Minors 2016

Started by twohands!!!, April 13, 2016, 10:44:58 PM

There were 3 games in Munster tonight.

Kerry   2-21        Waterford   1-2   
Clare           0-9        Limerick   1-5   
Cork           1-14        Tipperary   1-11

Tipperary play Limerick and the winner of that play Waterford and the winners of that play Cork in one semi-final.

Kerry play Clare in the other semi-final.

2-17 of that total from Kerry came from play and they have a chunk of players from the Hogan Cup winning team so you'd imagine they will be fairly serious contenders again this year.

tippabu

Good fight put in by our lads, especially considering co board are helping to try keep football down in the county

Tipperary seriously hamstrung by the minor hurling managers decree that he would not pick any dual players. Still have a chance via the back door, but they really need all their players to be contenders.

Would Tipp be down many players as a result of that stance from the minor hurling management?

I would say at least 4 or 5 including 3 or 4 that were part of the team last year.

Ah, that's what you are up against in dual counties! Another conundrum! I suppose at least there's no player burn-out!  :-\

How will Connacht pan out?
We're fecked - play Sligo on a Saturday, winners play Galway 4 days later.
Burn out how are ya? :o 

Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 11:46:30 PM
How will Connacht pan out?
We're fecked - play Sligo on a Saturday, winners play Galway 4 days later.
Burn out how are ya? :o

That's preposterous!

I think its only right a county minor player should be specialising and not doing the dual thing

Most of them are doing the leaving or college exams and don't need to be playing on two county squads

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 14, 2016, 10:56:41 PM
I think its only right a county minor player should be specialising and not doing the dual thing

Most of them are doing the leaving or college exams and don't need to be playing on two county squads

It should be up to them though and not forced on them. Minors are well able to do it, especially first year minors.

I don't ever remember Connacht minor championship games played on a Wednesday evening before.
Connacht is hard to call.i don't think there's much between Galway,Mayo,Ros & Sligo.
Results in the league all over the shop but there was a lot of experimentation going on so its hard to know where teams stand.
We have a decent side on paper but all depends how they gel I guess.
The Sligo performance last week was disappointing

Quote from: galwayman on April 14, 2016, 11:37:50 PM
I don't ever remember Connacht minor championship games played on a Wednesday evening before.
Connacht is hard to call.i don't think there's much between Galway,Mayo,Ros & Sligo.
Results in the league all over the shop but there was a lot of experimentation going on so its hard to know where teams stand.

Big advantage for the maroon galacticos (Galway people seem to have extremely high hopes for this crop) to have their opponents gassed by playing a championship match four days beforehand.

Speaking of Minors - I thought this was very interesting - people can point the finger at the Wicklow County Board but ultimately it all comes down to finance. One thing for sure is there is a distinct lack of leadership in the GAA when it comes to promoting Hurling in particular outside the traditional strongholds.

Wicklow People

QuoteToday we received a letter from three of the Wicklow Minor hurlers who played for their county against Meath last Saturday in Arklow. Wicklow were beaten by 10-22 to 0-07.
The three hurlers, Steven Coogan, Bryan Kearney, and Padraig O'Toole deserve massive credit for writing this heartfelt and honest letter, which highlights the difficulties young hurlers in Wicklow face.
Fair play, lads!

14/April/2016
Dear Editor,
As players who took part in the minor hurling match against Meath on Saturday the 9th of April, we would like to respond to the media coverage of our team in the Wicklow People on Wednesday 13th April. Brendan Lawrence's article 'A Broken System' makes for sorry reading. He suggests if we hadn't returned to the pitch for the second half of the match, it would have caused a media sensation where "some of the players might have had a pop and made a stand or statement". Well, here's our statement.
Lawrence correctly points out all that is currently wrong with the current minor hurling team; lack of numbers, the late appointment of a manager, insufficient coaches and the general lack of interest from other officials who should support our team. But the story goes even deeper than that.
Our team have had a grand total of three training sessions this year. While the minor football team train on Saturday mornings, the hurlers are left with Sunday morning sessions which players have regularly noted is not nearly as suitable a time. The minor footballers also benefit from a second training session mid-week but the minor hurlers have received no such attention. The discrimination against the hurlers is real and it is a failure of the County Board in particular and the GAA in general. it is somewhat encouraging that Michael Neary recognised this fact when he stated our group 'has been seriously let down by many sections of the association'.
The excuse has been offered that a manager won't commit when only ten to fifteen players show up to training but as Lawrence correctly points out, "players won't commit to a setup they don't believe in". And yet nineteen players showed up and committed their time on Saturday morning. Nineteen young men, including ourselves, who are all busy preparing for the Leaving Certificate in the next two years; young men who must balance school, and often a part time job, with their commitment to sport. Young men who, unlike many of their friends, stayed in Friday night and missed social occasions to be ready to play Saturday morning, despite the fact no real commitment has been shown by the Wicklow County Board officials. As Neary mentioned, the appointment of a manager wasn't even given due consideration but rather was a casual affair to ensure the county board could 'tick yet another box'.
Lawrence noted that the players that showed up on Saturday had none of the "competitive spirit, energy, vitality, humour and cheekiness" of the minor football teams but how could we? We have committed to a team that not one person from the county board will support effectively.
Martin Coleman's reaction states that they have put "as much resources as humanly possible into all county teams this year". But that statement is simply not true. While the minor footballers benefit from new gear, an appointed manager, a team of coaches and sufficient training time, the same is not true for minor hurlers.
Brendan Lawrence questions what would have happened if "the young players had collectively come to a decision to not finish the match". Perhaps the reaction would have been great and we would have received more coverage nationally than is currently the case. But the fact is, not one of our players considered such a move. We committed to playing for our county team and that is what we did. We don't quit, we don't walk away. We are committed and above all, we are proud Wicklow men. We have pride in our clubs, pride in our school teams and we are proud to wear the Wicklow jersey. It's a real shame that the county board won't show the same commitment as the minor hurlers themselves.
Change must happen and it needs to happen now. The GAA has long been applauded as an organisation which supports the sporting development and achievement of young people in our country and we feel let down that the Wicklow County Board have failed us in this regard. Wicklow County Board must commit to ensure the future success of our county, our younger generation and our national sport as a whole.
Finally, we would like to thank the Wicklow People for their coverage of the issue and for highlighting the current situation, and above all, for empowering us to have our say in the matter.
Yours sincerely,
STEVEN COOGAN
BRYAN KEARNEY
PADRAIG O'TOOLE

I read that. It's sad to see. I know there'd be similar stories around the country as well. As frustrated as we feel here in Tipp with co-existing on an equal footing with hurling, I have to say the County Board do the best they can, generally. And coming from Offaly, I can say the same. I would hate to be a hurling man in some of these counties, or a football man in Kilkenny.

Quote from: galwayman on April 14, 2016, 11:37:50 PM
Sligo are handy, few super players. Connacht championship wide open this year.