Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by Blowitupref - Today at 06:52:12 PM
Quote from: Itchy on Today at 06:19:46 PMI just want to point out this stat. Cavan are unbeaten in championship against Tyrone in Breffni for more than 40 years.

How many Cavan v Tyrone championship matches has been played in Breffni the last 40 years?
General discussion / Re: The Offical Glasgow Celtic...
Last post by Itchy - Today at 06:25:08 PM
Quote from: illdecide on Today at 03:51:39 PMGot my last 5 fixtures slightly wrong...

Sunday 28th April v Dundee (A)
Saturday 4th May v Hearts (H)
Saturday 11th May v Huns (H)
Wednesday 15th May v Kilmarnock (A)
Saturday 18th May v St Mirren (H)

What Rangers run in?
Last post by Itchy - Today at 06:19:46 PM
I just want to point out this stat. Cavan are unbeaten in championship against Tyrone in Breffni for more than 40 years.
Hurling Discussion / Re: Hurling 2024
Last post by marty34 - Today at 06:15:58 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on Today at 02:30:03 PM
Quote from: marty34 on Today at 12:22:51 PM
Quote from: Dag Dog on Today at 10:55:18 AM"Hurling referees have been advised to be mindful of players ducking into tackles in an attempt to win frees. Examples of recent league games were provided to officials of decisions going in favour of those who were simulating the fouls.

Across both codes, referees have been given the following checklist to factor in when considering to send off a player for a head-high tackle: if a contact is made to opponent's head, if the opponent has no opportunity to protect himself, if contact/impact is excessive or causes injury, if the elbow/forearm/shoulder is part of the contact, if the player making contact jumps or has been two feet off the ground, if the player making contact had a realistic alternative by way of challenging opponent and to the direction and distance covered by the player who makes contact."

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41375074.html

It's going like rugby that players must have a 'duty of care' to other players in the tackle.

That's a good thing in my opinion. Anything hit around the head is dangerous.

You'll be looking for mitigating circumstances etc etc as well now  ;D

Maybe a TMO JC?  :)
Last post by Armagh18 - Today at 06:13:26 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on Today at 06:04:30 PM
Quote from: Armamike on Today at 03:50:16 PMFrom Kieran taking over until the past 2 years Armagh struggled for years to get a win or two in the Ulster championship and that has been the most disappointing thing for me.  Not being able to beat teams they could/should have been beating over 6 or 7 years.  That's not all down to lack of underage success.  We have though improved markedly in terms of conditioning and tightened up a good bit at the back. Seem better organised these past 2 years but the question is still very much out on whether they can take the next step, i.e. get through tight games and win something or get further than a quarter final.

Not being disrespectful, but 2 very lop sided draws in '23 and' 24 surely helped?
Absolutely, but seen the days where we were losing to Fermanagh and Cavan in Ulster first round games. (Did Down actually beat us under Geezer as well?)
Last post by JoG2 - Today at 06:09:26 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on Today at 04:29:55 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on Today at 03:48:04 PMThis site is making the over projection of a Derry v Armagh final. I rather literally take it one game at a time, this Saturday could see us out on our ass very handy,

100%
I've been saying all along, Donegal could knock us out in the first round.
I'd love to see us win another Ulster - but if we get beaten on Saturday it wouldn't be a huge shock.
Donegal were in the final 2 years ago and we just beat them.

Couldn't agree more. A 1 or 2 point win for Donegal in a very physical / defensive game wouldn't be a huge surprise
Last post by JoG2 - Today at 06:04:30 PM
Quote from: Armamike on Today at 03:50:16 PMFrom Kieran taking over until the past 2 years Armagh struggled for years to get a win or two in the Ulster championship and that has been the most disappointing thing for me.  Not being able to beat teams they could/should have been beating over 6 or 7 years.  That's not all down to lack of underage success.  We have though improved markedly in terms of conditioning and tightened up a good bit at the back. Seem better organised these past 2 years but the question is still very much out on whether they can take the next step, i.e. get through tight games and win something or get further than a quarter final.

Not being disrespectful, but 2 very lop sided draws in '23 and' 24 surely helped?
Last post by JoG2 - Today at 05:58:47 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on Today at 03:03:17 PM
Quote from: Itchy on Today at 01:02:45 PM
Quote from: Tones on Today at 11:28:47 AMIs it really? Most counties have goals at the start of the year, get promoted, avoid relegation, beat neighbours etc. do they really need a coping mechanism of devaluing competitions, I seriously doubt it.  There are about 26 counties under the new system never going win Sam, Derry don't need another Ulster but will probably win it, any other county would relish it.

I believe JoG2 was referring the fans attempting to devalue a competition as a defense mechanism for if they don't win it. Armagh will have failed this year (again) if they do not win Ulster. How anyone can think different is beyond me.

What if they lose Ulster but play in an All Ireland final. Is that a bigger failure than winning Ulster and then going out in the groups?

You're changing angles here. What is having a good year, which reaching an AI final for most teams is, got to do with questioning the value of the Anglo Celt cup which you did? A hypothetical appearance in an AI final shouldn't come into the equation.
You're Armagh yes, very surprising considering the last 15+ years winning nothing. Derry winning 2 years ago was incredible, winning back to back was, well incredible. The thought of winning a treble, well that's the stuff of dreams. Worry about any attack on a Sam after.
GAA Discussion / Re: Leinster Senior football c...
Last post by Armagh18 - Today at 05:41:28 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on Today at 04:35:00 PMThere is a lot of back and forth re Dublin who I think we should all admit would dominate any province. They are dominating the All-Ireland long enough so it's fair to say their depth would manage Ulster too.

But, that doesn't excuse Kildare and Meath especially. They should be up and around Div 1 or solid Div 2. I know lads are saying when we are waiting to be hammered in Leinster it breeds a bad vibe, but the league is something different and Kildare were annihilated by Cork and Derry last year. That is not excuseable.

There will be a reset and some fresh blood on the pitch and on the line next year, but the Dubs are going nowhere!
Meath and Kildare should be at least around the level of a Roscommon/Monaghan. Dublin being great is not an excuse for them being shite.
Last post by yellowcard - Today at 05:33:12 PM
Quote from: screenexile on Today at 04:55:57 PMBookies only giving this one a 3pt handicap so they're wary of McGuinness and whatever shenanigans he comes up with.

I would love for us to beat Donegal this weekend but this is their AIF and do we really have the hunger to go after another Ulster title given the hardship it will entail? I don't doubt the team will be telling themselves they want to win every game but how realistic is that nowadays?

If we win that's great, but if we got beat without any big injuries I wouldn't be that disappointed.

This media led obsession with Jimmy McGuinness is getting tiresome. He can't play the match despite claims of him pulling rabbits out of hats, having tricks up his sleeve and coming up with something new (shenanigans). Gaelic football is different today than it was 12 years ago and opposition teams are being analysed to death so there will be no new major innovative breakthrough.

No doubt if Donegal manage to win (which I don't think they will) it will be put down to the genius of Jimmy. More likely it will just be your run of the mill arm wrestle though as he knows that he probably needs to reduce the game to a defensive slugfest in order to stand a chance. Pragmatism and a reversion to what he know best will take over as I didn't see anything majorly innovative during the League campaign, just a team that were better prepared than the previous season.