FAI...New Manager Hunt continues

Started by CĂșig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 14, 2014, 10:50:08 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2014, 10:28:33 PM
Quote from: rrhf on October 14, 2014, 10:23:36 PM
Could you imagine if the north v the south were drawn together in France.
I'd love a handy win and would love to get the north of Ireland team in our group!
Handy points for us!

Why  would they be handy? They beat Greece tonight away who were in the knockout stages of the WC, and were missing Evans.

Anyway thats a long way off, neither team is qualified yet.
Isn't that Greek team all about 50 years old now!

We drew with the World Cup winners away and played sihte doing it!
If we improve at all we could be quite handy!

Missing Evans is a bonus I'd say!
Dreadful 'defender'

Wish we had the north of Ireland in our group!
Easy points!

Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 14, 2014, 10:59:21 PM
I'd love a handy win and would love to get the north of Ireland team in our group!
Handy points for us!

Why  would they be handy? They beat Greece tonight away who were in the knockout stages of the WC, and were missing Evans.

Dreadful 'defender'

Easy points!

If your fellow Derry man gets a bit more positive in his approach we could be handy alright.

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 14, 2014, 11:03:20 PM
Handy points for us!

Dreadful 'defender'

Easy points!

If your fellow Derry man gets a bit more positive in his approach we could be handy alright.
I doubt he told the lads to hoof the ball up the pitch

The memories of 2002 and Robbie Keane's goal came flooding back. Incredible stuff.

Quote from: magpie seanie on October 14, 2014, 10:03:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 14, 2014, 09:36:27 PM
Up yours, Helmut.

If only our politicians could show such guts and determination against them.

One can only hope for a last minute score there too.

Thankfully houlihan found his man with that last throw in, he made a bags of the one beforehand.

Lads fierce negative on the r t e. Sick looking at them now.

Giles repeats himself all the time and said that Germany were world champions during the summer but they are not now?

WTF is he on about?

Quote from: Syferus on October 14, 2014, 11:22:36 PM
The memories of 2002 and Robbie Keane's goal came flooding back. Incredible stuff.

What age were you then?

Quote from: rrhf on October 15, 2014, 06:41:23 AM
Quote from: Syferus on October 14, 2014, 11:22:36 PM

What age were you then?
I think he was reincarnated in 2005

Handy points for us!

Dreadful 'defender'

Easy points!

Typical Irish mentality, going mad at fluking a draw to a depleted German side.  As for playing shite doing it, thats probably as well as the Irish team can play when you look at the players they have.  Evans would walk in to the Irish team.

Quote from: Aaron Boone on October 14, 2014, 10:41:51 PM
Quote from: rrhf on October 14, 2014, 10:21:28 PM
Darragh maloney looks totally uncomfortable with the flow of negativity from the pundits.  Hating it. They are milking it.

Agree on this. The dynamic isn't right on the panel, needs a younger pundit to complement Darragh.

Thought myself that Daragh Moloney was excellent last night . Nailed one pundit in particular on a number of occasions in a nice way.

Great result . Lads in studio seemed almost crestfallen.

general

unbelievable last night! Id like to see the stats, im sure they would be like a game of fifa! Great for John O'Shea.

Now for the search for tickets for parkhead in 4 weeks time

Just imagine - if Roy Keane hadn't launched his book last week we'd have won this game easily.  :P

Good result, but to be honest, probably one that was needed. Scotland's performance in Poland last night, as well as their performance in Germany makes the trip to Celtic Park next month a big game. Poland, Scotland and Ireland will all be happy with their position so far, and you'd expect Germany to pick it up.

I was struck that Germany seemed to take Ireland very lightly last night. Low not calling up some replacements was strange, and I doubt he'd have done that against France or Italy. 4 outfield subs is almost unheard of in International football these days.

I'm one of those who have criticised O'Shea in the past, and I believe justifiably so. However it's true that he's been a good servant for Ireland, and that was a vital goal last night so fair play to him. Seanie, I assume you extend the same level of respect to Robbie Keane given his 136 caps for his country :)

Most of the criticism O'Shea got was about the club he played for, not what he was doing on the pitch. That might not be the case with yourself but undeniably it was with many other.

Robbie is playing really well at the moment, his best form in years. His record of caps and goals is amazing by any standard. Sure, there's plenty of things over the years I criticised him for but he has actually knuckled down since he went to the US and improved. He still shouldn't have started last night.