GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tyroneman on April 04, 2017, 09:44:18 PM

Title: Doire v Tir Eoghain, Sun 28th May @2pm
Post by: tyroneman on April 04, 2017, 09:44:18 PM
So....may as well get this started.....on paper easy for Tyrone, in reality.....never easy against the aul enemy.

Derry will have plenty to motivate them after last years humiliation and this years relegation.

Would MH survive a defeat?

Will we see a different Tyrone to the league?
Title: Re: Doire v Tir Eoghain, Sun 28th May @2pm
Post by: screenexile on April 04, 2017, 10:41:47 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on April 04, 2017, 09:44:18 PM
So....may as well get this started.....on paper easy for Tyrone, in reality.....never easy against the aul enemy.

Derry will have plenty to motivate them after last years humiliation and this years relegation.

Would MH survive a defeat?

Will we see a different Tyrone to the league?

Was easy last year will be easy this year... progress would be not getting beat by as much as last year!!
Post by: theticklemister on April 04, 2017, 11:13:09 PM
jeeezzzzz don't open this thread so early!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: moysider on April 05, 2017, 12:39:38 AM

This is the problem. People want matches and we just don't get them.
Post by: JoG2 on April 05, 2017, 09:48:40 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 05, 2017, 12:39:38 AM

This is the problem. People want matches and we just don't get them.

only 30/35 odd training sessions to go for the players before the match, the blink of an eye
Post by: redhandefender on April 05, 2017, 10:17:32 AM
Jesus oh I am only back from the kingdom! Don't even want to be thinking about this after that showing.
Post by: theticklemister on April 05, 2017, 05:23:57 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on April 05, 2017, 10:17:32 AM
Jesus oh I am only back from the kingdom! Don't even want to be thinking about this after that showing.

f**k it, we don't want it either.  We will call it a draw and have a replay a week after instead.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 08, 2017, 11:48:34 AM
Is it true Derry have taken in Joe Brolly as their new sports psychologist and he's brought his good friend David Hickey to perform major surgery on the team?
Post by: southtyronegael on May 09, 2017, 10:43:35 PM
fuzzman i wouldnt be making too many jokes givin the state of our own setup.
Post by: seanmc123 on May 11, 2017, 11:18:42 AM
Your not a Tyrone man so f**k off on out of hear before you get the lugs slapped off you😄
Post by: theticklemister on May 11, 2017, 12:14:17 PM
I'll be attending this game, my first Championship game in 5 years. I'm looking forward to it but we won't have a hope in hell.
Post by: Taylor on May 11, 2017, 01:55:37 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 11, 2017, 12:14:17 PM
I'll be attending this game, my first Championship game in 5 years. I'm looking forward to it but we won't have a hope in hell.

I am looking forward to this game as well but probably for entire different reasons.

Tyrone by 8+.

Expect it to start of tight but in the last 20 odd mins I cannot see you being able to stop us at all
Post by: southtyronegael on May 11, 2017, 10:34:57 PM
Quote from: seanmc123 on May 11, 2017, 11:18:42 AM
Your not a Tyrone man so f**k off on out of hear before you get the lugs slapped off you😄
u said before im a derry man so im entitled to be here.
Post by: The Trap on May 11, 2017, 10:49:52 PM
I heard the weekend away that Tyrone had was all about the defensive system that was in place last year and got them within a kick of the ball of a probable all Ireland final......it will be good enough to beat Derry and then it will be a slugfest against Donegal..........
Post by: The Stallion on May 11, 2017, 11:05:45 PM
I'd expect Tyrone to beat Derry comfortably.
Post by: skeog on May 12, 2017, 07:11:54 AM
Be better to award a walkover to Tyrone going by todays article in the Irish News.Normally a manager waits till the game is over to give the excuses for defeat.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 12, 2017, 07:51:26 AM
His argument didn't even stack up. He didn't want the county players playing for their clubs this weekend and he kept talking about a level playing field. He said other county managers can call of games no problem. But they are playing Tyrone whose players have already played 5 club games and will play again this weekend and whom have already been involved in a row when Harte wanted to move games from a Sunday to midweek and the clubs won. So what's not level about it? There is a 13 day rule in place for a reason and there is no reason for every county not to follow it within reason. If the clubs had tried to get their players to play next weekend then he would have had the right to complain.
Post by: Estimator on May 12, 2017, 09:49:06 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 12, 2017, 07:51:26 AM
His argument didn't even stack up. He didn't want the county players playing for their clubs this weekend and he kept talking about a level playing field. He said other county managers can call of games no problem. But they are playing Tyrone whose players have already played 5 club games and will play again this weekend and whom have already been involved in a row when Harte wanted to move games from a Sunday to midweek and the clubs won. So what's not level about it? There is a 13 day rule in place for a reason and there is no reason for every county not to follow it within reason. If the clubs had tried to get their players to play next weekend then he would have had the right to complain.

Derry clubs have played 5 games this season as well.  I don't know what that has to do with the point you are making.

I believe that Barton was looking to have the players for a Challenge Match, this weekend.  Its silly talking to a journalist about this, knowing that it'll make the back page.  Other county managers may have a bit more influence over the fixture, but as you say the 13 day rule is there for a reason.  He cannot really complain about that.

Regardless of all that, Tyrone will win this game easily.  A team that were one win away from the Div1 final versus a team that are in Div 3. It might not be the 11pt victory from last year, but it'll be close to that.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 12, 2017, 10:01:08 AM
Quote from: Estimator on May 12, 2017, 09:49:06 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 12, 2017, 07:51:26 AM

Derry clubs have played 5 games this season as well.  I don't know what that has to do with the point you are making.

I believe that Barton was looking to have the players for a Challenge Match, this weekend.  Its silly talking to a journalist about this, knowing that it'll make the back page.  Other county managers may have a bit more influence over the fixture, but as you say the 13 day rule is there for a reason.  He cannot really complain about that.

Regardless of all that, Tyrone will win this game easily.  A team that were one win away from the Div1 final versus a team that are in Div 3. It might not be the 11pt victory from last year, but it'll be close to that.

Barton said it isn't a level playing field because the Derry players are playing club games and it isn't happening else where. But their opponents Tyrone have played the exact same number of games with their clubs. So I'm not sure what's not level about that. In fact if the Derry boy's didn't play this weekend they'd actually have played less club games than the Tyrone players so based on his logic (which I don't agree with) will actually have an advantage.

I'm not sure this game will be as easy as some people are making out. Expect a big performance from Derry in a one off game at home and could give Tyrone plenty of problems. Other than last year Tyrone's record up there is terrible.
Post by: the goal was on on May 12, 2017, 10:17:09 AM
So barton wants to forget about the 13 day rule and for his players to avoid playing for there clubs this weekend!. Maybe the gaa should make it a 20 day rule to level the playing field!! Why did he not fix a friendly for midweek knowing there are club fixtures this weekend, problem solved and then he will have the players for 2 full weeks after sunday. Him and mc guckin should keep as far away from a journalist as possible, nothing but pure bluster talk all year. Tyrone to win by more than last year.
Post by: WT4E on May 17, 2017, 07:08:01 PM
Will this game be a sell out?
Post by: Estimator on May 18, 2017, 08:25:31 AM
Quote from: WT4E on May 17, 2017, 07:08:01 PM
Will this game be a sell out?

I don't think it will be.
I would say Tyrone support will greatly outnumber Derry support.
Post by: The Trap on May 18, 2017, 09:51:46 AM
Imagine if there was less than 5000 at it - it could happen!
Post by: JoG2 on May 18, 2017, 11:44:23 AM
15 500 comprising of 12k Tyrone and 3.5k Derry or thereabouts
Post by: Fuzzman on May 18, 2017, 12:34:01 PM
The long grass is fairly growing longer as this game approaches.
Last year Derry were only a kick of the ball away from beating Tipperary and being in the quarter finals against Galway.

They drew in a friendly with WestMeath last weekend so I don't really buy into all this negativity talk. Yeah they might not be Ulster title contenders but they've shown before that they can really lift themselves for games against Tyrone. If Tyrone come up against a very defensive side they find it hard to get scores from play.

Post by: southtyronegael on May 18, 2017, 12:49:13 PM
Not a mission Tyrone will have 12k supporters at this. Only 5k at some of our home league games. Interest just not there unfortunately.
Post by: JoG2 on May 18, 2017, 01:24:15 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on May 18, 2017, 12:49:13 PM
Not a mission Tyrone will have 12k supporters at this. Only 5k at some of our home league games. Interest just not there unfortunately.

You've a choice of heading to the Ulster American Folk Park for the 8th time this year or to the big smoke, you hooers will travel in numbers, we won't have too many unfortunately
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 18, 2017, 01:44:56 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 18, 2017, 01:24:15 PM

You've a choice of heading to the Ulster American Folk Park for the 8th time this year or to the big smoke, you hooers will travel in numbers, we won't have too many unfortunately

Derry referred to as the big smoke. Good lord!!  :-X :-X :-X
Post by: The Trap on May 18, 2017, 01:46:41 PM
right then who is going?
Post by: redhandefender on May 18, 2017, 01:48:10 PM

This clowns never been at a tyrone game in his life
Post by: JoG2 on May 18, 2017, 02:03:59 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 18, 2017, 01:44:56 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 18, 2017, 01:24:15 PM

Derry referred to as the big smoke. Good lord!!  :-X :-X :-X

Big smoke of the north-west, aside from Artigarvan
Post by: winghalfun on May 18, 2017, 04:43:39 PM
Will it be easy enough to get tickets for the game now?  I see they are sold out online.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 18, 2017, 05:08:53 PM
I'd say that's only temporary and more will come up. There was around 12k at it last year and given Derry seem to have went even further back roads and Tyrone stuttered in the league hard to see too many more this time around.
Post by: tyroneman on May 18, 2017, 10:10:24 PM
Quote from: winghalfun on May 18, 2017, 04:43:39 PM
Will it be easy enough to get tickets for the game now?  I see they are sold out online.

On sale at the minute online......
Post by: southtyronegael on May 18, 2017, 10:49:32 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on May 18, 2017, 01:48:10 PM

This clowns never been at a tyrone game in his life
youl certainly be there cheerin on mickey. make sure u get tickets in the front row so he can hear u cheer him on.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 19, 2017, 01:53:44 PM
See yer man what was in the films is out. Tweaked the banjo string.

Sorry. Hamstring. Twas the hamstring.

Derry by 8
Post by: Hotrocks on May 19, 2017, 04:56:54 PM
Be the first time in about 5 years that i won't be attending.  Can't put myself through the crap that was played last year and this year in league.  The cubs aren't even interested going they are happy enough to watch on the telly.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 05:19:34 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on May 19, 2017, 04:56:54 PM
Be the first time in about 5 years that i won't be attending.  Can't put myself through the crap that was played last year and this year in league.  The cubs aren't even interested going they are happy enough to watch on the telly.

Is that Tyrone or Derry you are referring to?
Post by: Hotrocks on May 19, 2017, 05:24:12 PM
Tyrone.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 05:33:36 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on May 19, 2017, 05:24:12 PM
Tyrone.

I've said this before but Tyrone fans were spoiled by our best team ever and now many have crazy expectations. Last year Tyrone scored 1 17 in the league final, 3 14 in the Ulster first round, 17 points in Ulster semi and 5 18 in the Ulster replay. Not exactly scores that suggest all out defence. Most counties in Ulster including our big rivals from the 2000s Armagh would cry out for an Ulster title. We've struggled against the very top teams but we struggled against them for a hundred years. Even struggling we should have beat Mayo.

There was 2 very poor games in the league towards the end this year and performances below the level you would expect. But I never get too carried away by league games either way. Given how hard it is to get out of Ulster you'd like to think training was geared towards being fit later in the year.

The genuine Tyrone fans will be there next week who will support the team whether they're going well or not. And I suspect they're going a good bit better than some people believe.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 05:48:43 PM
It's also interesting to look back in the 90s in the pre harte era. You soon remember that with all the 15 on 15 football and great attacking football it didn't always reflect it on the scoreboard for Tyrone.

1990 lost first round scoring 11 points
91 lost first round scoring 1 7
92 lost first round scoring 1 8
93 lost first round scoring 1 10
97 lost ulster semi scoring 2 3
98 lost first round scoring 2 7

Post by: ONeill on May 19, 2017, 08:24:18 PM
Derry are due an ambush. Was 2006 the last time?
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 09:19:46 PM
Yeah 06 must have been there last championship victory. You'd have to imagine next week will be a lot tougher than last year. Derry actually hit some great scores in the first half but the goals were killer blows. Without them this year if Derry got on a run at home could cause plenty of problems.
Post by: Hotrocks on May 19, 2017, 09:46:05 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 05:33:36 PM
Tyrone.

I've said this before but Tyrone fans were spoiled by our best team ever and now many have crazy expectations. Last year Tyrone scored 1 17 in the league final, 3 14 in the Ulster first round, 17 points in Ulster semi and 5 18 in the Ulster replay. Not exactly scores that suggest all out defence. Most counties in Ulster including our big rivals from the 2000s Armagh would cry out for an Ulster title. We've struggled against the very top teams but we struggled against them for a hundred years. Even struggling we should have beat Mayo.

There was 2 very poor games in the league towards the end this year and performances below the level you would expect. But I never get too carried away by league games either way. Given how hard it is to get out of Ulster you'd like to think training was geared towards being fit later in the year.

The genuine Tyrone fans will be there next week who will support the team whether they're going well or not. And I suspect they're going a good bit better than some people believe.

So what qualifies now as Genuine fan? Don't make me laugh.
Ive been going to Tyrone games for over 35 years and the football played now is tripe.  Never has it been as hard to watch.
Post by: southtyronegael on May 19, 2017, 10:13:43 PM
redhandsanta your not a tyrone supporter, your a mickey harte supporter. the quicker yous boys piss off and give the game back to the real supporters the better.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 10:20:43 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on May 19, 2017, 09:46:05 PM
Tyrone.

Ive been going to Tyrone games for over 35 years and the football played now is tripe.  Never has it been as hard to watch.

A genuine fan is someone who supports the team all the time and doesn't jump on and off bandwagons depending on how well they're doing. Someone who will support the team no matter who is managing the team or what club players are repressented on the team.

Tyrone have been involved in some poor games in recent years but they've also played some very good football at times. There has always been bad games and performances, look at the scores Tyrone managed in a large number of games in the 90s when football was more open.

Hopefully we will have learnt the lessons of previous years and push up a bit more at times while still keeping a strong defence in place. I'm looking forward to seeing the team evolve during the championship and hopefully getting a good run going.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 10:21:52 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on May 19, 2017, 10:13:43 PM
redhandsanta your not a tyrone supporter, your a mickey harte supporter. the quicker yous boys piss off and give the game back to the real supporters the better.

Great point well made, always good to have such a knowledgable football man on the board. Keep up the good work.
Post by: Hotrocks on May 19, 2017, 10:26:14 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 10:20:43 PM
Tyrone.

A genuine fan is someone who supports the team all the time and doesn't jump on and off bandwagons depending on how well they're doing. Someone who will support the team no matter who is managing the team or what club players are repressented on the team.

Tyrone have been involved in some poor games in recent years but they've also played some very good football at times. There has always been bad games and performances, look at the scores Tyrone managed in a large number of games in the 90s when football was more open.

Hopefully we will have learnt the lessons of previous years and push up a bit more at times while still keeping a strong defence in place. I'm looking forward to seeing the team evolve during the championship and hopefully getting a good run going.

So i can't support them from my living room? no one even mentioned winning!  Its the style of football which is pitiful and you trying to glorify it won't change anything.  I think more of the few pound i earn than to hand it over to watch crap   
Post by: ONeill on May 19, 2017, 10:33:16 PM
You mustn't have watched football in the 80s in Tyrone.

Ball into full back line. Roar. Ball kicked aimlessly by full back to mf. Roar. Ball back in. Roar. 0-9 to 0-8.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 10:34:48 PM
Was the league final performance or the first half v Derry or the Ulster semi replay crap football last years? Tyrone scored heavily in those games and played great football at pace. The Ulster final and quarter final were much more cagey affairs and not overly entertaining. Though it was great to finally to get over the line v Donegal. Hopefully the players can push on from that and be bit more positive this year.
Post by: Hotrocks on May 19, 2017, 10:35:28 PM
It was different in the west them days
Post by: Hotrocks on May 19, 2017, 10:40:15 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 10:34:48 PM
Was the league final performance or the first half v Derry or the Ulster semi replay crap football last years? Tyrone scored heavily in those games and played great football at pace. The Ulster final and quarter final were much more cagey affairs and not overly entertaining. Though it was great to finally to get over the line v Donegal. Hopefully the players can push on from that and be bit more positive this year.

So those two and a half games is all you can find. Think that explains it all. 
Post by: southtyronegael on May 19, 2017, 10:41:46 PM
redhandsanta how can the players push on and be more positive if they are tied to their managers rigid defensive system?
Post by: ONeill on May 19, 2017, 10:58:05 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on May 19, 2017, 10:41:46 PM
redhandsanta how can the players push on and be more positive if they are tied to their managers rigid defensive system?

Nonsense. Tyrone's half back line are the most prolific in Ulster in terms of scoring.

Unfortunately, we've feck all forward talent.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 11:00:22 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on May 19, 2017, 10:40:15 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 10:34:48 PM

So those two and a half games is all you can find. Think that explains it all.

I talked through most of last years cship above. This one hasn't started. We played some really good football at times in the first 4 games of this years league and even v Mayo. We were horrible in the other two games. You made out they're always crap.
Post by: southtyronegael on May 19, 2017, 11:05:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 19, 2017, 10:58:05 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on May 19, 2017, 10:41:46 PM

Nonsense. Tyrone's half back line are the most prolific in Ulster in terms of scoring.

Unfortunately, we've feck all forward talent.
bullshit. the county is full of forward talent. so who are these high scoring half backs?
Post by: ONeill on May 20, 2017, 08:57:31 AM
http://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2016/05/21/news/the-day-derry-shook-up-all-ireland-champions-tyrone-in-healy-park-527174/
Post by: rrhf on May 20, 2017, 09:16:25 AM
That day we learned how much damage a rabbit punch can do.
Post by: theticklemister on May 20, 2017, 09:19:41 AM
Step 1
We've got them fighting amongst themselves.

Check

Step 2
We've got them discrediting Mickey Harte

Check

Step 3
Get them thinking about 2006

Check

Step 4
Beat the feck out of their supporters as they pass through Strabane on Matchday and team up with the 'lads' in Newbuildings to destroy the team bus.

Pending

---------------------------

It's all going to plan.......

Post by: rrhf on May 20, 2017, 09:24:40 AM
O Neill what was the story with that Derry woman you used to take up the Glenshane Pass?
Post by: BennyHarp on May 20, 2017, 10:42:14 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 20, 2017, 09:19:41 AM
Step 1

Check

Step 2

Check

Step 3

Check

Step 4
Beat the feck out of their supporters as they pass through Strabane on Matchday and team up with the 'lads' in Newbuildings to destroy the team bus.

Pending

Step 5. Remember that your team is pure shite and get thumped by 15 points again.  ;)
Post by: theticklemister on May 20, 2017, 10:44:29 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 20, 2017, 10:42:14 AM
Step 1

Check

Step 2

Check

Step 3

Check

Step 4

Pending

Step 5. Remember that your team is pure shite and get thumped by 15 points again.  ;)

We'll see how far Yorkshire get this year my friend! Lol
Post by: BennyHarp on May 20, 2017, 01:55:23 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 20, 2017, 10:44:29 AM
Step 1

Check

Step 2

Check

Step 3

Check

Step 4

Pending

We'll see how far Yorkshire get this year my friend! Lol

With regards to that, I'll refer you to my above comment. 😀
Post by: TheOptimist on May 20, 2017, 02:02:43 PM
Step 1

Check

Step 2

Check

Step 3

Check

Step 4

Pending

We may have a shite team but I'd still rather be from Derry 😀
Post by: Dire Ear on May 20, 2017, 02:19:17 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on May 19, 2017, 10:26:14 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 19, 2017, 10:20:43 PM
Tyrone.

So i can't support them from my living room? no one even mentioned winning!  Its the style of football which is pitiful and you trying to glorify it won't change anything.  I think more of the few pound i earn than to hand it over to watch crap
Totally agree
Post by: ONeill on May 20, 2017, 07:29:46 PM
Quote from: rrhf on May 20, 2017, 09:24:40 AM
O Neill what was the story with that Derry woman you used to take up the Glenshane Pass?

She never let me get as far as Dungiven.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 20, 2017, 08:42:34 PM
Hoping for a good performance next week to get things going. Anyone want to predict the team? Given mccarron out I'd go with something like this:

Morgan
Brennan
Hampsey
Mcnamee
McCann
Mcnabb
Meyler
C cavanagh
Mcclure
Harte
Sludden
Mattie
Mc curry
Cavanagh
Bradley

I'd be very surprised if mcrory doesn't start in full back line though. Also I couldn't decide on other corner forward. Would like Bradley drifting in and out leaving sean and a ball winner up there beside him. But we don't really have anyone. Could play McGeary or someone and push harte or Donnelly up but not sure they're beat options either.

Really want to see us pushing up on at least some kickouts. And if we so can't leave one free man and really have to battle for the breaks round the middle and go for it.
Post by: ONeill on May 20, 2017, 08:47:51 PM
Who's your long distance free taker?

I think you can mix around any of that starting 15 and it should be good enough for 26/27 counties but ultimately we'll be sunk in tight games by the placed ball.

Post by: Redhand Santa on May 20, 2017, 09:25:10 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 20, 2017, 08:47:51 PM
Who's your long distance free taker?

I think you can mix around any of that starting 15 and it should be good enough for 26/27 counties but ultimately we'll be sunk in tight games by the placed ball.

If we had a reliable free taker who knows what would have happened in recent years. I think he'll go with cavanagh on right footed ones and harte on other. Unlike our other players cavanagh is good under pressure and can score from quite far out. His issue though would be consistency and isn't the best with tricky angles.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 20, 2017, 09:38:17 PM
It looked like Petey and Sean were back hitting most frees in the league with Morgan hitting the further out ones again.
With scores from play harder to come by against the top teams these days then teams with excellent free takers seem to do better. Murphy, McManus, Rock, C.OConnor.

I'm not sure playing Sean at FF is really working any more. He rarely stays in there and he doesn't like playing with his back to goal. I'd like to see Bradley stay up front far more as he's got pace to get away from his man and is clever with his off the ball runs. He's wasted back on our own 40
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 20, 2017, 09:52:30 PM
Don't want to see Bradley back on his own 45 too much but wouldn't keep him in full forward line all the time. Given his size he'll struggle to get ball against a blanket defence. In my opinion he's better buzzing about all over the place and finding space.
Post by: The Trap on May 22, 2017, 03:03:59 PM
Surely this game will be more lively than the two at the weekend...........Tyrone are a bit vulnerable but Derry men tell me they are not in a good enough position to take advantage......seems like it could go the way of the Monaghan, Donegal and Mayo games......competitive for a while before Tyrone win by 6 plus.........
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 22, 2017, 06:47:45 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 20, 2017, 08:42:34 PM
Hoping for a good performance next week to get things going. Anyone want to predict the team? Given mccarron out I'd go with something like this:

Morgan
Brennan
Hampsey
Mcnamee
McCann
Mcnabb
Meyler
C cavanagh
Mcclure
Harte
Sludden
Mattie
Mc curry
Cavanagh
Bradley

I'd be very surprised if mcrory doesn't start in full back line though. Also I couldn't decide on other corner forward. Would like Bradley drifting in and out leaving sean and a ball winner up there beside him. But we don't really have anyone. Could play McGeary or someone and push harte or Donnelly up but not sure they're beat options either.

Really want to see us pushing up on at least some kickouts. And if we so can't leave one free man and really have to battle for the breaks round the middle and go for it.

I think Harte will go with something like this:

1. Morgan
2. Hampsey
3. McNamee
4. McCrory
5. McNabb
6. Brennan
7. McCann
8. C Cavanagh
9. Donnelly
10. McGeary
11. Sludden
12. Harte
13. Bradley
14. S. Cavanagh
15. Mulgrew

It's hard to know really though, our poor end to the league and the subsequent gap without games means that whoever is going well in training will be in prime contention. McGeary seemed to nail a place down in the half forward line near the end of the league and Mulgrew looked to be playing well and getting some minutes after the u21 involvement finished so I'd have a suspicion those two will start. Half back line is basically McCann and two others - plenty of options there and perhaps Harry Loughran could be a suprise starter.

I'd stick with Mattie in midfield and see how he goes?

Am I also right in saying a black card would rule Sludden out of the next game as he's already picked two up during the league? I'm sure the one against Mayo has been appealed as it was a joke of a decision, the Kerry one was supposed to have been very soft as well.

I'd imagine the free taking situation will be Sean from the left, Petey from the right and Morgan from anything around the 45 or outside.

Should be some good options on the bench anyway with the likes of McCurry, Lee Brennan, McClure, Meyler and Burns among others.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 23, 2017, 01:35:57 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on May 20, 2017, 02:02:43 PM
Step 1

Check

Step 2

Check

Step 3

Check

Step 4

Pending

We may have a shite team but I'd still rather be from Derry 😀

This is the problem with Derry wans, no ambition.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 23, 2017, 01:46:15 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on May 22, 2017, 06:47:45 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 20, 2017, 08:42:34 PM

Morgan
Brennan
Hampsey
Mcnamee
McCann
Mcnabb
Meyler
C cavanagh
Mcclure
Harte
Sludden
Mattie
Mc curry
Cavanagh
Bradley

I think Harte will go with something like this:

1. Morgan
2. Hampsey
3. McNamee
4. McCrory
5. McNabb
6. Brennan
7. McCann
8. C Cavanagh
9. Donnelly
10. McGeary
11. Sludden
12. Harte
13. Bradley
14. S. Cavanagh
15. Mulgrew

It's hard to know really though, our poor end to the league and the subsequent gap without games means that whoever is going well in training will be in prime contention. McGeary seemed to nail a place down in the half forward line near the end of the league and Mulgrew looked to be playing well and getting some minutes after the u21 involvement finished so I'd have a suspicion those two will start. Half back line is basically McCann and two others - plenty of options there and perhaps Harry Loughran could be a suprise starter.

I'd stick with Mattie in midfield and see how he goes?

Am I also right in saying a black card would rule Sludden out of the next game as he's already picked two up during the league? I'm sure the one against Mayo has been appealed as it was a joke of a decision, the Kerry one was supposed to have been very soft as well.

I'd imagine the free taking situation will be Sean from the left, Petey from the right and Morgan from anything around the 45 or outside.

Should be some good options on the bench anyway with the likes of McCurry, Lee Brennan, McClure, Meyler and Burns among others.

I'd imagine you are very close to the starting team there. Mulgrew would be the only starter there that I would be surprised with if he's named to start. Would expect McCurry Meyler or McClure to be ahead of him but could be wrong. McNulty started last game of the league so suppose he cant be totally ruled out either.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 23, 2017, 02:59:16 PM
The team last year was -

M O'Neill, A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron, T McCann, N Sludden, P Harte (1-00), C Cavanagh, M Donnelly (0-01), C McShane (0-01), M Bradley, R Donnelly (0-01), C McAliskey (0-02, 1f), S Cavanagh (0-01), R O'Neill (2-02, 0-1f).

Subs: D McCurry (0-04, 1f) for Bradley, P McNulty (0-01) for R Donnelly, J Munroe (0-01) for McShane, P Hampsey for McCarron, K McGeary for Sludden, B Tierney for S Cavanagh.

So most of us are expecting quite a lot of changes from that team
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 23, 2017, 08:18:34 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 23, 2017, 02:59:16 PM
The team last year was -

M O'Neill, A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron, T McCann, N Sludden, P Harte (1-00), C Cavanagh, M Donnelly (0-01), C McShane (0-01), M Bradley, R Donnelly (0-01), C McAliskey (0-02, 1f), S Cavanagh (0-01), R O'Neill (2-02, 0-1f).

Subs: D McCurry (0-04, 1f) for Bradley, P McNulty (0-01) for R Donnelly, J Munroe (0-01) for McShane, P Hampsey for McCarron, K McGeary for Sludden, B Tierney for S Cavanagh.

So most of us are expecting quite a lot of changes from that team

Morgan and McNabb missed that game last year with injury while McCarron, McAliskey and R Donnelly will miss out through injury this time around. So relatively speaking and bar a few positional changes it would only see McShane and O'Neill not starting due to form.
Post by: bigpackiechestout on May 25, 2017, 12:04:13 PM
Anybody going to have a go at predicting the derry team? I've listed the team from their last league game (v Fermanagh below), as well as the team for the championship game v Tyrone last year. From the team that started v Fermanagh i understand Thomas Mallon and Padraig Cassidy have both since dropped off the panel. From the 21 lads who featured v Tyrone last year, the following 10 won't be available on Sunday. Some turnover.

Mallon,
Johnstone,
McKinless,
Holly,
S Heavron,
McFaul,
McBride,
O'Kane,
Brown,
O'Boyle

Team v Fermanagh in 2017 League:

T Mallon; K McKaigue, B Rogers, C Nevin; N Forester, C McKaigue, D Heavron; C McAtamney, P Cassidy; E Lynn, E McGuckin, C McWilliams; D Tallon, N Loughlin, B Heron

Subs: J Kielt for Tallon (HT), M Lynch for McGuckin (50), R Bell for Heron (50), G O'Neill for Heavron (61)

Team v Tyrone in 2016 Championship

T Mallon, O Duffy, B Rogers, K McKaigue (0-01), K Johnston, C McKaigue, G McKinless, N Holly, D Heavron (0-02), S Heavron, J Kielt (0-05, 4f), C McFaul, N Toner, E McGuckin, M Lynch (0-01).

Subs: D McBride for Duffy, R Bell (0-02, 1f) for McGuckin, C O'Boyle for S Heavron, E Brown (0-01) for Lynch, C McAtamney for Holly, G O'Kane for Johnston
Post by: Fr. Cyril McDuff on May 25, 2017, 01:23:07 PM
Quote from: bigpackiechestout on May 25, 2017, 12:04:13 PM
Anybody going to have a go at predicting the derry team? I've listed the team from their last league game (v Fermanagh below), as well as the team for the championship game v Tyrone last year. From the team that started v Fermanagh i understand Thomas Mallon and Padraig Cassidy have both since dropped off the panel. From the 21 lads who featured v Tyrone last year, the following 10 won't be available on Sunday. Some turnover.

Mallon,
Johnstone,
McKinless,
Holly,
S Heavron,
McFaul,
McBride,
O'Kane,
Brown,
O'Boyle

Team v Fermanagh in 2017 League:

T Mallon; K McKaigue, B Rogers, C Nevin; N Forester, C McKaigue, D Heavron; C McAtamney, P Cassidy; E Lynn, E McGuckin, C McWilliams; D Tallon, N Loughlin, B Heron

Subs: J Kielt for Tallon (HT), M Lynch for McGuckin (50), R Bell for Heron (50), G O'Neill for Heavron (61)

Team v Tyrone in 2016 Championship

T Mallon, O Duffy, B Rogers, K McKaigue (0-01), K Johnston, C McKaigue, G McKinless, N Holly, D Heavron (0-02), S Heavron, J Kielt (0-05, 4f), C McFaul, N Toner, E McGuckin, M Lynch (0-01).

Subs: D McBride for Duffy, R Bell (0-02, 1f) for McGuckin, C O’Boyle for S Heavron, E Brown (0-01) for Lynch, C McAtamney for Holly, G O’Kane for Johnston

McFaul is back and is likely to start. Neither Oisin Duffy (left panel?) or Niall Toner (injured) from last year's team are available though (as well as those you have mentioned).
Post by: God14 on May 25, 2017, 01:33:14 PM
With justin mcmahon injured and mccarron out, id expect derry to stick a fee big men in the edge of the square and thump high ball in.
Cavan made hay last year with that method and almost beat Tyrone. Oboyle in particular could cause problems.
Still think Tyrone win by at least 6
Post by: Knock Yer Mucker In on May 25, 2017, 01:37:39 PM
I just cannot see what he se in Mc Nulty, we played Dungannon 3 times the past few years and you wouldn't know if he was on the pitch, poor decision making and nothing I have seen in a Tyrone shirt would change that view.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 25, 2017, 01:47:24 PM
FORMER Tyrone forward Owen Mulligan believes Lee Brennan should feature against Derry on Sunday – even though the Trillick forward barely featured during the National League.

Brennan has been on the fringes of the Red Hand squad, but hit the headlines last month when he scored 3-14 in his club's victory over Strabane.

Tyrone have been criticised for not getting enough of a scoring return from their forward players, and come into Sunday's game on the back of three consecutive League defeats.

But, according to Mulligan, Brennan could be the man to help reverse those fortunes at Celtic Park.

"Tyrone don't lack fire power - we've lacked a clinical free taker that can step up and score nine times out of 10, but we might have one in Lee Brennan," said the three time All-Ireland winner in his Paddy Power blog.

"The lad is class. There's massive talk about him and he's racking up scores so he must be brimming with confidence, but he barely got a sniff in the League. Surely he has to feature in some sort of capacity in the Championship? It would be crazy not to give him a run out.

"He's an excellent free-taker, takes them from the ground, and if we'd had him on the pitch against Mayo last year, we'd have probably won.

"There's a reason we lose those games. Lads keep missing scores, so we end up having multiple free-takers in a lot of games, which is never a good thing.

"Brennan needs to be given a chance. He's scoring freely and I always remember Mickey Harte saying that if you're standing out in club games, you have a great chance of starting.

"I just don't get it."

As the days count down to Sunday's cross-Sperrin derby, Mulligan – who is currently based in London – claims Tyrone and Derry are no longer rivals, such has been the Oak Leafers' decline.

He said: "When I started my Tyrone career there were few bigger games than against our neighbours Derry.

"I'm from near the border and went to school in Derry, so whenever the sides met, I'd get involved in plenty of craic with both sets of fans. The rivalry was so intense, but it no longer exists, as the Oak Leafers have fallen so far behind our lads.

"There's a lot of politics in Derry football. You hear about it the whole time with clubs rowing and lads not wanting to play for the county. That's not right and I don't see how a team can compete when they're carrying that kind of baggage.

"Back in my day, the likes of Enda Muldoon, Paddy Bradley and Sean Marty Lockhart would've died for the jersey. You definitely can't say the same about the current crop.

"It was an annihilation last year and Derry looked as though they were about to apologise for being there. Crazy!

"They also looked massively, massively out of shape in that contest compared to our lads who are pure athletes. I can only see one result on Sunday and that's a Tyrone win."
Post by: ONeill on May 25, 2017, 09:26:33 PM
Senior appearances with Championship appearances in brackets

1 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc – 59 (16)
2 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin – 95 (23)
3 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin – 62 (17)
4 – Pádraig Hampsey – Oileán a'Ghuail – 20 (2)
5 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair – 54 (13)
6 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac – 26 (8 )
7 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin – 116 (37)
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh – 134 (48)
9 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chlochair – 26 (4)
10 – Kieran McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn – 17 (3)
11 – Niall Sludden – An Droim Mór – 27 (5)
12 – Conor Meyler – An Omaigh – 22 (5)
13 – Mark Bradley – Coill an Chlochair – 33 (12)
14 – Sean Cavanagh (c) – An Mhaigh – 234 (84)
15 – Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac – 90 (27)

16 – Michael O'Neill – Cluain Eo – 24 (5)
17 – Lee Brennan – Trí Leac – 12 (0)
18 – Frank Burns – Cabhán a'Chaortainn – 4 (0)
19 – Declan McClure – Cluain Eo – 9 (0)
20 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc – 72 (25)
21 – Hugh Pat McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn – 8 (0)
22 – Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mór – 55 (19)
23 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn – 38 (8 )
24 – Cathal McShane – Eoghan Ruadh Uí Néill – 27 (8 )
25 – David Mulgrew – Ard Bó – 5 (0)
26 – Ronan O'Neill – An Omaigh – 64 (14)
Post by: BennyHarp on May 25, 2017, 09:27:29 PM
Mickey always throws in a surprise or two. I like Conal McCann but didn't think he was near a start in midfield.
Post by: God14 on May 25, 2017, 09:59:09 PM
Mickey opts for pace and mobility... serious speed in the middle 8 bar colm
Post by: omagh_gael on May 25, 2017, 10:04:36 PM
Lot to tslking points here:

- Conal has came out of nowhere, didn't see him in anyone's predictions. Had a great game in the sigerson cup final but was quiet enough in our league games that followed. He hits frees for Cappagh, isn't that right? Would he be an option for frees further out the field?

- to be fair to Mickey he's often been lambasted for not giving alternative tactics a fair crack. He clearly wants to see Matty and Sean work up in the FF line. It'll be interesting to see how much time they actually spend in there.

- as mentioned already, there's serious pace in that team. Glad to see Meyler getting a start. Hoping he can get back into the blistering form he showed in 2015.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 25, 2017, 10:44:05 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 25, 2017, 10:04:36 PM
Lot to tslking points here:

- Conal has came out of nowhere, didn't see him in anyone's predictions. Had a great game in the sigerson cup final but was quiet enough in our league games that followed. He hits frees for Cappagh, isn't that right? Would he be an option for frees further out the field?

- to be fair to Mickey he's often been lambasted for not giving alternative tactics a fair crack. He clearly wants to see Matty and Sean work up in the FF line. It'll be interesting to see how much time they actually spend in there.

- as mentioned already, there's serious pace in that team. Glad to see Meyler getting a start. Hoping he can get back into the blistering form he showed in 2015.

That's pretty much it.

McCann a real surprise but we'll se how he goes, he is a classy player but I feel what's been lacking in him so far is some aggression and urgency to his game, very good passer and can take a score though.

Meyler gets the nod over McNabb in the other spot up for grabs, other than that it's as expected.

Donnelly named inside so Mickey seems intent on giving it another shot, thought he has looked lost in there during the league campaign and felt that it should have ran its course but we'll have to wait and see.

Interesting that only McClure is on the bench of all the new players added this summer. No room for Loughran, Cassidy, McCullagh or McHugh.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 25, 2017, 11:42:27 PM
Derry's HF line likely to be Lynn, Lynch and Kielt. Three great players but also very vulnerable to the pace around out middle 8. What's their likely HB line?
Post by: redhandefender on May 26, 2017, 12:59:29 AM
I am a mickey fan. i don't care what is going on in training why is the best forward/freetaker in the county not starting ffs.

Joke. This is where you blood lee give him confidence. conall whill go chf mattie will go midfield
Post by: omaghjoe on May 26, 2017, 06:10:29 AM
Quote from: redhandefender on May 26, 2017, 12:59:29 AM
I am a mickey fan. i don't care what is going on in training why is the best forward/freetaker in the county not starting ffs.

Joke. This is where you blood lee give him confidence. conall whill go chf mattie will go midfield

Gotta wonder when L Brennan is gonna be blooded at championship. Perhaps he's coming from a train of thought that O'Neill and MCurry were drafted in too quickly on the back of club form and championship football was a jolt to their game and confidence that they've never recovered from. The lads still young granted but we have too see him this year sometime.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 26, 2017, 06:27:57 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 26, 2017, 06:10:29 AM

Gotta wonder when L Brennan is gonna be blooded at championship. Perhaps he's coming from a train of thought that O'Neill and MCurry were drafted in too quickly on the back of club form and championship football was a jolt to their game and confidence that they've never recovered from. The lads still young granted but we have too see him this year sometime.

Yes, but then you look at Donegal and the likes of Paddy McBrearty who is 23 and got about 6 years championship experience already and they are not afraid to throw their young players in this year. It wouldn't be an issue if we had the forward line of 2003-08 but given the fact we are crying out for a scoring forward, then you'd like to see him given a go at least.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 26, 2017, 06:53:07 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 26, 2017, 06:27:57 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 26, 2017, 06:10:29 AM

Yes, but then you look at Donegal and the likes of Paddy McBrearty who is 23 and got about 6 years championship experience already and they are not afraid to throw their young players in this year. It wouldn't be an issue if we had the forward line of 2003-08 but given the fact we are crying out for a scoring forward, then you'd like to see him given a go at least.

Yeah its true, tho McBearty probably didn't have quite as much pressure on him with Murphy and McFadden knockin around. RON & DMC were our great white hopes when they entered the fray which I dont think helped. I fear for the lad with the expectation, tho probably being a culchie would help in that regard  :P.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 26, 2017, 08:07:08 AM
Happy enough with the team though surprised that McCann is starting in the middle. He is a good footballer and was good in the sigerson final so maybe he will finally step up at county level. But a big day for him as he was very poor down in Kerry and has yet to make an impact. Hope Donnelly is left up front for at least part of the game. We've been crying out for a ball winner up there and he could be the man.

I have seen a lot of complaining on social media and now on here about Lee Brennan not starting. Most of it seems to be based on one performance v a weak Strabane team in a club match. I'd be curious how many of you have actually seen Lee Brennan play a few games this year? I was at the u21 games this year and he struggled to make an impact against a crowded defence. He had one very good McKenna cup team against a weak university outfit and was quiet enough against Fermanagh I think it was from memory. He is a good player but has a lot of developing to do yet. An impact sub role could suit him best at this stage. Would be good to throw in when it opens up a bit.
Post by: LeoMc on May 26, 2017, 09:12:22 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 26, 2017, 08:07:08 AM
Happy enough with the team though surprised that McCann is starting in the middle. He is a good footballer and was good in the sigerson final so maybe he will finally step up at county level. But a big day for him as he was very poor down in Kerry and has yet to make an impact. Hope Donnelly is left up front for at least part of the game. We've been crying out for a ball winner up there and he could be the man.

I have seen a lot of complaining on social media and now on here about Lee Brennan not starting. Most of it seems to be based on one performance v a weak Strabane team in a club match. I'd be curious how many of you have actually seen Lee Brennan play a few games this year? I was at the u21 games this year and he struggled to make an impact against a crowded defence. He had one very good McKenna cup team against a weak university outfit and was quiet enough against Fermanagh I think it was from memory. He is a good player but has a lot of developing to do yet. An impact sub role could suit him best at this stage. Would be good to throw in when it opens up a bit.
He seems to be another player who gets better the less he plays.
I have seen him for the u-21's and in an ACL game and he struggled to make an impact. Is he worth carrying just to hit free kicks?
Post by: Fuzzman on May 26, 2017, 09:58:44 AM
I wonder is Conal McCann there mainly for his free taking & scoring from play ability.
Maybe he's really pushed himself and county training recently and Mickey has rewarded him.
Like Il Bomber said he always seems in slow-mo mode with little urgency unlike his brother Tiernan.

Positions mean very little these days anyway and so I expect we'll see a lot of movement with maybe Sean going to MF as I think he plays a lot better there than he does at FF. I often felt the last year he's not enjoying playing in there being surrounded by lot of defenders.

From the Enda McGinley interview on Newstalk this week I am not surprised to see Mattie back in the FF line as Enda seemed to be saying maybe they just need to work on it a bit more in training as the ball into him at times was terrible in most games. We hardly ever seem to use the diagonal ball that other teams use so well at times.
Re Lee Brennan, I would like to see him play more too but if he's not ready he's not ready and we need to accept that.
I'd say we might see him come on as a sub a bit more this year but it looked like Mickey thought Mulgrew was ahead of him as well.

I hope Meyler does well this year and starts kicking more scores as I often feel he works hard but doesn't shoot enough.
Was surprised McNabb didn't start at CHB but I am a big fan of Rory Brennan and glad to see him back in the team. He brings great pace when we turn the ball over along with Tiernan.

By the way it's amazing we've got 5 set of brothers in the squad. Presume no other county has so many.
McGearys, McCanns, Brennans, Cavanaghs, Donnellys,
Post by: Taylor on May 26, 2017, 10:09:09 AM
Lads with all due respect this is the time to try out players.
We have an playing a weaker team in the first round.

We want to be peaking come the end of the Summer.
Post by: Under Lights on May 26, 2017, 10:16:55 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 26, 2017, 08:07:08 AM

TBH I would 'carry' him at the moment regardless. I think he is our best prospect for a regular consistent free taker. If he struggled to get into the game from open play it wouldn't bother me as long as every time we get a free he nails it. Think of Dean Rock when he first started out for Dublin- really struggled from open play.
Post by: Beantown on May 26, 2017, 10:40:30 AM
would like to have seen McNabb start at 7 adn Harte in at 10.  will be suprised if Mattie stays at FF or thereabouts, He will drift back towards midfield.  McCann is the surprise choice at MF, good club player but hasnt done it at County level at all.  Always seems out of his depth, hope I am proved wrong though.

We should have enugh to win against a Derry team who seem to be really struggling at the minute.  But it will be closer than last year,  the Derry players will have more fire in the belly than they had lst year, which was pitiful.  I expect C McKaigue & Rodgers to be tasked with Donnelly and Sean and Heavron or Lynn on Harte.  Could be a low scoring affair, we are strong enough in defence and poor enough up front.  War of attrition on the cards  :'( it wont be pretty
Post by: WT4E on May 26, 2017, 10:42:02 AM
Is Derry team named yet?
Post by: Estimator on May 26, 2017, 11:16:29 AM
Quote from: Beantown on May 26, 2017, 10:40:30 AM
would like to have seen McNabb start at 7 adn Harte in at 10.  will be suprised if Mattie stays at FF or thereabouts, He will drift back towards midfield.  McCann is the surprise choice at MF, good club player but hasnt done it at County level at all.  Always seems out of his depth, hope I am proved wrong though.

We should have enugh to win against a Derry team who seem to be really struggling at the minute.  But it will be closer than last year,  the Derry players will have more fire in the belly than they had lst year, which was pitiful.  I expect C McKaigue & Rodgers to be tasked with Donnelly and Sean and Heavron or Lynn on Harte.  Could be a low scoring affair, we are strong enough in defence and poor enough up front.  War of attrition on the cards  :'( it wont be pretty

I think it'll be a scoreline close to last years.  Derry do not have the runners to cope with the pace and stamina in that Tyrone side.  If Tyrone get a 5minute scoring burst like they did last year, then it'll be no contest.  And if the evidence of the games played in last years C'ship is anything to go by, Derry will get players back in defence, but they will not have a clue what to do when they are there.  The first half against Meath in the qualifiers and the entire game against Tipperary are two prime examples.  Tyrone by double figures.
Post by: Under Lights on May 26, 2017, 11:21:34 AM
I would imagine Karl McK to pick up Bradley. Rodgers on Sean. C McK probably in a free role.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 26, 2017, 11:54:51 AM
Tyrone are slow at bringing in star underage players over the past few years, the opposite seems to happen with the other top counties though.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 26, 2017, 12:27:47 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 26, 2017, 11:54:51 AM
Tyrone are slow at bringing in star underage players over the past few years, the opposite seems to happen with the other top counties though.

We have 5 players starting that won the u21 all Ireland 2 years ago so plenty have been brought in from that team and Harte has had no problem giving them a chance.
Post by: Hotrocks on May 26, 2017, 01:02:16 PM
I would expect to see Mc Nabb start for Brennen come Sunday. 
Post by: oakleaflad on May 26, 2017, 01:16:53 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 25, 2017, 11:42:27 PM
Derry's HF line likely to be Lynn, Lynch and Kielt. Three great players but also very vulnerable to the pace around out middle 8. What's their likely HB line?
That is not likely to be Derry's half forward line
Post by: Fuzzman on May 26, 2017, 03:03:15 PM
Why do you think that Hotrocks?
Why would Mickey not just name McNabb to start with?
Post by: oakleaflad on May 26, 2017, 03:34:20 PM
Derry: B McKinless; N Keenan, B Rogers, K McKaigue; C McFaul, C McKaigue, C McWilliams; C McAtamney, D Heavron; R Bell, N Loughlin, E Lynn; D Tallon, E McGuckin, B Heron
Post by: The Golden Years on May 26, 2017, 03:41:59 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on May 26, 2017, 01:02:16 PM
I would expect to see Mc Nabb start for Brennen come Sunday.

I doubt if Mcnabb will start but i would prefer him to Brennan.  Would add a bit of steel to the team. mickey probably doesnt think he has the pace to play the counter attacking football that tyrone play. 

Great to See Aidan McCrory get another chance.  :-\
Post by: Fuzzman on May 26, 2017, 03:48:30 PM
Have Derry just the bare 15, no subs?
Post by: Estimator on May 26, 2017, 03:54:13 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 26, 2017, 03:48:30 PM
Have Derry just the bare 15, no subs?

Everyone else has left the panel  ;)
Post by: dec on May 26, 2017, 04:22:53 PM
http://www.bbc.com/sport/gaelic-games/40054318

Derry: B McKinless; N Keenan, B Rogers, K McKaigue; C McFaul, C McKaigue, C McWilliams; C McAtamney, D Heavron; R Bell, N Loughlin, E Lynn; D Tallon, E McGuckin, B Heron.

Subs: C McLarnon, M McEvoy, S McGuigan, C Nevin, M Lynch, C Kielt, P Hagan, O Duffin, C McGrogan, G O'Neill, C Doherty.

Tyrone: N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, P Hampsey; T McCann, R Brennan, P Harte; C Cavanagh, C McCann; K McGeary, N Sludden, C Meyler; M Bradley, S Cavanagh, M Donnelly.

Subs: M O'Neill, L Brennan, F Burns, D McClure, D McCurry, HP McGeary, R McNabb, P McNulty, C McShane, D Mulgrew, R O'Neill.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 26, 2017, 07:48:15 PM
Outside of Lynch and Kielt who last played in 2012 i think that a shocking unexperienced subs bench, there a ton of lads who would make the bench, some starting if they put in the effort, disagreements with manager style of play or not
Post by: ONeill on May 26, 2017, 09:18:06 PM
Jaysus I hate thon in-bred fcukers.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 26, 2017, 09:48:40 PM
On paper, that looks like the weakest Derry team I've seen in a Championship game.

A shame as they have the players in the county, with the right attitude, commitment and management set up to win an Ulster.

I've been really impressed with what I've seen of young Keenan at corner back, looks like he will be a great player in time.
Post by: ONeill on May 26, 2017, 10:07:42 PM
Derry are always capable. They had a club team in the All Ireland final. Tyrone are no great shakes and have a forward unit that would put the fear into nobody.

I think it'll be tight for 50-60 mins and Tyrone's rigid system to kick in as Derry maybe become more fragmented in the last 10. 0-16 to 0-11.
Post by: lenny on May 26, 2017, 10:11:31 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 26, 2017, 09:18:06 PM
Jaysus I hate thon in-bred fcukers.

Don't be so hard on yourselves.
Post by: JoG2 on May 26, 2017, 10:20:12 PM
3 for 2 sale in most of the Foyleside shops if the Tyrone folk want to stock up on their summer denims post match
Post by: theticklemister on May 27, 2017, 07:28:21 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 26, 2017, 10:20:12 PM
3 for 2 sale in most of the Foyleside shops if the Tyrone folk want to stock up on their summer denims post match

I haven't been in the town for a while, do they still have a the sandstone boots to give with the denim?
Post by: omagh_gael on May 27, 2017, 08:45:06 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on May 26, 2017, 01:16:53 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 25, 2017, 11:42:27 PM
That is not likely to be Derry's half forward line

What's up with James Kielt? Injured? Mark Lynch on the bench too, I'm assuming he's coming back from injury as well?
Post by: imtommygunn on May 27, 2017, 08:49:57 AM
Kielt is suspended.
Post by: Under Lights on May 27, 2017, 09:11:41 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 27, 2017, 08:49:57 AM
Kielt is suspended.

Can't be. This is intercounty football, suspensions don't hold.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 27, 2017, 09:18:19 AM
According to the gaelic life he is suspended.
Post by: WT4E on May 27, 2017, 12:03:09 PM
Can someone explain the tickets to me some of the tickets say brandywell terrace and others say brandywell/blue bell terrace. Is there a difference? I thought when I where not in the seated area u could go where I wanted on terrace?
Post by: theticklemister on May 27, 2017, 12:16:47 PM
back in the bad old days of them sending you out with 100 programs and you returning with no programs and £14 are well gone.

brandywell and bluebell are the same side so i assume no difference.

The terrace must now be segregated...............probably because of you f**king Tyronies!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Rossfan on May 27, 2017, 12:26:52 PM
Tyrone by 7.
Post by: Dire Ear on May 27, 2017, 12:31:19 PM
Hope for a Tyrone 5+ victory, no injuries or suspensions and settled free taking.........I know I don't ask for much !!!!!
Post by: theticklemister on May 27, 2017, 12:38:45 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on May 27, 2017, 12:31:19 PM
Hope for a Tyrone 5+ victory, no injuries or suspensions and settled free taking.........I know I don't ask for much !!!!!

I'm hoping for a few pints, derry not to get annihilated, a doherty's bacon buddy in the morning, meet up with me old derry supporter buddies, no hangover on monday and a nice week without work
Post by: WT4E on May 27, 2017, 12:48:23 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 27, 2017, 12:16:47 PM
back in the bad old days of them sending you out with 100 programs and you returning with no programs and £14 are well gone.

brandywell and bluebell are the same side so i assume no difference.

The terrace must now be segregated...............probably because of you f**king Tyronies!!!!!!!!!

Sorry im lost can you go where u want on terrace?
Post by: theticklemister on May 27, 2017, 12:54:21 PM
back in the day you could, but i haven't been to a derry home championship in years and can't give you a definite answer. JOG2 or Fear bun na sceiple might be the men with answer.
Post by: theticklemister on May 27, 2017, 12:58:08 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 27, 2017, 12:54:21 PM
back in the day you could, but i haven't been to a derry home championship  game in years and can't give you a definite answer. JOG2 or Fear bun na sceiple might be the men with answer.
Post by: God14 on May 27, 2017, 04:26:10 PM
You can go where u want on the terrace. Brandwell / bluebell all the same. At least it was the case last year anyhow as die to the rain i ended up moving about a bit
Post by: JoG2 on May 27, 2017, 07:49:34 PM
Quote from: WT4E on May 27, 2017, 12:03:09 PM
Can someone explain the tickets to me some of the tickets say brandywell terrace and others say brandywell/blue bell terrace. Is there a difference? I thought when I where not in the seated area u could go where I wanted on terrace?

Both the sameWT4E.  Any terrace ticket will get you access to both terraces. Hope she's dry
Post by: Low and Hard on May 27, 2017, 08:24:44 PM
Am I right in thinking you can pay at gate for terrace tickets tomorrow?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 27, 2017, 08:55:37 PM
Quote from: Low and Hard on May 27, 2017, 08:24:44 PM

I'd say so. It won't be anywhere near full.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 27, 2017, 09:34:56 PM
Quote from: Low and Hard on May 27, 2017, 08:24:44 PM

Can buy terrace tickets at three locations outside the ground. Think they're on Ulster gaa twitter.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on May 28, 2017, 11:58:55 AM
Looking forward to the match and seeing how Tyrone line up. Hope the rumours that they have been working on a more attacking style are correct. The ultra defensive setup isn't fun to watch, I doubt it's fun to play, and the biggest flaw of all is that it doesn't actually work. There is plenty of talent and pace in that team and I really hope this summer that they are able to express themselves and commit more to attack than in recent times.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 28, 2017, 12:19:32 PM
Canavan out injured I hear
Post by: southtyronegael on May 28, 2017, 12:42:22 PM
think he is playing. scored at least a couple of points so far. tyrone 0-9 derry 0-6 half time.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 28, 2017, 01:22:05 PM
Great win for Derry minors. Couple of late Tyrone scores made it tighter than it should have been.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 28, 2017, 01:33:11 PM
Derry prob deserved it just.

Some great scores from the muckers the difference.
Post by: Hotrocks on May 28, 2017, 01:42:55 PM
Another good minor side gone!  This top of the range academy in Garvaghy starting to bear fruit!
Post by: GJL on May 28, 2017, 01:54:02 PM
Where could I watch this live online?
Post by: God14 on May 28, 2017, 01:57:39 PM
Bbc i player or rte equivalent with a vpn
Most paid for subscription streaming services, your sports mania and the like will have it.
Possibly premier sports.tv for a legit sibscription?
Up Tyrone!
Post by: BennyHarp on May 28, 2017, 02:20:21 PM
Derrys tackling hasn't improved much anyway!
Post by: square_ball on May 28, 2017, 02:26:39 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on May 28, 2017, 01:42:55 PM
Another good minor side gone!  This top of the range academy in Garvaghy starting to bear fruit!

That Derry side are highly rated too and that's the nature of knockout football it's all in the day.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 28, 2017, 02:27:04 PM
Tyrone goal before half-time could end this as a contest.

8 to 4.
Post by: BennyCake on May 28, 2017, 02:27:55 PM
Quote from: GJL on May 28, 2017, 01:54:02 PM
Where could I watch this live online?

Seriously, don't bother.

I've seen more intensity in a game of dominoes.
Post by: Hotrocks on May 28, 2017, 02:39:34 PM
Cant believe how poor Derry are.  Total mis match.
Post by: screenexile on May 28, 2017, 02:43:23 PM
Tyrone have missed a bagful already and are playing quite poorly but even with that we have shown absolutely nothing. Danny tallon may as well be lying at home as on the pitch nobody wants to pass to him!

The sooner this shambles is over the better!!
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 28, 2017, 02:44:02 PM
Tyrone won this game by 11 points last year and they are well on their way to that winning margin again.
Post by: Rois on May 28, 2017, 02:45:20 PM
Derry get ball from kick out, bring it down to the opposite 45, pull up, try to find a way in, Tyrone defenders turn it over, bring it up to other 45, get fouled, free in that they score sometimes. Repeat. Again. And again.
Post by: Main Street on May 28, 2017, 02:47:38 PM
Disgraceful anti-Tyrone bias in the BBC analysis, with both pundits claiming Tyrone won 9 easy frees inside the Derry 45.
Post by: Rossfan on May 28, 2017, 02:49:13 PM
Zzzzzzzzzzzzz.
There will be no neutrals watching Gaelicball soon.....
Post by: Fuzzman on May 28, 2017, 02:50:03 PM
Yeah Rois that's the way a lot of our games pan out these days. The better teams are less likely to give up such soft frees.
Our shooting has been quite poor with Petey first two frees setting the standard.
A Derry goal would spice it up a bit
Post by: BennyHarp on May 28, 2017, 02:50:22 PM
You'd think that if Derry decided to set up defensively that it might be a good idea to practice how to tackle properly. They are making this so easy for a poor enough Tyrone attack by fouling when players are bottled up with nowhere to go.
Post by: Rossfan on May 28, 2017, 03:11:57 PM
Back to 5 as Derry's revival seems over.
Post by: Main Street on May 28, 2017, 03:12:43 PM
Short recorded interview there with Mickey Harte about the modern game.
He was saying that 'football has moved on, people use to drive Ford Anglias, now they drive higher spec cars'.???

Post by: BennyHarp on May 28, 2017, 03:13:53 PM
Why does Aiden McCrory always seem to be our player closest to goal??
Post by: screenexile on May 28, 2017, 03:21:28 PM
Only consolation from today is that Tyrone don't seem to be at the level of a Donegal or a Monaghan this year!

Every cloud . . .
Post by: TabClear on May 28, 2017, 03:23:22 PM
Poor shooting from both team
Poor tackling from Derry
Odd good break from Tyrone at pace
Poor viewing in general
Post by: smelmoth on May 28, 2017, 03:24:50 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 28, 2017, 03:12:43 PM
Short recorded interview there with Mickey Harte about the modern game.
He was saying that 'football has moved on, people use to drive Ford Anglias, now they drive higher spec cars'.???

This game is like the Europa league final. Pure shite to watch. Managers determined to reduce the game to the low risk functional repetition of acts calculated to secure a result irrespective of how mundane it is to watch
Post by: TabClear on May 28, 2017, 03:34:18 PM
Quote from: TabClear on May 28, 2017, 03:23:22 PM
Poor shooting from both team
Poor tackling from Derry
Odd good break from Tyrone at pace
Poor viewing in general

Tyrone shooting improved slightly in the last quarter.  Dont think either team benefited from that. 
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 28, 2017, 03:34:38 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 28, 2017, 03:21:28 PM
Only consolation from today is that Tyrone don't seem to be at the level of a Donegal or a Monaghan this year!

Every cloud . . .
While the jury is out on both of those teams I don't think Tyrone will be scoring 0-22 against Monaghan or Donegal anyway.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 28, 2017, 03:35:40 PM
Never seen a worse Derry team.  Tyrone done what they had too but can take nothing from that game. 
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 28, 2017, 03:37:55 PM
Another poor football match televised. What can be done I'm not sure. Start showing from the 'Super 8s' next year onwards?
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 28, 2017, 03:40:39 PM
Looking forward to more bullshit excuses from the king of bluffers Barton himself. Any other manager you might have sympathy for but not that arrogant fool. Time for a clean slate and McErlain in charge from September onwards.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 28, 2017, 03:41:59 PM
Not really much can be read into that.

Good to see McCurry going well, deserves to start against Donegal. McClure and Mulgrew did well off the bench as well.

Not too many made much of an impression that started. Conall McCann did fairly well, McGeary was quiet enough when he came on, Meyler didn't do much before being subbed, Hamspey was so/so, Rory Brennan had a solid game. Cavanagh probabaly our best player today. Sludden, Donnelly and Harte fair subdued.

Donnelly really needs to watch his discipline, very possible he could be banned for Donegal now.

He was sent off against Armagh in 2014.
Sent off against Cavan in the league final last year, black card against Donegal in the Ulster final.
Served a ban for hitting O'Shea after the Mayo game this year and now strikes out at McKaigue.

He really needs to catch a hold of himself, he's no use to us in the stands.

Post by: Gaffer on May 28, 2017, 03:45:20 PM
Good to see Mickey clean shaven for a change
Post by: omaghjoe on May 28, 2017, 03:57:03 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 28, 2017, 03:40:39 PM
Looking forward to more bullshit excuses from the king of bluffers Barton himself. Any other manager you might have sympathy for but not that arrogant fool. Time for a clean slate and McErlain in charge from September onwards.

Good to see you Derry wans coming together and getting behind the county setup after a defeat. You should go far in the qualifiers
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 28, 2017, 04:05:33 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 28, 2017, 03:57:03 PM

Good to see you Derry wans coming together and getting behind the county setup after a defeat. You should go far in the qualifiers

Who asked you!
Post by: omaghjoe on May 28, 2017, 04:11:46 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 28, 2017, 04:05:33 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 28, 2017, 03:57:03 PM

Who asked you!

:-*
Post by: dclane on May 28, 2017, 04:15:30 PM
Fell asleep during it because it was so boring.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 28, 2017, 04:23:18 PM
Derry a bad lot
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 28, 2017, 04:33:21 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 28, 2017, 03:37:55 PM
Another poor football match televised. What can be done I'm not sure. Start showing from the 'Super 8s' next year onwards?

Once BBC cameras are at the match, it will be on RTE too. Saves money for Ryle Nugent's sports budget.

Expect 6 or 7 Ulster matches on tv every year to give out on. 
Post by: tonto1888 on May 28, 2017, 04:47:10 PM
Was Donnelly lucky not to see red? Can he get a retrospective ban?
Post by: BennyCake on May 28, 2017, 04:57:45 PM

Show less live football on TV. That match wouldve been a cracker on the radio.
Post by: jodyb on May 28, 2017, 04:59:57 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 28, 2017, 04:47:10 PM
Was Donnelly lucky not to see red? Can he get a retrospective ban?
Can and most likely will. Will be highlighted by TSG pundits tonight I'd say
Post by: omaghjoe on May 28, 2017, 05:10:10 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 28, 2017, 04:57:45 PM

Show less live football on TV. That match wouldve been a cracker on the radio.

Michael O'Muircheartaigh could have made it rival the 95semi
Post by: Fuzzman on May 28, 2017, 05:30:32 PM
What was Mattie reacting to?
I thought him and Sludden were both very quiet today.

Kevin Cassidy on RTE commentary seemed very pleased that Tyrone looked so poor and seemed confident of beating them next day out.
Brolly will disgusted with the standard of football and will be happy to be following Antrim's minors from now on.

How did Canavan Jnr play in the minor game.
Post by: BennyCake on May 28, 2017, 05:59:31 PM
Was it just me or did Kevin Cassidy sound like the singer Brian Kennedy?
Post by: BennyHarp on May 28, 2017, 06:04:12 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 28, 2017, 03:21:28 PM

Every cloud . . .

What has happened in 20 odd years? Derry used to be our biggest rivals and the championship matches in the 90s where full of passion and quite often down right hatred.  Now we have Tyrone fans grumbling about only an 11 point victory and the Derry supporters are just glad that the team that beat them by 11 points aren't as good as two other teams in Ulster. I almost feel sorry for them and sometimes miss the white heat of the rivalry which looks like it's gone forever.
Post by: Jeremiah O on May 28, 2017, 06:09:28 PM
Loads to work on from a Tyrone perspective.Donegal will be content enough I would say,but that's for another day.But another hammering of them in their own backyard has me smiling this evening.7 defeats for Barton against Tyrone now!
Post by: Fuzzman on May 28, 2017, 06:16:49 PM
So much for a possible more attack minded set up for Tyrone.
Playing against such a poor team yet we bring 14 men back into our own half.
Yes it works, yes it makes it hard for the other team to break down and yes we scored 22 times with 11 different scorers but it looks to me it's just more of the same from last year with nothing new or adventurous.
I didn't watch BBC but did Harte do an interview afterwards?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 28, 2017, 06:17:56 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 28, 2017, 05:30:32 PM
What was Mattie reacting to?
I thought him and Sludden were both very quiet today.

Kevin Cassidy on RTE commentary seemed very pleased that Tyrone looked so poor and seemed confident of beating them next day out.
Brolly will disgusted with the standard of football and will be happy to be following Antrim's minors from now on.

How did Canavan Jnr play in the minor game.

He was having a bit of a tussle with McKaigue, not much in it but Donnelly struck out. He reacts far too easily and other teams will be taking note of this.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 28, 2017, 06:21:06 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 28, 2017, 06:16:49 PM
Yes it works, yes it makes it hard for the other team to break down and yes we scored 22 times with 11 different scorers but it looks to me it's just more of the same from last year with nothing new or adventurous.

Ya was disappointing alright, found it odd that Bradley made way for McCurry, thought Harte would have at least put the two of them in there given the way the game was going. I hope both start the next game out.

I don't think Petey should be on frees either, McCurry and Brennan would be better free takers from the right for me, even if they're unreliable/unproven either. Harte missed a few really simple ones today.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 28, 2017, 06:25:58 PM

Did you not notice the new tactic? Keep it tight with big Sean battering them for 50 mins, then throw on the young guns McCurry, Mulgrew and Brennan to get the scores. 7 points between them today I believe! 😜
Post by: twohands!!! on May 28, 2017, 07:01:51 PM

I think the key stat was at half-time Tyrone had 3 points from play.
Combine that with the complete and utter lack of any sort of goal threat against a defence that looked like they'd never played together before and it's hard to see Tyrone going much further than last year.

Post by: seafoid on May 28, 2017, 07:25:11 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 28, 2017, 07:01:51 PM

Combine that with the complete and utter lack of any sort of goal threat against a defence that looked like they'd never played together before and it's hard to see Tyrone going much further than last year.
Tyrone have problems scoring goals which will matter deeper into the summer
Post by: mcklatchee on May 28, 2017, 07:47:35 PM
If Donnelly plays against Donegal then its official- GAA is incapable of enforcing its own rules.

We already know that we are incapable of punishing guilt (note the Fitzpatrick debacle)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 28, 2017, 07:57:14 PM
what Donnelly done was so silly as Tyrone were well in control, but Mckeigue was holding him well and he got frustrated, the lineman was straight beside it and i cant understand how he didn't see it when all down that side did.

I be worried about Tyrone against Donegal, that's probably the worst Derry team i have seen,due to many reasons but to be down to only 3 points in it t one stage with the dominance Tyrone had has got to be highly worrying from their perspective.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 28, 2017, 08:14:28 PM
Really? They won by double scores. I don't think Tyrone would be overly worried. Helps to keep the hype down and plenty of room to improve. Derry were that poor today it was like a training match. Even when it got close you could see Tyrone had gears to move up.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 28, 2017, 08:17:47 PM
I think True blue you don't realise how bad Derry actually are at present
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 28, 2017, 08:25:13 PM
Trust me I do.
Post by: Rois on May 28, 2017, 09:06:58 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 28, 2017, 07:57:14 PM

I be worried about Tyrone against Donegal, that's probably the worst Derry team i have seen,due to many reasons but to be down to only 3 points in it t one stage with the dominance Tyrone had has got to be highly worrying from their perspective.
I don't think it's highly worrying either - every team has a purple patch (and the opposite) and I'm happier that Tyrone came back from that and extended their lead.
Plenty more to be worried about than that.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 28, 2017, 09:09:35 PM
Seafoid, Tyrone didn't score many goals in 2003 either but put up high points totals.
I think when they see teams with loads of bodies back defending their D then they are happy to lay the ball back to shoot for a point rather than risk losing it going for a goal.

It's hard to know where to play Mattie? I think a forward needs to have pace and be quick of thought as well. I think Mattie depends too much on brute strength to beat his man.
CHB is probably his best position.
Post by: BennyCake on May 28, 2017, 09:11:14 PM

Yeah I agree. I said last year Tyrone were over-hyped, and they are again.

They're a long way off AI winners.
Post by: square_ball on May 28, 2017, 09:36:07 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 28, 2017, 09:11:14 PM

Yeah I agree. I said last year Tyrone were over-hyped, and they are again.

They're a long way off AI winners.

To be fair there is little or no hype this year. I haven't seen one media outlet tipping them for the AI and 99% of supporters know their limitations.

Tyrone did what they had to do today no more or no less. Derry were absolutely shocking I'd say they are on a level with Antrim at the moment. McKaigue is a shadow of the player he is for his club.
Post by: ONeill on May 28, 2017, 10:37:15 PM
Surely if Derry think they can't win playing football, win the fight.

Even Donnelly got away with that.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 28, 2017, 11:22:34 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 28, 2017, 10:37:15 PM

Tyrone could afford an anonymous Donnelly against McKaigue today; hammer the hammer as O Se would say. Derry couldn't afford an anonymous McKaigue.

Clutching at straws, McKinless and Keenan have some careers ahead of them. Donnelly, given his earlier suspension shouldn't kick another ball before August.

Sad, but it doesn't really matter anymore. Paddy Bradley hinted at it today. Referees referee the team, not the tackle.

Won't wish good luck to Tyrone in the semi, because both yourselves and Dun na nGall are cut from the same cloth. Really looking forward to it though; will be some clash.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 28, 2017, 11:31:46 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on May 28, 2017, 11:22:34 PM

Tyrone could afford an anonymous Donnelly against McKaigue today; hammer the hammer as O Se would say. Derry couldn't afford an anonymous McKaigue.

Clutching at straws, McKinless and Keenan have some careers ahead of them. Donnelly, given his earlier suspension shouldn't kick another ball before August.

Sad, but it doesn't really matter anymore. Paddy Bradley hinted at it today. Referees referee the team, not the tackle.

Won't wish good luck to Tyrone in the semi, because both yourselves and Dun na nGall are cut from the same cloth. Really looking forward to it though; will be some clash.

I heard that comment from Bradley. Is he really suggesting that Tyrone get favorable treatment from refs because they are a big team or Matty Donnelly is too big a player to send off. Whilst lttle old Derry get harshly treated? What a pile of nonsense. The ref was poor enough today but I hardly think that Matty's All Stars or Tyrone's assumed loftier position over Derry played any part in that incident. Matty was just lucky - but he will most likely get a retrospective ban (which most likely will be over turned).
Post by: omagh_gael on May 28, 2017, 11:52:50 PM
The long ball into the FF line wasn't utilised at all, I wonder will we see it in any other games?
Post by: ONeill on May 29, 2017, 12:04:23 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 28, 2017, 11:52:50 PM
The long ball into the FF line wasn't utilised at all, I wonder will we see it in any other games?

For Tyrone? First 20 mins yes, into Bradley who was saddled any time he got it. When Derry stopped fouling him Tyrone stopped hitting it in.

In terms of Donnelly, the camera angles were inconclusive.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 29, 2017, 12:08:26 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 29, 2017, 12:04:23 AM

For Tyrone? First 20 mins yes, into Bradley who was saddled any time he got it. When Derry stopped fouling him Tyrone stopped hitting it in.

Matty will get a 6 month retrospective ban but deny it's even him in the video at the CCCC meeting and get the ban overturned. Probably at 3.30am on the morning of the Donegal game.
Post by: ONeill on May 29, 2017, 12:11:16 AM
From the camera angles I thought it was fairly inconclusive. Haven't seen anything since the BBC News though.
Post by: lenny on May 29, 2017, 06:07:27 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 29, 2017, 12:11:16 AM
From the camera angles I thought it was fairly inconclusive. Haven't seen anything since the BBC News though.

Inconclusive lol, clear punch. I see harte has a new blade there yesterday.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 29, 2017, 07:11:43 AM
Quote from: lenny on May 29, 2017, 06:07:27 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 29, 2017, 12:11:16 AM

Inconclusive lol, clear punch. I see harte has a new blade there yesterday.

Certainly much less conclusive than the shitiness of Derry
Post by: omagh_gael on May 29, 2017, 09:58:23 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 29, 2017, 12:04:23 AM

Fair enough, what I meant was high ball into Sean or Matty. We tried it a good bit in the league and I thought we'd give it s shot with the two boys named in FF line.
Post by: Estimator on May 29, 2017, 10:33:15 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 28, 2017, 06:25:58 PM

Did you not notice the new tactic? Keep it tight with big Sean battering them for 50 mins, then throw on the young guns McCurry, Mulgrew and Brennan to get the scores. 7 points between them today I believe! 😜

Those three did look good. In fairness, Tyrone could have brought on Eugene McKenna, Plunkett Donaghy and Dinky McBride at that stage of the game and they would have looked good. The 3 subs joined the fray when the opposition was already done and dusted. McCurry hit a great point with the outside of the boot. Looks superb on TV, but in reality he shouldnt get a chance to do that against better teams.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 29, 2017, 04:43:59 PM
Why was McKinless so agitated with poor McCrory after he made the good save?
Was he just pumped up after making such a good stop or something else?

McCrory did well to create the goal chance and did a nice side step.
He also hit a great pass into Bradley one time from the right wing in the first half.
Post by: red hander on May 29, 2017, 04:57:29 PM
Derry stunk the place out yesterday, worst team from the county I've ever seen... great, isn't it  ;D
Post by: Mikhailov on May 29, 2017, 05:02:02 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 28, 2017, 11:31:46 PM

I heard that comment from Bradley. Is he really suggesting that Tyrone get favorable treatment from refs because they are a big team or Matty Donnelly is too big a player to send off. Whilst lttle old Derry get harshly treated? What a pile of nonsense. The ref was poor enough today but I hardly think that Matty's All Stars or Tyrone's assumed loftier position over Derry played any part in that incident. Matty was just lucky - but he will most likely get a retrospective ban (which most likely will be over turned).

Is this the same Paddy Bradley who refused to send his Newbridge players to the county in-house game last week....He bought plenty of frees in his time and then his club complained about a ref few weeks ago... hypocrisy at its best !!
Post by: Orior on May 29, 2017, 10:19:59 PM
Very disappointing from Derry. Starting to look like a Division Three team.

Yet the minors keep throwing up talent.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 30, 2017, 12:06:28 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 29, 2017, 10:19:59 PM

Keep? Prior to Damian coming on board 3 years ago we hadn't won a minor game in years. He's doing a great job and we have as good a talent as anyone in Ulster from 19-20 down. In my opinion he's the man to take on the seniors next year. That's if he wants the job!
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 30, 2017, 12:09:33 PM
Who is Derry Minor manager?
Post by: shawshank on May 30, 2017, 12:17:54 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 30, 2017, 12:06:28 PM

Keep? Prior to Damian coming on board 3 years ago we hadn't won a minor game in years. He's doing a great job and we have as good a talent as anyone in Ulster from 19-20 down. In my opinion he's the man to take on the seniors next year. That's if he wants the job!

Wrong, Paul Mc Ivor managed Derry minors, they beat Donegal and then Tyrone beat them in the semi final, the same Tyrone team that won the U21 Al Ireland.  I also disagree on that, from the age of 23 and below we have a lot of developing players. For example Emmett Bradley, Mc Kindless, Mc Atamney & Bell are 23, although not all playing. From 23 upwards nothing. I also think Damian has a bit to learn, he has never taken a senior team, never had to deal with men telling I've lost my job, I can't pay the bills, I have a baby, we're moving home, my marriage is breaking up, the bank is putting me under serious pressure, I have a gambling addition, never mind the opinionated player who will tell him your training is shit. Once he has dealt successfully with that, then bring him on. Sending him straight to senior in my view who put his head lights out.

Mickey Donnelly from Tyrone won as much at minor with Tyrone as Damian to date, wouldn't get near the Tyrone job. Paul Mc Ivor is well ahead of him in experience and success at senior level.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 30, 2017, 12:40:54 PM
Quote from: shawshank on May 30, 2017, 12:17:54 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 30, 2017, 12:06:28 PM

Wrong, Paul Mc Ivor managed Derry minors, they beat Donegal and then Tyrone beat them in the semi final, the same Tyrone team that won the U21 Al Ireland.  I also disagree on that, from the age of 23 and below we have a lot of developing players. For example Emmett Bradley, Mc Kindless, Mc Atamney & Bell are 23, although not all playing. From 23 upwards nothing. I also think Damian has a bit to learn, he has never taken a senior team, never had to deal with men telling I've lost my job, I can't pay the bills, I have a baby, we're moving home, my marriage is breaking up, the bank is putting me under serious pressure, I have a gambling addition, never mind the opinionated player who will tell him your training is shit. Once he has dealt successfully with that, then bring him on. Sending him straight to senior in my view who put his head lights out.

Mickey Donnelly from Tyrone won as much at minor with Tyrone as Damian to date, wouldn't get near the Tyrone job. Paul Mc Ivor is well ahead of him in experience and success at senior level.

McIvor had a much more talented side to work with than Damian ever had, and as for his tactics/match ups against Slaughtneil in the Ulster final well that left a lot to be desired!

There is more correlation between county minors and seniors than club and county seniors.
Post by: Christmas Lights on May 30, 2017, 02:04:29 PM
One of the problems I seen with Tyrone on Sunday was Conall McCann.  His barnet was ridiculous, bordering on a disgrace actually.  I rate McCann very highly, think hes an excellent, rangy player and deserves to start for Tyrone, however, if he, and Tyrone, want to go further in the Ulster Championship then something is going to have to be done with his hair.  Maybe Mickey should take him to the side and just say something like, "listen, I dont care what it takes or what you need to do, just sort that hair out before the Donegal game or your not starting".  It might seem harsh but words are needed, its not time to be nice going up against Donegal.

There is no way Donegal will allow a guy with a do such as McCanns to catch ball, kick points or goals against them.  I remember a few years ago, Ross Wherity scored a goal in the Ulster Championship where Donegal beat Tyrone by a few points, I always thought it was a real low point for Tyrone to allow someone with as bad of hair as Wherity's to score a championship goal against them. 
The scary thing is, Conall McCanns barnet is probably worse now than Ross Wherity's was that day which is saying something. 
I think if Tyrone iron out this issue though, then they should beat Donegal.
Post by: Taylor on May 30, 2017, 02:54:22 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 30, 2017, 02:04:29 PM
One of the problems I seen with Tyrone on Sunday was Conall McCann.  His barnet was ridiculous, bordering on a disgrace actually.  I rate McCann very highly, think hes an excellent, rangy player and deserves to start for Tyrone, however, if he, and Tyrone, want to go further in the Ulster Championship then something is going to have to be done with his hair.  Maybe Mickey should take him to the side and just say something like, "listen, I dont care what it takes or what you need to done, just sort that hair out before the Donegal game or your not starting".  It might seem harsh but words are needed, its not time to be nice going up against Donegal.

There is no way Donegal will allow a guy with a do such as McCanns to catch ball, kick points or goals against them.  I remember a few years ago, Ross Wherity scored a goal in the Ulster Championship where Donegal beat Tyrone by a few points, I always thought it was a real low point for Tyrone to allow someone with as bad of hair as Wherity's to score a championship goal against them. 
The scary thing is, Conall McCanns barnet is probably worse now than Ross Wherity's was that day which is saying something. 

But what a game the kid had.

As predicted last week it was an absolute walk in the park.

Derry are very very poor at the moment and whatever Barton is on is too much
Post by: sensethetone on May 30, 2017, 03:53:51 PM
One of the problems I seen with Tyrone on Sunday was Conall McCann.  His barnet was ridiculous, bordering on a disgrace actually.  I rate McCann very highly, think hes an excellent, rangy player and deserves to start for Tyrone, however, if he, and Tyrone, want to go further in the Ulster Championship then something is going to have to be done with his hair.  Maybe Mickey should take him to the side and just say something like, "listen, I dont care what it takes or what you need to done, just sort that hair out before the Donegal game or your not starting".  It might seem harsh but words are needed, its not time to be nice going up against Donegal.

Can he wear ankle socks?lol
Post by: ONeill on May 30, 2017, 09:58:02 PM

The scary thing is, Conall McCann's barnet is probably worse now than Ross Wherity's was that day which is saying something. 

Steady on FFS.
Post by: TheImpactCode on May 30, 2017, 11:40:54 PM
Conall McCann was a great addition to the Tyrone armoury.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 31, 2017, 07:49:05 AM
I thought he was professor Snape.
Post by: Gaffer on June 01, 2017, 01:00:54 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 30, 2017, 09:58:02 PM

The scary thing is, Conall McCann's barnet is probably worse now than Ross Wherity's was that day which is saying something. 

Steady on FFS.

Isn't he a bros of the other Barnet man, tiernan?
Post by: RedHandTom on June 01, 2017, 03:11:04 PM
Derry are an out and out shambles. I heard Barton talking on the radio about how much he has learned since taking the job. So Derry are paying this man to LEARN ON THE JOB?! Hilarious if it weren't so tragic.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 01, 2017, 06:55:54 PM
Quote from: RedHandTom on June 01, 2017, 03:11:04 PM
Derry are an out and out shambles. I heard Barton talking on the radio about how much he has learned since taking the job. So Derry are paying this man to LEARN ON THE JOB?! Hilarious if it weren't so tragic.

Dont Fouls's review of the game made the point that Derry did the exact same thing as the previous year in terms of shooting from more difficult positions and even used the line "You can't keep doing the same thing over and over and expect different results."

Also made a point about how rubbish the Derry defence were in terms of putting pressure on Tyrone where they were shooting - "21 of those 27 shots (from Tyrone) were taken under no – or very little – pressure (another indictment of the Derry defence)"

https://dontfoul.wordpress.com/2017/05/30/derry-v-tyrone-2017-ulster/
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 02, 2017, 09:54:11 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 28, 2017, 11:31:46 PM

Surprised Joe McQuillan didn't spot that infringement, instead of running to shake hands with Mickey Harte at the end of the game.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 02, 2017, 10:28:36 AM
Always find it interesting looking at those shooting diagrams of where the shots were taken from.
I think we've seen from various games that Tyrone set up a wall around the central shooting zone and try to stop teams from shooting inside that. If they score from outside there then it tends to be a great shot and hard to achieve but the attitude is let them shoot form out there.

Likewise I've noticed that when they attack, we often see incidences where a forward is just outside that central shooting zone but reasonably close to the goal, however, rather than shoot himself from a tighter angle he will look to find a runner about to run into that shooting zone like Bradley did for Conal McCann's first point and so it's a much easier scoring chance.
Tiernan McCann's point was a little different as he was outside that central zone yet it was still played back to him from quite an advanced position.

Also, it's good to read that Sean seems to have resumed the free taking duties and is much more reliable than in previous years.