that Westmeath get the finger out and get promoted to D2 so we see them again because they have some class players.
A real Roy of the rovers story Armagh topping the group..
Post by: Armagh18 on June 23, 2023, 09:59:20 AM
Quote from: statto on June 23, 2023, 09:15:33 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 06, 2023, 12:33:16 PM
A real Roy of the rovers story Armagh topping the group..
Wouldnt have been too many betting on it before last week!
Post by: Fuzzman on June 30, 2023, 04:43:20 PM
Most people seem happy with the outcome of how we have reached the last 8.
Maybe hard for Roscommon and Galway to be knocked out after a good year up until now and maybe Kildare too.
Had Westmeath have beaten Tyrone I might not be writing this.  :P

Cork are probably the biggest surprise packets to make it through this year but no surprise to see Armagh and Monaghan make it to the last 8.

I think the new system is good for most teams to get to play regular matches rather than training so much and having to play friendlies. It also allows the "bigger teams" to maybe bring on newer players or try different things that would be harder if there was more jeopardy.

We do need to lower our expectations though for good attendance as many fans, especially families will find it vey costly going to so many matches. I did wonder was there an element of some teams doing the bare minimum to get through and not wanting to show their hand too much. Kerry and Tyrone prime examples perhaps.

The four teams who finished last in their groups got lots of good experience against teams they wouldn't usually meet and I think the preliminary quarterfinal round actually did work out well this year as it added a knockout round and kept the group stages interesting to the last day.

Interestingly 5 of the 8 division 1 teams made it the the last 8 and Derry, Dublin and Cork from div 2. That seems pretty fair to me as opposed to the provincial system.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 30, 2023, 05:08:51 PM
Has been mainly a success with a number of competitive contests decided on fine margins all the Quarter finals will be well attended this weekend. Congested nature of the format needs to be looked at. Perhaps the AI final pushed out to the first or 2nd week of August would give some breathing room.

Will or should pre season competitions be cut from the schedule next year and the NFL starting mid January? Already has been efforts to get rid of league finals.

Post by: Rossfan on June 30, 2023, 05:28:25 PM
I would suggest mixing Provincials in among the NFL fixtures to cut out the long gaps some teams had this year.
I'd abolish League Finals but no doubt the €1 they bring in might sway things.
If we must have games in successive weeks why not the 3 Round Robin games?
Of course more sensible pricing forTC and Sam group games would help get more people out

Post by: seafoid on June 30, 2023, 05:50:01 PM
One interesting angle is the tactical loss. The system is intensive and it may not be in a team's interest to win all matches until the jeopardy starts. Mayo's loss to Roscommon was unexpected at the time but didn't do any harm to Mayo.

I think the congested nature of the competition is something that should be looked at given there is no recovery time for injuries.

I hope the 4 matches at the weekend are all competitive.

Post by: Blowitupref on June 30, 2023, 11:23:14 PM
GAA HQ are now estimating 80,000 will attend Sunday's quarter-finals and 65,000 tomorrow. Would be increase of 24,000 on what attended the 4 Quarter finals last year.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 01, 2023, 12:28:54 AM
Games starting to clock up, be No 14 for me this wkend. 3 Ulster games, 3 All-Ireland games, plus 7 out of 8 league game. Not taking in.McKenna cup. Some difference from 25yrs ago, maybe 1 game and out yrs, plus just going to home league games. Not a wonder GAA making money.
Post by: onefineday on July 01, 2023, 12:45:55 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 01, 2023, 12:28:54 AM
Games starting to clock up, be No 14 for me this wkend. 3 Ulster games, 3 All-Ireland games, plus 7 out of 8 league game. Not taking in.McKenna cup. Some difference from 25yrs ago, maybe 1 game and out yrs, plus just going to home league games. Not a wonder GAA making money.
There was a time it'd take some teams 6 years to play 6 championship games. Lads could have played a decade of senior intercounty and played in 10/12 championship games.

Bar the ultra condensed nature it's pretty positive from me. It definitely helps that we don't have a stand out team.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 01, 2023, 02:04:22 AM
Quote from: onefineday on July 01, 2023, 12:45:55 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 01, 2023, 12:28:54 AM
There was a time it'd take some teams 6 years to play 6 championship games. Lads could have played a decade of senior intercounty and played in 10/12 championship games.

Bar the ultra condensed nature it's pretty positive from me. It definitely helps that we don't have a stand out team.
yeah i think its brilliant. Ask any player if they're happy with more matches and you'll get a resounding yes i reckon.

Pricing needs looked at as you'd be out a clean fortune if you went to all the games, especially for families.
Post by: Louther on July 01, 2023, 08:50:55 AM
Wasn't sure where to mention this but GAA planning at its best. All Ireland Football quarter finals this weekend as is the Football Feile. While hard to find a spot, they could have been aligned with a hurling weekend and the Hurling feile on this weekend.
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2023, 09:45:52 AM
Until it gets to the PQF stage, the new system makes predictions very difficult.
Mayo were favourites after the League, then they were shite after they lost to Ros, then they were great after they beat Kerry and
shite again after they lost to Cork. But they are in the quarters.

And Tyrone were shite in the league and inconsistent in the round robins but they are looking good now.
The tradition of basing predictions on the most recent information is no longer valid.