The future of laois hurling

Started by Tobias, October 27, 2015, 08:08:58 PM

Zooming around

Quote from: clonadmad on December 11, 2022, 11:39:10 AM
Quote from: Laois man on December 11, 2022, 11:32:47 AM
Would it not be a good idea to have a laois schools hurling team manganed by our laois U20 mangerment team. Like we have Mtrath. Rdowney. Heywood. Plaois Mmellick and port with school hurling teams. I see offaly are doing it and building for the U20 Cship.

It would be a no brainer to enter a laois schools team in the Leinster A senior schools championship,but there's neither the will or appetite or probably manpower to do it

Schools hurling is rapidly becoming a wasteland in the town of Portlaoise which is a worry not just for the club but also the county.

We will look back fondly on this years Minor Team and their journey to a Leinster final,because given the shambolic setup of the development squads at the younger age grades

It will be a while before we see it again.

Offaly have gotten their act together on so many areas in both codes

Do we not have a combined schools team. We definitely had one a few years ago. Why was it stopped?

Ogie

Our Coaching & Games department currently not good or active enough with initiatives,
Offaly again today recruiting brilliantly appointing Damien Coleman as Operations manager, the man behind all of Galway's underage success.

Yes they are pumping money in, but it's being done wisely and theirs a buzz around them, we have plenty of money too,

Talk of the renewed Setanta programme is only piece meal, academy squads have no buzz or direction about them, the overall organisation of the squads is so poor compared even just to Offaly never mind the bigger counties
Simple ideas like the combined schools, more club workshops, academy squad gear, more games, more promotion on social media
Offaly's initiatives around development squads, faithful fields, coaching initiatives are much more active than ours, and getting much more buy on from coaches, players, parents & clubs

Similar on the likes of Wexford, cork, Meath, Kilkenny

What is the actual role of the county board coaching officer when we have a games manager ?

clonadmad

Quote from: Ogie on December 14, 2022, 03:09:16 PM
Our Coaching & Games department currently not good or active enough with initiatives,
Offaly again today recruiting brilliantly appointing Damien Coleman as Operations manager, the man behind all of Galway's underage success.

Yes they are pumping money in, but it's being done wisely and theirs a buzz around them, we have plenty of money too,

Talk of the renewed Setanta programme is only piece meal, academy squads have no buzz or direction about them, the overall organisation of the squads is so poor compared even just to Offaly never mind the bigger counties
Simple ideas like the combined schools, more club workshops, academy squad gear, more games, more promotion on social media
Offaly's initiatives around development squads, faithful fields, coaching initiatives are much more active than ours, and getting much more buy on from coaches, players, parents & clubs

What is the actual role of the county board coaching officer when we have a games manager ?

Offaly are running rings around us in all departments at the minute.

I see that they have 6/7 women at the County Board top table in area such as coaching officer, asst treasurer and Central Council reps

We can even get men to come in and fill 3 critical positions here

If we can't compete with Offaly with a smaller population than us and a similar split between the 2 codes what hope do we have with the Galways Corks and Limericks?

blueandwhite1

Offaly have a few things we don't:

1. A visionary with real power: Michael Duignan.
2. Serious financial backing, including from Shane Lowry
3. Strong group of volunteers that are willing to work. We complain about lack of a strong board but nobody wants to do it.

georgedoylesrightleg

lads just wanta give out and not work. fair pay to dignan, he went and did it and brought lads with hin

clonadmad

Quote from: blueandwhite1 on December 15, 2022, 01:22:54 PM
Offaly have a few things we don't:

1. A visionary with real power: Michael Duignan.
2. Serious financial backing, including from Shane Lowry
3. Strong group of volunteers that are willing to work. We complain about lack of a strong board but nobody wants to do it.

4.Tradition and culture ,granted it's a while since they won a senior All Ireland but they have a core group of lads involved with development  squads who know what it takes,be it with Offaly but also with the likes of Birr and to a lesser extent Coolderry and Kilcormac.

Blow-in

Quote from: Ogie on December 14, 2022, 03:09:16 PM

On your last point about the County Coaching officer, what is the actual role of the County games manager? Setanta programme was drove by a volunteer during the summer. The Squads are a shambles, is that the Coaching office or games manager?
Coaching workshops, is that Games manager or GDA's?
From what i can see we have very little leadership coming from our games manager who is meant to be leading our GDA's. Maybe others have more interaction with our Coaching and Games department but from what I can see it's non existent.

Zooming around

I saw Rosenallis congratulating lads on making the minor hurling panel on Social Media. Has it been released? Do any of ye have it? Thanks

clonadmad

Quote from: Zooming around on December 20, 2022, 05:20:08 PM
I saw Rosenallis congratulating lads on making the minor hurling panel on Social Media. Has it been released? Do any of ye have it? Thanks

Panel was finalised over the weekend

34 on it

Don't know if it's been made public yet

A Job for the PRO

Oh wait

clonadmad

LAOIS MINOR HURLING PANEL 2023

Eoghan Murphy (The Harps)
Justin Duggan (The Harps)
Mark Downey (The Harps)
Donal Deegan (The Harps)
Cormac Dunne (The Harps)
Ethan Lafferty (The Harps)
Lochlan Curran (The Harps)
Raymond Goode (Castletown)
Ryan Peters (Castletown)
Kyron Cuddy (Castletown)
Killian Breen (Castletown)
Eli Quinn (Abbeyleix)
Cormac Byrne (Abbeyleix)
Riain Mahony (Abbeyleix)
Caelum O'Brien (Mountrath)
Cian Hill (Mountrath)
Ruaidhri Kavanagh (Mountrath)
Rick Bannon (Camross)
Conor Mortimer (Camross)
Evan Cassin (Clough-Ballacolla)
Colm Brennan (Clough-Ballacolla)
Lorcan Dunne (Rathdowney-Errill)
Eoin Bracken (Rathdowney-Errill)
Rio Lacumber (Portlaoise)
David Brown (Portlaoise)
Patrick O'Callaghan (Clonad)
Liam Whelan (Clonad)
Jordan Downey (Portarlington)
Conor Maher (Portarlington)
Sam Somers (Rosenallis)
Oran Gorman (Rosenallis)
Jimmy Norton (Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe)
Charlie Hand (Emo)
Shane Connolly (Ballyfin)
Ben O'Mara (Ballinakill)

SCFC

Good to see Portarlington and Emo players involved.

Laois man

Nobody from. borris/kilcotton?

clonadmad

The Harps won the u15 A championship in 2021 beating Mountrath well that particular day which might partly explain the harps numbers on the squad,now that most of them are up to the age at u17 in 23

The Harps bet PRT and Mountrath bet Raheen parish Gaels in the u15 A semifinals that year

To the best of my knowledge Borris Kilcotton weren't in the A at u15 that year

burdizzo

No, RPG won the shield final beating Rathdowney. Mountrath beat Abbeyleix in the semi-final.

clonadmad

Quote from: burdizzo on January 17, 2023, 06:53:58 PM
No, RPG won the shield final beating Rathdowney. Mountrath beat Abbeyleix in the semi-final.

Fair play Bur

Your right