Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

glens abu

Quote from: hardstation on September 26, 2014, 05:50:45 PM
The front page of the Andytown News sport section??

What in the name of Jesus is that all about?

Ha ha The final frontier  :-[

bannside

Cargin through as expected. Well Country Bumpkin, were you a bit more like the thing yesterday?

Who won Antrim minors lads? St Endas??

bannside

Quote from: bannside on September 29, 2014, 10:37:24 AM
Rossa Walter

Cheers BS. Jeez I'm surprised there as Glengormley were Ulster U16 champs 2 years ago!

bannside

They lost to St Johns who in turn were beaten by Rossa. Agree that they did have/do have a talented group there, but now that their minors days are almost over the big question is whether or not they all carry through to St Endas seniors - and if so can they make any impact at senior level.

Juvenile success is nice but thats all it is, until their club can convert that into success at senior level. Glen Maghera have set the barrier at underage level higher than anyone. Three times St Pauls tournament winners, four in a row Derry minors, a stack of Hogan Cup winners etc. The big question is what people will be saying about Maghera/St Endas in three or four years time.

Quote from: bannside on September 29, 2014, 11:42:37 AM
They lost to St Johns who in turn were beaten by Rossa. Agree that they did have/do have a talented group there, but now that their minors days are almost over the big question is whether or not they all carry through to St Endas seniors - and if so can they make any impact at senior level.

Juvenile success is nice but thats all it is, until their club can convert that into success at senior level. Glen Maghera have set the barrier at underage level higher than anyone. Three times St Pauls tournament winners, four in a row Derry minors, a stack of Hogan Cup winners etc. The big question is what people will be saying about Maghera/St Endas in three or four years time.

Agree 100%. Long road ahead!

culchie11

Bannside how are your boys shaping up for sundays final?

has the makings of a great game!

have yous many injuries? heard u have lost one of ur midfield pair, bad job, hes been playing well this year & covers alot of ground, good experience also which wouldve been key on sunday. hope it is not as bad as i have heard.

i had yous as slight favs, now it will be more 50/50, mglass will be hoping they can field their full hand also.

cargin played well enough yest to make final, never really looked in trouble. bigger fish to fry for them. good to see justin crozier back playing also. galls should c off creggan this sat & i dont think the hurling final loss will even come into it.
if anything it will make galls even more determined to win football, as u cant take championship titles for granted.

jj_saffron

just checking, is there any date/time scheduled for the senior football final? im guessing it will prob b sunday 12th October, or does this depend on how the semi final this wkend goes.

bannside

All was going great until last week when we may have lost two players to injury Culchie. Cant see either of them back in time and thats far from ideal. Moneyglass wont fear us and probably will go down to the wire just like our last league game which ended in a draw. Both in the hunt too for promotion too, so again there`s nothing between them in overall league form.

brendanbelfast

Senior football final scheduled for 18th October.

country bumpkin

We still on a 'never on a Sunday theme' for the footballers Brendan? Sure why not a Monday evening in December?
:'(

Quote from: country bumpkin on September 29, 2014, 11:27:33 PM
We still on a 'never on a Sunday theme' for the footballers Brendan? Sure why not a Monday evening in December?

means i can have a few after the final to celebrate  ;D and not have hangover at work

brendanbelfast

Quote from: country bumpkin on September 29, 2014, 11:27:33 PM

A Monday evening in December wouldn't make any sense.