Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Orior on May 29, 2019, 11:30:52 AM

Title: Things I do not understand
Post by: Orior on May 29, 2019, 11:30:52 AM
1) How does the wind rushing over and under wings make a plane fly?

2) How does a mobile phone still work perfectly when on the move?

3) How does the sun's light travel though the vacuum of space?
Title: Re: Things I do not understand
Post by: Kidder81 on May 29, 2019, 11:34:17 AM
Why people go to a Spice Girls concert and complain about the sound
Post by: GetOverTheBar on May 29, 2019, 11:48:18 AM
Quick Sports

1) Going to any game seemingly to criticise the players / even worse, just one particular player
2) That clown who gets half cut at rugby and must break the silence on the kicks for attention
3) People complaining about smaller counties playing defensive football like they should put their lives on hold to train for months on end to get hammered for the sake of 'entertainment'.

Quick General

1) People nipping out dangerously in front of you on road then not bothering to speed up
2) People complaining about NI Politics when the whole life blood of the two main parties is conflict and blaming the other side
3) Religion in general for me, just a bit strange - fair play to anyone who truly believes, not knocking them in any way-just find the whole concept odd.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 29, 2019, 12:00:33 PM
Is this a merging of Things that make you go what the f*ck and Things that grind my gears.....

Or am i not understanding Things i do not understand
Post by: Esmarelda on May 29, 2019, 12:39:29 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on May 29, 2019, 11:48:18 AM
Quick Sports

1) Going to any game seemingly to criticise the players / even worse, just one particular player
2) That clown who gets half cut at rugby and must break the silence on the kicks for attention
3) People complaining about smaller counties playing defensive football like they should put their lives on hold to train for months on end to get hammered for the sake of 'entertainment'.

Quick General

1) People nipping out dangerously in front of you on road then not bothering to speed up
2) People complaining about NI Politics when the whole life blood of the two main parties is conflict and blaming the other side
3) Religion in general for me, just a bit strange - fair play to anyone who truly believes, not knocking them in any way-just find the whole concept odd.
Your ideas are intriguing to me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 29, 2019, 01:25:59 PM
Leave the thread.  Your not understanding some means that it's things that  you happy they work.  Doesn't trouble you greatly but some peaky child wants an explanation  (why is the sky blue)  and doesn't yet have your maturity.
Post by: Targetman on May 29, 2019, 01:36:14 PM
Algebra, could never get my head round it!!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 29, 2019, 01:46:16 PM
women
Post by: Tyrdub on May 29, 2019, 01:51:39 PM
Chinese writing
Post by: Dire Ear on May 29, 2019, 02:10:05 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 29, 2019, 01:46:16 PM
women
End of discussion
Post by: GetOverTheBar on May 29, 2019, 02:17:02 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on May 29, 2019, 12:39:29 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on May 29, 2019, 11:48:18 AM
Quick Sports

Quick General

Your ideas are intriguing to me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter.

Welcome to the Dark Side my brother.
Post by: thewobbler on May 29, 2019, 02:18:11 PM
Why anyone would believe that culminating their opinions with the word "fact", somehow makes irrefutable their conjecture.
Post by: lurganblue on May 29, 2019, 02:48:33 PM
Don't understand how Antrim GAA haven't developed a ground in their county to a reasonable standard, ignoring the whole Casement fiasco.
Post by: rosnarun on May 29, 2019, 02:51:05 PM
Quote from: Tyrdub on May 29, 2019, 01:51:39 PM
Chinese writing
simple enough really
think of it as different version of Korean or Japanese
Post by: ziggysego on May 29, 2019, 03:00:08 PM
People who won't Google for information, but instead put 100s of questions every week on Facebook.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 29, 2019, 03:06:21 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 29, 2019, 11:30:52 AM
1) How does the wind rushing over and under wings make a plane fly?

3) How does the sun's light travel though the vacuum of space?

1. It creates a pressure differential in the air which it attempts to equalise

2. Radio waves travel in all directions, same way as a walkie talkie or car radio

3. Light does not need air to travel on
Post by: omaghjoe on May 29, 2019, 03:16:00 PM
To take up Ziggys point I used to wonder on the following 2 questions:

1. If the earth is spinning so fast and gravity is so weak then why are we not thrown off the earth into space especially people living on the equator

2. If space is a vacuum why arent we sucked out into it?

A quick google tho sorts these things out..... the answers are way more interesting than the questions BTW

However you discover that google has got to such answers to the the following ( and a good few other)

Why does a major chord sound happy and a minor chord sound sad? IN fact why do we like music at all?

How do I know I experience the same things as anyone else. How do I know that green means the same thing to me as to ziggy or orior?

What the feck is time?
Post by: Esmarelda on May 29, 2019, 03:18:08 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 29, 2019, 03:16:00 PM

1. If the earth is spinning so fast and gravity is so weak then why are we not thrown off the earth into space especially people living on the equator

2. If space is a vacuum why arent we sucked out into it?

A quick google tho sorts these things out..... the answers are way more interesting than the questions BTW

However you discover that google has got to such answers to the the following ( and a good few other)

Why does a major chord sound happy and a minor chord sound sad? IN fact why do we like music at all?

How do I know I experience the same things as anyone else. How do I know that green means the same thing to me as to ziggy or orior?

What the feck is time?
I think a major chord sounds sad, which answers your second question.

It's now 3:17 p.m.  ;D
Post by: Tyrdub on May 29, 2019, 04:09:45 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 29, 2019, 02:51:05 PM
Quote from: Tyrdub on May 29, 2019, 01:51:39 PM
Chinese writing
simple enough really
think of it as different version of Korean or Japanese

Touche
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 29, 2019, 04:34:31 PM

Gravity isn't weak. It's a lot stronger than any negligible centrifugal force from the Earth's rotation. That only comes into play with spac launches which are more efficient at lower latitudes.

Quote2. If space is a vacuum why arent we sucked out into it?

Gravity holds us and a layer of air against the surface of Earth.

Post by: omaghjoe on May 29, 2019, 04:41:00 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 29, 2019, 04:34:31 PM

Gravity isn't weak. It's a lot stronger than any negligible centrifugal force from the Earth's rotation. That only comes into play with spac launches which are more efficient at lower latitudes.

Quote2. If space is a vacuum why arent we sucked out into it?

Gravity holds us and a layer of air against the surface of Earth.

Yeah the idea was you would google these and discover for yourself unfortunately you seems to have missed the interesting bits

That is, the Earth actually spins really slow....(and btw gravity is weak)

and...

that a vaccum only "sucks" things because of the air pressure around it
Post by: Jim Bob on May 29, 2019, 06:00:52 PM
YAWN!!!
Post by: playwiththewind1st on May 29, 2019, 06:12:22 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 29, 2019, 02:48:33 PM
Don't understand how Antrim GAA haven't developed a ground in their county to a reasonable standard, ignoring the whole Casement fiasco.

Nobody fully understands the mysteries of Antrim GAA affairs.
Post by: BennyCake on May 29, 2019, 06:16:00 PM
...why weemin think those big rectangular eyebrows look good.
Post by: Puckoon on May 29, 2019, 06:20:46 PM
The orange look and the fake tan industry.
Post by: BennyCake on May 29, 2019, 06:26:07 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 29, 2019, 06:20:46 PM

Not forgetting the fish lips, Botox faces and blinding white teeth.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 29, 2019, 06:35:38 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 29, 2019, 06:20:46 PM

I feel the need to put this in the 'grinds my gears' thread. You can always spot the Irish girls out here because their faces glow, they seem to plaster the make-up on with a trowel.
Post by: laoislad on May 29, 2019, 06:47:20 PM
Vegans.
Post by: laoislad on May 29, 2019, 06:47:42 PM
People who like cats.
Post by: Square Ball on May 29, 2019, 06:58:51 PM
How 5g is quicker than 4g which was quicker that 3g
Post by: Puckoon on May 29, 2019, 07:03:03 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 29, 2019, 06:47:42 PM
People who like cats.
Quote from: laoislad on May 29, 2019, 06:47:20 PM
Vegans.

And often times they'll feed their cat a vegan diet. A cat.

#vegancat
Post by: LooseCannon on May 29, 2019, 07:34:35 PM
Renua.
Oh, and how people voted for their leader here in Offaly.

And a load of other things.
Why hurling isn't in Birr😜
Post by: Insane Bolt on May 29, 2019, 07:34:49 PM
How kebabs taste so good.....after 12 pints of stout🤮
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 29, 2019, 09:38:47 PM
People who like cats.

Quiet.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 29, 2019, 09:47:58 PM
People who like cats.
I have 5 new kittens in the garage if you want one each for the wee fellas. Free of charge.
Post by: Orior on May 29, 2019, 09:50:54 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on May 29, 2019, 06:58:51 PM
How 5g is quicker than 4g which was quicker that 3g

Same applies to "new improved" washing powder.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 29, 2019, 10:23:19 PM
Why is there-they're-their abuse, to-two-too abuse, of-off abuse, and lose-loose abuse so rampant nowadays?
Post by: north_antrim_hound on May 29, 2019, 10:41:29 PM
Why I'm paying rates for Stormont

How Man U finished in the top six this year

Why they closed Casement  for matches before all the planing was finalised

People from bushmills and moss side

Post by: omaghjoe on May 30, 2019, 04:40:07 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 29, 2019, 07:03:03 PM
People who like cats.
Vegans.

#vegancat

Their obsessive nature is nearly as nuts as the atheists but I can at least see their logic.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 30, 2019, 05:42:00 AM
Now that you mention it, why people go back to the same church every week to repeat the same things (spoken so fast it's barely intelligible) and hear the same things repeated?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 30, 2019, 07:07:28 AM
Proclaiming your belief in something alongside those of the same belief repeatedly is logical enough especially if you feel enriched from doing so.

But returning again and again to a subject to publically proclaim your disbelief in it to who ever reads/hears it is utterly perplexing.

Post by: lurganblue on May 30, 2019, 09:48:46 AM
...people who drink sparkling water.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 30, 2019, 09:51:02 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 30, 2019, 09:48:46 AM

Sorry I have to disagree with this. Sparkling water in dilute juice is extremely refreshing....much nicer than the likes of Coke or Fanta.
Post by: lurganblue on May 30, 2019, 09:52:35 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 30, 2019, 09:51:02 AM

Sorry I have to disagree with this. Sparkling water in dilute juice is extremely refreshing....much nicer than the likes of Coke or Fanta.

I can understand it being mixed to make a kind of fizzy dilute. Cant understand it being drank as it is.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 30, 2019, 09:54:35 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 30, 2019, 09:52:35 AM

I can understand it being mixed to make a kind of fizzy dilute. Cant understand it being drank as it is.

That's fine....just so we are on the same page. A Cross man and a Lurgan man agreeing.....that's something I don't understand!!!
Post by: imtommygunn on May 30, 2019, 10:01:15 AM

Fully agree. Horrible stuff!

On a similar note as these are fizzy too... prosecco crisps!
Post by: lurganblue on May 30, 2019, 10:20:13 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 30, 2019, 09:54:35 AM

That's fine....just so we are on the same page. A Cross man and a Lurgan man agreeing.....that's something I don't understand!!!

These things rarely last!
Post by: HiMucker on May 30, 2019, 10:38:08 AM
Why your knob is tanner than the rest of your skin when it barely sees the light of day
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 30, 2019, 11:14:44 AM
Thread jus got interestin....
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 30, 2019, 11:22:34 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on May 30, 2019, 10:38:08 AM
Why your knob is tanner than the rest of your skin when it barely sees the light of day

Definitely not googling that on the work computer!!!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 30, 2019, 11:41:46 AM
Dont be tellin me HiMuckers tanned knob is out there on t'interweb?!

Whatever next...
Post by: Esmarelda on May 30, 2019, 11:58:13 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 30, 2019, 04:40:07 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 29, 2019, 07:03:03 PM
People who like cats.
Vegans.

#vegancat

Their obsessive nature is nearly as nuts as the atheists but I can at least see their logic.
What does that mean again?  ;)
Post by: armaghniac on May 30, 2019, 12:02:37 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 29, 2019, 11:30:52 AM

It is wireless.

Quote3) How does the sun's light travel though the vacuum of space?

Sure what is stopping it?

Speak for yourself.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 30, 2019, 12:03:50 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 30, 2019, 11:41:46 AM

Whatever next...

Maybe he is the westmeath physio ;D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 30, 2019, 12:19:52 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 30, 2019, 12:03:50 PM

Whatever next...

Ah here...don't even open that door!!!

That though is something I don't understand....who the f**k ever thought it was a good idea to sent a picture of your todger to another person no matter how much you loved them????  That is something I really don't understand!
Post by: lurganblue on May 30, 2019, 02:40:58 PM

Maybe your hands are stinkin
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 30, 2019, 04:59:27 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 30, 2019, 07:07:28 AM
Proclaiming your belief in something alongside those of the same belief repeatedly is logical enough especially if you feel enriched from doing so.

But returning again and again to a subject to publically proclaim your disbelief in it to who ever reads/hears it is utterly perplexing.

What? Someone keeps coming back and saying "I am an atheist, you know"? That would be perplexing indeed.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 30, 2019, 05:48:56 PM
Ripped jeans how and why did it become fashion/trendy to wear them? speaking of knobs, circumcision.  People mostly celebrities that ruin themselves with plastic surgery.

Post by: laoislad on May 30, 2019, 06:01:36 PM
Trousers that stop above the ankle, usually worn by someone also not wearing socks.
WTF like?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 30, 2019, 06:06:48 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 30, 2019, 06:01:36 PM
Trousers that stop above the ankle, usually worn by someone also not wearing socks.
WTF like?

Men wearing skinny jeans.
Post by: BennyCake on May 30, 2019, 06:07:29 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 30, 2019, 05:48:56 PM
Ripped jeans how and why did it become fashion/trendy to wear them? speaking of knobs, circumcision.  People mostly celebrities that ruin themselves with plastic surgery.

Seen Travolta on tv other night. His face could hardly move with all the botox and surgery.

Mel C the same. Big wrinkly neck on her and an ironed face and inflated lips. Sweet Jesus.
Post by: OgraAnDun on May 30, 2019, 06:11:33 PM
Auld fellas complaining about young people's fashion.
Post by: laoislad on May 30, 2019, 06:12:03 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 30, 2019, 06:07:29 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 30, 2019, 05:48:56 PM

Seen Travolta on tv other night. His face could hardly move with all the botox and surgery.

Mel C the same. Big wrinkly neck on her and an ironed face and inflated lips. Sweet Jesus.
The Mrs is watching some show on Netflix atm with Renne Zellweger.  I didn't recognise her. She looks completely different to when she was in Jerry McGuire for example.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 30, 2019, 08:41:43 PM
Saw a woman in the park the other day that had the profile of the letter S because of her fake ass and fake boobs, and a face on her like the Joker because of her surgery. Awful looking.
Post by: HiMucker on May 30, 2019, 08:58:04 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 30, 2019, 02:40:58 PM

How you know I use both hands? Your missus telling stories?  ;)
Post by: RedHand88 on May 30, 2019, 09:01:36 PM
Why the Ulster semi final isn't in Clones.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 30, 2019, 10:29:12 PM
Got to agree about those short jeans and no socks.warrants a good kickin.
Post by: trailer on May 31, 2019, 08:52:39 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on May 30, 2019, 08:58:04 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 30, 2019, 02:40:58 PM

How you know I use both hands? Your missus telling stories?  ;)

That's a lol from me.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 31, 2019, 09:29:14 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 30, 2019, 12:19:52 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 30, 2019, 12:03:50 PM

Whatever next...

Ah here...don't even open that door!!!

That though is something I don't understand....who the f**k ever thought it was a good idea to sent a picture of your todger to another person no matter how much you loved them????  That is something I really don't understand!

A boy in the last place I work did that "by accident" to someone in HR ;D He was a bit of a dirtbag though each to their own in case anyone takes offense if they're sending round these kind of pictures ;D
Post by: Tubberman on May 31, 2019, 09:32:23 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 30, 2019, 10:01:15 AM

Fully agree. Horrible stuff!

On a similar note as these are fizzy too... prosecco crisps!

Sparkling water with ice is very refreshing!
Post by: GetOverTheBar on May 31, 2019, 10:35:34 AM
Cricket
Post by: Keyser soze on May 31, 2019, 10:40:31 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 30, 2019, 08:41:43 PM
Followed Saw a woman in the park the other day that had the profile of the letter S because of her fake ass and fake boobs, and a face on her like the Joker because of her surgery. Awful looking.

Fixed that for ye  8)
Post by: Denn Forever on May 31, 2019, 11:04:54 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on May 31, 2019, 10:35:34 AM
Cricket

Sunny day and six pack of choice.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on May 31, 2019, 12:02:19 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on May 31, 2019, 11:04:54 AM
Cricket

That might do you till lunch. What about the other 2 sessions?
Post by: Denn Forever on May 31, 2019, 12:44:55 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on May 31, 2019, 12:02:19 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on May 31, 2019, 11:04:54 AM
Cricket

That might do you till lunch. What about the other 2 sessions?

Who says you only bring one?
Post by: Ambrose on May 31, 2019, 03:48:57 PM
The cost of a woman's hair do. My wife goes to a place called Brown Sugar in the City Center, it costs the price of a cheap holiday and its every six weeks.
My barber recently put up the price of a haircut from €10 to €12 and there was uproar. He lost lifelong customers over €2.
Post by: gallsman on May 31, 2019, 06:29:03 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 30, 2019, 10:29:12 PM
Got to agree about those short jeans and no socks.warrants a good kickin.

Short jeans are awful but jean shorts are fantastic.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 31, 2019, 06:56:32 PM

True but once my erection goes past 9" it turns peach again!!  ;)
Post by: Dire Ear on May 31, 2019, 08:55:18 PM
Israel, getting away with what it gets away with
Post by: gallsman on May 31, 2019, 08:57:20 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 31, 2019, 06:56:32 PM

True but once my erection goes past 9" it turns peach again!!  ;)

I know you're obsessed with Liverpool players but Christ, there was no need to explain it.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 31, 2019, 09:18:43 PM
Why do Irish people support certain English soccer teams? Why do people who are not from Manchester support United?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on May 31, 2019, 10:26:41 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 31, 2019, 09:18:43 PM
Why do Irish people support certain English soccer teams?...
Ha! I've been wanting to ask that. It's always mystified me.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 31, 2019, 10:45:18 PM
Why do Irish people support certain English soccer teams? Why do people who are not from Manchester support United?

I dunno. It's not a recent phenomenon either, but it's something I don't get worked up about. But I don't get all the "banter" shit on the LFC thread lately.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 31, 2019, 10:54:30 PM

Why do all the good Irish soccer players play for English teams?

The emergence of TV brought exposure of all these clubs. Also many people emigrated to England down through the decades and were exposed to the foreign code.

Post by: Hound on May 31, 2019, 11:01:17 PM
I think you have to be a bit thick not to know the answer to this.

Loads of Irish support NFL teams in the US, and nobody ever questions that. Yet, when Ireland had American football teams, they'd get a handful of supporters, the Irish Patriots, etc fans didn't give a flying fook about local teams and they've probably all gone belly up.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 31, 2019, 11:34:21 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on May 31, 2019, 08:55:18 PM

Cos all the Western establishments and media have made a deliberate decision not to bring attention to Israel's genocidal crimes.  Shameful.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 31, 2019, 11:59:09 PM
This thread could now be officially renamed the "things I do want to understand"
Post by: general_lee on June 01, 2019, 12:02:45 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 31, 2019, 11:34:21 PM

Cos all the Western establishments and media have made a deliberate decision not to bring attention to Israel's genocidal crimes.  Shameful.
Why though? Is there some big Jewish conspiracy? How can one country be allowed to continue in such a way with minimal sanctions? Why can't stuff like this be questioned without being "anti-Semitic?"
Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 01, 2019, 12:06:08 AM
Irish people fawning over the royals /royal weddings/ royal babies
Post by: Ball Hopper on June 01, 2019, 01:12:43 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on June 01, 2019, 12:06:08 AM
Irish people fawning over the royals /royal weddings/ royal babies

Because Meath are back in Div 1 next year!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 01, 2019, 01:22:25 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 31, 2019, 11:01:17 PM

Let's hear it then.

Loads of Irish support NFL teams in the US, and nobody ever questions that. Yet, when Ireland had American football teams, they'd get a handful of supporters, the Irish Patriots, etc fans didn't give a flying fook about local teams and they've probably all gone belly up.

Since when?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 01, 2019, 01:24:55 AM
Quote from: general_lee on June 01, 2019, 12:02:45 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 31, 2019, 11:34:21 PM

Why though? Is there some big Jewish conspiracy? How can one country be allowed to continue in such a way with minimal sanctions? Why can't stuff like this be questioned without being "anti-Semitic?"

If you have America's backing you can get away with anything.

America's system of government can be bought for cash.

If you have lots of cash you can buy enough congressmen to get what you want.

The pro-Israel lobby is well funded.

Ergo, Israel literally gets away with murder.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 01, 2019, 01:35:01 AM
Why in any painting/image of Adam and Eve they have belly buttons.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on June 01, 2019, 02:04:30 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 01, 2019, 01:35:01 AM
Brilliant.
Post by: Puckoon on June 01, 2019, 03:22:40 AM
The comment about Jean Shorts being acceptable.
Post by: BennyCake on June 01, 2019, 01:50:03 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on June 01, 2019, 01:22:25 AM

Let's hear it then.

Since when?

I feckin' don't! American Football, load of dung. Only sport worse than it, is rugby.
Post by: BennyCake on June 01, 2019, 01:52:34 PM
Why RTE don't play the original theme from The Sunday Game
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 01, 2019, 01:54:55 PM

Let's hear it then.

Since when?

Since when? Are you serious?  I remember following the NFL when I was in primary school which was 30 years ago. I vividly remember the Bears team in 1985-86 that beat the Patriots in the Super Bowl. I remember playing ad naseum the game on the C64 that was based on that final. Jim McMahon, Walter Payton and William 'the Fridge' Perry were my favourites. NFL has been huge in Ireland and my brother actually played on one of the teams that was set up in Dublin in the mid 90's. No one questions this nor the following of the NBA. Why should people not follow a team in England, or Scotland, or Italy or Spain? 
Post by: Hound on June 01, 2019, 03:39:06 PM

Since when?
Over 800 pages on the American Sports thread on the feckin GAAboard!
Post by: lurganblue on June 01, 2019, 04:21:12 PM
I know loads of people who support NFL teams. I know more of these people than anyone who supports a rugby team or a cricket team.
Post by: Square Ball on June 01, 2019, 11:44:38 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on June 01, 2019, 02:04:30 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on June 01, 2019, 01:35:01 AM
Brilliant.
[/quote

It is indeed
Post by: BennyCake on June 01, 2019, 11:52:47 PM
People plastering tattoos all over their arms. And legs.
Post by: LooseCannon on June 02, 2019, 08:48:12 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 01, 2019, 11:52:47 PM
Tattoos.
Lads with piercings.
Post by: Over the Bar on June 02, 2019, 07:40:21 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on June 02, 2019, 08:48:12 AM
Tattoos.
Lads with piercings.

Has to be a manifestation of a sense of inferiority / self-loathing given that the poorest in society generally have them?
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 02, 2019, 09:38:45 PM

Yea. Hard to know why. I can't get either of them but if I could I don't think I would bother tbh.
Post by: thejuice on June 02, 2019, 09:57:36 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 01, 2019, 01:54:55 PM

Let's hear it then.

Since when?

Since when? Are you serious?  I remember following the NFL when I was in primary school which was 30 years ago. I vividly remember the Bears team in 1985-86 that beat the Patriots in the Super Bowl. I remember playing ad naseum the game on the C64 that was based on that final. Jim McMahon, Walter Payton and William 'the Fridge' Perry were my favourites. NFL has been huge in Ireland and my brother actually played on one of the teams that was set up in Dublin in the mid 90's. No one questions this nor the following of the NBA. Why should people not follow a team in England, or Scotland, or Italy or Spain?

I used to play in the Irish AF League. There's actually more teams now then ever, about 30. When I started playing in 2004 there were only 6 teams.

https://www.americanfootball.ie

It's a shame they've come up with generic American team names and logos completely ignoring local history and culture. While I enjoyed it, it was a bit annoying being around a load of south side Dubliners acting very American. That and the reluctance to speed the way the game was played up a bit made match days tediously long and harder to enjoy.

Post by: johnnycool on June 03, 2019, 12:02:38 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 01, 2019, 03:22:40 AM

What's not to like;
(https://i.pinimg.com/originals/95/24/d3/9524d35176304c8d6ade36192aec02ad.png)

:o
Post by: imtommygunn on June 04, 2019, 08:05:51 AM
Maybe it is Jonny.... ;D
Post by: johnnycool on June 04, 2019, 10:05:55 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on June 04, 2019, 01:34:45 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 03, 2019, 12:02:38 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 01, 2019, 03:22:40 AM

What's not to like;
(https://i.pinimg.com/originals/95/24/d3/9524d35176304c8d6ade36192aec02ad.png)

:o
Was that you on holiday jonny? Where was that taken?

That man has more hair on his arse than I have on my head...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 04, 2019, 01:42:00 PM
The need for social acceptence via Facebook/snapchat/instagram

God help our kids
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 07, 2019, 08:06:30 PM
Why the what the f**k thread was locked.
Post by: Boycey on June 07, 2019, 08:07:57 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 07, 2019, 08:06:30 PM

Ha, I just came on to post similar
Post by: Dire Ear on June 08, 2019, 12:05:21 AM
Quote from: Boycey on June 07, 2019, 08:07:57 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 07, 2019, 08:06:30 PM

Ha, I just came on to post similar
Also 😄
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 10, 2019, 06:34:52 AM
Probably because of two contributors having a ding-dong.

Lads, I didn't tout on yiz.