Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

whitegoodman

Still wouldn't explain why they would appeal the suspension if they issued an internal suspension.

What would it say about the sincerity of the apology and the internal suspension if they take their appeal to the Ulster council ?

Smurfy123

Appealing the suspension when they had already suspended him?
Kilcoo never suspended the lad and that's a fact.
The lad apologised unreservedly to the lad and the lads family for slagging of the young lads dead mum. The manager also attended that meeting and said he can't understand what got over the young lad and then now appealing it.
Terrible terrible work by the club
Appealing the suspension on what grounds may I ask?
Our lads will be ready for the sledging on Sunday. The sledging young Carr received in ye last game was meant to be disgraceful

champion1981

Quote from: whitegoodman on October 08, 2019, 08:23:15 PM
Still wouldn't explain why they would appeal the suspension if they issued an internal suspension.

What would it say about the sincerity of the apology and the internal suspension if they take their appeal to the Ulster council ?
think missing 2 county finals for an 18 year old is big enough suspension! From what I hear all deals are of the table after bridge went back on their word, lot of kilcoo folk not happy with the way CB handled it, they will get it thrown out in ulster,

terrifictommy

It's not in the referee report - That's what I'm told. County Board acted from a letter put in and handed a suspension. Kilcoo submitted their appeal at the last, I can only assume to hope the appeal did not take place before the final. This is plausible.

Kilcoo suspending their player and then lodging an appeal - Not plausible. It doesn't make sense. So any crap on here that they condemn the act do not match the action they have taken.

Either way, well done to the CB for swift action. Let's draw a line under this and move on.

Looking forward to Sunday, can we get it streamed again? Too cold to go out 🥶🥶

whitegoodman

Quote from: champion1981 on October 08, 2019, 08:43:42 PM

think missing 2 county finals for an 18 year old is big enough suspension! From what I hear all deals are of the table after bridge went back on their word, lot of kilcoo folk not happy with the way CB handled it, they will get it thrown out in ulster,

If they were appealing it on Sunday morning it was their intention to have the lad available for the game that day and not miss any final

champion1981

Quote from: whitegoodman on October 08, 2019, 08:54:03 PM

If they were appealing it on Sunday morning it was their intention to have the lad available for the game that day and not miss any final
yes as far as I've heard they were hoping to have him available last sunday  ,bridge handed letter into county board on Wednesday night/ Thursday morning, hence the appeal on sunday,  3 or 4 committee members from kilcoo tried to suspend the young buck ,but went about it totally the wrong way🤔, will kilcoo lift their game in replay? Missed first half of minor game, who was the burren man escorted from the field of play In last 5 mins? After trying to confront the referee?

Smurfy123

So Kilcoo suspended him for the final but we're hoping to win the appeal on Sunday for him to play?
Think we all know they did not suspend him
What were they appealing exactly? That the lad did not say it after openly admitting it?

champion1981

Smurfy he didn't admit to anything ,that came from bridge fella , if hes suspended from minors can he play for his seniors this weekend? He gets a run out for them doesn't he?

Smurfy123

Why did he attend the house of the young lad whose dead mother he apparently was sledging?

RadioGAAGAA

Quote from: terrifictommy on October 08, 2019, 08:46:25 PM
It's not in the referee report - That's what I'm told. County Board acted from a letter put in and handed a suspension.

Either way, well done to the CB for swift action.

Quote from: champion1981 on October 08, 2019, 09:30:24 PMbridge handed letter into county board on Wednesday night/ Thursday morning

Genuinely not sure how to feel about this.

Obviously, given what is clearly known in this case, the suspension is... justified.

But, it opens an awful can of worms for manipulation in the future.

Can any club now send a letter to the County Board and expect disciplinary procedures to be initiated off the back of it?
i usse an speelchekor

Smurfy123

I think you would find that a serious incident like that on a pitch to a juvenile has to be reported for safeguarding references. Why would the young fella go to the house if he didn't say it?

Last Caress

Quote from: champion1981 on October 08, 2019, 09:30:24 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on October 08, 2019, 08:54:03 PM

yes as far as I've heard they were hoping to have him available last sunday  ,bridge handed letter into county board on Wednesday night/ Thursday morning, hence the appeal on sunday,  3 or 4 committee members from kilcoo tried to suspend the young buck ,but went about it totally the wrong way🤔, will kilcoo lift their game in replay? Missed first half of minor game, who was the burren man escorted from the field of play In last 5 mins? After trying to confront the referee?
Sounds like a new headline. Care to expand?

yewtree

Issue was a non event , young player was badly injured and a bit of remonstrating with a referee ,basically a non story.

The antics and tackles of some of the opposition on Sunday don't belong in Gaelic. If we get a strong referee Burren will be minor champions.

We have been to several gaelic Feiles in the south and never once have encountered the level of nastiness that we get from East Down. In National League football travelling to Portadown and other places for youth football I never witness it.

County Board have to be applauded for their decisive actions and again have shown strong leadership. This sledging which seems to have become a habit in East Down has no place in GAA football.

I would be keen to see if someone could post a detailed list of East Down disciplinary issues this last year.

champion1981

Quote from: yewtree on October 08, 2019, 11:13:44 PM
Issue was a non event , young player was badly injured and a bit of remonstrating with a referee ,basically a non story.

The antics and tackles of some of the opposition on Sunday don't belong in Gaelic. If we get a strong referee Burren will be minor champions.

We have been to several gaelic Feiles in the south and never once have encountered the level of nastiness that we get from East Down. In National League football travelling to Portadown and other places for youth football I never witness it.

County Board have to be applauded for their decisive actions and again have shown strong leadership. This sledging which seems to have become a habit in East Down has no place in GAA football.

I would be keen to see if someone could post a detailed list of East Down disciplinary issues this last year.
yes yewtree as expected once a burren man was involved it's no big deal, and the young burren player that was stretchered of walked out of the changing rooms unaided ,🙈 embarrassed much,? You talk about discipline. Did your number 6 senior player and former county star get hit with a month ban for hitting an official? So sort out your own club before you worry about others

Is this the thought process then?

Wake up.
Take a dump.
Think up some shit
Find a way to include East Down among those shite thoughts.
Type it up.
Laugh at self for being so outrageous and witty.
Repeat.

——

This section of the board has been in decline for a decade. But you've made it terminal yewtree. Well done you.