The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

Quote from: J70 on February 21, 2017, 08:12:35 PM
Breitbart have kicked Milo out too.

Four days ago he was going mainstream with a sweet book deal, a Bill Mayer appearance and the keynote speech at CPAC, flying high after the idiots at Berkeley.

Leslie Jones must be having a nice chuckle of satisfaction.
I wonder who brought him back down to earth. Was it the feminist collective? Or the trans bathroom posse?

Caroline O. ‏@RVAwonk  22 h
Breitbart was too busy writing about a fake pedophilia/child trafficking ring ("pizzagate") to notice the real thing right in front of them.

Quote from: J70 on February 21, 2017, 08:29:15 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 21, 2017, 05:33:44 PM
http://time.com/4675860/donald-trump-fake-news-attacks/

Great piece!

Super piece. The media thing really irks me. It's been pure shite for a decade now - mostly (not wholly) on the side of the right wing propaganda machine - and now the Donald has turned that fact on its head - and got folks to believe that all regular sources of news are part of the problem. It isn't true and it's one of the scariest things about his tenure.

Great piece!

Haha...Time Magazine...you mean the people who spread a false rumour that Trump had removed MLKs bust from the Oval Office on his very first day. Who gives a fvck that they have to say

Don't give me the usual $hite that it was a mistake and that it was corrected shortly afterwards and that Spicer accepted his apology.    It was a very very dangerous thing to do given the powder keg that currently exists. That "reporter" should have had his ass fired out on the street

Oraisteach

Well, you clearly saw the word "Time" and didn't bother your ass reading it.  It was the text of a speech delivered by Bret Stephens, a conservative Wall Street Journal reporter, as part of the Daniel Pearl memorial.  And all you can focus on is a news item reporting the removal of the MLK bust from the Oval Office, a report that was quickly corrected.  Do yourself a favor and read the Stephens lecture.

Quote from: Puckoon on February 22, 2017, 01:51:19 AM

Great piece!

Super piece. The media thing really irks me. It's been pure shite for a decade now - mostly (not wholly) on the side of the right wing propaganda machine - and now the Donald has turned that fact on its head - and got folks to believe that all regular sources of news are part of the problem. It isn't true and it's one of the scariest things about his tenure.

Bannon is the one behind it. The only reliable media are Fox and Breitbart who dutifully sténograph whatever the government is saying.

I have a feeling that the institutions of the US are stronger than Bannon thinks they are.

Quote from: J70 on February 21, 2017, 08:12:35 PM
Breitbart have kicked Milo out too.

Four days ago he was going mainstream with a sweet book deal, a Bill Mayer appearance and the keynote speech at CPAC, flying high after the idiots at Berkeley.

Leslie Jones must be having a nice chuckle of satisfaction.
Breitbart said Yiannopolous comments were unacceptable. Anti semitism , race baiting , misogyny, trans hatred etc are grand however..

Quote from: whitey on February 22, 2017, 04:05:58 AM

Great piece!

Haha...Time Magazine...you mean the people who spread a false rumour that Trump had removed MLKs bust from the Oval Office on his very first day. Who gives a fvck that they have to say

Don't give me the usual $hite that it was a mistake and that it was corrected shortly afterwards and that Spicer accepted his apology.    It was a very very dangerous thing to do given the powder keg that currently exists. That "reporter" should have had his ass fired out on the street

1.  It was written by a conservative, Bret Stephens, who is a WSJ editor and Pulitzer Prize winner, and it was delivered at an event honouring Daniel Pearl.
2. You're always claiming that you can't stand Trump, all the while posting little except whining about the "mainstream press" and liberals calling Trump out on his nonsense and predicting that "Trump will do fine", whatever that means. Yet, here is a piece from a principled conservative, who has not compromised himself by latching on to Trump, and you don't even have the interest to actually read what he has to say.
3. If you are so worried about the "powder keg" that could have been detonated by the mistaken MLK tweet, then how come you are silent on the divisive lies and provocation coming from Trump and the White House on a daily basis? 

Quote from: Oraisteach on February 22, 2017, 04:31:22 AM
Well, you clearly saw the word "Time" and didn't bother your ass reading it.  It was the text of a speech delivered by Bret Stephens, a conservative Wall Street Journal reporter, as part of the Daniel Pearl memorial.  And all you can focus on is a news item reporting the removal of the MLK bust from the Oval Office, a report that was quickly corrected.  Do yourself a favor and read the Stephens lecture.

Time Magazine has about the same credibility as the Daily Mail....I don't care what article is written by whom....I take the whole lot with one big grain of salt.

If I started posting up opinion pieces  from Fox News and the Daily telegraph, you guys wouldn't be
long calling me out....and rightly so

Quote from: whitey on February 22, 2017, 12:32:36 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on February 22, 2017, 04:31:22 AM

Time Magazine has about the same credibility as the Daily Mail....I don't care what article is written by whom....I take the whole lot with one big grain of salt.

If I started posting up opinion pieces  from Fox News and the Daily telegraph, you guys wouldn't be
long calling me out....and rightly so

Bollocks, it would not be rightly so.

But out of interest, just where do you go for your news?

Because by what you're claiming here (not that I believe you really believe what you're claiming), there are NO news sources that should be taken seriously.

The NY Times publishes opinion pieces by Republican politicians all the time. Do you dismiss what THEY have to say purely because the placed their piece on the NY Times editorial page? Would an article by Ted Cruz be MORE credible appearing in the WSJ than the NY Times, even if was the exact same article?

Face it, you got caught dismissing out of hand a well written piece by someone who, going by your repeated claims that you're a conservative who doesn't like Trump (although you never seem to actually criticize him), you should probably agree with, based on nothing else except the publication that published the article, and all because you've latched onto the MLK tweet as a support for your claims that the media is being unfair to Trump.

GOP former chairman on fake news, pissing off Fox FFS. It's not just Bannon

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5RRUZynq80

Presumably Whitey, Foxy Loxy , Chicken Licken , Stew etc now believe that Fox too is Faux

Quinnipac poll: majorities say Trump does not share their values (60%), have good leadership skills (55%), or care about average Americans (53%)