Time to Split Dublin

Started by Dont Matter, September 22, 2013, 05:28:16 PM

Is it right that Dublin got 7 million to implement a plan to dominate the GAA World?

Yes
42 (29%)
No
103 (71%)

Total Members Voted: 145

Johnnybegood

P.s if youz culchies really love your game you'll get out and start coaching kids and play your part in getting your county in order and rise to the level of standard Dublin have set rather than moaning about the other team being better on an Internet forum

Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 21, 2014, 08:50:03 AM
P.s if youz culchies really love your game you'll get out and start coaching kids and play your part in getting your county in order and rise to the level of standard Dublin have set rather than moaning about the other team being better on an Internet forum

Do you coach?

Johnnybegood

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 21, 2014, 09:10:23 AM

Do you coach?
ive been known to coach from time to time! And yourself?

Quote from: Syferus on July 21, 2014, 12:06:59 AM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on July 20, 2014, 10:22:15 PM
Haha. I have to say You Dont Matter, your persistent, but never mind 2, how about 4 teams, because the North-side would probably win AI and the south would come close. Love seeing haters jealous, enjoy watching the greatest footballing team of all time for the rest of the year You Dont Matter.

Roscommon won't be playing until January.
There you go again talking shite about Roscommon when it has nothing to do with the thread.
You're actually worse than the Nordies at this stage.

fair point.

however, Dublin have over 100 paid coaches in clubs? That is a huge issue
Our club wouldn't see a paid coach from one end of the year to the next.

Quote from: INDIANA on July 21, 2014, 07:44:40 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 21, 2014, 12:11:04 AM
A province which has 11 counties with a combined population of the other one is joke, and winning its championship is a joke if you are that ridiculous county.

Wouldn't matter what province we are in we'd have won the same.

As you would have had a population to pick from more than the rest of the teams in any other province put together, this doesn't refute my point.

You're entitled to rate your own pox of a championship as some sort of a standard for the game when in all reality the Ulsterchpionship lost it's lustre years ago.

The Ulster championship is a competititive, three quarters of the teams involved have won since 1990.

Don't lecture us about the standard if our provincial championship when your own one should be marketed to all young kids out there as how not to play the game.

Perhaps we would have a better standard if we gather half the population into one team who then played various bits of the rest. Such a team wouldn't have to bother with defensive tactics and it would be great, altogether.

I made a point and this is followed by a variety of people trying to divert the discussion to something else. I didn't say that Dublin were not a good team, I said they had an indefensibly large pick. Arguing about the entertainment value of Ulster football is mere diversion in response to this point.

Johnnybegood

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 21, 2014, 09:46:23 AM
fair point.

can you back up the coaching statistic you posted?

Only now you realised that! ;D

Quote from: laoislad on July 21, 2014, 09:40:49 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 21, 2014, 12:06:59 AM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on July 20, 2014, 10:22:15 PM
Haha. I have to say You Dont Matter, your persistent, but never mind 2, how about 4 teams, because the North-side would probably win AI and the south would come close. Love seeing haters jealous, enjoy watching the greatest footballing team of all time for the rest of the year You Dont Matter.

Roscommon won't be playing until January.
There you go again talking shite about Roscommon when it has nothing to do with the thread.
You're actually worse than the Nordies at this stage.

Quote from: armaghniac on July 21, 2014, 09:51:34 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 21, 2014, 12:11:04 AM
A province which has 11 counties with a combined population of the other one is joke, and winning its championship is a joke if you are that ridiculous county.

Wouldn't matter what province we are in we'd have won the same.

As you would have had a population to pick from more than the rest of the teams in any other province put together, this doesn't refute my point.

You're entitled to rate your own pox of a championship as some sort of a standard for the game when in all reality the Ulsterchpionship lost it's lustre years ago.

The Ulster championship is a competititive, three quarters of the teams involved have won since 1990.

Don't lecture us about the standard if our provincial championship when your own one should be marketed to all young kids out there as how not to play the game.

Perhaps we would have a better standard if we gather half the population into one team who then played various bits of the rest. Such a team wouldn't have to bother with defensive tactics and it would be great, altogether.

I made a point and this is followed by a variety of people trying to divert the discussion to something else. I didn't say that Dublin were not a good team, I said they had an indefensibly large pick. Arguing about the entertainment value of Ulster football is mere diversion in response to this point.
5/9 is not quite 3/4 .

Indeed it is not. However 7 Ulster counties have won since 1990, Donegal, Monaghan Tyrone and Armagh since 2000, Cavan in 1997, Down in 1991 and 1994 and Derry in 1993 and 1998.

7/9 is actually 77.77%, which is more than 3/4 according to Ulster maths.

Quote from: Syferus on July 21, 2014, 12:41:10 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 21, 2014, 12:39:11 AM
The Dublin team were described today as the best team in the history of the game and according to reports, there are lads coming along to supplement or replace any of the lads on the current team who are coming to the end of their tethers.
It looks like it's going to be virtual domination by Dublin. There's no way of competing on an equal basis due to the huge numbers playing.

And now half of the IC players in the country are qualified to play for Dublin thanks to Parnells >:(

The Parnells issue is almost the antithesis of the Dublin issue but there are potential parallels. Parnells are trying to bring in ready developed IC players to the detriment of their youth players. Those youth players will move elsewhere or drift away from playing to Parnells detriment.

Dublin are trying to develop IC players by putting time and resources into coaching at youth level. If this coaching is at club level rather than focused on development panels then it will get more people playing games.

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 21, 2014, 09:46:23 AM
fair point.

If you knew your facts which you clearly don't you'd know the clubs fork out at least 50 percent of the cost of the club coach. Some of them pay 100 percent if they want a particular coach. That's hard earned members cash by the way.

So come back with the facts the next time.

Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 21, 2014, 09:27:02 AM

Do you coach?

Yeah under 6 at the moment boys and girls. Have done under 16 Boys, Under 12 Girls and Under 14 Girls. Started ten years ago. Took a break  09 to 13 and back into it again. Break was needed! You can't get burned out and start to get  lazy and lose enthusiasm.

Johnnybegood

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 21, 2014, 01:34:26 PM
Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 21, 2014, 09:27:02 AM

Do you coach?

Yeah under 6 at the moment boys and girls. Have done under 16 Boys, Under 12 Girls and Under 14 Girls. Started ten years ago. Took a break  09 to 13 and back into it again. Break was needed! You can't get burned out and start to get  lazy and lose enthusiasm.
good work! More fellas like you around the country spreading the joy of playing Gaelic games to our young and the games will always be competitive Providing the county boards are run in a progressive and positive manner.

Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 21, 2014, 08:46:33 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 21, 2014, 01:38:24 AM
Have been saying it for a while now. This is not a phase Dublin are going through that will come to an end. This is complete dominance for a long long time. Look at the panel that won the Leinster title back in 2005, there are feck all players of that team left still playing with Dublin. New lads have been added each year. Look at the players added each year. Minor and Under 21 AI winners. Look at the set up. Look at the coaching. Look at the diets. Look at the constant home games (Home games from April on, when the business end of the football calendar kicks in.). Look at the set dressing room. Look at the set warm up area in Croker. Look at the Sponsorship. Look at the money from the GAA. Ah just look at the money. A Glasgow Celtic type team has been created and nurtured. The Big fish in what is a rapidly evolving small pool. The media are happy with it, it sells papers and TV (and radio) ads. The GAA are happy, the crowds are coming to watch. The Pundits are happy, nice exciting skillful football.  So where is the problem? What harm is it having a Big fish in a small pool? Maybe it's no harm? Might shake things up a bit and the likes of Kerry will learn a new way to become king pins again? Question: Celtic won the league in Scotland last year, who finished second? third? second last? Does anybody know or care? Do Celtic supporters care?
it really is scandalous that nine years since 2005 there are feck all Dublin players still on the panel from that year! How long is an inter county playing career ? Your own county spent a fortune in its senior team last year! I heard last night and I don't know how true it is that Dublin are not number one in the adult playing numbers table. Until the figures are put up of actual adult playing numbers the debate is a non entity!

My point is that most people are putting this current phase as short term. That there are a group of players here now and they will come and go and the next emerging county will take over. This will in-evidently happen with the present Mayo team in Connacht and beyond. But I don't see this happening in Dublins case, looking at underage success. The balance has clearly shifted by huge amounts. As you mentioned Mayo spend a huge amount on it's senior team and this creates it's own shift of power within the province. There is no level playing ground when it come to the GAA, that's life.