GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Mourne Rover on January 28, 2007, 11:24:22 PM

Title: Laochra Gael Mickey Linden
Post by: Mourne Rover on January 28, 2007, 11:24:22 PM
I'm not doing PR for TG4, but this week's Laochra Gael (Tuesday, Jan 30,9.30pm) is on Mickey Linden. My only concern is that 30 minutes is hardly long enough for a career which began in Down's division four and reached a period as, beyond dispute, the best player in Ireland. Everyone has their favourite Mickey moment, but mine is the run and long-range point which turned the 1991 All Ireland semi final against Kerry. That was a landmark moment for Ulster football, after more than two decades of failure, and seven Sams came north in the next 16 years. I could probably name another 20 or 30 Linden scores of equal quality, and I hope that the programme comes somewhere close to doing him justice.
Title: Re: Laochra Gael Mickey Linden
Post by: Cloc Mor on January 28, 2007, 11:43:58 PM
Not before time.  One of the most talented footballers every to come out of the Mourne County.  He led us to two All Irelands with style and pinache.  Mickey is one of the most genuine people you will even meet, someone with no airs or graces.  He played football the way it should be played, with a desire to do his best.  Truly deserved.
Post by: Turfsmoke on January 29, 2007, 09:34:06 AM

Its an overused word but he is a real legend. Total class, style, modesty and ability and an absolute gentleman with it. Mickey Linden is one of those people who makes you proud to be a GAA man along side him.
Post by: balladmaker on January 29, 2007, 10:29:19 AM
I will never ever forget Linden's goal in the 1991 Ulster Final....not so much the sublime finish, but his turn of pace to get the ball was frightening!

I was sitting in the front row of the old stone seats in Clones, just at pitch level.  I remember watching Linden sprinting  from nowhere to get the ball and stick it in the net.   Ben Johnson wouldn't have caught him that day.

Definitely one of the very best from our era anyway.  Should be a good show.
Post by: Great Leap Forward on January 29, 2007, 10:44:09 AM
I probably remember Mickey most for the role he played in the finest game of football I had the pleasuse of being at. The first round match at Celtic park in 94.

That year he was vitually unmarkable.
Post by: ross matt on January 29, 2007, 10:53:54 AM
Speaking as a neutral I look forward to this programme nearly as much as a Down fan would. Truly great player to watch and his long career at those high standards was another thing that set him apart.
Post by: superblues on January 29, 2007, 11:01:33 AM
had the privilege to have played along side the great man there is nothing to say that has not already been said cant wait to see the show
Post by: 5 Sams on January 29, 2007, 11:15:08 AM
Like Superblues I had the privilege of playing on the same football field as Mickey but unfortunately I was on the opposing team as him and his brother Peter proceeded to tear us apart at the seams.

As mentioned before he was at his best in 1994 when he got player of the year and played a blinder in the AIF when a procession of Dubs couldnt get to grips with him.

Legend.
Post by: realredhandfan on January 29, 2007, 11:23:01 AM
Lindens was one of those out and out corner forwards who skinned the corner back with pure pace and skill.  the Down team in 94 were built like brick shithouses, they were a tough hard team, but Linden was their bit of fancy stuff. He was a tart of a corner forward, so good to watch and liked to show it all on the big days.
Post by: An Cloch Scoilte on January 29, 2007, 12:35:45 PM
Mickey is up their with Down's greats of O'Neill, McAlarney, Paddy Doc and so on!! A true Legend of the game, and as said before an out and out gentleman.
Post by: Cloc Mor on January 29, 2007, 12:47:33 PM
QuoteLindens was one of those out and out corner forwards who skinned the corner back with pure pace and skill.  the Down team in 94 were built like brick shithouses, they were a tough hard team, but Linden was their bit of fancy stuff. He was a tart of a corner forward, so good to watch and liked to show it all on the big days.

Not sure if being called 'a tart of a corner forward' is the way Mickey would like to be remembered as a footballer.  I think you are giving him so praise and I suppose coming from a Tyrone man this is a positive comment.  In his prime he was the best of his generation and being selected as player of the year bore this out.  Tart - don't think so though.
Post by: realredhandfan on January 29, 2007, 03:27:28 PM
Linden is my favourite corner forward ouside Tyrone... Its all praise.  ffs if Tom Humphries came out with a line like that ye'd be canonising him.  Maybe this board lacks a little creative imagery (Oneill of old)
PS A tart of a corner forward by the way can sometimes be nullified by a nun (giving nothing away here) of a corner back. 
Post by: Cloc Mor on January 29, 2007, 03:43:12 PM
rrhf, I thought you were praising him and who wouldn't.  I appreciate that people west of the Bann have a different way of describing things and use of language is different.  Glad we share an admiration of a legend.
Post by: realredhandfan on January 29, 2007, 03:57:26 PM
you are right we are a little less rigid Ulster Scottish all right.
Post by: Niall Quinn on January 29, 2007, 04:16:00 PM
A legendary footballer and he declared me fit to drive motor vehicles circa 1992 - nice fella all in all!!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on January 31, 2007, 08:39:08 AM
a great watch last night, the hairs were standing on the back of me neck in some parts. What we wouldnt give for a mickey linden in the team today.

the man had it all, there isnt a Gael throughout Ireland that wouldnt be proud of such a man that plays our national games - made me feel proud to be a Down Gael.

note how many times he took on defenders on the outside, skinned them with them hangin out of him then cutting inside and slotting over with the left peg.
Post by: TORGAEL on January 31, 2007, 08:58:08 AM
great viewing last night......superb memories........brought it all back, the heady days of the early nineties.......what a footballer !
Post by: highorlow on January 31, 2007, 09:07:17 AM
The 90's was when i started to really remember AIF's as a teenager.

It will take some player to top Mickey in this series. For such a big man he had the acelleration of a ferrari dino, and the handling and balance of a Maserati Quattroporte. A true legend.

This show is usually repeated, i think on Sunday nights....
Post by: cavan4ever on January 31, 2007, 09:09:27 AM
Quote from: highorlow on January 31, 2007, 09:07:17 AM

It will take some player to top Mickey in this series. For such a big man he had the acelleration of a ferrari dino, and the handling and balance of a Maserati Quattroporte. A true legend.

What height was he i didn't think he was a big man  !
Post by: amallon on January 31, 2007, 09:41:52 AM
Great show last night.  Everyone in Mayobridge and Down can be proud of the man. 

I'd say Mickey is 5ft 7 or 8.

I heard the program will be repeated on Friday night, not 100% on that though.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 31, 2007, 09:53:29 AM
Excellent show. Sometimes you forget just how good the man was....did anyone else get the impression that Jarlath wasn't impressed with Francey's "tackle".
Post by: amallon on January 31, 2007, 09:59:36 AM
I got that impression too from the talk of Jarlath. 
Post by: Brick Tamlin on January 31, 2007, 10:00:01 AM
noticed that myself. Hate to be cynical but he has to be seen to somewhat condemn what happened anyways.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on January 31, 2007, 02:09:23 PM
Got that opinion too lads. I was thinking two things tho;

1. As said, he'd have to be seen to condemn it, I reckon he's lookin at being the future president of the GAA and has to be seen to condemn such actions by players
2. I don't think Silverbridge would have much time for Cross on the oul loacl scene..

Great show all the same, Mickey Linden's one of the best footballers I've had the pleasure of seeing.
Post by: amallon on January 31, 2007, 03:50:06 PM
One thing that will always stick in my mind is that when Mickey got the ball there would nearly always be the roar from the crowd "go on Mickey roast him".  Mickey usually did deliver the roasting too!  I hope Mayobridge supporters appreciate how lucky we were to have him playing for us. 
Post by: downredblack on January 31, 2007, 04:05:02 PM
Same thing happens when Benny gets the ball but to a lesser extent granted . Still there is an expectation on him everytime he gets the ball .
Post by: blowinharp on January 31, 2007, 04:53:07 PM
Quote from: amallon on January 31, 2007, 09:41:52 AM
Great show last night.  Everyone in Mayobridge and Down can be proud of the man. 

I'd say Mickey is 5ft 7 or 8.

I heard the program will be repeated on Friday night, not 100% on that though.

4 the record he is 5 foot 10.  :)
Post by: Dubh driocht on January 31, 2007, 07:31:10 PM
Surely the cry was 'skin him Mickey' as opposed to roast. Might you he did both. I ordered my 2 children to watch (at the expense of OC) and they were mesmorised. A bit like Gary Coleman.
Post by: ONeill on January 31, 2007, 08:57:00 PM
As I wrote before the night of the controversial deletions (I have strong suspicions, thegael!) I have an amusing abiding memory of Linden. In 1999, Danny Ball's men were flying. Tyrone had humiliated Fermanagh with Canavan the Kaiser back to the form of 1995. Cush was buzzing and McGleenan was an effective Donaghy-option up front. They were due to meet a Down side who struggled to defeat Antrim in the first round - a tired Pete McGrath on the sidelines. The semi was played at Casement on a hot summer's day. My crawling baldness did not welcome the searing sun. Tyrone were hot favourites to reach the final against an Armagh side who were gunning to end a 17-year thirst for an Ulster title.

Tyrone's play matched the weather as they scorched into a 8-2 lead with Canavan, Cush and McGleenan on serious form. For some reason Tyrone froze/stopped and Down chipped away at that lead until half time, going in only 2 behind. It was tit-for-tat in the second half and the youthful Paul McGurk in his debut season was finding an ageing Linden a handful. A break in play had occurred around centre-field with a Down player receiving treatment. Players were taking on water all over the field as did Linden. Mickey noticed play was about to resume and called out to McGurk asking if he wanted a drink. Paul, facing Linden, took the water bottle and at that precise moment the ball was sailing over his head into the space in front of Linden. McGurk, not managing to wet his lips, flung the bottle to the ground but was never going to catch Linden with a head-start. Over the bar. Down won by 5. Armagh won Ulster.
Post by: lawnseed 2 on January 31, 2007, 10:53:02 PM
as an armagh man i was quite happy to follow down in the early 90s. lets face it we hadnt much better to do. players like linden ross carr and wee james were very easy on the eye. you have to ask where has it all gone wrong for down lately?
Post by: ITOB on February 01, 2007, 02:56:49 AM
Have lots of fond memories bout Micky Linden's exploits on the field of play.  Pity the cameras wern't present to record the frequent mind-blowing stuff he did at club level - amazing.

But at county level one memory abides,  When two ledgends collide and one has to be the loser a strange mix of feelinge rush forth; sadness for a great name being found wanting; trill at watching this happen; excitment at the spectacle of skill, being sucked in by the mass hysteria generated by 70k others trying to get their heads round somthing no one thought would ever happen; amazment at the skilful audacity being displayed, etc, etc.  Pure magic and genius.

I watched this happen in the 1994 AI Semi at Croker Down v Cork.  Twice Linden got the ball on the R wing line, bout 45 yards out and, egged on with "skin him Micky", taunted his tortured marker (in a sporting way of course) before soloing up the line at a pace that only took him past untouched having passed his marker contnued to solo another 20yds with the gap getting ever wider.  I felt sorry for the Great Niall Cahalane that day but at least he has it to say he was skinned by Micky.
Post by: downredblack on February 01, 2007, 09:02:46 AM
" Mickey is lucky 13 "
Title: Tyrone V Down 99
Post by: realredhandfan on February 01, 2007, 09:03:14 AM
That was the end of the 90s dreaming and also Cush's last game for Tyrone...  In his second last game he was RTE man of the match V Fermangh, he could have had another few seasons in him but obviously burnout was a factor.  The Terrible Twins were over....Mc Grath had done another amazing managerial feat.  but he also handed an Ulster title to Armagh ...
Post by: Over the Bar on February 01, 2007, 10:36:35 AM
On that sweltering day in Casement Danny Ball in his wisdom decided to take the Tyrone players out for an hours training session to "acclimatise" to the warm weather before the game and they were all fecked after it.  Small wonder we wilted in the 2nd half.
Post by: 5 Sams on July 27, 2017, 09:35:36 PM
Still a legend...

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/45-years-playing-gaelic-football-meet-the-former-footballer-of-the-year-still-tormenting-defences-at-54-35974294.html
Post by: Gold on July 27, 2017, 10:18:52 PM
Legend
Post by: AZOffaly on July 27, 2017, 11:10:31 PM
What a player. On a related topic, any of ye watching EIR's classic gaa. It's great. Just full matches with minimum punditry. Just watched Clare v Waterford 1998 there. Great stuff.
Post by: seafoid on July 28, 2017, 01:42:14 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 27, 2017, 09:35:36 PM
Still a legend...

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/45-years-playing-gaelic-football-meet-the-former-footballer-of-the-year-still-tormenting-defences-at-54-35974294.html

You would forgive a man in Linden's form for putting his foot through the ball in a bid to emphatically claim his second Celtic Cross as well as that season's top individual award, but instead, O'Leary is fixed and the ball is deftly flicked across the square to allow James McCartan the easiest of palmed goals.
McCartan immediately pointed to Linden, as if already thanking him for the acclaim that accompanies a key All-Ireland final goal.
Linden didn't even hesitate when the game's key moment arrived.

"It was a 2 vs 1 situation and I thought back to the coaching I had at school from Barney McAleenan: in a 2 vs 1 situation, you suck the keeper in and pass it off to make sure it's a goal," Linden says.

Barney and Linden must have been a dream team in schoold football. Linden seems to have learnt so much from him.

Even though he is 54 now he is the epitome of Mol an óige agus tiocfaidh sí.

https://youtu.be/4t0fbuw1Ll0
Post by: omaghjoe on July 31, 2017, 08:05:07 AM
 94 Derry Down match first half was as perfect a corner forward example as you'll ever see. had me trying to imitate him for months after in the back yard.