Time to Split Dublin

Started by Dont Matter, September 22, 2013, 05:28:16 PM

Is it right that Dublin got 7 million to implement a plan to dominate the GAA World?

Yes
42 (29%)
No
103 (71%)

Total Members Voted: 145

Dont Matter

Then antrim would be getting 600,000. That table doesn't show all the money Dubl$n are getting either, not even close.
'Dublin is not a national problem, it's a national opportunity.'
Peter Quinn

Johnnybegood

Antrim get loads of money from the Brits

So in your opinion Dublin get proportionately more money than anyone else yes?

Dont Matter

Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 23, 2014, 01:21:49 PM

They also get loads of hassle from the wannabe Brits.

It's not my opinion, it's fact.
'Dublin is not a national problem, it's a national opportunity.'
Peter Quinn

Quote from: INDIANA on July 23, 2014, 10:34:39 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 23, 2014, 10:12:50 AM
Full time students? With access to all the training facilities and living close to home.
How many third level colleges in eg Leitrim, Roscommon, Longford or Offaly?

Having a full time GPO takes a HUGE burden off the volunteers in the clubs.
Recruitment of players with a school-club link
Providing structured basic coaching to kids before the come to the club
Ability to organise games and blitzes in conjunction with other club GPOs

The point is that there is no equivalent 50% funding for clubs down the country to even think about hiring a GPO. You try and amalgamate 3/4 clubs together and they still wouldn't get funding.

Our GPO doesn't train our adult teams or have any input into them

He specifically helps out in the local schools and our juvenile teams.

It's up to your county board to ask for the Funding. If they are readily giving it to Laois hurling there shouldn't be a problem
I never mentioned adult teams.

we've asked for a full time coach to come out to help us out once or twice in the last few years - usually after running a fundamental course and getting parents involved. The full time GPOs employed by the county board are not available. That is the level of support we have to deal with.

We're not comparing apples and oranges here.
Dublin clubs get funding for full time or part time coaching staff.
Clubs outside Dublin don't.

Johnnybegood

Quote from: hardstation on July 23, 2014, 01:25:06 PM
Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 23, 2014, 01:21:49 PM
Do we?
ye loads and it's sterling as well

Johnnybegood

All the money in the world can't buy what Dublin gave to that little girl in Sunday - true champions !

And we're gonna keep stickin it to yiz for the next ten years. ..

Quote from: Dont Matter on July 23, 2014, 01:11:09 PM
Then antrim would be getting 600,000. That table doesn't show all the money Dubl$n are getting either, not even close.

It doesn't show the salaries some managers get paid either

We can conclude Dublin are last in that table .

You forgot that bit.

It's like the Kildare minor manager referring to resources yesterday. Longford and Meath nearly beat Dublin.
It could be that Kildare are only the third or fourth best team in Leinster this year.

Quote from: INDIANA on July 23, 2014, 01:42:27 PM

You forgot that bit.

It's like the Kildare minor manager referring to resources yesterday. Longford and Meath nearly beat Dublin.
It could be that Kildare are only the third or fourth best team in Leinster this year.

How can we conclude that Dublin would be last in that table? We have no idea what any County is 'paying' its manager. . . also how do you know the Dubs are whiter than white in this regard?

Johnnybegood

We've never had an outside manager taking charge of our senior footballers

Quote from: Johnnybegood on July 23, 2014, 01:51:53 PM
We've never had an outside manager taking charge of our senior footballers

Ye do have 1.4 billion trillion people to choose from before you go outside the county, Johnny. Bit harder when you have the bones of 60k to find the right man.

You forgot that bit.

Did you read the point Brendan Hackett was making and the context? How much does the Dublin backroom team get paid? Over 20 at the last count, Bernard Dunne, Ray Boyne, Martin Kennedy, ffs you had Fergal Connolly consulting, one of the most eminent S&C experts in the world.

Johnnybegood

I think this Dublin team might do 5 in a row

Johnnybegood

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2014, 01:57:38 PM

You forgot that bit.

Did you read the point Brendan Hackett was making and the context? How much does the Dublin backroom team get paid? Over 20 at the last count, Bernard Dunne, Ray Boyne, Martin Kennedy, ffs you had Fergal Connolly consulting, one of the most eminent S&C experts in the world.
ye I don't really agree with that, too many cooks spoil the broth! How good would we really be without all the hangers on? Seven in a row!

Quote from: screenexile on July 23, 2014, 01:50:06 PM

You forgot that bit.

How can we conclude that Dublin would be last in that table? We have no idea what any County is 'paying' its manager. . . also how do you know the Dubs are whiter than white in this regard?

How do I know? Considering my club that's self explanatory

Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2014, 01:57:38 PM

You forgot that bit.

Let's examine this properly which you never do.

Kildare have Barry Solan who is a world renowned S and C coach. I suggest a read of his resume. It probably outstrips Kennedys.

What Bernard Dunne knows about gaelic football I could write on a postage stamp. And he'd tell you that himself. He's a buffer for the players to talk to about things . he's a self confessed GAA fan who has no input into coaching the team. absolutely none.

Ray boyne is no longer a member of the senior management staff. So again incorrect. Every county in Ireland has statisticians. Ray also worked in the lean periods for Dublin. He's excellent at his job but it isn't what drives the success of the team and he'd tell that himself.

Granted Fergal Connolly is an elite sports science expert but again he's no longer part of the setup. Armagh had mike mc gurn as their fitness advisor - you're not going to tell me he's lesser then Connolly?

Dublin have the players Armagh didn't

You can all wax lyrically about money, populations , back room staff and all the rest but this is all about players.

This is a special crew of Dublin players and it won't always be like this. The idea that this Dublin team is better then all previous multiple all Ireland winning teams is rubbish.

Jesus Kerry and Kilkenny can win 4 in a row but if Dublin win 1 in a row it brings out yahoo in Iteland talking about global domination

It's laughable really.