Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Boycey on December 03, 2017, 11:02:56 PM

Title: 50th Birthday
Post by: Boycey on December 03, 2017, 11:02:56 PM
There's 3 of us hitting the big 5-0 towards the end of next year and we're looking to mark the occasion by doing something out of the ordinary. All well travelled, family men with plenty of 'life' experiences, would be willing to travel and spend a few quid if necessary but not essential. Vegas has been mentioned but I'd like to do something less obvious although I will go if I have to  ;D

Any suggestions?? Probably 4/5 days max would be the only restriction.
Title: Re: 50th Birthday
Post by: Itchy on December 03, 2017, 11:03:56 PM
Ballyragert?
Post by: Puckoon on December 03, 2017, 11:11:01 PM
If you're golfers take a bucket list golf trip. Maybe try and take in the Masters.
Post by: redzone on December 03, 2017, 11:12:09 PM
How about a week out in Africa building a school or something like that. Give something back. Your already well travelled as u say.
Post by: Boycey on December 03, 2017, 11:16:42 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 03, 2017, 11:11:01 PM
If you're golfers take a bucket list golf trip. Maybe try and take in the Masters.

I'm a golfer and The Masters is definitely on my bucket list unfortunately neither of the other 2 are so that's unlikely to get the vote..
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 03, 2017, 11:29:06 PM
Vegas is on my list for that big one in 4 years but funny enough I was chatting to wife about my two places to go before I'm physically unable, Machu Picchu being one and base camp Everest... obviously take more than your 4 days target! Though I'd be one for a trek!

Post by: BennyCake on December 04, 2017, 12:31:33 AM
Jaysus whatever happened to a Victoria sponge with a candle and a pot of tae?

The worlds gone mad.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on December 04, 2017, 12:56:10 AM
sad when you are 50 and have to ask people what you should do  :'(
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 04, 2017, 01:28:22 AM
Didn't like Vegas but if you decide to go there do yourselves and spend a few days at the Grand Canyon.
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 04, 2017, 02:05:31 AM
Visit the fountain of youth
Post by: Boycey on December 04, 2017, 09:08:16 AM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on December 04, 2017, 12:56:10 AM
sad when you are 50 and have to ask people what you should do  :'(

Didn't I say last night I was a family man, I've been asking what I should do for years..
Post by: AZOffaly on December 04, 2017, 09:11:29 AM
If you are thinking of Vegas type stuff, worth checking out Havasupai Falls in Grand Canyon. You can camp down there, which is in the Havasupai Reservation.

(https://14677-presscdn-0-44-pagely.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/Havasu-Falls-Travel-Tips-Havasupai-Canyon-Arizona.jpg)
Post by: T Fearon on December 04, 2017, 10:02:53 AM
Spent mine at Burj Al Arab,Dubai.Dinner in the desert under the stars.Then wife arranged for three musicians to visit our room with cakes to personally serenade me! Good job the whole lot was a competition prize!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 04, 2017, 10:03:52 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 04, 2017, 10:02:53 AM
Spent mine at Burj Al Arab,Dubai.Dinner in the desert under the stars.Then wife arranged for three musicians to visit our room with cakes to personally serenade me! Good job the whole lot was a competition prize!

::) ::) ::)
Post by: Orior on December 04, 2017, 11:19:37 AM

So said your fast thinking wife when you entered the room and found her with three strange men, lol
Post by: GJL on December 04, 2017, 11:26:35 AM
Quote from: Orior on December 04, 2017, 11:19:37 AM

So said your fast thinking wife when you entered the room and found her with three strange men, lol

;D ;D
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 04, 2017, 12:59:58 PM

think I saw the video now ye mention it  ;)
one was definitely playin the fiddle
Post by: Denn Forever on December 04, 2017, 01:17:20 PM
Tory Island or Rathlin Island?  If you're feeling adventerous, scale the peaks of rathfriland.
Post by: trentoneill15 on December 04, 2017, 03:23:16 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on December 04, 2017, 03:00:13 PM
Quote from: trentoneill15 on December 04, 2017, 12:37:18 PM
I hope I'm I my grave by 50, 25 years to go

I hope you are too

at least if i die tonight i'll have seen my county win the All-Ireland unlike you, even if I was only 14 months at the time.
Post by: haranguerer on December 04, 2017, 07:16:40 PM
An all Ireland?? I'd settle for an Ulster!!
Post by: Targetman on December 04, 2017, 08:37:18 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 04, 2017, 01:17:20 PM
Tory Island or Rathlin Island?  If you're feeling adventerous, scale the peaks of rathfriland.
Bit of advice, don't go near Rathfriland it's a dump, but Vegas for me in 3 years if God spares me!!
Post by: Newbridge Exile on December 04, 2017, 08:49:39 PM
Quote from: GJL on December 04, 2017, 11:26:35 AM

;D ;D
;D ;D very good
Post by: BennyCake on December 05, 2017, 12:14:17 AM
Quote from: Targetman on December 04, 2017, 08:37:18 PM
Bit of advice, don't go near Rathfriland it's a dump, but Vegas for me in 3 years if God spares me!!

Never understood the attraction of Vegas. Think I'd prefer a week in Rathfriland!
Post by: whitey on December 05, 2017, 02:23:18 AM
Oktoberfest

A trip in a camper through Europe

Mates of mine go on a trip every year where they throw a dart at a dartboard......theyre wildmen, so have had some very interesting adventures in out of the way places.

If youre outdoorsy types, theres all types of great guided hiking trips you can take (especially in England, where you can stop off at all these interesting places ie pubs along the way)
Post by: Avondhu star on December 05, 2017, 12:03:41 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 03, 2017, 11:29:06 PM
Vegas is on my list for that big one in 4 years but funny enough I was chatting to wife about my two places to go before I'm physically unable, Machu Picchu being one and base camp Everest... obviously take more than your 4 days target! Though I'd be one for a trek!
A couple of slappers wearing Mary Lou masks would be your style
Post by: gallsman on December 05, 2017, 01:50:40 PM
Vegas is an absolute shithole. Hated it when I was there at 25, can't imagine wanting to do it any more at 50
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 05, 2017, 01:54:14 PM
Load of pints down the local with your mates then a curry chip on the way home.
Post by: Targetman on December 05, 2017, 05:09:35 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 05, 2017, 12:14:17 AM
Quote from: Targetman on December 04, 2017, 08:37:18 PM

Never understood the attraction of Vegas. Think I'd prefer a week in Rathfriland!
Ah believe me you wouldn't!!
Post by: BennyCake on December 05, 2017, 05:43:43 PM
Is milestone birthdays the big thing now? People spending senseless amounts of money then struggling to pay the bills when they get home?

Without trying to sound like a killjoy, the country seems obsessed with having a big piss up for any occasion, from the buying of a new pair of wellies to celebrating the cat's birthday.
Post by: Boycey on December 05, 2017, 06:42:55 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 05, 2017, 05:43:43 PM
Is milestone birthdays the big thing now? People spending senseless amounts of money then struggling to pay the bills when they get home?

Without trying to sound like a killjoy, the country seems obsessed with having a big piss up for any occasion, from the buying of a new pair of wellies to celebrating the cat's birthday.

Have I mentioned a piss up anywhere?

I'm not a big drinker plus I certainly won't be putting myself in the poorhouse over a Birthday bash but I quite fancy doing something to mark the occasion. We'll probably have a nice family trip too, when my other half was 50 a couple of years back we went to Hong Kong somewhere we'd never been and were unlikely to ever have gone otherwise.

A couple of things have happened in my life over the last couple of years to make me realise that life is short enough so enjoy while you can in my motto..
Post by: BennyCake on December 05, 2017, 07:00:38 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 05, 2017, 06:42:55 PM

I'm not a big drinker plus I certainly won't be putting myself in the poorhouse over a Birthday bash but I quite fancy doing something to mark the occasion. We'll probably have a nice family trip too, when my other half was 50 a couple of years back we went to Hong Kong somewhere we'd never been and were unlikely to ever have gone otherwise.

A couple of things have happened in my life over the last couple of years to make me realise that life is short enough so enjoy while you can in my motto..

True, you didn't. But other potential piss ups were mentioned.

Life is short. Just my point was the potential of people going above budget doing this sort of thing.
Post by: bennydorano on December 05, 2017, 07:04:28 PM
Wife has been telling me for years we're going to Hawaii for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, always seemed a lifetime away, into single digits now.
Post by: Gmac on December 05, 2017, 07:45:32 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 05, 2017, 06:42:55 PM

vegas is a great place to go .see a show always great performers there ,get helicopter out to Hoover dam, do some gambling for a night ,great restaurants and of course hit crazy horse for an hour or 2 one night .3/4 days is plenty of time there and the weather is always pretty good . Lots of oddities and car shows etc always on
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 05, 2017, 10:19:14 PM

You're a killjoy, who's struggling to pay the bills? If someone wants to do something special to celebrate then grand, grinch!

In the same token, anyone not able to pay for something and struggling to pay the bills will do something to within their budget? Pub curry drinks! 40 milestone was huge party back at mine with friends old and new! Was a blast, though I was looking for Vegas tickets!
Post by: bannside on December 05, 2017, 11:12:01 PM
Correct Bennydorano. Hawaii island of Kauai is hard to beat, the little bay on the edge of the Marriott hotel there is hard to beat. We were there on honeymoon..always promised ourselves we would go back sometime.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 06, 2017, 07:25:40 AM
Bennycake do you not know Mr is rich. Sure when brexit kicks in he will open his own money lending business he'll be that rich compared to everyone else :D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2017, 07:33:00 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 06, 2017, 07:25:40 AM
Bennycake do you not know Mr is rich. Sure when brexit kicks in he will open his own money lending business he'll be that rich compared to everyone else :D

Rich in many ways, not money wise though
Post by: omaghjoe on December 06, 2017, 07:59:43 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2017, 07:33:00 AM

Rich enough to go mountaineering in Nepal  ;)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2017, 08:44:48 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 06, 2017, 07:59:43 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2017, 07:33:00 AM

Rich enough to go mountaineering in Nepal  ;)

Well, it would be a one off...
Post by: AZOffaly on December 06, 2017, 09:12:25 AM
One off? Jaysus that's harsh. How do you pick who has to jump off?
Post by: BennyCake on December 06, 2017, 11:10:18 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 05, 2017, 10:19:14 PM

You're a killjoy, who's struggling to pay the bills? If someone wants to do something special to celebrate then grand, grinch!

In the same token, anyone not able to pay for something and struggling to pay the bills will do something to within their budget? Pub curry drinks! 40 milestone was huge party back at mine with friends old and new! Was a blast, though I was looking for Vegas tickets!

Yeah I've no problems with that. But we all know the times we live in. I see it quite a lot, people doing things ott and putting themselves out doing a big bash, trip or xmas. There's a pressure on people to keep up, especially at Xmas. Plus we have this Facebook thing, people seem to feel the need to make their lives more interesting than everybody else, even if that means spending money they don't really have. So, that's what I was getting at.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2017, 11:48:41 AM
yeah, and it was the spending and banks allowing people to have all this credit that helped bring the place down in the first place!

But 50 is the new 40! and with 20 years more work left in ya, you'll be able to apy it off  :o
Post by: Boycey on December 06, 2017, 07:19:11 PM
There's a certain truth to what Benny says, people do tend to go for the big show off displays nowadays...

From my perspective there'll be no party, I run a mile at the thought of being the centre of attention. I would like to do something out of the ordinary to mark the occasion though and I thought where better to ask than on an anonymous Internet forum for suggestions.
Post by: redzone on December 07, 2017, 09:26:05 PM
If u want something out of the ordinary then The Burning Man festival might be it in the Nevada desert. Go for it
Post by: Boycey on December 07, 2017, 09:52:05 PM
Quote from: redzone on December 07, 2017, 09:26:05 PM
If u want something out of the ordinary then The Burning Man festival might be it in the Nevada desert. Go for it

Now we're getting places I'm not sure it's exactly me but it's the kind of unusual idea I was hoping to get.

I had to google it by the way https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=81MyL3YDVUk
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 07, 2017, 09:57:10 PM
Mardi Gras Halloween New Orleans
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 07, 2017, 10:08:12 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 07, 2017, 10:00:36 PM
FĂ©ile an Phobail. August in west Belfast.

Close the thread!