GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: mcwregor on November 18, 2022, 08:57:40 AM

Title: Laois Senior Hurlers 2023
Post by: mcwregor on November 18, 2022, 08:57:40 AM
Another new era. What can we expect?
Any news on new members to the panel or lads not committing?
Title: Re: Laois Senior Hurlers 2023
Post by: Laois man on December 09, 2022, 08:27:39 AM
Laois second team hurled Maynooth college Tuesday night in plaois any new faces on panel or wonder who was playing?
Post by: burdizzo on December 11, 2022, 02:09:34 AM
Obviously Cha and Downey out, but I believe Picky also not there at the moment.
Post by: mcwregor on December 13, 2022, 09:51:23 AM
Lee Cleere also gone travelling, a big loss. Ben Conroy also not available. I understand a few players have asked to have xmas off and may return in january. Im not sure who they are. I think Aaron Dunphy is back on board this year. We will be looking to the likes of james duggan, mossy keyes to provide an injection of enthusiasm into the team, hopefully they are on board?
Tipp in Thurles on Feb 4th will be one to shake off the cobwebs. Hopefully we can get back to being reasonably competitive in the league similar to how we were under E.B. We need to play with huge intensity, become difficult to play against and not ship goals. Possession in the modern game is crucial, we need to be able to retain our own puckouts for starters either short or long. Our forwards in recent years haven't been much of a threat, found it hard to win their own ball and were lacking in confidence. Maher needs to find a way of getting the best out of what hes got, that might be playing a different way than we have been, it wont be easy.

We have proven over the past few years that we can compete, its about doing it consistently. We were excellent in the heat of battle in nowlan park against waterford in the championship in 2021 and decent performances against tipp in the league and dublin in the championship last year would give a level of optimism but we also took some heavy beatings which we need to avoid.
Post by: Lost soul 2 on December 13, 2022, 01:10:15 PM
Yea played maynooth,looked like first team players training out in other pitch,saw most of match.team was 1.peter Walsh 2.niall Coss 3.podge lawlor 4.danny Brennan 5.cathal fennell 6.enda parlon 7.fionan Mahony 8.ciaran Byrne 9.liam senior 10.dan delaney 11tagdh cuddy 12.rigney(I think)13 James duggan 14seamus fitz15 martin phelan,feel of friendly of it.two midfielders went well and murt phelan played very well.niall Coss got on good bit of ball too
Post by: clonadmad on December 13, 2022, 03:14:58 PM
Seniors playing Tipperary u20's Friday night
Post by: Lost soul 2 on December 13, 2022, 03:41:46 PM
Where is that on?
Post by: mcwregor on December 17, 2022, 09:28:11 PM
Did the match vs tipp 20s go ahead?
Post by: Ogie on January 04, 2023, 07:40:25 PM
Good to see Laois moving the matches around the county, like Mountrath on Sunday

Word is good & positive coming from the camp on Maher & his set up
Post by: Laois man on January 04, 2023, 10:00:43 PM
Great to see a game in Mrath should be a nice crowd there Sunday.
Post by: Laois man on January 06, 2023, 03:28:36 PM
Wonder will there be a team up tonight for the game Sunday? I believe there Happy with Maher and his backroom team great to hear that all positive so far.
Post by: mcwregor on January 06, 2023, 09:45:04 PM
What laois players are missing this year that would be a loss to the team.
Cha Dwyer
Sean Downey
Ben Conroy
Lee Cleere
Diarmuid Conway
Joe Campion
Picky Maher?
Any hope of getting David Dooley playing with u20s this year (bob and none)
Post by: burdizzo on January 06, 2023, 10:08:07 PM
Joe Campion? Why are we still talking about him playing for Laois? Would he even be sure to be on the team now? I don't think Ben Conroy is the answer to all our prayers, either. Cha, in fairness, he will be a loss - and Ballinakill, without him and Downey, you couldn't fancy in Senior B.
Post by: mcwregor on January 06, 2023, 10:16:04 PM
Is Ciaran McEvoy on the panel this year?
Post by: Home Boys Home on January 06, 2023, 10:57:50 PM
Quote from: mcwregor on January 06, 2023, 09:45:04 PM
What laois players are missing this year that would be a loss to the team.
Cha Dwyer
Sean Downey
Ben Conroy
Lee Cleere
Diarmuid Conway
Joe Campion
Picky Maher?
Any hope of getting David Dooley playing with u20s this year (bob and none)

Don't think the following are in training, maybe not all first team choices but would  be a loss to the panel:

Ronan Broderick
John Lennon
Conor Phelan
Eoin Gaughan
Mark Dowling
Ciarán Collier

Post by: Giovanni on January 06, 2023, 11:58:34 PM
Lee Cleere and Sean Downey are two very big losses. Excellent players.
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 07, 2023, 08:28:18 AM

LAOIS

1 – Enda Rowland (Abbeyleix)
2 – Fiachra C-Fennell (Rosenallis)
3 – Donnchadh Hartnett (Rosenallis)
4 – Padraig Dunne (The Harps)
5 – Podge Lawlor (Ballinakill)
6 – Paddy Purcell (Rathdowney-Errill)
7 – Ryan Mullaney (Castletown)
8 – Liam Senior (Clonaslee-St Manman's)
9 – Jack Kelly (Rathdowney-Errill)
10 – Aaron Dunphy (Borris-Kilcotton)
11 – Willie Dunphy (Clough-Ballacolla)
12 – James Keyes (Colt-Shanahoe)
13 – James Duggan (The Harps)
14 – Martin Phelan (Castletown)
15 – Tomas Keyes (Camross)

SUBS

16 – Ben Campion (Rathdowney-Errill)
17 – Ross King (Rathdowney-Errill)
18 – Fionan Mahony (Abbeyleix)
19 – Lawson Obulor (Abbeyleix)
20 – Enda Parlon (Borris-Kilcotton)
21 – Ciaran Byrne (Abbeyleix)
22 – Danny Brennan (Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe)
23 – PJ Scully (Borris-Kilcotton)
24 – Brandon McGinley (Rathdowney-Errill)
25 – Jordan Walshe (Clough-Ballacolla)
26 – Seamus Fitzpatrick (
Post by: Zooming around on January 07, 2023, 09:19:48 AM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on January 07, 2023, 08:28:18 AM

LAOIS

1 – Enda Rowland (Abbeyleix)
2 – Fiachra C-Fennell (Rosenallis)
3 – Donnchadh Hartnett (Rosenallis)
4 – Padraig Dunne (The Harps)
5 – Podge Lawlor (Ballinakill)
6 – Paddy Purcell (Rathdowney-Errill)
7 – Ryan Mullaney (Castletown)
8 – Liam Senior (Clonaslee-St Manman's)
9 – Jack Kelly (Rathdowney-Errill)
10 – Aaron Dunphy (Borris-Kilcotton)
11 – Willie Dunphy (Clough-Ballacolla)
12 – James Keyes (Colt-Shanahoe)
13 – James Duggan (The Harps)
14 – Martin Phelan (Castletown)
15 – Tomas Keyes (Camross)

SUBS

16 – Ben Campion (Rathdowney-Errill)
17 – Ross King (Rathdowney-Errill)
18 – Fionan Mahony (Abbeyleix)
19 – Lawson Obulor (Abbeyleix)
20 – Enda Parlon (Borris-Kilcotton)
21 – Ciaran Byrne (Abbeyleix)
22 – Danny Brennan (Park-Ratheniska-Timahoe)
23 – PJ Scully (Borris-Kilcotton)
24 – Brandon McGinley (Rathdowney-Errill)
25 – Jordan Walshe (Clough-Ballacolla)
26 – Seamus Fitzpatrick (

Christ but there's an awful rawness about some of them lads.
I hope they do well.
Post by: Laois man on January 07, 2023, 09:43:24 AM
They have to start somewhere at least they committed to the panel which it tough going fair play to them and best of luck tomorrow.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 07, 2023, 11:37:24 AM
I can see both points above, and there are some guys in that should have been in before now.
There are also guys that you wouldn't be certain will be start with their clubs.

The set up sounds positive.
Post by: redsetanta on January 07, 2023, 03:54:31 PM
Intersting starting positions for some there. Will be interesting to see how it goes.
Great to see Willie Dunphy committing again. If ever there was a lad who could stay away it would be Willie with his injuries etc.
He's certainly a role model for others. 
Post by: burdizzo on January 08, 2023, 04:15:32 PM
Encouraging work out, albeit against a weak-ish Wexford (or so I assume, only got a brief glimpse of the programme). Of the 'new boys', Mossy Keyes was the most impressive, although Martin Phelan did OK at full-forward in the first half, and Padraig Dunne was good in the full-back line. Actually, the whole full-back line was good today. Not so sure about Purcell at centre-back. I assume Podge Dunne is in line to come back in? James Keyes is probably our most skilful hurler at this stage - always a good first touch. Jack Kelly played very well, too. James Dugggan was nervous on the frees, but scored a couple from play. Still, not an amazing debut. Great save from Rowland at the end after Chin had set up a certain goal chance.

Fine day, good crowd, and nice to see most of the subs getting on. And a win - what more do we want? Oh, a lad that can catch a high ball in the air, maybe?!

Oh yeah - tackling was lot better today, too.
Post by: LaoisAbu20 on January 08, 2023, 07:03:43 PM
Very encouraging start for the lads today. The full back line really put in a great performance today. Nice to see some new faces getting a run out and some familiar faces lining out in different positions. Mossy Keyes was a delight to watch. Great to see such a crowd in Mountrath.

Still plenty of room for improvement, in particular our half back line needs work, too much space and an unwillingness to mark up puts immense pressure on the full back line. Thought the forwards could work a bit harder in winning back position but hopefully they will work on this in training.

Even though it's the Walsh cup, I'd be interested to see how we get on next week against Kilkenny.
Post by: mcwregor on January 08, 2023, 08:03:07 PM
Marked improvement on anything I saw last year. Most of our lads played today have seen action before. Very few played badly today even the subs that came in the majority of them contributed positively. Mossy is a real class act. When duggan gets a decent ball in he is dangerous. Thought paddy purcell got through a mountain of work, backs in general were solid enough.
The main gripe I would have today is giving the opposition soft short puckouts. Numerous wexford scores came from their own puckout from working the ball to a shooting position, it was far too easy at times. Some were hit 50 60 metres uncontested. Others went to full back who strolled out hand passed to Wing back and he went on the attack. Needs to be looked at.
All in all it was a good outing.
Post by: Laois man on January 08, 2023, 08:45:49 PM
Good win good crowd great to have games back on. Keyes very good Full backine good. Half back line Paddy done a lot of hurling but his man was wexford man of the match maybe try Mullaney in the forwards as he was very good there with his club. Martin Phelan done well on his first fame. A few lads to come back. All looks positive.
Post by: Zooming around on January 09, 2023, 08:48:59 AM
Quote from: Laois man on January 08, 2023, 08:45:49 PM
Good win good crowd great to have games back on. Keyes very good Full backine good. Half back line Paddy done a lot of hurling but his man was wexford man of the match maybe try Mullaney in the forwards as he was very good there with his club. Martin Phelan done well on his first fame. A few lads to come back. All looks positive.

I'd go with Ryan centre back and push Paddy Purcell back up the field
Post by: Laois man on January 09, 2023, 09:01:41 AM
Agree also Podge Delaney could fill in at number 6.
Post by: redsetanta on January 09, 2023, 12:10:01 PM
A win is a win and nothing brings confidence like winning.

A season opener or not it's not often we get the better of the likes of Wexford these days so fair play.

Maher is a good manager and if he can have a similar affect to Eddie Brennan then we will hopefully have a good year.

Post by: Giovanni on January 09, 2023, 01:58:46 PM
What I liked was the energy levels and workrate of everyone on the field. This hasn't always been there but it seems to be back.

Tactically, there are probably lots of things still to do but if everyone's head is in the right place, that will come. The experiment of playing Paddy Purcell at centre back was an interesting one. Happy to see these things being tried out.

Pleasure to be in Mountrath for a game like this.
Post by: Zooming around on January 09, 2023, 03:02:29 PM
Where is the match next Sunday?
Post by: clonadmad on January 09, 2023, 03:11:25 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on January 09, 2023, 03:02:29 PM
Where is the match next Sunday?

Rathdowney
Post by: Laois man on January 09, 2023, 03:11:54 PM
Rathdowney
Post by: redsetanta on January 09, 2023, 05:09:27 PM
https://www.midlands103.com/news/sports/hard-work-is-the-walsh-cup-objective-for-laois/?fbclid=IwAR1UmsvqGV553uAlnPlyL35yT3oEB9jhqkUQOXZeTN55Yn5PyUiAJ2pdS8Y (https://www.midlands103.com/news/sports/hard-work-is-the-walsh-cup-objective-for-laois/?fbclid=IwAR1UmsvqGV553uAlnPlyL35yT3oEB9jhqkUQOXZeTN55Yn5PyUiAJ2pdS8Y)

Short post match interview with Maher from Sunday.
Post by: G@@ on January 14, 2023, 05:46:21 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FmYojaAWAAAz__g?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: redsetanta on January 16, 2023, 09:55:14 AM
Decent run out against the Cats in fairness.

Good score to put up against them.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 16, 2023, 12:55:44 PM
Laois hurled well for 25 minutes. Then shot a few bad wides which allowed Kilkenny to open a gap.

Kilkenny upped the physicality and we backed off them alot in the second half which allowed them to do whatever they wanted.

Still, plenty of positives.
Post by: Laois man on January 22, 2023, 06:47:39 PM
Shocking second half today 8 up at htime need a full back bigtime should have won that game by 10 points.
Post by: LaoisAbu20 on January 22, 2023, 07:11:20 PM
Good few lessons to take away from today's game. We started off sluggish but gradually got into the game and by half time it was ours to lose. Once offaly got the red card we didn't know what to do with the spare man, this has been a problem for us in the past. The two goals offaly got came from lack of communication in the back line. Unfortunately, Mullaney didn't seem at ease at full back and Dunne seemed to miss read a good few situations today. Thought Podge Delaney did well at centre back and that the two yellows he received were ridiculous. To be honest thought the ref lost the run of himself after the red card and there were several questionable decisions. However our discipline slipped and that's something we've got to improve on. Thought Phelan was great and worked tirelessly in the forwards. We need to get better with our shooting decisions and pass it to the man in the best position as opposed to just going for pot shots.

We have this awful habit of turning in on ourselves when the going gets tough. Instead the lads need to get it together and play cohesively. Thought Corby did well and covered a lot of ground. Duggan did well but should have backed himself for that goal chance in the second half. We still let the sliotar out too easy from the forwards and I hope that they work on this in training. In saying that I still think that the half back line is not right and leaves a lot of room for errors. Missed the likes of Fiachra fennell today as he actually tracks back. Would prefer to see Hartnett manning the backs as he seems to be able to get the lads to communicate and keep some sort of formation. Definitely need to work on breaking the ball better in the backs and working it out the line at a faster pace.

Today was definitely an eye opener, we slipped back into some bad habits instead of pushing on and punishing Offaly, we were the ones that got punished. Still positive in comparison to this time last year. Hopefully the lads will tackle these issues head on and be prepared for Tipperary.
Post by: redsetanta on January 23, 2023, 11:03:44 AM
All things considered it was a good run out,

Maher will learn more from the defeat that a big victory. He got a good look at players under pressure and he has used a lot of lads over the 3 games.

Hopefully we don't get any big beatings in the league and take some form into the Joe McDonagh. That's the time to be beating Offaly.
Post by: mcwregor on January 24, 2023, 01:58:34 PM
1st round of league v Tipp

Enda Rowland
Donnacha Hartnett
Podge Delaney
Fiachra C Fennell
Paddy Purcell
Ryan Mullanney
Jack Kelly
James Keyes
Aaron Dunphy
Mossy Keyes
Willie Dunphy
Stephen Maher
Roddy King
Martin Phelan
James Duggan

Thoughts?
Tipp training is supposedly ferocious and are very fit. They are putting huge emphasis on tackling and even swarm tackling. We will need to be sharp to have any chance.
They are also going for goals with half a chance so we need to be wary of that. I dont think they are actually that good so if we can stay with them for as long as we can and hope for the best. Cant afford anymore second half capitulations.
Post by: Laois man on January 24, 2023, 03:22:54 PM
Will picky start? I believe hes only back training a short while. Good to find 3 newcomers in Mossy Duggan and Martin Phelan.
Post by: redsetanta on January 26, 2023, 05:29:26 PM
Great to see Willie Dunphy being named captain. Always gives 100% for Laois.
Post by: G@@ on January 26, 2023, 07:03:54 PM
(https://scontent-dus1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/326001787_1752173201844226_1387693574817841035_n.jpg?stp=cp6_dst-jpg_s720x720&_nc_cat=105&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=-le5gJLcDhcAX9cmv5k&tn=IbNIt_K73v5hieP-&_nc_ht=scontent-dus1-1.xx&oh=00_AfB6aek5m79jd2xgYDsiBEB3Y_HLDLekpFH9ZwWqQdeGwg&oe=63D7E8DA)

Christ on a bike €18 to get into Semple at 5pm on Saturday.
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 26, 2023, 07:41:40 PM
Jaysus ..very steep for a one off match
Post by: Laois man on January 26, 2023, 08:10:51 PM
So for myself and my 2 student sons it's 48 euro no thanks Radio 3 will do instead.
Post by: redsetanta on February 03, 2023, 12:02:45 PM
What do you think of the starting team for tomorrow against Tipp?

Paddy Purcell on the bench. Is he carrying a knock?
Post by: Giovanni on February 03, 2023, 04:56:54 PM
Good team and a very strong bench. If lads can put in a big shift for 50 minutes the oncoming subs won't weaken the team in any way. I'd be very happy with that. I'd be happier to see Podge in the half back line but I can understand why he's back there. Looking forward to it.
Post by: burdizzo on February 03, 2023, 06:37:42 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 03, 2023, 12:02:45 PM

Heard he was on holidays?
Post by: G@@ on February 03, 2023, 08:16:12 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 03, 2023, 06:37:42 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 03, 2023, 12:02:45 PM

Heard he was on holidays?
Maybe he was and is just back - a well deserved one if he was and I hope the county board gave him a few bob too.
Post by: Laois man on February 03, 2023, 09:59:37 PM
Nice to see a few new faces starting. Martin Phelan and Duggan had a good walsh Cup run.
Post by: on the hop on February 05, 2023, 08:01:12 PM
with westmeath getting a trimming as well today and antrim trying hard but ultimately failing at home, this league already is a farce. they would be nearly better reverting back to the old system of 8 teams in each division, at least teams could play teams at there own level without getting trimmed in every game.
Post by: burdizzo on February 05, 2023, 08:02:44 PM
Agree completely. But I think it's set up that way so the big teams need never worry about being relegated.
Post by: Spiritof86 on February 05, 2023, 08:26:37 PM
What's even more bewildering is chatting to Laois folk in the Thurles last night and believing we could get one over Tipp !!
Absolute rubbish . Does anyone actually know what's going on behind the scenes in Laois Gaa ? Complete farce . Our players deserve better .
Post by: Giovanni on February 06, 2023, 10:28:13 AM
Don't know what's going on behind the scenes but I don't think that affected the outcome of the game on Saturday night. The level of athleticism in that Tipperary team was just incredible. I was one of those who thought we'd give them a game, thinking that Tipp were in transition. I don't know whether they can improve their conditioning further but if they can and sharpen their shooting a bit, they must be serious contenders for the All Ireland this year. Our lads actually didn't play too badly but the task was just too much this time. For us, I thought Rowlands puckouts were really excellent, Podge, Jack Kelly and Hartnett were good in the backs. The two Keyes did well and PJ Scully had some good moments but otherwise the forwards were completely choked.
Post by: County Man on February 11, 2023, 10:24:30 AM
Laois v Waterford will be live today on tg4 at 5pm.
Post by: LaoisAbu20 on February 11, 2023, 11:12:48 AM
Quote from: County Man on February 11, 2023, 10:24:30 AM
Laois v Waterford will be live today on tg4 at 5pm.

Looks like Waterford are using all their big guns today with Gleeson on the bench. Our lads are in for a tough day but I'm hoping that they can improve upon last week's performance. From what I've heard there's some interestingly changes at play. The half back line still seems to be the root of our problems, it's great that the lads want to play in an attacking style but they don't track back or mark their players enough. In the first half of last week's match against Tipp, one of Tipps half forwards had 36 possessions in the first half, that's insane and shows that it's not worth one of our half backs getting a decent point if his player is going to have free roam to shoot at will.

I'm hoping the forwards give Rowland more options and space  for the puck outs as it was difficult for him last weekend. Hope Murt Phelan gets a chance to build back up his confidence and I am looking forward to seeing someone else stepping up and taking the frees.Looking forward to seeing how our full back line holds up against the likes of Hutchinson.

Post by: Keyser Söze on February 11, 2023, 11:16:16 AM
The half back line issue mentioned above is 100% spot on.

It has crept in over last few years.

Extra men back so 5-7 should attack in possession.
Okay in theory.
In reality, nobody accepts responsibility for 10-12.
They go to town.
Some of the match reports over the last 2 years that laud those playing 5-7 for getting a few points are totally misguided.
It's the kind of stuff that Mr B Cody would spot & call out in 5 minutes.

Nail on the head LaoisAbu
Post by: mcwregor on February 11, 2023, 09:27:16 PM
"Laois played well for 50 mins"
"We'll take the learnings and improve"
"We are working towards something"

Different management, same thing we have to listen to. Its almost like we are happy with how we are going, its acceptable.
For me, its pathetic. We are actually gradually getting worse every year. The gap is widening all the time.
I dont blame the players or management. They are lambs to the slaughter, someone to blame in an utterly shambolic set up from top to bottom.

Post by: LaoisAbu20 on February 11, 2023, 09:59:54 PM
Quote from: mcwregor on February 11, 2023, 09:27:16 PM
"Laois played well for 50 mins"
"We'll take the learnings and improve"
"We are working towards something"

Different management, same thing we have to listen to. Its almost like we are happy with how we are going, its acceptable.
For me, its pathetic. We are actually gradually getting worse every year. The gap is widening all the time.
I dont blame the players or management. They are lambs to the slaughter, someone to blame in an utterly shambolic set up from top to bottom.

Would have to strongly disagree. Change doesn't happen overnight, especially after years of under funding and under development and especially in a County where hurling is treated as a secondary interest of the county board. As highlighted by other posts on this forum, the development of hurling at underage and within the schools has been severely neglected. Whilst, the last two years in particular showed a significant regression in Laois senior inter county hurling. It's understandable to be frustrated, to question whether it's worth it for us to play against top tier teams. But even after some of the worst beatings we have ever had , if you asked the lads on the team would they prefer to play at a lower level the answer would be no. Our lads want to play against the best, it might not be pretty but they need to play against the best to improve. It's difficult to watch at the best of times but it's what it takes to improve.

I've seen the dedication it takes to play at senior level, the gym sessions, the winter slog, the journeys from college to training. Staying off the drink, eating right and committing yourself, knowing that at best you'll be contesting to stay up. The commitment these lads put in is unreal. We have the luxury of giving our opinions on this forum but the lads actually do the work. All I know is the lads are in a better headspace then they were under the last management, new faces are getting a chance and there's commitment to the new management.

Take this evening for example. Ryan Mullaney was repurposed as a centre forward and cleaned up. The half back line was tidied up and the lads started to pull together more as a team. There were plenty of mistakes and we definitely need a game plan for when we have an extra man and a game plan for when we are down to 14 men. To be honest we could do with a tactician. Either way there an improvement. Going forward we can build on this and lads can overcome their need to play as individuals and play as a cohesive unit.
Post by: burdizzo on February 11, 2023, 10:18:00 PM
Yeah, mcgwregor's assessment is a bit harsh. Ultimately, Laois were beaten by 12 points tonight, but it was a harsh reflection for the work they put it. I must say, I think this set-up is better than previous years. Lads who opted out are back, and are getting their chances. It's hard to be too upbeat after such a defeat, but I'd be reasonably confident they'd avoid relegation this year. Not a high bar, I know, but I think they were steeped to avoid it in the league last year. We do need a few big lads, though. Waterford made a lot of ours look very small.
Post by: mcwregor on February 11, 2023, 10:52:52 PM
Maybe I didnt explain myself very well. I dont blame the players or management. Its a bigger picture issue I was trying to get at.
Post by: Kidder81 on February 11, 2023, 11:11:44 PM
Quote from: mcwregor on February 11, 2023, 10:52:52 PM
Maybe I didnt explain myself very well. I dont blame the players or management. Its a bigger picture issue I was trying to get at.

Laois have the same problem the next tier of teams (Antrim, Westmeath) Lightyears behind the big teams, and while we are improving when it comes to conditioning and putting underage structures in place the established counties aren't sitting still either.

No quick fix or easy answers
Post by: Lost soul 2 on February 12, 2023, 07:58:14 PM
Good 50 mins,mullaney did great up front,would love see Aaron dunphy inside for bit,could do with a worker around the middle,two lads nice wristy hurlers but missing bit of toughness.bad mix up with second goal which was a killer,fitness a bit off too but building quietly.least management trying out different options.more positives than negatives
Post by: G@@ on February 12, 2023, 10:48:15 PM
Quote from: Lost soul 2 on February 12, 2023, 07:58:14 PM
Good 50 mins,mullaney did great up front,would love see Aaron dunphy inside for bit,could do with a worker around the middle,two lads nice wristy hurlers but missing bit of toughness.bad mix up with second goal which was a killer,fitness a bit off too but building quietly.least management trying out different options.more positives than negatives
Have to agree with alot of this - come post-Easter alot of folks won't be reminiscing about the league which really is a tournament to build up newcomers to any team.
Fair enough, it gets serious enough at the semis, but nobody will be loosing sleep over it come May.
Last night we lived with Waterford for long stretches, but everything collapsed post 55mins in. 
Post by: Laois man on February 13, 2023, 09:36:49 AM
Good 55.mins but to be fair we are probably 9th or 10thbest team in the country both teams we have played so far in the league have think they can win the the All ireland. We won't meet teams like that in the Joe Mcdonagh which is our level. But looking at the 2 games so far our fitness is very poor can we get much fitter before the Joe Mcdonagh? Mullaney is a forward he showed that with his club. We can win the Joe Mcdonagh but I fear kildare will cause a few shocks in it.
Post by: Laois Rising on February 13, 2023, 12:02:38 PM
In some ways I am happy with what I saw on Saturday. Laois have serious ambitions of winning the Joe McDonagh and progressing to have a crack off of top tier team in the preliminary quarter final. With both Antrim and Westmeath in the championship proper we would definitely be the highest ranked team in the Joe McDonagh. Therefore, I am happy to see Laois were competitive for 55 minutes against Waterford. It was an improvement on the week before. Also have watched Tipp blow Kilkenny away with another fast start in Nowlan Park at the weekend it would suggest that Tipp are much further down the line with where they are at in comparison to a lot of other counties at the moment. It's all about timing and if Laois continue to progress and the fitness and physicality develop week on week, we should be in good stead come start of the championship. No point, peaking for a league that we are never going to win and then go stale come championship time. From listening to couple of players involved they seem happy with set up and how things are progressing. If they players are happy then I think we as supporters should be happy. After last couple of years we need some positivity.

In relation to Mullaney I think we should stick with him at centre forward. He was probaly the stand out club player in Laois last year. He will cause problems for any of the Joe mcDonagh defences. I would like to see our players 5-9 set more in stone. While flexibility is great, I do think we now need to give them a run of games in a set position. By doing that, identify to each player specifically what their roles are and what is expected of them and let them work on that over a number of games. Changing positions week on week doesn't help with embedding in what the management might want of them exactly.

There should be a big promotional push by Laois GAA to get supporters into O'Moore Park for a local derby with Kilkenny in two weeks time. It is our last home league fixture. Teams and players feed off of energy and having that support come out in two weeks time and hopefully the players put in a performance could help the team continue on an upward trajectory.
Post by: Giovanni on February 13, 2023, 02:44:05 PM
I would also be happy enough with the showing against Waterford (although we probably shouldn't underestimate the importance of the extra man, which Laois used very well). I also thought that the ref was poor. Waterford were given at least 6-8 frees that he wasn't giving to Laois - the Waterford full-back line were persistently fouling all game and they were allowed to get away with it.

Still, I think it has to be said that the defence was opened up quite easily in the second half so that might need some work. I would also say that some of the forwards need to work harder (which would also help the defence). The big name players in particular need to provide a better example for the younger ones coming through.

Was glad to see Martin Phelan getting more into it as the match went on. He had a poor night in Tipp and didn't start well here either. But, fair play to him, he got into the game quite well after the first 20-35 minutes and really made every possession count. Good to see that attitude in the squad.
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 13, 2023, 06:45:19 PM
One thing that bugs me big time.

I heard W Maher interviewed.

"Waterford are 6 or 7 years further down the road when it comes to S&C"....

How can this actually be?

Laois set ups for the past 5 or 6 years haven't been low budget.

Post by: mcwregor on February 13, 2023, 08:34:06 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on February 13, 2023, 06:45:19 PM

That has been my point all along. We are hearing the same things from different managers for years. Are waterford really further down the line in their development, they are but they shouldn't be? Its not like laois are all u20, majority of them are around 5/6 years others are their longer. We will be competitive with the joe mc teams probably forever but after that we will never be any better than that unless we go back to the drawing board and start putting plans in place for 15 years down the road.This is exactly what offaly are doing.
Post by: High Fielder on February 13, 2023, 09:02:15 PM
Top teams don't have lads coming in for a year, going away for a year, and then coming back in. You can't develop anything with such s stop start approach, different coaches regularly and every other type of shit show that we either inherit, buy or borrow. We're a mess. In both codes.
Post by: Laois man on February 13, 2023, 09:20:47 PM
I hear some of our GDAs are leaving there coaching roles within the county board aswell.
Post by: Blow-in on February 13, 2023, 09:33:40 PM
Quote from: Laois man on February 13, 2023, 09:20:47 PM
I hear some of our GDAs are leaving there coaching roles within the county board aswell.

All leaving bar one. Games Manager heading out the door it seems also. And no coaching officer either
Post by: Laois man on February 13, 2023, 10:30:08 PM
So who over sees the coaches that are in the clubs through the County board? County board needs to have a look at themselves.
Post by: burdizzo on February 13, 2023, 10:55:22 PM
Not everything that goes wrong is necessarily the fault of the county board. Are they supposed to let these boys write their own terms and conditions?
Post by: clonadmad on February 14, 2023, 12:04:44 AM
Quote from: mcwregor on February 13, 2023, 08:34:06 PM

That has been my point all along. We are hearing the same things from different managers for years. Are waterford really further down the line in their development, they are but they shouldn't be? Its not like laois are all u20, majority of them are around 5/6 years others are their longer. We will be competitive with the joe mc teams probably forever but after that we will never be any better than that unless we go back to the drawing board and start putting plans in place for 15 years down the road.This is exactly what offaly are doing.

Offaly aren't planning for 15 years down the road

They are planning for now with the sponsorship they have brought in

They are planning for now with last years minors to transition to the u20 squad and beyond

They are planning for now with the schools to feed into the development squads using linkages between the clubs and schools coaching

They are planning for now with clubs coaches constantly getting up skilled

They are planning for now with giving every schools hurler (and footballer)in the county the opportunity if they are good enough to play Leinster Schools A level hurling (and football)

They are planning for now with giving hurlers in "football" clubs  the necessary coaching to play for Offaly teams and vice versa

We have had no shortage of plans in Laois and nothing to show for it

Post by: Laois man on February 14, 2023, 08:29:11 AM
Burdizzo so who over sees the coaches now in the clubs with these GDAS going? Clubs are paying big money for these Coaches which is to be over seeing by the games manager but it looks likes now we haven't got one.
Post by: High Fielder on February 14, 2023, 01:44:48 PM
How much do these GDA's get paid?
Post by: Spiritof86 on February 14, 2023, 05:02:37 PM
GAA Development Manager salaries can range from €44,782-€48,000
Post by: clonadmad on February 14, 2023, 05:24:51 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on February 14, 2023, 05:02:37 PM
GAA Development Manager salaries can range from €44,782-€48,000

€34k is the maximum rate a GDA can be on

Game's manager gets about 40k

Size of county also dictates salary. Tipperary games manager is on €60k
offaly games manager is on around €42-45k
Post by: High Fielder on February 14, 2023, 05:41:15 PM
34k gets you nowhere these days. If that's the max, it's no wonder they're walking away
Post by: LaoisAbu20 on February 15, 2023, 07:04:12 AM

Willie Maher is spot on though. We are years behind other counties when it comes to strength and conditioning, nutrition and sports psychology. Most of the lads in their mid twenties on the panel had no S&C when they were minors or when they were playing under 21 hurling. From Eamonn Kelly's time there was no proper S&C but rather half hazard generic programs for the lads. The nutritionist was giving some seriously questionable advice. Eddie Brennan tried to improve upon this but got a lot of push back from the County board over costs. In Cheddar's time they had a good fitness coach in year 1 but he disappeared in year 2. The S&C program seems too have been dropped in year 2 as well. Couple all the above with lads dropping off the panel and coming back in and also new faces joining the panel every year, it no wonder we are miles behind. So we may not like to hear it but it's true that this contribute to our poor performances.
Also heard Lennons back on the panel.
Post by: High Fielder on February 15, 2023, 09:56:25 AM
So attempts have been made to improve things and costs were an issue. Our GDAs are getting paid poorly and for whatever reason are walking away. Don't we have an 800k surplus?
Post by: Laoisred on February 15, 2023, 11:36:54 AM
Eamon Kelly put decent structures in place around S & C, Nutrition, Team Doctor, Rehab Physio, occasional sessions with a sports psychologist and so on. In winter 2017 to spring 2018 they put in a serious block of S & C and only for it probably would not have stayed in 1B. From what I know it was new to most of the panel at the time. I'm not sure it is fair to say that a professional gave questionable advice. The S & C / Nutritionist (at least the one that finished the season in 2018) is very well qualified and well thought of in Leinster/National GAA circles.  Brennan definitely built on this the following year. The fellas that have stayed on the panel throughout (and true some of these are the best players) have seen the benefit. The problem as has been eluded to is the guys that hurl at that level every other year. Its almost impossible to make the gains necessary to compete at the top level if you don't stay at it. Consistency is the key.
Post by: Laois man on February 15, 2023, 01:55:03 PM
Any list of club transfers within laois up any where?
Post by: Spiritof86 on February 15, 2023, 02:42:07 PM
Good to hear Lennon back involved . Strength in depth particularly important at Joe McDonagh level and he's a quality hurler.
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 15, 2023, 09:56:42 PM
Fair points above.

The CB may need to employ two people full time to work with the adult hurling & adult football teams.
No matter who comes in- this is your head S&C guy.

Post by: Zooming around on February 27, 2023, 09:13:45 AM
Another big beating yesterday. The second half was better but the first half was very poor. In reality there was miles between the two teams. In fairness though, these games are great preparation for the McDonagh Cup.
Post by: burdizzo on February 27, 2023, 10:57:45 AM
The first half was embarrassing. Kilkenny did as they liked, and the whole atmosphere was very flat. Phelan took his goal nicely at the start of the second after a good run by Purcell. Would have been nice if Mossy Keyes hadn't missed his chance! Ryan Mullaney is starting to look like our most important player. It'll be a real coup if we can beat Antrim in Belfast.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 27, 2023, 03:54:41 PM
Some strange team selections but lots of lads getting game time. Team doesn't look at all settled. Can see us putting our strongest 15 out in Belfast though. Important match.

GAA need to do something about the league structures though. Need to find a way to get the second tier teams (us, Offaly, WH, Antrim, Kerry, Down, Kildare, Carlow) playing each other with the carrot of playing a couple of matches against top opposition for the winners / runners up. Don't buy into the current nonsense of week-in and week-out beatings. Don't know of any other sport where it happens.
Post by: burdizzo on February 27, 2023, 04:43:27 PM
I know, it's crazy. No one wants to get relegated, but the alternative isn't much better. If they can't do the divisions of 8 due to time constraints, why not have Div. 1A and 1B according to merit. As it used to be. That way you'd have ourselves, Antrim, Westmeath, Dublin, Wexford, and probably Clare (?) in 1B. Would be more competitive, all round.
Post by: clonadmad on February 27, 2023, 05:13:43 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 27, 2023, 04:43:27 PM
I know, it's crazy. No one wants to get relegated, but the alternative isn't much better. If they can't do the divisions of 8 due to time constraints, why not have Div. 1A and 1B according to merit. As it used to be. That way you'd have ourselves, Antrim, Westmeath, Dublin, Wexford, and probably Clare (?) in 1B. Would be more competitive, all round.

We had that a few years ago with the likes of Limerick Clare and Galway in division 2 one year with 2 going up

It was an ultra competitive league In Division 1 and 2 was a battle amongst 3/4 teams to make the top 2 promotion places

The "weaker" counties including ourselves kicked up and wanted more game time against the bigger counties

Which is the League we have now
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on February 27, 2023, 10:14:20 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on February 27, 2023, 05:13:43 PM

We had that a few years ago with the likes of Limerick Clare and Galway in division 2 one year with 2 going up

It was an ultra competitive league In Division 1 and 2 was a battle amongst 3/4 teams to make the top 2 promotion places

The "weaker" counties including ourselves kicked up and wanted more game time against the bigger counties

Sorry but this statement is completely incorrect. The weaker counties did NOT get the league revamped. Even if they wanted to they wouldn't have the clout to do so.

Stronger counties (Cork among them) protested after 1 or 2 counties(Galway and Limerick) won the All Ireland from Div 1b. They claimed playing in 1B was an advantage as it allowed teams to develop their panel without any threat of relegation but playing in 1A teams had to go flat out to avoid relegation.

It was a complete sham of an argument because if 1B was such an advantage why not play your fringe players and get relegated to the more advantageous division?!

A very quick search and this article discusses this very thing.
https://www.the42.ie/hurling-league-format-5703579-Mar2022/

The GAA bought it and we are left with this farce of a league. Westmeath are in a worse position than we are. The GAA have ZERO care about spreading hurling.

ZERO

We must pull ourselves up.
Post by: clonadmad on February 28, 2023, 08:18:31 AM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on February 27, 2023, 10:14:20 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on February 27, 2023, 05:13:43 PM

Sorry but this statement is completely incorrect. The weaker counties did NOT get the league revamped. Even if they wanted to they wouldn't have the clout to do so.

Stronger counties (Cork among them) protested after 1 or 2 counties(Galway and Limerick) won the All Ireland from Div 1b. They claimed playing in 1B was an advantage as it allowed teams to develop their panel without any threat of relegation but playing in 1A teams had to go flat out to avoid relegation.

It was a complete sham of an argument because if 1B was such an advantage why not play your fringe players and get relegated to the more advantageous division?!

A very quick search and this article discusses this very thing.
https://www.the42.ie/hurling-league-format-5703579-Mar2022/

The GAA bought it and we are left with this farce of a league. Westmeath are in a worse position than we are. The GAA have ZERO care about spreading hurling.

ZERO

We must pull ourselves up.

Incorrect

The league was redrawn by the CCCC

All the counties concerned made submissions including the so called weaker counties who wanted the format changed too

Post by: Blow-in on February 28, 2023, 09:49:58 PM
A trend among Willie Maher interviews always draws back to 'lack of S and C over the years'.

So what has been happening in S and C among the senior hurling panel in this time? Since his appointment he says S and C among the group is at a ground level and will take years upon years to reach the standard of the big counties.

I find this statement very worrying.
Post by: Unlaoised on March 02, 2023, 01:10:43 AM
Quote from: Batman!!! on February 28, 2023, 09:49:58 PM
A trend among Willie Maher interviews always draws back to 'lack of S and C over the years'.

So what has been happening in S and C among the senior hurling panel in this time? Since his appointment he says S and C among the group is at a ground level and will take years upon years to reach the standard of the big counties.

I find this statement very worrying.

I think it's a mask to hide behind in saying we are miles and miles behind the bigger teams .

I think we will get roasted in Belfast too
Post by: Keyser Söze on March 02, 2023, 07:02:38 AM

Exact point I was making a few weeks back.
It doesn't stack up.

Granted, as someone pointed out, players coming & going affects this badly.

Should Laois GAA employ 1/1.5/2 full time S&C experts and take this out of the hands of management teams?
Would bring consistency, player familiarity & would remove a barrier/excuse going forward.
Post by: Jd on March 02, 2023, 10:51:40 AM
 There are full-time s&c people in there. The underage setups all come through the system now and it is starting to show. The Minor footballers whom I see regularly are very well conditioned and compare very favourably against any teams they play. I heard a member of management say that 28 of the 33 have come through this system so I'm sure it's the way across the board. There's a bit of upheaval in there at the moment but I'm sure it'll be sorted by the new head of that dept
Post by: G@@ on March 02, 2023, 10:34:59 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on March 02, 2023, 01:10:43 AM
I think we will get roasted in Belfast too

Last two games away. Antrim on 12th March and Dublin on 19th March.
Antrim have been reasonably competitive this league campaign:
Antrim 0-15 V 1-18 Kilkenny compared to Laois 1-18 V 0-34 Kilkenny
Antrim 2-19 V 0-28 Dublin (Laois have yet to play Dublin, but could we keep it to three points?) Laois 0-18 V 2-32 Tipperary
Antrim 0-17 V 1-22 Waterford compared to Laois 2-19 V 2-31 Waterford

(Home teams bolded)

Antrim have scored 2 Goals and 51pts, conceded 2 Goals and 68pts
Laois have scored 3 Goals and 55pts, conceded 4 Goals and 97pts

While we are slightly better on scoring fronts, we're shipping thirty plus points and often when the opposition floats over points so easily, a goal or two comes with that.

We have to win more in the air and keep tighter to the opposition. Antrim are fairly physical and Belfast is an unforgiving ground for visitors.
Post by: Laois man on March 02, 2023, 10:37:58 PM
Can't be standing 6 foot off players like we did again kkenny.
Post by: burdizzo on March 03, 2023, 12:18:46 AM
Funny, one of the things I thought about the first Walsh Cup game against Wexford was that the tackling had improved. Where did that go?!
Post by: Laois man on March 10, 2023, 07:28:06 PM
Hopefully we can get a win in Antrim Sunday won't be easy up there.
Post by: clonadmad on March 10, 2023, 08:56:21 PM
Quote from: Laois man on March 10, 2023, 07:28:06 PM
Hopefully we can get a win in Antrim Sunday won't be easy up there.

it will be some result if we do, based on their games v Kilkenny and Waterford
Post by: Spiritof86 on March 11, 2023, 11:44:41 AM
It's on GAAGO for those who can't make it to Belfast .
Post by: clonadmad on March 11, 2023, 02:18:36 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on March 11, 2023, 11:44:41 AM

BBC iplayer also
Post by: Spiritof86 on March 11, 2023, 03:13:23 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on March 11, 2023, 02:18:36 PM

BBC iplayer also

Maybe I'm incorrect but I thought BBC iplayer was only available in Northern Ireland and mainland U.K. as we don't pay the licence fee .
Post by: clonadmad on March 11, 2023, 05:58:37 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on March 11, 2023, 03:13:23 PM

BBC iplayer also

Maybe I'm incorrect but I thought BBC iplayer was only available in Northern Ireland and mainland U.K. as we don't pay the licence fee .

If you use a ViPN and  set it to a UK location

You can access the iPlayer
Post by: Spiritof86 on March 11, 2023, 06:02:33 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on March 11, 2023, 05:58:37 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on March 11, 2023, 03:13:23 PM

BBC iplayer also

If you use a ViPN and  set it to a UK location

You can access the iPlayer

Of course , fantastic.
Thank you 👍
Post by: Mad Mentor on March 12, 2023, 11:48:44 AM
Best of luck to the lads.
Are there any free reliable vpns?
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on March 12, 2023, 01:31:05 PM
Laois playing 1 of their most important games of the year in Belfast. GAAGO commentators dull as dish water so turn on Midlands 103...

...who are playing Bryan Adams 'Please Forgive Me'.

You constantly put 90s music ahead of our hurlers and footballers. You ignore us, you are short with us, you give us lip service but we know you don't really care about the things that are important to us. We are finished. I cannot forgive you.  :'(
Post by: burdizzo on March 12, 2023, 01:45:18 PM
Just looking at it on GAAGo. Good first half from Laois, but very, very disappointing to concede that goal before half time. Antrim look more of a goal threat than we do, so it's teed them up nicely for the second half with the wind.
Post by: G@@ on March 12, 2023, 01:51:07 PM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on March 12, 2023, 11:48:44 AM
Best of luck to the lads.
Are there any free reliable vpns?

Using Urban VPN: https://www.urban-vpn.com and its perfect.

The play button appears on this page after connecting to a UK server: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/northern-ireland/64864955
Post by: G@@ on March 12, 2023, 02:40:11 PM
Lost by two goals. Antrim alot more physical.
Post by: Kidder81 on March 12, 2023, 02:55:44 PM
Quote from: G@@ on March 12, 2023, 02:40:11 PM
Lost by two goals. Antrim alot more physical.

Laois very good in first 25 mins but seemed to run out of gas and just not as slick in second half. Goals keep Antrim in it in first half
Post by: The PRO on March 12, 2023, 04:07:52 PM
Goal just before HT was a killer. McManus far too strong for Fonzie for it.
Thought Shanahan was decent. Aaron Dunphy too. Jack Kelly probably our best player though.
All focus must be on Westmeath game now. Dublin game is basically a challenge match.
Post by: The PRO on March 12, 2023, 04:09:57 PM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on March 12, 2023, 01:31:05 PM
Laois playing 1 of their most important games of the year in Belfast. GAAGO commentators dull as dish water so turn on Midlands 103...

...who are playing Bryan Adams 'Please Forgive Me'.

You constantly put 90s music ahead of our hurlers and footballers. You ignore us, you are short with us, you give us lip service but we know you don't really care about the things that are important to us. We are finished. I cannot forgive you.  :'(
Just on that, and I've been a critic of Midlands 103 many a time, they had a dedicated Twitter stream of live commentary from the game. Pat O'Sullivan and Enda Lyons. I just couldn't manage to sync it with GAA Go.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 12, 2023, 05:28:40 PM
Very poor performance in second half. Didn't think Antrim were great but we were very poor. Found it very hard to win a ball and when we did we either couldn't execute or got turned over. A lot of players not cutting it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 12, 2023, 06:40:13 PM
Conditions were atrocious for both teams,  to score as much as they did was a testament to their skills.. I was worried when Laois started so well with that wind and they took full advantage, but yes those goals we got made huge difference to the score line at halftime.

Game wasn't won and Laois battled hard and unlucky in some occasions

They'll beat Westmeath if that's who they play

Purcell us quality along with Keys
Post by: burdizzo on March 12, 2023, 06:48:48 PM
In fairness, MR2, you're right about Purcell and Keyes. Not so sure we'd have the beating of Westmeath, however.

Though McManus took his goal well, I thought O'Connell was caught badly for that one, and I'm not sure he's the best fit for a full-back. But we are short on options there. We need a few more lads like Mullaney, hah! I did think taking him off was a bit odd. I know he wasn't having a great game, but taking him off, and bringing on a light lad soon after, made little sense in those conditions.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on March 12, 2023, 09:15:49 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on March 12, 2023, 06:48:48 PM

Though McManus took his goal well, I thought O'Connell was caught badly for that one, and I'm not sure he's the best fit for a full-back.

We need a few more lads like Mullaney, hah! I did think taking him off was a bit odd. I know he wasn't having a great game, but taking him off, and bringing on a light lad soon after, made little sense in those conditions.

On first point I think we generally felt O'Connell was under pressure at FB and McManus did get the goal and contributed otherwise also. However I thought LOC battled well and actually did OK especially considering I don't think he's been at FB too often before for club or county.

2. I agree. Mullaney could have been used in at 14 as a target man. When he was gone only Purcell and Podge had physical size to dominate. It was a day for bigger players.

On the topic of big men. We could do with Eanna Lyons back on field. What is his story?
Post by: Zooming around on March 13, 2023, 11:49:45 AM
Quote from: SpeculativeEffort on March 12, 2023, 09:15:49 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on March 12, 2023, 06:48:48 PM

Though McManus took his goal well, I thought O'Connell was caught badly for that one, and I'm not sure he's the best fit for a full-back.

We need a few more lads like Mullaney, hah! I did think taking him off was a bit odd. I know he wasn't having a great game, but taking him off, and bringing on a light lad soon after, made little sense in those conditions.

On first point I think we generally felt O'Connell was under pressure at FB and McManus did get the goal and contributed otherwise also. However I thought LOC battled well and actually did OK especially considering I don't think he's been at FB too often before for club or county.

2. I agree. Mullaney could have been used in at 14 as a target man. When he was gone only Purcell and Podge had physical size to dominate. It was a day for bigger players.

On the topic of big men. We could do with Eanna Lyons back on field. What is his story?

I think we need to put Mullaney back to centre back and get Patrick Purcell back up to at least midfield or a deep lying wing forward. The Dublin match is a non event and to be honest our whole year is about the Joe McDonagh. The Westmeath match will be important but a win in that will only be useful if we win the McDonagh. Spend the time between now and the Joe Mc getting Willie Dunphy, Roddy, Scully etc really sharp and we'll have the most dangerous set of forwards in the competition.

1. E Rowland
2. D Hartnett
3. P Delaney
4. I Shanahan
5. J Kelly
6. R Mullaney
7. FC Fennell
8. A Corby
9. P Purcell
10 A Dunphy
11 W Dunphy
12 S Maher
13 T Keyes
14 R King
15 PJ Scully
Post by: Laois man on March 13, 2023, 02:46:34 PM
No Martin Phelan is the starting team? Have you being at any of the games this year? Most hard working affective forward we have.
Post by: burdizzo on March 13, 2023, 04:28:55 PM
Quote from: Laois man on March 13, 2023, 02:46:34 PM
No Martin Phelan is the starting team? Have you being at any of the games this year? Most hard working affective forward we have.

I agree. I'd have him there before Scully.
Post by: Zooming around on March 13, 2023, 04:55:21 PM
I've been at them all bar yesterday (including Walsh Cup).

A hard trier alright but limited. He might start.

I just offered my opinion, that's all.
Post by: Laois man on March 13, 2023, 06:25:42 PM
I have being at them all aswell and if we have 6 forwards better than him we will win the Joe Mcdonagh cup but we haven't nice forwards won't always work in the heat of battle come Cship.
Post by: mcwregor on March 13, 2023, 09:45:01 PM
Whats the story with Roddy. Didnt get a run yesterday. I know his form is poor but surely worth 10 minutes unless he's injured?
Id go with
Rowland
Hartnell
P Delaney
Shanahan
J Kelly
P Purcell
FC Fennell
J Keyes
A Corby
P Maher
R Mullaney
R King
A Dunphy
M Phelan
M Keyes
Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 15, 2023, 12:38:14 PM
Would tend to agree with that team mcwregor. Would like to see it more settled by now. Scully was flying a couple of years ago and has a bit of pace so possibly we would play him in the corner and push Aaron Dunphy out to the wing where he gets alot of his scores from. I like the look of Phelan but he is not a tried and tested entity in fast summer hurling. Adds strength though which we are badly missing.
Post by: Zooming around on March 15, 2023, 12:52:41 PM
We could all probably name 13 of the starting team now. A couple of spots up for grabs
Post by: Spiritof86 on March 21, 2023, 01:42:38 PM
So it's Westmeath in Thurles on Saturday. This is going to be tough .
Would it be fair to say that start of Willie Mahers regime has been a little underwhelming? Would many of the hurling lads closer to the scene agree with that ?
Post by: Laois man on March 21, 2023, 02:44:50 PM
Apart from maybe Antrim we were never going to beat any other team in the league. Wille Maher mangerment will be basic on beating westmeath sat and going well in the Joe Mcdonagh that's our standard like it or not. And if kildare. Offaly or kerry go up to div 1 next year they haven't a hope of winning any games either.
Post by: burdizzo on March 21, 2023, 03:02:48 PM
But it is underwhelming - opening win in the Walsh Cup aside. When Brennan was there we should have beaten the Dubs in the league, and did beat them in the championship. We lost heavily last year to Westmeath in championship, so this is a bit of a litmus test on Saturday. They're not primed as well as Brennan had them. Remember the relegation play-off against them in OMP two years ago? We were steeped to get away that day - a dodgy sending off doing helping us on our way, too!
Post by: Laois man on March 21, 2023, 03:24:26 PM
Eddie is long gone no point going on what he done or didn't do fair enough we beat Dublin which was a great day and played well again Tipp in Croke Park. But don't forget we got some hidings aswell under Eddie. Speaking to lads now training is going well and there very happy with Maher and big Dan who takes alot of the training sessions. We are years behind the big boys in terms of S and C so we have a lot of catching up to do.
Post by: Spiritof86 on March 21, 2023, 04:04:35 PM
In fairness I Don't think he is going on about ED in a fanciful sense . Just making a couple of points about a previous regime when we were definitely more competitive.

Wasn't at the last two matches but there is definitely a sense he hasn't yet cracked the positioning of a lot of players . Paddy Purcell for example has played in 6 different positions this season and Mullaney 5 amongst others .
It's definitely work in progress and the players generally seem to be on board .
The thing I've took from the league is we lack a bit of physicality over the pitch .
Post by: burdizzo on March 21, 2023, 04:22:23 PM
Quote from: Laois man on March 21, 2023, 03:24:26 PM
Eddie is long gone no point going on what he done or didn't do fair enough we beat Dublin which was a great day and played well again Tipp in Croke Park. But don't forget we got some hidings aswell under Eddie. Speaking to lads now training is going well and there very happy with Maher and big Dan who takes alot of the training sessions. We are years behind the big boys in terms of S and C so we have a lot of catching up to do.

I also heard that the training isn't quite at the same level or intensity as it was under Brennan. Yes, it's true, Brennan is long gone - but a good few of these players were there under him, and they seemed to operating on a higher plane a few years ago. Just saying that we are capable of a bit more. Saturday will tell a lot.
Post by: marty34 on March 21, 2023, 05:07:47 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on March 21, 2023, 04:22:23 PM
Quote from: Laois man on March 21, 2023, 03:24:26 PM

I also heard that the training isn't quite at the same level or intensity as it was under Brennan. Yes, it's true, Brennan is long gone - but a good few of these players were there under him, and they seemed to operating on a higher plane a few years ago. Just saying that we are capable of a bit more. Saturday will tell a lot.

I wonder how the training is better?

Is it better coaching or what?

Post by: SpeculativeEffort on March 21, 2023, 06:04:43 PM
2pm on Saturday in Thurles for a relegation game vs Westmeath

Who sets these fixtures?

Almost every Div2, 3 etc game along with all Joe McDonagh games seem to be on Saturdays around midday.

WHY? HOW DOES THIS PROMOTE HURLING IN THESE COUNTIES?
Post by: burdizzo on March 21, 2023, 06:12:32 PM
And the minors on midday in O'Moore Park. Impossible to get to both - even if anyone was so inclined.
Post by: Spiritof86 on March 22, 2023, 12:12:31 PM
Laois have the players, but they don't have the athletes.

That's what their manager Willie Maher is saying after seeing the O'Moore County finish their Division 1B campaign with five defeats from five games.

From Midlands  Radio 3 .
Post by: Laois man on March 23, 2023, 03:17:36 PM
Big game sat v westmeath I think we will win it. Any update on Scully or King are they back fit? Stephen Bergin must be near a starting place got 3 good points last Sunday.
Post by: burdizzo on March 23, 2023, 10:02:30 PM
I assume Mossy Keyes is injured?
Post by: Ogie on March 23, 2023, 10:21:22 PM
When does the Ballinakill fan club stop getting its way with this team ?!
Post by: Home Boys Home on March 24, 2023, 10:13:24 AM
Jury is very much out on this management set up. I don't see much evidence of any particular game plan so far, hopefully it will come together soon. Very worrying last weekend looking at 40-50 yards of space in front of our full back line while our wing backs chased the Dublin lads around the field and went 30 minutes or more without touching the ball.  Badly need someone like Niall Corcoran and Tommy Fitzgerald involved.

Some strange selection decisions too, both on starting team and subs. Some lads have hardly been given a chance, Colm Stapleton , James Duggan, Fionan Mahony Jordan Walsh Ciaran Byrne spring to mind. Stephen Bergin only got a look in for the first time last week in a dead rubber, was our best forward and then taken off ! Maybe they are not showing enough in training, but when you see the team and subs you wonder.

The constant referring to our lads lack of conditioning is starting to smack of excuses, there may be some truth to it but once is enough to say it to the media. With a small pick it is going to be harder to have a panel who both have the athletic and hurling qualities. The loss of physical lads like Sean Downey, Cha and Lee Cleere hasn't helped. I assume since Willie has placed such a big emphasis on this he has put in place a system to rectify the situation, and all players now have individually tailored  S&C programs with set targets and a system of accountability ?   

I can see a few retirements at the end of this year and I am not sure Div 1 is the place for what would be a young team looking to rebuild.

Post by: burdizzo on March 24, 2023, 11:03:40 AM
Could just be a dummy team, either.
Post by: marty34 on March 24, 2023, 05:39:35 PM
Quote from: Home Boys Home on March 24, 2023, 10:13:24 AM
Jury is very much out on this management set up. I don't see much evidence of any particular game plan so far, hopefully it will come together soon. Very worrying last weekend looking at 40-50 yards of space in front of our full back line while our wing backs chased the Dublin lads around the field and went 30 minutes or more without touching the ball.  Badly need someone like Niall Corcoran and Tommy Fitzgerald involved.

Some strange selection decisions too, both on starting team and subs. Some lads have hardly been given a chance, Colm Stapleton , James Duggan, Fionan Mahony Jordan Walsh Ciaran Byrne spring to mind. Stephen Bergin only got a look in for the first time last week in a dead rubber, was our best forward and then taken off ! Maybe they are not showing enough in training, but when you see the team and subs you wonder.

The constant referring to our lads lack of conditioning is starting to smack of excuses, there may be some truth to it but once is enough to say it to the media. With a small pick it is going to be harder to have a panel who both have the athletic and hurling qualities. The loss of physical lads like Sean Downey, Cha and Lee Cleere hasn't helped. I assume since Willie has placed such a big emphasis on this he has put in place a system to rectify the situation, and all players now have individually tailored  S&C programs with set targets and a system of accountability ?   

I can see a few retirements at the end of this year and I am not sure Div 1 is the place for what would be a young team looking to rebuild.

What's a game plan?

All teams now play like Limerick.

Short puck outs, work through the lines then score.

Post by: LaoisAbu20 on March 25, 2023, 04:10:15 PM
God that was hard to watch. Some awful decisions made by players throughout the match, waiting till the last 5 minutes to go for goals, taking pot shots instead of securing scores and just a half hazard work rate. Westmeath have really surpassed us in regards to working the ball through the lines, work rate. and passing the ball to the player in the best position and creating space. I did think the referee made some questionable  decisions but the games was there for us to take.

Definitely agree that it's hard to have a game plan in the modern game but at thé same time you would think we could have had someone man marking Doyle. Again as I've said before, the half back line is a weak link for us, and it looked like Westmeath did their homework and exploited the cracks in our defence. I thought Podge Lawlor was out of his depth and that Liam senior should have been started instead. The same issue of our half backs roaming up the field to score creates a vacuum of space for Westmeath to take advantage of. Would really make you question the coaching of the backs

Westmeath were a good bit taller than most of our backs and yet we were trying to catch the ball instead of breaking the ball down. The two goals were shambolic, and showed just how far we've fallen behind,it also seems like the lads are struggling to read when to tackle and let the westmeath lads just run right in. Thought the full back line was sluggish today and I thought thar Rowland panicked with the puckouts after the goals went in. Don't understand why Jack Kelly comes back to take sidelines only to hit it where he's suppose to be whilst also creating a gap in the middle for westmeath to do as they like. Felt like Purcell ran out of steam within 10 minutes of the second half and perhaps should have been taken off.

I thought Phelan put in a good shift but doesn't get much support when he's on the run,with no one running off his shoulder or creating space. To be fair Ross King put in a good shift when he came on. Would have like to have seen some quicker substitutions. I'm beginning to question Willie Mahers judgement and tactical abilities. It felt like when the going got tough we just gave in, instead of breaking the play and regrouping to take on Westmeath. When the momentum was on our side Westmeath had no problem breaking the play. Again the game was there for us, but the individual nature of some players on our team meant that players went for scores that were not on instead of passing the ball to players in a better position and  securing the score. We just lack that ruthlessness to go for goals, like we should have punished westmeath in the first half when they were messing around with the ball in the backs. As the auld lad likes to say, goals win hurling matches. Definitely a hard day to be a Laois supporter.
Post by: burdizzo on March 25, 2023, 05:12:52 PM
Yeah, there were a couple of times goal were on, but lads went for their own score instead of passing it to a team mate - James Keyes' miss being the most glaring example. He did well enough, in fairness, but that was greedy on his part, and it wasn't the only time today, either. It's funny, though, I thought they were slightly the better team overall, but towards the end they looked like they were a bit 'leggy' and perhaps not fit enough. There was a period mid-way through the second half where they had a bit of momentum, but wasted a lot of chances. I just felt if they could get ahead, they might might kick on, but instead, as soon as they got level, Westmeath sucker-punched them w/ a goal, and that just drained them.

Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 25, 2023, 07:14:54 PM
Laois were dominant for large periods but couldn't make it count.

3-23 was the problem though. We need a strong and settled spine. Full back and centre back are big problems. Delaney and Shanahan are fine hurlers but not suited to those positions.
Post by: TheGiantSquid on March 26, 2023, 11:07:10 PM
Anyone want to talk about the blind favouritism it seems from one of the selectors towards his own clubmen? I surely can't be the only one to think this?
Post by: Laois man on March 27, 2023, 09:21:00 AM
A poor weekend on the hurling front minor well beating by a average kilkenny team we only got 2 points from play😭kilkenny hit 3.12 from play and were down to 14 men for a long time. We gave away a good few scores by short puckouts crazy shit you need a serious team to work the ball through the lines probably why are coaches making the game awkward for these chaps. How did hour senior allow Westmeath score 3.24.Jesus we got some lovely score especially in the first half forwards were moving well and our inside had the beating of them. Our backs gave away 2 shocking goals and our half back line gave away a lot of scores from play and lazy silly fouling. Massive game in 2 weeks v Offaly had for lads to stay going and getting beating every week. But we had lads starting on sat that are not up to that standard. Where is Colm Stapleton a hard working honest player getting no game time Ross was sharp when he came in. After playing 6 games we still have no full back and no half back line why? It's hurtful to go down but westmeath have another year now in div 1 getting beating every week. I could be wrong but laois are in div 1 9 or 10 years and how many games if any have they won? Croke Park may have a long at the league set up. Hopefully the Joe Mcdonagh cup will be good to us but there is a tough 6 weeks ahead.
Post by: Keyser Söze on April 03, 2023, 12:11:14 AM
I was researching something and came across this.

Prophetic.

We've had some stream of fellas giving interviews talking about how bad we are since!!

https://www.thefreelibrary.com/Hurling%3A+Butler+is+boss+in+Laois.-a095397261
Post by: Giovanni on April 03, 2023, 11:50:01 AM
It's true for you.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on April 03, 2023, 05:17:10 PM
We should have made Paudie Butler Director of Laois hurling when he was here. Put him in charge of upskilling coaches, Setanta/developments squads etc.
Post by: Laois man on April 04, 2023, 03:18:26 PM
Massive game sat in Tullamore a win would be a great start to the Joe Mcdonagh offaly are no world eaters but neither are we. Hard to know what team will start or who's fit here's hoping for a win. 🙏
Post by: Laois man on April 08, 2023, 10:10:27 AM
Wonder is game today all ticket? They were taking cash at U20 game in plaois Thursday night.
Post by: Spiritof86 on April 08, 2023, 10:50:10 AM
Yes all-ticket today . Just the stand open apparently.
Hard to know what to expect today. Offaly have the momentum behind and would imagine they'll be out of the blocks fast .
We really need the win today to kick start the year .
Post by: Laois man on April 08, 2023, 11:38:31 AM
Need a win big time. Wonder is that the 15 starting? No Mossy keyes or King?
Post by: Spiritof86 on April 08, 2023, 12:06:38 PM
Well don't think King has started all year so that's hardly a surprise.  Mossy Keyes is an interesting one . 5 sets of brothers on the Offaly panel today . 
Post by: Laois man on April 08, 2023, 12:23:41 PM
King was sharp when he came on again westmeath.
Post by: Giovanni on April 08, 2023, 01:16:55 PM
Quote from: Laois man on April 08, 2023, 10:10:27 AM
Wonder is game today all ticket? They were taking cash at U20 game in plaois Thursday night.

Gave up trying to buy a ticket on line after multiple attempts and insistence by Ticketmaster to change passwords. Centra or SuperValu would be fine if you could plan your time in advance. Just don't understand why they can't sell tickets at the ground. Anyway, I hope they do well.
Post by: G@@ on April 08, 2023, 06:28:18 PM
Goals win games and we couldn't take our chances in front of the net whereas Offaly could.
Post by: burdizzo on April 08, 2023, 06:35:22 PM
Quote from: G@@ on April 08, 2023, 06:28:18 PM
Goals win games and we couldn't take our chances in front of the net whereas Offaly could.

Same as against Westmeath.
Post by: Spiritof86 on April 08, 2023, 06:36:07 PM
Disappointing afternoon . There's something not quite right . We seem rudderless throughout parts of the match and this has been a common trait this year . Some of the decision making in the forwards was baffling .
Also there has to a question mark over our fitness . Clear to see that half way through the first half playing with the wind certain players were gasping .
Thought Fennell was very good at corner back and Mullaney also very decent .
Anyway onto Down next week .
Post by: Laois man on April 08, 2023, 06:43:16 PM
Disappointed result. Cahill got 2.04 from play and was fouled 3 times we new going over he was the danger man so why wasn't he man marked. Kelly Phelan and Bergin had a poor day but does things happen. Hard coming out of there after being beating. Confidents is low one win in 9 games. But what can we do beat down next week and hopefully push on our forwards had the pace on there backs but not a lot came to them in the second half.
Post by: Unlaoised on April 08, 2023, 09:09:17 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on April 08, 2023, 06:36:07 PM
Disappointing afternoon . There's something not quite right . We seem rudderless throughout parts of the match and this has been a common trait this year . Some of the decision making in the forwards was baffling .
Also there has to a question mark over our fitness . Clear to see that half way through the first half playing with the wind certain players were gasping .
Thought Fennell was very good at corner back and Mullaney also very decent .
Anyway onto Down next week .

I didn't think Fennell was great ???
The full back line was terrible esp Donnacha Hartnet he was beaten to most balls and fouled at least 4/5 times .

Not one of the backs were changed  despite conceding soft goals .

No plan to stop Cahill ?

Fitness terrible

Only Offalys poor mistakes and pickys accuracy kept us in touch.

Offaly were all over the place in the 1st half maybe due to good hunger from us but we should been further ahead .

When offaly upped the game 7/8 mins into the 2nd half we were gasping for air and the breaks in play were welcome for the laois players .

If I was a defender on that bench for a laois I'd be asking what I was named for ?

So dissapoointed to now be back below westmeath offaly and Antrim now .

Hopefully the footballers might lift our spirits again tomorrow.
Post by: G@@ on April 08, 2023, 09:54:33 PM
Agree with much of the above by @Unlaoised

We've been on a downward spiral since Eddie Brennan left. Looking back at that whole episode now and there should have been protests by every Laois Gael the time the CB gave him his marching orders.

I don't think our current manager has the cut for inter-county management. Too slow to make changes during the game and tactically quite poor.

I have an uneasy feeling that this JMD Cup campaign could be another 2018. I seriously hope to be eating my words in six weeks time.
Post by: LaoisAbu20 on April 08, 2023, 11:01:46 PM
Dissapointing afternoon alright. We got off to a good start but then fizzled in and out of the match. Thought the referee definitely gave offaly some easy frees and caved a bit to the home crowd. Was really dissapointed with our management's decision making, in particular the slow response to bringing on subs and instructing the lads to break the momentum when offaly were going for the jugular. The most dissapointing thing was the game was there for us to take and we couldn't grind it out and get over the line. It's sad to see how far we've fallen since we last played offaly in the Joe macdonagh. Overall our fitness, first touch and decision making let us down big time and I think today showed us that the Joe macdonagh is the level we're at.

Thought the full back line was sluggish and way of the mark. Fonsy is just not a full back and was out of his depth there today. Was at fault for all three goals and seemed to struggle to read the game. I thought he should have been taken off after the second goal as he didn't even try to tackle the player coming in on goal.

Hartnett definitely struggled today, looked like he was trying to cover the full back position whilst trailing his own man, you're always going to lose possession if you play from behind. Thought fennell did alright, especially when he ran with the ball.

The half back line was all over the place as well. Would really question the defensive coaching that goes on at training. Both Fonsy and Mullaney kept trying to catch the ball with little success today, instead of batting down the ball, most of these failed catches resulted in scores for offaly, it was frustrating to see it happen over and over again. Like Hartnett, Podge was way off the mark today and made some questionable decisions. Shanahan seemed adrift for most of the match, thought he played great in the previous matches because he had a defined role, looked like he wasn't picking up anyone to mark today and it didn't suit his style of play.

Was really dissapointed by James keyes and his unwillingness to give the ball to the player in the best position to score, we could have been in line to get two goals if he just let the ball off instead of going for his own score. Felt sorry for Phelan, he had a tough day of it and thought he should have been taken off earlier. Ross King put in a good shift again when he came on today and really pushed himself. Duggan did alright but definitely needed more support up front. Picky got some great scores but seemed fatigued in the second half. I thought Corby played a blinder today, put in some great tackles and showed a great work ethic, was puzzled by his substitution.

Again this team doesn't seem to have the fitness required for 70 minutes plus of hurling  and can't seem to get a complete performance together. If lads are struggling why aren't they being taken off? It seems like it takes the sideline ages to make a decision. Also, why aren't they instructing our lads to go down or use the contact lens trick to break the momentum, Offaly had no problem doing this to us. I'm actually beginning to doubt Mahers tactical ability and hope he'll prove me wrong but honestly I'm not sure at this rate
Post by: Laois man on April 09, 2023, 09:17:26 AM
Fennell marker got 2.04 from play.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on April 09, 2023, 01:11:51 PM
Quote from: Laois man on April 09, 2023, 09:17:26 AM
Fennell marker got 2.04 from play.

OK it wasn't his best day but a more committed, genuine player you will struggle to find. I have no doubt he will come back better again. Super attitude. We need more like him.
Post by: G@@ on April 16, 2023, 05:52:18 PM
Big win today and we could need that cushion of scoring difference yet.
Tough game V Carlow next week.
Post by: burdizzo on April 16, 2023, 05:56:13 PM
Played better today, but the fact he was allowed to basically solo the length of the pitch says more about Down that it does him! Still, they got a score out of it, so fair play.

Nice to be the ones dishing out a big score for a change. A big pity about Aron Dunphy's injury - and I assume Willie was hurt, as well?
Post by: Spiritof86 on April 16, 2023, 06:46:26 PM
Both Dunphys unlikely to feature against Carlow apparently. Great to see Lennon back in the Laois jersey . Down were the worst inter county senior team to play in OMP in a very long time .
Great to the get score difference up though .
Post by: burdizzo on April 22, 2023, 06:00:55 PM
As good as a loss, I'm afraid. Carlow-Offaly final, by the looks of things. I'd say we had a twenty minute spell in either half where we couldn't score. In fairness, it was some effort to stop Carlow going in front after the sending off - and to go three up subsequently - but we couldn't keep 'em out when they lobbed in that final free. Again, we had the better hurlers, but just couldn't make it count because we hadn't the strength.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on April 22, 2023, 06:20:04 PM
If Offaly win their last 2 and so do Laois do we not have a good chance on scoring difference?
Post by: burdizzo on April 22, 2023, 06:28:37 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on April 22, 2023, 06:20:04 PM
If Offaly win their last 2 and so do Laois do we not have a good chance on scoring difference?

Offaly's last game is against Carlow; if they beat Kerry they're already through and they won't care if they beat Carlow or not, whereas for Carlow it'll be a must-win game.
Post by: G@@ on April 22, 2023, 08:07:44 PM
Going on today's result we won't be worrying about a final. I really doubt we will even pick up a win in Tralee.
Post by: Laois Rising on April 23, 2023, 04:23:56 PM
Frustrating draw. Even if we win the remaining two games I wouldn't fancy our chances of getting to the final. I can see Offaly already qualified come the final round of games and throwing out a second string team against Carlow in the last game. They would probably take Carlow over Laois in the final and take great satisfaction from eliminating us. A wasted year. 
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 04, 2023, 10:33:24 PM
Another reschuffled team for Kildare. I have never seen a more unsettled setup as that in 2023. It's not as if it is working out...
Post by: Spiritof86 on May 05, 2023, 10:25:40 AM
Baffling that with two games left in the JMC that there is absolutely nothing settled about the starting 15 except the goalkeeping position .
Post by: burdizzo on May 05, 2023, 11:06:59 AM
Where's Liam O'Connell?
Post by: LaoisAbu20 on May 05, 2023, 05:30:35 PM
Fonsy is suspended along with Jackman and Dan Shanahan, apparently for giving abuse to match officials after the Carlow game.

Post by: burdizzo on May 05, 2023, 06:10:42 PM
Ouch.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on May 06, 2023, 01:23:28 PM
Stream or radio available for this one?
Post by: Spiritof86 on May 07, 2023, 03:14:32 PM
Offaly can effectively play a second string team against Carlow next week after todays results . They more than likely will particularly if they are playing Carlow in the final two weeks after that .
A wasted year for the our hurlers . I think yesterday against Kildare summed it all up and how something is amiss this year .
Post by: Laois man on May 08, 2023, 02:21:12 PM
Laois should be kerry but I can't see offaly going flat out to beat carlow hopefully I am wrong.
Post by: redsetanta on May 09, 2023, 11:50:36 AM
Offaly will want to win the game. Yes they might not play a full strength team but they will be out to win the game. Why would they want to lose against their potential final opponents?

A draw in that game would suit us provided we beat Kerry which won't be easy down there.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 09, 2023, 01:17:49 PM
Did anyone stop to think that Offaly might prefer to play us in the final than Carlow??? Not as if we have been scary to any opposition this year....
Post by: Laois man on May 09, 2023, 01:41:42 PM
Hope your right 👍
Post by: Laois Rising on May 09, 2023, 03:28:17 PM
If I was an Offaly player I would definitely rather play Carlow over Laois in the final. Little to separate Laois and Offaly in reality. Laois would be stronger than when the teams met in the first round as they have players who have returned or are returning from injury. Laois also have greater experience of playing in games like the Joe McDonagh Final  to Carlow and the occasion should faze them. A midlands derby with Laois holding the underdog role seeking revenge would not be one I's be picking as an Offaly hurler over facing a Carlow side who probably had the rub of the green in securing draws with both Kerry and Laois.
Post by: Spiritof86 on May 09, 2023, 10:04:37 PM
Shanahan and Jackman won't be on the line again this weekend after the hearing tonight . They were found to have breached Riail 7.2 (c), Category II (a), T.O. 2023, that is to say, "Abusive language towards a referee.

The Central Hearings Committee imposed the following penalty:

The pair were both handed a four weeks' suspension together with a one match suspension in the same code and at the same level, applicable to the next game in the combination of National League/Inter-County Senior Championship, even if that game occurs in the following year
Post by: Spiritof86 on May 12, 2023, 01:41:47 PM
Offaly make 12 make changes against Carlow Saturday . Had to be expected in fairness .
Post by: G@@ on May 12, 2023, 03:56:24 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on May 12, 2023, 01:41:47 PM
Offaly make 12 make changes against Carlow Saturday . Had to be expected in fairness .
Offaly are throwing the game?
Post by: G@@ on May 12, 2023, 03:58:58 PM
OFFALY: Eamonn Cleary; Conor Hardiman, Ben Conneely, James Nally; Dara Maher, Killian Sampson, Eoghan Parlon; Paddy Delaney, Jack Screeney; Liam Langton, Joey Keenaghan, Conor Langton; Cathal O'Meara, Shane Dooley, John Murphy.

Subs: Stephen Corcoran, Paddy Clancy, Eimhin Kelly, David King, David Nally, Jack Clancy, Jason Sampson, Ciaran Burke, Brian Duignan, Sam Bourke, Joe Hoctor
Post by: Helix. on May 13, 2023, 01:31:40 AM
Quote from: G@@ on May 12, 2023, 03:58:58 PM
OFFALY: Eamonn Cleary; Conor Hardiman, Ben Conneely, James Nally; Dara Maher, Killian Sampson, Eoghan Parlon; Paddy Delaney, Jack Screeney; Liam Langton, Joey Keenaghan, Conor Langton; Cathal O'Meara, Shane Dooley, John Murphy.

Subs: Stephen Corcoran, Paddy Clancy, Eimhin Kelly, David King, David Nally, Jack Clancy, Jason Sampson, Ciaran Burke, Brian Duignan, Sam Bourke, Joe Hoctor

Laois need to win their own game first. At least put them in with a chance of getting through. Never an easy task in Tralee.
Post by: G@@ on May 13, 2023, 07:38:18 PM
Good result in Tralee but as expected Offaly threw the Cullen Park game. Hope Carlow win it out over that.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 13, 2023, 10:03:36 PM
Pity we seem to have found a bit of form too late in the competition.

The poor second half against Offaly and poor last quarter against Carlow cost dearly.
Post by: burdizzo on May 13, 2023, 10:12:48 PM
The second quarter against Carlow wasn't too hot, either.

Carlow could easily beat Offaly. Offaly're playing a dangerous game. Here's hoping... But, on the other hand, didn't we play a bloodless draw w/ Westmeath the time we were to play them in the final?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 15, 2023, 12:34:15 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on May 13, 2023, 10:12:48 PM
The second quarter against Carlow wasn't too hot, either.

Carlow could easily beat Offaly. Offaly're playing a dangerous game. Here's hoping... But, on the other hand, didn't we play a bloodless draw w/ Westmeath the time we were to play them in the final?

We did. But both ourselves and WH had already qualified for that final at that time? We were very competitive in that match - and drew it.
Post by: Laois Rising on May 15, 2023, 04:19:02 PM
It's a pity Laois conceded that last minute penalty to Carlow. Shouldn't have lost that day and it looks like that the team has finally found its stride but to no avail because we have missed out on the final. Playing Offaly in the final would have been a great occasion. I think we are now probably that bit stronger than them as well now that different players have returned from injury and others like Ross King have found their rhythm. Such a missed opportunity. Beating Offaly and a home game then to follow with probably Dublin would have really given hurling in the county a lift which is badly needed. Maher was building to have the team peak for the "business end" of the season. We just sadly missed the boat on that through unfortunate circumstances and switching off in a game before it was won.
Post by: burdizzo on May 22, 2023, 07:55:42 AM
Even more of a pity now, seeing as it's a big possibility Wexford will be in McDonagh next year, and all. Honestly, the Leinster championship has become like a slow-horse race, compared to the Munster one!
Post by: Laois Rising on May 22, 2023, 11:00:25 AM
Wexford might benefit from a year in the Joe McDonagh and building some momentum winning games on a consistent basis. However, it makes our challenge of getting back into the Leinster championship all the more harder if they do end up in the Joe McDonagh next year. I'm still so frustrated that we have made a complete rocks of this year's Joe McDonagh- Laois are a level above Carlow and Kerry and, despite the renewed optimism in Offaly hurling, I still think we are better than them when at full strength. A Laois Offaly final could have been a wonderful advertisement for the Joe McDonagh. Instead, we will probably see Offaly win comfortably and poor Carlow sent like lambs to the slaughter to play either Cork or Limerick in a premlinary quarter final.   
Post by: marty34 on May 22, 2023, 12:12:36 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on May 22, 2023, 11:00:25 AM
Wexford might benefit from a year in the Joe McDonagh and building some momentum winning games on a consistent basis. However, it makes our challenge of getting back into the Leinster championship all the more harder if they do end up in the Joe McDonagh next year. I'm still so frustrated that we have made a complete rocks of this year's Joe McDonagh- Laois are a level above Carlow and Kerry and, despite the renewed optimism in Offaly hurling, I still think we are better than them when at full strength. A Laois Offaly final could have been a wonderful advertisement for the Joe McDonagh. Instead, we will probably see Offaly win comfortably and poor Carlow sent like lambs to the slaughter to play either Cork or Limerick in a premlinary quarter final.   

Laois are where they are.  No point saying we're better than Kerry or Carlow etc.

Sense of entitlement must be huge in Laois.

You are where you are for a reason.  No ifs or buts!
Post by: Giovanni on May 27, 2023, 11:07:23 PM
Delighted for Carlow. Well deserved on the day.
Post by: smcder on May 27, 2023, 11:37:05 PM
thought carlow left it behind when it went to extra time, great ending, great final two points
Post by: redsetanta on May 31, 2023, 02:30:14 PM
Really exciting game to watch and to see what it meant to the Carlow people.

As Marty Kavanagh said it was their All Ireland.

A game against the Dubs now and they should give it a right go.

You have to feel though that we left this one behind with that draw against Carlow. No doubts Carlow were good and Offaly maybe underestimated them but we were playing well and that performance in Kerry showed that.

To have Dublin back in O'Moore Park would have been a great day again. But not to be.

Post by: burdizzo on May 31, 2023, 03:09:29 PM
On the plus side, Wexford didn't get demoted, and we should have Offaly at home next year. And Kerry. Not sure about Westmeath, but should have them at home, as well.
Post by: Zooming around on June 21, 2023, 09:45:18 AM
Is there any indication as to whether William Maher is staying on or not?
Post by: Joeythelips on June 21, 2023, 09:52:06 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on June 21, 2023, 09:45:18 AM
Is there any indication as to whether William Maher is staying on or not?

Whats the general opinion of this year? Just based on a results we seemed to have taken a dip. I watched the Joe McD final and was thinking surely Laois are better than both these sides?
Post by: Laois Rising on June 21, 2023, 11:08:13 AM
Laois were unlucky. They were coming good by the end of the Joe McDonagh and had they made the final I think they would have been too strong for either Carlow and Offaly. Injuries and looking to peak later in the season backfired as Carlow grabbed a fortuitous last minute penalty to scupper Maher's plans. I hope everyone he had in this year stays on for next year. We will have a league campaign and Joe McDonagh where we should win more games than we will lose. Will be good for confidence and it will help integrate some of our u20s from the last year or two who have showed true potential into the side without shipping big beatings from likes of Tipperary or Kilkenny. It's not ideal to find ourselves in the position we are in but we could claim a league and Joe McDonagh title next year which would be positive for the squad's upward trajectory.       
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 22, 2023, 02:43:40 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on June 21, 2023, 11:08:13 AM
Laois were unlucky. They were coming good by the end of the Joe McDonagh and had they made the final I think they would have been too strong for either Carlow and Offaly. Injuries and looking to peak later in the season backfired as Carlow grabbed a fortuitous last minute penalty to scupper Maher's plans. I hope everyone he had in this year stays on for next year. We will have a league campaign and Joe McDonagh where we should win more games than we will lose. Will be good for confidence and it will help integrate some of our u20s from the last year or two who have showed true potential into the side without shipping big beatings from likes of Tipperary or Kilkenny. It's not ideal to find ourselves in the position we are in but we could claim a league and Joe McDonagh title next year which would be positive for the squad's upward trajectory.     

There was something up with our fitness / stamina this year. In far too many matches we were FAR the better side in the first half but seemed to die in the second half. Hopefully there is a learning there. We didn't seem to hit any form until the Kerry match when it was too late.
Post by: Zooming around on June 23, 2023, 04:33:47 PM
What's the story with the senior hurling league?  I read today that Abbeyleix have appealed. What happened?
Post by: Laois man on June 23, 2023, 11:08:19 PM
County board made at feck of it.
Post by: Zooming around on June 24, 2023, 09:18:52 AM
Quote from: Laois man on June 23, 2023, 11:08:19 PM
County board made at feck of it.

How?
Post by: Laois man on June 24, 2023, 11:02:34 AM
Rosenallis gave a walkover so that's score different gone. Borris beat Aleix as they taught to make the Sfinals as it went on a head to head which borris won. SO some mess up with the bye laws now by the county board which Aleix are appealing on. If Aleix win the appeal I hear Borris/kcotton are going further with it so might never be a league Sfinal or final played this year.
Post by: Laois man on July 15, 2023, 10:30:12 AM
Any views on the senior hurling club Cship starting next week. Camross after winning the div 1 league final look the form team.
Post by: finbar o tool on July 16, 2023, 02:20:18 PM
Anyone else think it's a bit bizarre having our senior hurling championship on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings?? Surely they could have planned for 2 x double headers, Saturday and Sunday.
Predictions are Camross, Rosenalis, Rathdowney errill and Abbeyleix to win first rounds. Although I expect all games to be tight, except for maybe the Camross game.
Post by: burdizzo on July 16, 2023, 08:37:26 PM
Possibly staggered partly because of lack of refs., but more so due to need to get senior games played before intermediate?
Post by: The PRO on July 16, 2023, 09:28:50 PM
The All-Ireland final is next Sunday so they want to leave it free of club games.
Post by: finbar o tool on July 16, 2023, 09:44:44 PM
Yea fair points I suppose! Hopefully it can be set up better for the 2nd round.
Post by: Laois man on July 16, 2023, 10:42:17 PM
Hopefully it will be a good Cship. Had to pick a winner and who will be go d to senior B. County board should do a 20euro pass for these 4 games. If not its 40 euro costly if your going to them all.
Post by: Galtee1 on July 19, 2023, 04:47:35 PM
Hard to look past Ballacolla or Rathdowney for the championship. The murmurs coming from Rathdowney are good and seem to be flying under new management. Seemingly played Thurles Sarsfields in a challenge and bet them by 8 or 9 points.
However, I think The Harps are dark horses this year, new management also and seem to be all rowing in behind the set up.
Post by: Sir Alex7 on July 19, 2023, 10:58:29 PM
It was ballacolla that beat thurles sarsfields.. Was played 2 or 3 days b4 de league final against camross
Post by: Galtee1 on July 19, 2023, 11:12:33 PM
I believe Rathdowney also played them.
Camross looked good tonight, 3:22 is fair shooting and left a good few scores behind them also.
Hard fathom how Mossy Keyes couldn't nail a starting place for Laois this year.
Post by: Zooming around on July 20, 2023, 11:26:12 AM
Will Dan Shanahan stay on with Laois now that he is part of Ken McGrath's backroom team with the Waterford U20s?
Post by: clonadsane on July 20, 2023, 11:59:28 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on July 20, 2023, 11:26:12 AM
Will Dan Shanahan stay on with Laois now that he is part of Ken McGrath's backroom team with the Waterford U20s?
I'm sure he'll stay on, he'll want his 241 car, can't be going around in an old model
Post by: clonadmad on July 20, 2023, 01:07:17 PM
Quote from: clonadsane on July 20, 2023, 11:59:28 AM
Quote from: Zooming around on July 20, 2023, 11:26:12 AM
I'm sure he'll stay on, he'll want his 241 car, can't be going around in an old model

He won't be staying on

Post by: Ogie on July 21, 2023, 08:01:50 AM
Camross looked sharp in first game but Castletown were very poor

Rathdowney Errill Clough Ballacolla never came to life after the heavy rain at start of game, both sets of forwards poor on the night apart from Ross King, who was the difference.

€10 in for each game, a page for a programme, no team / change announcements, no injury / extra time indicated by officials
Post by: Spiritof86 on July 21, 2023, 11:02:11 AM
Quote from: Ogie on July 21, 2023, 08:01:50 AM
Camross looked sharp in first game but Castletown were very poor

Rathdowney Errill Clough Ballacolla never came to life after the heavy rain at start of game, both sets of forwards poor on the night apart from Ross King, who was the difference.

€10 in for each game, a page for a programme, no team / change announcements, no injury / extra time indicated by officials

Rathdowney/E and C/B was fairly poor fare . Conditions didn't help but didn't feel like championship fare . King ultimately was the difference. The lack of announcements was peculiar. You might as well played that match in Abbeyleix or Mountrath if we are not making use of the facilities in OMP . Would have been more of an atmosphere anyway as that was pretty sterile last night .

Don't believe Shanahan will be back next year .
Post by: Laois man on July 21, 2023, 11:14:58 PM
Shocking poor games so far in the senior Cship. Borris /kcotton very poor tonight. Camross v Rdowney final what I have seeing so far.
Post by: Spiritof1915 on July 22, 2023, 10:22:22 AM
Unfortunately borris/kilcotton in decline and you'd have to fear for them in the coming years.
Definitely Rathdowney/Errill and camross the two standout teams so far. 
Great to see Mark kavanagh back and scoring trademark points.
Rosenallis to win this evening without The Harps two County men.
Post by: burdizzo on July 22, 2023, 11:41:30 AM
B/K definitely in decline; not winning a couple more seems to have really knocked the stuffing out of the club. C/B on the other hand have gone from strength to strength.

I assume Podge Delaney went back to America, then?

Post by: Spiritof1915 on July 22, 2023, 01:01:44 PM
He did seemingly with pauric dunne. Shame for them, their on the cusp of making a break through to the top tier but without those two it's a big ask for this year.
You can't blame young lads for travelling either but The Harps seem to have lost more than most down through the year's. 

Quote from: burdizzo on July 22, 2023, 11:41:30 AM
B/K definitely in decline; not winning a couple more seems to have really knocked the stuffing out of the club. C/B on the other hand have gone from strength to strength.

I assume Podge Delaney went back to America, then?