Assaults at GAA games

Started by Rudi, September 01, 2022, 11:57:55 AM

Quote from: Armagh18 on October 22, 2023, 06:05:58 PM
Quote from: jcpen on October 22, 2023, 05:27:28 PMhttps://www.balls.ie/gaa/gaa-referee-attacked-leinster-club-clash-575550?fbclid=IwAR1wEvsWFRrt8UUf_j1mhH33n4iONOFYkX4XDSFqQcWu2jxHnzZxVT0jeAA
Ref should be booked for diving there.

He seemed to bounce off someone in front of him the way he fell back after being pushed in the back.

Anyway, the man that did it should be easily identified from the video.
96 weeks

AustinPowers

Quote from: jcpen on October 22, 2023, 05:27:28 PMhttps://www.balls.ie/gaa/gaa-referee-attacked-leinster-club-clash-575550?fbclid=IwAR1wEvsWFRrt8UUf_j1mhH33n4iONOFYkX4XDSFqQcWu2jxHnzZxVT0jeAA

I think the  time has come  to ban supporters  from  coming onto  the pitch.

Referees in similar situations could  potentially have to  contend with  hundreds of demented/angry/drugged up wingnuts as  they leave the field after a match.  Garda/steward escorts clearly aren't  enough anymore. Officials   need  protecting.

Quote from: AustinPowers on October 22, 2023, 09:52:25 PM

Referees in similar situations could  potentially have to  contend with  hundreds of demented/angry/drugged up wingnuts as  they leave the field after a match.  Garda/steward escorts clearly aren't  enough anymore. Officials   need  protecting.

Yes and no, people should realise that their actions will have repercussions. The clubs should recognise that their members or player's families have a responsibility, and if they break that, then the club suffers. No home games and no championship participation the next season ..

Some difference in this craic and the rugby lads.

Lads who absolutely tank each other throughout the game, can shake hands and have a chat after it's over.

Some difference then compared to a lot of cowboys, players and supporters in the gaa.

How, and can, the GAA get to the level of rugby disclipline?

Can it be done?

AustinPowers

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 22, 2023, 10:45:11 PM

Referees in similar situations could  potentially have to  contend with  hundreds of demented/angry/drugged up wingnuts as  they leave the field after a match.  Garda/steward escorts clearly aren't  enough anymore. Officials  need  protecting.

Yes and no, people should realise that their actions will have repercussions. The clubs should recognise that their members or player's families have a responsibility, and if they break that, then the club suffers. No home games and no championship participation the next season ..

Aye but in the heat of the moment , that hardly enters a potentially drugged/drunk fan's head , as they  go after the referee  because of  a decision he made.

Clubs will no doubt defend such fan's actions  at any hearing. Ach  he's going through a rough patch, marriage broke up, he's on meds for  depression etc.... Aye, sorry about that ref. I got carried away.  Meanwhile, the ref sucks  his dinner  through a straw for  weeks as his jaw is broke.

You're a referee.  Have you not  faced  similar situations post match? (the angry fans, not the straw  bit)

The default response from the losing team in football nowadays, is to lay the full blame at the feet of the referee. And I don't mean like a few throwaway remarks from the dunderheads among us. It's more along the lines of the team, management and core support immediately gathering in unison to hold the referee accountable. As if it's not plausible to lose a match fair and square.

This wasn't the case when I was playing. Don't get me wrong, we all had angry exchanges with referees. But even when refereeing decisions played a huge part in games - such as Greg McCartan and Diarmuid Marsden getting sent off in 2003 - everyone (or at least most people) seemed to have some form of acceptance that the better team on the day should win the match.

I don't know when or why this changed. Does anyone?

Quote from: AustinPowers on October 22, 2023, 11:04:53 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 22, 2023, 10:45:11 PM

Referees in similar situations could  potentially have to  contend with  hundreds of demented/angry/drugged up wingnuts as  they leave the field after a match.  Garda/steward escorts clearly aren't  enough anymore. Officials  need  protecting.

Aye but in the heat of the moment , that hardly enters a potentially drugged/drunk fan's head , as they  go after the referee  because of  a decision he made.

Clubs will no doubt defend such fan's actions  at any hearing. Ach  he's going through a rough patch, marriage broke up, he's on meds for  depression etc.... Aye, sorry about that ref. I got carried away.  Meanwhile, the ref sucks  his dinner  through a straw for  weeks as his jaw is broke.

You're a referee.  Have you not  faced  similar situations post match? (the angry fans, not the straw  bit)

I'm 5,6" I'm lucky enough (thankfully lol) to have not been physically attacked, but certainly been 'approached' were people have questioned my height, lack of hair, parentage, the general profanities you'd expect from Neanderthals.

Regardless of your honesty or integrity everyone (generally from losing team) will say you've had a bad game. So what's the options here? Just say, "ah f**k that shite" like half the people that put their names forward at an AGM? Or say ok, I get passion, frustration, annoyance, I've been there, done that, but he's tried his best and if he's made a mistake it's ok, or actually run on to the field to attack a ref!

You really are an unhinged person, who needs help if you feel it will help your club.

Zero tolerance is the only way, I accept conversation, but once I've explained my reasoning and it continues then so will the moving ball forward, removing managers from play and sin binning a player who remonstrates.

All that aside.. the ccc should come down hard on the club. Defending anyone is fine, but the rules are there to Impose sanctions .

Code of conduct is in place at clubs, if someone has issues then the club should make sure said person is not about.

Punters shouting from behind the fence should not be exempt either.

The reason why it's changed Wobbler is players and managers plus supporters can't accept that their wee team lost that game..

Agree wholeheartedly mr2. What I can't put my finger on is roughly when things changed from teams being able to accept a defeat, to having to blame the referee for every defeat.

Quote from: thewobbler on October 23, 2023, 12:05:56 AMAgree wholeheartedly mr2. What I can't put my finger on is roughly when things changed from teams being able to accept a defeat, to having to blame the referee for every defeat.

Paid managers and backrooms?

Eire90

he wanted to be the big man of the community

Eire90

i heard the pusher is an offaly county player

Joeythelips

According to the Irish Times article he is a Tullamore player who wasn't involved in the match. I know one of their players did play in the county final and did not play in the Summerhill match due to injury and he has played for Offaly so that would add up. If it is a player as reported then thats a 96 week suspension you would imagine.

Eire90

an eye Gough at a game in cork yesterday.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 06, 2023, 07:06:16 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on November 06, 2023, 06:09:27 PMan eye Gough at a game in cork yesterday.

Is David ok?

My money is on  Richard.  What did he expect, an ex rangers  man at a GAA match  ::)