FAI...New Manager Hunt continues

Started by CĂșig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

straightred

Quote from: An Watcher on November 12, 2016, 07:59:42 PM
Fantastic result.  Flip after this tournament the only possible people retiring from the first 11 would be Hoolahan and Walters.

the only negative tonight was the yellow for brady which rules him out of the wales game. I often lose faith in soccer with all the egos etc but tonight was 100% graft and effort - proud of every one of them. I'm watching wales now and they are no great shakes even with Bale in the side

Quote from: straightred on November 12, 2016, 07:25:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 12, 2016, 06:56:35 PM
By Christ are Austria awful. To make our lads look the better footballing side is some achievement.

Great year by the team with very limited resources but with such an old squad what does the future look like after Russia?

Mother of God..... best away win against a group contender since 1987 and you're still not happy. A victory for football too with all the diving the austrians were at.

Ah cmon. It was a good win no doubt, particularly for us.

But Austria flopped in the Euros and have already flopped in this campaign. We're getting way too excited about beating a poor team away from home. Georgia were a tougher test in reality.

Great win which keeps the whole thing ticking over. now come on serbia.

Stupid yellow for brady which could hurt us.

An Watcher

Yes they flopped at the euros but this time last year they had just comfortably topped a group containing Russia n Sweden only dropping 2 points along the way

Quote from: Syferus on November 12, 2016, 08:17:06 PM
By Christ are Austria awful. To make our lads look the better footballing side is some achievement.

Great year by the team with very limited resources but with such an old squad what does the future look like after Russia?

Mother of God..... best away win against a group contender since 1987 and you're still not happy. A victory for football too with all the diving the austrians were at.

But Austria flopped in the Euros and have already flopped in this campaign. We're getting way too excited about beating a poor team away from home. Georgia were a tougher test in reality.

You would have done well to heed your own advice when you were losing the run of yourself over a few Roscommon wins in February

Serbia after drawing level with Wales! Could be good for us?

Wales inches away from making it 2-0 when Bale hits the post straight down the field Serbia level. Football for you.

Quote from: Tubberman on November 12, 2016, 09:18:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 12, 2016, 08:17:06 PM

You would have done well to heed your own advice when you were losing the run of yourself over a few Roscommon wins in February

You mustn't have read what I said if you'd even think typing the above made any sense.

An Watcher

Serbia look some side but a draw is a great result.  Austria gone, Wales still there just about

Capt Pat

That is a great result for Ireland. We are now 4 points ahead of Wales and 2 ahead of  Serbia. Austria are out of it 6 behind Ireland.

SHEEDY

Brilliant 2nd half performance but jaysus Austria were shite. luckily the big centre forward couldn't head the ball. Wales/Serbia drawing was good result for Ireland. McClean motm for me.
nil satis nisi optimum

We normally gp ultra defensive on a one goal lead and are our own worst enemies. Thankfully not tonight except for the last 4 minutes where it was a bit nervous.

Agreed - austria were crap.

straightred

Quote from: imtommygunn on November 12, 2016, 10:23:12 PM
We normally gp ultra defensive on a one goal lead and are our own worst enemies. Thankfully not tonight except for the last 4 minutes where it was a bit nervous.

Agreed - austria were crap.

we are a small country by international standards but we continue to box above our weight. 10 points out of 12 having played 3 away games is a fantastic achievement. it was a 4 horse race. now its 2 and maybe 3. Great days work !

Il Bomber Destro

Superb result for Ireland.

You have to laugh at some of the comments here about Austria being "shite". While it might be a valid criticism of Austria last night, the same people were probably guilty of lauding the rugby side's friendly win as one of the Irish sport's greatest moments.

There always has to be an enabling factor when the soccer side pull off a big result, the team deserve immense credit for once again punching above their weight.

Six of the starting XI for Austria last night play Champions League football, not one member of the Irish squad is playing in the CL this season.

What the soccer team always give is sheer honesty of effort, you can't ask for much more than that. This is a side we should be immensely proud of.