GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: The Hill is Blue on August 17, 2021, 04:09:26 PM

Title: Dublin 2011 to 2020 Those were the days my friend…..AKA COYBIB
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 17, 2021, 04:09:26 PM

Dublin 2011 to 2020 Ten Glorious Years.

The greatest Gaelic football team of all times. We're privileged to have lived through this era.

8 All Irelands
5 National Leagues
10 Leinster titles
Several record unbeaten runs
Dominated the All Star awards
Etc. etc. etc to name but a few ;D

Sit back and enjoy the journey  ;D

https://emea01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Ftwitter.com%2FTheSundayGame%2Fstatus%2F1427031942713778177%3Fs%3D08&data=04%7C01%7C%7C8a68813034974f506e8a08d96176c1da%7C84df9e7fe9f640afb435aaaaaaaaaaaa%7C1%7C0%7C637647984948063771%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=evhD9QU6fqfDFGIosNKJ2xabKcYxge2qvobZX5Qvs7I%3D&reserved=0
Title: Re: Dublin 2011 to 2020 Those were the days my friend…..AKA COYBIB
Post by: armaghniac on August 17, 2021, 04:22:53 PM
The nightmare is over. Let's hope we get rid of Covid too.
Post by: whitey on August 17, 2021, 04:24:18 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on August 17, 2021, 04:09:26 PM

The greatest Gaelic football team of all times. We're privileged to have lived through this era.

8 All Irelands
5 National Leagues
10 Leinster titles

https://emea01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Ftwitter.com%2FTheSundayGame%2Fstatus%2F1427031942713778177%3Fs%3D08&data=04%7C01%7C%7C8a68813034974f506e8a08d96176c1da%7C84df9e7fe9f640afb435aaaaaaaaaaaa%7C1%7C0%7C637647984948063771%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=evhD9QU6fqfDFGIosNKJ2xabKcYxge2qvobZX5Qvs7I%3D&reserved=0

It's a pity they let themselves down so badly on Saturday night. Wonder if they swept out the dressing room after the game?
Post by: yellowcard on August 17, 2021, 04:26:13 PM
I expect that history will be kind to that Dublin side and the incredible decade of dominance. I loved the colour, the atmosphere and brilliant football that the Dubs brought at the beginning but in the latter years it had become stale and boring and the style of football had gone the same way. But it shouldn't be forgotten that near the beginning they were the antithesis of Jimmy McGuinness pukeball.

I think they might struggle to win All Irelands for the next few years. I'd expect players like McCarthy, Fitzsimmons, Cooper and possibly one or two others to call it a day. You don't shell out so many leaders and winners in such a short space of time and just continue on the success. Will the other remaining top level players retain their motivation having done it all already, who knows. I would think that it is a complete rebuild job and I don't see the pool of talent coming through. They will be back again in a few years due to sheer weight of numbers but if I'm Meath, Kildare or Offaly I am now looking at having a realistic target of winning Leinster in the next 3-4 years. 
Post by: imtommygunn on August 17, 2021, 04:50:17 PM
The thing I found with them was that they had made football about "the process". If you look at project management and things like risk assessment that is how they played. They continually recycled the ball until they had a shooting chance which they felt they were certain to score. That is what leads to the incessant handpassing. Kick passes etc would only be given whenever they were sure the man was in the right position and they could deliver it precisely. You could see from earlier on against Meath and even Kildare despite the end scoreline that the process and their risk assessments etc were on the wane. Even boys like Fenton were kicking balls short and kicking silly wides. That would just never have happened under Gavin.

They are absolutely fantastic don't get me wrong but it had reached the point where I didn't enjoy most of their games. I just felt the above had taken some of the enjoyment out of it. I am not sure I fully enjoy Limerick either if I'm honest in the hurling as I think that is a direction they are heading.
Post by: Rossfan on August 17, 2021, 05:01:32 PM
The rest of us had better make the most of the next few years because they'll be back round the top again unless they go totally amateur and just select an oul panel every January and let them at it.
Even during their down period they'll likely be knocking around the AI Semis at least.
2018, 2019 and 2020 were 3 absolutely boring Championships such was their dominance.

1 Defeat in Leinster in 17 years!!
4 Defeats in AI in 12 years!
Post by: yellowcard on August 17, 2021, 05:13:50 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 17, 2021, 04:50:17 PM
The thing I found with them was that they had made football about "the process". If you look at project management and things like risk assessment that is how they played. They continually recycled the ball until they had a shooting chance which they felt they were certain to score. That is what leads to the incessant handpassing. Kick passes etc would only be given whenever they were sure the man was in the right position and they could deliver it precisely. You could see from earlier on against Meath and even Kildare despite the end scoreline that the process and their risk assessments etc were on the wane. Even boys like Fenton were kicking balls short and kicking silly wides. That would just never have happened under Gavin.

They are absolutely fantastic don't get me wrong but it had reached the point where I didn't enjoy most of their games. I just felt the above had taken some of the enjoyment out of it. I am not sure I fully enjoy Limerick either if I'm honest in the hurling as I think that is a direction they are heading.

Good post and I'd agree with all of that especially how everything became risk assessed and playing the percentages. There was very little room for off the cuff football and it became an era of over coaching which filtered its way down to the club game as a result of their success. Robotic, slow possession based build ups became the norm and it was time for a change. To be fair to Dessie Farrell this style of play had already taken hold during Jim Gavin's reign.

I also agree with your point about Limerick, I find them very process orientated and coach driven. Between those 2 set ups I reckon there are anywhere between 40-50 backroom team members.   
Post by: J70 on August 17, 2021, 05:38:08 PM
Agree about the process and how boring it had become. Switched on the game at the weekend at half time in Liverpool's game, and watched the last six or seven minutes of the first half. I think the part I saw went from Dubs 9-2 up to 10-3 up. I couldn't even make it to half time before I switched it off. Just the Dubs robotically throwing the ball across midfield, holding possession for its own sake.

Honestly, I found it every bit as boring as the ultra-defensive shite from five years ago, and not that much different. In those times, teams were going back and forth across the field vainly trying to punch holes in the opposition's line across the 45. In the case of the Dubs, they had become a team which just played keep-ball once they got a few points up. Different motivations and different skill levels, but much the same in terms of actual viewing. At least in the case of the futile attempts to penetrate the 45s, teams would carry the ball into contact and turnovers and breaks would ensue. But there was zero excitement and suspense watching Dublin. It was just remorseless, dull, efficiency with the end result guaranteed months in advance. That Mayo showed the balls and the intensity and the bravery and the skill that they did to overcome it, this time, is to their absolute and unending credit (which I thankfully got to witness after Liverpool's game ended), but that doesn't change how boring Dublin games have been as a spectacle over the past few years.
Post by: Blowitupref on August 17, 2021, 05:41:28 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 17, 2021, 04:26:13 PM
I expect that history will be kind to that Dublin side and the incredible decade of dominance. I loved the colour, the atmosphere and brilliant football that the Dubs brought at the beginning but in the latter years it had become stale and boring and the style of football had gone the same way. But it shouldn't be forgotten that near the beginning they were the antithesis of Jimmy McGuinness pukeball.

I think they might struggle to win All Irelands for the next few years. I'd expect players like McCarthy, Fitzsimmons, Cooper and possibly one or two others to call it a day. You don't shell out so many leaders and winners in such a short space of time and just continue on the success. Will the other remaining top level players retain their motivation having done it all already, who knows. I would think that it is a complete rebuild job and I don't see the pool of talent coming through. They will be back again in a few years due to sheer weight of numbers but if I'm Meath, Kildare or Offaly I am now looking at having a realistic target of winning Leinster in the next 3-4 years.

To be fair Donegals brand of football in their 2012 All-Ireland win and 2014 semi final win against Dublin was far from puke.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 17, 2021, 06:28:35 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 17, 2021, 05:13:50 PM

Good post and I'd agree with all of that especially how everything became risk assessed and playing the percentages. There was very little room for off the cuff football and it became an era of over coaching which filtered its way down to the club game as a result of their success. Robotic, slow possession based build ups became the norm and it was time for a change. To be fair to Dessie Farrell this style of play had already taken hold during Jim Gavin's reign.

I also agree with your point about Limerick, I find them very process orientated and coach driven. Between those 2 set ups I reckon there are anywhere between 40-50 backroom team members.

Funny on that note I was looking at a photo of the Offaly squad etc from the u20s. They had some size of back room team. There must be some investment in them now too.

Agreed on that last point - Donegal played some great stuff under mcguinness. He hadn't them fit enough to do the counter attacking in the first year hence the dirge they played. Once they got the fitness then they were good to watch. It's just that the 2011 semi final has left most people scarred and tainted it. In 2014 final Kerry weren't far off as bad as that.
Post by: BennyCake on August 17, 2021, 06:53:31 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 17, 2021, 05:13:50 PM

Yeah I agree.  That rugby league/sideways football would bore the hole off ye. Can't warm to Limericks Hurling either
Post by: hoynevalley on August 17, 2021, 07:52:46 PM

It impossible to score points off the cuff when 15 lads defending and standing in scoring zones. Unfortunately the hand pass was more effective way to draw players. When the dubs overdone the high passing in their own half this year Kerry in league and Mayo second half pressed aggressively overturning the ball. The blanket defence has been the scourge of Gaelic football.  Teams 5/6 happy to sit back despite losing
Post by: seafoid on August 17, 2021, 09:11:31 PM
Glad it's over for now. I was happy for the Dibs in 2011. They proceeded to tear  the arse out of it.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 17, 2021, 10:22:53 PM
Be remembered as a great team who won  8 All- Ireland in 10yrs, the weekend games which was pure dirt from them, doesn't shade over the great team and scoring threat they had over the years. The fact that only Mayo really put it up to them I think lifted the standard of that same Mayo Team.
Post by: TheGreatest on August 18, 2021, 09:34:23 AM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on August 17, 2021, 04:09:26 PM

8 All Irelands
5 National Leagues
10 Leinster titles

Very good, memories around for a long time, even in 20, 30, 50 years, people will be looking back in awe at the greatest team of all time, in any sport... !
Post by: RedHand88 on August 18, 2021, 12:18:06 PM
I think the behaviour at the weekend will always leave an asterix over this Dublin team, not to mention the fact they are given a bye to the latter stages of the championship every single year.
Post by: Armagh18 on August 18, 2021, 12:20:14 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 18, 2021, 12:18:06 PM
I think the behaviour at the weekend will always leave an asterix over this Dublin team, not to mention the fact they are given a bye to the latter stages of the championship every single year.
I highly doubt it will. Try harder at this fishing craic, Dublin are angels compared to the good Tyrone teams back in the day.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 18, 2021, 12:28:42 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on August 18, 2021, 12:20:14 PM
I highly doubt it will. Try harder at this fishing craic, Dublin are angels compared to the good Tyrone teams back in the day.

Do tyrone live rent free in every armagh man's head or just yours? It's been nearly two decades since armagh give tyrone a game, get over it  ::)
Post by: Armagh18 on August 18, 2021, 12:39:54 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 18, 2021, 12:28:42 PM

Do tyrone live rent free in every armagh man's head or just yours? It's been nearly two decades since armagh give tyrone a game, get over it  ::)
Only slagging sure nice boys win f**k all as they say. We're getting closer but yous are improving as well unfortunately. Would love to play ye in Ulster next year.
Post by: toby47 on August 18, 2021, 12:42:30 PM
Anyone want to pick the best 15 made up of dublin players from 2010-2020?
Post by: Armagh18 on August 18, 2021, 12:45:53 PM
Quote from: toby47 on August 18, 2021, 12:42:30 PM
Cluxton, Fenton, Rock, McCarthy, McCaffrey, Brogan, Rock and Con all nailed on. Probably forgot an obvious one or two. Thats not a simple question.
Post by: maddog on August 18, 2021, 12:46:55 PM

2 decades ? See to remember a very average Armagh side knocking Tyrone out in Omagh in 2014. Tyrone would love to think we hate them. We dont. We reserve any bad feeling we have for the red and black. I kind of like Tyrone. Get over it.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 18, 2021, 12:49:41 PM
Defense easier than attack. That's a hard selection to be honest...

Cluxton
Fitzsimmons
O'Carroll
McMahon
Small
O'Sullivan
McCaffrey
Fenton
McCarthy
Connolly
Kilkenny
Flynn
Bernard Brogan
O'Callaghan
Dean Rock
Post by: RedHand88 on August 18, 2021, 12:52:02 PM
Quote from: maddog on August 18, 2021, 12:46:55 PM

2 decades ? See to remember a very average Armagh side knocking Tyrone out in Omagh in 2014. Tyrone would love to think we hate them. We dont. We reserve any bad feeling we have for the red and black. I kind of like Tyrone. Get over it.

Forgot about 2014 actually. We never got going that day at all.
Post by: BennyCake on August 18, 2021, 12:54:19 PM

That 2014 qualifier win in Omagh obviously doesn't count then?  ;)

Edit: just seen maddog already touched on this.
Post by: BennyCake on August 18, 2021, 12:56:57 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 18, 2021, 12:52:02 PM
Quote from: maddog on August 18, 2021, 12:46:55 PM

Forgot about 2014 actually. We never got going that day at all.

Ah right, well that's alright then. We won't count that one. Two decades it is then  ;D
Post by: toby47 on August 18, 2021, 12:57:13 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on August 18, 2021, 12:45:53 PM
Cluxton, Fenton, Rock, McCarthy, McCaffrey, Brogan, Rock and Con all nailed on. Probably forgot an obvious one or two. Thats not a simple question.

I'd have Cluxton, Paul Flynn, Philly McMahon, Fenton, McCaffrey, McCarthy, Cian O'Sullivan, Brogan, Kilkenny & Rock in the group that are nailed on.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 18, 2021, 01:05:26 PM
You'd have to have Connolly in there too and MDMA.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 18, 2021, 01:08:29 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 18, 2021, 12:49:41 PM

Cluxton
Fitzsimmons
O'Carroll
McMahon
Small
O'Sullivan
McCaffrey
Fenton
McCarthy
Connolly
Kilkenny
Flynn
Bernard Brogan
O'Callaghan
Dean Rock

It's not easy to pick a better one than that.
Post by: Rawhide on August 18, 2021, 01:12:53 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on August 18, 2021, 01:08:29 PM

Cluxton
Fitzsimmons
O'Carroll
McMahon
Small
O'Sullivan
McCaffrey
Fenton
McCarthy
Connolly
Kilkenny
Flynn
Bernard Brogan
O'Callaghan
Dean Rock

Did that 15 every actually played together? Don't think it as Flynn & O Carroll had gone before Con arrived?
Post by: yellowcard on August 18, 2021, 01:14:38 PM

Cluxton
Fitzsimmons
O'Carroll
McMahon
Small
O'Sullivan
McCaffrey
Fenton
McCarthy
Connolly
Kilkenny
Flynn
Bernard Brogan
O'Callaghan
Dean Rock

Cooper for O'Carroll, the rest it's hard to argue with.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 18, 2021, 01:15:17 PM
2011 Kerry
2012 Donegal
2013 Mayo
2014 Kerry
2015 Dublin
2016 Mayo
2017 Mayo
2018 Dublin
2019 Kerry
2020 Dublin

The way All-Ireland role of honour could have been the last ten years however Kerry, Mayo found ways to lose the 2011, 2013,2016,2017,2019 finals more than Dublin won them.
Post by: Knock Yer Mucker In on August 18, 2021, 01:18:39 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 18, 2021, 01:15:17 PM
2011 Kerry
2012 Donegal
2013 Mayo
2014 Kerry
2015 Dublin
2016 Mayo
2017 Mayo
2018 Dublin
2019 Kerry
2020 Dublin

The way All-Ireland role of honour could have been the last ten years however Kerry, Mayo found ways to lose the 2011, 2013,2016,2017,2019 finals more than Dublin won them.

good grief :o

reminds me of the very famous quote, the more I practise the luckier I get.
Post by: TheGreatest on August 18, 2021, 01:59:23 PM
2011 Kerry
2012 Donegal
2013 Mayo
2014 Kerry
2015 Dublin
2016 Mayo
2017 Mayo
2018 Dublin
2019 Kerry
2020 Dublin

::) ;D ;D

Post by: imtommygunn on August 18, 2021, 02:16:05 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 18, 2021, 01:14:38 PM

Cluxton
Fitzsimmons
O'Carroll
McMahon
Small
O'Sullivan
McCaffrey
Fenton
McCarthy
Connolly
Kilkenny
Flynn
Bernard Brogan
O'Callaghan
Dean Rock

Cooper for O'Carroll, the rest it's hard to argue with.

Wasn't a fan of Cooper's but then he was at stuff I wasn't a fan of so maybe just put me off him.

;D Lucky in all but two of them.

I think now we are seeing how good Jim Gavin was. Also though there was one of those AIs Mayo should have won and it would have been down to Gavin. The years have kind of blurred into one for me but he started a forward line without 3 of their best guys and they came on second half and rescued them.
Post by: Gael85 on August 18, 2021, 02:19:55 PM

Cluxton
Cooper
O'Carroll
Philly
McCarthy
O'Sullivan
McCaffrey
MDMA
Fenton
Flynn
Kilkenny
Connolly
Mannion
Rock
Bernard Brogan

Tough one to leave out Con and Fitzsimons . Put Mannion in for left footer and Dean to take frees. Con if plays on 2019 will go down as one the greats. Rory was better full back and Cooper and McMahon probably marked higher calibre of players than Fitzy in AI finals. Fitzy get better with age.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 18, 2021, 02:49:18 PM
2011 Kerry
2012 Donegal
2013 Mayo
2014 Kerry
2015 Dublin
2016 Mayo
2017 Mayo
2018 Dublin
2019 Kerry
2020 Dublin

Kerry got their fair share of luck in 2014!
Post by: Gold on August 19, 2021, 12:47:12 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on August 18, 2021, 02:19:55 PM

Cluxton
Cooper
O'Carroll
Philly
McCarthy
O'Sullivan
McCaffrey
MDMA
Fenton
Flynn
Kilkenny
Connolly
Mannion
Rock
Bernard Brogan

Tough one to leave out Con and Fitzsimons . Put Mannion in for left footer and Dean to take frees. Con if plays on 2019 will go down as one the greats. Rory was better full back and Cooper and McMahon probably marked higher calibre of players than Fitzy in AI finals. Fitzy get better with age.

Cluxton

Cooper
Mick Fitz

John Small
McCarthy
O'Sullivan
McCaffrey

MDMA
Fenton

Flynn
Alan Brogan
Connolly

Mannion
Con
Bernard Brogan

Kev Mac 1st sub in.

Dubs don't play with 3 in FB line either...no team ever keeps 3 up against them.

While I was bored watching their Jogball (jog and handpass to the D then tap over) I was always intrigued at how they all went forward...and left 1 on 1 at the back usually....no team ever cottoned on to banging a ball in 1 on 1 from 60yards or more out immediately after a turnover (not that the Dubs were often turned over

Post by: StPatsAbu on August 19, 2021, 12:52:46 AM
Here you go

Cuxton + B€rtie
Cooper + B€rtie
O'Carroll + B€rtie
Philly + B€rtie
McCarthy + B€rtie
O'Sullivan + B€rtie
McCaffrey + B€rtie
MDMA + B€rtie
Fenton + B€rtie
Flynn + B€rtie
Kilkenny + B€rtie
Connolly + B€rtie
Mannion + Bertie
Rock + B€rtie
Bernard Brogan + B€rtie

Post by: TheGreatest on August 19, 2021, 07:27:43 AM
Quote from: StPatsAbu on August 19, 2021, 12:52:46 AM
Here you go

Cuxton + B€rtie
Cooper + B€rtie
O'Carroll + B€rtie
Philly + B€rtie
McCarthy + B€rtie
O'Sullivan + B€rtie
McCaffrey + B€rtie
MDMA + B€rtie
Fenton + B€rtie
Flynn + B€rtie
Kilkenny + B€rtie
Connolly + B€rtie
Mannion + Bertie
Rock + B€rtie
Bernard Brogan + B€rtie

;D ;D ;D i love it
Post by: Gael85 on August 19, 2021, 08:11:05 AM
Quote from: Gold on August 19, 2021, 12:47:12 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on August 18, 2021, 02:19:55 PM

Cluxton
Cooper
O'Carroll
Philly
McCarthy
O'Sullivan
McCaffrey
MDMA
Fenton
Flynn
Kilkenny
Connolly
Mannion
Rock
Bernard Brogan

Cluxton

Cooper
Mick Fitz

John Small
McCarthy
O'Sullivan
McCaffrey

MDMA
Fenton

Flynn
Alan Brogan
Connolly

Mannion
Con
Bernard Brogan

Kev Mac 1st sub in.

Dubs don't play with 3 in FB line either...no team ever keeps 3 up against them.

While I was bored watching their Jogball (jog and handpass to the D then tap over) I was always intrigued at how they all went forward...and left 1 on 1 at the back usually....no team ever cottoned on to banging a ball in 1 on 1 from 60yards or more out immediately after a turnover (not that the Dubs were often turned over

Alan Brogan wasn't at best 2010-2015. Player of year in 2011 but bar that played best football in the noughties.  We def be team 2000-2001.
Post by: seafoid on August 19, 2021, 10:08:58 AM
If the ratio of greatness is #Sams/Cost of winning them, the Dubs look bad
Post by: Armagh18 on August 19, 2021, 10:28:16 AM
Anyone want to try and pick a non dub team of the decade to beat them?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 19, 2021, 01:31:16 PM
That is a tough one. Would include quite a few Mayo and Kerry, Michael murphy, Conor McManus and a few Tyrone ones. (Keegan, murphy, McManus the certs )

How is cian O'Sullivan remembered? Mixed feelings on him. Sometimes brilliant and at other times woeful.
Post by: yellowcard on August 19, 2021, 02:00:09 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on August 19, 2021, 10:28:16 AM
Anyone want to try and pick a non dub team of the decade to beat them?

1. Beggan
2. Higgins
3. McGee
4. M O'Se
5. Keegan
6. Boyle
7. R McHugh
8. Moran
9. Gallagher
10. Donnelly
11. Murphy
12. McLoughlin
13. McManus
14. Geaney
15. Moran

Post by: trueblue1234 on August 19, 2021, 02:02:48 PM
Cooper, Lacey,, Cavanagh, O Donogue, McHugh, C'OC, Petey Harte, A'OShea, Andy Moran all there or there about.
Post by: Armagh18 on August 19, 2021, 02:36:32 PM
Probably Mayo 2016 and 17 plus McManus and Beggan?
Post by: thewobbler on August 19, 2021, 04:00:17 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on August 19, 2021, 02:02:48 PM
Cooper, Lacey,, Cavanagh, O Donogue, McHugh, C'OC, Petey Harte, A'OShea, Andy Moran all there or there about.

O'Donaghue? Seriously?

Post by: trueblue1234 on August 19, 2021, 04:11:18 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 19, 2021, 04:00:17 PM

O'Donaghue? Seriously?

He was fantastic in the early part. He had 2-3 seasons up there with any of them. Maybe not as long lived as some of they but I remember him being brilliant.
Post by: The good doctor on August 19, 2021, 08:25:12 PM
It's like the East German world records you see in athletics, it's like Michelle Smith with her heap of medals from the Olympics, it's like Lance Armstrong with his 7 Tour De France wins. No matter what, any Dublin team this century will always be associated with financial doping.
Post by: hoynevalley on August 19, 2021, 09:28:42 PM
Quote from: The good doctor on August 19, 2021, 08:25:12 PM
It's like the East German world records you see in athletics, it's like Michelle Smith with her heap of medals from the Olympics, it's like Lance Armstrong with his 7 Tour De France wins. No matter what, any Dublin team this century will always be associated with financial doping.

Welcome on board Ewan!
Post by: hoynevalley on August 19, 2021, 09:41:43 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on August 19, 2021, 04:11:18 PM

O'Donaghue? Seriously?

He was fantastic in the early part. He had 2-3 seasons up there with any of them. Maybe not as long lived as some of they but I remember him being brilliant.

O'Donoghue was class. Never same after his shoulder popped against kildare in 2015. Read somewhere shoulder kept popping out after that. Never got run of games after that.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 19, 2021, 10:35:28 PM
Quote from: hoynevalley on August 19, 2021, 09:41:43 PM

O'Donaghue? Seriously?

O'Donoghue was class. Never same after his shoulder popped against kildare in 2015. Read somewhere shoulder kept popping out after that. Never got run of games after that.

In the 2014 AI semi v Mayo. O'Donohue and Donaghy were untouchable...............You laid a finger on them and it was a free. Cormac Reilly's assists were incredible that evening.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 19, 2021, 10:39:34 PM

O'Donaghue? Seriously?

O'D had this move where he did the stop start. He was quicker than most over the first 2-3 steps so he could get his shot away and very difficult to mark one on one. Most markers were already beaten as soon as he had the ball in his hands.
Keith Higgins was one of the few that could live with him over the first couple of steps and they had some epic battles.

Was robbed of a lot of his best years due to injury and I felt when he didn't have that explosive burst towards the end he looked a bit lost.

Wouldn't have him in the 'best of the rest fifteen' though
Post by: trueblue1234 on August 19, 2021, 11:04:05 PM

O'Donaghue? Seriously?

I honestly thought during those first few years he'd be the natural successor for Cooper. But burned out to quickly. As a man with multiple shoulder dislocations myself it can badly effect you in the head as well.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 20, 2021, 12:45:40 AM
Quote from: The good doctor on August 19, 2021, 08:25:12 PM

Quite right.  We made sure to lose this one with our weak bench solely to discredit the "funding-driven-talent-conveyor-belt" argument. 

We'll show our true strength in depth bench next season.

...or will it be the following one.....?
Post by: johnnycool on August 20, 2021, 10:03:00 AM

I hear where you're coming from and would agree with most of what you say but that shouldn't take away from the skill levels required to "execute" these processes. Fenton, Cluxton, O'Callaghan, Rock's and quite a few others are almost once in a generation players IMO and that shouldn't be taken away from them and their achievements. The fact that in a lot of their games the result was never in doubt isn't their problem. We saw the same with the Kilkenny hurlers in their pomp who physically pommeled their opponents yet had the skill to finish the job when required.

Limerick to my mind are the same and that was re-enforced in the 2020 Munster final when their stickwork in torrential rain was superior to Tipp's and we think of Tipp as being the benchmark for stickwork and wristy hurlers. Limerick bettered them that day in that regard also. They could be coming into the midpoint of their cycle but I do hope Cork and some other counties kick on and make these championships competitive unlike hurling during the Kilkenny era and football during the Dublin era.

Post by: Rossfan on August 20, 2021, 11:19:35 AM
Now that Cork have their development systems working they have started to reap the benefits (in all 3 Hurling Finals) .
Ye  can expect they with their numbers will dominate the hurling world for some time. Might be next year before it happens at Senior though.
Post by: johnnycool on August 20, 2021, 11:44:37 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 20, 2021, 11:19:35 AM
Now that Cork have their development systems working they have started to reap the benefits (in all 3 Hurling Finals) .
Ye  can expect they with their numbers will dominate the hurling world for some time. Might be next year before it happens at Senior though.

Can't see them dominating as Limerick are a young team themselves and won't go quietly into the night.

I could live with Cork and Limerick tearing at it for a few years though. It's the monopolies that are bad for any sport.

Post by: Rossfan on August 20, 2021, 12:03:10 PM
Duoplies aren't much fun either :-\ if you're one of the other 30.
Playing in the  AI football Final has become a "Quadropoly" since 2014 and not much sign of anyone else breaking ut up.
Post by: tonto1888 on August 21, 2021, 09:48:28 AM
Any truth in those WhatsApp messages doing the rounds
Post by: smort on August 21, 2021, 09:57:47 AM
What are they?
Post by: FearAnFhírinne on August 21, 2021, 10:40:59 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on August 21, 2021, 09:48:28 AM
Any truth in those WhatsApp messages doing the rounds
share the wealth. I've heard some mutterings but not seen the messages myself.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on August 21, 2021, 10:52:05 AM
I am sure there are some bits added fro dramatic effect. Like the two Small brothers sneering Cluxton and Cluxton in turn getting annoyed with Dessie...BUT

The general gist is that Cluxton was raging after the training breach, with lads who are teachers and front line workers who should not be doing this. Obviously takes the role model thing v seriously.

Now I have heard that Cluxton from a few he did leave over the training ban and they were keeping it qt. Also told that some of the lads went back to try to get Mannion back in but he didn't want it.

Told by one lad who I would trust Dessie is safe and others saying he might not come back.

But yeah that's the WhatsApp flying around.
Post by: FearAnFhírinne on August 21, 2021, 11:06:42 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on August 21, 2021, 10:52:05 AM
I am sure there are some bits added fro dramatic effect. Like the two Small brothers sneering Cluxton and Cluxton in turn getting annoyed with Dessie...BUT

The general gist is that Cluxton was raging after the training breach, with lads who are teachers and front line workers who should not be doing this. Obviously takes the role model thing v seriously.

Now I have heard that Cluxton from a few he did leave over the training ban and they were keeping it qt. Also told that some of the lads went back to try to get Mannion back in but he didn't want it.

Told by one lad who I would trust Dessie is safe and others saying he might not come back.

Have you heard about the Ballymun vs na Fianna issue on the captaincy?. That seems to be quite outrageous.
Post by: tonto1888 on August 21, 2021, 11:53:19 AM
Quote from: FearAnFhírinne on August 21, 2021, 11:06:42 AM

Have you heard about the Ballymun vs na Fianna issue on the captaincy?. That seems to be quite outrageous.

That was also in these messages
Post by: From the Bunker on August 21, 2021, 12:26:41 PM
The one thing I do admire from modern day inter-county squads is the confidentiality that is kept within the group.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 21, 2021, 12:48:49 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 21, 2021, 12:26:41 PM
The one thing I do admire from modern day inter-county squads is the confidentiality that is kept within the group.

Have thought this myself. Must be drilled into them om day 1. First rule of fight club.
Post by: Hound on August 23, 2021, 08:32:42 AM

The WhatsApp is a complete fabrication.
However, the rumour about Cluxton leaving due to the training incident has been flying around for a long while. No idea if true or not.
Cooper was next in line for captaincy under Gavin, can't see that causing concern.
Post by: TheGreatest on August 23, 2021, 09:17:30 AM
Quote from: Hound on August 23, 2021, 08:32:42 AM

However, the rumour about Cluxton leaving due to the training incident has been flying around for a long while. No idea if true or not.
Cooper was next in line for captaincy under Gavin, can't see that causing concern.

Was James McCarthy not captain in the absence of Cluxton under Jim?
Post by: Hound on August 23, 2021, 10:33:59 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on August 23, 2021, 09:17:30 AM
Quote from: Hound on August 23, 2021, 08:32:42 AM

Was James McCarthy not captain in the absence of Cluxton under Jim?
Only when Cooper was injured as far as I know. Cooper lifted Leinster trophy when Cluxton missed the Leinster final one year previously
Post by: Rossfan on August 23, 2021, 11:07:29 AM
Joe has it sussed
.https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-went-through-the-motions-against-mayo-they-are-bored-40774652.html
Post by: larryin89 on August 23, 2021, 06:23:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 23, 2021, 11:07:29 AM
Joe has it sussed
.https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dublin-went-through-the-motions-against-mayo-they-are-bored-40774652.html

Amazing how joe can just do a 360 from pre match to post match , he is a complete spoofer . Jimmy sloyan is more informative .

Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 23, 2021, 09:06:49 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 20, 2021, 12:03:10 PM
Duoplies aren't much fun either :-\ if you're one of the other 30.
Playing in the  AI football Final has become a "Quadropoly" since 2014 and not much sign of anyone else breaking ut up.

Same as it ever was ....
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 25, 2021, 10:35:39 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 23, 2021, 06:23:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 23, 2021, 11:07:29 AM
Joe has it sussed

Amazing how joe can just do a 360 from pre match to post match , he is a complete spoofer . Jimmy sloyan is more informative .

sure if he did a 360 he'd be back facing the same way!!!