Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Orior on November 06, 2010, 12:06:55 AM

Title: Best Stand-up Comedian
Post by: Orior on November 06, 2010, 12:06:55 AM
Lee Mack - hilarious!
Title: Re: Best Stand-up Comedian
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2010, 12:09:47 AM
Quote from: Orior on November 06, 2010, 12:06:55 AM
Lee Mack - hilarious!

Neve seen him live but he is witty as f**k on the panel shows that I see him on.

Best stand up? Probably an obvious one but Peter Kay for me. With decent mentions to Frank Skinner, Michael McIntyre, Tommy Tiarnan, Dara O'Brien, Kevin Bridges and Russell Howard.
Post by: vav on November 06, 2010, 12:19:51 AM
Best comedian I've been to is Jasper Carrott.. brilliant show..

though I did enjoy most of others I've been to.. David O Doherty, Tommy Tiernan was brill first time around but saw him 2 yrs after I'd first seen him and he was doing the same jokes which was kindof a disappointment, Patrick McDonnell & Joe Rooney etc

found Lenny Henry & Bill Bailey to be disappointing live.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2010, 12:23:30 AM
Quote from: vav on November 06, 2010, 12:19:51 AM
Best comedian I've been to is Jasper Carrott.. brilliant show..

though I did enjoy most of others I've been to.. David O Doherty, Tommy Tiernan was brill first time around but saw him 2 yrs after I'd first seen him and he was doing the same jokes which was kindof a disappointment, Patrick McDonnell & Joe Rooney etc

found Lenny Henry & Bill Bailey to be disappointing live.

Jasper Carrott. Good shout.
Post by: ross4life on November 06, 2010, 12:28:38 AM
For me the late great George Carlin & the best i seen live Tommy Tiernan

Found Des Bishop disappointing live.
Post by: muppet on November 06, 2010, 12:29:42 AM
Jackie Healy-Rae is hysterical live.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 06, 2010, 12:32:40 AM
Tommy Tiernan best I've seen too. In tears laughing at his show.
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2010, 12:41:14 AM
Frankie Boyle.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QvOQxeQKrdw
Post by: AFS on November 06, 2010, 12:53:21 AM
Stewart Lee is the correct answer.
Post by: Celt_Man on November 06, 2010, 12:57:57 AM
Richard Pryor is on one of the Sky Movie channels now... fecking hilarious!!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2010, 01:03:04 AM
Quote from: AFS on November 06, 2010, 12:53:21 AM

Is he the guy that does the one liners? He is f**king hilarious, but I am not sure if I can stand 90 minutes of him.
Post by: AFS on November 06, 2010, 01:07:44 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2010, 01:03:04 AM

Is he the guy that does the one liners? He is f**king hilarious, but I am not sure if I can stand 90 minutes of him.

He is not.
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2010, 01:09:24 AM
I saw Tommy Tiernan live, with my mother. Don't know what possessed me to take her with me, but it was a very uncomfortable experience.

Probably the best I've seen live was Dara O'Briain.
Post by: Pangurban on November 06, 2010, 03:57:07 AM
Frank Carson. OK ill just get my coat
Post by: lurganblue on November 06, 2010, 07:38:11 AM
Aye there is loads but eddie murphy raw was one of the funniest things I ever watched
Post by: David McKeown on November 06, 2010, 08:17:00 AM
I would go to an awful lot of comedy events and the best gig I was ever at Dara O'Briain on the tour called "the tour that was almost called the you had to be the tour" or a similar name.  Its the tour he writes about in his book called tickling the english.  Ive seen him since and whilst good hes never lived up to that night,

Other events that deserve mention for being surprisingly good

Lee Mack

Adam Hills

Micheal McIntyre

Eddie Izzard

On the other hand the worst shows Ive ever been at were

Billy Connolly

Bill Bailey

and the only one I ve ever wanted to leave early Frankie Boyle

Ive got Sean Locke and Dara in the next 4 days so all may change again.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 06, 2010, 08:53:53 AM
Cant believe no-one mentioned John Bishop
Post by: BennyHarp on November 06, 2010, 09:21:20 AM
I've seen John Bishop live and was very disappointed, he tried to interact with audience but wasn't good enough to stray from his material, so it resulted in a lot of him standing there pretending to laugh and stuttering while he thought what to say next! I personally found it very uncomfortable to watch! Best I've seen live must be Dara o briain or Sean Locke. And anyone who would want to walk out early on Frankie Boyle plainly doesn't get him and shouldn't have went in the first place.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on November 06, 2010, 12:21:09 PM
Anyone seen Sean Lock live , he's funny on QI and 8 out of 10 just wondering what his stand ups like?
Post by: BennyHarp on November 06, 2010, 12:24:29 PM
I went to see him last month, he was very good, alot of audience interaction and off the cuff jokes!
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2010, 01:21:52 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on November 06, 2010, 08:17:00 AM
I would go to an awful lot of comedy events and the best gig I was ever at Dara O'Briain on the tour called "the tour that was almost called the you had to be the tour" or a similar name.  Its the tour he writes about in his book called tickling the english.  Ive seen him since and whilst good hes never lived up to that night,

Other events that deserve mention for being surprisingly good

Adam Hills

True story and one that can be verified by several board members here.

During the summer, I was supposed to star in a reality television show where Adam Hills would come to live with me. He was going to shadow me, as I went about my life. You know, football matches, the pub / nightclub, Mass, work and everything I'd normally be up to.

I was a BBC show, produced by Mind the Gap Productions. It was all set to happen, but my health took a turn (as some of you may be aware of) and I had to pull out of the show.

D'oh!
Post by: Arthur_Friend on November 06, 2010, 01:30:03 PM

x2
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 06, 2010, 01:34:34 PM
Ross4life
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 06, 2010, 01:39:51 PM
Bill hicks, if Ye have not heard him he's got cds & dvds out there. A comedy genius. Have to say of the modern comedians its tommy tiernan, dara o Brian and Michael mcintyre that are my favourites.
Post by: mournerambler on November 06, 2010, 01:43:25 PM
I don't see anything stating that the person has to be still alive, therefore I think there is only one who fits the bill for me & that's the legendary Dave Allen.
Post by: gerrykeegan on November 06, 2010, 02:00:46 PM
Just talking about Dave Allen last night, we were trying to teach our boy to read the time and I thought of this sketch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MS5P6GcUC4s
Post by: isourboydownyet on November 06, 2010, 02:39:02 PM
i watched joan rivers on graham norton last night and she had me in fits,lets just say she doesnt beat about the bush and calls it exactly how it is.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 06, 2010, 03:09:58 PM
Chris Rock
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 06, 2010, 04:12:44 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on November 06, 2010, 02:00:46 PM
Just talking about Dave Allen last night, we were trying to teach our boy to read the time and I thought of this sketch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MS5P6GcUC4s

Genius. This one should have been shown to every Irish person in and around 2004, hard to believe it is 17 years old!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c5y_gE1Rb1Y&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c5y_gE1Rb1Y&feature=related)
Post by: David McKeown on November 06, 2010, 04:28:54 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on November 06, 2010, 09:21:20 AM
I've seen John Bishop live and was very disappointed, he tried to interact with audience but wasn't good enough to stray from his material, so it resulted in a lot of him standing there pretending to laugh and stuttering while he thought what to say next! I personally found it very uncomfortable to watch! Best I've seen live must be Dara o briain or Sean Locke. And anyone who would want to walk out early on Frankie Boyle plainly doesn't get him and shouldn't have went in the first place.

A lot of his audience that night mustnt have gotten him either because there were an awful lot of empty seats after the interval.  He just wasnt funny that night at all and couldnt handle heckles so just resorted to say f off rather than trying toward the end very poor indeed
Post by: Santino on November 06, 2010, 06:54:20 PM
Dylan Moran for me all the way
Post by: EagleLord on November 06, 2010, 07:16:28 PM
Dylan Moran or Ricky Gervais. Aquired taste both, but they are my favourites.
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2010, 07:18:45 PM
Saw Dylan Moran live last winter at the Hammersmith in London. Excellent comedian.
Post by: SHEEDY on November 06, 2010, 07:27:58 PM
frankie boyle is excellent. not for the easily offened. mario rosenstock is also brilliant at what he does.
Post by: gallsman on November 06, 2010, 08:01:00 PM
Quote from: Santino on November 06, 2010, 06:54:20 PM
Dylan Moran for me all the way

100% agreement. He's brilliant.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 06, 2010, 08:12:27 PM
I'm disappointed May McFetridge or Big O havent been mentioned in this thread yet.. ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 06, 2010, 09:01:15 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 06, 2010, 07:18:45 PM
Saw Dylan Moran live last winter at the Hammersmith in London. Excellent comedian.
The Hammersmith? Apollo?
Post by: winsamsoon on November 07, 2010, 01:36:53 AM
Ken Dodd and freddy star . Class acts. That Lee Mack guy was funny last night on channel 4
Post by: JUst retired on November 07, 2010, 07:24:15 AM
John Bishop from Liverpool is very good.
Post by: flantheman82 on November 07, 2010, 08:35:31 AM
Bernie Mac
Post by: Fluffy Che on November 07, 2010, 10:17:02 AM
Lee Mack, very funny and so quick witted, also like Stephen K. Amos as a stand up, hilarious. Though his current sketch show on the box is woeful..
Post by: screenexile on November 07, 2010, 11:45:26 AM
Favourites:

Eddie Murphy
Ricky Gervais
Dylan Moran
Kevin Bridges
Tommy Tiernan
Peter Kay
Dara O'Briain (Seeing him on Tuesday and can't wait)

Billy Connolly and Tommy Tiernan are the best I've seen live. Honourable mention for 2 comedians that I think are not funny and yet sell out all the time would be Eddie Izzard and Lee Evans. Cannot for the life of me understand how they are funny!

Honourable mention for 2 comedians I

Post by: Declan on November 07, 2010, 04:55:39 PM
In a sort of chronological order

Lenny Bruce
Woody Allen
Bob Newhart
Spike Milligan
Dave Allen
Bill Hicks
George Carlin
Dylan Moran

Post by: Shrewdness on November 07, 2010, 05:01:25 PM
Definitely Lee Evans.
Post by: andoireabu on November 07, 2010, 05:25:36 PM
Michael McIntyre, Lee Evans, Dylan Moran, Colin Murphy, Jim Eoin and Kevin Bridges.  Milton Jones is good on mock the week but a full hour of him might do my head in.

Few i don't like...Ricky Gervais, Jimmy Carr, Alan Carr
Post by: Orangemac on November 07, 2010, 11:17:41 PM
Dylan Moran, Frank Skinner, Sean Hughes, Chris Rock, Eddie Murphy in his day.

Have warmed to Michael McIntyre eventually.

Jimmy Carr is funny yet you could only listen to 1 liners for so long.

Ricky Gervais is completely overrated. Tommy Tiernan used to be good but sems to have got a bit lazy the last few years.

Aardal O'Hanlon is pretty poor also.
Post by: Canalman on November 08, 2010, 10:48:59 AM
Peter Kay the best imo by a country mile. Saw a guy callled Jason Manford ( I think) on the box last week ............ very good also.

Went to the Comedy Club in Dublin a month or so ago (on the Quays) and the comedians there were all very good also.
Post by: paco on November 08, 2010, 02:50:17 PM
Can't understand people finding Ricky Gervais funny. I've watched a few of his standups and they weren't funny at all, I also remember he directed and starred in an episode of The Simpsons a few years back and it was awful! Like Dylan Moran, old school Eddie Murphy and Richard Pryor. What's the general opinion on Keith Lemon? Don't think he's been mentioned so far and I'm curious to see what everyone thinks.
Post by: ziggysego on November 08, 2010, 03:27:50 PM
Quote from: paco on November 08, 2010, 02:50:17 PM
Can't understand people finding Ricky Gervais funny. I've watched a few of his standups and they weren't funny at all, I also remember he directed and starred in an episode of The Simpsons a few years back and it was awful! Like Dylan Moran, old school Eddie Murphy and Richard Pryor. What's the general opinion on Keith Lemon? Don't think he's been mentioned so far and I'm curious to see what everyone thinks.

I think Ricky's stand up is hilarious, but granted, The Simpson's episode he wrote was terrible.

Don't like old school Eddie Murphy. Too crude and ignorance for me. Richard Pryor is in a different league, all based on his life.

Keith Lemon's just a character ;) Annoying though, don't find it funny at all.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on November 08, 2010, 03:32:08 PM
Got to be Joe Beasley  ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YT_W6FwN_hY
Post by: screenexile on November 08, 2010, 03:35:04 PM

He may not be everyone's cup of tea but imo Gervais' standup shows have all been brilliant and up there with Eddie Murphy & Billy Connolly.

His material is extremely clever and unlike most comedians which use self deprecation and portray themselves as losers he goes completely against that and still manages to make it funny. I would love to see one of his live shows!
Post by: Billys Boots on November 08, 2010, 04:38:08 PM
Anyone who likes Dylan Moran should look at some of the Dave Allen stuff - he might as well be his child.
Post by: The Iceman on November 08, 2010, 04:53:12 PM
Sinbad released a new show called "where you been"
some clips on youtube   - thought it was one of the best standups i'd seen in a long time. Clean as well, not one curse in the whole set.
Post by: johnneycool on November 08, 2010, 05:04:48 PM
Keith Lemon and Jimmy Carr's humour is better suited to the comedy quiz type set up as they've someone or something to abuse or work with, don't think I could sit through and hour or so of either of them though.

I quite like the big scouser with the big teeth, John Bishop.
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 08, 2010, 05:11:28 PM
For comedians I have seen, Dara O'Briain and Kevin McAleer (really!) were both a great laugh.
Would really love to see Rich Hall as I think he is fantastic.
Post by: armagho9 on November 08, 2010, 05:54:37 PM
Sean Locke is very good, jimmy caar and Frankie Boyle are also very good.  Probably not as well known as the rest but went to see PJ Gallagher in Armagh theatre last year.  He was brilliant, going to see him again just before Christmas this year in same venue.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 08, 2010, 06:14:49 PM
I thought dara obhrian and jimeoin were superb when I saw them years ago, also that red head hector lookalike Owen (O'Neill?) was funny.
I like most commedians - only one I have seen live that wasnt funny was deirdre okane.
apart from jo brand I cant think of a female commedienne thats consistently good.
o'kane though was just sihte!
she's good in 'intermission' though
Post by: Hardy on November 09, 2010, 11:06:39 AM
Oh Christ, Deirdre O'Kane. I wasn't going to bother posting here. Why are people interested in what other people like?

Anyway, nearly all comedians make me laugh and it's very hard to measure how much harder you're laughing at one than another. It's much easier to list the ones that don't make you laugh at all and I wasn't going to bother doing that until yer wan was mentioned. I'd managed to forget she existed for a few years, but it would be wrong to miss an opportunity to say how unfunny she is. She's as unfunny as being told you have a year to live and then falling down the doctor's stairs and breaking your neck.

So, while I'm at it:
Ricky Gervais
Rhod Gilbert (if you haven't seen him, I've done you a favour; unless you enjoy people who confuse loud with funny)
Mayall/Edmondson and that crowd (as for Gilbert, but add infantile)
The Little Britain/League Of Gentlemen crowd
Jo Brand
Eddie Murphy (as for Gilbert, but replace “loud” with “motherfucker”)
Eddie Izzard
Peter Kay seems to me like an old tired comic in a young man’s body)
Lee Evans
Oh Jesus, I nearly forgot – Alan Carr. Deirdre O’Kane without the macho vibe.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on November 09, 2010, 11:26:45 AM
Seen abit of 'live at the Apollo' on comedy central on Sunday night & there was an Aussie comedian.. Can't remember his name, he had a plastic leg, he was pretty funny but I suppose it was edited  for the best bits.
Post by: Clown on November 09, 2010, 11:35:45 AM
The best - Lee Mack, Michael McIntyre, Billy Connolly

Worst - Paddy Kielty, Lee Evans
Post by: screenexile on November 09, 2010, 11:40:57 AM
Oh good one comedians I hate are:

Michael McIntyre (If you think jumping around a lot with floppy hair is funny)
Eddie Izzard (went to see him last year in Belfast, just completely unfunny)
Andy Parsons (just don't like him at all)
Russell Brand (speaks for itself really)
Colm Murphy (c**k)
Anybody off of Give My Head Peace ESPECIALLY that Tim McGarry twat!!
Jimmy Cricket
May McFetridge
Our Jimmy
Paddy McGuinness
Lennie Henry
Alan Carr
Dane Cook
Ardal O'Hanlon
Any Female Comedian except Joan Rivers so that includes the likes of Deirdre, Sarah Millican, Joe Brand, Maeve Higgins etc. etc.

Post by: hectorsheroes on November 09, 2010, 12:09:25 PM
Bill Hicks was the best by a country mile.

Honourable mentions for Jimeoin, Dylan Moran and Lee Mack who is excellent
Post by: armagho9 on November 09, 2010, 02:31:23 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 09, 2010, 11:40:57 AM
Oh good one comedians I hate are:

Michael McIntyre (If you think jumping around a lot with floppy hair is funny)
Eddie Izzard (went to see him last year in Belfast, just completely unfunny)
Andy Parsons (just don't like him at all)
Russell Brand (speaks for itself really)
Colm Murphy (c**k)
Anybody off of Give My Head Peace ESPECIALLY that Tim McGarry t**t!!
Jimmy Cricket
May McFetridge
Our Jimmy
Paddy McGuinness
Lennie Henry
Alan Carr
Dane Cook
Ardal O'Hanlon
Any Female Comedian except Joan Rivers so that includes the likes of Deirdre, Sarah Millican, Joe Brand, Maeve Higgins etc. etc.

agree with every single one except Colin Murphy, think he is pretty s***e on those panel shows but thought he was actually very good when i went to see him in stand up
Post by: johnneycool on November 09, 2010, 04:34:51 PM
Quote from: Clown on November 09, 2010, 11:35:45 AM
The best - Lee Mack, Michael McIntyre, Billy Connolly

Worst - Paddy Kielty, Lee Evans

I stumbled across a 'celebrity roast' of Davina McCall on C4 recently with Kielty on it and he was absolutely rubbish.

I think the pretense of the show was to show your admiration for the subject was to comically abuse them, Kilety failed in the comedy aspect of it.
Post by: armagho9 on November 09, 2010, 04:44:19 PM
Kielty was on 8 out of 10 cats one night, he made a joke at the start of the show which sort of got a bit of a polite laugh (but it seemed like they were going what the **** is he on about)from the other comedians.  Basically never opened his mouth the rest of the show.  He is rubbish
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on November 09, 2010, 05:19:07 PM
Quote from: hectorsheroes on November 09, 2010, 12:09:25 PM
Bill Hicks was the best by a country mile.

Honourable mentions for Jimeoin, Dylan Moran and Lee Mack who is excellent
+1. Amazing how little he's been mentioned on here. Genius. Comedy with a message and more relevant today than he was when he was alive.
There are a lot of reasonably funny comedians now but I find the Irish generally quite poor. McIntyre is very funny but he's starting to depend on his constant head bobbing a lot.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 09, 2010, 10:33:32 PM
Meant to say.

I booked 5 localish comedians to do a night in our GAA club a few weeks back, and was not expecting much to be honest. However the night went really well, and we made a decent we sum off the bar that night.

Just if someone is looking for something different  in their clubrooms. The fellas were from Cookstown, Omagh, Dublin, and Letterkenny so geography shouldn't be a barrier.
Post by: David McKeown on November 10, 2010, 12:14:35 AM
Was at Dara O'Briain tonight and thought he was brilliant.  Id been to see him earlier this year and didnt realise it was the same tour until I got there, despite that I still didnt stop laughing all night as he had clearly refined his material.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 10, 2010, 01:37:17 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 08, 2010, 05:11:28 PM

Seen Rich Hall about 3 times. He's brilliant. Definitely worth going to see.
Post by: ziggysego on November 10, 2010, 01:41:42 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on November 10, 2010, 12:14:35 AM
Was at Dara O'Briain tonight and thought he was brilliant.  Id been to see him earlier this year and didnt realise it was the same tour until I got there, despite that I still didnt stop laughing all night as he had clearly refined his material.

The thing about Dara is, he works off the audience. So whilst he may have a set piece on a tour, he isn't afraid to go off in a tangent, if he's struck a core with the audience.
Post by: ross4life on November 10, 2010, 01:53:58 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 10, 2010, 01:37:17 AM

I first seen Rich Hall on don't feed the gondolas would say he's a good Stand-up Comedian.

What does people here make of the other Irish Comedians not mentioned yet.. Brendan Grace,Jason Byrne,Karl Spain,PJ Gallagher,Pat Shortt,Dave McSavage,Jon Kenny & Niall Tóibín

Post by: ballinaman on November 10, 2010, 05:15:39 AM
Quote from: ross4life on November 10, 2010, 01:53:58 AM

I first seen Rich Hall on don't feed the gondolas would say he's a good Stand-up Comedian.

What does people here make of the other Irish Comedians not mentioned yet.. Brendan Grace,Jason Byrne,Karl Spain,PJ Gallagher,Pat Shortt,Dave McSavage,Jon Kenny & Niall Tóibín
Brendan Grace - Appeals to the older crowd, find some of his stuff quite funny...other bits cringe worthy
Jason Byrne - Annoying bollox.....
Karl Spain - Shite, only so many look at me I'm a fat man jokes that can be done.
Dave McSavage - Happened to see him outside St Stephens green, ripping the piss out of people.Hilarious, not every ones type of humour as he toes the line a good bit.
Jon Kenny/Patt Shortt -D'unbelievables were class, shite since they've gone solo.
Post by: ludermor on November 10, 2010, 10:46:46 PM
A few very good newish irish lads ( though you would need to leave it at least a year before you see them between gigs)
Andrew Stanley ( forget about I Dare Ya, he is class stand up)
Fred Cooke
Bernard O'Shea
John Lynn
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 03, 2011, 11:29:18 PM
Went to Russell Howard this week. I wasn't a big fan beforehand, however he put on a good show and didn't bore me to tears as I had assumed he would. He certainly appeals to the younger crowd and some of his stories were actually quite funny.
Post by: ziggysego on March 03, 2011, 11:49:21 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 06, 2010, 08:53:53 AM

I've got tickets to see John Bishop in Belfast this June. Can't wait.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 03, 2011, 11:54:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 03, 2011, 11:49:21 PM

I went to see John Bishop before Christmas and was pretty underwhelmed! He is very quick witted on TV performances. But his stand up routine had me actually bored and I've been to see alot of stand ups now and John Bishop is definitely the most disappointing! If anyone is interested, Ed Byrne was far and away the most surprisingly good! I'd highly recommend!
Post by: EagleLord on March 04, 2011, 05:51:24 PM
Ricky Gervais, hasnt missed yet, everything of his that I've seen, I've loved it. Not just his stand-up, but his other TV work, Extras Christmas Special was one of the best bits of TV ever, it really is accurate in taking the piss out of todays socalled celebs, I would urge everyone to watch it.
Post by: Don Johnson on March 04, 2011, 10:19:00 PM
Kevin Bridges is great.

Simon Amstell's DVD from Christmas there was very, very good. Live from Dublin.

Saw Russell Howard in the Odyssey there, was a 6.5/10, his earlier DVDs are both solid 8s though.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 04, 2011, 10:45:11 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 03, 2011, 11:49:21 PM

Really don't see the attraction of Bishop. Mildly amusing at best imo.

Fella on Graham Norton show last week had him beat by teasing the great working-class Liverpudlian about drinking win and living in Cheshire!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 04, 2011, 11:22:44 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 08, 2010, 03:27:50 PM

I think Ricky's stand up is hilarious, but granted, The Simpson's episode he wrote was terrible.

Don't like old school Eddie Murphy. Too crude and ignorance for me. Richard Pryor is in a different league, all based on his life.

Keith Lemon's just a character ;) Annoying though, don't find it funny at all.

Pryor was excellent....Dave Chapelle is the closest to him in the Modern era

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJ3dk6KAvQM (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJ3dk6KAvQM)

his TV show was very good as well

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BHFUH_frhBw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BHFUH_frhBw)
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 05, 2011, 01:00:49 PM
Although I havent seen him live yet, I love the Tim Minchin clips ive seen
Post by: Lecale2 on March 05, 2011, 10:32:20 PM
What sort of call in that?
Post by: Denn Forever on March 05, 2011, 11:31:06 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on March 05, 2011, 01:00:49 PM
Although I havent seen him live yet, I love the Tim Minchin clips ive seen

Is he Australian?  Plays the piano and signs clever songs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVN_0qvuhhw&feature=relmfu
Post by: omagh_gael on March 06, 2011, 02:14:11 AM
Quote from: EagleLord on March 04, 2011, 05:51:24 PM
Ricky Gervais, hasnt missed yet, everything of his that I've seen, I've loved it. Not just his stand-up, but his other TV work, Extras Christmas Special was one of the best bits of TV ever, it really is accurate in taking the piss out of todays socalled celebs, I would urge everyone to watch it.

Hear Hear on the extras Christmas special call, possibly my favourite tv episode of all time. Very emotional stuff, especially the Maggie character.
Post by: nifan on May 10, 2011, 05:34:43 PM
Saw Stewart Lee on the weekend. Thought he was very good.

Did a bit about al quieda and why they where needed - load of nostalgia for the IRA, the golden era of terrorism.
Post by: ziggysego on May 10, 2011, 06:15:45 PM
Quote from: nifan on May 10, 2011, 05:34:43 PM

Did a bit about al quieda and why they where needed - load of nostalgia for the IRA, the golden era of terrorism.

My brother-in-law saw him live last year. Says he's the best comedian he's seen live.
Post by: gallsman on May 10, 2011, 06:27:46 PM

I think I;ve seen Paddy Kielty on TV before doing something similar.
Post by: Don Johnson on May 26, 2011, 07:02:02 PM

He did his IRA bit in his show on BBC2 last night.

Have been watching a lot of Lee lately on Youtube, ordered all his stuff from Amazon there, about £45.

Here's the iPlayer link to the four episodes from Series two so far:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b0112b65/episodes/player

Post by: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2011, 07:15:31 PM
He's very good. The antithesis of wankers like McIntyre, Russell Howard etc. He roasted Howard and Adrian Chiles in an earlier episode - great dead pan delivery.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 26, 2011, 07:17:09 PM
Seen Ardal O'Hanlon on Sunday evening there. Rubbish.

Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 26, 2011, 07:19:39 PM
Going to see John Bishop next Fri night
Post by: laceer on May 26, 2011, 07:21:48 PM
Kevin Bridges dvd is worth a look
Post by: ziggysego on May 26, 2011, 07:23:04 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 26, 2011, 07:19:39 PM

Me too.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 26, 2011, 08:36:16 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 26, 2011, 07:23:04 PM

Me too.

will keep an eye out for you zig, mines a tennants !
Post by: ziggysego on May 26, 2011, 08:40:24 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 26, 2011, 08:36:16 PM

Me too.

Good man, get me one when you're at the bar.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 26, 2011, 09:23:57 PM
Bud for me but I'll take a Tennants too if it makes things awkward. Headin up as well!

BTW> Tommy Tiarnan now playing 4 nights in Derry, and Lee Evans 2!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 04, 2011, 08:07:57 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 26, 2011, 08:40:24 PM

Me too.

Brilliant show last night, he is one funny man !

Had the pleasure of meeting GAABoard legend ziggysego, not at the bar though, typical tyrone man wasnt fond of spending the money  :D
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 04, 2011, 08:38:34 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on June 04, 2011, 08:07:57 AM

Me too.

Had the pleasure of meeting GAABoard legend ziggysego, not at the bar though, typical tyrone man wasnt fond of spending the money  :D

It was superb. For all the Peter Kay hype, Bishop just kicked him all around Belfast and back across the Odyssey stage in terms of entertainment.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 04, 2011, 08:41:03 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on June 04, 2011, 08:38:34 AM

Me too.

It was superb. For all the Peter Kay hype, Bishop just kicked him all around Belfast and back across the Odyssey stage in terms of entertainment.

some finish Norf ! I never thought i'd see the day when i would be standing and clapping some geezer dressed in a white suit and dancing to saturday night fever  :D
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 04, 2011, 08:42:34 AM
Oh and on at 8.10pm and off at 10.40pm with a 30 min break in the middle. Good VFM too!
Post by: David McKeown on June 04, 2011, 08:50:12 AM
I thought he wasn't bad but and it was a big but I thought a lot of his material was just a rehash of other comedians stuff. Me and my friend who would go to practically every comedy event in Belfast kept turning round to each other and saying remember when such and such did that joke.

I also thought the first half was much much better than the second. That said not a bad nights craic
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 04, 2011, 08:53:20 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 04, 2011, 08:50:12 AM
I thought he wasn't bad but and it was a big but I thought a lot of his material was just a rehash of other comedians stuff. Me and my friend who would go to practically every comedy event in Belfast kept turning round to each other and saying remember when such and such did that joke.

I also thought the first half was much much better than the second. That said not a bad nights craic

it was my 1st live stand-up experience so i have nothing to compare him to.
Post by: ziggysego on June 04, 2011, 04:59:43 PM
I go to comedy nights on a semi-regularly basis and would definitely rate John up there with the best I've seen. Absolutely hilarious.

Hoof Hearted, forgive me if I looked a little stressed when chatting to you. Nothing to so with you being a Derry, though that help. The arse of my chair collapsed and I was holding onto the wheelchair for dear life.

I had my beers before the show. Waiting for your round, but you didn't appear.
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 04, 2011, 05:56:52 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 06, 2010, 01:03:04 AM

Think thats Stewart Francis you're talking about....really funny
Post by: ziggysego on June 17, 2011, 12:44:28 AM
Caught up with a few of Stewart Lee's shows on BBC 2. Quality stuff. I've only of his DVDs on iPod form. Great stuff.
Post by: LeoMc on June 17, 2011, 11:17:05 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on June 04, 2011, 08:38:34 AM

Me too.

That Peter Kaye thing on C4 again. That is where he is at his best, all the characters that eventually became Phoenix nights.

Post by: Eire2010 on June 20, 2011, 10:05:38 PM
whats peoples opinions on rhod gilbert?

I think he is utterly brilliant, could listen to the man all night!
On the other hand, i also think PJ Gallagher is fantastic, been to a few of his stand-ups, and never stopped laughing. He is also brilliant on the likes of naked camera and makin jake.
Post by: Hardy on June 20, 2011, 10:08:28 PM
Quote from: Eire2010 on June 20, 2011, 10:05:38 PM

He confuses loud with funny.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 20, 2011, 10:09:56 PM
Quote from: Eire2010 on June 20, 2011, 10:05:38 PM

I think he is utterly brilliant, could listen to the man all night!
On the other hand, i also think PJ Gallagher is fantastic, been to a few of his stand-ups, and never stopped laughing. He is also brilliant on the likes of naked camera and makin jake.
Rhod Gilbert is Welsh. That's his joke.
Post by: David McKeown on June 20, 2011, 10:13:10 PM
Never seen him in the flesh but always wanted to as I think hes quite funny on tv.  My friends who I go to all the comedy gigs with
thinks hes rubbish though
Post by: screenexile on July 28, 2011, 12:40:20 AM
Anybody watching Demitri Martin on C4 now??

I don't think I'm getting it really he's a very poor man's David O'Doherty ... I'm just not getting it. Anyone here like him?
Post by: boojangles on July 28, 2011, 01:08:27 AM
Steve Hughes. Check this boy out. Class.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=in9SiDtJLaU&feature=related
Post by: ziggysego on July 28, 2011, 01:14:47 AM
Quote from: boojangles on July 28, 2011, 01:08:27 AM
Steve Hughes. Check this boy out. Class.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=in9SiDtJLaU&feature=related

First rate. Seen him on TV a few times. A mate seen him live in Dublin a couple of times and rates him as one of the best.
Post by: Declan on July 28, 2011, 03:21:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4CQ_1GWn4w&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4CQ_1GWn4w&feature=related)
Just read his biography - Great stuff
Post by: screenexile on August 31, 2011, 10:06:12 PM
Quote from: Declan on July 28, 2011, 03:21:27 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4CQ_1GWn4w&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4CQ_1GWn4w&feature=related)

Just spied this on iPlayer . . .

Bill Hicks - Live @ The Dominion

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b010k162/Bill_Hicks_Revelations_Live_at_the_Dominion/
Post by: ziggysego on August 31, 2011, 10:13:28 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 31, 2011, 10:06:12 PM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b010k162/Bill_Hicks_Revelations_Live_at_the_Dominion/

Strangely enough, I watched this in bed last night. You can definitely see where Denis Leary got a lot of his material from.
Post by: ONeill on August 31, 2011, 10:14:50 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 31, 2011, 10:13:28 PM

Strangely enough, I watched this in bed last night. You can definitely see where Denis Leary got a lot of his material from.

Your bed?
Post by: Denn Forever on August 31, 2011, 10:34:42 PM
Is the Bill Hicks film that was shown before the Revelations show from the Dominian also on the iplayer?  Well worth a view.
Post by: ziggysego on August 31, 2011, 10:39:00 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 31, 2011, 10:14:50 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 31, 2011, 10:13:28 PM

Your bed?

Sorta
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 01, 2011, 01:43:17 AM
3 worst (In my opinion)

Jimmy Carr - Boring one liners and is liked because he dosent have any limits much like Frankie Boyle. I use to find them funny but now find them boring. The whole finding them funny because they have no limits isa good thing but it is also a boring thing and then you realise anyone can do it but some people have a little more respect for themselves. Another thing that I dont like is the whole picking on a member of the audience, it is so lazy doing that.

2. Stewart Lee Oh my god he is awful. I dont know where to start with him.

1st place goes to....Jack Whitehall - What has he done? Not a single joke of his stands out and makes me laugh. He is the sort of friend that you would go out with and once you know what his personality is like you can see the funny side. But when he is playing to hunderds of people in the audience there is nothing there.

Special mentions goto: Russell Brand. Noel Fielding. Russell Kane. Patrick Kielty.

Best.

3. Stephen K Amos- Watch live at the apollo

2. Jack Dee - Deadpan comedy at its best. I dont think I have ever heard him repeat a joke unlike most stand up comedians. His observations on society are spot on and 99% of the time you can relate to what he is saying. He still does it the way he did when he first started and still funny.

1. Dara O'Briain - I think its more the way he says it rather than the stuff he talks about. He seems to find it easy to relate to everyone by joking about medical terminolgy and physics to computer games, there is something for everyone.

Post by: ziggysego on September 01, 2011, 01:01:30 PM
Seen Stephen K. Amos live in 2004. Very funny. Saw him on The Apollo last year on the BBC, same old jokes. Waiting for Lenny Henryto die... gay black man... Yada yada yada...
Post by: Bensars on September 01, 2011, 01:13:05 PM
Mickey Flanagan at the minute is way ahead of some of those listed
Post by: ziggysego on September 01, 2011, 01:22:31 PM
The cockney? God he's awful.
Post by: AFS on September 01, 2011, 05:26:55 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on September 01, 2011, 01:43:17 AM
3 worst (In my opinion)

You are a terrible person with a terrible sense of humour.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 01, 2011, 06:48:57 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 01, 2011, 05:26:55 PM
3 worst (In my opinion)

Stewart Lee fan eh AFS?
Post by: Santino on September 01, 2011, 09:04:48 PM
Anyone any advice where to get good standup audio mp3 downloads? preferably free but not essential...
Post by: screenexile on September 01, 2011, 09:15:07 PM
Quote from: Bensars on September 01, 2011, 01:13:05 PM
Mickey Flanagan at the minute is way ahead of some of those listed

Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 01, 2011, 09:15:38 PM
Quote from: Santino on September 01, 2011, 09:04:48 PM
Anyone any advice where to get good standup audio mp3 downloads? preferably free but not essential...

Google the comedian you want. Eg..."Jack Dee stand up comedy mp3". Can usually get anything you want.
Post by: AFS on September 01, 2011, 09:33:45 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on September 01, 2011, 06:48:57 PM
3 worst (In my opinion)

Stewart Lee fan eh AFS?

What gave it away? (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=17824.msg876483#msg876483)
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 01, 2011, 09:40:38 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 01, 2011, 09:33:45 PM
3 worst (In my opinion)

Stewart Lee fan eh AFS?

What gave it away? (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=17824.msg876483#msg876483)

Never read that.

Forgor to add...Chris Addison isnt funny either.
Post by: AFS on September 01, 2011, 09:54:01 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on September 01, 2011, 09:40:38 PM
3 worst (In my opinion)

Stewart Lee fan eh AFS?

Never read that.

A terrible reader too.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 01, 2011, 10:13:07 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 01, 2011, 09:54:01 PM
3 worst (In my opinion)

Stewart Lee fan eh AFS?

Never read that.

A terrible reader too.

Busy revising.
Post by: Hardy on September 02, 2011, 01:44:24 AM
Milton Jones (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r4hLr6kxjTk&feature=related)
Post by: screenexile on September 02, 2011, 09:12:50 AM
3 worst (In my opinion)

Stewart Lee fan eh AFS?

Never read that.

Forgor to add...Chris Addison isnt funny either.

Good point!! He's funny on 'The Thick of It" but that's it . . . he's awful on the panel shows and his standup isn't great either.
Post by: ziggysego on September 02, 2011, 12:41:54 PM
I think Chris Addison is funny...
Post by: HiMucker on September 02, 2011, 12:56:14 PM
I have seen these boys live and would rate them in this order:

Kevin Bridges Brilliant
Daragh O Brien or whatever the spelling is Brilliant
John Bishop Very good
Jim Owen Good
Jimmy Carr massive dissapointment

Post by: screenexile on September 02, 2011, 01:32:08 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 02, 2011, 12:41:54 PM

Looking?
Post by: ziggysego on September 02, 2011, 01:34:44 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 02, 2011, 01:32:08 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 02, 2011, 12:41:54 PM

Looking?

No, his shirts. He's funny himself too though.
Post by: boojangles on September 02, 2011, 02:01:50 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 02, 2011, 01:44:24 AM

Excellent.
Post by: Denn Forever on September 29, 2011, 02:18:20 PM
Dave Allen - Smoking

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cT-BQLX6nU
Post by: Orangemac on October 08, 2011, 11:13:23 PM
Eddie Murphy Raw on Film4 now. Quality.
Post by: David McKeown on October 09, 2011, 11:31:49 AM
I watched that ask Rhod Gilbert last night and my opinion of him is now well down. I should have bowed to the boards superior knowledge. On the plus side my tickets for Reginald Hunter, Dave Gorman and Sarah Millican arrived.
Post by: ziggysego on October 09, 2011, 11:49:15 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on October 09, 2011, 11:31:49 AM
I watched that ask Rhod Gilbert last night and my opinion of him is now well down. I should have bowed to the boards superior knowledge. On the plus side my tickets for Reginald Hunter, Dave Gorman and Sarah Millican arrived.

Where and when are they playing?
Post by: Hardy on October 09, 2011, 12:58:16 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on October 08, 2011, 11:13:23 PM
Eddie Murphy Raw on Film4 now. Quality.

If all it takes to be funny is to say "motherfucker" five times in every sentence, then yes - quality.
Post by: andoireabu on October 09, 2011, 02:39:26 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O4BQLsg6IJo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O4BQLsg6IJo)
Kevin Bridges

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-bqJbC2fW4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-bqJbC2fW4)
Micky Flanagan
Post by: David McKeown on October 09, 2011, 03:38:57 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 09, 2011, 11:49:15 AM

Waterfront 17th Nov, 30th Nov and 1st March respectively
Post by: bridgegael on October 09, 2011, 05:27:25 PM
anyone get tickets for stephen merchant?  wonder if he would be good as a standup?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 09, 2011, 09:46:21 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on October 09, 2011, 03:38:57 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 09, 2011, 11:49:15 AM

You seriously have issues if you bought tickets for Sarah Millican. As funny as a boot in the balls.

Waterfront 17th Nov, 30th Nov and 1st March respectively
Post by: ziggysego on October 09, 2011, 10:05:55 PM
Sarah Millican is very funny Tony.
Post by: Orangemac on October 09, 2011, 10:24:21 PM
Rhod Gilbert just seems to shout a lot. Saw Reginald Hunter on Rte2 one night, was very funny.

Mickey Flanagan and Sarah Milican seem to be flavour of the month on the TV comedy show circuit.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 09, 2011, 10:32:36 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 09, 2011, 10:05:55 PM
You're wrong.

Quote from: bridgegael on October 09, 2011, 05:27:25 PM
anyone get tickets for stephen merchant?  wonder if he would be good as a standup?
His show got a good write-up in one of the papers today.
Post by: ziggysego on October 09, 2011, 11:55:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 09, 2011, 10:32:36 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 09, 2011, 10:05:55 PM
You're wrong.

No, you are.
Post by: southdown on October 10, 2011, 12:15:36 PM
What does anyone think of Dave Gorman - seeing him in Liverpool in 2 weeks and I haven't saw much of him before.
Post by: screenexile on October 10, 2011, 12:18:40 PM
Quote from: southdown on October 10, 2011, 12:15:36 PM
What does anyone think of Dave Gorman - seeing him in Liverpool in 2 weeks and I haven't saw much of him before.

I enjoy him If you get the chance check out Googlewhack and "Are you Dave Gorman?" they are very good!
Post by: Denn Forever on October 10, 2011, 12:21:09 PM
Dave Gorman would be the stand up version of The Big Bang Theory.  If you like the Big Bang Theory you should enjoy Gorman.
Post by: Boycey on October 10, 2011, 12:25:07 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 10, 2011, 12:18:40 PM
Quote from: southdown on October 10, 2011, 12:15:36 PM

I enjoy him If you get the chance check out Googlewhack and "Are you Dave Gorman?" they are very good!

Creepy, I was gonna ask the very same question this morning, he's in Dublin on 5th Nov and I'm thinking of going. I hugely enjoyed the 2 shows mentioned above, I also used to download his radio show podcast to listen to while walking which I found a little hit and miss. I was wondering had anyone attended this new show or hear any reviews of it?
Post by: ludermor on October 10, 2011, 02:30:28 PM
Quote from: boojangles on September 02, 2011, 02:01:50 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 02, 2011, 01:44:24 AM

Excellent.
Some of his stuff is very funny but he repeats most of it on nearly every show, some of his youtube clips from 1996 have the same jokes he uses today.
Post by: David McKeown on October 10, 2011, 03:52:10 PM
Id never heard of Sarah Millican when I went to see her in the Ulster Hall last year, and I honestly thought she was one of the best comedians I had ever seen.  That said I hadn't seen her on tv at all then and still havent seen that much of her so I am really looking forward to it.
Post by: Orangemac on October 11, 2011, 10:44:49 PM
She is one of the better female comedians but that is a bit like saying one of the more progressive members of the Orange order.
Post by: Hardy on November 03, 2011, 03:52:45 PM
Saw Dylan Moran at Cork Opera House last night - outstanding. Don't miss his gig if you can catch it.
Post by: southdown on November 03, 2011, 04:54:09 PM
Dave Gorman was great, thoroughly enjoyable show.
Post by: Forever Green on November 03, 2011, 07:29:20 PM
Sarah Millican???? FFS, some people actually like her?? Absolutely despise her

Watched Bill Hicks: Revelations again. How can a man talk so much sense and be incredibly funny at the same time!! Legend
Post by: Orangemac on November 06, 2011, 10:50:36 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on November 03, 2011, 09:22:00 PM
Went to see Tony Hawks in the Waterfront Studio.  I had read all the books, listened to him on numerous radio shows.  There was a fairly small crowd and it was very obvious he had not toured for quite a few years even though he had been on the tour for several weeks.  He was humorous but the show deteriorated into almost a shambles as he finished with a session of written questions form the audience.  A witty man and writer who could not keep a one man show going consistently.
Had read a few of his books years ago. Supposedly "Around Ireland with a Fridge" is being made into a movie. Was funny at the time, must be nearly 15 years ago but I imagine the movie will exaggerate the horses around housing estates angle.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on November 06, 2011, 11:46:24 AM
Quote from: Orangemac on November 06, 2011, 10:50:36 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on November 03, 2011, 09:22:00 PM
Went to see Tony Hawks in the Waterfront Studio.  I had read all the books, listened to him on numerous radio shows.  There was a fairly small crowd and it was very obvious he had not toured for quite a few years even though he had been on the tour for several weeks.  He was humorous but the show deteriorated into almost a shambles as he finished with a session of written questions form the audience.  A witty man and writer who could not keep a one man show going consistently.
Had read a few of his books years ago. Supposedly "Around Ireland with a Fridge" is being made into a movie. Was funny at the time, must be nearly 15 years ago but I imagine the movie will exaggerate the horses around housing estates angle.

Good Tony Hawks interview here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EC0TDci9hqg
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2011, 01:58:50 PM
Watched the new Peter Kay dvd there, absolutely brilliant. 
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 06, 2011, 02:13:09 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2011, 01:58:50 PM
As you are renowned in these parts for having no sense of humour did someone explain the jokes to you?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2011, 02:19:44 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 06, 2011, 02:13:09 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 06, 2011, 01:58:50 PM
As you are renowned in these parts for having no sense of humour did someone explain the jokes to you?
I find lots of things funny, including you and some of the other wankers that are around these parts. 
Post by: Denn Forever on March 17, 2012, 05:02:47 PM
You forget how good Rowan Athkinson was.

Welcome to Hell
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFGrQMD6Uqc

Fatal Beatings
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBeguUvuDzs

Post by: eiled in the bushes on March 17, 2012, 08:04:59 PM
Tony Hawkes !!!!!!  wtf does a skateboarder know about comedy!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Denn Forever on March 17, 2012, 08:12:59 PM
Maybe this Tony Hawks?  But where is the Fridge?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbDAruSSdGg
Post by: ziggysego on March 18, 2012, 02:55:43 AM
Quote from: eiled in the bushes on March 17, 2012, 08:04:59 PM
Tony Hawkes !!!!!!  wtf does a skateboarder know about comedy!!!!!!!!!!

About as much as Wayne Rooney.
Post by: David McKeown on May 12, 2012, 11:04:53 PM
Went to see Henning Vein in an intimate gig in the Cathedral Quarter. Really superb show, nice guy too mingling and chatting to everyone before the show
Post by: Dougal Maguire on October 05, 2012, 12:03:00 AM
Great Kevin Bridges gig in Belfast tonight
Post by: ziggysego on October 05, 2012, 12:40:06 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on October 05, 2012, 12:03:00 AM

Saw him last year in Strabane, fantastic show. Old Norf was there that night too.
Post by: HiMucker on October 05, 2012, 08:44:31 AM
Quote from: Mac Eoghain on October 05, 2012, 12:15:38 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on October 05, 2012, 12:03:00 AM

Thought he was brilliant this evening. A ghostie!
Seen the same show in Derry last week.  He is very good!
Post by: LeoMc on October 05, 2012, 10:24:18 AM
Jon Richardson appearing at the Queens festival at the end of the month, looking forward to that as I missed him last year.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 05, 2012, 11:49:47 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 10, 2010, 05:15:39 AM
Quote from: ross4life on November 10, 2010, 01:53:58 AM

Brendan Grace - Appeals to the older crowd, find some of his stuff quite funny...other bits cringe worthy
Jason Byrne - Annoying bollox.....
Karl Spain - Shite, only so many look at me I'm a fat man jokes that can be done.
Dave McSavage - Happened to see him outside St Stephens green, ripping the piss out of people.Hilarious, not every ones type of humour as he toes the line a good bit.
Jon Kenny/Patt Shortt -D'unbelievables were class, shite since they've gone solo.
[/size]

I'm tempted to get a couple of tickets for Pat Short's solo show in Vicar St...any thoughts??? Is he really that bad on his own??
Post by: southdown on October 05, 2012, 11:53:15 AM
Kevin Bridges is great. I saw Dave Gorman last year in Liverpool and was really impressed. 
Post by: stew on October 05, 2012, 02:45:17 PM
Best I have seen live is Billy Connolly, he was absolutely brilliant, I saw him in I think 1989 in Boston.

My favorite of all time is the deadly Dave Allen, absolute master of his craft and may the rest in peace.
Post by: The Iceman on October 05, 2012, 03:20:05 PM
Sinbad is fantastic. The last tour I seen (on dvd) was all about marriage. He doesnt curse, he isn't crude and doesn't try to shock. He is just funny.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on October 05, 2012, 05:57:07 PM
Just on last night's Kevin Bridges gig last night, was it meant to end like it did or did he get phased by the hecklers?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 18, 2012, 10:30:00 PM
Off to watch Michael McIntyre in Belfast tomorrow. Haven't seen him live so looking forward to it. Anyone been to see him lately?
Post by: David McKeown on October 18, 2012, 11:07:57 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 18, 2012, 10:30:00 PM
Off to watch Michael McIntyre in Belfast tomorrow. Haven't seen him live so looking forward to it. Anyone been to see him lately?

Saw him tonight, very funny particularly the off the cut stuff at the start.  Didnt seem to like the Hecklers much mind you with one being removed right at the start
Post by: Leo on October 18, 2012, 11:09:41 PM
Dylan Moran is in a complete league away above the rest all on his own.
Post by: ziggysego on October 18, 2012, 11:42:35 PM
Quote from: Leo on October 18, 2012, 11:09:41 PM
Dylan Moran is in a complete league away above the rest all on his own.

Saw him three years ago in London. A master at it.

Going to see Steve Hughes in Dublin next week and Frankie Boyle in Derry the following week.  Can't wait for both.
Post by: Don Johnson on October 19, 2012, 09:09:15 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on October 05, 2012, 05:57:07 PM
Just on last night's Kevin Bridges gig last night, was it meant to end like it did or did he get phased by the hecklers?

I think he got pissed off with the hecklers and had enough in the end. I would have too, stupid drunk assholes shouting unfunny crap.

Was at Michael McIntyre there last night, he was alright, did his usual routine, prance about the stage and put on the same silly voice for each different person he talks about. Not in the same league as Kevin Bridges.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 20, 2012, 12:50:47 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on October 19, 2012, 09:09:15 AM

I think he got pissed off with the hecklers and had enough in the end. I would have too, stupid drunk assholes shouting unfunny crap.

Was at Michael McIntyre there last night, he was alright, did his usual routine, prance about the stage and put on the same silly voice for each different person he talks about. Not in the same league as Kevin Bridges.
Thought he was great, good humour without the need to stick in crude jokes or curse all the way through the show, was a serious amount of people there no hackling as such and the off the cuff stuff was great, Bellaghy got a right going over, 'how far is Bellaghy?' 'about an hour away' came the response.

Must be a right money spinner, I was wondering the same thing last night when he said the tickets went out really early and how many people are with the same person when they bought the tickets!!
Post by: Cold tea on October 22, 2012, 03:00:32 PM

Was there Saturday, he was brutal - the dentist routine was pathetic, I have been to funnier wakes.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 22, 2012, 03:13:26 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on October 22, 2012, 03:00:32 PM

Was there Saturday, he was brutal - the dentist routine was pathetic, I have been to funnier wakes.

If this is your attempt at humour I'll hold judgement on you assessment of Michael McIntyre :o
Post by: Cold tea on October 22, 2012, 03:17:01 PM
It's an honest assessment - some of the wakes I have been at were great craic, unlike that overpriced shite I saw on Saturday.  As for his crap at the start about the Northern Ireland accent and the dug up Titanic crap, it was ok when it left us - Jesus wept, plus the crap about women getting changed was used before, his tickets were on sale for over a year could he not have used fresh material.  Crap!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 22, 2012, 03:44:30 PM
Granted some stuff I have heard in various forms, but for most parts I laughed out loud and enjoyed the night, that's what I expected.

Not a patch on some of the comics I've seen in the past, but that's his style, you would have known that before buying the tickets.

As for the Titanic stuff and accents, sure he'll do that in most cities I'd imagine, i.e relate to their own achievements
Post by: Cold tea on November 05, 2012, 08:59:52 AM
Was at John Bishop on Saturday - first half was very good, waned a bit at the start of the second half but overall much better than Michael McIntyre.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 05, 2012, 09:23:06 AM
Can't understand the appeal of McIntyre - not remotely funny.

Went to see David O'Doherty last week at Queen's - brilliant (and a lot cheaper!).
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 05, 2012, 09:30:33 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 05, 2012, 09:23:06 AM

Went to see David O'Doherty last week at Queen's - brilliant (and a lot cheaper!).
I have never even cracked a smile at any DO'D tv appearance. I can only assume his standup act is higher quality than his tv output.
Post by: ziggysego on November 05, 2012, 10:21:31 AM
Saw Steve Hughes and Reginald D. Hunter last weekend in Dublin. Brilliant night's craic, both hilarious.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 05, 2012, 11:51:57 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 05, 2012, 09:30:33 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 05, 2012, 09:23:06 AM

I have never even cracked a smile at any DO'D tv appearance. I can only assume his standup act is higher quality than his tv output.
I've seen his stand-up a good few times now - always good. Check out YouTube clips. The show last week was a good bit different to previous shows, but close to a 2-hour set.
Post by: overdabar on November 05, 2012, 07:50:51 PM
Went to see Jimeoin in newry on Friday night, brilliant night in small venue. Very funny man
Post by: Denn Forever on November 20, 2012, 03:38:34 PM
Not Stand up but Morecambe and Wise on tomorrow night on Gold at 9pm.  Still find them funny.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 20, 2012, 04:27:43 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 20, 2012, 03:38:34 PM
Not Stand up but Morecambe and Wise on tomorrow night on Gold at 9pm.  Still find them funny.

Up there with the Last of the Summer Wine..... as funny as a kick in the balls.
Post by: rrhf on November 20, 2012, 04:32:17 PM
You cant look past the scotchman. 
Post by: dillinger on November 20, 2012, 05:40:22 PM

The best duo ever, never mind what 5 Sams says/ :)

Best solo, the one and only Dave Allen.
Post by: Leo on November 20, 2012, 10:08:35 PM
Best stand up ever - Dylan Moran.
Best stand up for the mentally challenged - Bob Monkhouse (aka Jimmy Carr).
Best stand up for the "sense of humour" challenged - Jason Byrne.
Anyone paying to see Des Bishop, John Bishop - or any Bishop - needs to get a life.
Post by: BennyCake on November 20, 2012, 10:16:30 PM
Quote from: Leo on November 20, 2012, 10:08:35 PM
Best stand up ever - Dylan Moran.
Best stand up for the mentally challenged - Bob Monkhouse (aka Jimmy Carr).
Best stand up for the "sense of humour" challenged - Jason Byrne.
Anyone paying to see Des Bishop, John Bishop - or any Bishop - needs to get a life.
[/b]

And anyone paying to see Michael McIntyre needs a hefty kick in the bollix.
Post by: rodney trotter on November 20, 2012, 10:20:22 PM
Lee Evans is decent, Lee Mack aswell for his dry humour.
Post by: donelli on November 21, 2012, 08:35:09 AM
Is Rich Hall worth going to ???

He's gigging locally next year and was considering purchasing a ticket.
Post by: LeoMc on November 22, 2012, 01:46:27 PM
Quote from: rrhf on November 20, 2012, 04:32:17 PM
You cant look past the scotchman.

Kevin Bridges?
Post by: Maguire01 on November 22, 2012, 09:17:58 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 20, 2012, 10:20:22 PM
Lee Evans is decent
Yes, if you're about 5 years old.
Post by: ziggy90 on November 22, 2012, 09:28:50 PM
Quote from: dillinger on November 20, 2012, 05:40:22 PM

The best duo ever, never mind what 5 Sams says/ :)

Best solo, the one and only Dave Allen.

Imho, live, there was no-one to touch the late great Bob Monkhouse. (Smarmy and all as he was).
Post by: Tommo2 on December 01, 2012, 10:18:22 PM
I saw paddy kielty last week on tv. It was brutal. He seems to have the same routine and material for the past 10 yrs. All the same old crap about the troubles, Catholics and Protestants. I used to like him as well!
Post by: AFS on December 02, 2012, 12:10:33 AM
Quote from: Tommo2 on December 01, 2012, 10:18:22 PM
I saw paddy kielty last week on tv. It was brutal. He seems to have the same routine and material for the past 10 yrs. All the same old crap about the troubles, Catholics and Protestants. I used to like him as well!

Saw him at Electric Picnic a few months ago. He was like a boy that had had a few drinks and wandered up to the stage at an open mic night. Most of his material seemed to come round to the fact he was 'riding Cat Deeley'. Left after 15 minutes, along with most others in the tent.
Post by: hsthompson on December 02, 2012, 02:06:57 AM
I was the exact same at Electric Picnic, AFS. I wanted to like him but I can't think of a gig that was less funny than him. I feckin missed Patti Smith waiting on him too the tube. Kevin McAleer was side-splittingly good though
Post by: Denn Forever on December 02, 2012, 09:19:18 AM
QuoteKevin McAleer was side-splittingly good though

You don't hear much of him these days.  My favourite story is about the great musician Seamus and how electrifcation in the early 60s was a god send.
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2012, 10:26:11 AM
Saw Kevin McAleer twice 2 years apart and he did EXACTLY the same gig word for word almost. Can't say I would go see him again.
Post by: ziggysego on December 02, 2012, 01:25:58 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 02, 2012, 10:26:11 AM
Saw Kevin McAleer twice 2 years apart and he did EXACTLY the same gig word for word almost. Can't say I would go see him again.

Was he good the first time?
Post by: Maguire01 on December 02, 2012, 03:01:33 PM
Kevin McAleer is v good, but if you catch him on the same tour, he'll be doing the same thing - it's a monologue rather than stand-up really.
Post by: Cold tea on December 10, 2012, 03:33:43 PM
Would anyone recommend Colin Murphy - he is in Armagh next year.
Post by: Stevie Nicks on December 10, 2012, 04:21:08 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on December 10, 2012, 03:33:43 PM
Would anyone recommend Colin Murphy - he is in Armagh next year.

Yeah I went with wife to him when he was in Armagh last year, he was very good.
Post by: David McKeown on December 10, 2012, 07:19:38 PM
Quote from: AFS on December 02, 2012, 12:10:33 AM
Quote from: Tommo2 on December 01, 2012, 10:18:22 PM

Saw him at Electric Picnic a few months ago. He was like a boy that had had a few drinks and wandered up to the stage at an open mic night. Most of his material seemed to come round to the fact he was 'riding Cat Deeley'. Left after 15 minutes, along with most others in the tent.

Saw him the Odyssey last year and whilst not up there amongst the best I thought he was quite decent that night
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 10, 2012, 07:48:54 PM
I think Frank Skinner is underrated these days and is one of the very few comedians I'd hand over cash to see.
Post by: BennyCake on December 11, 2012, 12:16:17 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 10, 2012, 07:48:54 PM
I think Frank Skinner is underrated these days and is one of the very few comedians I'd hand over cash to see.

Agreed. I always liked Frank, but he doesn't seem to do much standup these days. I have to contend myself with his podcast from Absolute Radio these days.
Post by: ziggysego on December 11, 2012, 07:39:25 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 11, 2012, 12:16:17 AM

Agreed. I always liked Frank, but he doesn't seem to do much standup these days. I have to contend myself with his podcast from Absolute Radio these days.

I enjoy his podcast with Emily "ba-ba ba-ba ba-baaaaaaa ba" Dean and Alun "The Cockrel" Cochrane.
Post by: Itchy on December 31, 2012, 10:56:51 PM
Neil Delamare on TV tonight, surely the worst stand up comedian in Ireland.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 31, 2012, 11:02:45 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 31, 2012, 10:56:51 PM
Neil Delamare on TV tonight, surely the worst stand up comedian in Ireland.
That's a list there.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 01, 2013, 11:08:40 AM

Have seen him 2 or 3 times in Belfast - always does a good show.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on January 01, 2013, 04:46:30 PM
Willie Frazer - Reading today's Irish News and I can do nothing but laugh.
Post by: bennydorano on January 01, 2013, 05:02:36 PM
Big fan of Sean Lock, went retrospective on him & bought 15 Storeys High, a BBC comedy from early noughties. Very good, cost about £6 on Amazon for series 1&2, bargain!
Post by: DuffleKing on January 01, 2013, 05:04:54 PM

Lock is from s armagh stock
Post by: bennydorano on January 01, 2013, 05:17:50 PM
Is he indeed, he doesn't play up his paddyness, thought  there had to be some somewhere in him.
Post by: Denn Forever on February 22, 2013, 08:28:46 PM
Richard Pryor on Dave tonight at 10.00. I've never seen his stand up so I  hope he is as good as they say he is.
Post by: bridgegael on February 22, 2013, 09:36:27 PM
not a fan of locks stand up but when he is on panel shows he is excellent. 
kevin bridges is funniest ive seen in a while.
Post by: EC Unique on February 22, 2013, 11:30:11 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on February 22, 2013, 08:28:46 PM
Richard Pryor on Dave tonight at 10.00. I've never seen his stand up so I  hope he is as good as they say he is.

Watching it. Genius.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 05, 2013, 11:15:17 PM
Good show on BBC2 about Dave Allen - definitely one of the best.

http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=0QVPUIRGthI&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D0QVPUIRGthI
Post by: Seamroga in exile on May 06, 2013, 10:43:10 AM
I'm really liking Micky Flanagan at the moment. A cockney if ever there was one.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=j7tcwns5LmQ
Post by: ziggysego on May 06, 2013, 12:29:21 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 05, 2013, 11:15:17 PM
Good show on BBC2 about Dave Allen - definitely one of the best.

http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=0QVPUIRGthI&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D0QVPUIRGthI

Saw that programme on the BBC iPlayer during the week. Fantastic comedian. I often wondered why his programmes were never repeated, now I know.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 06, 2013, 06:29:45 PM
I see the Big Yin annoyed the animals over the weekend.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 07, 2013, 10:22:38 AM
Watched Peter Kay's 'Tour that didn't tour - tour' at the weekend. Pretty poor to be honest.
Post by: NAG1 on May 07, 2013, 10:46:27 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 07, 2013, 10:22:38 AM
Watched Peter Kay's 'Tour that didn't tour - tour' at the weekend. Pretty poor to be honest.

Havent seen it but his comedy seems to have been very in the here and now and to me it seems like he hasnt been able to move with it. Very funny guy but some of his stuff appears really dated now.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 07, 2013, 11:51:05 AM
Exactly. He rehased loads of his jokes e.g. Fine rain that soaks you through etc. but never had me laughing out loads. Kept waiting for it to really take off but it never materialised.
Post by: southdown on June 07, 2013, 12:57:12 PM
Heading to the Edinburgh Festival in August.  Have a ticket for Tim Vine and now checking who else is on.  should be a great weekend.
Post by: Cold tea on June 07, 2013, 02:54:19 PM
Quote from: southdown on June 07, 2013, 12:57:12 PM
Heading to the Edinburgh Festival in August.  Have a ticket for Tim Vine and now checking who else is on.  should be a great weekend.

About as funny as a kick to the balls.
Post by: Orior on June 07, 2013, 03:08:45 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on June 07, 2013, 02:54:19 PM
Quote from: southdown on June 07, 2013, 12:57:12 PM

About as funny as a kick to the balls.

Which apparently is not as painful as giving birth.

Reason: Women often say, oh I think I will have another baby. But you never hear men say, oh I think I'll have another kick in the balls.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on June 08, 2013, 10:13:53 AM
This logic would therefore suggest that a kick in the middle wicket is in fact more painful than childbirth.   I see someone has a pair of concrete wellies from outside Jimjy Crickets house
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2013, 05:02:24 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on June 08, 2013, 10:13:53 AM
This logic would therefore suggest that a kick in the middle wicket is in fact more painful than childbirth.   I see someone has a pair of concrete wellies from outside Jimjy Crickets house
There are a few boys I wouldn't mind see slipping on some concrete wellies...
Post by: ziggysego on June 08, 2013, 06:06:51 PM
Has anyone seen Belfast comedian Paul Currie? I saw him at Daly's Comedy Club in Omagh. One of the most surreal and funniest acts I have seen in a long. Undescriptable snd yet unmissable. If you ever get the opportunity to see, do!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2013, 07:29:17 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 08, 2013, 06:06:51 PM
Has anyone seen Belfast comedian Paul Currie? I saw him at Daly's Comedy Club in Omagh. One of the most surreal and funniest acts I have seen in a long. Undescriptable snd yet unmissable. If you ever get the opportunity to see, do!
Fcuk sake.
Post by: ONeill on June 08, 2013, 10:28:27 PM
Watched yer boy Bridges yesterday. Didn't even smirk.
Post by: ziggysego on June 09, 2013, 09:30:41 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2013, 07:29:17 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 08, 2013, 06:06:51 PM
Fcuk sake.

Blow it out your hole.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on June 10, 2013, 07:59:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 08, 2013, 10:28:27 PM
Watched yer boy Bridges yesterday. Didn't even smirk.
I'm told he hasn't slept a wink since hearing the news
Post by: Cold tea on September 16, 2013, 11:29:17 AM
Sad news about Billy Connolly's illness - always liked his earlier stuff.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-24106842 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-24106842)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 16, 2013, 01:43:25 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on September 16, 2013, 11:29:17 AM
Sad news about Billy Connolly's illness - always liked his earlier stuff.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-24106842 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-24106842)
Might explain some of his recent performances which appear to have been erratic at best.
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2013, 10:47:17 AM
Went to see David O'Doherty on Saturday night and thought he was absolutely brilliant!!

What I don't understand is why there were only 100 people there. . . is Strabane that bad people wouldn't even go there to see a top comedian?!!
Post by: Cold tea on December 02, 2013, 11:02:24 AM
Quote from: screenexile on December 02, 2013, 10:47:17 AM
Went to see David O'Doherty on Saturday night and thought he was absolutely brilliant!!

What I don't understand is why there were only 100 people there. . . is Strabane that bad people wouldn't even go there to see a top comedian?!!

Who was that then, was O'Doherty the warm up act?
Post by: screenexile on December 02, 2013, 11:04:29 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on December 02, 2013, 11:02:24 AM

Meh! O'Doherty is excellent!
Post by: ziggysego on December 02, 2013, 12:20:12 PM

David O'Doherty is brilliant, not seen him live yet. Didn't go to Strabane, I heard you got tickets.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 02, 2013, 01:00:02 PM

They were all indoors writing begging letters to the lottery winner from the town.
Post by: J OGorman on December 02, 2013, 01:07:53 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 02, 2013, 11:04:29 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on December 02, 2013, 11:02:24 AM

Meh! O'Doherty is excellent!

Id agree..he is a funny man alright. Quare steam
Post by: 5 Sams on August 16, 2015, 02:19:21 AM
Amy Schumer..google is your friend....funny.
Post by: gallsman on August 16, 2015, 10:52:49 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 16, 2015, 02:19:21 AM

I find her sketches very hit and miss. She was on Graham Norton a couple of months ago and I didn't find hey particularly funny.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 16, 2015, 11:30:53 AM
Check out Jim Jefferies.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0t_yL7tqg4Y
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 16, 2015, 02:28:55 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 16, 2015, 10:52:49 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 16, 2015, 02:19:21 AM

I find her sketches very hit and miss. She was on Graham Norton a couple of months ago and I didn't find hey particularly funny.

She's much better doing standup than she is with tv sketches.  I'd seen several of her standup routines and was very disappointed with her tv show.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 17, 2015, 01:22:36 AM
Can't go wrong with a bit of Lee Evans
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 17, 2015, 01:24:03 AM
Russell Howard's good news is gas and Michael McIntyre is funny too
Post by: gallsman on August 17, 2015, 08:30:59 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on August 17, 2015, 01:22:36 AM

You most certainly can.
Post by: screenexile on August 17, 2015, 09:20:47 AM
Quote from: gallsman on August 17, 2015, 08:30:59 AM

You most certainly can.

I don't understand the Lee Evans thing!!!
Post by: Hardy on August 17, 2015, 10:02:45 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 17, 2015, 09:20:47 AM

You most certainly can.

Do you understand how you'd feel if you lost control of your bowels in your sleep?

You understand the Lee Evans thing.
Post by: ziggysego on August 17, 2015, 11:46:08 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 17, 2015, 10:02:45 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 17, 2015, 09:20:47 AM

You most certainly can.

Do you understand how you'd feel if you lost control of your bowels in your sleep?

You understand the Lee Evans thing.

Yep
Post by: themac_23 on August 19, 2015, 02:15:46 PM
Seen Kevin Bridges in Derry last month, was top quality, can deal with most of the things the crowd throw at him but think a girl on the thurs night took it too far, wasn't funny and had to be removed. Best thing about him is he gets our humour and played on it very well.
Post by: NAG1 on August 19, 2015, 02:27:16 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on August 19, 2015, 02:15:46 PM
Seen Kevin Bridges in Derry last month, was top quality, can deal with most of the things the crowd throw at him but think a girl on the thurs night took it too far, wasn't funny and had to be removed. Best thing about him is he gets our humour and played on it very well.

I don't get that, you pay good money to go and watch a comedian and then act such a bollix that you have to be removed maybe belongs in the WTF thread.
Post by: galwayman on August 19, 2015, 02:45:40 PM
Have to say I find Lee Evans possibly the unfunniest so-called comedian around at the minute.
Just do not find him even remotely funny.
I saw Kevin Bridges a few weeks ago & thought he was excellent.
Post by: Boycey on August 19, 2015, 02:55:04 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on August 19, 2015, 02:27:16 PM

I don't get that, you pay good money to go and watch a comedian and then act such a bollix that you have to be removed maybe belongs in the WTF thread.

I saw Tommy Tiernan cutting the socks off some girl who had heckled him at a show about 10 years ago. It was a brilliant put down which I can't remember anymore :-) but in true Tommy fashion he returned to her several times during the night to the stage where it actually got a bit OTT and embarrassing
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 19, 2015, 04:00:04 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 19, 2015, 02:55:04 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on August 19, 2015, 02:27:16 PM

I saw Tommy Tiernan cutting the socks off some girl who had heckled him at a show about 10 years ago. It was a brilliant put down which I can't remember anymore :-) but in true Tommy fashion he returned to her several times during the night to the stage where it actually got a bit OTT and embarrassing

Jim Jeffries mercilessly destroys a heckler (audio only, language NSFW; also a bit OTT).   

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fTKNYb41JJk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fTKNYb41JJk)
Post by: screenexile on August 19, 2015, 04:28:13 PM
Jake O'Kane introduced some newbie comedian at the Empire . . .

"Right if any of you c***ts give this lad any grief up here I'll not be long telling the rest of the crowd the story about the time yer ma caught ye pulling your bar in the bathroom with a toilet brush up yer hole for good measure. BEHAVE!!"

I used to go to the Empire a lot back in the day and it was brutal!! If you were the slightest bit nervous or tentative about your act you got crucified. It wasn't even the heckling that was bad it was the fact the crowd started to talk among themselves and drown the comedian out. If you could be funny there I'd say you'll do alright.
Post by: ziggysego on August 19, 2015, 04:50:57 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 19, 2015, 04:28:13 PM
I used to go to the Empire a lot back in the day and it was brutal!! If you were the slightest bit nervous or tentative about your act you got crucified. It wasn't even the heckling that was bad it was the fact the crowd started to talk among themselves and drown the comedian out. If you could be funny there I'd say you'll do alright.

I've done stand up a few times. A truly terrifying experience, but fantastic at the same time.
Post by: Gold on August 19, 2015, 05:10:57 PM
Saw Dara o Brein at Waterfront in Belfast few months ago.

Absolutely fantastic.  Interacted with the crowd and ripped a boy out of it re his employment in a local supermarket.  Hilarious, so sharp
Post by: Orior on November 30, 2015, 11:31:29 AM
Anyone see Kevin Bridges in Dublin at the weekend? Apparently he very nearly died on stage /  lost the plot entirely.
Post by: Denn Forever on November 30, 2015, 11:51:37 AM
Jim Jeffries

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0rR9IaXH1M0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URwZaIKwiP8
Post by: Man Marker on January 11, 2016, 03:50:56 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 30, 2015, 11:51:37 AM
Jim Jeffries

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URwZaIKwiP8

very very funny
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2016, 05:34:57 PM
Amy Schumer
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uOAJiihzsAU

Lisa Lampanelli
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4cBeYAa33I

Louis CK
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5yCCr1KV_Hk

Lenny Bruce
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jSqKsHYdUmw
Post by: DownFanatic on January 11, 2016, 05:40:33 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 19, 2015, 04:28:13 PM
Jake O'Kane introduced some newbie comedian at the Empire . . .

"Right if any of you c***ts give this lad any grief up here I'll not be long telling the rest of the crowd the story about the time yer ma caught ye pulling your bar in the bathroom with a toilet brush up yer hole for good measure. BEHAVE!!"

The chat among the crowd was the death knell of a comedian in the Empire.
In fairness there were few bad ones there.
Some unreal nights.
Post by: seafoid on January 12, 2016, 05:33:27 PM
Les Dawson RIP. One of the best ever

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdCvhfbhqrA
Post by: Gaffer on January 12, 2016, 05:49:59 PM

Great put down from comedian to heckler

"Listen mate, if I want to hear from an asshole I'll fart!"
Post by: seafoid on February 13, 2016, 09:51:10 AM
Ron White. I would love to see him live

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=474K8CxtDlM
Post by: SHEEDY on February 13, 2016, 06:34:12 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on January 12, 2016, 05:49:59 PM

Great put down from comedian to heckler

"Listen mate, if I want to hear from an asshole I'll fart!"
jimjefferies dealing with a heckler!
https://youtu.be/fTKNYb41JJk
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 09, 2016, 05:21:56 PM
Going to see Sarah Milligan tonight.... Have to laugh birthday present for me ( birthday in Jan) and I'm not fussed on her!! Women say men never listen???
Post by: The Stallion on June 09, 2016, 05:25:15 PM
Well you haven't listened closely enough to get her name right to be fair lol.
Post by: ziggysego on June 09, 2016, 08:56:03 PM
Reginald D. Hunter is in Derry tonight

https://www.facebook.com/ReginaldDHunter/videos/vb.231809290183653/1181482738549632/?type=2&theater&notif_t=like&notif_id=1465500770240643 (https://www.facebook.com/ReginaldDHunter/videos/vb.231809290183653/1181482738549632/?type=2&theater&notif_t=like&notif_id=1465500770240643)

He was in Omagh two weeks, fantastic!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 09, 2016, 11:12:19 PM
#haventwashedsince lol. Not bad young man  :)
Post by: ziggysego on June 09, 2016, 11:26:51 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 09, 2016, 11:12:19 PM
#haventwashedsince lol. Not bad young man  :)

Oh... you read that  ;D
Post by: Capt Pat on June 10, 2016, 01:16:50 AM
Bill Burr is a good one. Check out his specials on youtube.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 10, 2016, 11:50:07 PM
Great call Pat.
Post by: Orior on August 02, 2016, 04:56:23 PM
Has anyone mentioned Ron White?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcJCCwC7Hpo (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcJCCwC7Hpo)
Post by: ziggysego on February 12, 2017, 12:11:26 PM
Saw Billy Connolly last night at the SSE Arena in Belfast. Fantastic show. Billy is still the best there is out there. A pure masterclass was delivered.
Post by: No wides on February 12, 2017, 12:53:58 PM
Billy ceased being funny twenty years ago.
Post by: BennyCake on February 12, 2017, 01:00:13 PM
Seen Billy twice in the past. He's still funny but more of a storyteller these days (a lot of stuff I've heard in his DVDs) rather than the manic ranting of years ago. Understandable considering his age though.
Post by: haranguerer on February 14, 2017, 08:54:44 AM
Not to mention his Parkinsons.

Was at him on Sunday night Ziggy - the best there ever was certainly, and a great night, as much about appreciation for him as the show itself.
Post by: screenexile on February 14, 2017, 10:05:51 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 14, 2017, 08:54:44 AM
Not to mention his Parkinsons.

Was at him on Sunday night Ziggy - the best there ever was certainly, and a great night, as much about appreciation for him as the show itself.

Was there myself really enjoyed it... was quite shocked to see how he had deteriorated but he was still razor sharp!!! Great night's craic!!
Post by: Boycey on February 14, 2017, 11:11:54 AM
Going to see Billy this weekend in Dublin, looking forward to it. I've seen him several times and not been disappointed yet, funny fcuker.
Post by: lurganblue on February 14, 2017, 03:45:33 PM
I had recorded Kevin Bridges in Glasgow on one of the channels over Christmas there.  Finally got watching it last night. Underwhelmed.  I was hoping for a lot better.

Went to see Dara O'Briain in the waterfront last year.  I wasnt expecting much but i thought he was excellent!  I'd go and see another of his shows no problem.
Post by: Esmarelda on February 14, 2017, 03:56:22 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 14, 2017, 03:45:33 PM
I had recorded Kevin Bridges in Glasgow on one of the channels over Christmas there.  Finally got watching it last night. Underwhelmed.  I was hoping for a lot better.

Went to see Dara O'Briain in the waterfront last year.  I wasnt expecting much but i thought he was excellent!  I'd go and see another of his shows no problem.
Really?

The first fifteen minutes seemed like he had stepped into my life. Thought it was great.

Saw O'Briain in Dublin a few years' back. Very good use of the audience and very funny overall.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 14, 2017, 09:32:33 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 12, 2017, 12:11:26 PM
Saw Billy Connolly last night at the SSE Arena in Belfast. Fantastic show. Billy is still the best there is out there. A pure masterclass was delivered.
Wans in work said the sound was dodgy so they complained and got free tickets to Micky Flanagan.
Post by: ziggysego on February 14, 2017, 09:47:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 14, 2017, 09:32:33 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 12, 2017, 12:11:26 PM
Wans in work said the sound was dodgy so they complained and got free tickets to Micky Flanagan.

The sound was cat. I complained about 10mins into it. I got a hearing-loop system. No tickets for Mickey for me. :(
Post by: Hardy on February 14, 2017, 09:58:28 PM
That'll teach them to complain.
Post by: The Stallion on February 14, 2017, 10:18:52 PM
Lol
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 14, 2017, 11:13:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 14, 2017, 09:58:28 PM
That'll teach them to complain.
;D YOU are the best stand - up comedian!
Post by: Olly on February 15, 2017, 01:55:50 PM
You don't hear much about Jimmy Crickett these days.
Post by: sensethetone on February 15, 2017, 02:05:06 PM
I've saw Neil Delimare a few times think he's good craic.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on February 18, 2017, 01:58:08 PM
Saw Foil Arms and High last night in Belfast  wasn't sure what to expect from them  but really enjoyed it, very funny show from start to finish
Post by: ziggysego on February 18, 2017, 04:27:53 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on February 18, 2017, 01:58:08 PM
Saw Foil Arms and High last night in Belfast  wasn't sure what to expect from them  but really enjoyed it, very funny show from start to finish

Seen them 4 times in Omagh now. They always put on an excellent show.
Post by: Denn Forever on February 18, 2017, 06:29:57 PM
Do you mean these guys?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0XGzWe5Rxlg
Post by: ONeill on February 18, 2017, 08:10:43 PM
2 tickets available for Jake O'Kane tomorrow night in the Lyric if anyone wants them
Post by: stew on February 20, 2017, 07:02:58 PM
Billy Connolly, will never be touched, best ever live.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 20, 2017, 07:36:19 PM
Going to see Ricky Gervais in Belfast at the end of March, looking forward to it. Anyone else going?
Post by: No wides on February 20, 2017, 08:00:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 20, 2017, 07:51:26 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 20, 2017, 07:36:19 PM
Going to see Ricky Gervais in Belfast at the end of March, looking forward to it. Anyone else going?
I'd imagine so.
;D Hardstation is funnier than some of the clowns mentioned.
Post by: ziggysego on February 20, 2017, 08:03:10 PM
Quote from: No wides on February 20, 2017, 08:00:49 PM
I'd imagine so.

Are you watching Hardstation?
Post by: No wides on February 20, 2017, 08:05:02 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 20, 2017, 08:03:10 PM
Quote from: No wides on February 20, 2017, 08:00:49 PM
I'd imagine so.

Are you watching Hardstation?

As opposed to you being as funny as a kick to the stones.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 20, 2017, 08:59:32 PM
I'd imagine so.

Yeeeeeeoooo!
Post by: stew on February 20, 2017, 09:01:28 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 20, 2017, 08:59:32 PM
I'd imagine so.

Yeeeeeeoooo!

He is shite!

Great on the office though.
Post by: whitegoodman on February 20, 2017, 10:56:18 PM
Jack Whitehall very good in Belfast tonight
Post by: The Stallion on February 20, 2017, 10:59:05 PM
I don't understand why people find Whitehall funny, but plenty seem to.
Post by: Far East on February 21, 2017, 04:54:52 AM
Just add it to the ever growing list of things you don't understand.  Don't be too hard on yourself, it goes with the territory amongst Tyrone and Man Utd 'fans'.
Post by: The Stallion on February 21, 2017, 06:46:05 AM
I am neither, as a cursory glance at my posts would make abundantly clear.

Post by: punt kick on October 05, 2017, 01:36:36 PM
Going to see John Bishop tonight - anyone there last night?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 05, 2017, 03:13:16 PM
Quote from: punt kick on October 05, 2017, 01:36:36 PM

Wrong thread.
Post by: punt kick on October 05, 2017, 03:24:37 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on October 05, 2017, 03:13:16 PM

Wrong thread.

Maybe you should go on tour.  ::)
Post by: ziggysego on October 05, 2017, 08:10:21 PM

Saw him a few years ago in Belfast. Great comedian.
Post by: amanda on October 15, 2017, 03:08:10 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 05, 2017, 08:10:21 PM

Yes if you like hearing jokes about disabled people he's the best .
Post by: longballin on October 15, 2017, 03:16:43 PM
Reginald D Hunter playing Belfast and Armagh soon. Very funny and incisive political observations
Post by: Denn Forever on October 15, 2017, 04:59:38 PM
Jim Jefferies

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9UFyNy-rw4
Post by: ziggysego on October 15, 2017, 05:03:04 PM
Quote from: amanda on October 15, 2017, 03:08:10 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 05, 2017, 08:10:21 PM

Yes if you like hearing jokes about disabled people he's the best .

What'd I miss?
Post by: screenexile on December 13, 2017, 02:27:08 PM
Peter Kay cancel's huge sellout tour!!

I hadn't got tickets but Twitter's going mental with the amount of people having bought them as Christmas gifts!
Post by: mrhardyannual on December 13, 2017, 02:39:18 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 13, 2017, 02:27:08 PM
Peter Kay cancel's huge sellout tour!!

I hadn't got tickets but Twitter's going mental with the amount of people having bought them as Christmas gifts!
Apparently there is a serious family difficulty involved so it's understandable that he has cancelled.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 13, 2017, 03:54:15 PM
Better early notification that later on, must be very serious for him to cancel them all
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 03, 2019, 12:36:19 PM
Best of luck to Brendan Grace in his battle with lung cancer.
Post by: screenexile on October 16, 2019, 03:23:04 PM
Watched the Dave Chappelle Netflix specials the last few days.

Some of the best Stand up I've ever seen it was absolutely phenomenal. Plenty of laughs plenty to like and plenty to get annoyed about if you're that way inclined but he's just so comfortable up there throwing out jokes as if it's the easiest thing in the world.

Check them out!
Post by: Taylor on October 16, 2019, 03:27:17 PM
Anyone seen Paddy Raff before and is he worth going to see?

Had never heard of him before until it was mentioned as a possible Xmas present   ::)
Post by: Ambrose on October 16, 2019, 04:32:36 PM
Quote from: Taylor on October 16, 2019, 03:27:17 PM
Anyone seen Paddy Raff before and is he worth going to see?

Had never heard of him before until it was mentioned as a possible Xmas present   ::)

I met him out in Belfast one night, seems like a decent lad, but some of his entourage were out and out wankers, one of them is definitely 'Nigel', you would never get tired punching this guy in the face.
Don't think I'd pay money to see him, but he seems to be doing well, he has had quite a few sell out shows, so he is quite popular at the minute.
Post by: imtommygunn on October 16, 2019, 09:05:18 PM
His claim to fame now is getting retweeted by the Incredible Hulk... I am not sure about a live show but he does put out some decent stuff on social media at times.
Post by: ziggysego on October 17, 2019, 12:35:22 AM
Never heard of him
Post by: Link on October 17, 2019, 09:44:09 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 16, 2019, 03:23:04 PM

Some of the best Stand up I've ever seen it was absolutely phenomenal. Plenty of laughs plenty to like and plenty to get annoyed about if you're that way inclined but he's just so comfortable up there throwing out jokes as if it's the easiest thing in the world.

Check them out!

Watched 2 of these last night, had never heard of him before that.

Great shows, bit of duplication in the 2017 and 2019 shows around Kevin Hart and the LBGTQ stuff. Still funny nonetheless. Nearly fell off the sofa when he was talking about Bruce/Caitlyn/Kayne.
Post by: HiMucker on October 17, 2019, 10:11:24 AM
Quote from: Link on October 17, 2019, 09:44:09 AM

Check them out!

Great shows, bit of duplication in the 2017 and 2019 shows around Kevin Hart and the LBGTQ stuff. Still funny nonetheless. Nearly fell off the sofa when he was talking about Bruce/Caitlyn/Kayne.
+2 Brilliant stuff. Best comedy I've seen in a long while
Post by: FL/MAYO on October 17, 2019, 10:34:55 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on October 17, 2019, 10:11:24 AM
Quote from: Link on October 17, 2019, 09:44:09 AM

Check them out!

+2 Brilliant stuff. Best comedy I've seen in a long while
This is my favorite Chapelle sketch, warning the N word is used..

https://youtu.be/JBC-9k3y1ew

https://youtu.be/D7oXFmuUHLQ
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 17, 2019, 10:42:03 AM
Didn't think the latest special was as good but when he's on song he's brilliant.
Post by: screenexile on October 21, 2021, 07:51:40 PM
Don't want to get into a Trans debate I just didn't think the latest Chappelle special was particularly funny more of an intellectual rant about things he doesn't like.

A shame really considering how much I loved the specials before it. Would love to see him live especially since he's gotten all that off his chest and will hopefully get back to being more funny again.