Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: WT4E on July 21, 2014, 04:01:15 PM

Title: Irish News
Post by: WT4E on July 21, 2014, 04:01:15 PM
How much is the Irish News?
Title: Re: Irish News
Post by: smort on July 21, 2014, 04:11:27 PM
70p
Post by: AQMP on July 21, 2014, 04:16:30 PM
Quote from: smort on July 21, 2014, 04:11:27 PM
70p

Or €1
Post by: Christmas Lights on July 21, 2014, 04:19:50 PM
Quote from: WT4E on July 21, 2014, 04:01:15 PM

Incredible thread from an incredible poster.
Keep up the good work
Post by: WT4E on July 21, 2014, 04:32:19 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on July 21, 2014, 04:19:50 PM

Keep up the good work

Thanks - Couldn't find it anywhere on the internet!  ;D
Post by: Under Lights on July 21, 2014, 09:09:38 PM
IN nothing but a red top rag imo.
Post by: BennyCake on July 21, 2014, 10:22:39 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on July 21, 2014, 09:09:38 PM

A what?
Post by: Orior on July 21, 2014, 10:23:09 PM
To be fair, they have kept it at 70p for a good number of years
Post by: WT4E on July 22, 2014, 04:51:57 PM

what makes you think that?
Post by: Under Lights on July 22, 2014, 05:07:39 PM
Quote from: WT4E on July 22, 2014, 04:51:57 PM

Some of their headlines no better than what you would see in The Sun, yet they try to make themselves out to above such tabloid papers.
Post by: WT4E on July 22, 2014, 05:10:01 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on July 22, 2014, 05:07:39 PM

Some of their headlines no better than what you would see in The Sun, yet they try to make themselves out to above such tabloid papers.

Yeah your probably right on that one - probably trying to keep up with sales in the mean time selling out their values.

What paper would you consider worthy of reading?
Post by: glens abu on July 22, 2014, 05:10:36 PM

Fitzpatricks what do you expect,big stoop family.
Post by: charlieTully on July 22, 2014, 05:17:35 PM

examples?
Post by: cockahoop on July 22, 2014, 05:30:29 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on July 22, 2014, 05:17:35 PM

examples?

been saying for a while now there no better than the likes of the sunday world for trying to provoke reaction from petty issues for example giving us a daily update on weather a pub on the shakill has the ivry coast flag up during the world cup!!the irish news is becoming as biggoted as the narrow minded biggots they report on,IMO of course
Post by: charlieTully on July 22, 2014, 05:41:01 PM
Quote from: cockahoop on July 22, 2014, 05:30:29 PM

examples?

been saying for a while now there no better than the likes of the sunday world for trying to provoke reaction from petty issues for example giving us a daily update on weather a pub on the shakill has the ivry coast flag up during the world cup!!the irish news is becoming as biggoted as the narrow minded biggots they report on,IMO of course

they highlight sectarinism on our side too, any OO halls graffitied or attacked are always reported on, I find them quite fair, they also give Unionist commentators plenty of space. I dont think they are in anyway comparable to the sun. Commentators like Alision Morrision and Brian Fenney are very good. As for Glens stoops comment, they let Jim Gibney talk shite once a week too.
Post by: Saffrongael on July 22, 2014, 06:00:15 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on July 22, 2014, 05:41:01 PM
Quote from: cockahoop on July 22, 2014, 05:30:29 PM

examples?

they highlight sectarinism on our side too, any OO halls graffitied or attacked are always reported on, I find them quite fair, they also give Unionist commentators plenty of space. I dont think they are in anyway comparable to the sun. Commentators like Alision Morrision and Brian Fenney are very good. As for Glens stoops comment, they let Jim Gibney talk shite once a week too.

Glens thinks all papers should be like the Andytown News or An Phoblacht
Post by: Gaffer on July 23, 2014, 12:09:55 AM
Next thing Glens will be telling us he doesn't buy it
Post by: ziggysego on July 23, 2014, 12:56:06 PM
In fairness, the Irish News is only responding to what people want. There was a pretty extensive survey done in the paper a few years ago, asking people what they wanted to see.

Stuff like what sports, what news, what celebrity 'news', etc....

Today's Irish News is the result of that survey.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 23, 2014, 02:25:45 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 23, 2014, 12:56:06 PM
In fairness, the Irish News is only responding to what people want. There was a pretty extensive survey done in the paper a few years ago, asking people what they wanted to see.

A good proportion of it is a decent paper and there is some shite. The reverse is true for red tops and in some cases you might be hard pushed to find anything of note, which takes some doing in something supposed to report news.
Post by: WT4E on July 23, 2014, 02:32:13 PM

Keep up the good work

Turned into a decent enough thread smartass! lol
Post by: billabong on July 24, 2014, 11:52:27 AM
Interesting one for you- Allison Morris' partner is what many would consider a 'dissident republican' and signed the election papers for the New Lodge's Sammy Cusick, who of course was standing for Republican Network for Unity.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 14, 2016, 12:01:43 AM
After the front page today it is plumbing new depths. Should have a red banner along the top.
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 12:06:17 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 14, 2016, 12:01:43 AM
After the front page today it is plumbing new depths. Should have a red banner along the top.

Well said scunbag journalism if that is the biggest story in the occupied 6 Im a f**king fish.  Tramps the lot of them the damage they are doing to a young man complete wankers.
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2016, 05:55:04 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 23, 2014, 12:56:06 PM

Ask readers what they want to see and you get the daily mail website. Tits and ass, sport, crime , slebs and news about house prices
Post by: Applesisapples on May 14, 2016, 08:59:31 AM
I take it you are talking about yesterday's report on Father Rory? Not sure it deserved to be front page but a high profile person cleric or other is bound to make headlines. That said he hasn't done anything wrong in the eyes of the law.
Post by: Nigel White on May 14, 2016, 09:26:13 AM
There's a lot worse being kept out of the media thanks to super injunctions. Is that route only open to the rich and famous?
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 09:55:46 AM
Do I detect a tinge of sympathy for a Catholic cleric on this Board?
Post by: Applesisapples on May 14, 2016, 10:08:11 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 09:55:46 AM
Do I detect a tinge of sympathy for a Catholic cleric on this Board?
Tony he's a gay man trapped by the hypocritical approach to sex and orientation adopted by the church, the sympathy has shag all to do with his being a cleric.
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 10:25:39 AM
I'm sorry and I do not mean any personal offence but a "gay priest" is the ultimate oxymoron.The clear Biblical teaching which informs catholic belief,is alas that homosexuality is wrong.It is therefore simply  logical that you cannot be gay and be a priest in the Catholic Church simultaneously.How on earth can you preach the belief that homosexuality is wrong and expect your flock to take you seriously,if you are gay yourself.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 14, 2016, 10:36:13 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 10:25:39 AM
I'm sorry and I do not mean any personal offence but a "gay priest" is the ultimate oxymoron.The clear Biblical teaching which informs catholic belief,is alas that homosexuality is wrong.It is therefore simply  logical that you cannot be gay and be a priest in the Catholic Church simultaneously.How on earth can you preach the belief that homosexuality is wrong and expect your flock to take you seriously,if you are gay yourself.
So you are condemning Fr Rory?
Post by: BennyCake on May 14, 2016, 11:01:54 AM

I agree. I hate to see a Tyrone player on the front page!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on May 14, 2016, 11:03:29 AM
I was really, really hoping this would not come up here. Now that it has I found myself in two minds about commenting, as I don't want to drag the issue out or give it further publicity. But....

What I will say is that the Fr Rory I know has been a wonderful help, support and friend to the people of Armagh City and the wider Parish; he is loved by this Community and I know that love was shared by the people in his previous Parish. That help and support I referred to also extended to the Clubs of the County through his role as the Armagh Assistant Secretary.

The Fr Rory that I know is a thoroughly warm, friendly, decent human being, and he is bound to be going through a lot of personal pain over this. I'm sure I speak for many, many more when I say that he is in my thoughts and prayers at this time.
Post by: stew on May 14, 2016, 11:31:08 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 10:25:39 AM

He has no business being a priest, that said he is said to be a wonderful man and judge yes not Tone, I hope he finds a career where he can continue to have a positive influence on people.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 14, 2016, 12:50:43 PM
Wrong to have a gay priest but ok for the church to have child molesters.... Hmmm am I missing something here??
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 01:01:20 PM
Stew I never condemned the man,just pointed out that it is neither logical nor credible for a gay person to be a priest or arguably a church member even.

MR Paedophiles masquerading as priests are not and never have been "acceptable" in the Church.Do not mistake mishandling of this scourge as condoning it much less tolerating it.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 14, 2016, 02:03:42 PM
This is where I have a real problem with the Church, we are taught that God made us all in his own image, that would mean Gay people too. so where does this homophobia fit in with this teaching, or judge not lest you be judged? Plenty of judging by you Tony and no compassion, oh except for sean Brady. The teaching that Tony is promoting on here would have the parent of a gay child condemn them to hell...it would take a hard hearted bastard to do that. I hope Fr Rory finds happiness in whatever he wishes to do and the God I believe in will not damn him.
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 02:52:13 PM
Apples we can only go by scripture inspired Church teaching,which defines what sin is.This is not a matter of compassion,or cutting slack etc,it is God's Law.

I have every sympathy for people struggling with sexuality etc,but the fact is that while in sin they are cutting themselves off from the Church themselves as Scripture informs us.

These are God's decrees not man's and can't be watered down on some sort of superficial compassionate basis.The core message of the Church is the need of avoiding sin and sincerely repenting.
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 03:22:51 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 02:52:13 PM
Apples we can only go by scripture inspired Church teaching,which defines what sin is.This is not a matter of compassion,or cutting slack etc,it is God's Law.

I have every sympathy for people struggling with sexuality etc,but the fact is that while in sin they are cutting themselves off from the Church themselves as Scripture informs us.

These are God's decrees not man's and can't be watered down on some sort of superficial compassionate basis.The core message of the Church is the need of avoiding sin and sincerely repenting.

What utter horseshite, they are man made laws and they choose to change them when they feel like it.  No made up God decreed f**k all in the Bible or anywhere else.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 14, 2016, 03:26:12 PM
Quote from: No wides on May 14, 2016, 03:22:51 PM

What utter horseshite, they are man made laws and they choose to change them when they feel like it.  No made up God decreed f**k all in the Bible or anywhere else.
Exactly! I have asked the christian fraternity on here to give me the exact quote from JC that condemns people for their sexual orientation. All I get is the old testament, the whole reason we are christian and not Jewish is the teaching of JC.
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 03:33:24 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 14, 2016, 03:26:12 PM
Quote from: No wides on May 14, 2016, 03:22:51 PM

Exactly! I have asked the christian fraternity on here to give me the exact quote from JC that condemns people for their sexual orientation. All I get is the old testament, the whole reason we are christian and not Jewish is the teaching of JC.

That's exactly it, and people like Tony who can't think for themselves believe these man made up laws, fish on a friday, purgatory for still born babies, or those who never got christened etc.  From reading his posts you have to feel sorry for him, he is obviously slightly touched with little or no power to think for himself.
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 03:54:11 PM
They are clear laws as defined in the Bible which Christians believe in.Therefore the Church cannot be ambivalent about this or tolerate any deviation from them.That's the point.
Post by: bennydorano on May 14, 2016, 04:37:29 PM
Best of luck to Rory, a real gent, I hope he finds happiness. 

Not surprised that the Irish News carried the story, it is newsworthy if we're honest, embarrassing to a thoroughly nice man, but still newsworthy.
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 04:56:28 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 03:54:11 PM
They are clear laws as defined in the Bible which Christians believe in.Therefore the Church cannot be ambivalent about this or tolerate any deviation from them.That's the point.

So we have gone from gods decree to words in a book written by men who never met jesus, can you post the passages with their references.
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 04:59:13 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 14, 2016, 04:37:29 PM

Not surprised that the Irish News carried the story, it is newsworthy if we're honest, embarrassing to a thoroughly nice man, but still newsworthy.

It's hardly front page and then to contine the article by referencing a priest reportedly doing a line of coke, sc**bag journalism it is a complete rag.
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 05:14:40 PM
Is it not the duty of a newspaper to simply report the news?
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 05:28:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 05:14:40 PM
Is it not the duty of a newspaper to simply report the news?

A man is gay hardly front page stuff any news on all the bible references that homosexuals are going to hell.
Post by: bennydorano on May 14, 2016, 05:42:42 PM
Quote from: No wides on May 14, 2016, 04:59:13 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 14, 2016, 04:37:29 PM

It's hardly front page and then to contine the article by referencing a priest reportedly doing a line of coke, sc**bag journalism it is a complete rag.
At a Nazi fancy dress party no less. You'da thought that was a better front page lead to be fair.
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 05:56:55 PM
Priests should be leading lives of example.If they are not able to do so they should leave the priesthood then their activities will not be newsworthy.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on May 14, 2016, 06:07:46 PM
Tony you are a disgrace. Go and read comments from the Irish News Facebook page and you'll see the true meaning of Christianity. I know Rory personally since he celebrated our wedding and a more decent down to earth fella you could not wish to meet. The church needs more Rory Coyles and less clowns like you. If so we'd all be in a better place. Regardless of what path he choses he deverves to be treated with compassion and respect. That's true Christianity in practice.
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 06:22:59 PM
Oh dear,you don't understand Christianity at all.Christ's mission was to atone for sin and urge repentance,not to indulge sinners who were in other respects nice people,I'm afraid.

Try to understand this,it's not exactly rocket science.You cannot with any credibility be a Catholic cleric (or a cleric in any other Christian denomination) if you are homosexual,when one of the core beliefs of your Church is that homosexuality is sinful.How can you condemn sin when you actively practice it yourself.Doesn't matter how many people on Facebook think you're a nice guy,I'm afraid.
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 06:44:19 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 05:56:55 PM
Priests should be leading lives of example.If they are not able to do so they should leave the priesthood then their activities will not be newsworthy.

Like sean brady faciltating child abuse and refusing to leave when he was shown to be doing so.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on May 14, 2016, 06:47:28 PM
I'll not be lectured by anyone about what my definition of Christanity is. I hope if something comes to your door in conflict with your beliefs you are offered the care and compassion all decent people deserve.

I've nothing more to say on this.

Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 06:49:56 PM
No Wides.That's Bullshit.Investigating and swiftly reporting child abuse allegations heard,to your superiors,is not facilitating child abuse.It is swift and decisive action.Catch yourself on. >:(

By your argument you presumably would contend that parents not reporting child abuse allegations to the Police is also facilitating child abuse?
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 06:51:11 PM
93-DY-SAM Everyone should be offered compassion and respect in times of trouble,no argument on that whatsoever.
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 06:55:51 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 06:49:56 PM
No Wides.That's Bullshit.Investigating and swiftly reporting child abuse allegations heard,to your superiors,is not facilitating child abuse.It is swift and decisive action.Catch yourself on. >:(

By your argument you presumably would contend that parents not reporting child abuse allegations to the Police is also facilitating child abuse?

A person in authority protecting the reputation of his church before the safety of vunerable children was facillitating a known abuser to rape and abuse again and again.
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 06:57:39 PM
Are you going to post gods decree that homosexuality is a sin and not to be entertained in the church or are you just going to keep ignoring the question?
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 06:59:32 PM
100% wrong as usual.A junior priest being asked to investigate another priest he'd never heard of,reports accurately and timeously his findings to his superiors.Job done,conscience clear.
Post by: Nigel White on May 14, 2016, 07:03:40 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 06:59:32 PM
100% wrong as usual.A junior priest being asked to investigate another priest he'd never heard of,reports accurately and timeously his findings to his superiors.Job done,conscience clear.
Oh dear, oh dear.
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 07:05:23 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 06:59:32 PM

Yip looked after the reputation of his corrupt church and allowed a known abuser to continue raping children.  Conscience clear as like you he is anything but christian and only cared about his church and job and to hell with the kids getting raped,  degraded and humiliated.
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 07:07:11 PM
Anyword on gods decree about homosexuality?
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 07:24:56 PM
https://carm.org/bible-homosexuality
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 07:34:11 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 07:24:56 PM

Took you a good hour for that!
Post by: No wides on May 14, 2016, 07:37:10 PM
So what line is gods decree?
Post by: Main Street on May 14, 2016, 09:26:27 PM
It's easier for a gay priest who "comes out" to get fired, than it is a paedophile priest.

It's reckoned that around  half the catholic priests are gay. There are a higher % of priests who are gays  working in the Vatican,
probably just as well that the Vatican owns Italy's biggest gay sauna in Rome.
Not bad going for an institution whose teachings provide a moral backbone for homophobia and discrimination against gays. 

Post by: OgraAnDun on May 14, 2016, 09:28:03 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 14, 2016, 09:26:27 PM

It's reckoned that around  half the catholic priests are gay. There are a higher % of priests who are gays  working in the Vatican,

I suppose you've done the surveys yourself on this? What's the breakdown in figures?
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 09:43:46 PM
It is the height of hypocrisy to be gay and in the Priesthood.Apart from that it doesn't make sense at any level.I mean it is the worst possible place to be if gay and desire to be actively so.

I commend the Person concerned here for taking time out to reflect though he definitely should have done so before advertising himself on a gay website,with lurid photos and denying his vocation there on as well (not alluding to his status as a Priest).I wish no ill on him whatsoever.

Fr Brian D'Arcy is a person I wouldn't have a lot of time for, though I admire him for admitting that he once fell in love but did not break his priestly vows.That's the key point,if one cannot honour the priestly vows it is the height of hypocrisy to remain in the Priesthood.
Post by: bennydorano on May 14, 2016, 10:26:02 PM
Plenty of Protestant / Reformed churches all over the world permit gay glergy. Their bibles would be fairly similar to the RC church?
Post by: longballin on May 14, 2016, 11:02:00 PM
You haven't a clue Tony... there are loads of gay priests. A priest once told me some of the goings on in that training school in Maynooth was tarra...
Post by: T Fearon on May 14, 2016, 11:38:45 PM
There are undoubtedly gay Priests,in the closet.But my point is that they are hypocrits.Apart from Anglicans,every other Protestant denomination is even more strict about not tolerating gay clergy than Catholicism is.
Post by: Minder on May 14, 2016, 11:39:28 PM
Getting back on thread slightly I think Allison Morris is as big a dose as there is about
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 14, 2016, 11:46:35 PM
Rory Coyle has had nothing but 100% support from the community whereas the parents in Middletown vetoed having Sean Brady celebrate St John's PS communion. Fair play.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 15, 2016, 12:04:02 AM
Tony does it really matter what the sexual orientation is of the priest if they commit to being celibate?
I don't understand how being gay would make them a hypocrite if they remain celibate?

Regarding this priest I think that the issue is that he wasnt maintaining is celibacy, hardly feckin headline news tho.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 15, 2016, 12:20:18 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 15, 2016, 12:04:02 AM
Tony does it really matter what the sexual orientation is of the priest if they commit to being celibate?
I don't understand how being gay would make them a hypocrite if they remain celibate?

Regarding this priest I think that the issue is that he wasnt maintaining is celibacy, hardly feckin headline news tho.

Like most priest's... Not maintaining their celibacy vows... Here is an idea, drop that stupid vow, guarantee more people taking up the vocation
Post by: Throw ball on May 15, 2016, 12:24:39 AM
Fr. Rory or Rory Coyle as seems to be the way in the thread has always seemed to be a terribly decent man in the 6 years he has been working in Armagh parish. From my understanding he made a mistake, told the arch bishop and then took time out to reflect. Would there be as much fuss if he had have been on an app looking a woman? Compared to the stuff the church has seen in the past this is small beer. Living in Armagh parish I can honestly say that over the last number of weeks I have not heard one person - man or woman - say anything bad about him. The problem the church has, in my opinion, is that celibacy is not natural for most people. Marriage should be allowed.

As for the Irish News. They lost a lot of respect for me. Criminal gangs have been using the Internet to blackmail people. This has had dire effects on some. The Irish News should show a higher standing. They are acting as bullies. He has broke his priestly vows, I think, but I see no evidence he has broken the law.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 15, 2016, 12:38:08 AM
It would be going some for the Catholic Church to take the moral high ground!
Post by: Main Street on May 15, 2016, 12:42:39 AM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on May 14, 2016, 09:28:03 PM

I suppose you've done the surveys yourself on this? What's the breakdown in figures?
You don't take issue with the Vatican owning italy's biggest gay sauna? ;D

The research stats go from 30 to 60% of catholic priests are actively gay, gay inclined or had homosexual experiences.
"Beyond these estimates, of course, are priests who remain confused about their orientation and men who have so successfully denied their orientation, that in spite of predominately same-sex erotic fantasies, they insist that they are heterosexual."

https://xcjournal.org/the-errors-of-catholicism/homosexual-priests/ (https://xcjournal.org/the-errors-of-catholicism/homosexual-priests/)

Surveys sent to 500 random priests by Rev. Thomas Crangle,  a Franciscan priest in 1990 received 398 responses, with 45% confirming that they were gay. Other surveys and estimates reflect a percentage of between 20 and 50 percent. An NBC report found that anywhere from 23 to 58 percent of Catholic clergy have homosexual orientation."

"An estimate of the number of gays in U.S. seminaries and the priesthood range from 25 percent to 50 percent, according to a review of research by the Rev. Donald Cozzens psychologist, and Catholic seminary president  and author of "The Changing Face of the Priesthood." 

Roman Catholic Gay Priests: Internalized Homophobia, Sexual Identity, and Psychological Well-Being
https://www.researchgate.net/publication/257635776_Roman_Catholic_Gay_Priests_Internalized_Homophobia_Sexual_Identity_and_Psychological_Well-Being (https://www.researchgate.net/publication/257635776_Roman_Catholic_Gay_Priests_Internalized_Homophobia_Sexual_Identity_and_Psychological_Well-Being)
Using convenience sampling, a national sample of 156 actively ministering or
retired Roman Catholic priests was obtained. One hundred and five (105) of these priests
identified as gay/homosexual (67.3 %

Post by: OgraAnDun on May 15, 2016, 10:06:22 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 15, 2016, 12:42:39 AM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on May 14, 2016, 09:28:03 PM

You don't take issue with the Vatican owning italy's biggest gay sauna? ;D

The research stats go from 30 to 60% of catholic priests are actively gay, gay inclined or had homosexual experiences.
"Beyond these estimates, of course, are priests who remain confused about their orientation and men who have so successfully denied their orientation, that in spite of predominately same-sex erotic fantasies, they insist that they are heterosexual."

https://xcjournal.org/the-errors-of-catholicism/homosexual-priests/ (https://xcjournal.org/the-errors-of-catholicism/homosexual-priests/)

Surveys sent to 500 random priests by Rev. Thomas Crangle,  a Franciscan priest in 1990 received 398 responses, with 45% confirming that they were gay. Other surveys and estimates reflect a percentage of between 20 and 50 percent. An NBC report found that anywhere from 23 to 58 percent of Catholic clergy have homosexual orientation."

"An estimate of the number of gays in U.S. seminaries and the priesthood range from 25 percent to 50 percent, according to a review of research by the Rev. Donald Cozzens psychologist, and Catholic seminary president  and author of "The Changing Face of the Priesthood." 

Roman Catholic Gay Priests: Internalized Homophobia, Sexual Identity, and Psychological Well-Being
https://www.researchgate.net/publication/257635776_Roman_Catholic_Gay_Priests_Internalized_Homophobia_Sexual_Identity_and_Psychological_Well-Being (https://www.researchgate.net/publication/257635776_Roman_Catholic_Gay_Priests_Internalized_Homophobia_Sexual_Identity_and_Psychological_Well-Being)
Using convenience sampling, a national sample of 156 actively ministering or
retired Roman Catholic priests was obtained. One hundred and five (105) of these priests
identified as gay/homosexual (67.3 %

Fair enough then, I stand corrected. As regards the sauna, I wanted to challenge what I believed was a sweeping statement with made up stats (just disproved), rather than whether they owned a sauna. It is hypocritical however.
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 11:28:39 AM
Few points.Clergy,of any sexual orientation,who maintain celibacy are fine.That's honouring their vows.

Gay people or for that matter heterosexuals who cannot maintain celibacy should not enter the priesthood,or if they do they should resign immediately if they cannot resist.This is regardless of how nice they are or how adept they are at pastoral work in all other areas.

The Irish News also recently highlighted a well known Belfast priest who had an affair with a woman who miscarried his baby,so they are hardly biased against gays.The same priest after a period of rehabilitation has returned to Ministry,which is fine. Maybe Rory will be able to do so too.

Of course Priests who advertise on gay websites or impregnate women are newsworthy,and thankfully so,because this activity should not be diluted to "normal behaviour".It is not acceptable.

Post by: general_lee on May 15, 2016, 11:43:47 AM
Stories like this highlight how f**king utterly stupid organised religion is and the type of cretins who believe every word written in the Bible.
Post by: Rossfan on May 15, 2016, 12:04:09 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 15, 2016, 11:43:47 AM
Stories like this highlight how f**king utterly stupid organised religion is and the type of cretins who believe every word written in the Bible.
Very intolerant an illiberal comment.
Post by: No wides on May 15, 2016, 12:37:50 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 15, 2016, 12:04:09 PM

Unlike the tolerant and liberal catholic church and it's followers?
Post by: theskull1 on May 15, 2016, 01:04:01 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 11:28:39 AM
The same priest after a period of rehabilitation has returned to Ministry,which is fine. Maybe Rory will be able to do so too.

(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_WsBO5TnAMYo/S8udKcOhgBI/AAAAAAAAAS0/_E0JsagF-fg/s1600/IMG_6772.jpg)
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 01:21:15 PM
Catholic Church is tolerant,you either accept its teachings and adhere to them,or alternatively like so many here,reject them and don't bother going.Very simple,no one is forcing anyone to join and live by the teachings,but those same teachings cannot be diluted to court popularity.
Post by: muppet on May 15, 2016, 01:25:53 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 01:21:15 PM
Catholic Church is tolerant,you either accept its teachings and adhere to them,or alternatively like so many here,reject them and don't bother going.Very simple,no one is forcing anyone to join and live by the teachings,but those same teachings cannot be diluted to court popularity.

That isn't the full story Tony.

The Catholic Church, along with other churches, threaten non-followers with the rather lengthy and awkward sounding 'eternal damnation'. People are entitled to question its integrity and sources when faced with such a threat.
Post by: No wides on May 15, 2016, 02:17:53 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 01:21:15 PM

How does it work then when they change their man made rules - original sin,  fish on a friday etc.
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 03:19:20 PM
Muppet by all means question.But you must come to one of two conclusions.You either accept there is a God and end of life judgement or you don't.Its not scare mongering,if you don't believe it.But you can't be half in and half out.
Post by: No wides on May 15, 2016, 03:33:05 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 03:19:20 PM
Muppet by all means question.But you must come to one of two conclusions.You either accept there is a God and end of life judgement or you don't.Its not scare mongering,if you don't believe it.But you can't be half in and half out.

Have you a quote from god where that is decreed also.  I tell you what if threre is a judgemental god i am sure being and acting like a Christian with deeds and words rather than licking the altar rails would serve him or her better,  so an unchristian nasty person like yourself is fucked.
Post by: muppet on May 15, 2016, 03:44:34 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 03:19:20 PM

It is not only scare mongering but very obviously self serving scare mongering. The Church wants us in and the Church benefits from us being in. Scare mongering is very useful and that is why we also see it in politics, for example, Brexit, Scottish Independence, Donald Trumpalism etc. Scaring people works if you need to persuade them to do something for you.

There may be a God, but there is little evidence for Him. Our ancestors historic need to have a God is not evidence.

End of life judgement seems to be really stretching things to me, but who knows. There is no evidence either way.

Eternal reward and eternal damnation are two sides of the same outdated scare mongering coin I reckon.

As for your 'you can't be half in half out' dogma, this is why you end up in such a mess on issues such as child abuse and gay priests. You think you have to be fully in and that means defending the indefensible such as silencing abused children.
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 05:01:08 PM
Rubbish,it's the doctrine that matters not the human people.No one defends the likes of Brendan Smyth.

It's still optional to accept or reject belief in God,and if the Catholic Church were tinkering with doctrine to increase popularity then your argument would have an element of truth.
Post by: muppet on May 15, 2016, 05:11:01 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 05:01:08 PM
Rubbish,it's the doctrine that matters not the human people.No one defends the likes of Brendan Smyth.

It's still optional to accept or reject belief in God,and if the Catholic Church were tinkering with doctrine to increase popularity then your argument would have an element of truth.

Nail on the head.

Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 05:17:08 PM
I knew you would get there eventually.👍
Post by: omaghjoe on May 15, 2016, 05:24:33 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 15, 2016, 03:44:34 PM

There may be a God, but there is little evidence for Him. Our ancestors historic need to have a God is not evidence.

Are you back looking for empirical evidence of God again Muppet?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 15, 2016, 05:29:24 PM
Tony, how would someone know if they are not able to keep their vows in advance? I imagine if they knew this they wouldn't take them in the first place. Its having the intention and will to keep their vows thats important. You have heard of confession and forgiveness?
Post by: Arthur_Friend on May 15, 2016, 05:31:57 PM

Does it sayanywhere in the Bible priests should be celibate?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 15, 2016, 05:41:45 PM
Tony's understand of Catholic teaching is way off, on the one hand he quotes the bible and then the next he is talking about doctrine. For Catholics the doctrine of the church, which is derived from many things including scripture (primarily the Gospels) is the key thing to follow.

However the doctrine like most things in life is complicated and often contradictory, key thing to remember is its not a complete step by step guide to your life, we have to make our own judgments too, that is actually what we are here for.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 15, 2016, 05:47:44 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on May 15, 2016, 05:31:57 PM

Must be just in the catholic bible
Post by: OgraAnDun on May 15, 2016, 05:51:49 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 15, 2016, 05:47:44 PM

Correct me if I'm wrong but I do believe that in medieval times, priests were allowed to marry. Therefore you would have to assume that the New Testament doesn't have much to say about it.
Post by: muppet on May 15, 2016, 06:16:32 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on May 15, 2016, 05:51:49 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 15, 2016, 05:47:44 PM

Correct me if I'm wrong but I do believe that in medieval times, priests were allowed to marry. Therefore you would have to assume that the New Testament doesn't have much to say about it.

Celibacy isn't considered a doctrine, despite Tony's nonsense.

It is a discipline.
Post by: general_lee on May 15, 2016, 06:17:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 15, 2016, 12:04:09 PM
I'm sorry I find it hard to take people who think dinosaurs never existed seriously. I don't mind people practicing their faith, my own family do. But they've a bit of f**king cop on when it comes to actually practicing some of the more basic aspects of Christianity, you know like love thy neighbour.
Post by: The Iceman on May 15, 2016, 07:03:11 PM
Fr Rory is a decent fella. He messed up.  It's perfectly fine to be a Gay priest. It's perfectly fine to be a Gay parishioner. It isn't acceptable to act on those attractions and have sex outside of sacramental marriage. To disregard the vows he took of celibacy and obedience is a grave offense. 
Let's be honest here - Grindr isn't a dating site - it's a way for gay men to schedule sex with each other. If you read the reports from the source of the story "Eoin"  - Rory Coyle told him of multiple gay orgies in London and Dublin and random sex with strangers around Ireland.  He messed up royally. Maybe it's all lies? Who knows....
Who in their right mind would post naked pictures of themselves  - I think he was hoping to be caught and end the double life charade he has been living....

I agree as parishioners, people should continue to love and support him and pray for him and his well-being. But supporting him and supporting his behaviour are two very different things.

Why do gay men get a free ticket to have sex on demand with whoever they want? Why is that now supported and applauded? Have we resolved as a society that gay men need to have unlimited sex with unlimited partners just because they are gay?

Would you look at this case with the same sympathy if women around the country came forward in their dozens saying he had used them for random sex?

It's a very sad case. I'm disappointed he chose the path he did.  I won't support his behaviour but I'll continue to pray for his wellbeing.

Post by: el_cuervo_fc on May 15, 2016, 07:11:05 PM
Tony. Here's a few wee rules from the bible you should make sure to adhere to. You should definitely pay particular attention to the last one.

1 Corinthians 14:34:

"Let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak; but they are commanded to be under obedience as also saith the law."

Leviticus 11:7–8:

"And the pig, because it parts the hoof and is cloven-footed but does not chew the cud, is unclean to you. You shall not eat any of their flesh, and you shall not touch their carcasses; they are unclean to you."

Leviticus 19:19:

"You are to keep My statutes. You shall not breed together two kinds of your cattle; you shall not sow your field with two kinds of seed, nor wear a garment upon you of two kinds of material mixed together."

Leviticus 10–11 reads:

"And all that have not fins and scales in the seas, and in the rivers, of all that move in the waters, and of any living thing which is in the waters, they shall be even an abomination unto you; ye shall not eat of their flesh, but ye shall have their carcasses in abomination."

Exodus 31:14–15:

"Ye shall keep the sabbath therefore; for it is holy unto you: every one that defileth it shall surely be put to death: for whosoever doeth any work therein, that soul shall be cut off from among his people. Six days may work be done; but in the seventh is the sabbath of rest, holy to the LORD: whosoever doeth any work in the sabbath day, he shall surely be put to death."

Leviticus 19:27:

"You shall not round off the side-growth of your heads, neither shalt thou mar the corners of thy beard."

1 Corinthians 6:18 reads:

"Every other sin a person commits is outside the body, but the sexually immoral person sins against his own body."

Post by: Tony Baloney on May 15, 2016, 08:01:01 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 15, 2016, 07:03:11 PM
Fr Rory is a decent fella. He messed up.  It's perfectly fine to be a Gay priest. It's perfectly fine to be a Gay parishioner. It isn't acceptable to act on those attractions and have sex outside of sacramental marriage. To disregard the vows he took of celibacy and obedience is a grave offense. 
Let's be honest here - Grindr isn't a dating site - it's a way for gay men to schedule sex with each other. If you read the reports from the source of the story "Eoin"  - Rory Coyle told him of multiple gay orgies in London and Dublin and random sex with strangers around Ireland.  He messed up royally. Maybe it's all lies? Who knows....
Who in their right mind would post naked pictures of themselves  - I think he was hoping to be caught and end the double life charade he has been living....

I agree as parishioners, people should continue to love and support him and pray for him and his well-being. But supporting him and supporting his behaviour are two very different things.

Why do gay men get a free ticket to have sex on demand with whoever they want? Why is that now supported and applauded? Have we resolved as a society that gay men need to have unlimited sex with unlimited partners just because they are gay?

Would you look at this case with the same sympathy if women around the country came forward in their dozens saying he had used them for random sex?

It's a very sad case. I'm disappointed he chose the path he did.  I won't support his behaviour but I'll continue to pray for his wellbeing.
How is this different from heterosexual people using Tinder for the same reasons?
Post by: imtommygunn on May 15, 2016, 08:16:03 PM
Exactly tony. The whole internet dating thing now is like that so to pick on gay people for their use of it is wrong - it is not exclusive to gay people.
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 10:44:03 PM
I presume you mean Iceman.Bottom line is Catholic Clergy should not be aware of internet dating sites much less using them.
Post by: muppet on May 15, 2016, 11:02:45 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 10:44:03 PM
I presume you mean Iceman.Bottom line is Catholic Clergy should not be aware of internet dating sites much less using them.

How are you aware of them?
Post by: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 11:07:01 PM
They were alluded to earlier on this thread
Post by: muppet on May 15, 2016, 11:34:20 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 11:07:01 PM
They were alluded to earlier on this thread

Is it ok for you to be aware but not a priest?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 16, 2016, 05:17:52 AM
So what about this crowd?

http://www.catholicmatch.com/institute/singles/

Its now one of the primary methods of finding a partner to partake in one of the most important sacraments, youd bloodly well hope priests are aware of it.

Sometimes i wonder whether you are dillusional, lacking knowledge about what your talking about or WUMing. Im pretty sure its a combination of the 3 but mostly the first 2.

Post by: imtommygunn on May 16, 2016, 07:50:29 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 15, 2016, 10:44:03 PM

I mean Tony Baloney. It's not all about you  ;D

Internet dating sites are advertised all over tv. Everyone knows about them.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on May 16, 2016, 09:11:03 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on May 15, 2016, 07:11:05 PM
Tony. Here's a few wee rules from the bible you should make sure to adhere to. You should definitely pay particular attention to the last one.

1 Corinthians 14:34:

"Let your women keep silence in the churches: for it is not permitted unto them to speak; but they are commanded to be under obedience as also saith the law."

Leviticus 11:7–8:

"And the pig, because it parts the hoof and is cloven-footed but does not chew the cud, is unclean to you. You shall not eat any of their flesh, and you shall not touch their carcasses; they are unclean to you."

Leviticus 19:19:

"You are to keep My statutes. You shall not breed together two kinds of your cattle; you shall not sow your field with two kinds of seed, nor wear a garment upon you of two kinds of material mixed together."

Leviticus 10–11 reads:

"And all that have not fins and scales in the seas, and in the rivers, of all that move in the waters, and of any living thing which is in the waters, they shall be even an abomination unto you; ye shall not eat of their flesh, but ye shall have their carcasses in abomination."

Exodus 31:14–15:

"Ye shall keep the sabbath therefore; for it is holy unto you: every one that defileth it shall surely be put to death: for whosoever doeth any work therein, that soul shall be cut off from among his people. Six days may work be done; but in the seventh is the sabbath of rest, holy to the LORD: whosoever doeth any work in the sabbath day, he shall surely be put to death."

Leviticus 19:27:

"You shall not round off the side-growth of your heads, neither shalt thou mar the corners of thy beard."

1 Corinthians 6:18 reads:

"Every other sin a person commits is outside the body, but the sexually immoral person sins against his own body."

Conveniently ignored.

Tony? Tony?
Post by: No wides on May 16, 2016, 04:12:31 PM
Tony only chooses to post shite and never answers a direct question.
Post by: longballin on May 16, 2016, 04:17:05 PM
Quote from: No wides on May 16, 2016, 04:12:31 PM
Tony only chooses to post shite and never answers a direct question.

sounds like the Catholic church
Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2016, 06:19:31 PM
I believe all those quotes from Leviticus to be authentic and adhere to them.Besides anything which contradicts God's defined natural order,like homosexuality is clearly offensive and contrary to God's Law
Post by: omaghjoe on May 16, 2016, 06:32:58 PM
You dont eat any bacon or sausages?
Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2016, 06:40:40 PM
Correct
Post by: laoislad on May 16, 2016, 06:48:31 PM
Do you keep your wife silent in the church?
What happens if she speaks? does she get a smack around the head or is she brought outside and stoned?
Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2016, 06:49:45 PM
She knows the perils of speaking.Trying to replicate that obedience in the house is a challenge though
Post by: omaghjoe on May 16, 2016, 06:57:21 PM
But sure thats not part of Catholic doctrine Tony.

If you are doing for a religious reason as your making out, then it may well amount to heresy against the Catholic faith.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 16, 2016, 07:30:34 PM
Jesus wept
Post by: Red Hand Man on May 16, 2016, 08:19:34 PM
What do you eat on Good Friday Tony, as I see that fish is a big no no according to those biblical quotes?
Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2016, 10:03:27 PM
Fast all day.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on May 16, 2016, 10:20:26 PM
I though you were fond of the old bowl haircut at one stage too.

Quote from: T Fearon on May 16, 2016, 10:03:27 PM
Fast all day.
Post by: Red Hand Man on May 16, 2016, 10:33:51 PM
Leviticus 18 No one who has an imperfection will be allowed to make an offering: this includes anyone who is blind, crippled, disfigured, or deformed.

Ever tore a hamstring Tony?

Needed specs?

Post by: oakleafer on May 17, 2016, 01:33:02 AM
QuoteApples we can only go by scripture inspired Church teaching,which defines what sin is.This is not a matter of compassion,or cutting slack etc,it is God's Law.

Yes, lets go by scripture....catch a grip:

Behold, here are my virgin daughter and his concubine. Let me bring them out now. Violate them and do with them what seems good to you, but against this man do not do this outrageous thing."
Post by: general_lee on May 17, 2016, 06:44:44 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 15, 2016, 08:01:01 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 15, 2016, 07:03:11 PM

How is this different from heterosexual people using Tinder for the same reasons?
Exactly. Half the country is riding the other half thanks to tinder. I hope Fr Rory leaves the church permanently as I feel that is probably what's best for him in the long run.
Post by: No wides on May 17, 2016, 08:23:57 AM
How can there be two halfs and I am in neither.   :o
Post by: Applesisapples on May 17, 2016, 08:51:27 AM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on May 14, 2016, 06:07:46 PM
Tony you are a disgrace. Go and read comments from the Irish News Facebook page and you'll see the true meaning of Christianity. I know Rory personally since he celebrated our wedding and a more decent down to earth fella you could not wish to meet. The church needs more Rory Coyles and less clowns like you. If so we'd all be in a better place. Regardless of what path he choses he deverves to be treated with compassion and respect. That's true Christianity in practice.
Well said!
Post by: Applesisapples on May 17, 2016, 08:55:10 AM
So Jesus Christ has not condemned people for being gay, you are relying on the Old Testament which is not the basis of Christianity but rather used by zealots to give legitimacy to their bigotry.
Post by: No wides on May 17, 2016, 08:56:09 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 17, 2016, 08:51:27 AM
Well said!

And agreed by all rational human beings, Tony though is trying to be the Katie Price of the GAABOARD and failing miserably at it  -  maybe if had some kids of his own his he could see the beauty in humans and how each is different instead of purporting to follow to the letter some ancient words, by the way does he look like a man never had a fry!
Post by: No wides on May 17, 2016, 08:57:35 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 17, 2016, 08:55:10 AM
So Jesus Christ has not condemned people for being gay, you are relying on the Old Testament which is not the basis of Christianity but rather used by zealots to give legitimacy to their bigotry.

All Tony's bigotry is from the old testament, he has yet, nor could he give one quote from the new testament which condemns homosexuals by the decree of god!
Post by: screenexile on May 17, 2016, 10:16:45 AM
Quote from: No wides on May 17, 2016, 08:56:09 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 17, 2016, 08:51:27 AM
Well said!

And agreed by all rational human beings, Tony though is trying to be the Katie Price of the GAABOARD and failing miserably at it  -  maybe if had some kids of his own his he could see the beauty in humans and how each is different instead of purporting to follow to the letter some ancient words, by the way does he look like a man never had a fry!

By f**k I hope you mean Katie Hopkins for the thought of seeing Tone topless puts the fear of god in me!!!
Post by: armaghniac on May 17, 2016, 11:02:24 AM
Quote from: No wides on May 17, 2016, 08:57:35 AM

All Tony's bigotry is from the old testament, he has yet, nor could he give one quote from the new testament which condemns homosexuals by the decree of god!

1 Corinthians 7:2
Nevertheless, to avoid fornication, let every man have his own wife, and let every woman have her own husband.
Post by: DuffleKing on May 17, 2016, 11:09:02 AM

St Paul's advice in 1 Timothy 2:12
"I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man, she must be silent."
Post by: Keyboard Warrior on May 17, 2016, 11:29:08 AM

Jesus doesn't refute the OT; He often referred to it for example.

Not agreeing with either side here, merely pointing out you either accept the bible in its entirety or you don't.
Post by: No wides on May 17, 2016, 12:10:37 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 17, 2016, 11:02:24 AM
Quote from: No wides on May 17, 2016, 08:57:35 AM

1 Corinthians 7:2
Nevertheless, to avoid fornication, let every man have his own wife, and let every woman have her own husband.

No homosexuality mentioned there, so are you saying single people are doomed, people who ride out of wedlock doomed, if you take every word of the bible literally is there any person living or dead saved?
Post by: johnneycool on May 17, 2016, 01:03:47 PM
Quote from: Keyboard Warrior on May 17, 2016, 11:29:08 AM

Jesus doesn't refute the OT; He often referred to it for example.

Not agreeing with either side here, merely pointing out you either accept the bible in its entirety or you don't.

How does that work when it lots of instances the bible contradicts itself?

(https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRNgleH7OTgIThkOaeY8E10Ph2uO7K3tH3K9NLxoTUO_EYXq4-o)
Post by: The Iceman on May 17, 2016, 02:34:48 PM
the misquoted lines on about women "speaking in church" is not about a woman remaining silent. If you actually read the letters and read them in context and understand the timing, the recipients and they "why" you would get the meaning.
He was talking about "speaking" in the context of a woman giving the homily. It refers many times to how women should "pray" in church/gatherings and of course this involves speaking.  The "speaking" that is not allowed is preaching or giving a homily  - which the Church holds to today. Only ordained priests or deacons can do that (men).

Lads, this isn't a does God exist thread.  It's about articles in the Irish News, most recently the ones on Fr. Rory.  Sex outside of marriage is not allowed by the Church he signed up to, the Church he swore oaths and made promises to. He has been living a double life and if he wants to act out on his attractions then he is in the wrong role.
Post by: longballin on May 17, 2016, 03:54:01 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 17, 2016, 02:34:48 PM
the misquoted lines on about women "speaking in church" is not about a woman remaining silent. If you actually read the letters and read them in context and understand the timing, the recipients and they "why" you would get the meaning.
He was talking about "speaking" in the context of a woman giving the homily. It refers many times to how women should "pray" in church/gatherings and of course this involves speaking.  The "speaking" that is not allowed is preaching or giving a homily  - which the Church holds to today. Only ordained priests or deacons can do that (men).

Lads, this isn't a does God exist thread.  It's about articles in the Irish News, most recently the ones on Fr. Rory.  Sex outside of marriage is not allowed by the Church he signed up to, the Church he swore oaths and made promises to. He has been living a double life and if he wants to act out on his attractions then he is in the wrong role.

so all the weemen talking the pill and using contraceptives better stay in their seats next time for Communion. Isa lot more priests than him acting the maggot but at least hes honest bout it.
Post by: armaghniac on May 17, 2016, 04:02:12 PM
Quote from: longballin on May 17, 2016, 03:54:01 PM
Is a lot more priests than him acting the maggot but at least hes honest bout it.

Was he honest about it?
Post by: longballin on May 17, 2016, 04:28:33 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 17, 2016, 04:02:12 PM
Quote from: longballin on May 17, 2016, 03:54:01 PM
Is a lot more priests than him acting the maggot but at least hes honest bout it.

Was he honest about it?

thought he admitted it... maybe not. Dont know why im even commenting about the RC church... walked from that outfit years ago
Post by: easytiger95 on May 17, 2016, 04:31:19 PM

Whilst an understanding of the context of the quotes thrown about here is welcome Iceman, I'd step carefully before I'd let myself be perceived as a defender of the whitest of white sepulcheres on the board. Pointing out TF's hypocrisies is a spectator sport around here.

With regard to your second point, I think most people on the board would consider you an honest broker in these conversations, as you usually argue (eloquently) from your personal faith. I certainly understand and would have a certain sympathy with the logical position that the priest is a symbolic figure as well as a community figure, and devout parishioners deserve a man who embodies the precepts of the Catholic Church in his personal life as well as his public one. After all, when you boil it down, any church is a club, and you know the rules before you join up.

But in accepting that, I'd also point out that there is a logical gap between the Church's attitude towards this, and Jesus' own attitude towards sinners - "judge not lest ye be judged" - which many Catholics on here, with personal experience of the man, would espouse. That indicates to me (as there has probably always has been) a large disparity between the preachings of the Church and the practice of the flock. At the core of that is understanding, and compassion for the weakness in others and ourselves. If the Church displayed more of this, and reserved their righteous anger for those who deserved it ie abusive priests, then I think we would see more competition for seats on a Sunday.
Post by: T Fearon on May 17, 2016, 06:07:36 PM
Jesus made it very clear the consequences for those who do not repent.He spent time and was compassionate with sinners in the hope that they would turn away from sin.
Post by: laoislad on May 17, 2016, 06:10:28 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 17, 2016, 06:07:36 PM
Jesus made it very clear the consequences for those who do not repent.He spent time and was compassionate with sinners in the hope that they would turn away from sin.
How many Hail Marys did you have to say after riding that slapper in Summerhill out of wedlock?
Post by: Throw ball on May 17, 2016, 07:58:11 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on May 17, 2016, 04:31:19 PM

Whilst an understanding of the context of the quotes thrown about here is welcome Iceman, I'd step carefully before I'd let myself be perceived as a defender of the whitest of white sepulcheres on the board. Pointing out TF's hypocrisies is a spectator sport around here.

With regard to your second point, I think most people on the board would consider you an honest broker in these conversations, as you usually argue (eloquently) from your personal faith. I certainly understand and would have a certain sympathy with the logical position that the priest is a symbolic figure as well as a community figure, and devout parishioners deserve a man who embodies the precepts of the Catholic Church in his personal life as well as his public one. After all, when you boil it down, any church is a club, and you know the rules before you join up.

But in accepting that, I'd also point out that there is a logical gap between the Church's attitude towards this, and Jesus' own attitude towards sinners - "judge not lest ye be judged" - which many Catholics on here, with personal experience of the man, would espouse. That indicates to me (as there has probably always has been) a large disparity between the preachings of the Church and the practice of the flock. At the core of that is understanding, and compassion for the weakness in others and ourselves. If the Church displayed more of this, and reserved their righteous anger for those who deserved it ie abusive priests, then I think we would see more competition for seats on a Sunday.

I think you have both put this well.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 17, 2016, 09:08:58 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 17, 2016, 06:07:36 PM

But what if Jesus was just a charlatan? Have you ever considered that??
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on May 17, 2016, 11:13:24 PM
Lads, this isn't a does God exist thread.  It's about articles in the Irish News, most recently the ones on Fr. Rory.

Indeed.

The Irish News ran two articles. The one on Friday appears to have elicited an angry response, particularly around Armagh, and that solely on the basis that the story referred to Fr Rory putting up photos of himself. Indeed a petition has been established calling for the boycotting of the Irish News!

In response to this anger, the Irish News ran another article on Saturday which highlighted the support Fr Rory was receiving. However the real reason to my mind was that this article clarified exactly what the nature of the photos were and provided further background to the story. With hindsight, I get a sense that the Irish News felt compelled to justify their position by clarifying exactly what the nature of the photos were along with the on line chat, in response to the anger that their initial story generated on Friday.

There still is a lot of support for Fr Rory out there, but I also sense an increasing feeling of hurt / betrayal. One need only look at the comments on the Irish News website, where some posters are queuing up with a series of snide comments to put the boot into the Church, to understand the damage that has been done and the hurt that is bound to be felt by a lot of very devoted people. 

I feel desperately sorry for Fr Rory who is bound to be in a very lonely place at this moment, and I feel very sorry for his family, as he used to talk about them regularly in his sermons. I would have to say that I also feel very sorry for the many parishioners who are very devoted to their religion and are feeling betrayed. An awful situation.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 17, 2016, 11:43:24 PM

Tiger, The clergy of the church are often not the best example setters to church doctrine themselves, and when they arent its highlighted with great aplomb in the media because every loves to castigate a hypocrite. However this not mean that the church is not forgiving or welcoming of sinners. In fact there its a sacrament devoted to it and an acknowledgement at the start of mass that we are all sinners including the clergy,most pious Catholics and everyone else.

Iceman, the "does God Exist?" thingy is thrown up to people of faith constantly on this website by people with anti clergy feeling. Its idiotic to bring it up I agree when its relevance is zlitch to the point. However at the same time I still cant over the faith displayed by these people who claim to lack it that there is no God, their faith in other fields, and their point blank refusal to accept this point.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on May 18, 2016, 06:50:15 AM

Iceman

The reason I added the quotes from the bible was to highlight that not all of teachings make sense in modern society, despite Tony's assertions that you have to accept them to be part of the Catholic Church. It was not an attempt to question the existence of God.

I was disappointed that the Irish News ran this as a story on their front page and tried to dress it up as a story about support for Fr Rory. The man has taken a leave of absence to find himself and I don't think this has helped the situation in any way. It smacked of sensationalist journalism with a story that has no business being front page news.

He may have broken a vow of celibacy but he didn't break the law and this has only exacerbated what was a difficult situation for him. The Irish new article was essentially bully a young man who is in emotional turmoil at the minute, with the added bonus of a dig at the church.
Post by: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 07:07:30 AM
What did you expect a newspaper,whose main purpose is a commercial one,to do,with a story that is highly newsworthy? Once again the blame lies with the priest.The right thing to do was for him to resign from the priesthood before advertising on a gay website.That way all the hurt to himself,his family and parishioners would have been avoided.Instead by not disclosing his occupation on his profile,he was trying to lead a double life.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 18, 2016, 08:40:31 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 07:07:30 AM
What did you expect a newspaper,whose main purpose is a commercial one,to do,with a story that is highly newsworthy? Once again the blame lies with the priest.The right thing to do was for him to resign from the priesthood before advertising on a gay website.That way all the hurt to himself,his family and parishioners would have been avoided.Instead by not disclosing his occupation on his profile,he was trying to lead a double life.
Tony it is because of moronic christian right wingers like your good self that gay people feel the need to lead double lives. A little bit of tolerance and compassion would serve you well. Like all zealots you love pointing fingers..."the blame lies with the priest".
Post by: Longshanks on May 18, 2016, 09:24:26 AM
I was dissapointed in the Irish news too, I dont see how that news article in any way is going to help Fr Rory, yes he broke a vow but to be splashed all over the front page for everyone to read about it and be publicly humiliated is hardly the right way to help him?
It didnt seem to mention in the article all the good work he has done and I am sure there are plenty of people who would stand up and defend him, at the end of the day he made a mistake but he isn't a criminal and there are far worse people in the world.
Priesthood is not an easy life at the end of the day and I'm not sure we should be driving people away from considering doing it with treatment of people like this.

I am a practising catholic but I still disagree with much of the churches teachings, I don't think that makes me any less of a catholic but I cannot agree with how some groups are treated as outsiders and also I think some of the rules are very old fashioned although some I have tried to stick to. I have plenty of friends who aren't practising catholics just for the reason that its too strict and does not move with the times.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on May 18, 2016, 09:30:39 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 07:07:30 AM

That is where we disagree then, because I don't think the story is highly news worthy at all.  It is the publishing of the article itself which I feel is a bigger talking point.
Post by: bennydorano on May 18, 2016, 09:52:21 AM
I'm amazed that people are surprised / disappointed  that the Irish News ran the story, I really am. What would you expect a newspaper to do with such a story, sit on it because it's a priest? If had've came to light at a future date that they did, there would have been an outcry that they're in the pocket of the RC Church. Cant have it both ways.
Post by: easytiger95 on May 18, 2016, 10:00:01 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 17, 2016, 11:43:24 PM

Tiger, The clergy of the church are often not the best example setters to church doctrine themselves, and when they arent its highlighted with great aplomb in the media because every loves to castigate a hypocrite. However this not mean that the church is not forgiving or welcoming of sinners. In fact there its a sacrament devoted to it and an acknowledgement at the start of mass that we are all sinners including the clergy,most pious Catholics and everyone else.

Iceman, the "does God Exist?" thingy is thrown up to people of faith constantly on this website by people with anti clergy feeling. Its idiotic to bring it up I agree when its relevance is zlitch to the point. However at the same time I still cant over the faith displayed by these people who claim to lack it that there is no God, their faith in other fields, and their point blank refusal to accept this point.
Joe, I think my point was more towards what seems to be a disparity of response in the Church towards different transgressions.

With regard to Father Rory's plight, I'd see the enforcement of the celibacy rule for both heterosexual and homosexual priests as an unnatural thing - human sexuality is a part of all of us and the denial of it has consequences. I'm not sure what action the Church will take as far as Fr Rory goes, and as I've said before, it is their club and they can kick anyone out of it. I also note Rufus focusing on the betrayal that some of his parishoners must be feeling now - there are no easy answers for the Church here, and I feel some sympathy for the authorities.

However - and it is a big however - inside this club, that Fr Rory still wants to be a part of, as does his flock, is a cohort of evil abusers, who have never been threatened with the same punishments as dissenters on doctrine. Worse, the board of this club has many members who actively sheltered these evildoers, and by doing so, facilitated their crimes. And they have never taken responsibility for their historical actions, and whilst they maintain that position, they give implicit permission for others to do the same now. I do not think that those people specifically should be in any position to judge someone like Fr  Rory, whatever the rules of the club are.

It all reminds me of Groucho Marx's great auote - "I wouldn't want to a member of any club that would accept people like me as a member"

Post by: Oldhacker on May 18, 2016, 10:48:44 AM
It is entirely understandable that considerable sympathy exists for Fr Rory but some posters seem to be unclear about the key issues in his case. His story has been pretty widely reported, and one tabloid yesterday set out how he sent naked images of himself as well what were described as `racy messages' to a young man who turned out to have been a former student at the named college where Fr Rory is the chaplain. Fr Rory is not only a priest but more to the point is a school governor as well as a chaplain and described himself as a lecturer on his messages to the Grindr website, which most people will be aware exists for a specific reason. No lecturer, governor or chaplain is likely to get away with that kind of behaviour, regardless of gender or orientation. Others can debate the contradictions involved in his role as a priest but the posters who suggest that he has somehow been a victim of media bullying are taking a very benign view of his actions.
Post by: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 10:49:54 AM
No one is judging anyone.Quite simply the mission of a Priest is to lead his flock to salvation.This cannot be done if a Priest himself cannot adhere to beliefs which are grounded in Scripture.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 18, 2016, 11:20:14 AM
Quote from: Oldhacker on May 18, 2016, 10:48:44 AM
It is entirely understandable that considerable sympathy exists for Fr Rory but some posters seem to be unclear about the key issues in his case. His story has been pretty widely reported, and one tabloid yesterday set out how he sent naked images of himself as well what were described as `racy messages' to a young man who turned out to have been a former student at the named college where Fr Rory is the chaplain. Fr Rory is not only a priest but more to the point is a school governor as well as a chaplain and described himself as a lecturer on his messages to the Grindr website, which most people will be aware exists for a specific reason. No lecturer, governor or chaplain is likely to get away with that kind of behaviour, regardless of gender or orientation. Others can debate the contradictions involved in his role as a priest but the posters who suggest that he has somehow been a victim of media bullying are taking a very benign view of his actions.

I think the point we are all making is that had he been from some other walk of life it is unlikely that this would have been in the IN let alone the front page. It is an example of the unhealthy interest some people have in the sex lives of others.
Post by: bennydorano on May 18, 2016, 11:22:45 AM
Paul Berry anyone? Dont remember anything other than a pisstaking session here about it, certainly wasn't much sympathy.
Post by: armaghniac on May 18, 2016, 11:47:41 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 18, 2016, 11:20:14 AM

I think the point we are all making is that had he been from some other walk of life it is unlikely that this would have been in the IN let alone the front page. It is an example of the unhealthy interest some people have in the sex lives of others.

I think it is appropriate for newspapers to identify hypocrisy, just  if they write about Gerry Adams having private medical treatment in the US it is more about showing cases of saying one thing and doing another rather than an interest in illness per se. If you choose a role in which you make a statement about something then it is legitimate to point out that you are not doing what you say others should do.
Post by: longballin on May 18, 2016, 12:30:09 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 18, 2016, 11:22:45 AM
Paul Berry anyone? Dont remember anything other than a pisstaking session here about it, certainly wasn't much sympathy.

aye nasty piece of work Berry... maybe that's why
Post by: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 12:43:00 PM
It is a duty and in the commercial interests of newspapers to report newsworthy items.Look at the case of Colin Howell and Hazel Stewart.Not only news but book and TV series.
Post by: Longshanks on May 18, 2016, 01:06:48 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 12:43:00 PM
It is a duty and in the commercial interests of newspapers to report newsworthy items.Look at the case of Colin Howell and Hazel Stewart.Not only news but book and TV series.

I give up, are you actually in some way comparing the two???
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 18, 2016, 01:22:33 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 12:43:00 PM

Believers is god, and look were that got them?
Post by: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 01:46:56 PM
Exactly.If they had been unemployed atheists there would have been little or no interest.
Post by: screenexile on May 18, 2016, 01:51:05 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 01:46:56 PM
Exactly.If they had been unemployed atheists there would have been little or no interest.

Now you're just telling lies. . . some practising dentist kills his wife and his mistresses husband in Ballymoney and you don't think it would be interesting?

The Baptist thing has only come into it since the TV series really because it's creepy as f**k but it's an interesting story no doubt!
Post by: Keyboard Warrior on May 18, 2016, 01:51:46 PM

Bear in mind he has not been accused of doing anything illegal (i.e. sending explicit images to a minor). I'm not sure there is anything to 'get away with' if the former student is a consenting adult (Apart from the obvious Priest/Celibacy rules obviously)
Post by: bennydorano on May 18, 2016, 01:52:13 PM
Quote from: longballin on May 18, 2016, 12:30:09 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 18, 2016, 11:22:45 AM

aye nasty piece of work Berry... maybe that's why
My post was in response to
think the point we are all making is that had he been from some other walk of life it is unlikely that this would have been in the IN let alone the front page.
Nothing to do with character, but reporting of news.
Post by: The Iceman on May 18, 2016, 02:57:13 PM
El Cuervo I absolutely agree - the bigger story is that it's in the Irish News - I think it escalated out of control.  I'm not surprised they published it - there is an ongoing history of the media and people in general to take a dig at the Church.  As pointed out you only have to read the comments to understand people's motivations for posting.  Some are in defense and in support of Fr Rory while grinding their axe with the Church..... The Irish News is no less guilty.  Making it front page was a huge mistake.  I think the reporter didn't agree with the backlash and had initially thought they had let Fr Rory off lightly by publishing hardly any of the facts - when everyone complained perhaps the reported in an effort to justify the first article and in an attempt to justify the journalism, revealed even more.....?

To quote "judge not lest you be judged" is great. But it's one line in a big book of teaching. It's one message, albeit a great one, in a long line of messages.  In quoting that line you can't overlook the other lines, the other messages.  To follow Christ we need to look at all of them and not pick and choose whichever ones make us most comfortable.  I like the story of the woman caught in adultery.  Jesus didn't publicly judge (He did acknowledge her sin) He did not condemn her, but He did say this "Go and sin no more"
That's the part that has to go hand in hand with "judge not lest you be judged".  We are all accountable to each other as the body of Christ.  Priests have an even greater accountability and responsibility as shepherds of the block.  None of this is lost to Fr Rory.  Our job and his is to love as Christ loved, to turn away from our own sin and call others away from theirs "go and sin no more"

If Fr Rory, upon reflection, re-commits himself to the Church he will be re-instated.  Maybe even in Armagh.  Like Fr Dallat in St Peters in Belfast.  Thats what I believe will happen. None of us will know for at least a year I would say.  Fr Rory may also decide to leave.  Perhaps the draw of the other life is too much for him...who knows.
Keep him in your prayers and his family.  Terrible time for them all.
Post by: Longshanks on May 18, 2016, 03:05:01 PM
Totally agree with icemans comments on this, balanced and fair.
Post by: Oldhacker on May 18, 2016, 03:11:32 PM
KW, the person in question is a former student at the college but Fr Rory is its present chaplain. As well as his role as a school governor, he is still listed as the assistant secretary to the Armagh GAA county board as well as a member of its management committee and a delegate to the Ulster Council. Social media reports say that he posted his mobile number with the images on Grindr, a website which involves a very specific set of activities. No one has suggested any illegal conduct, but, when you say you are not sure if there is anything to `get away with' in his case, are you proposing that he should simply resume all his existing responsibilities, educational, sporting and spiritual ?
Post by: Applesisapples on May 18, 2016, 03:13:49 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 18, 2016, 02:57:13 PM
El Cuervo I absolutely agree - the bigger story is that it's in the Irish News - I think it escalated out of control.  I'm not surprised they published it - there is an ongoing history of the media and people in general to take a dig at the Church.  As pointed out you only have to read the comments to understand people's motivations for posting.  Some are in defense and in support of Fr Rory while grinding their axe with the Church..... The Irish News is no less guilty.  Making it front page was a huge mistake.  I think the reporter didn't agree with the backlash and had initially thought they had let Fr Rory off lightly by publishing hardly any of the facts - when everyone complained perhaps the reported in an effort to justify the first article and in an attempt to justify the journalism, revealed even more.....?

To quote "judge not lest you be judged" is great. But it's one line in a big book of teaching. It's one message, albeit a great one, in a long line of messages.  In quoting that line you can't overlook the other lines, the other messages.  To follow Christ we need to look at all of them and not pick and choose whichever ones make us most comfortable.  I like the story of the woman caught in adultery.  Jesus didn't publicly judge (He did acknowledge her sin) He did not condemn her, but He did say this "Go and sin no more"
That's the part that has to go hand in hand with "judge not lest you be judged".  We are all accountable to each other as the body of Christ.  Priests have an even greater accountability and responsibility as shepherds of the block.  None of this is lost to Fr Rory.  Our job and his is to love as Christ loved, to turn away from our own sin and call others away from theirs "go and sin no more"

If Fr Rory, upon reflection, re-commits himself to the Church he will be re-instated.  Maybe even in Armagh.  Like Fr Dallat in St Peters in Belfast.  Thats what I believe will happen. None of us will know for at least a year I would say.  Fr Rory may also decide to leave.  Perhaps the draw of the other life is too much for him...who knows.
Keep him in your prayers and his family.  Terrible time for them all.
But here's the thing Fr Rory did not commit adultery, he broke a priestly vow, I'm certain Christ would not have condemned him for being Gay. I accept that as a Priest it may have not been the most sensible thing to have done. But it really takes me to the fair when so called Christians show absolutely no compassion or understanding when someone can't hack the loneliness of the celibate life and craves some company, no matter how he goes about getting it.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 18, 2016, 03:15:04 PM
Quote from: Oldhacker on May 18, 2016, 03:11:32 PM
KW, the person in question is a former student at the college but Fr Rory is its present chaplain. As well as his role as a school governor, he is still listed as the assistant secretary to the Armagh GAA county board as well as a member of its management committee and a delegate to the Ulster Council. Social media reports say that he posted his mobile number with the images on Grindr, a website which involves a very specific set of activities. No one has suggested any illegal conduct, but, when you say you are not sure if there is anything to `get away with' in his case, are you proposing that he should simply resume all his existing responsibilities, educational, sporting and spiritual ?
Spiritual aside what precludes him from his other roles?
Post by: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 03:47:33 PM
If one cannot hack the loneliness of the priestly life one does the honourable thing and leaves the priesthood.One certainly does not attempt to conceal his priestly status on dodgy websites thus deceiving his priestly colleagues and parishioners.
Post by: Applesisapples on May 18, 2016, 03:50:52 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 03:47:33 PM
If one cannot hack the loneliness of the priestly life one does the honourable thing and leaves the priesthood.One certainly does not attempt to conceal his priestly status on dodgy websites thus deceiving his priestly colleagues and parishioners.
The font of (un)Christian charity as always.
Post by: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 04:10:40 PM
Charity and Christian Compassion has to be earned.It is not owed to people who deliberately try to deceive and lead double lives.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 18, 2016, 04:23:23 PM
Surely this is news worthy. He may not have committed a crime but you are expected to maintain a certain standard of behaviour when involved in school governing boards, spitting organisations and the church. Sending naked pictures of yourself while in these positions is definitely not something that is s casual misdemeanour - if it were a teacher and it went public would you expect them to carry on as normal. It is misconduct.
Post by: Keyboard Warrior on May 18, 2016, 04:34:52 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on May 18, 2016, 03:15:04 PM
Quote from: Oldhacker on May 18, 2016, 03:11:32 PM
Spiritual aside what precludes him from his other roles?
Post by: Throw ball on May 18, 2016, 06:45:48 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 18, 2016, 04:23:23 PM
Surely this is news worthy. He may not have committed a crime but you are expected to maintain a certain standard of behaviour when involved in school governing boards, spitting organisations and the church. Sending naked pictures of yourself while in these positions is definitely not something that is s casual misdemeanour - if it were a teacher and it went public would you expect them to carry on as normal. It is misconduct.

A married father goes on a dating website, posts pictures and meets up with a woman who is not his wife. He also happens to give out communion in church. Does this make headline news? Fr Rory was married to the church. He has no children. He has let his parish down. But a good time prior to the story breaking he went to the arch bishop to ask for time out to reflect. The Irish News is being an arbiter on right and wrong. I think they are wrong. I also feel very sorry for Fr Rory's family and friends.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 18, 2016, 09:00:41 PM
Bang on throwball except i think they are going for sensationalism to try and grab headlines. Not sure they are trying to be arbitrer but more going down the gutter press line. Aiming to target the morally outraged brigade of which there are many these days.
Post by: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 09:14:27 PM
It is newsworthy when a prominent priest impregnates a woman or posts nude pictures of himself on a gay website,or when a dentist kills his wife and lover's spouse and rightly so.In all cases these three have betrayed the trust of their parishioners or patients.They deserve to be exposed.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 18, 2016, 09:19:44 PM
Is it front page newsworthy? Like the sdlp councillor who got maligned at the chapel? I hardly think so.

I like how you grouped the murder with the priest being gay ::)

The paper is becoming a rag.
Post by: armaghniac on May 18, 2016, 09:24:39 PM
Newsworthy, yes. Front page worthy, no. But we are all talking about the Irish News and it isn't hard to see why they do it.
Post by: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 09:24:59 PM
These are newsworthy items as are any relating to prominent people.Are you saying there should be censorship?
Post by: imtommygunn on May 18, 2016, 09:27:11 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 09:24:59 PM
These are newsworthy items as are any relating to prominent people.Are you saying there should be censorship?

2+ 2 = anything other than 4 ::)

No i am not. Why the need for front page. Are there not more important things going on?
Post by: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 09:30:22 PM
Whats the difference it will still be read no matter where it appears.A prominent former GAA player was featured on front page for stealing from his employer recently.Was that wrong?
Post by: No wides on May 18, 2016, 09:37:30 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 18, 2016, 04:23:23 PM

So is the rocket man and lead man in downtown abbey but they can afford super injunctions.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 18, 2016, 09:39:01 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 09:30:22 PM
Whats the difference it will still be read no matter where it appears.A prominent former GAA player was featured on front page for stealing from his employer recently.Was that wrong?

There is a big difference. So when these papers print apologies they print them in small print on some obscure inside page. If the front page and the inside page were the same then sure why would they not print it on the front page.

You are comparing something which is not a crime with something which is a crime so it is not a valid comparison but you want an answer that suits your point. previously you compared a dentist and his then partner murdering with it. Both comparisons say a lot really.
Post by: No wides on May 18, 2016, 09:40:42 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 09:24:59 PM

There is thats the point dont see the rag mention the wealthys misdemeanors.
Post by: No wides on May 18, 2016, 09:49:24 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 18, 2016, 09:52:21 AM
I'm amazed that people are surprised / disappointed  that the Irish News ran the story, I really am. What would you expect a newspaper to do with such a story, sit on it because it's a priest? If had've came to light at a future date that they did, there would have been an outcry that they're in the pocket of the RC Church. Cant have it both ways.

I recall gerry mcquillian wasn't even front page.
Post by: rrhf on May 18, 2016, 10:40:28 PM
This man has committed no crime and most men are flawed and can make mistakes with relationships / sex  whether they are straight or gay orientated. Perhaps the loneliness of church life creates an environment where these websites  are an  outlet. Each to their own and certainly nobodies business except his church and his own. Time for Armagh people to stand up for one of their own.
Post by: No wides on May 18, 2016, 10:52:43 PM
You under estimate the bigotry in ard mhacha
Post by: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 10:52:59 PM
On the contrary ,I think it is the business of his parishioners and the wider devout Catholic community.We do not want our priests leading double lives of deception.If they cannot remain celibate they should immediately leave ministry.

Also he is a Louth native,not Armagh.
Post by: No wides on May 18, 2016, 11:04:35 PM
Plus McQuillan didnt leave he got the f**k kicked out of him and got jailed and Brady washed that over as well!
Post by: Applesisapples on May 19, 2016, 11:20:07 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 09:30:22 PM
Difference being he was convicted of a crime.
Post by: AhNowRef on May 19, 2016, 12:14:35 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 10:52:59 PM
We do not want our priests leading double lives of deception.

Quote from: T Fearon on May 18, 2016, 03:47:33 PM
.One certainly does not attempt to conceal his priestly status on dodgy websites thus deceiving his priestly colleagues and parishioners.

Hmm "Conceal" is a great word  .. as is "Deceiving" ...

Yes, I suppose in your thinking its much better to frighten the life out of little children, with the promise of eternal damnation, against telling the truth to their parents (or anyone) about a child molester "at large" .. and then continue to conceal the evidence from the correct authorities and the other children's parents involved, so that the monster paedo in question could and did continue on his jollies, and then to top it all off, spend years and years denying it and going through the courts to try and conceal the evidence of his actions and suppress it from being released..... Now what sort of a human being would do that .. a pretty disgusting one I'd have thought .. Yet you like to castigate a man who has essentially done harm to no one (but possibly himself)... yet your facilitator friend has concealed & deceived on a grand and disgusting scale..

What a Christian you are  ::)
Post by: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 02:16:35 PM
Judging by Alison Morris' column in today's paper she reads this thread.Pity she can't get her head round the fact that the church cannot be "compassionate" about sinful behaviour.
Post by: No wides on May 19, 2016, 02:26:46 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 02:16:35 PM
Judging by Alison Morris' column in today's paper she reads this thread.Pity she can't get her head round the fact that the church cannot be "compassionate" about sinful year.

She's a hypocritical wench who has no compassion for Fr Rory just sensationalism to sell their rag;

The editorial team and indeed the Catholic Church spokesman we contacted for comment were immediately concerned with Fr Coyle's welfare and how we would report on a matter of public interest without causing him further distress.

What a load of balls, so plastering a picture of him on the front page and opening his personal life to the world wouldn't have caused him distress, thank god I stopped buying this rag years ago, even their GAA coverage is sh1te now.
Post by: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 07:35:46 PM
Are they supposed to suppress news and leave this to be revealed in a Sunday tabloid whose coverage would be of the sensational variety?
Post by: Nigel White on May 19, 2016, 08:09:43 PM
Quote from: No wides on May 19, 2016, 02:26:46 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 02:16:35 PM
Judging by Alison Morris' column in today's paper she reads this thread.Pity she can't get her head round the fact that the church cannot be "compassionate" about sinful year.

She's a hypocritical wench who has no compassion for Fr Rory just sensationalism to sell their rag;

The editorial team and indeed the Catholic Church spokesman we contacted for comment were immediately concerned with Fr Coyle's welfare and how we would report on a matter of public interest without causing him further distress.

What a load of balls, so plastering a picture of him on the front page and opening his personal life to the world wouldn't have caused him distress, thank god I stopped buying this rag years ago, even their GAA coverage is sh1te now.
Great post.
Post by: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 08:47:02 PM
Thanks.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 19, 2016, 09:41:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 07:35:46 PM
Are they supposed to suppress news and leave this to be revealed in a Sunday tabloid whose coverage would be of the sensational variety?

Ah they were doing him a favour i see.

I really hope you are a made up person and don't believe what you write.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2016, 09:44:54 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 19, 2016, 09:41:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 07:35:46 PM

Ah they were doing him a favour i see.

I really hope you are a made up person and don't believe what you write.
LOL  ;D
Post by: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 10:02:52 PM
Serious question.Is news to be suppressed? Why is it ok to report the vile activities of paedophile so called priests and not of priests posting naked pictures of themselves on gay websites while describing their occupation as "Lecturer?"

A priest occupies a special place still in the community,so in my opinion if they do anything to abuse the trust of their flock it is most certainly newsworthy.
Post by: No wides on May 19, 2016, 10:24:01 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 10:02:52 PM
Serious question.Is news to be suppressed? Why is it ok to report the vile activities of paedophile so called priests and not of priests posting naked pictures of themselves on gay websites while describing their occupation as "Lecturer?"

A priest occupies a special place still in the community,so in my opinion if they do anything to abuse the trust of their flock it is most certainly newsworthy.

So why did gerry mcquillan not make front page?
Post by: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 10:27:44 PM
I never mentioned "front pages" As a daily Irish News reader I read the paper from cover to cover,as I assume most regular readers do.Are we now using the daft argument that this particular story would have been OK had it been featured on the inside pages?
Post by: armaghniac on May 19, 2016, 10:32:31 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 10:27:44 PM
I never mentioned "front pages" As a daily Irish News reader I read the paper from cover to cover,as I assume most regular readers do.Are we now using the daft argument that this particular story would have been OK had it been featured on the inside pages?

Would we be discussing it here if it appeared on an inside page?
Post by: No wides on May 19, 2016, 10:37:19 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 19, 2016, 10:32:31 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 10:27:44 PM

Would we be discussing it here if it appeared on an inside page?

Exactly the rag that is the Irish News wanted to degrade a young man who is obviously going through a very distressing time by berating him very publicly, they are scum, but as Tony points out he is from Louth so that makes it ok!!!!!!
Post by: T Fearon on May 19, 2016, 10:48:33 PM
Cobblers.The story was headlined "Support for popular Priest" and dealt sensitively with a newsworthy item in the public interest.Far better than the public finding this out via a sensationalist story in a Sunday tabloid.

Irish News is the best quality paper on this island hence its wide circulation figures
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on May 27, 2016, 01:46:46 PM
Another reason why 'never to buy the IN again' after today's "scandal/exclusive".

Well, it's also online for free, so I can read its tabloid sh1te on the 'puter for naffin...
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 27, 2016, 01:54:04 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on May 27, 2016, 01:46:46 PM
Another reason why 'never to buy the IN again' after today's "scandal/exclusive".

Well, it's also online for free, so I can read its tabloid sh1te on the 'puter for naffin...
I think some of this is already in the public domain as apparently PSNI North Antrim page on Facebook put out a warning the other night about potential for these scams after having reports from Loughgiel. But your general point applies that it is nose-diving into Daily Star territory.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 28, 2016, 02:33:09 PM
Who was the player? Surely he is the one who let the story out.
Post by: armaghniac on May 28, 2016, 02:57:15 PM
Any man that waves his willy at a webcam is taking his reputation in his hands.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 28, 2016, 05:18:07 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 28, 2016, 02:33:09 PM
You're as bad as the tabloids.
Post by: T Fearon on May 28, 2016, 07:32:47 PM
Once again is the paper supposed to censor bad or embarrassing news?
Post by: redzone on May 28, 2016, 08:05:32 PM

Winker
Post by: general_lee on May 28, 2016, 11:59:04 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 28, 2016, 07:32:47 PM
It's not a story though
Post by: general_lee on May 29, 2016, 07:53:29 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 29, 2016, 12:05:16 AM
Quote from: general_lee on May 28, 2016, 11:59:04 PM
It's not a story though
It is a story. Remember that a young lad died recently due to one of these scams. We shouldn't pretend that they don't exist.
Who it happened to (in this case) is not a story. No need to identify who it was. I was able to guess who it was ffs. I'm sure the individual involved heads wrecked enough as it is without the Irish News giving clues to his identity
Post by: T Fearon on May 29, 2016, 08:17:08 AM
When anyone prominent and well known steps out of line it is a story,it sells papers.Irish News breaks these stories with greater sensitivity than seedy Sunday tabloids,where the story will also inevitably feature
Post by: Maguire01 on May 29, 2016, 08:42:52 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 29, 2016, 08:17:08 AM
When anyone prominent and well known steps out of line it is a story,it sells papers.Irish News breaks these stories with greater sensitivity than seedy Sunday tabloids,where the story will also inevitably feature
It's 'public interest' vs 'things the public are interested in'. Just because something will sell papers doesn't mean it should be printed. How 'sensitively' the story is written is irrelevant. People won't remember the specific words in a paper, they'll remember the story.
Post by: T Fearon on May 29, 2016, 08:46:17 AM
It is still news,which is the reason why newspapers exist and a free press as well,thankfully.Revelations about for example a paedophile priest no doubt cause great distress to him and his victims.Are you saying this shouldn't be printed?
Post by: Maguire01 on May 29, 2016, 08:50:05 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 29, 2016, 08:46:17 AM
It is still news,which is the reason why newspapers exist and a free press as well,thankfully.Revelations about for example a paedophile priest no doubt cause great distress to him and his victims.Are you saying this shouldn't be printed?
That's public interest. It's crime. And the identity of victims is generally protected, unless they choose to go public. If you can't see the difference between the different scenarios...
Post by: general_lee on May 29, 2016, 09:00:05 AM
This is newsworthy in the sense that it highlights the importance of staying safe online. The individual does not need to be identified nor do clues to his identity need to be made public. The Irish News 10 years ago would have left it at that.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 29, 2016, 09:05:01 AM
Quote from: redzone on May 28, 2016, 08:05:32 PM

Winker

Heard about this the other day, crazy stuff, all of it
Post by: Gaffer on May 30, 2016, 08:05:46 AM
Quote from: general_lee on May 29, 2016, 07:53:29 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 29, 2016, 12:05:16 AM
Quote from: general_lee on May 28, 2016, 11:59:04 PM
It's not a story though
It is a story. Remember that a young lad died recently due to one of these scams. We shouldn't pretend that they don't exist.
Who it happened to (in this case) is not a story. No need to identify who it was. I was able to guess who it was ffs. I'm sure the individual involved heads wrecked enough as it is without the Irish News giving clues to his identity

How were you able to guess who it was?
Post by: T Fearon on May 30, 2016, 08:25:11 AM
MR2 is smart with deep intuitive powers.
Post by: bennydorano on June 11, 2016, 11:13:42 AM
Interesting front page story today, Catholic Church gifted a house in Drumbo & Carryduff (outskirts of Belfast) in a person's will, reading between the lines its been sold at considerably under market value with a nod and a wink, the Parish Finance Committee were dismissed from their positions for having the temerity to ask searching questions! Go Catholic Church.
Post by: T Fearon on June 11, 2016, 11:54:18 AM
No.Go greedy priests.
Post by: bennydorano on June 11, 2016, 12:01:24 PM
Is greed the issue?? Corruption / Nepotism / Cronyism more likely I would have thought (& I honestly don't know the full story), if it was greed he'd surely not have undervalued it.
Post by: screenexile on June 11, 2016, 12:58:26 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 11, 2016, 12:01:24 PM
Is greed the issue?? Corruption / Nepotism / Cronyism more likely I would have thought (& I honestly don't know the full story), if it was greed he'd surely not have undervalued it.

I imagine the difference in value could have been gifted to said Priest possibly??
Post by: Dubh driocht on June 11, 2016, 03:20:43 PM
Patrick Murphy's column in today's paper should be obligatory reading for all
Post by: T Fearon on June 11, 2016, 09:34:42 PM
Parish Finance Committee,made up of lay people,did its job,raised concerns, informed other parishioners and as a result the Bishop has initiated a full independent audit.Congratulations Catholic Church on robust and effective procedures.Maybe the Government could follow suit.
Post by: johnneycool on June 11, 2016, 09:59:03 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 11, 2016, 09:34:42 PM
Parish Finance Committee,made up of lay people,did its job,raised concerns, informed other parishioners and as a result the Bishop has initiated a full independent audit.Congratulations Catholic Church on robust and effective procedures.Maybe the Government could follow suit.

Did the finance committee get booted out when they first raised concerns last year?
Post by: T Fearon on June 11, 2016, 10:17:25 PM
They have done their job,and the independent audit will prove or disprove any irregularities.Once again anti Catholics all too quick to blame the Church without knowing any facts.Finance Committees are regularly disbanded in many organisations.Let the audit proceed and the fact that it is proceeding proves the efficacy of systems and procedures
Post by: johnneycool on June 11, 2016, 10:29:12 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 11, 2016, 10:17:25 PM
They have done their job,and the independent audit will prove or disprove any irregularities.Once again anti Catholics all too quick to blame the Church without knowing any facts.Finance Committees are regularly disbanded in many organisations.Let the audit proceed and the fact that it is proceeding proves the efficacy of systems and procedures

Who disbanded them?
Post by: T Fearon on June 11, 2016, 10:30:59 PM
The Parish Priest,the fact that the Bishop has ordered an independent financial audit means that wrongdoing and whoever is responsible for it will be exposed
Post by: bennydorano on June 11, 2016, 10:45:18 PM
You mean the Parish Priest like
Post by: T Fearon on June 12, 2016, 05:29:25 AM
If that is the case,yes,and he should face the consequences,but let's wait until the audit takes place before jumping to any conclusions.
Post by: johnneycool on June 12, 2016, 08:02:56 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 11, 2016, 10:30:59 PM
The Parish Priest,the fact that the Bishop has ordered an independent financial audit means that wrongdoing and whoever is responsible for it will be exposed

So the parish finance committee were removed by the very same priest they'd concerns about over a year ago.
Our Noel was a bit slow in acting was he not?

Post by: T Fearon on June 12, 2016, 10:04:40 AM
These things take time.Perhaps there were and are legitimate reasons for their removal.Lets wait to hear both sides of the story,and not indulge in catholic bashing immediately upon hearing about any controversy,however hard it may be for anti Catholics to resist.The audit will tell the tale,and it is the procedures that have produced the audit.
Post by: Smokin Joe on June 12, 2016, 04:32:13 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 12, 2016, 10:04:40 AM
Perhaps there were and are legitimate reasons for their removal.Lets wait to hear both sides of the story,and not indulge in catholic bashing immediately upon hearing about any controversy

Now if only you took you own advice Tony.  You aren't usually so keen to waiting to hear both sides of the story, but perhaps it depends what dog you have in the particular fight.
Post by: StGallsGAA on November 12, 2016, 07:07:47 PM
Did anyone see today's Irish News?  Pic of Dee Stitt with the caption underneath referring to him as "North Down DUP Commander"!   :)
Post by: delgany on November 12, 2016, 11:39:57 PM
Irish news .  90p on Monday! 
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 13, 2016, 12:56:47 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 11, 2016, 11:13:42 AM
Interesting front page story today, Catholic Church gifted a house in Drumbo & Carryduff (outskirts of Belfast) in a person's will, reading between the lines its been sold at considerably under market value with a nod and a wink, the Parish Finance Committee were dismissed from their positions for having the temerity to ask searching questions! Go Catholic Church.
If I remember correctly an old lady in Camlough, Betsy Doyle, left a plot of land to the local community and the Parish Priest tried to sell if yo a housing developer
Post by: johnneycool on November 13, 2016, 11:23:46 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on November 13, 2016, 12:56:47 AM
If I remember correctly an old lady in Camlough, Betsy Doyle, left a plot of land to the local community and the Parish Priest tried to sell if yo a housing developer

I heard yesterday that the priest involved has "retired".

I didn't think priests retired nowadays.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on November 13, 2016, 12:04:47 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on November 13, 2016, 11:23:46 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on November 13, 2016, 12:56:47 AM

I heard yesterday that the priest involved has "retired".

I didn't think priests retired nowadays.
yep hes retired ok not just the house  being sold that questions were being asked of father kelly , whole things reeks of a cover up and once again the catholic church is doing itself no favours
Post by: T Fearon on November 13, 2016, 12:14:30 PM
Surely if anything is left to anybody then same anybody has a right to do what he or she likes with his or her inheritance,including selling it?
Post by: Newbridge Exile on November 13, 2016, 01:26:57 PM
The  Parish finance committee was sacked  (without proper authority as  regulations state  "If a member is to be removed the Bishop should be informed and a reason given". when they began asking questions not just about the sale of the house but also about they way parish services such as building works had been " procured" . , I have seen the copy of the letter that the finance committee sent to parishioners in May this year detailing the  background  of their concerns and that Despite informing the Bishop of our concerns in July 2015, and filing a formal complaint in October 2015,they had yet to receive any assurances to several specific concerns about the financial stewardship of the Parish.,(as well as the sale of the house other specific matters raised were as to why the parish bank account was suspended in July 2015)
Post by: T Fearon on November 13, 2016, 02:46:23 PM
If I was a member of a committee and felt I wasn't getting the whole story,I'd be gone in a flash,without the need for a "sacking".There are two sides to every story,usually personality clashes,but if anyone,including a priest, has acted inappropriately, then they should not escape the consequences
Post by: Newbridge Exile on November 13, 2016, 03:12:04 PM
So the finance committee should have resigned and walked away rather than trying to ensure sound financial stewardship of the parish was in place, yep that no doubt is what father Kelly was hoping for ,
Post by: T Fearon on November 13, 2016, 03:25:37 PM
Surely if the finance committee had resigned en masse,it would have drawn greater attention to their concerns.

I have seen too much dissention on practically every committee I've been involved with,usually to do with personality clashes.If they have concerns and these are not being addressed why not go to the Police?
Post by: johnneycool on November 13, 2016, 03:39:06 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 13, 2016, 03:25:37 PM
Surely if the finance committee had resigned en masse,it would have drawn greater attention to their concerns.

I have seen too much dissention on practically every committee I've been involved with,usually to do with personality clashes.If they have concerns and these are not being addressed why not go to the Police?

Yip Tony,
.   you'd do anything other than question the integrity of a man of the cloth, that goes without saying as we all know.
As for the house, it was left to the parish, not the priest, but once again the hierarchy went into cover-up mode and it was only when the stood down finance committee were forced to go public with this that the bishop bothered his arse.
Post by: T Fearon on November 13, 2016, 03:52:18 PM
If anyone has done anything wrong,then cloth or no cloth,they should face the consequences.Like no priest ever disagreed or failed to comply with orders from his Bishop?

None of us know any great deal of detail about this,so why speculate or assume the priest has done wrong?
Post by: Orior on November 13, 2016, 08:35:04 PM
Quote from: delgany on November 12, 2016, 11:39:57 PM
Irish news .  90p on Monday!

Good tip! I often go in with exact change.
Post by: johnneycool on November 14, 2016, 10:43:12 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 13, 2016, 03:52:18 PM
If anyone has done anything wrong,then cloth or no cloth,they should face the consequences.Like no priest ever disagreed or failed to comply with orders from his Bishop?

None of us know any great deal of detail about this,so why speculate or assume the priest has done wrong?

No doubt the parishioners of Carryduff and Drumbo will be hearing from the Bishop sooner rather than later once the findings of his investigation are completed and shared with them!!!

Aye right, just keep paying your stipend and shut ta f**k up is the order of the day.
Post by: WT4E on November 14, 2016, 03:12:08 PM

Keep up the good work

Always consider this to be my greatest achievement on gaaboard - A simple question and we're 18 pages into a big debate.

And to think that christmas Lights hoor was giving me guff about it!
Post by: muppet on November 14, 2016, 03:23:50 PM
Quote from: WT4E on November 14, 2016, 03:12:08 PM

Keep up the good work

Always consider this to be my greatest achievement on gaaboard - A simple question and we're 18 pages into a big debate.

And to think that christmas Lights hoor was giving me guff about it!

If fairness he posted that in July, so was bound to be a bit off colour.  :D
Post by: longballin on November 25, 2016, 09:58:47 AM
Memo to Irish News staff - If at all possible get a picture of Mickey Harte on the front page.
Post by: screenexile on November 25, 2016, 10:24:38 AM
Quote from: longballin on November 25, 2016, 09:58:47 AM
Memo to Irish News staff - If at all possible get a picture of Mickey Harte on the front page.

And preferably Sean on the back!!
Post by: The Trap on November 25, 2016, 10:31:12 AM
Can anyone post up Kevin Maddens article in the paper this week. Thought it was spot on if 8/10 years too late!!!!
Post by: bennydorano on January 13, 2018, 11:40:10 AM
There's been a great 2 part interview with Joey Cunningham in yesterday & today's paper.
Post by: Targetman on January 13, 2018, 10:56:24 PM
Yep good article, I remember watching Joey playing for Newry Town many years ago, that Kirk Hunter was a right tr**p!!
Post by: LeoMc on January 13, 2018, 11:53:17 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 13, 2018, 11:40:10 AM
There's been a great 2 part interview with Joey Cunningham in yesterday & today's paper.
Good article. That is what we need more of. With social media papers are not always going to be first to the stories do they need good features and depth to give what we won't get in 140 characters.
Post by: T Fearon on January 14, 2018, 10:15:14 AM
Good article,but back in the day,was there a black player anywhere in these islands who didn't get abuse? Before Joey,Alan Gracey,from my own home parish though the other side of the house,often joked about Linfield fans calling him a black fenian bastard when he played for Glentoran.

Also I remember Benny Laryea getting dogs abuse from the visiting fans of all clubs while he played for Dundalk. Sadly this was par for the course in that era, and thankfully it has been eliminated now,for the most part.
Post by: under the bar on March 03, 2018, 01:13:24 PM
IN has Joe Kernan and McGeeney with Sam 02 on the cover today. Nice of them to enlighten younger readers that Armagh actually used to compete for trophies 😉
Post by: Avondhu star on March 03, 2018, 02:28:17 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 03, 2018, 01:13:24 PM
IN has Joe Kernan and McGeeney with Sam 02 on the cover today. Nice of them to enlighten younger readers that Armagh actually used to compete for trophies 😉
And with the forward talent they had should have won a lot more. Marsden McConville Stevie from Killeavy Clarke and others didnt get from the game what they should have
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 03, 2018, 04:09:44 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on March 03, 2018, 02:28:17 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 03, 2018, 01:13:24 PM
And with the forward talent they had should have won a lot more. Marsden McConville Stevie from Killeavy Clarke and others didnt get from the game what they should have

They were close to more Sams, were a top team for almost a decade. The Fermanagh defeat in '04 would be seen as the biggest regret.
Post by: BennyCake on March 03, 2018, 04:31:49 PM
Ah ffs, not this again.

We won one. Might have won more, but might have won none. I would imagine this Mayo team would rip your head off for a sole AI win.

Mayo are a fine team who may end up with nothing. It could have happened to us or any competing team. So let's move on.
Post by: ONeill on March 03, 2018, 05:16:35 PM
If Marsden hadn't hit Jordan you'd have 2.
Post by: Orior on March 03, 2018, 05:27:56 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 03, 2018, 05:16:35 PM

Still waiting on Jordan to apologise.
Post by: under the bar on March 03, 2018, 06:42:20 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 03, 2018, 05:27:56 PM

What did she do to you?
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 03, 2018, 06:59:17 PM

Yep.
(https://i.imgur.com/ID1pI5f.jpg)
Post by: under the bar on March 03, 2018, 07:11:42 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on March 03, 2018, 06:59:17 PM

Yep.
(https://i.imgur.com/ID1pI5f.jpg)

Jeez, I never saw it from that angle before.  Marsen has completely pole-axed him.  Definitely a sending off.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 03, 2018, 08:26:59 PM
Really, surprising then that the disciplinary committee rescinded the red crd after reviewing video evidence.
Post by: randomusername on March 03, 2018, 08:30:55 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on March 03, 2018, 08:26:59 PM
Really, surprising then that the disciplinary committee rescinded the red crd after reviewing video evidence.

In fairness Philly saw Marsden and Gormley locking heads and he ran in looking for it. I'm a Tyrone man, but I think he knew was he was doing.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 03, 2018, 08:39:03 PM

He got off on a technicality not because he was innocent. There was no evidence to suggest he didn't strike
Post by: illdecide on March 03, 2018, 09:48:59 PM

Why do u think Armagh would have won...Tyrone were still on top with 15 v 15 and if my memory serves me correct Tyrone won by 3pts, Would Marsden have scored 4pts or Armagh...I for one think Tyrone would have ground out the result anyway even if Marsden stayed on the pitch...But we'll never know
Post by: stephenite on March 03, 2018, 10:22:17 PM

Nicely played😂
Post by: Windmill abu on March 03, 2018, 10:34:29 PM
Wasn't the only reason Armagh appealed the red card because they couldn't take their beating and the needed something to whinge about?
Post by: Avondhu star on March 03, 2018, 10:39:51 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 03, 2018, 06:42:20 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 03, 2018, 05:27:56 PM

What did she do to you?
Well Colm O Rourke did make reference to Jordans "headlights" one night on the Sunday Game but I dont think he was referring to the Armagh Tyrone games
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 03, 2018, 10:49:23 PM
For fcuk sake lads! It's 2018. Let's all agree that Jordan dived and move on.
Post by: StGallsGAA on March 03, 2018, 10:54:10 PM

Insider info would tell you after Armagh's umpteenth appeal they grew tired of traipsing to Croker to listen to barely intelligible rehashings of the same story from hoors who didn't have to pay for their own diesel....
Post by: tonto1888 on March 04, 2018, 08:13:58 AM

We weren't winning that one anyway.
Now, Geezer being brought off in 05 is a different story
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 04, 2018, 09:03:39 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on March 04, 2018, 08:13:58 AM

Post by: Taylor on March 04, 2018, 09:59:53 AM
Geezer was having a nightmare. Getting cleaned and was made look like an old man by Mc guitar for the point
Post by: Throw ball on March 04, 2018, 10:19:46 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 03, 2018, 10:49:23 PM
For fcuk sake lads! It's 2018. Let's all agree that Jordan dived and move on.

What he said.
Post by: under the bar on March 04, 2018, 10:27:44 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on March 04, 2018, 09:03:39 AM

-1 as Kerry likely would've bate.them out the door as they should've done in 02 and did in 06    People keep forgetting how much Kerry dominated that 02 game.
Post by: charlieTully on March 04, 2018, 11:20:33 AM
Quote from: under the bar on March 04, 2018, 10:27:44 AM

-1 as Kerry likely would've bate.them out the door as they should've done in 02 and did in 06    People keep forgetting how much Kerry dominated that 02 game.

Exactly. Fcuk Armagh and all belonging to them. Kerry gifted them one.
Post by: ONeill on March 04, 2018, 11:34:49 AM
When you think about it Tyrone sorta killed Armagh that day. The applechompers never really won a big game in Croke Park fairly since then....15 years ago.

Post by: seafoid on March 04, 2018, 11:51:57 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 04, 2018, 11:34:49 AM
When you think about it Tyrone sorta killed Armagh that day. The applechompers never really won a big game in Croke Park fairly since then....15 years ago.
That is what happens when teams fade into mediocrity, as Tyrone are now learning
Post by: tonto1888 on March 04, 2018, 12:26:16 PM
Quote from: Taylor on March 04, 2018, 09:59:53 AM
Geezer was having a nightmare. Getting cleaned and was made look like an old man by Mc guitar for the point

You've clearly never listened to Sean Cavanaghs views on it
Post by: BennyCake on March 04, 2018, 04:31:51 PM

Shoulda woulda coulda...
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on March 04, 2018, 07:13:23 PM

As the French might say, bolleau!

Armagh dominated the second half: the one point victory did not reflect their dominance.

I've watched it often since - I'd hazard a guess you haven't watched it since the match actually finished.

Post by: StGallsGAA on March 04, 2018, 08:41:02 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on March 04, 2018, 07:13:23 PM

As the French might say, bolleau!

Armagh dominated the second half: the one point victory did not reflect their dominance.

I've watched it often since - I'd hazard a guess you haven't watched it since the match actually finished.

I seem to remember Kerry hitting a lot of wides in the last 10 mins and Armagh hanging on to the slim 1 point lead?  Maybe that's not how it happened but I do remember thinking at the time that if the game had gone on for another couple of mins it would have been a draw.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 04, 2018, 09:54:41 PM
When mcgeeney out that block in you just knew nothing was beating armagh that day. (Non armagh person here...)
Post by: RedHand88 on March 05, 2018, 02:46:27 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 04, 2018, 11:51:57 AM
That is what happens when teams fade into mediocrity, as Tyrone are now learning

We are a long long way off Armagh standard yet.
Post by: screenexile on March 05, 2018, 02:57:02 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 05, 2018, 02:46:27 PM

There's a good chance you'll both be in Division 2 next year!
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 05, 2018, 03:18:21 PM

Probably following a Meath/Sean Boylan model of decline with the same failure to refresh.  Takes a little longer but still inevitable.
Post by: trailer on March 05, 2018, 05:12:02 PM
Armagh should've had 1 if not 2 AI's before 2002. Bumpy O'Hagan kicked one into the keepers arms against Kerry when row Z would've done. Cost Armagh an AI that decision.

Oh to be back in the mid 00's. In 2005 there was some titanic battles. The two best teams Ireland had ever seen up to that point. Only Dublin since have eclipsed them.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 05, 2018, 05:35:06 PM
Quote from: trailer on March 05, 2018, 05:12:02 PM
Armagh should've had 1 if not 2 AI's before 2002. Bumpy O'Hagan kicked one into the keepers arms against Kerry when row Z would've done. Cost Armagh an AI that decision.

Oh to be back in the mid 00's. In 2005 there was some titanic battles. The two best teams Ireland had ever seen up to that point. Only Dublin since have eclipsed them.

Bumpy appeared on the local news last week and that final kick came instantly to mind, anywhere in the Canal End would have done but he took the head staggers and went for glory.
Post by: An Watcher on March 05, 2018, 06:07:53 PM
Really enjoyed the first part of the Joe kernan article on Sat.  Have to say I was a little bit disappointed with the second part.   
Post by: Kidder81 on March 06, 2021, 11:12:18 AM
So Allison Morris away to the Belfast Telegraph, obviously she had her price and doesent care about professional credibility going to that rag
Post by: Orior on March 06, 2021, 12:00:53 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on March 06, 2021, 11:12:18 AM
So Allison Morris away to the Belfast Telegraph, obviously she had her price and doesent care about professional credibility going to that rag

That is disappointing news. I am sure Nelson McCausland will give her a warm welcome. Of course Allison has always had her knockers (oh err missus), but Northern Ireland is such a welcoming place for Roman Catholics (sic). Will Allison start writing for her audience instead of what she actually thinks? On the bright side, the bitterest of bitterness Dudley-Edwards found a new home with the Newsletter to continue her relentless rewriting of history i.e. Loyalism good, Nationalism bad.
Post by: Godsown on March 06, 2021, 12:25:50 PM

Seriously deluded. The best teams ever? Best two teams that year possibly but constantly wallowing in that rose tinted guff is nonsensical
Post by: RedHand88 on March 07, 2021, 09:27:55 AM

Somewhere right now, Pat Spillane is choking on his Coco Pops.
Post by: RedHand88 on March 07, 2021, 09:30:50 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on March 05, 2018, 03:18:21 PM

Probably following a Meath/Sean Boylan model of decline with the same failure to refresh.  Takes a little longer but still inevitable.

Funny that since the exchange, Tyrone have reached an AIF and a semi final. We haven't gone away you know.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 07, 2021, 10:57:17 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 07, 2021, 09:30:50 AM

Funny that since the exchange, Tyrone have reached an AIF and a semi final. We haven't gone away you know.

3 years later and an O'Neill windup is still paying dividends. Some of the more recent wums could learn a lesson
Post by: bennydorano on October 20, 2021, 04:04:12 PM
Should be big sales today, double page spread in the sports pages for a board member. Good article.
Post by: Rois on October 20, 2021, 04:39:56 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 20, 2021, 04:04:12 PM
Should be big sales today, double page spread in the sports pages for a board member. Good article.
I enjoyed it too.  I like those articles. 
Post by: never kickt a ball on October 20, 2021, 05:20:07 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on March 07, 2021, 10:57:17 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 07, 2021, 09:30:50 AM

3 years later and an O'Neill windup is still paying dividends. Some of the more recent wums could learn a lesson

😂😂😂 this discussion aged well
Post by: johnnycool on October 21, 2021, 09:13:04 AM
Quote from: Rois on October 20, 2021, 04:39:56 PM
I enjoyed it too.  I like those articles.

so do I. Always good to hear from the unsung hero's on those types of successful teams.

Fifteen Oisin McConvilles would win SFA.
Post by: Orior on October 21, 2021, 06:30:59 PM

Who was it?
Post by: RedHand88 on October 21, 2021, 06:50:59 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 21, 2021, 06:30:59 PM

Who was it?

Brokencrossbar I'm guessing. He's retiring after 170 years of playing football. ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2021, 09:18:40 PM
I wouldn't want to break any anonymity clauses on the board (its worst kept secret!) but it is available online. I have the link if it was permitted to post it.

Really good article from a sound fella. Loved the other lads landing a few digs  ;D
Post by: Never beat the deeler on October 21, 2021, 10:01:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 21, 2021, 09:18:40 PM
I wouldn't want to break any anonymity clauses on the board (its worst kept secret!) but it is available online. I have the link if it was permitted to post it.

Really good article from a sound fella. Loved the other lads landing a few digs  ;D

think you're safe enough. He outed himself on the retirements thread. IN article is linked - good craic