Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 02, 2011, 02:22:22 AM

Title: Presidential canditate you could go on the beer with.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 02, 2011, 02:22:22 AM
I reckon Martin, Micky, Gay & Sean I could have a good session with.

Norris would be good craic for a while but I would move on to meet up with my real friends after the pub.

Mary I could tolerate but she would bore me silly.

Dana would wreck my head.
Title: Re: Presidenital canditate you could go on the beer with.
Post by: ziggysego on October 02, 2011, 02:51:37 AM
Pretty much what you said, but Gay would do my head in too.
Post by: ONeill on October 02, 2011, 10:37:06 AM
Marty wouldn't be much craic now.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 02, 2011, 10:50:22 AM
Given that people generally get a bit louder after a few drinks, I wouldn't want to be in the same pub as Norris.
Post by: muppet on October 02, 2011, 10:53:44 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 02, 2011, 10:50:22 AM
Given that people generally get a bit louder after a few drinks, I wouldn't want to be in the same pub as Norris.

Some people also sing I wouldn't want Dana there.
Post by: heffo on October 02, 2011, 10:55:04 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 02, 2011, 02:22:22 AM

McGuinness is teetotal.
Post by: beer baron on October 02, 2011, 11:01:03 AM
Well there's my vote for Mc Guinness gone after hearing that!
Post by: muppet on October 02, 2011, 11:02:47 AM
Quote from: heffo on October 02, 2011, 10:55:04 AM

McGuinness is teetotal.

What will he do when he meets US President Tyrone S. Owen in a pub up the Sperrin mountains?
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 02, 2011, 11:37:13 AM

McGuinness is teetotal.

In an interview with Pat Kenny the other day he said he has a glass of red wine now and again
Post by: michaelg on October 02, 2011, 12:06:48 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on October 02, 2011, 11:37:13 AM

McGuinness is teetotal.

In an interview with Pat Kenny the other day he said he has a glass of red wine now and again
Fishing for votes probably - Irish people quite often not that keen on / a bit wary of non-drinkers
Was it not the case so that he didn't drink so he could keep his head clear for all the bombing and shooting and what have you?
Post by: balladmaker on October 02, 2011, 12:09:04 PM
QuoteWas it not the case so that he didn't drink so he could keep his head clear for all the bombing and shooting and what have you?

More likely to avoid the shooting and constant threat of death which he was/is under.  At least McGuinness can say with conviction that he has actually fought for Ireland, Dana can say she sang for Ireland  :( , as for the others ....
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 02, 2011, 12:15:43 PM
Quote from: michaelg on October 02, 2011, 12:06:48 PM

McGuinness is teetotal.

Fishing for votes probably - Irish people quite often not that keen on / a bit wary of non-drinkers
Was it not the case so that he didn't drink so he could keep his head clear for all the bombing and shooting and what have you?

Trolling is a subtle art born out of experience. You'll fine tune the pitch eventually. Good luck
Post by: michaelg on October 02, 2011, 12:26:25 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on October 02, 2011, 12:15:43 PM
Quote from: michaelg on October 02, 2011, 12:06:48 PM

McGuinness is teetotal.

Trolling is a subtle art born out of experience. You'll fine tune the pitch eventually. Good luck
Although my last comment was a bit tongue in cheek, for someone from a Unionist background who grew up during the troubles, I happen to quite like old Marty.  With respect to his non-drinking, it always slightly un-nerved me a little - Seemed to make him appear a little more cold, calculating etc - However, I do appreciate that his involvement in the armed struggle was a serious business with his own safety clearly at risk, and as such can understand why in that position you would want to have your wits about you at all times
Post by: Maguire01 on October 02, 2011, 12:30:08 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on October 02, 2011, 12:09:04 PM
At least McGuinness can say with conviction that he has actually fought for Ireland, Dana can say she sang for Ireland  :( , as for the others ....
If that's all you know about the candidates, i'd hope you're not in charge of a vote.
Post by: Minder on October 02, 2011, 12:34:05 PM
McGuinness used to drink but can't remember when he left drinking, he doesent feel why he has to keep answering questions on his drinking. Nelson Mandela once offered him a drink but he refused. He is embarrassed by other colleagues actions whilst drinking but had no knowledge of what they intended to do.
Post by: Minder on October 02, 2011, 12:35:50 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on October 02, 2011, 12:09:04 PM
QuoteWas it not the case so that he didn't drink so he could keep his head clear for all the bombing and shooting and what have you?

More likely to avoid the shooting and constant threat of death which he was/is under.  At least McGuinness can say with conviction that he has actually fought for Ireland, Dana can say she sang for Ireland  :( , as for the others ....

So thats what it's all about? Is there still time to get Barry McGuigan into the race?
Post by: Maguire01 on October 02, 2011, 12:36:41 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 02, 2011, 12:34:05 PM
McGuinness used to drink but can't remember when he left drinking, he doesent feel why he has to keep answering questions on his drinking. Nelson Mandela once offered him a drink but he refused. He is embarrassed by other colleagues actions whilst drinking but had no knowledge of what they intended to do.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 02, 2011, 02:29:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 02, 2011, 10:53:44 AM

Yeah but she could cover up some dodgy chord changes  :P
Post by: muppet on October 02, 2011, 03:41:30 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 02, 2011, 02:29:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 02, 2011, 10:53:44 AM

Yeah but she could cover up some dodgy chord changes  :P

At least she would probably remember the first line!
Post by: 5 Sams on October 02, 2011, 05:21:38 PM
If I was a name dropper I would say that I HAVE been on the beer with one of them  ;) ;) and...no...it wasnt Norris....
Post by: bcarrier on October 02, 2011, 05:34:28 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 02, 2011, 05:21:38 PM
If I was a name dropper I would say that I HAVE been on the beer with one of them  ;) ;) and...no...it wasnt Norris....

was this when dana lived out the rostrevor rd  ;D
Post by: muppet on October 02, 2011, 06:31:53 PM
What is this 'Presidenital'?

Could it have anything to do with presi-denital mutilation?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 02, 2011, 08:31:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 02, 2011, 06:31:53 PM
What is this 'Presidenital'?

Could it have anything to do with presi-denital mutilation?

:P  :-[
Title: Re: Presidential canditate you could go on the beer with.
Post by: anglocelt39 on October 02, 2011, 09:10:07 PM
In response to  the habitual clown who's started this thread we could start something for the 7 candidates along the lines of Would you be so desperate as to canvas a vote of this particular individual. I'm sure Gay and Marty are delighted at MGHU's apparent imprimatur. Dana and Mary, on the other hand, must be gutted.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 02, 2011, 09:19:34 PM
Some of these Ulster lads are fierce sensitive.  ;D
Post by: Nally Stand on October 02, 2011, 09:35:51 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 02, 2011, 09:19:34 PM

Not sensitive enough to start a whingy "moving on" thread for the purposes of having a cry though.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 02, 2011, 09:38:52 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 02, 2011, 09:35:51 PM

Not sensitive enough to start a whingy "moving on" thread for the purposes of having a cry though.

You do enough whinging on here Nally.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 02, 2011, 10:41:22 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 02, 2011, 09:38:52 PM

Yeah, remember I started a whingy thread called "moving on"?

Oh wait.... yip, that was you.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 02, 2011, 10:56:25 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 02, 2011, 10:41:22 PM

You just whinge. Some amount of whinging you did about the Queen and even Marty has abandoned that cause. His ego to become President means he can jettison principles at will.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 02, 2011, 11:24:42 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 02, 2011, 10:56:25 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 02, 2011, 10:41:22 PM

You just whinge. Some amount of whinging you did about the Queen and even Marty has abandoned that cause. His ego to become President means he can jettison principles at will.

His ego? He was selected by his party to run, he didn't choose to run. He lives in the same working class neighborhood he always lived in. Ego? Hmmmmm
Post by: ziggysego on October 02, 2011, 11:36:03 PM
Please leave egos out of this, we are good people.
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2011, 12:56:47 PM
I love some of the more extreme ideology that appears here.

Marty is a great fella because he wouldn't dream of moving from his council estate or wherever he has lived for yonks. This is regularly trumpeted here (not by the man himself I must point out) to show he is without ego or ambition. If this ideology had really stood the test of time, Marty would be still living in a cave, wearing mammoth-skins and playing his hurling with a proper club, rather than an actual hurley.

That obviously isn't the case so we must assume that the ideology has a starting point. At this time it was ok to live in whatever house your, or more particularly, Marty's family were in but after which upgrading was to be frowned upon. This upgrading, according to the ideology, means you are the opposite of Marty who is without ego or financial ambition, thus leaving the rest of us as egotistical money-grabbers.

If Marty upgrades to the Áras what happens?

Post by: Hardy on October 03, 2011, 01:02:37 PM
I don't think people should be demeaning the dignity of the office by referring in such familiar terms to any candidate and particularly the one who holds the constitution and institutions of this state so dear. Referring to the also-rans as Mikey, Davey, Gaybo, etc. is neither here nor there, but "Commander-In-Chief Marty" is just a little too informal for the wavering voter.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 03, 2011, 01:05:57 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 03, 2011, 12:56:47 PM
I love some of the more extreme ideology that appears here.

Marty is a great fella because he wouldn't dream of moving from his council estate or wherever he has lived for yonks. This is regularly trumpeted here (not by the man himself I must point out) to show he is without ego or ambition. If this ideology had really stood the test of time, Marty would be still living in a cave, wearing mammoth-skins and playing his hurling with a proper club, rather than an actual hurley.

That obviously isn't the case so we must assume that the ideology has a starting point. At this time it was ok to live in whatever house your, or more particularly, Marty's family were in but after which upgrading was to be frowned upon. This upgrading, according to the ideology, means you are the opposite of Marty who is without ego or financial ambition, thus leaving the rest of us as egotistical money-grabbers.

If Marty upgrades to the Áras what happens?

It's awful easy to be labelled an extremist around here.
Do you think Martin McGuinness is ego motivated?
Post by: Declan on October 03, 2011, 01:14:52 PM
QuoteDo you think Martin McGuinness is ego motivated?

Anyone involved in politics is ego motivated - it just depends on how much, in comparison to the other "qualities" they have, it motivates them.
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2011, 01:30:37 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 03, 2011, 01:05:57 PM

Labels and Ego?

There are many ways to come at this. I agree with Declan above for example.

But here is another angle.

The ego refers to self or identity. Translate Sinn Féin, I agree it is We Ourselves, rather than Us Alone. Either way it suggests an exclusive Irish identity. When attacked recently McGuinness was quick to use the expression 'West Brits'. This is a derogatory term aimed at fellow Irish people who are perceived as 'less Irish' than, at the very least, the person issuing the insult. To label anyone a 'West Brit' requires an opinion that your Irishness is superior to the 'West Brit's' Irishness.

Imho it requires a serious ego to proclaim yourself more Irish than someone else.

I accept that the expression West Brit is thrown around in many contexts up North, but McGuinness is running for a position that also represents those in the South and he needs to understand his audience.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 03, 2011, 01:48:17 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 03, 2011, 01:30:37 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 03, 2011, 01:05:57 PM

Labels and Ego?

There are many ways to come at this. I agree with Declan above for example.

But here is another angle.

The ego refers to self or identity. Translate Sinn Féin, I agree it is We Ourselves, rather than Us Alone. Either way it suggests an exclusive Irish identity. When attacked recently McGuinness was quick to use the expression 'West Brits'. This is a derogatory term aimed at fellow Irish people who are perceived as 'less Irish' than, at the very least, the person issuing the insult. To label anyone a 'West Brit' requires an opinion that your Irishness is superior to the 'West Brit's' Irishness.

Imho it requires a serious ego to proclaim yourself more Irish than someone else.

I accept that the expression West Brit is thrown around in many contexts up North, but McGuinness is running for a position that also represents those in the South and he needs to understand his audience.

I think his use of the term to refer to elements of the media (not "everyone" as you stated recently) as westbrits is entirely justified. I think the ego of those people he termed westbrits is much more open to see. But that is just one element of his campaign. In general, do you think Martin McGuinness is in politics and in this election for the purposes of massaging his ego?
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2011, 01:52:08 PM
An unequivocal yes to that one.

If he and Gerry believed in the greater good they would be putting forward newer Sinn Féin candidates with less complicated backgrounds. The fact that they don't seem to be able to let of control of the entire Republican movement tells me it is about them as much as anything.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 03, 2011, 02:13:07 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 03, 2011, 01:52:08 PM
An unequivocal yes to that one.

If he and Gerry believed in the greater good they would be putting forward newer Sinn Féin candidates with less complicated backgrounds. The fact that they don't seem to be able to let of control of the entire Republican movement tells me it is about them as much as anything.

This has nothing to do with Gerry Adams. We are talking about Martin McGuinness. You honestly believe he got into politics due to his ego? And that it is his ego which is motivating him to run for President? Hard to believe! While only 26 counties can vote in this election, the Republican Movement is about more than 26 counties. Martin McGuinness has proven to be an effective politician and was comfortably ahead of the field in the Belfast Telegraphs poll on who people felt were the most effective ministers. He has repeatedly been a poll-topper in Mid Ulster, why should he leave leadership of the Republican Movement, like you suggest? To suit the electorate of the 26 counties and feck the other 6? He is however happy to don the new hat of President in place of his much more powerful position as joint head honcho in the north. An egotist would surely rather remain in a powerful office than a powerless office?
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2011, 02:34:50 PM
A non-egotist would let someone else do it. You are the one claiming he is without ego. Let's just say I find it highly unlikely, this is not meant as any disrespect to SF as I feel the same about all politicians.

BTW you refer to the Office of President as simply a powerless office. Do you see no benefit in doing the job whatsoever?
Post by: Nally Stand on October 03, 2011, 02:51:37 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 03, 2011, 02:34:50 PM
A non-egotist would let someone else do it. You are the one claiming he is without ego. Let's just say I find it highly unlikely, this is not meant as any disrespect to SF as I feel the same about all politicians.

BTW you refer to the Office of President as simply a powerless office. Do you see no benefit in doing the job whatsoever?

Guaranteed All-Ireland tickets.

From McGuinness' point of view, he has stated that he would be in the office with an openly United Ireland agenda so I'd imagine the benefit would be seeing another brick in wall of partition removed; and win or (most likely) lose, his candidature will likely have been a huge help to SF in the task of leap-frogging FF. In an interview recently, he talked about being in Paris with his grandson, and while there, suddenly being stuck at the realisation that it was the first time in his sixty-something years that he had ever outside of Ireland on his own time, and not on behalf of SF. He has stated that he is a party loyalist and as such, is in the race because his party asked him to be. He has outlined his reasons for getting involved in politics and the Republican struggle, and I believe it is simply not credible to suggest he did do for an ego massage.
Post by: Hardy on October 03, 2011, 02:56:21 PM
How can he afford to go to Paris on the average industrial wage?
Post by: Nally Stand on October 03, 2011, 02:58:17 PM
Quote from: Hardy on October 03, 2011, 02:56:21 PM

How could he not?
Post by: Bingo on October 03, 2011, 03:02:23 PM
F*ck this thread, i'd drink with none of them...give me a pint with a few friends any day of the week.
Post by: Hardy on October 03, 2011, 03:04:08 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 03, 2011, 02:58:17 PM

How could he not?

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/Pavlov.png)
Post by: Nally Stand on October 03, 2011, 03:24:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on October 03, 2011, 03:04:08 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 03, 2011, 02:58:17 PM

How could he not?

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/Pavlov.png)

So a man on an industrial wage could not afford one trip to Paris in his life?
Post by: Hardy on October 03, 2011, 03:30:22 PM
Sure how would I know? That's why I asked.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 03, 2011, 03:33:17 PM
Quote from: Hardy on October 03, 2011, 03:30:22 PM
Sure how would I know? That's why I asked.

Good man yourself
Post by: seafoid on October 03, 2011, 04:20:18 PM
These threads with Nally Stand remind me of the old joke about the IRA man on Mastermind

Magnus Magnusson asks the first 2 questions

Name? Pass
Chosen subject ? Pass

And a voice comes from the audience- Good mon Francie, tell the bastard nathin.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on October 21, 2018, 02:24:10 PM
These Presidental elections are becoming really dirty. Casey and the Travellers Michael D and the Lear Jet. Is it just me or should Presidential elections here be above that sort of stuff. I appreciate none of it is as bad as the Adi Roche character assassination of some years ago and the Hugh Morgan brown envelope last time but there are times when I'd happily give this up for a United Ireland within the Commonwealth
Post by: omaghjoe on October 22, 2018, 04:35:55 AM
There could be a long wait for a pint when its Sean's turn

Tho I need some reminding... last time around he got sunk for Brown envelopes by Marty McG..... did anyone actually check to make sure what was in the brown envelopes on account of his his bein from Cavan and all?
Post by: seafoid on October 22, 2018, 09:03:59 AM
Michael D is outstanding and Máirtín was a great candidate compared to the Dragons Dregs in the race this time around.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 22, 2018, 09:10:13 AM
What do everyone think of Peter Casey's comments? I think he was ill judged, but when you look at the shenanigans below in Tipperary he's probably correct. I mean, getting houses for them, but not taking them because they want an acre of land apiece for their horses as well. I mean come on...
Post by: laoislad on October 22, 2018, 09:11:58 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 22, 2018, 09:10:13 AM
What do everyone think of Peter Casey's comments?
What he said was 100% correct.
Post by: seafoid on October 22, 2018, 09:32:14 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 22, 2018, 09:10:13 AM
What do everyone think of Peter Casey's comments? I think he was ill judged, but when you look at the shenanigans below in Tipperary he's probably correct. I mean, getting houses for them, but not taking them because they want an acre of land apiece for their horses as well. I mean come on...
Taking one situation and projecting it onto a whole sector is very Whitey.
Imo the white collar clowns in the finance sector do a lot more damage than itinerants ever did
Post by: Hardy on October 22, 2018, 01:52:47 PM
Some gobshite in this campaign was going to think he was onto a good thing if he decided to ape Trump. It was only a question of which gobshite. It turns out his calculation was probably correct. Judging by the social media reaction, I expect he'll soar to a clear second place in the polls.
Post by: seafoid on October 22, 2018, 01:55:50 PM
The Presidential vote is very like the football championship with MDH as the Dubs
Post by: trailer on October 22, 2018, 04:00:38 PM
I fear for Ireland in the future if these clowns is the best they can put up.

The Dragons are absolutely f**king cringe. Talk about having notions of yourself. Absolute ballbags with Peter Casey leading the way.

Lana del rey is typical SF, sly, snidey digs. Insinuating that Joan Freeman is riding her donor. Doesn't deviate from party line. IRA good, Gerry never in it, Brits out. Significant this use of Women by SF as well. Someone not to be trusted IMO.

Joan Freedman.... who and why?

Post by: seafoid on October 22, 2018, 04:25:26 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 22, 2018, 04:00:38 PM

The Dragons are absolutely f**king cringe. Talk about having notions of yourself. Absolute ballbags with Peter Casey leading the way.

Lana del rey is typical SF, sly, snidey digs. Insinuating that Joan Freeman is riding her donor. Doesn't deviate from party line. IRA good, Gerry never in it, Brits out. Significant this use of Women by SF as well. Someone not to be trusted IMO.

The political parties with the exception of Sf have backed MDH so 3 fruitcakes made the most noise.
Reflects very badly on the business community.

That bunty twuntington McFuff was on the ball. The race is a farce. 
Post by: Snapchap on October 23, 2018, 11:05:06 AM

What do you expect? For her to stop holding republican views? ::)
Post by: Rossfan on October 23, 2018, 11:14:46 AM
The oul gender balance is gone to he'll in SF these days.
3 women in charge.
Obviously no quota for males
Post by: trailer on October 23, 2018, 11:17:52 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on October 23, 2018, 11:05:06 AM

Perhaps she could think for herself? Obviously that's outlawed in the SF party.
Post by: Snapchap on October 23, 2018, 12:03:51 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 23, 2018, 11:17:52 AM

Maybe she is expressing her own opinions? Is it so hard to believe that someone who wants the brits out and who believes the IRA campaign was justifiable, might join SF, rather than doing it the other way around?
Post by: Itchy on October 23, 2018, 02:16:57 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on October 23, 2018, 12:03:51 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 23, 2018, 11:17:52 AM

Maybe she is expressing her own opinions? Is it so hard to believe that someone who wants the brits out and who believes the IRA campaign was justifiable, might join SF, rather than doing it the other way around?

She said she would wear a poppy if required to. The only one who said they wouldnt was Gavin Duffy. Hardly towing the party line. However, I wont be voting for her due to that. No Irish leader should be wearing a poppy in my opinion.