Mayo Club Football.

Started by intoDwest, November 10, 2006, 11:34:39 AM

Crete Boom

Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 11, 2020, 09:20:39 AM
Yea, I was at it. Kiltane were poor alright. Ballina will be a sterner test anyway. Can't see us winning it. Sure Ballina are going to steamroll through everyone anyway. At least we can say we're neighbours and in the same group as the county champions.

Most county titles, a few Connacht titles, an All Ireland title and a record of 13 in a row county titles only equaled once by another football team in Ireland, damn right you should be honored to share the same pitch as us! ;D
Sure Swaney O'Hora was only giving ye what you want as we all know that out in bandit country that they only thing ye like more than playing in the backs is to have a team talk where you can point to some Ballina fella saying they are better than you which let's face it is normally true!! ;D ;D
I see Kilfian equaled your own prestigious record of conceding 9 goals in a championship match at the weekend. ;D

Crete Boom

Lads what do you make of Jack Reilly from Charlestown. I have seen him 4 or 5 times in the flesh and was impressed again watching him on Mayo Gaa TV again at the weekend? Has he ever been involved with the senior set up at all?

From ah ref

Ballagh vs Breaffy / Westport vs The Neale

Ballina vs Aghamore / Knockmore vs Ballintubber

Knockmore game last night was a decent watch even if the result was disappointing for us having been on top for most of the game. I noticed we only used one sub compared to 4 for Ballina so we probably don't have the strength on the bench and it showed in the last few minutes. Hard to see us beating Ballintubber tbh

From the rte website:

QuoteSaturday GAA Live

Mayo Club Football Quarter-Finals

Coverage of a double bill of quarter-finals from the Mayo Club Football Championship (Throw-ins 5.30pm and 7.30pm). Ballintubber won this title for the fifth time last season when they overcame Ballaghaderreen in the final and their group stage victories over Belmullet and Garrymore suggested they would be a force once again, while Knockmore also impressed in the early stages of the competition. Extra Time and penalties may apply.

Quote from: macdanger2 on August 24, 2020, 03:13:43 PM
From the rte website:

QuoteSaturday GAA Live

Mayo Club Football Quarter-Finals

Coverage of a double bill of quarter-finals from the Mayo Club Football Championship (Throw-ins 5.30pm and 7.30pm). Ballintubber won this title for the fifth time last season when they overcame Ballaghaderreen in the final and their group stage victories over Belmullet and Garrymore suggested they would be a force once again, while Knockmore also impressed in the early stages of the competition. Extra Time and penalties may apply.

Yeah, Breaffy v Ballaghaderreen is on afterwards. Fingers crossed the lads will bounce back from the bad loss on Saturday night.

A repeat of last year's final Ballintubber v Ballaghaderreen a good possibility?

Quote from: Cunny Funt on August 24, 2020, 06:23:41 PM
A repeat of last year's final Ballintubber v Ballaghaderreen a good possibility?

Not anymore! Delighted for the lads.

MayoBuck

Great win for Knockmore. Mitchels and Tubber gone before the semi-finals. Wide open now.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 29, 2020, 07:03:01 PM

Yeah, brilliant result. Didn't see that happening tbh. The O'Connors carrying injuries didn't help Ballintubber.

Possible rematch against Ballina in the semi

Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 29, 2020, 07:03:01 PM

Great win for your club, well  done.

Ballaghadreen look like they're gone after a flying start

MayoBuck

Ballagh unlucky with the red card and injuries. Breaffy probably the bookies favourites now but it's a hard one to call.

Stupid yellow cards, decent game. The O'Shea's make it happen

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 30, 2020, 12:33:13 AM
Stupid yellow cards, decent game. The O'Shea's make it happen
Jeez, don't be influenced by McStay. Useless gobshite of a co-commentator. Every yellow card is 'stupid' if you use his analysis.

The first yellow was bad foul by Hanley on Seamie, fully deserving of a yellow. (It was funny the ref picking out a non-county lad for a yellow for the minor melee afterwards, when 3 county lads were far more aggressive in it - happens everywhere!)

The second yellow was a disgrace. Pure cheating by the Breaffy lad holding his head when there was only minor contact across his chest (more than one Breaffy lad liked to go down holding his head when any contact was made to upper body). It was probably a foul for being slightly late, but it wasn't anywhere near a yellow card offence.  Ridiculous commentary to blame Hanley, basically that because he's on a yellow he has to avoid all physical contact in case someone decides to take a dive. Nonsense! 

Unfortunately for a neutral viewer it destroyed the game. Breaffy were very good in the second half, but Hanley had probably been the best player on the pitch in the first half and it would have been a great second half I'd say. Instead the game pettered out, but the first game and the first half of the second game were great stuff, entertaining football played the right way. 

That looked an horrendous mouth injury poor Drake suffered early on. Looked like he lost of a few teeth and still blood coming out ages after the incident.

The third O'Shea looks to have come on a lot. He'd a very good game.