Say nothing! (The meeja!)

Started by Captain Scarlet, May 08, 2017, 08:47:40 PM

Just reading a piece by Mick Moynihan where he listed a recurring theme on how GAA players are not allowed give interviews even at sponsored launches and the likes.
On one hand you say fair enough but the GPA have rates for lads to get a few quid. The extra cash in the player scheme should have come with stipulations on this in my mind.
All the talk of the GAA competing with other sports and the main assets are stowed away and dont say anything ibteresting until they are retired.

Amateur GAA players are controlled more than professional sportspeople.

Is it that big of a deal really? 99% of GAA player interviews are the usual cliched, banal rubbish that gives little or no insight whatsoever.

Quote from: omagh_gael on May 08, 2017, 10:07:14 PM
Is it that big of a deal really? 99% of GAA player interviews are the usual cliched, banal rubbish that gives little or no insight whatsoever.
Some of them are quite interesting.
Giving an opinion is hardly going to impede performance. 

Quote from: omagh_gael on May 08, 2017, 10:07:14 PM
In fairness it might not vex many but as the article noted we are going to have access all areas with the Lions tour when yhe champuonship is hotting up while county stars are being stopped from givibg any kind of interview.
Moynihan has good form in highlighting this in fairness.
Also the reason 99% are boring is that they cone from a press night where lads pack into a room and take turn asking basic questions as the boss sits within earshot.

Seems like whinging from journos to me. Most of them would just ask the same cliché questions and get the same cliché answers in the hope of getting a "controversial" quote they could make a headline out of instead of putting a bitof thought into the iinterview to get something insightful.

Was listening to OTB a couple of weeks ago and they mentioned a guy who plays for Leitrim hurlers - born in Iraq to parents who were originally Iranian, had to flee during the gulf war, ended up in Carrick where he started playing GAA, moved to Dublin in his early teens, learned hurling there and now commutes to leitrim to play with the county team.

Plenty of stories out there besides whinging about not getting quotes from AOS / Philly mcmahon

Sure if the players open their mouths they get slated as well - "too big for his boots", "should be concentrating on his football/hurling" etc. Or like that gobshite Breheny, decides to completely overblow one line out of an interview and make him it out him being the victim ffs...

Then the same people give out that they can't get any good interviews from players! Is it any fcking wonder...

You can tell from Twitter who is worth interviewing.

Beffs

Quote from: Tubberman on May 09, 2017, 09:47:35 AM
Sure if the players open their mouths they get slated as well - "too big for his boots", "should be concentrating on his football/hurling" etc. Or like that gobshite Breheny, decides to completely overblow one line out of an interview and make him it out him being the victim ffs...

Then the same people give out that they can't get any good interviews from players! Is it any fcking wonder...

I see where you are coming from, but it's a chicken and the egg scenario. Journos have so little decent access to players, that when they do get some, the tempation to make some fairly bog standard comments into something more than they are, in order to sell papers, is always there. Which leads to managers imposing even stricter media bans and, players themselves becoming more and more reticent whenever they do give interviews. If players doing press interviews wasn't the seven days wonder that is now (especially in the run up to big games,) maybe there would be less of an adversarial atmopshere all around and, better, more in depth interviews given over all.

It's mad. In the gap between the end of the league and the start of the champo, there are tons of players out there flogging this protein milk and, that GAA initiative being launched in Croker. Now. In early May. When no one is really paying attention. But come August and September, when interest is at its height and people are genuinely interested to hear the thoughts of the top players on a wide variety of matters, there isn't a peep out of any of them. But they still expect the journos to show up the other 10 months of the year and, give them a platform to show off to their sponsors the world, what great Gaels they all are? I don't blame the journos for trying to make hay while the sun shines, aka Aidan O'Shea opening his gob.

I see the both sodes here but is it not the point that the GAA needs these lads out there more when the real action is to promote the game and not just when it suits at the end if the year?
Its a two-way thing here. If you were a sponsor with some of the less successful counties you would want lads to be out there in their county tops.
Of course there are great stories too but with all due respect when we go into the Super 8 people want something from the big guns, not a Leitrim hurler.
Just being from Kildare amd we moan about the Dubs while our players dont give anything outside the basic press night. Last year there were interesting stories but there wasnt a peep during the season. Thats not worth a shite to promote our own team.

Buttofthehill

Quote from: macdanger2 on May 09, 2017, 09:09:36 AM
Seems like whinging from journos to me. Most of them would just ask the same cliché questions and get the same cliché answers in the hope of getting a "controversial" quote they could make a headline out of instead of putting a bitof thought into the iinterview to get something insightful.

Was listening to OTB a couple of weeks ago and they mentioned a guy who plays for Leitrim hurlers - born in Iraq to parents who were originally Iranian, had to flee during the gulf war, ended up in Carrick where he started playing GAA, moved to Dublin in his early teens, learned hurling there and now commutes to leitrim to play with the county team.

Plenty of stories out there besides whinging about not getting quotes from AOS / Philly mcmahon

Jaysus, that's some story alright!

Beffs

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 09, 2017, 12:32:19 PM
I see the both sodes here but is it not the point that the GAA needs these lads out there more when the real action is to promote the game and not just when it suits at the end if the year?
Its a two-way thing here. If you were a sponsor with some of the less successful counties you would want lads to be out there in their county tops.
Of course there are great stories too but with all due respect when we go into the Super 8 people want something from the big guns, not a Leitrim hurler.
Just being from Kildare amd we moan about the Dubs while our players dont give anything outside the basic press night. Last year there were interesting stories but there wasnt a peep during the season. Thats not worth a shite to promote our own team.

Disagree on that point. There are plenty of interesting stories out there, regardless of what county the player come from. I mean, how many more times do you want to hear Philly McMahon talking about his drug addicted brother, or Kieran Donaghy talking about growing up with a Tyrone father? 

Good journalists like Malacy Clerkin and Paul Kimmage are able to write interesting articles about anyone and make you want to read them. The problem with the current meeja landscape, is that it is over populated with far too many retired players, who only ever want to talk about themselves, or what things were like in their day. There aren't enough "proper" journos out there, who are ready, willing and able to have the focus be on someone else and something. If there were, it would be a different story. Then again, if the intercounty managers deny them access 99% of the time, what is the point of having journos like that on the pay roll? Chicken and the egg and all that...