GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Mac2 on September 07, 2012, 03:36:09 PM

Title: Gamesmanship
Post by: Mac2 on September 07, 2012, 03:36:09 PM
Seems to be an accepted part of the game now and a legitimate tactic to be employed by any manager/team especially when looking to protect a lead. Even Darragh O'Shea was saying last year that some of the Kerry lads should've gone down to kill momentum in the AIF. When it's your own team you tend to ignore it but if you're on the receiving end it's frustrating beyond belief Having a clock for the timekeeping would certainly help with some of the antics but it needs addressing as it's becoming a scourge.
Title: Re: Gamesmanship
Post by: Aristo 60 on September 07, 2012, 04:20:00 PM
A poll to get opinion on which team engaged in the most gamesmanship would be interesting.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 07, 2012, 04:37:28 PM
Feck this craic, now Mayo learn to play the game the way the rest of ye have, ye want to move the deckchairs again. Let us win a few All-Irelands first, ffs.
Post by: Champ15 on September 08, 2012, 02:02:51 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 07, 2012, 04:37:28 PM
Feck this craic, now Mayo learn to play the game the way the rest of ye have, ye want to move the deckchairs again. Let us win a few All-Irelands first, ffs.

Agreed I watched the game back tonight and a couple of times since I got home from the match and even o rourke in his analysis said half complimentary that we are doing what Cork Kerry and Tyrone were doing in there succesful seasons maybe we are doing it a bit more often but I for 1 don't care!! Anyone would applaud it if was their team that were 2 points up in last few minutes and their guy fouled the opposition 20-30 yards from goal instead of possibly giving up a goal chance!