comfortable match. And so it proved from the early stages as within a
minute Sarsfields should have opened a three point lead were it not
for a point blank save from Deaglan McArdle which prevented an early
goal. The Derrytrasna men required only a further minute however to
open their account with a lovely point. After three minutes, Eugene
Casey equalised matters showing great strength to resist the
Sarsfields defence while kicking a point. Returning county man Mal
Mackin put St Pat's in the lead soon after as Cullyhanna began to get
to grips with the strong breeze which they faced in the first half.
Sarsfields began to use the wind to their advantage in the middle
period of the half as their dominance at midfield resulted in two
points which put them into the lead. On 19 minutes a great defensive
catch by Stephen Reel instigated a Cullyhanna attack which resulted in
Kieran Hoey collecting a ball at pace before kicking a fine score. The
game then entered a scoreless spell before strong work down the
sideline by Ciaran O'Neill allowed Mal Mackin to pass the ball to
Pearse Casey who kicked a lovely score with his left foot to register
what will no doubt be his first of many points for the senior team. A
good Sarfields point followed before a late Shane McKeever pointed
free put his side into a half-time lead on a scoreline of St Patrick's
0-5 Sarsfield 0-4.

The conventional wisdom would have suggested that a Cullyhanna side
which led after facing a very difficult wind in the first half would
go on to register a comfortable victory however nothing was to come
easy in this second half as St Pat's struggled to use the advantage of
the breeze. It took seven minutes before Shane McKeever extended the
one point advantage, scoring a point from 40m under the severest
pressure. Nine minutes into the half Kieran Hoey laid a pass off to
Rory O'Neill who kicked a fine point and when a magnificent long range
free from Eugene put Cullyhanna four points in the lead, the game
looked over as a contest. However the final twenty minutes of the
match were to elapse without Cullyhanna troubling the scoreboard
further as the game almost slipped beyond their grasp. Indeed had the
Sarsfields' attackers not volleyed a ball over the bar when an overlap
had been created and the goal seemed at their mercy, the match could
well have been lost. In the end, a further Sarsfields pointed field
was the most the away side could muster as St Pat's held on for the
victory on a scoreline of St Patrick's 0-8 Sarsfields 0-6.

This was a far from classic encounter which will not live long in the
memory. The quality of football was severely hampered by an
unseasonably strong wind which dictated affairs to a large extent.
However the two points secured were most welcome and despite the
lengthy injury list, the 2011 season has commenced more positively
than either of the past two years. Certainly all those involved
deserve immense credit for the results which have been achieved. Best
on the day for Cullyhanna were probably Peter McKeever and Niall
McShane in defence, as well as Eugene Casey up front.

Starting XV: D McArdle; S O' Neill, S Reel, P McKeever; C O'Neill, N
McShane, C Nugent; E McArdle, P Casey (0-1); R O'Neill (0-1), E Casey
(0-2), A Mackin; K Hoey (0-1), S McKeever (0-2), M Mackin (0-1). Subs
Used: C McGlade, G McCooey

O'Hanlons bate Dromintee IIs.

Quote from: Orior on May 01, 2011, 09:21:44 PM

Barney's training regime has obviously worked wonders for the Poyntzpass men.

centrefield

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 01, 2011, 09:58:57 PM

not exactly dromintee have the chances however 12 2nd half wides i think did the damage as out lads couldnt get to grip witht he wind at all!! one that got away form us I feel!! beat by 4 in the end

winsamsoon

Quote from: Armaghgael on May 01, 2011, 06:33:27 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on May 01, 2011, 05:57:48 PM
Well deserved win for the Clans, IMO the scoreline actually flatters Granemore, nevertheless two more points on the board. 0-11 to 1-6 I think it ended.

Clans fully deserved their win.
The performance today was a joke no bite from the players at all. I know we were beat but the ref was an absolute clown clearly hadnt knowledge of any rules. On one occasion he give a free to the Clans when one of our players apparently dived

I thought the ref done well and in the latter stages actually favoured Granemore with a few soft scoring frees. The incident you refer to was clearly not a free however O'Connor did dive trying to buy a free so it deserved him right. But that was the first time i have ever seen a free given for that in gaelic :D. The pitch was also like the road but beggers can't be choosers and fair play to St Peter's for the loan
I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.

IVEDECIDED

Yes fair play to the flourbags for the use of their pitch, the lure of first division football was obviously too hard to turn down... ;D

I heard Gareth Swift and James Lavery got bad injury's yesterday...POR will be seething and still another few rounds of club football to go before he takes them away for a few months

winsamsoon

Heard also there was a lad seriously hurt in the keady game? anyone know anything about the incident?

Armagh CĂșchulainns

Quote from: winsamsoon on May 02, 2011, 02:54:13 PM
Heard also there was a lad seriously hurt in the keady game? anyone know anything about the incident?

Player in question took a shoulder to the neck/head area and was knocked out.
Ambulance called for and player taken away, no other news.
Fair play to both managements on agreeing to call a final whistle despite some game time still left.
Its all about the Hurling.

RealSpiritof98

taking the plunge tonight big man, any advice ;)

torres

Quote from: winsamsoon on May 02, 2011, 12:56:59 PM
Quote from: Armaghgael on May 01, 2011, 06:33:27 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on May 01, 2011, 05:57:48 PM
Well deserved win for the Clans, IMO the scoreline actually flatters Granemore, nevertheless two more points on the board. 0-11 to 1-6 I think it ended.

Clans fully deserved their win.
The performance today was a joke no bite from the players at all. I know we were beat but the ref was an absolute clown clearly hadnt knowledge of any rules. On one occasion he give a free to the Clans when one of our players apparently dived

I thought the ref done well and in the latter stages actually favoured Granemore with a few soft scoring frees. The incident you refer to was clearly not a free however O'Connor did dive trying to buy a free so it deserved him right. But that was the first time i have ever seen a free given for that in gaelic :D. The pitch was also like the road but beggers can't be choosers and fair play to St Peter's for the loan
catch a grip winsamsoon ,the ref was a one-sided clown . we did,nt deserve anything from the game on that performance but to accuse a player of diving is wrong i and most of the granemore followers could see the defender clearly clipped his heels when he was bearing down on goals ,  there were 2 pts in it at that stage why would he or anyone go down to buy a free when they have a chance of going for goal so late in the game . clann na gael deserved their victory so good luck to them .

winsamsoon

Trust me lad his heels weren't clipped no matter what u seen. I was 2 yards away from it and he actually jumped into the defender and then fell to the ground.

Quote from: centrefield on May 01, 2011, 10:14:30 PM

not exactly dromintee have the chances however 12 2nd half wides i think did the damage as out lads couldnt get to grip witht he wind at all!! one that got away form us I feel!! beat by 4 in the end

The ref was very good - dont know his name - he was anonymous yet in control.

Quote from: Orior on May 02, 2011, 09:11:53 PM
Quote from: centrefield on May 01, 2011, 10:14:30 PM

The ref was very good - dont know his name - he was anonymous yet in control.

Clearly!

BenDover

Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on May 02, 2011, 03:57:25 PM
taking the plunge tonight big man, any advice ;)

Fair play till ye!! Mini McClatchey - remember 50-50 no further any back chat just walk it another 10m