Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

I'm not sure too many people are giving Dunloy much hope at all this year, I ref'd them twice last year in the semi and final of intermediate, they completely blew teams away with the fast pace and direct running and accuracy from frees is a big benefit also.

Not too surprising, but it will be a juggling affair to get it right so that Dunloy have all their players available for the final, should their seniors get the hurling final, arguably one of their best players did not play last night and think there was another injured player who has started for them on the line.

I must say also the coverage online was very good and not just because a team mate was on it, Kieran is very good and the other guy (name escapes me) was very good also.

Was speaking to someone earlier, they said there was a good vibe at the game also, with loads of neutrals at the match

The conditioning their fast guys have got from county hurling is I would imagine a big help. What odds a st brigid's Dunloy final  ;D (highly unlikely to happen I imagine).

I notice no Molloy last night. I wonder how bad his injury is?

Big 2 maybe 3 weeks for the Dunloy club. They wouldn't want the hurling derailed by loughgiel in the middle of all this!

Bs always comes across very well in defeat or victory unlike some others! I do hope some day you see your club lift a title bs.

Maybe a stretch but I would be surprised.

jmcgdoire

Quote from: imtommygunn on September 23, 2023, 11:43:32 AMThe conditioning their fast guys have got from county hurling is I would imagine a big help. What odds a st brigid's Dunloy final  ;D (highly unlikely to happen I imagine).

I notice no Molloy last night. I wonder how bad his injury is?

Big 2 maybe 3 weeks for the Dunloy club. They wouldn't want the hurling derailed by loughgiel in the middle of all this!

Bs always comes across very well in defeat or victory unlike some others! I do hope some day you see your club lift a title bs.

I dont think a dunloy brigids final is all that unlikely. Regardless of tomorrows result we are in for a great final. I was very impressed with dunloy last night. A real talented group of lads

My prediction would be Cargin outlast St brigids tomorrow and pull away at the end. And Dunloy bring it to them in the final.

Would be fantastic to see a double in antrim. Anyone know the last time this was achieved?

Spike

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 23, 2023, 09:09:46 AM
Quote from: Spike on September 23, 2023, 08:32:34 AMPerhaps last night can rid us of the lazy excuses of Dual club vs Single code.  If you are good enough then you'll compete at both.

Then why does it not happen more often?

Think we were the last club to reach both finals. It takes a special group of players to come through for that to happen

It's a daft post, hanging your coat on that one spike.

If we take the last few years Cargin totally on top, single code, if you can't see that then you're either being a dick or not as clever as I had thought you were

Your problem was you couldn't transfer in as much hurlers as you could footballers

geezer

Quote from: 1884 on September 23, 2023, 12:44:44 PMDeath,taxes and Portglenone bottling it  ;D

Wouldnt say they bottled it. They were beat by the better team on the day.

If you mean they wouldnt have a better chance to get to a final, then i agree.

As McGourty said on commentary, they lack the scoring forwards. Will always come back to bite them.

The double is very much on. I fully expect Cargin to win, but Dunloy will not fear them. And nor should they.

They have some of the most skilled footballers in the County & thats the way they play. No fear.

Seann Elliotts point in the 2nd half...will be hard pressed to see a better score this year.

LC

Quote from: geezer on September 24, 2023, 02:19:06 AM
Quote from: 1884 on September 23, 2023, 12:44:44 PMDeath,taxes and Portglenone bottling it  ;D

As McGourty said on commentary, they lack the scoring forwards. Will always come back to bite them.

The double is very much on. I fully expect Cargin to win, but Dunloy will not fear them. And nor should they.

They have some of the most skilled footballers in the County & thats the way they play. No fear.

Seann Elliotts point in the 2nd half...will be hard pressed to see a better score this year.

Have Dunloy many dual players?  Fair play to them, similar to Slaughtneil in terms of reaching high levels on both codes.

Quote from: LC on September 24, 2023, 08:48:09 AM
Quote from: geezer on September 24, 2023, 02:19:06 AM

Have Dunloy many dual players?  Fair play to them, similar to Slaughtneil in terms of reaching high levels on both codes.

At least 9 starters in both codes out on Friday

Well what a waste of a Sunday afternoon that was
Terrible game, worse conditions
Cargin won't care though, job done.

breakingball

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on September 24, 2023, 06:10:35 PMWell what a waste of a Sunday afternoon that was
Terrible game, worse conditions
Cargin won't care though, job done.

Probably about as much that needs said about the game.

Saul goodman

conditions were awful it wouldn't have taken much more for the game to be called off

Quote from: Saul goodman on September 24, 2023, 09:22:09 PMconditions were awful it wouldn't have taken much more for the game to be called off

Can't even comment on that game such was the weather

What odds if it was put back a week, start of 2nd half I thought it had to be stopped, surprised the ref played on. What's the craic with stopping a game once its started MR2?

Fancy Cargin to do the same In the final and grind out the win. Bigger, older , stronger men were more suited to that weather today. I'd say they'll be too physical for Dunloy too

Stopping a game is completely down to the ref. Didn't see it as I was ref'ing, was the ground as bad as the Rossa game?

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 24, 2023, 10:46:00 PMStopping a game is completely down to the ref. Didn't see it as I was ref'ing, was the ground as bad as the Rossa game?

Arguably worse!! Like if you forcibly kicked the ball a boot on the ground it would maybe only travel a metre then stop in a puddle, unwatchable!

Hope Dunloy have a real go in the final and give us all an exciting game and die with their boots on if they have to, kick the ball in fast and long.
As Kieran said on commentary worst thing can happen is if your full forward doesn't catch it you lose the ball 100 metres from your own goal.
Defensive no risk football won't win ya anything, as Cargin themselves found out v Glen last year.

I hope and expect Dunloy to have a go, they've nothing to lose

EOC1923

Gold you obv didn't watch Dunloy in the quarter and semi if you are even debating whether they will have a go.  We won yesterday in awful conditions, found a way to win, as this group of player have done time and time again.
St B"s brought a bit of competitiveness in the first half but they were overrun in the second half, outscored 2-3 to one point