NFL Division 1 2019 Dubs again?

Started by Dire Ear, November 26, 2018, 04:58:45 PM

dublin7

The likes of Higgins & Moran really struggled tonight. Father Time is saying hello. Didn't have the legs. Disappointed in Dublin. Normally they are ruthless. Only for Hennelly it would have been a slaughter

Quote from: dublin7 on February 23, 2019, 09:45:05 PM
The likes of Higgins & Moran really struggled tonight. Father Time is saying hello. Didn't have the legs. Disappointed in Dublin. Normally they are ruthless. Only for Hennelly it would have been a slaughter

Dublin are holding back. The second half proved that. No point in hammering Mayo and bringing the spotlight back on them.

Been saying this before - Mayo in 2017 is the last time anybody seen Mayo in real Championship. That will be two years ago this summer. two years is a fair bit of time for lads in their 30's. Lads who have been on the go for the guts of a decade or more.

Higgins did very well in scrambled defence. Andy did ok apart from product and legs had nothing to do with that. Higgins still has legs to spare and Andy was never about legs ever.

Quote from: From the Bunker on February 23, 2019, 10:03:06 PM

Dublin are holding back. The second half proved that. No point in hammering Mayo and bringing the spotlight back on them.

Been saying this before - Mayo in 2017 is the last time anybody seen Mayo in real Championship. That will be two years ago this summer. two years is a fair bit of time for lads in their 30's. Lads who have been on the go for the guts of a decade or more.

Ah, relax a bit Bunker.
Tonight was not championship. We've got chasings before in league and wouldn't be surprised if we got one in 2017 as well but cant recall. It doesn't matter. I do remember we got hammered by Donegal in Ballyshannon in league in 2012 even though we had a player advantage for guts of an hour.
We are usually completely dysfunctional this time of year so nothing new there.
Tonight was team a that has a process pretty much perfected v a cobbled together effort. The lad, mostly talking to Horan on sideline. on the telly. is the Dublin based selector/trainer. 
Dublin do not have to cope with those logistical issues. Imagine Dublin having players trained in Mayo/Connacht/wherever?
This is not about age or miles or shite. Talent even. It's about logistics/ organisation and coaching in a sympathetic environment.
We are up against it I know but we have had a decent cut at it a few summers. Forget about tonight.

Crete Boom

Quote from: moysider on February 24, 2019, 12:41:41 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 23, 2019, 10:03:06 PM

Ah, relax a bit Bunker.
Tonight was not championship. We've got chasings before in league and wouldn't be surprised if we got one in 2017 as well but cant recall. It doesn't matter. I do remember we got hammered by Donegal in Ballyshannon in league in 2012 even though we had a player advantage for guts of an hour.
We are usually completely dysfunctional this time of year so nothing new there.
Tonight was team a that has a process pretty much perfected v a cobbled together effort. The lad, mostly talking to Horan on sideline. on the telly. is the Dublin based selector/trainer. 
Dublin do not have to cope with those logistical issues. Imagine Dublin having players trained in Mayo/Connacht/wherever?
This is not about age or miles or shite. Talent even. It's about logistics/ organisation and coaching in a sympathetic environment.
We are up against it I know but we have had a decent cut at it a few summers. Forget about tonight.

Don't  forget the time the freak fog bank that descended on McHale Park in Feb 2012 that saved us from an almighty hammering from the Dubs!

Quote from: moysider on February 24, 2019, 12:20:07 AM

Higgins did very well in scrambled defence. Andy did ok apart from product and legs had nothing to do with that. Higgins still has legs to spare and Andy was never about legs ever.

Totally agree. Some people haven't a clue

dublin7

The only time Higgins seen Costello was for the throw ins at the start of each half. The rest of the time was spent chasing shadows or dealing with the rebounds after yet another goal chance/save by Hennelly.

Quote from: dublin7 on February 24, 2019, 09:50:31 AM

The only time Higgins seen Costello was for the throw ins at the start of each half. The rest of the time was spent chasing shadows or dealing with the rebounds after yet another goal chance/save by Hennelly.
Exaggerations don't prove damn all. Costello had a very good night and is having a fine league after bench warming for last 5 years plus injuries. He got away with 8/9 steps before he played the ball once he had caught it leading up to his goal, do you not think this caused Higgins to slip as any decent defender is waiting on the attacker to play the ball and then pounce?

Mayo played mostly with no spare man back so was 1-on-1 stuff. Result and performance dampens down the early league gains but as Moysider rightly says it is early days and poor league displays have preceded good championship runs previously. Time to regroup and have a cut at the bad recent record with our neighbours to the south.

MayoBuck

The point is if Higgins doesn't have the legs then 95% of backs have the same issue. He's a great player but has always been a bit loose when left 1 on 1 against top forwards. Andy won a decent amount of ball in front of Fitzsimons and even turned him at one point in the 1st half. Just had an off night with the finishing. I suppose if you keep saying their legs are gone for long enough, you'll be right eventually...

An 8 point defeat is pretty bad but it's broadly in line with Dublin's last few games in Croker. They beat Galway by 11 a few weeks ago, Tyrone by 6 in the final last year, Galway by 9 in the semi-final, Roscommon by 14 and Donegal by a mere 5 in the super 8s. Even Kerry were beat by 12 in the league last year.

We will improve from our showing last night but won't be winning an All Ireland any time soon.

Sportacus

Mayo just hadn't the composure up front, otherwise they could have made a game of it.  Missing the penalty summed up their night up front.  They went man to man for parts of the game and played a man down for twenty minutes, so it was all a bit of struggle when you don't bring your shooting boots.  Just leave O'Shea on the edge of the square for gods sake, and use him when it suits.  Plenty of pace in their half forwards as well.  There'll be a kick in Mayo this summer.   

Quote from: spuds on February 24, 2019, 11:26:57 AM

Exaggerations don't prove damn all. Costello had a very good night and is having a fine league after bench warming for last 5 years plus injuries. He got away with 8/9 steps before he played the ball once he had caught it leading up to his goal, do you not think this caused Higgins to slip as any decent defender is waiting on the attacker to play the ball and then pounce?

Mayo played mostly with no spare man back so was 1-on-1 stuff. Result and performance dampens down the early league gains but as Moysider rightly says it is early days and poor league displays have preceded good championship runs previously. Time to regroup and have a cut at the bad recent record with our neighbours to the south.

Absolutely correct re steps

He knew himself he had overplayed it...you can tell by the way he dropped it to the ground just as he took off.

Mayo didn't lose because of the ref, but he gave everything to Dublin last night

Bad Day at Healy Park but despite the scoreboard discrepancy, a  low intensity mistake ridden performance, I thought there were a few bright notes for Monaghan. Plenty of improvement needed but not dead yet.
At least not as dead as the black card sin bin experiment.

Aiden O'Shea yet again wasted in half forwards. We tried a long ball game in the first half that didn't work. He ought to have been in FF to at least open more space for Andy Moran. You'd have to question why he takes a sideline ball late in the 1st half instead of going inside to win it? No one from the bench came over to advise him. It's a bit of a worry and Horan needs to buck up imo. Team and management got a wake up call last night.

Frustrated with the ref, black card all day long and the goalie was 3 yards off his line for the penalty.

The new sideline rule is a cod. It favors the team that don't have the line ball.

We were ok in the 2nd half but very poor decision making cost us. Should have started Drake to stop McCaffery, hope he gets a start in the league, he deserves it, anyone that saw him against Breaffy in the club championship would agree with me. They got 1-2 off McCafferys counter attacks in the 1st half, that was when the game was won.

Disappointing one point defeat in Tuam.  Should have taken a draw at least out of that game but a couple of black cards and inaccuracy early in the second half were our downfall.  I know we are missing a few key players but we are setting up too defensive, Kevin needs to trust his personnel more.  On to Castlebar we go next weekend.

Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on February 24, 2019, 04:36:02 PM
Disappointing one point defeat in Tuam.  Should have taken a draw at least out of that game but a couple of black cards and inaccuracy early in the second half were our downfall.  I know we are missing a few key players but we are setting up too defensive, Kevin needs to trust his personnel more.  On to Castlebar we go next weekend.

Getting off to some very slow starts but that's what can happen when you are so defensive and passive and invite teams to attack you. Kerry were 5 or 6 points up before they decided to start playing a bit. Probably unlucky to not get a draw out of it in the end but you just want them to be a bit more proactive. The first instinct is to pass the ball sideways or even backwards and it's all coming from the management.