GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: eastern_gael on July 05, 2010, 02:07:28 AM

Title: What had McStay scribbled on page when talking about Mikey's list of honours
Post by: eastern_gael on July 05, 2010, 02:07:28 AM
Anybody any idea what Mr Mcstay had on the back of his notes. Looked like an arrow going from midfield to full forward line. Intriguing stuff! Thats why they get the big money!!!
Title: Re: What had McStay scribbled on page when talking about Mikey's list of honours
Post by: Seany on July 05, 2010, 08:23:31 AM
I actually think Kevin McStay is one of the best pundits on TV.

Very incisive and can read a game brilliantly.

I also rate TV3's pundits highly.  I think they are excellent. TV3 like TG4 poperating on a tiny budget have done a great job.  I used to hate that station because of its lack of GAA coverage, but now I look at it with a different eye and think it's Ok
Title: Re: What had McStay scribbled on page when talking about Mikey's list of honours
Post by: Zapatista on July 05, 2010, 08:31:00 AM
(http://cowsarejustfood.files.wordpress.com/2010/02/flux-capacitor.jpg)

The flux-capacitor
Title: Re: What had McStay scribbled on page when talking about Mikey's list of honour
Post by: The Konica on July 05, 2010, 09:11:01 AM
Quote from: Seany on July 05, 2010, 08:23:31 AM
I actually think Kevin McStay is one of the best pundits on TV.

Very incisive and can read a game brilliantly.

Are you serious or taking the mickey?

Post by: Lar Naparka on July 05, 2010, 09:37:03 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on July 05, 2010, 08:31:00 AM
(http://cowsarejustfood.files.wordpress.com/2010/02/flux-capacitor.jpg)

The flux-capacitor
Looks more like a phallic symbol to me!
Post by: Seany on July 05, 2010, 11:10:05 AM
No, actually I'm totally serious

I also met him once at a match and he was a complete gentleman.

I reckon he's great to listen to and can analyse a match well.  I have great respect for him as a pundit.

Title: Re: What had McStay scribbled on page when talking about Mikey's list of honour
Post by: Logan on July 05, 2010, 03:49:24 PM
McStay is a disaster IMO.

Sorry, but can't stand the man.
I don't think he has a clue at all.

He's always moaning about the physcialness of the game and pointing out rough play, which is in fact simple good hard honest football.

I genuinely think he has a visual defect (I honestly do) as I've seem him claim things and know he was completely wrong, then watched the replay and found he was as wrong as I was right ... and he's at the game!!!

I hate listening to him, about the only man as bad as Tommy 'arse-boxing' Lyons.

Then of course we have the 'turnovers' and basketball speak ...

Nope, sorry Seany, you're on your own on that one!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2010, 03:51:05 PM
I think he was taking the pizza order for the lads.
Post by: Logan on July 05, 2010, 03:52:03 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2010, 03:51:05 PM
I think he was taking the pizza order for the lads.

Lyons said 'Cut it in 3 as I'd never eat 6 pieces'
Post by: Minder on July 05, 2010, 04:29:23 PM
I thought his most insightful comment last night was when he lauded Sligo as "a serious piece of kit".
Post by: ross4life on July 05, 2010, 05:36:48 PM
(http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/1850/97116580.png) (http://img821.imageshack.us/i/97116580.png/)

Post by: The Konica on July 05, 2010, 05:39:39 PM
Ha ha!!!!

I wonder did he colour it in after?

Post by: ross4life on July 05, 2010, 05:44:32 PM
Kinda reminds me of this  :D

(http://i36.tinypic.com/15not2f.gif)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2010, 05:47:07 PM
He only has goalposts at one end of the pitch. Shoddy analysis.
Post by: The Konica on July 05, 2010, 05:47:40 PM
Yeh!!! ha ha ... and another retard beside him ...Archie Knox
Post by: The Konica on July 05, 2010, 05:49:04 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2010, 05:47:07 PM
He only has goalposts at one end of the pitch. Shoddy analysis.

He was a forward ... probably never tracked back to know there are goals at the far end
Post by: eastern_gael on July 05, 2010, 05:51:16 PM
Fairly shoddy looking pitch. Think i can make out E=MC Squared whatever that has to do with football or serious bits of kit
Post by: joemamas on July 05, 2010, 05:52:15 PM
I also think Kevin Mcstay is miles ahead of some of his colleagues on RTE. Now , I understand that that may not get him any awards, but when you think of some of the shi*e spouted by Tommy Lyons et AL, Mcstay comes across as fairly intelligent, he is a good reader of the game and he also is not afraid to call a spade a spade, unlike some of his colleagues who will sit on the fence.

I also think his analysis of games is far better, look back to last sunday, how many of his colleagues would have gone to the trouble of breaking down the plays that led to the Meath goals, none that I have seen on RTE.
Post by: ross matt on July 05, 2010, 07:44:38 PM
Quote from: Seany on July 05, 2010, 11:10:05 AM
No, actually I'm totally serious

I also met him once at a match and he was a complete gentleman.

I reckon he's great to listen to and can analyse a match well.  I have great respect for him as a pundit.

Spot on Seany. Couldnt agree more. Always rated him highly as a pundit. None of "am'nt I a gas man altogther" blather ala Spillane, O'Rourke and Brolly. Manages to criticise constructively without disrespecting the player. Also met him once. Thorough gentleman.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 05, 2010, 08:01:58 PM
In his Evening Herald article last week McStay asked for Kerry people to apologise to Tohill over the Paul Galvin affair, yerra go away and shite McStay for yourself, ya fecking gobshite.
Post by: moysider on July 05, 2010, 11:52:26 PM

Yerra, no need. Galvin did enough grovelling himself. No need for anybody to apologise for anything after that bit of tv. Those that batted for him needn't have bothered.