GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: twohands!!! on April 13, 2016, 10:44:58 PM

Title: Minors 2016
Post by: twohands!!! on April 13, 2016, 10:44:58 PM
There were 3 games in Munster tonight.

Kerry   2-21        Waterford   1-2   
Clare           0-9        Limerick   1-5   
Cork           1-14        Tipperary   1-11

Tipperary play Limerick and the winner of that play Waterford and the winners of that play Cork in one semi-final.

Kerry play Clare in the other semi-final.

2-17 of that total from Kerry came from play and they have a chunk of players from the Hogan Cup winning team so you'd imagine they will be fairly serious contenders again this year.
Title: Re: Minors 2016
Post by: tippabu on April 13, 2016, 10:50:46 PM
Good fight put in by our lads, especially considering co board are helping to try keep football down in the county
Post by: AZOffaly on April 13, 2016, 10:51:28 PM
Tipperary seriously hamstrung by the minor hurling managers decree that he would not pick any dual players. Still have a chance via the back door, but they really need all their players to be contenders.
Post by: galwayman on April 13, 2016, 10:59:05 PM
Would Tipp be down many players as a result of that stance from the minor hurling management?
Post by: AZOffaly on April 13, 2016, 10:59:47 PM
I would say at least 4 or 5 including 3 or 4 that were part of the team last year.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 13, 2016, 11:13:51 PM
Ah, that's what you are up against in dual counties! Another conundrum! I suppose at least there's no player burn-out!  :-\
Post by: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 11:46:30 PM
How will Connacht pan out?
We're fecked - play Sligo on a Saturday, winners play Galway 4 days later.
Burn out how are ya? :o 
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 14, 2016, 09:40:56 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 11:46:30 PM

That's preposterous!
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 14, 2016, 10:56:41 PM
I think its only right a county minor player should be specialising and not doing the dual thing

Most of them are doing the leaving or college exams and don't need to be playing on two county squads
Post by: AZOffaly on April 14, 2016, 10:58:10 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 14, 2016, 10:56:41 PM
I think its only right a county minor player should be specialising and not doing the dual thing

Most of them are doing the leaving or college exams and don't need to be playing on two county squads

It should be up to them though and not forced on them. Minors are well able to do it, especially first year minors.
Post by: galwayman on April 14, 2016, 11:37:50 PM
I don't ever remember Connacht minor championship games played on a Wednesday evening before.
Connacht is hard to call.i don't think there's much between Galway,Mayo,Ros & Sligo.
Results in the league all over the shop but there was a lot of experimentation going on so its hard to know where teams stand.
We have a decent side on paper but all depends how they gel I guess.
The Sligo performance last week was disappointing
Post by: Syferus on April 15, 2016, 12:38:25 AM
Quote from: galwayman on April 14, 2016, 11:37:50 PM
I don't ever remember Connacht minor championship games played on a Wednesday evening before.
Connacht is hard to call.i don't think there's much between Galway,Mayo,Ros & Sligo.
Results in the league all over the shop but there was a lot of experimentation going on so its hard to know where teams stand.

Big advantage for the maroon galacticos (Galway people seem to have extremely high hopes for this crop) to have their opponents gassed by playing a championship match four days beforehand.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 15, 2016, 09:28:39 AM
Speaking of Minors - I thought this was very interesting - people can point the finger at the Wicklow County Board but ultimately it all comes down to finance. One thing for sure is there is a distinct lack of leadership in the GAA when it comes to promoting Hurling in particular outside the traditional strongholds.

Wicklow People

QuoteToday we received a letter from three of the Wicklow Minor hurlers who played for their county against Meath last Saturday in Arklow. Wicklow were beaten by 10-22 to 0-07.
The three hurlers, Steven Coogan, Bryan Kearney, and Padraig O'Toole deserve massive credit for writing this heartfelt and honest letter, which highlights the difficulties young hurlers in Wicklow face.
Fair play, lads!

14/April/2016
Dear Editor,
As players who took part in the minor hurling match against Meath on Saturday the 9th of April, we would like to respond to the media coverage of our team in the Wicklow People on Wednesday 13th April. Brendan Lawrence's article 'A Broken System' makes for sorry reading. He suggests if we hadn't returned to the pitch for the second half of the match, it would have caused a media sensation where "some of the players might have had a pop and made a stand or statement". Well, here's our statement.
Lawrence correctly points out all that is currently wrong with the current minor hurling team; lack of numbers, the late appointment of a manager, insufficient coaches and the general lack of interest from other officials who should support our team. But the story goes even deeper than that.
Our team have had a grand total of three training sessions this year. While the minor football team train on Saturday mornings, the hurlers are left with Sunday morning sessions which players have regularly noted is not nearly as suitable a time. The minor footballers also benefit from a second training session mid-week but the minor hurlers have received no such attention. The discrimination against the hurlers is real and it is a failure of the County Board in particular and the GAA in general. it is somewhat encouraging that Michael Neary recognised this fact when he stated our group 'has been seriously let down by many sections of the association'.
The excuse has been offered that a manager won't commit when only ten to fifteen players show up to training but as Lawrence correctly points out, "players won't commit to a setup they don't believe in". And yet nineteen players showed up and committed their time on Saturday morning. Nineteen young men, including ourselves, who are all busy preparing for the Leaving Certificate in the next two years; young men who must balance school, and often a part time job, with their commitment to sport. Young men who, unlike many of their friends, stayed in Friday night and missed social occasions to be ready to play Saturday morning, despite the fact no real commitment has been shown by the Wicklow County Board officials. As Neary mentioned, the appointment of a manager wasn't even given due consideration but rather was a casual affair to ensure the county board could 'tick yet another box'.
Lawrence noted that the players that showed up on Saturday had none of the "competitive spirit, energy, vitality, humour and cheekiness" of the minor football teams but how could we? We have committed to a team that not one person from the county board will support effectively.
Martin Coleman's reaction states that they have put "as much resources as humanly possible into all county teams this year". But that statement is simply not true. While the minor footballers benefit from new gear, an appointed manager, a team of coaches and sufficient training time, the same is not true for minor hurlers.
Brendan Lawrence questions what would have happened if "the young players had collectively come to a decision to not finish the match". Perhaps the reaction would have been great and we would have received more coverage nationally than is currently the case. But the fact is, not one of our players considered such a move. We committed to playing for our county team and that is what we did. We don't quit, we don't walk away. We are committed and above all, we are proud Wicklow men. We have pride in our clubs, pride in our school teams and we are proud to wear the Wicklow jersey. It's a real shame that the county board won't show the same commitment as the minor hurlers themselves.
Change must happen and it needs to happen now. The GAA has long been applauded as an organisation which supports the sporting development and achievement of young people in our country and we feel let down that the Wicklow County Board have failed us in this regard. Wicklow County Board must commit to ensure the future success of our county, our younger generation and our national sport as a whole.
Finally, we would like to thank the Wicklow People for their coverage of the issue and for highlighting the current situation, and above all, for empowering us to have our say in the matter.
Yours sincerely,
STEVEN COOGAN
BRYAN KEARNEY
PADRAIG O'TOOLE
Post by: AZOffaly on April 15, 2016, 09:56:44 AM
I read that. It's sad to see. I know there'd be similar stories around the country as well. As frustrated as we feel here in Tipp with co-existing on an equal footing with hurling, I have to say the County Board do the best they can, generally. And coming from Offaly, I can say the same. I would hate to be a hurling man in some of these counties, or a football man in Kilkenny.
Post by: ballinaman on April 15, 2016, 10:15:30 AM
Quote from: galwayman on April 14, 2016, 11:37:50 PM
Sligo are handy, few super players. Connacht championship wide open this year.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 15, 2016, 10:57:15 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2016, 11:46:30 PM
How is that decision fair? what the fck are Sligo or Roscommon county boards thinking? They should submit an objection now. We all know Connacht council and galway cb fixed it for a reason 4 days after. Even a weeks rest is a joke at this stage.

I remember last yr we beat Leitrim and had to play Roscommon 6 days later on Friday in kiltoom, I was raging a Friday, was a nightmare for me to get to from London but I was thinking more of recovery for the lads.

Also the Connacht final replay was played on Friday, I disagree strongly with this midweek or Friday BS, it affects attendances aswell so would love to hear the reasoning behind it.

The Connacht minor league experimented new rules and some of the results were nuts, but Sligo got stronger as it went on, as the Summerhill and Attractas men came in, some super talent coming through with 2 back to back good minor teams and just look at Kyle Cawleys performance for Sligo in NFL this year, worst draw possible so not sure how we will fare, its a tricky one, but it will take a good team to beat us. For certain this team should not be easily bet.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 15, 2016, 11:02:02 AM
Wow 4 days, with the final on the 10th July no reason to justify that, prob afraid of a replay somewhere there, they should bring forward the pre lim round before the leaving cert.

Pre Lim:         Saturday   25th June

A:  Sligo          v          Roscommon                Markievicz Park

Semi Finals

Wednesday  29th June

Galway            v          A                                 Markievicz Park/ Hyde Park

Leitrim            v          Mayo                           Carrick on Shannon

Final:   Sunday 10th July,        Replay 16th July
Post by: Rossfan on April 15, 2016, 11:11:54 AM
All to make sure the Minor Final can be played with the Senior one.
Tradition is much more important than a bunch of Sligo/Roscommon youngsters.
Hope its a draw after extra time and the semi final too >:(
Post by: galwayman on April 16, 2016, 12:27:20 PM
Yeah it's crazy alright.
I wouldn't be happy if it was Galway in the same position.
Minor teams don't seem to get much respect from the fixture makers anyway.
Games are routinely switched to suit double headers etc meaning teams that should have home advantage often have to forfeit it.
I've often suspected Prenty has too much influence on fixture making
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 16, 2016, 12:38:38 PM
Being set up for a Mayo v Galway final
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 16, 2016, 01:43:59 PM
Dublin 2-14 Offaly 1-7 FT
Post by: Rossfan on April 16, 2016, 02:12:47 PM
Quote from: galwayman on April 16, 2016, 12:27:20 PM

I've often suspected Prenty has too much influence

Fixed that for you! >:(
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 16, 2016, 03:36:24 PM
Westmeath 3-09 Longford 0-12 FT
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 16, 2016, 04:10:50 PM
Ciaran Kelly and Jimmy Hyland continuing their form from last year by the looks of it, Kildare leading 2-13 to 7.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 16, 2016, 04:26:39 PM
Kildare beat Wicklow 2-16 to 0-7, Kildare scoring 2-8 without reply in the last 25 mins or so. A bit of a collapse from Wicklow by the looks of it.
Post by: tippabu on April 16, 2016, 04:49:04 PM
Wexford 17-20 kilkenny 0-0
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 16, 2016, 04:49:34 PM
Jaysus
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 16, 2016, 04:52:17 PM
An absolute disgrace from Kilkenny to send out a bunch of kids to be slaughtered like that, surely something has to be done to ensure that doesn't happen again. Biggest scoreline I've ever seen at a football match anyway.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 16, 2016, 04:52:32 PM
Quote from: tippabu on April 16, 2016, 04:49:04 PM
Wexford 17-20 kilkenny 0-0
Well who would have thought Wexford Minor Hurlers would pull out that result?  :P
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 16, 2016, 05:22:25 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 16, 2016, 04:52:17 PM
An absolute disgrace from Kilkenny to send out a bunch of kids to be slaughtered like that, surely something has to be done to ensure that doesn't happen again. Biggest scoreline I've ever seen at a football match anyway.
And how strong would Wexford be at minor level this year?  Don't know how a County that can be so good at Hurling can then be so bad at football.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 16, 2016, 05:28:40 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 16, 2016, 05:22:25 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 16, 2016, 04:52:17 PM
And how strong would Wexford be at minor level this year?  Don't know how a County that can be so good at Hurling can then be so bad at football.

You answered it in one there!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 16, 2016, 05:50:03 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 16, 2016, 04:10:50 PM
Ciaran Kelly and Jimmy Hyland continuing their form from last year by the looks of it, Kildare leading 2-13 to 7.

Yeah they're sharp but Brian McLoughlin is a terrific foil for them. He was the provider for a lot of their scores today.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 16, 2016, 06:20:28 PM
Any other stand out performances?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 16, 2016, 08:07:01 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 16, 2016, 06:20:28 PM
Any other stand out performances?

The two midfielders were solid as was Sam Doran. The backs were never really under pressure. I got the impression Kildare had more in the tank.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 16, 2016, 08:11:06 PM
Good to hear, Wicklow probably a bit disappointing considering they have wins over Tipperary and Laois in the minor league this year.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 16, 2016, 08:26:22 PM
Wexford look a team to follow, but they won't get it as handy the next day.
Post by: ONeill on April 16, 2016, 09:28:46 PM
What's really going on there? Are Kilkenny purposely not trying or are they genuinely that shite?
Post by: galwayman on April 16, 2016, 09:43:19 PM
Kk football results are embarrassing to be sure.
But equally though if you were to take a county that is not strong at hurling and throw them into the minor A All Ireland hurling championship you'd get some serious whippings also.
Put a Sligo or Leitrim minor hurling team into a championship game against the likes of the Kilkenny or Galway minors and you'd have a big beating on your hands as well.
It's two sides of the same coin
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 16, 2016, 10:27:51 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 16, 2016, 09:28:46 PM
What's really going on there? Are Kilkenny purposely not trying or are they genuinely that shite?
Has to be purposely. Even shite teams wouldn't concede that much or go a full game without scoring.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 16, 2016, 10:56:35 PM
Mayo don't take part in the All Ireland Minor Hurling series. Either do Roscommon, Leitrim, Sligo. I'm fairly sure Five or six don't get the chance in Ulster. So before we get worried about a Annual All Ireland winner in hurling not doing well at football. Lets look at the reversal of the situation in our own county - and see how much we really care.
Post by: Syferus on April 16, 2016, 11:16:37 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 16, 2016, 10:56:35 PM
Mayo don't take part in the All Ireland Minor Hurling series. Either do Roscommon, Leitrim, Sligo. I'm fairly sure Five or six don't get the chance in Ulster. So before we get worried about a Annual All Ireland winner in hurling not doing well at football. Lets look at the reversal of the situation in our own county - and see how much we really care.

Here we give a hell of a lot more respect to hurling than Kilkenny does to football where they threat it as a bad joke. And I know for a fact how much it matters in Toreen and Ballyhaunis, so no, I don't really think there's any appropriate compassion for what Kilkenny are at.

There's a difference between not being A championship in a sport and giving it respect.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 16, 2016, 11:22:20 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 16, 2016, 11:16:37 PM

Here we give a hell of a lot more respect to hurling than Kilkenny does to football where they threat it as a bad joke. And I know for a fact how much it matters in Toreen and Ballyhaunis, so no, I don't really think there's any appropriate compassion for what Kilkenny are at.

There's a difference between not being A championship in a sport and giving it respect.

But there is no 'B' or 'C' Minor championship in Hurling? I mean if you threw all the counties named above into an 'A' Championship they would get hidings of a Tsunami proportion. I could easily see a Galway Minor team beat a Mayo Minor team at Hurling by 71 points! But because of the grading system in place we don't get to see this gap!
Post by: Syferus on April 16, 2016, 11:24:13 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 16, 2016, 11:22:20 PM

But there is no 'B' or 'C' Minor championship in Hurling? I mean if you threw all the counties named above into an 'A' Championship they would get hidings of a Tsunami proportion. I could easily see a Galway Minor team beat a Mayo Minor team at Hurling by 71 points! But because of the grading system in place we don't get to see this gap!

There is zero way a properly prepared team loses a match by 17-20 to no score. Kilkenny didn't want to know. Talk of B championships is avoiding the salient point - a B championship is not going to make a boorish, anti-football crowd like Kilkenny try any harder.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 16, 2016, 11:31:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 16, 2016, 11:24:13 PM

There is zero way a properly prepared team loses a match by 17-20 to no score. Kilkenny didn't want to know. Talk of B championships is avoiding the salient point - a B championship is not going to make a boorish, anti-football crowd like Kilkenny try any harder.

So what you are saying is that it's ok for Mayo and all of the rest mentioned above to hide away in a 'B' or 'C' Championship in Huring? But Kilkenny should get up to the mark and lose by about 10 to 15 points at best in an 'A' Championship?
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 16, 2016, 11:46:00 PM

I somewhat understand the point you are trying to make however it was Wexford that Kilkenny were playing a county that hasn't won a Leinster minor title since the 60s.
Post by: moysider on April 16, 2016, 11:50:37 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 16, 2016, 10:27:51 PM
Has to be purposely. Even shite teams wouldn't concede that much or go a full game without scoring.

Did lads go out and not try a leg at all on purpose? Cardboard cut-outs would probably do better. What kind of lads were togged at all?
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 17, 2016, 12:02:57 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 16, 2016, 11:50:37 PM

Did lads go out and not try a leg at all on purpose? Cardboard cut-outs would probably do better. What kind of lads were togged at all?
Kilkenny must have borrowed Dromintee's team of ringers from a couple of years ago. Absolute waste of time for all concerned.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 17, 2016, 12:39:06 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 16, 2016, 11:50:37 PM

Wexford scored 37 times in a 60-minute match. The KK kickouts must have been dreadful, the defending likewise, did midfield touch the ball, were they even trying?
Post by: Rossfan on April 17, 2016, 10:31:34 AM
Let them amalgamate with Carlow for football purposes.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 17, 2016, 05:05:17 PM
Embarrassing from Nicky Brennan
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=253691

Post by: muppet on April 17, 2016, 05:46:06 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on April 17, 2016, 05:05:17 PM
Embarrassing from Nicky Brennan
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=253691

Very embarrassing.

If they didn't bother with the hurling as well they could have the Taj Mahal of stadiums in Kilkenny.
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2016, 06:04:15 PM
We've got a hurling side in D2 of the national league and a football one in D1. Smaller than Kilkenny and with far less shadowy sponsors bankrolling things. I suppose Nicky Brennan would see that as more the fool us giving the second code its dues. How did that man lead the fûcking GAA.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 17, 2016, 06:09:08 PM
It's the same story every year. Kilkenny field a team for one 'match' and then pull out of their backdoor fixture. Drawing them in the first round is a big negative because you can end up facing a team who have built up momentum with three games under their belt in the quarter final and there is no safety net at that stage.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 17, 2016, 06:16:43 PM
Why are people so worried about Kilkenny football. What about poor Leitrim, Waterford, Wicklow, Antrim - to name but a few! Jez you'd swear that they fell from some heights to end up with yesterdays result. Don't you be worrying about Kilkenny, they'll more than likely have a lad up in the Hogan come September.
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2016, 06:17:19 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 17, 2016, 06:16:43 PM
Why are people so worried about Kilkenny football. What about poor Leitrim, Waterford, Wicklow, Antrim - to name but a few! Jez you'd swear that they fell from some heights to end up with yesterdays result. Don't you be worrying about Kilkenny, they'll more than likely have a lad up in the Hogan come September.

They're making a mockery of the sport pretty much everyone here loves.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 17, 2016, 06:51:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 17, 2016, 06:17:19 PM

And I suppose counties like Cavan are doing their bit for Hurling? Look Kilkenny don't care it's not in their blood! No more than Hurling is not in 99% of Mayo blood! This did not happen over night. It's just the way it is! Don't worry about it! Believe me Kilkenny don't worry about the state of Hurling in Connacht or Ulster. In fact I'd say they are quiet happy the way it is set up for them to beat a couple of heavy weights each year to win AI Glory.
Post by: Jinxy on April 17, 2016, 08:54:48 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 17, 2016, 06:51:37 PM

And I suppose counties like Cavan are doing their bit for Hurling? Look Kilkenny don't care it's not in their blood! No more than Hurling is not in 99% of Mayo blood! This did not happen over night. It's just the way it is! Don't worry about it! Believe me Kilkenny don't worry about the state of Hurling in Connacht or Ulster. In fact I'd say they are quiet happy the way it is set up for them to beat a couple of heavy weights each year to win AI Glory.

One of your best footballers also togs out for the county hurlers.
Imagine TJ Reid turning around to Cody and saying, "I'd love to give the oul football a go Brian... if that's okay with you."
Post by: Syferus on April 17, 2016, 09:00:17 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 17, 2016, 08:54:48 PM

Imagine TJ Reid turning around to Cody and saying, "I'd love to give the oul football a go Brian... if that's okay with you."

Ballyhaunis is a hurling first club too. Higgins would have had as much interest in the small ball as the big one growing up.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 17, 2016, 10:08:18 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 17, 2016, 09:00:17 PM

Ballyhaunis is a hurling first club too. Higgins would have had as much interest in the small ball as the big one growing up.

I don't doubt that Higgins is a good hurler. But the reality is that he is known as a footballer first and there is no choice when it come to who he lines out for come the Summer. There are 4 or 5 clubs in Mayo. Cashel Gaels, Moytura and Ballyvary have had a go at underage. But the hurdles you have to jump to keep a Hurling club going are many. The Biggest hurdle is the Local (Gaa) football club. They will take you on. You are a threat to players as much as Soccer, Rugby or what ever. Mayo bar pockets here and there care little about Hurling. I myself have rarely seen Mayo hurlers in action. Crowds at matches (I'm told) are small.
Post by: moysider on April 17, 2016, 10:21:07 PM

Ballina had a decent hurling scene some years ago. The local college won a Con. Colleges Senior at B or C back in the 90s  but there is no hurling there now. I don t think there is an adult hurling team this year in the town.
Some lads that were on the AI winning club football team 10 years ago played mainly hurling as kids. But as has been said it is an awful battle to keep it going.
Post by: Jinxy on April 17, 2016, 10:31:42 PM
Like all sports, there will be significant variations in standard from county to county in both hurling and football.
However, Kilkenny are the only county I can think of who cannot give ANYONE a game in football.
Lord knows we're not great at hurling but there are plenty of counties we can still compete with.
Imagine intercounty gaelic football was a cruise liner.
Some counties are in the 1st class cabins, some in 2nd class.
Some are sleeping in the corridors and some are drunk at the bar.
Some are adrift in lifeboats, desperately hoping the ship will turn around and pick them up.
Some are in the water, but they're swimming towards the lifeboats, hoping someone will pull them in.
And then you have Kilkenny, who are swimming away from the lifeboats with grim determination, ignoring all the cries to come back.
Desperately hoping a shark will come along and just them out of their misery.
Needless to say, Dublin are steering the boat.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 17, 2016, 10:35:07 PM
Ballina and Ballyvary get together to put out Minor and u-21 teams. Ballyvary have a great bunch of Volunteers. And are fighting a real up hill battle. I hope they survive but it's a tough slog!
Post by: ck on April 17, 2016, 10:45:18 PM
Quote from: galwayman on April 16, 2016, 09:43:19 PM
Kk football results are embarrassing to be sure.
But equally though if you were to take a county that is not strong at hurling and throw them into the minor A All Ireland hurling championship you'd get some serious whippings also.
Put a Sligo or Leitrim minor hurling team into a championship game against the likes of the Kilkenny or Galway minors and you'd have a big beating on your hands as well.
It's two sides of the same coin

Not at all. Kilkenny didn't play Kerry or Dublin, they played WEXFORD!
Kilkenny are not a GAA county, they are a hurling county and their contempt for other GAA games is shameful.
Post by: ThroughTheLaces on April 17, 2016, 10:53:48 PM

Try telling that to the 30 minors that went out and got absolutely trounced. They obviously have a passion for football and to be expected to just accept that kind of defeat and "not worry about it" is a ridiculous statement.
Post by: moysider on April 18, 2016, 12:52:40 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 17, 2016, 10:35:07 PM
Ballina and Ballyvary get together to put out Minor and u-21 teams. Ballyvary have a great bunch of Volunteers. And are fighting a real up hill battle. I hope they survive but it's a tough slog!

I ll check out what's happening in Ballina and get back to you. One local primary school did great work for years but the personnel that drove it are no longer in the frame.

The other thing is Croke Park/Landsdown Road Hours and stuff has caused a situation where all sports at school level is suffering. Paddy Christie did a great piece to try to highlight this but few are listening or caring http://www.the42.ie/paddy-christie-obesity-epidemic-2610409-Feb2016/. People that used to train kids after school in various sports are now spending that time behind a desk or at meetings instead. Can't have it every way.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 18, 2016, 11:40:54 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 16, 2016, 03:36:24 PM
Westmeath 3-09 Longford 0-12 FT

First time in a long time I've watched a Westmeath minor team playing with purpose and belief. Two positive starts to both halves were the bedrock of the victory. Serious improvement needed to the second half of both halves but fair play to Longford for hanging in there when it looked beyond them. Well done to Peter Leahy and his management team for putting a serious structure in place in just a few months. Looking forward to seeing them again on their next outing, do we have to wait until the qualifier matches are played off before the quarter final draw is made?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 18, 2016, 11:45:06 AM

David Herity told Cody he'd like to try his hand at football one year as well as the hurling. Cody's answer was "David, if you want to go and play football, then go and play football". Herity didn't play football and got serious game time in nets for the hurlers. He saw himself going the way of PJ Ryan if he got involved with the footballers so didn't bother.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 18, 2016, 11:57:23 AM
There are more football clubs in Kilkenny than hurling clubs in Mayo.
But difference is, the hurling is expanding and developing  in Mayo
Post by: AZOffaly on April 18, 2016, 12:00:50 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 18, 2016, 11:45:06 AM

David Herity told Cody he'd like to try his hand at football one year as well as the hurling. Cody's answer was "Brian, if you want to go and play football, then go and play football". Herity didn't play football and got serious game time in nets for the hurlers. He saw himself going the way of PJ Ryan if he got involved with the footballers so didn't bother.

That's kind of a separate issue though. We have something similar in Tipp with the minors this year, and obviously at senior level it's nigh on impossible these days, honourable exception Paudge Collins. But at least they still do coaching, run competitions, prepare teams and try to compete at both codes, even if one is the clear favourite, and even if they don't like dual players. At least the players who do choose the football feel like they are part of a setup that cares.
Post by: muppet on April 18, 2016, 01:52:48 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 18, 2016, 12:52:40 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 17, 2016, 10:35:07 PM

I ll check out what's happening in Ballina and get back to you. One local primary school did great work for years but the personnel that drove it are no longer in the frame.

The other thing is Croke Park/Landsdown Road Hours and stuff has caused a situation where all sports at school level is suffering. Paddy Christie did a great piece to try to highlight this but few are listening or caring http://www.the42.ie/paddy-christie-obesity-epidemic-2610409-Feb2016/. People that used to train kids after school in various sports are now spending that time behind a desk or at meetings instead. Can't have it every way.

"Under the deal, which follows on from the Croke Park, Haddington Road and previous agreements, teachers are required to work an extra 33 hours per school year in non-classroom contact – but after school sports don't count towards this figure."

That was very short sighted. Anyone know why this was part of the agreement?
Post by: Rossfan on April 18, 2016, 05:08:39 PM
Probably to satisfy the demands of IBEC/ISME/Independent Newspapers etc
Post by: moysider on April 18, 2016, 11:36:42 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 18, 2016, 05:08:39 PM
Probably to satisfy the demands of IBEC/ISME/Independent Newspapers etc

Nail on head I'd say. When austerity dug in public servants had to be seen to be punished as well - with extra unproductive 'paper-work'. Writing plans about stuff everybody had been doing anyway.

I may be wrong but it seems to me that more and more adults are getting involved in sports while less and less kids are participating.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 21, 2016, 12:04:11 AM
Tipperary 0-11 Limerick 3-8

Bit of an upset here.

Limerick got off to a flyer and were 1-4 to no score after about 10 minutes.

Limerick play Waterford in the next round and the winner of that plays Cork in a semi-final.

Post by: AZOffaly on April 21, 2016, 08:27:43 AM
Very disappointing.
Post by: tippabu on April 21, 2016, 09:23:29 AM
Disappointing but annoying considering this year minor hurling manager got his way and county board weighed in and said no dual players.....reaching two minor finals last year was seen as a massive failure to hurling people.

On anot her note, someone said to me this is our first time in 13 years losing to someone other than cork or kerry....good record all the same
Post by: AZOffaly on April 21, 2016, 09:28:29 AM
Quote from: tippabu on April 21, 2016, 09:23:29 AM
Disappointing but annoying considering this year minor hurling manager got his way and county board weighed in and said no dual players.....reaching two minor finals last year was seen as a massive failure to hurling people.

On anot her note, someone said to me this is our first time in 13 years losing to someone other than cork or kerry....good record all the same

Good record, but now need to bounce back and get back on track. That should have been a good minor team, they won the Munster competition 2 years ago. Obviously the hurling situation didn't help matters, but they should have been able to beat Limerick. (Who are not a bad side at all, and I warned people about them all week), I actually think it was Limerick that they beat in that U16 competition.

Very disappointed for the lads, but as I say, it's vital the football side take full stock of what the county board stance (in direct contravention of a county convention vote!!) means, and cut our cloth according to measure. It's not the end of the world if no dual players are allowed, but we have to have access to them a lot earlier than waiting for the last rounds of hurling cuts or whatever.
Post by: Maroon Manc on April 21, 2016, 11:09:10 AM
How many dual players missed out for Tipp?
Post by: AZOffaly on April 21, 2016, 11:11:50 AM
At least 4 or 5.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 27, 2016, 08:47:00 PM
Limerick 1-13 Waterford 1-5

Waterford were 1-3 to no score up after 7 minutes, then they didn't score again until the 42nd minute.

Post by: Conallach on April 29, 2016, 12:10:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 18, 2016, 01:52:48 PM
"Under the deal, which follows on from the Croke Park, Haddington Road and previous agreements, teachers are required to work an extra 33 hours per school year in non-classroom contact – but after school sports don't count towards this figure."

We get to spend Croke Park Hours either sitting in unproductive meetings, or doing paperwork that's of no benefit to anyone, bar perhaps ourselves on occasion. It's busy-work and part of the trend of blindly copying the UK's completely unsuccessful moves on best practice in teaching, moves that have led to the enormous drop-out rate among young teachers, with no positive trade-off.

Opening up the Croke Park hours to after school activities would be wonderful. I'd much rather spend the time on street leagues, art projects or dramas. It'd be better for parents, children and teachers.

Post by: muppet on April 29, 2016, 01:24:45 PM
Quote from: Conallach on April 29, 2016, 12:10:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 18, 2016, 01:52:48 PM

We get to spend Croke Park Hours either sitting in unproductive meetings, or doing paperwork that's of no benefit to anyone, bar perhaps ourselves on occasion. It's busy-work and part of the trend of blindly copying the UK's completely unsuccessful moves on best practice in teaching, moves that have led to the enormous drop-out rate among young teachers, with no positive trade-off.

Opening up the Croke Park hours to after school activities would be wonderful. I'd much rather spend the time on street leagues, art projects or dramas. It'd be better for parents, children and teachers.

This sounds like a no brainer.

What is the thinking behind the opposition to this, if indeed there is any?
Post by: Conallach on April 29, 2016, 05:10:11 PM
Top down decision making (agreed by unions abnormally weighted towards the older members) in a pressurised environment probably, although it came a little before my time teaching.
Post by: mrhardyannual on April 29, 2016, 09:11:44 PM
Quote from: Conallach on April 29, 2016, 05:10:11 PM
Top down decision making (agreed by unions abnormally weighted towards the older members) in a pressurised environment probably, although it came a little before my time teaching.
Let's hope that the rest of your teaching is better prepared that the ridiculous comments above. The extra hours were imposed by the DES as a  means of avoiding payment for substitution at secondary level (for lunchtime supervision and teacher absences). At primary level it was designed to impose mandatory periods of group planning. The DES refused to allow any extra-curricular activity be included despite requests from Unions. The extra hours were agreed by teachers in ballots under departmental duress.The suggestion that "older members" would have agreed it as they wouldn't be as involved in extra curricular activities as younger teachers is as insulting as it is uninformed. Many such teachers have given and continue to give of their time freely to their pupils and much of what they did was funded from their own pockets.
Post by: Conallach on April 29, 2016, 11:28:26 PM
Interesting post. As I said, I wasn't around for it, was guessing and absolutely stand corrected!

If it makes you feel any better, I'll always be that chunk short of your paypacket!
Post by: StephenC on April 30, 2016, 06:07:55 PM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on April 29, 2016, 09:11:44 PM
Quote from: Conallach on April 29, 2016, 05:10:11 PM
Let's hope that the rest of your teaching is better prepared that the ridiculous comments above. The extra hours were imposed by the DES as a  means of avoiding payment for substitution at secondary level (for lunchtime supervision and teacher absences). At primary level it was designed to impose mandatory periods of group planning. The DES refused to allow any extra-curricular activity be included despite requests from Unions. The extra hours were agreed by teachers in ballots under departmental duress.The suggestion that "older members" would have agreed it as they wouldn't be as involved in extra curricular activities as younger teachers is as insulting as it is uninformed. Many such teachers have given and continue to give of their time freely to their pupils and much of what they did was funded from their own pockets.

LOL. What "duress" has the department ever been able to bring to bear on Teachers? Rubbish.
Post by: armaghniac on April 30, 2016, 06:21:13 PM
Quote from: StephenC on April 30, 2016, 06:07:55 PM
LOL. What "duress" has the department ever been able to bring to bear on Teachers? Rubbish.

I think cutting your pay is a form of duress, but of course in your world it may be different.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 05, 2016, 03:39:44 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ChsTzExWUAAii2P.jpg)

Tough draw for Westmeath in the nightmare half of the draw (presuming 3 plays 4).
Post by: AZOffaly on May 05, 2016, 03:50:36 PM
Offaly have bounced back well after the defeat v Dublin. 2 good wins in Longford and in Aughrim. Wexford are at a disadvantage here as Offaly now have 3 good games under their belts while Wexford only have that farce against Kilkenny.

Post by: Dinny Breen on May 06, 2016, 10:10:06 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 05, 2016, 03:39:44 PM

Tough draw for Westmeath in the nightmare half of the draw (presuming 3 plays 4).

Is it not open draw again for the semis to help promote the games?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 06, 2016, 11:31:37 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 06, 2016, 10:10:06 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 05, 2016, 03:39:44 PM

Is it not open draw again for the semis to help promote the games?

Could be, how would you know though?
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 06, 2016, 11:40:55 AM
It was just something someone said in passing but normally they would number the q/f as 1-4 and the semi's as 1v2 and 3v4
they didn't this year

http://www.leinstergaa.ie/leinster-gaa-championship-fixtures-2012/leinster-gaa-mfc-2012.266.html (http://www.leinstergaa.ie/leinster-gaa-championship-fixtures-2012/leinster-gaa-mfc-2012.266.html)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 06, 2016, 04:49:08 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 06, 2016, 11:40:55 AM
It was just something someone said in passing but normally they would number the q/f as 1-4 and the semi's as 1v2 and 3v4
they didn't this year

http://www.leinstergaa.ie/leinster-gaa-championship-fixtures-2012/leinster-gaa-mfc-2012.266.html (http://www.leinstergaa.ie/leinster-gaa-championship-fixtures-2012/leinster-gaa-mfc-2012.266.html)

My point exactly, a little clarification on the webpage wouldn't go amiss. Either 1v2 and 3v4 in the semi final box or a note below stating all draws will be an open draw and only done when the preceding round has concluded.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 10, 2016, 04:23:48 PM
Leinster MFC quarter-finals
Saturday 21 May

Offaly v Wexford, O'Connor Park, Tullamore, TBC                     
Louth v Laois, Drogheda, 3pm
Kildare v Westmeath, Kildare venue, TBC
Meath v Dublin,  Pairc Tailteann, 3pm

Bollox anyway, needed a home draw
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 10, 2016, 05:19:58 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 10, 2016, 04:23:48 PM
Saturday 21 May

I thought Kildare had to forfeit home advantage during this year's championship as part of the punishment for the shenanigans after the Offaly match in 2015?
Post by: Jinxy on May 10, 2016, 08:11:45 PM
Are Dublin any good this year?
Post by: Lone Shark on May 10, 2016, 08:50:23 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 10, 2016, 05:19:58 PM
Saturday 21 May

I thought Kildare had to forfeit home advantage during this year's championship as part of the punishment for the shenanigans after the Offaly match in 2015?

Offaly had a two match home game ban - which is why we were away to Dublin and Wicklow (we were drawn away to Longford so that didn't count). I thought Kildare had the same, but seemingly not. Either that or Leinster Council made a booboo.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 10, 2016, 09:21:30 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on May 10, 2016, 08:50:23 PM
Saturday 21 May

Offaly had a two match home game ban - which is why we were away to Dublin and Wicklow (we were drawn away to Longford so that didn't count). I thought Kildare had the same, but seemingly not. Either that or Leinster Council made a booboo.

Kildare had Laois and Dublin away after the Offaly match last year and Wicklow in Aughrim this year so maybe the ban has been served?
Post by: Lone Shark on May 10, 2016, 09:53:09 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 10, 2016, 09:21:30 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on May 10, 2016, 08:50:23 PM
Saturday 21 May

Kildare had Laois and Dublin away after the Offaly match last year and Wicklow in Aughrim this year so maybe the ban has been served?

That actually makes sense. Forgot about last year!  :-[
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 11, 2016, 09:21:58 PM
Munster semi final result

Clare 1-6 Kerry 1-13

Other semi final limerick v Cork on tomorrow.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 12, 2016, 09:02:26 PM
Cork 1-19 Limerick 0-6 FT

Standard Munster Final of Cork v Kerry
Post by: AZOffaly on May 12, 2016, 10:16:14 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 12, 2016, 09:02:26 PM

Makes the Tipperary capitulation v Limerick all the harder to understand. Young lads, eh. As for the standard final, I think this is he first Cork Kerry minor final since 2011.
Post by: Rossfan on May 12, 2016, 10:39:53 PM
2011?
I seem to recall us losing an AI SF to Tipp that year.
Post by: ashman on May 12, 2016, 11:22:14 PM
Limerick played 4 games this year and all 4 were in opponents back yard.

Think in the next 2 years we will be competive .  There is a lot of work being done .
Post by: From the Bunker on May 12, 2016, 11:43:01 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 12, 2016, 10:16:14 PM

Makes the Tipperary capitulation v Limerick all the harder to understand. Young lads, eh. As for the standard final, I think this is he first Cork Kerry minor final since 2011.

They played each other in 2014!

Of the last 11 there have been only 4! So it's not so bad! Tipp have been in 7 and won 2!
Post by: ballinaman on May 13, 2016, 09:04:24 AM

Mark Buckley for Cork has making of outstanding footballer. Built like a brick, 2 feet and superb vision and passing.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 13, 2016, 09:07:07 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 12, 2016, 10:39:53 PM
2011?
I seem to recall us losing an AI SF to Tipp that year.

Sorry, badly worded. I should have said 2010. I meant since Tipp made the breakthrough in 2011.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 13, 2016, 09:08:31 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 12, 2016, 11:43:01 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 12, 2016, 10:16:14 PM

They played each other in 2014!

Of the last 11 there have been only 4! So it's not so bad! Tipp have been in 7 and won 2!

You're right. I forgot about that year as well. But I think my point stands :) We just have to try and make sure it doesn't revert to the previous norm.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 21, 2016, 01:09:33 PM
Kildare 1-07 Westmeath 0-02 ht

Westmeath's accuracy shockingly poor. Scoreline should be tighter, Kildare forwards very economical, referee very focused on steps.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 21, 2016, 02:20:38 PM
Kildare win 1-16 to 0-08, Ciaran Kelly and Hyland doing the majority of the scoring again.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 21, 2016, 02:41:30 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 21, 2016, 02:20:38 PM
Kildare win 1-16 to 0-08, Ciaran Kelly and Hyland doing the majority of the scoring again.

They did but I thought Masterson and Marnell did well at midfield and O'Loughlin pulled the strings. Jack Robinson showed promise but if Westmeath had better accuracy it could have been a lot tighter.
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2016, 05:39:07 PM
Meath 1-18
Dublin 2-05

Leinster MFC: Royals demolish Dubs by ten points

http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=255471&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter (http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=255471&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter)
Post by: muppet on May 21, 2016, 05:51:38 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2016, 05:39:07 PM
Meath 1-18
Dublin 2-05

Leinster MFC: Royals demolish Dubs by ten points

http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=255471&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter (http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=255471&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter)

Time to split Meath.

More seriously, great performance.
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2016, 06:09:37 PM
This is the start... the start of THE END.
A terrible beauty is born.
Post by: thejuice on May 21, 2016, 08:06:30 PM
Great result. There has been stirrings of something good at underage for the last 12 months, hopefully this can transfer into the seniors in the coming years. Considering this minor team lost a talent like Conor Nash to Aussie rules and still get a big win against Dublin.

Results like that are a great boost to the county and hopefully a sign the board are getting things right. But one swallow as they say doesn't make a summer. Trophies need to follow on from this.

Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 21, 2016, 08:12:24 PM
Is it Kildare and Meath in the semi final now or is there another draw? The big thing for Meath is to continue the players development in the next 3 years.
Kildare hammered Dublin at minor 3 years ago but lost narrowly to them at u21 this year. By the time the players are 24 there will undoubtedly be some gap.
Post by: ONeill on May 22, 2016, 12:46:51 PM
Derry a point up at half time.
Post by: OgraAnDun on May 22, 2016, 01:16:38 PM
0-14 to 0-10 to Derry at the minute.
Post by: oakleaflad on May 22, 2016, 02:02:02 PM
Derry minors won 1-15 to 0-10
Post by: ballinaman on May 22, 2016, 03:13:49 PM
FT Offaly 0-19 Wexford 1-11

Semi Finals Meath vs Kildare, Offaly vs Laois
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2016, 04:19:27 PM
Some joke.
Dublin beat Offaly, Meath beat Laois, Meath beat Dublin and both Offaly and Laois make a semi-final against each other.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 22, 2016, 05:04:05 PM
Luck of the draw, it should be a good game between Kildare and Meath. Hopefully we put up a better fight than Dublin.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 22, 2016, 05:14:23 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 22, 2016, 04:19:27 PM
Some joke.
Dublin beat Offaly, Meath beat Laois, Meath beat Dublin and both Offaly and Laois make a semi-final against each other.
at least there is a back door
In Connacht its straight knockout
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 22, 2016, 06:49:27 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on May 22, 2016, 05:14:23 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 22, 2016, 04:19:27 PM
Some joke.
at least there is a back door
In Connacht its straight knockout

The backdoor in the Leinster Minor Championship is a joke. Only applies to the first round. I feel sorry for Wexford. Pointless game for them against Kilkenny and then dumped out the next day against a team who have been allowed build a bit of momentum.

You can win one Connacht Minor Championship match and be guaranteed a place in the last 8 of the All Ireland.
Post by: The Insider on May 22, 2016, 11:56:09 PM
There is little hope of change for the fear that the a successful change would lead to change in the sacred cow of the senior provincial championships . Counties need to get their heads out of the sand and admit that change must come . At present the best most minors can hope for is one meaningful game . The present provincial leagues are a waste and some sort of national league should be tried
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 23, 2016, 10:40:17 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 21, 2016, 01:09:33 PM
Kildare 1-07 Westmeath 0-02 ht

Westmeath's accuracy shockingly poor. Scoreline should be tighter, Kildare forwards very economical, referee very focused on steps.

Summed up in a nutshell. Execution dreadful but at least the application was there from a Westmeath perspective. Referee indeed was over officious but we were far too open and loose in the full back line. Caught out for the early penalty really set the tone for the game. Kildare very well conditioned for minors.
Post by: Jinxy on May 23, 2016, 05:39:52 PM
Kildare are always a bogey team for us at underage for some reason.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 05, 2016, 10:32:41 AM
Clifford from Kerry looks some prospect, think he's still only 16. He had some game in the hogan cup final and followed it up with another very impressive performance. He reminds me of a certain Kerry forward from the 90's.

Evan Murphy from Galway looked very impressive especially considering he's 16 although he was very well built for a lad his age.
Post by: Unlaoised on July 05, 2016, 10:44:49 AM
Laois v Offaly tonight in the Leinster Semi final is a novel pairing and is a great chance for one of them to reach a final.

Laois only lost the first day to Meath by two points ...Meath went on to hammer the Dubs and are now playing Kildare in the other Semi...

Laois came back from that to beat Carlow and then a decent Louth Side to earn a place against their bitter rivals Offaly.

Post by: Jinxy on July 05, 2016, 11:34:19 AM
It's so long since the last game half our lads are overage for the semi-final.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 05, 2016, 01:40:42 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 05, 2016, 10:32:41 AM
Evan Murphy from Galway looked very impressive especially considering he's 16 although he was very well built for a lad his age.

Very good soccer player as well though. Has represented Ireland at underage and is on the books at Galway Utd. Possible he could get a move to England at some stage if he goes down that route.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 05, 2016, 04:36:21 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 05, 2016, 10:32:41 AM

Murphy is 17. He was one of the stand out players on the Galway city west Ted Webb cup winning team last year.
Post by: laoislad on July 05, 2016, 09:27:46 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on July 05, 2016, 10:44:49 AM
Laois v Offaly tonight in the Leinster Semi final is a novel pairing and is a great chance for one of them to reach a final.

Laois only lost the first day to Meath by two points ...Meath went on to hammer the Dubs and are now playing Kildare in the other Semi...

Laois came back from that to beat Carlow and then a decent Louth Side to earn a place against their bitter rivals Offaly.
Laois 1-15 Offaly 0-06.
First Leinster Minor Final in 9 years for Laois.
Post by: Unlaoised on July 06, 2016, 10:06:55 AM
Good win for Laois was surprised how Offaly wilted in the second half but Laois were far hungrier on and off the ball.

Laois will need to improve big time to beat a Kildare or Meath but there is room for Improvement there.

Great to see such support there from both sides it was a massive turnout in Portlaoise
Post by: Rossfan on July 06, 2016, 10:53:12 AM
Big crowd in O'Moore park!!!!!!
Still in shock..... :o
Post by: Unlaoised on July 06, 2016, 11:10:36 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 06, 2016, 10:53:12 AM
Big crowd in O'Moore park!!!!!!
Still in shock..... :o

Yeah ques were back down the main road I don't think they expected the crowd they got ...Laois and Offaly is a novel pairing in a Leinster Semi and when people know Dublin are out interest grows!!
Post by: Rossfan on July 06, 2016, 11:59:50 AM
Many turn up for the re match v Armagh last Saturday?
Post by: maccer on July 06, 2016, 02:45:50 PM
Probably only 1500-2000. More laois supporters than the 1st day. Seemed like a smaller crowd travelled from Armagh. They were definitely more vocal the 1st day
Post by: Unlaoised on July 06, 2016, 04:31:00 PM
Quote from: maccer on July 06, 2016, 02:45:50 PM
Probably only 1500-2000. More laois supporters than the 1st day. Seemed like a smaller crowd travelled from Armagh. They were definitely more vocal the 1st day

Heard it was 3,000 last Sunday seemed like more....Good vocal Laois support for a change....

Was more there last night for the Minor game must been 4,000 which was great to see...

Great to See all the Laois senior players there as well giving their support!
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2016, 07:28:18 PM
Good crowd in Navan, Meath smell blood...
Post by: thejuice on July 06, 2016, 07:56:38 PM
Anywhere doing live updates?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2016, 08:07:34 PM
6pts each half time. James Conlon the Meath inside forward 3 points and the pick of the players 1st. Kildare though created 2 goal chances and should have what looked like penalty. Kildare with a strong breeze in the 2nd half but Meath looked good when they ran at Kildare. If Meath cut out the fouls they are actually defending very well. Hard to call wouldn't be surprised if it finished level.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2016, 08:53:32 PM
Draw after 60. Extra time for minors now. Not fair on either team. A replay would have been far more satisfactory. Meath to edge it, Kildare lads cramping everywhere.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2016, 09:15:15 PM
Like a battlefield here so many bodies down. Kildare lead 17-14 ht in et. Meath missed penalty. No matter how this ends extra time not fair.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2016, 09:28:55 PM
Kildare win epic game
Post by: thejuice on July 06, 2016, 09:30:49 PM
OH well, sounds like a great one. Well done Kildare.
At least it seems like we're building towards something
Post by: laoislad on July 06, 2016, 09:31:10 PM
El Clasico Leinster Minor Final this year.
Post by: thejuice on July 06, 2016, 09:32:36 PM
Hope there were no injuries as a result of the extra time played.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 06, 2016, 10:46:45 PM
Fine achievement to reach four consecutive Leinster Finals. Hopefully we will begin to build on this at senior level in the near future!

I thought Jack Robinson was Kildare's best player tonight and Masterson at midfield had a great game. The Meath right corner forward was excellent as was their full back who had a great battle with Jimmy Hyland.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2016, 11:08:48 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 06, 2016, 10:46:45 PM
Fine achievement to reach four consecutive Leinster Finals. Hopefully we will begin to build on this at senior level in the near future!

I thought Jack Robinson was Kildare's best player tonight and Masterson at midfield had a great game. The Meath right corner forward was excellent as was their full back who had a great battle with Jimmy Hyland.

Harnan was the full back some tussle with Hyland. Robinson also my man of the match and fair play to John O'Toole roasted in the 1st half by Conlon  but turned it around to be completely dominant by the end
of the game. Game turned on the missed penalty score and Meath go 2 up instead missed and we go up the other end and score. 4 point swing , our subs had more impact thought O'Sullivan did really well and delivered the right early ball in extra time.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 06, 2016, 11:23:37 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 06, 2016, 11:08:48 PM
our subs had more impact thought O'Sullivan did really well and delivered the right early ball in extra time.

That's true. I thought Meath called on their bench earlier in the game whereas we were a bit slower making changes. It seemed to help us in extra time because our lads looked that little bit fresher.
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2016, 11:02:21 AM
Disappointing result after the big win against Dublin, but it sounds like the lads tried their hearts out and we're going in the right direction.
Kildare continue to be a bogey team for us underage.
It would appear they had the fresher legs in extra-time, as they always seem to do, but I suppose that's the way they are bred.
Post by: Syferus on July 07, 2016, 11:17:17 AM
Kildare underage teams usually come unstuck against the better footballing teams from Munster and Connacht. Will this team have learnt from the past? Too many lads on the Kildare teams I've seen who were picked for their size rather than their ability.
Post by: Rossfan on July 07, 2016, 11:34:31 AM
We came unstuck on the National stage at minor and U21 in 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15.
We obviously havent learned as we're not even getting to the National stage this year.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 07, 2016, 12:10:15 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2016, 11:17:17 AM
Kildare underage teams usually come unstuck against the better footballing teams from Munster and Connacht. Will this team have learnt from the past? Too many lads on the Kildare teams I've seen who were picked for their size rather than their ability.

Perhaps some truth in that but I would also point to Kildare teams shooting themselves in the foot, a trait we're particularly good at. Also our burden of under-achievement means teams always fancy themselves against Kildare and this gives confidence to perform.

Last year Tipperary in the AI semi-final went defensive and cut off the supply to our inside forwards and we couldn't adapt. I would expect similar in the quarter-finals, teams outside Leinster seem more a tune to defensive tactics so if there was a lesson to be learned it's how to adapt a plan b when quick inside ball is not working. It will be our minors 4th year in a row the AI Q/F so hopefully we can get to another semi and a final would be a fantastic reward.

Post by: ballinaman on July 07, 2016, 12:16:40 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 07, 2016, 12:10:15 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2016, 11:17:17 AM

Perhaps some truth in that but I would also point to Kildare teams shooting themselves in the foot, a trait we're particularly good at. Also our burden of under-achievement means teams always fancy themselves against Kildare and this gives confidence to perform.

Last year Tipperary in the AI semi-final went defensive and cut off the supply to our inside forwards and we couldn't adapt. I would expect similar in the quarter-finals, teams outside Leinster seem more a tune to defensive tactics so if there was a lesson to be learned it's how to adapt a plan b when quick inside ball is not working. It will be our minors 4th year in a row the AI Q/F so hopefully we can get to another semi and a final would be a fantastic reward.
Mayo or Galway in the 1/4s vs Kildare or Laois. Expect Kildare to beat Laois, by all accounts Laois Offaly standard was very poor.
Post by: County Man on July 07, 2016, 12:27:36 PM
Laois played some wonderful football in the second half against Offaly.

Some fine scores and well executed defensive turnovers.
Post by: Canalman on July 07, 2016, 12:30:34 PM
For me Kildare have a very unhealty fixation on Dublin teams from top to bottom. Have seen some excellent Kildare underage teams beat Dublin handy enough the last few years and imo overcelebrate to the detriment of the rest of the season.

Would have had some of those teams as bankers for the AI .

Haven't really shone on the national stage afterwards but I expect that has to change shortly.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 07, 2016, 01:26:49 PM
The trouble is that a lot of these teams get seriously overrated and blown up from outside the camp once they get on a bit of a run. The standard in Leinster outside of Dublin these last few years has been abysmal and when Dublin have an average year it's always winnable for Kildare (maybe this year is the start of a revival for Meath and Laois). I'm sure it'll be the same before the Leinster Final with everyone expecting Kildare to beat Laois even though this Laois team beat Kildare in the Leinster Minor League Final in Maynooth only a few months ago.

Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2016, 01:34:17 PM
I wouldn't worry about that too much.
Dublin beat us in the Leinster minor league.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 07, 2016, 02:07:52 PM
Nice to do well at minor but I think under 21 is a far better barometer for senior talent coming through and unfortunately we are still trailing Dublin at that level
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2016, 02:39:01 PM
The main thing I would be looking for at u-17 and u-20 level is that we develop lads who can physically make the transition to senior level.
Some of the younger lads we started and brought on against Dublin in Croke Park a couple of weeks ago are simply not physically able for senior football and that worries me.
The standard of club football is so low in the county that you can be skinny, fat, tall, short, fast, slow, strong or weak and your weaknesses won't really be exposed.
Like I said before, it seems to me that in Meath we have this attitude that you can be an athlete or a footballer, but you can't be both.
We have one or two exceptions at the moment with lads like Donnacha Tobin and Donal Keoghan for example, but that's not nearly enough.

Post by: blanketattack on July 07, 2016, 07:00:21 PM
Physique doesn't matter if you're good enough. Peter Canavan and Gooch had the most unlikely physiques for football.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 07, 2016, 07:02:35 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 07, 2016, 01:26:49 PM
The trouble is that a lot of these teams get seriously overrated and blown up from outside the camp once they get on a bit of a run. The standard in Leinster outside of Dublin these last few years has been abysmal and when Dublin have an average year it's always winnable for Kildare (maybe this year is the start of a revival for Meath and Laois). I'm sure it'll be the same before the Leinster Final with everyone expecting Kildare to beat Laois even though this Laois team beat Kildare in the Leinster Minor League Final in Maynooth only a few months ago.

The standard in Leinster minor this year should be known when Kildare,Laois face Mayo,Galway in the All Ireland quarter finals.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 07, 2016, 07:11:28 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on July 07, 2016, 07:00:21 PM
Physique doesn't matter if you're good enough. Peter Canavan and Gooch had the most unlikely physiques for football.

Both extremely gifted athletes, mid 90's Canavan had electric pace while it is hard to think of a footballer with agility on the level of Gooch.
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2016, 07:22:35 PM

Why do so many people conflate athleticism with size?
Canavan in particular was a phenomenal athlete.
Post by: blanketattack on July 08, 2016, 12:11:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 07, 2016, 07:22:35 PM

Why do so many people conflate athleticism with size?
Canavan in particular was a phenomenal athlete.

You just did in your post above!
Post by: Jinxy on July 08, 2016, 12:55:33 PM
Where?
Post by: maigheo on July 10, 2016, 01:03:51 PM
Galway 1.07  Mayo 0.04  10 min to go.Looks like 2 in a row for Galway
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 10, 2016, 01:22:06 PM
FT

Galway 1-9 Mayo 0-6

Looked dodgy at half-time for Galway. Only had a 2 point lead after playing with a big wind behind them.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 11, 2016, 10:47:11 AM
Well done to Galway, thats 2 in a row in Connacht; Just hope they perform better in the quarter final then they did last year.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2016, 03:58:06 PM
Hup Kildare.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2016, 04:49:29 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2016, 03:58:06 PM
Hup Kildare.

We're the new Roscommon.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 17, 2016, 05:13:46 PM
Am I right in thinking quarter-final line up is

Galway v Laois
Kildare v Mayo
Kerry v Derry
Donegal v Cork
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 17, 2016, 06:38:11 PM
Hopefully the Leinster/Connacht double header will be in Tullamore, not the most central location but probably the nicest possible one.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 17, 2016, 08:23:06 PM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 17, 2016, 06:38:11 PM
Hopefully the Leinster/Connacht double header will be in Tullamore, not the most central location but probably the nicest possible one.

You any idea on when the games are likely to be?
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 17, 2016, 08:40:48 PM
Bank Holiday Monday normally. I've to go to a Stag in Carrick on Shannon that weekend so hopefully it will be the Monday and I can clear my head in the fresh Tullamore air.
Post by: Jinxy on July 17, 2016, 08:52:15 PM
Great win for the baby bots.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 30, 2016, 02:36:39 PM
HT Galway 2-6 Laois 0-2. All to easy for the Connacht champions so far.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 30, 2016, 02:40:27 PM
Not looking good for the Ulster champions against the Munster runners up. Cork 0-10 Donegal 1-2
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 03:01:24 PM
Galway 3-9 Laois 0-6
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 30, 2016, 03:08:48 PM
Donegal on top since half time and now lead 1-9 to 0-11.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 03:09:14 PM
Donegal 1-11 Cork 0-12
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 03:09:41 PM
Galway 3-10 Laois 0-8
Post by: Duine Eile on July 30, 2016, 03:12:35 PM
Sounds like Cormac Haslem is having an absolute stormer in goal, they're doing well fair play to them.
Post by: J70 on July 30, 2016, 03:19:39 PM
Donegal 2-12 Cork 0-13

Should do it, unless there's another crazy amount of injury time.

Great comeback from 0-6 to 0-1 and 0-10 to 1-3 down.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 03:21:07 PM
FT

Galway 3-10 Laois 0-12

Small comeback from Laois at the end but game was long over by then.
Post by: J70 on July 30, 2016, 03:25:33 PM
Donegal 2-13 Cork 0-13 FT
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 30, 2016, 03:29:26 PM
Great comeback win for Donegal. Galway next that game will be a tough one to call.
Post by: J70 on July 30, 2016, 03:29:43 PM
Donegal scored 1-10 in the second half to Cork's 0-3.

Never ceases to amaze how minor matches can swing.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 30, 2016, 03:32:31 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 03:21:07 PM
FT

Galway 3-10 Laois 0-12

Small comeback from Laois at the end but game was long over by then.
Yes It was 3-10 to 0-6 with 10 minutes to go.
Post by: galwayman on July 30, 2016, 07:28:05 PM
I see Barry Goldrick broke his leg during the week.
Another big blow after losing John Daly, Cian D'Arcy & Silke.
Donegal will be tough to beat
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2016, 07:40:12 PM
Quote from: galwayman on July 30, 2016, 07:28:05 PM
I see Barry Goldrick broke his leg during the week.
Another big blow after losing John Daly, Cian D'Arcy & Silke.
Donegal will be tough to beat

Yeah down 4 starters now through injury even though some of them have been missing from the start of the championship.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 30, 2016, 07:43:50 PM
I had thought D'Arcy and Silke would be back by now but still no sign of them. I know D'Arcy has glandular fever but where/when did Darragh Silke pick up the concussion?
Post by: ck on July 30, 2016, 10:19:49 PM
I saw Galway twice this year and was highly impressed. In saying that they will exit the Cship in next round. Donegal sources are saying this is the best minor side they've ever had. They wiped Cork off the pitch in 2nd half today.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 30, 2016, 10:49:32 PM
Always hard to judge a minor team, couple of very handy forwards on this Galway side, Evan Murphy (cousin of Sean Armstrong I believe) Rob Finnerty (son of Mayo's Anthony Finnerty) and Dessie Conneely are all quality players but they seem loose enough at the back, Haslem had to make a big number of saves today and there was a penalty given away which he saved.
Post by: PW Nally on July 30, 2016, 11:11:41 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 30, 2016, 10:49:32 PM
Always hard to judge a minor team, couple of very handy forwards on this Galway side, Evan Murphy (cousin of Sean Armstrong I believe) Rob Finnerty (son of Mayo's Anthony Finnerty) and Dessie Conneely are all quality players but they seem loose enough at the back, Haslem had to make a big number of saves today and there was a penalty given away which he saved.
The full back is some buckeen
https://youtu.be/7XQE6g9vf7A
Post by: Duine Eile on July 30, 2016, 11:24:11 PM
 ;D a fairly handy handball player too I believe, no end to his talents!
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2016, 10:51:08 AM
Quote from: ck on July 30, 2016, 10:19:49 PM
I saw Galway twice this year and was highly impressed. In saying that they will exit the Cship in next round. Donegal sources are saying this is the best minor side they've ever had. They wiped Cork off the pitch in 2nd half today.

Galway will probably walk the game.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 31, 2016, 02:06:03 PM
Kerry 1-24 Derry 2-10
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 31, 2016, 02:11:35 PM
Knew Kerry beat Derry as they had a serious conveyor belt past 2/3 years but 1-24 a massive score to give away. Given Derry give it tight to Donegal looks like Kerry massive favorites to lift it again this year.
Post by: J70 on July 31, 2016, 04:14:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 31, 2016, 10:51:08 AM

Based on?
Post by: J70 on July 31, 2016, 04:16:41 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 31, 2016, 02:11:35 PM
Knew Kerry beat Derry as they had a serious conveyor belt past 2/3 years but 1-24 a massive score to give away. Given Derry give it tight to Donegal looks like Kerry massive favorites to lift it again this year.

Probably, but both Kerry AND Donegal beat Cork by six.

Hard to know at minor level from game to game.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 31, 2016, 09:09:49 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 31, 2016, 02:11:35 PM

All bar one point coming from play -  :o that's serious firepower.

Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2016, 09:48:08 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 31, 2016, 04:14:52 PM

Based on?

Based on CK's track record with minor teams!

The last hyped up Donegal side were nearly beat by an ok Ros minor side in 2014 also. I recall CK saying we had no hope going into that one. Galway have an excellent set of forwards and have every chance of not only beating Donegal but winning the AI. CK definitively saying Donegal will beat Galway based on 'sources' is a bit too much gravy for my roast.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 01, 2016, 02:27:22 PM
Any updates on the Mayo v Kildare game?

Edit: just caught an update on Midwest, 1-2 to 1-4 to Kildare, almost ht
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2016, 02:39:34 PM
HT

Kildare 1-4 Mayo 2-2
Post by: Zulu on August 01, 2016, 02:44:21 PM
Mayo had the wind in the first half so are probably under pressure now. The half finished with a 30 man brawl according to the commentators so things could be feisty in the second half! No sendings off but a few black cards and yellows. Live commentary - http://www.kfmradio.com/listen-live-player.html
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2016, 02:47:44 PM
Poor game. Conditions under foot not good very slippy. Usual incompetent referee with farcical scenes before ht but Kildare were the losers with Hyland getting a black card for been dragged to the ground by his neck. Kildare with strong wind in the 2nd half.
Post by: Zulu on August 01, 2016, 03:05:39 PM
Mayo 2-05 Kildare 1-10 about 10 minutes gone in the second half.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 01, 2016, 03:08:19 PM
Kildare making hard work of this against a less than great Mayo minor team.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 01, 2016, 03:24:38 PM
2-14 to 2-8 to Kildare into injury time. Hard luck to the Mayo lads
Post by: Mclf on August 01, 2016, 03:26:16 PM
Hard luck to Syferus and the other Mayo lads on this forum.
Post by: Jinxy on August 01, 2016, 03:53:25 PM
Kerry next?
Post by: Zulu on August 01, 2016, 03:55:14 PM
Galway I think. Kerry and Donegal are meeting each other aren't they?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 01, 2016, 04:13:20 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 01, 2016, 03:55:14 PM
Galway I think. Kerry and Donegal are meeting each other aren't they?

Galway v Donegal
Kerry v Kildare
Post by: galwayman on August 01, 2016, 04:15:33 PM
Think our lads may struggle with Donegals style of play.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 01, 2016, 04:34:45 PM
Kildare showed plenty of composure in the second half today which was good to see. Once Masterson and Marnell took over at midfield we looked fairly comfortable.

They'll be disappointed to concede two goals in the first half after going through the Leinster campaign without conceding. Bit to work on for the semi final.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2016, 04:38:05 PM
It's looking like Kerry for three in a row minor All Ireland titles add in their Hogan cups they are really dominating this age group.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2016, 05:08:10 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 01, 2016, 04:34:45 PM
Kildare showed plenty of composure in the second half today which was good to see. Once Masterson and Marnell took over at midfield we looked fairly comfortable.

They'll be disappointed to concede two goals in the first half after going through the Leinster campaign without conceding. Bit to work on for the semi final.

Thought we were very passive in the first and it took the schmozzle to wake us up. Jack Robinson heck what a performance.

Need to step it up for Kerry though, expect last year's lessons to absorbed and we will go close.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 01, 2016, 05:13:09 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2016, 05:08:10 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on August 01, 2016, 04:34:45 PM

Thought we were very passive in the first and it took the schmozzle to wake us up. Jack Robinson heck what a performance.

Need to step it up for Kerry though, expect last year's lessons to absorbed and we will go close.

Hopefully. The team last year were just so flat in the semi final. Never showed up.

I presume the Hyland black card was a case of mistaken identity?
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2016, 05:23:38 PM
Who knows he was fingered by the linesman on the far side, he was involved in both flashpoints within the schmozzle but he was dragged to the ground. That happened in front of me, poor refereeing should have just sent everyone away and thrown the ball up.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 01, 2016, 05:27:22 PM
I was over on the terrace side and it looked like the 4th official was apologising to him at half time. He looked genuinely shocked when he was singled out.
Post by: wellpastit on August 01, 2016, 05:28:41 PM
How many sub's did Mayo make ? They got 3 black cards and seemed to make at least 4 more sub's. Kildare middle third looked v slow but nice forwards Robinson in particular how many were tried on him
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 01, 2016, 06:43:06 PM
Quote from: wellpastit on August 01, 2016, 05:28:41 PM
How many sub's did Mayo make ? They got 3 black cards and seemed to make at least 4 more sub's. Kildare middle third looked v slow but nice forwards Robinson in particular how many were tried on him

Our two midfielders looked very cumbersome today Masterson is normally more dynamic than that our 1/2 backs didn't push forward at all and that looked quite deliberate. Tactically it opened up spaces but at times our movement particularly from frees was poor and frustrating.
Post by: Jinxy on August 01, 2016, 06:57:45 PM
This Kerry team are being talked up a lot.
Ripe for an ambush.
Post by: kerryforsam16 on August 01, 2016, 07:17:28 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 01, 2016, 06:57:45 PM
This Kerry team are being talked up a lot.
Ripe for an ambush.

We will get 3 in a row. Watch out for David Clifford. Star for the future
Post by: Keane on August 01, 2016, 08:14:58 PM
David Clifford looks class but Kerry's full back line is too porous to be overly confident.
Post by: ballinaman on August 01, 2016, 08:26:26 PM
Quote from: wellpastit on August 01, 2016, 05:28:41 PM
Joe Mason for J Maughan (Black)
Stephen McGreal for J.Mason (Black)
Liam Kelly for J.Cunnane (Black)
C Diskin for Colm Murphy
Ross Egan for Oisin McLaughlin
Nathan McGhee for Justin Healy
6 subs permitted when black cards are in play
Post by: ck on August 01, 2016, 08:49:48 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 31, 2016, 09:48:08 PM

Based on?

The last hyped up Donegal side were nearly beat by an ok Ros minor side in 2014 also. I recall CK saying we had no hope going into that one. Galway have an excellent set of forwards and have every chance of not only beating Donegal but winning the AI. CK definitively saying Donegal will beat Galway based on 'sources' is a bit too much gravy for my roast.

Good man Syferus. You're over cooking your roast, as usual.
So I tipped Donegal to beat Ross in 2014 and I was right!
Yee lads parked the bus to make a game of it and still lost.

Galway are a fine side, like them a lot. They won't win All Ireland. Donegal Kerry both ahead of them
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on August 21, 2016, 01:46:09 PM
Donegal might get flogged here.

They are going all out attack and Galway are putting 14 men behind the ball and have half the pitch wide open to break into when Donegal lose it.

Referee is not calling any fouls at all which is probably suiting Galway more.
Post by: J70 on August 21, 2016, 01:46:44 PM
Twice now Donegal men have got in each other's way, deflecting the ball to put Galway men clear in on goal. Thankfully they've only converted one so far. There's more goals in this for Galway unless things change as Donegal are getting caught short on Galway break. Donegal too slow in getting the ball up the field as well, and can't get the ball into the hands of their marksmen.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on August 21, 2016, 01:49:50 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 21, 2016, 01:46:44 PM
Twice now Donegal men have got in each other's way, deflecting the ball to put Galway men clear in on goal. Thankfully they've only converted one so far. There's more goals in this for Galway unless things change as Donegal are getting caught short on Galway break. Donegal too slow in getting the ball up the field as well, and can't get the ball into the hands of their marksmen.

Donegal are an absolute mess tactically, they have to drop bodies back to protect a full back line which is being taken to the cleaners.
Post by: J70 on August 21, 2016, 01:59:59 PM
Only comfort for Donegal is that they were a similar shambles against Cork in the quarter final, but annihilated them in the second half.

However, you can't count on that every day.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 21, 2016, 02:07:21 PM
Galway could rue those missed goal chances yet. Should be further than 3 points ahead at the break.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 21, 2016, 02:19:49 PM
Galway should be 6 or 7 up here. Can't help but feel they'll regret these missed chances in the end.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on August 21, 2016, 02:27:13 PM
Galway have been the better side by a mile.

I take it this Donegal management team aren't up to much.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 21, 2016, 02:28:30 PM
Galway must have blown about 3 or 4 great goal chances.
Post by: J70 on August 21, 2016, 02:28:58 PM
GAA Go provided yet another wonderful streaming experience. f**king brutal today.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 21, 2016, 02:29:04 PM
A wasteful Galway still keeping Donegal in the game.
Post by: Zulu on August 21, 2016, 02:32:33 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 21, 2016, 02:28:58 PM
GAA Go provided yet another wonderful streaming experience. f**king brutal today.

Yeah it's been shocking.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on August 21, 2016, 02:35:39 PM
Brainless stuff from Donegal, shooting from all angles rather than trying to work an opening.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 21, 2016, 02:37:04 PM
Don't think Evan Murphy has been right since he got that belt in the first half.
Post by: J70 on August 21, 2016, 02:37:37 PM
That's that.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 21, 2016, 02:37:47 PM
Disappointed in Donegal here, really poor to what we know they can play, Galway got a 2nd Goal there but have missed at least 3 more when a point would probably been enough. Should be 10pts up
Post by: Zulu on August 21, 2016, 02:39:28 PM
The Galway players are all technically excellent but they have a few gems in their forwards.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 21, 2016, 02:42:28 PM
1-5 for Anthony Finnerty's young lad.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 21, 2016, 02:44:17 PM
Not over yet.
Post by: Zulu on August 21, 2016, 02:44:51 PM
Some goal!!
Post by: Syferus on August 21, 2016, 02:50:27 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 31, 2016, 09:48:08 PM

Based on?

Hmm.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 21, 2016, 02:52:25 PM
Best team won and should have won by more but Galway can't afford to be as wasteful if they want to win the final.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 21, 2016, 02:53:08 PM
Galway's gamesmanship in the last 6 minutes was pretty pathetic to watch.
Post by: StephenC on August 21, 2016, 02:56:11 PM
Well done Galway. Much the better team on the day. Hope you go all the way.

Disappointed with much of our play. Our passing and decision making was poor throughout. Hard to know if we'll see any of these lads in the senior panel in a few years.
Post by: J70 on August 21, 2016, 02:59:54 PM
Well deserved by Galway given they created, if not took, a rake of goal chances. Donegal, to their credit, as a minor team, kept going, but could never close the gap beyond three points. Galway had the better forwards and better game plan.

Hard to know all right if any will make the step up to first choice seniors in coming years. Mogan looks a decent player in the style of McGlynn and Lacey breaking forward. Needs to stick at it though.
Post by: ashman on August 21, 2016, 03:00:27 PM
Stephen Joyce a native Irish speaker . Real flow .
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 21, 2016, 03:11:44 PM
Donegal didn't kick the ball up the field enough

It seems to be engrained in the county
Maybe Jimmy was right
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 21, 2016, 03:22:29 PM
Very happy with the win. Sloppy at times wasting numerous goal chances with loose final passes but young lads don't always take the right option. Great to win as well with Galway's best player, Evan Murphy, not having a big influence on the game. Seemed like he was carrying a knock after receiving a belt in the first half. Wasn't moving well at all after. Will need him at 100% for the final. Hard luck Donegal.
Post by: seafoid on August 21, 2016, 04:09:17 PM
Great win.
Post by: galwayman on August 21, 2016, 05:33:14 PM
Well deserved win for the Galway lads.
I really thought we would be made to pay for the missed goal chances but thankfully that didn't come to pass.
We have plenty to work on.Turned the ball over sloppily on numerous occasions (as did Donegal).
Kerry seem to be very highly rated again this year though I haven't seen any of their games yet.
Will be interested to see them next week.
Kildare have been comfortable enough in their games up to now?
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 21, 2016, 08:10:38 PM
Quote from: galwayman on August 21, 2016, 05:33:14 PM
Well deserved win for the Galway lads.
I really thought we would be made to pay for the missed goal chances but thankfully that didn't come to pass.
We have plenty to work on.Turned the ball over sloppily on numerous occasions (as did Donegal).
Kerry seem to be very highly rated again this year though I haven't seen any of their games yet.
Will be interested to see them next week.
Kildare have been comfortable enough in their games up to now?

Kildare needed extra time against Meath and never looked comfortable against a dogged Mayo. Ulster looks like the weakest province this year and Kerry were quite open against Derry and Derry could have scored more. It's a small hope but I expect Kildare to run up a score but not sure we will be able to keep it down at the other end.
Post by: Rudi on August 21, 2016, 08:25:26 PM
As usual Galway have some really classy minors. Thought Donegal we're horribly defensive for a minor side that had won all their championship games to date. Galway will be hard to beat. A lot of the players on view today had not a clue how to tackle, slapping the fu#k out of a lad is not tacking. What are coaches at on all these underage development squads? That comment really goes for every game of football these days. U21 is where the best football is played.
Post by: Chimley on August 21, 2016, 11:15:34 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 21, 2016, 02:42:28 PM
1-5 for Anthony Finnerty's young lad.

Looks like a real prospect. He was two steps ahead of most other players.
Post by: ck on August 21, 2016, 11:24:02 PM
Very impressive Galway team in what was a stuttering performance. Joyce doing a fine job with them. Donegal were a shambles tactically but have some lovely players.
Kerry Galway final should be a good one.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 22, 2016, 09:50:38 AM
Can't help wondering if Donegal set a record for the ratio of handpasses to kick passes in the game.

They attempted a couple of desperation stake hoofes in around the square late on but bar that I'd say they had somewhere around 5 actual kick passes over the course of the game. Shocking stuff all together. Was especially noticeable when the Galway full-forward line was thriving off some great early kick passing balls coming in from out the field.

Galway will have to be a lot less wasteful when it comes to the goal chances they created in the final. There was a couple of occasions when the initial goal chance was snuffed out and rather than take the simple tap over point Galway persisted in trying to work a goal and came away with nothing when they could have done with a score to keep the scoreboard ticking over. Should have been a lot more comfortable down the home stretch.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 22, 2016, 09:51:33 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 21, 2016, 02:53:08 PM

I thought that was disappointing alright. There were some near mortal blows recovered from.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 22, 2016, 10:04:28 AM
Quote from: ck on August 21, 2016, 11:24:02 PM
Very impressive Galway team in what was a stuttering performance. Joyce doing a fine job with them. Donegal were a shambles tactically but have some lovely players.

>:(
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 22, 2016, 10:06:18 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 22, 2016, 09:51:33 AM

I thought that was disappointing alright. There were some near mortal blows recovered from.

I wouldn't mind there was no need for it. When you minors doing this sort of thing you know the culture has changed. Bloody Tyrone!!
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on August 22, 2016, 10:19:10 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 22, 2016, 09:51:33 AM

After the euphoria of reaching a final dies down, a few of those mortally wounded lads will be pulled aside this week for a "cop yourself on" chat I would imagine by the Manager - he wouldnt be one to tolerate that type of sh1t.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 22, 2016, 10:53:25 AM
Wouldn't be something I'd associate with Galway. They have some lovely footballers too. Where did this team come from? I was up at a Sean Purcell Academy day in Milltown 3 years ago with our 'B' team  (17 year olds now), and we played Mayo West, Leitrim, Mayo East and Galway North. Leitrim had hammered Galway north, and we managed to beat Leitrim, so Galway North gave us a walkover because they didn't want their young lads to get another hammering, which was fair enough, and I was happy because we had 3 other games anyway.

I was talking to a lad after who was apologising for the walkover, and he said 'Galway football is in a bad way, we're in big trouble at underage'. I was surprised to hear it, as I always associate Galway with nice loose football, which is basically what underage is. And given he was so downbeat, I'm surprised at this minor team, 3 years later, because they'd have been a year ahead of the bunch I saw, and obviously were contributing to the sense that they were in 'big trouble'.

Fair play to them for turning it around.
Post by: Jinxy on August 22, 2016, 10:53:30 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 22, 2016, 10:04:28 AM

Copy & paste that into a word document Dinny, print it off and post it on to the minor management along with some blu-tac.
These Kerry lads think it's in the bag, it's only a matter of toggin out.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 22, 2016, 10:55:32 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 22, 2016, 10:53:30 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 22, 2016, 10:04:28 AM

Copy & paste that into a word document Dinny, print it off and post it on to the minor management along with some blu-tac.
These Kerry lads think it's in the bag, it's only a matter of toggin out.

Sickening dismissiveness.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on August 22, 2016, 11:11:25 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 22, 2016, 10:53:25 AM
Wouldn't be something I'd associate with Galway. They have some lovely footballers too. Where did this team come from? I was up at a Sean Purcell Academy day in Milltown 3 years ago with our 'B' team  (17 year olds now), and we played Mayo West, Leitrim, Mayo East and Galway North. Leitrim had hammered Galway north, and we managed to beat Leitrim, so Galway North gave us a walkover because they didn't want their young lads to get another hammering, which was fair enough, and I was happy because we had 3 other games anyway.

I was talking to a lad after who was apologising for the walkover, and he said 'Galway football is in a bad way, we're in big trouble at underage'. I was surprised to hear it, as I always associate Galway with nice loose football, which is basically what underage is. And given he was so downbeat, I'm surprised at this minor team, 3 years later, because they'd have been a year ahead of the bunch I saw, and obviously were contributing to the sense that they were in 'big trouble'.

Quite a few of the better players on that team yesterday would be City + West so you may not have run into them in the above competition - Galway and Mayo always field 2 teams each in the annual Ted Webb Connacht competition (U16).  I would also say that the current minor team are probably missing 2 of the better footballers in the county through injury all year and I thought it would catch up with us yesterday but the team played very well despite being quite wasteful at times(typical minors!!).  Hard to judge how lads will progress in the coming years but I would be hopeful of getting a few good quality players out of this current crop - they just need to be managed and transitioned properly to the next level and that is where there has been a gap in recent times here in Galway as I see it, more so that the juvenile or underage structures being an issue. 
Post by: AZOffaly on August 22, 2016, 11:18:26 AM
Yeah we didn't see the City+West lads. I thought Tuam/Milltown would be a football area too though. But it was more the béal bocht that surprised me, and he made it sound as if it was something that had been building. Maybe he was 'cute hooring' me :)
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on August 22, 2016, 11:29:06 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 22, 2016, 11:18:26 AM
Yeah we didn't see the City+West lads. I thought Tuam/Milltown would be a football area too though. But it was more the béal bocht that surprised me, and he made it sound as if it was something that had been building. Maybe he was 'cute hooring' me :)
The above 2 would be in the traditional heartland of Galway football but the dynanmic is starting to change a little in recent years and will continue to do so from what I see with my own involvement at a juvenile level.  There are a few commuter towns around Galway where their population has exploded in the past 10 years so the likes of Claregalway, Moycullen, Oranmore, Salthill & possibly Bearna will start to have a bigger influence at club level and representation on county teams. 
Post by: AZOffaly on August 22, 2016, 11:30:51 AM
We had Moycullen down at an U12 blitz/tournament thing there in June, and they were very impressive. Played lovely football.
Post by: mouview on August 22, 2016, 02:47:55 PM

The decline of St. Jarlaths as a football college in Tuam has perhaps had a fair bit to do with the extended fallow period of North Galway football. Was a supply line and academy for many years. Not too many from the supposedly 'heartland' clubs on the current Minor team, i.e. Tuam, Dunmore, Milltown, Killererin, Kilkerrin, Caltra, Ballinasloe have none. Nor have Corofin or Mountbellew, though injury rules out their representatives. Those that are there from the north, Annaghdown, Monivea, is through testament of these clubs' sterling work at underage rather than by any systematic structure.
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 22, 2016, 02:50:48 PM
Did Jarlaths not take a lot of boarders, some from as far away as Kildare?

Know a couple of Mayo lads who attended Jarlaths.
Post by: seafoid on August 22, 2016, 04:11:22 PM
Quote from: mouview on August 22, 2016, 02:47:55 PM

The decline of St. Jarlaths as a football college in Tuam has perhaps had a fair bit to do with the extended fallow period of North Galway football. Was a supply line and academy for many years. Not too many from the supposedly 'heartland' clubs on the current Minor team, i.e. Tuam, Dunmore, Milltown, Killererin, Kilkerrin, Caltra, Ballinasloe have none. Nor have Corofin or Mountbellew, though injury rules out their representatives. Those that are there from the north, Annaghdown, Monivea, is through testament of these clubs' sterling work at underage rather than by any systematic structure.
Ballinasloe is a special case. It hasn't produced much for Galway teams for over 30 years
Post by: galwayman on August 22, 2016, 05:12:13 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 22, 2016, 10:53:25 AM

The Galway North team won the Ted Webb 2 years ago, while the West team won last year so we've been doing well in that competition (West lost final this year by one point).
I know from a friend of mine who has been involved at underage level a few years ago that there can be several different squads up until the Ted Webb, so at u14 and u15 there can be four or five squads playing games who are then whittled down at u16 to 2 squads for the Ted Webb.
This may have been the case in that blitz AZ.
I know 3 years ago we had a bad Ted Webb with both teams performing poorly but last years minor team won Connacht in spite of this so you never know.
Post by: muppet on August 22, 2016, 07:29:12 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on August 22, 2016, 02:50:48 PM

Even Donegal.
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 22, 2016, 08:29:35 PM
It certainly looks like Galway's management have learnt from their mistakes last year where Tipp won the tactical battle against a naive Galway. I was expecting more from Donegal, its a Galway should have won more comprehensively and that was without Evan Murphy having too much impact on the final.

I was at the Kildare v Mayo match, Kildare were the better team but I thought its the poorest Mayo minor side i've seen in a while. Jack Robinson I think was the Kildare no 10 and he comfortably looked the best talent on the pitch.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on August 23, 2016, 04:00:20 AM

Yep, James Kavanagh went there.
Post by: galwayman on August 23, 2016, 04:42:51 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on August 23, 2016, 04:00:20 AM

Yep, James Kavanagh went there.
Kavanagh was originally from Galway I think. Family moved to Kildare.
Post by: PW Nally on August 28, 2016, 02:04:21 PM
Half time
Kerry 0-11
Kildare 0-7
Post by: Rossfan on August 28, 2016, 02:05:51 PM
Lot of wides from Kerry keeping Kildare's hopes alive.
Was wondering what part of Kerry the ref was from at one stage....
Post by: twohands!!! on August 28, 2016, 02:09:52 PM
No wide for Kildare. 8 wides for Kerry.

Kerry were on top for long periods and also had a good goal chance as well.

Would have to fancy Kerry to get the win at this stage - however if Kildare could get a bit more ball to their forwards they might have a chance. Feel Kildare will need a goal. Devent enough game of ball. Yer man Clifford for Kerry does look a serious operator. Robinson too for Kildare but he went out of the game as it went on.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 28, 2016, 02:11:24 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 28, 2016, 02:05:51 PM
Lot of wides from Kerry keeping Kildare's hopes alive.
Was wondering what part of Kerry the ref was from at one stage....

I thought the ref was OK overall even if he dId give a couple of soft ones to both sides. Not an influence on the scoreline for me.
Post by: yellowcard on August 28, 2016, 02:12:27 PM
Kerry look like a very good side, they have been strong at minor/Hogan cup level now for a few years.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 28, 2016, 02:22:45 PM
Kerry scored 6 points from 6 since the start of the 2nd half.

Really turning it on now.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 28, 2016, 02:26:24 PM
Super take and pass for the goal. Game over unfortunately
Post by: twohands!!! on August 28, 2016, 02:27:57 PM
Goal put the tin hat on it. Game over.

Kerry with a 12 point lead with 18 minutes left.

Final v Galway should be a cracker
Post by: larryin89 on August 28, 2016, 02:33:07 PM
Scary times ahead with these great kerry minor teams.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 28, 2016, 02:36:27 PM
That kerry team will be far to strong for Galway
Post by: Jinxy on August 28, 2016, 02:39:23 PM
How's Clifford playing?
I only really saw him in action back in the Hogan final but he looked to have all the tools.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 28, 2016, 02:39:48 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 28, 2016, 02:36:27 PM
That kerry team will be far to strong for Galway

When the Kildare forwards got good quick ball they had the Kerry backs in a bit of bother. Kerry backs looked far more comfortable dealing with slower ball. Galway were very good at getting fast ball into their forwards against Donegal.
Post by: Chimley on August 28, 2016, 02:41:12 PM
By the looks of it, they'd beat the pick of the other three semi finalists.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 28, 2016, 02:42:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 28, 2016, 02:39:23 PM
How's Clifford playing?
I only really saw him in action back in the Hogan final but he looked to have all the tools.

Really good caught a lovely ball for the Kerry goal. As you say seems to have all the attributes.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 28, 2016, 02:42:45 PM
Depressing enough - started well but as soon Kerry took control of midfield our inside line were starved and what little ball we had delivery was poor and too many mistakes. Plan A of our kick out strategy was go long Plan B was see Plan A. Midfield was always a worry but Kerry's middle 8 just dominated us. These two semi defeats in a row just feeds into our fragile pysch and the cycle continues.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 28, 2016, 02:44:24 PM
Quote from: Chimley on August 28, 2016, 02:41:12 PM
By the looks of it, they'd beat the pick of the other three semi finalists.

Kildare went to pices completely though. Torally lost any semblance of a defensive shape.
Post by: Chimley on August 28, 2016, 02:45:12 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 28, 2016, 02:42:45 PM
Depressing enough - started well but as soon Kerry took control of midfield our inside line were starved and what little ball we had delivery was poor and too many mistakes. Plan A of our kick out strategy was go long Plan B was see Plan A. Midfield was always a worry but Kerry's middle 8 just dominated us. These two semi defeats in a row just feeds into our fragile pysch and the cycle continues.

It's always disappointing to lose at this stage but you'll get a few nice prospects from this team.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 28, 2016, 02:47:36 PM
Some scoring from Kerry in the quarter and semi final. 24 points against Derry. 26 against Kildare (and not over yet).
Post by: twohands!!! on August 28, 2016, 02:49:12 PM
Quote from: Chimley on August 28, 2016, 02:45:12 PM

It's always disappointing to lose at this stage but you'll get a few nice prospects from this team.

I wouldn't be surprised if Kildare did better than Donegal in terms of getting lads for senior out of the 2 losing semi-finalists.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 28, 2016, 02:50:26 PM
Whats the closest any team got to them this year??
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 28, 2016, 02:50:45 PM
These two semi defeats in a row just feeds into our fragile pysch and the cycle continues.

There's no end to it.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 28, 2016, 02:51:57 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 28, 2016, 02:50:26 PM
Whats the closest any team got to them this year??

Think they only beat Clare by 6 or 7 points. Something like that anyway. Cork they beat by 6 as well I think.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 28, 2016, 02:53:01 PM
Kerry just moved up the gears to steamroll past Kildare. Galway have a massive task on their hands to topple that Kerry side but hopefully it is at least competitive.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 28, 2016, 02:57:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 28, 2016, 02:39:23 PM
How's Clifford playing?

Very assured on the ball, looks excellent.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 28, 2016, 02:59:17 PM
Met a lad from Kerry last week who told me next year's Kerry minor team will be even better than this year's. Clifford of course is still minor again next year.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 28, 2016, 03:00:03 PM
2-26  :o has that type of scoring ever happen in a minor semi final before? So Kerry minors on the verge of winning three minor All Irelands in a row. Jack O Connor should have some pick for the Kerry U21s next year.
Post by: Chimley on August 28, 2016, 03:03:05 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 28, 2016, 02:59:17 PM
Met a lad from Kerry last week who told me next year's Kerry minor team will be even better than this year's.

Yerra
Post by: Jinxy on August 28, 2016, 03:18:24 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 28, 2016, 02:59:17 PM
Met a lad from Kerry last week who told me next year's Kerry minor team will be even better than this year's. Clifford of course is still minor again next year.

Is he?
Does it not go to u-17 next year?
Post by: mackers on August 28, 2016, 11:36:31 PM
It goes to u17 the year after next.
Post by: moysider on August 28, 2016, 11:54:34 PM

Yerra, minors are minors. Nothing to get excited about.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 28, 2016, 11:56:46 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 28, 2016, 11:54:34 PM

Yerra, minors are minors.

Next year they are. After that some minors aren't minors at all
Post by: moysider on August 29, 2016, 12:11:53 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on August 28, 2016, 11:56:46 PM

I know. What I meant was underage stuff can be great to watch but even on the better teams few enough players make the cut at senior.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 29, 2016, 12:21:32 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 29, 2016, 12:11:53 AM

I know. What I meant was underage stuff can be great to watch but even on the better teams few enough players make the cut at senior.
For a 3rd year in a row Kerry are dominating the U18 grade be it county or schools level. They should get more than a few to make the cut at senior level in the years ahead.
Post by: moysider on August 29, 2016, 12:35:48 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on August 29, 2016, 12:21:32 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 29, 2016, 12:11:53 AM

For a 3rd year in a row Kerry are dominating the U18 grade be it county or schools level. They should get more than a few to make the cut at senior level in the years ahead.

They need them too. It could be hot-house flower stuff after years when they didn t do well at underage and got themselves organised.
A lot of this senior Kerry team are going to finish up at the same time. A big ask to replace them with a raft of kids and keep punching at the highest level.
Post by: ashman on August 29, 2016, 01:12:52 AM
The reality is barring a seismic shift Kerry and Dublin will probably be in the senior final next year .  Kerry could regress and still be there .  Next year the semis will be Leinster v Ulster & Munster v Connaught .  Kerry will have time to bed any decent minors in .
Post by: moysider on August 29, 2016, 01:35:19 AM
Quote from: ashman on August 29, 2016, 01:12:52 AM
The reality is barring a seismic shift Kerry and Dublin will probably be in the senior final next year .  Kerry could regress and still be there .  Next year the semis will be Leinster v Ulster & Munster v Connaught .  Kerry will have time to bed any decent minors in .

Mayo won the minor 3 years ago and only one has made the step up so far from that. There wont be many more that will. Often a successful minor team is greater than the sum of its parts.

Either this year or next Kerry have to replace Donaghy, Gooch, O Mahony, Sheehan, Marc, Walsh. Johnny Buckley seems to have run out of legs as well.

This is probably the biggest transition Kerry have had to make in 30 years.

Pateen was talking the fight today but some of those lads are not going to be replaced overnight.
Post by: galwayman on August 29, 2016, 09:08:25 AM
It will be a big ask for our lads to topple that Kerry team
Post by: Zulu on August 29, 2016, 12:14:50 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 29, 2016, 01:35:19 AM
Quote from: ashman on August 29, 2016, 01:12:52 AM

Mayo won the minor 3 years ago and only one has made the step up so far from that. There wont be many more that will. Often a successful minor team is greater than the sum of its parts.

Either this year or next Kerry have to replace Donaghy, Gooch, O Mahony, Sheehan, Marc, Walsh. Johnny Buckley seems to have run out of legs as well.

This is probably the biggest transition Kerry have had to make in 30 years.

Pateen was talking the fight today but some of those lads are not going to be replaced overnight.

Don't think many people expected most of that Mayo minor winning team to come through. This Kerry team appear to exceptional however and a lot of their players look like they have what it takes to step up. I'd expect a number of the Kerry minor players to come through and with a lot of them being forwards they should help Kerry return to winning ways in the next few years.   
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 29, 2016, 01:20:03 PM
Looks like an exceptional Kerry team, would like to think Galway will make it more difficult for them but it would a shock for Galway to beat this team.

There's no guarantee with minor's, U21's gives more of an indication and even then there's no guarantee's. Look its Kerry though and they will produce good players whether they have underage success or not.
Post by: ballinaman on September 15, 2016, 10:09:35 AM
Not much talk about this one.
I know they played each other in a challenge match earlier in the year. Not sure how it went.
Mulkerrin at FB from Aran Islands vs Clifford should be a good battle. Evan Murphy at 11 makes has making of a good player, great striker of the ball but Kerry will know all about his outside of the right passes at this stage.
Tannion has Galway well drilled defensively, choked us effectively in the Connacht final. I'd give Galway a shout, be great to see them do it.
Post by: galwayman on September 15, 2016, 11:37:48 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on September 15, 2016, 10:09:35 AM
I know they played each other in a challenge match earlier in the year. Not sure how it went.
Mulkerrin at FB from Aran Islands vs Clifford should be a good battle. Evan Murphy at 11 makes has making of a good player, great striker of the ball but Kerry will know all about his outside of the right passes at this stage.
Tannion has Galway well drilled defensively, choked us effectively in the Connacht final. I'd give Galway a shout, be great to see them do it.
I've seen Galway play a few times between league and championship - have only seen bits of the Kerry semi final win over Kildare but by all accounts they're a very impressive team.
It's funny Kerry did very little at minor level post their AI win over us in 1994 until 2 years ago but seem to be absolutely flying it now.
I hope our lads do themselves justice on the day win or lose.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 15, 2016, 08:13:29 PM
Galway minor team to play Kerry

Cormac Haslam (Glenamaddy)

Liam Boyle (Kilkerrin-Clonberne)
Seán Mulkerrin (Oileáin Árann)
Eoin McFadden (Salthill-Knocknacarra)

Adam Quirke (Annaghdown)
Ernán McDonagh (Bearna)
Fionnán Garvey (Monivea-Abbey)

Céin D'Arcy (Caherlistrane)
John Maher  (Salthill-Knocknacarra)

Finian Ó' Laoi (An Spidéal)
Evan Murphy (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
Ryan Forde (Annaghdown)

Robert Finnerty (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
Seán Raftery (Glenamaddy)
Desmond Conneely (Moycullen)
Post by: galwayman on September 15, 2016, 08:56:27 PM
Surprised Barry Goldrick isn't on the team.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on September 16, 2016, 01:53:26 AM
Quote from: galwayman on September 15, 2016, 11:37:48 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on September 15, 2016, 10:09:35 AM
I've seen Galway play a few times between league and championship - have only seen bits of the Kerry semi final win over Kildare but by all accounts they're a very impressive team.
It's funny Kerry did very little at minor level post their AI win over us in 1994 until 2 years ago but seem to be absolutely flying it now.
I hope our lads do themselves justice on the day win or lose.

That's not entirely accurate. Kerry lost AI minor finals in both 1996 and 2004 by a kick of a ball.  The 1997 team lost a semi final replay to Tyrone that remains one of the best games I've ever seen. 23-21 after ET I think it was. 98-2003 were poor enough despite some exceptional talent, due in no small part to poor underage standard of coaching and bad management teams. 2006 was one that was thrown away against Roscommon in the drawn game, with Ross winning the replay. 2007-2013 was again a fallow period.
Second half of the bolded sentence is certainly accurate though. Next years minor squad (7 underage from this year, including Clifford) is every bit as strong as any of the last 3.

Having looked at the Galway v Donegal semi, it wouldn't surprise me if this game were tight at half-time and well into the second half. Hopefully the firepower our lads possess will see them over the line.
Post by: Zulu on September 18, 2016, 01:36:40 PM
Galway look the much better team so far but they can't creat decent scoring chances. Both teams look like classy outfits but scoring is proving difficult.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 18, 2016, 01:44:49 PM
This Kerry minor team have a keen eye for goals. 21 minutes it took Galway to score not looking good for the Connacht teens.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 18, 2016, 01:47:41 PM
The size of Clifford and Shaw in the Kerry full-forward line the main difference between the sides. They are winning a lot in the air up there between them. Bit unlucky for the first Kerry goal mind as it was a point attempt that dropped short.
Post by: Itchy on September 18, 2016, 01:48:40 PM
Mass defence ruining this game. How long before it's the norm at all underage levels?
Post by: Zulu on September 18, 2016, 01:53:36 PM
Both teams seem to able to get bodies back alright but I don't think either side are playing with massed defences are they? It's an odd game, you can clearly see there are plenty of very good players out there and there's some very good passages of play and we know both sides have classy forwards but it's a nothing game from a spectators point of view. Very few decent scoring chances being created and both goals were a little fortunate and not the result of great attacking play.

Hope it opens up a bit in the second half as there's two well matched quality teams out there.
Post by: Cunny Funt on September 18, 2016, 02:03:34 PM
Blanket minor defence final in that 1st half between two counties with a tradition of playing positive football.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 18, 2016, 02:07:08 PM
Both sides seem a bit fearful of the forwards on the other team. Not leading to a great spectacle.
Post by: ashman on September 18, 2016, 02:12:40 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 18, 2016, 02:07:08 PM
Both sides seem a bit fearful of the forwards on the other team. Not leading to a great spectacle.

Kerry handling very poor
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 18, 2016, 02:20:05 PM
Poor game given the palyers on view from both sides, weather obviously playing a part but that's the worse i seen of both teams this year.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 18, 2016, 02:24:15 PM
That lad is some player, exceptional goal
Post by: Cunny Funt on September 18, 2016, 02:26:09 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 18, 2016, 02:24:15 PM
One of the few moments of pure class in this game and has more or less ended Galway chance of a comeback.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 18, 2016, 02:26:35 PM
Galway had a chance to put just one point between the sides. Lost the ball under no pressure. Straight down the other end and Clifford goals. Probably wraps it up.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 18, 2016, 02:28:30 PM
Galway have a better team than i thought and probably maybe better on the day, but goals wins games. interesting how both counties manage to produce good forwards
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 18, 2016, 02:33:34 PM
Is this the first ever 3 in a row minor team since the 40`s? Know Laois made it to 3 finals in a row back late 90`s winning 2
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 18, 2016, 02:33:50 PM
Frustrating game from a Galway perspective. Didn't seem to be much difference in quality between the sides overall but Kerry got the goals. Clifford got a goal and an assist for another goal but was actually well marshalled by Mulkerrin for the most part. Himself and Shaw did the damage.

Galway needed Evan Murphy to perform to win the game and he had a few early wides that seemed to dent his confidence. Never got going after that.

7 point win a bit flattering to Kerry. Not helped by a ridiculous red card for the Galway midfielder towards the end.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 18, 2016, 02:41:24 PM
Goals do indeed wins games the margin of defeat unfair on Galway.  I think Cork won three in a row last in the 60s
Post by: Nigel White on September 18, 2016, 02:44:15 PM
Dara Moynihan pulled away from the team celebrations to do a stupid interview with TG4 before getting his MoM award. These TV cnuts want to be told to stick their mics up their jacksie. Sending off a disgraceful pointless exercise. Refs need to get some cop on
Post by: galwayman on September 18, 2016, 02:56:30 PM
It was a tight game.Certainly not a 7 point game.
Sending off a joke but didn't affect the result.
Big difference was we never really looked like scoring a goal apart from when the Kerry keeper fell asleep and was blessed to clear off the line in the first half.
Well done Kerry. 3 in a row is a fair achievement
Post by: Rudi on September 18, 2016, 06:24:32 PM
3rd goal for Kerry was superb, given the conditions one of the very best.
Post by: seafoid on September 18, 2016, 07:14:18 PM
I don't know who said the best raw material is someone who lost an underage all Ireland. Kerry beat Galway in 94. 2 of the players were Donnellan and Joyce who were quite handy.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on September 18, 2016, 07:17:00 PM
Well done to Kerry, I would say slightly the more composed team and the goals won the game obviously.  We needed a lot more out of our marquee forwards from SK who did just not perform.  No shame in that as minors are very unpredictable at the best off times.
Post by: orangeman on September 18, 2016, 10:51:05 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on September 18, 2016, 02:26:09 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 18, 2016, 02:24:15 PM
One of the few moments of pure class in this game and has more or less ended Galway chance of a comeback.

Soloing 60 yards with his left and then letting fly with his right with an unstoppable shot.

Worth the €80 admission fee alone.
Post by: johnpower on September 18, 2016, 11:35:48 PM
Quote from: galwayman on September 18, 2016, 02:56:30 PM
It was a tight game.Certainly not a 7 point game.
Sending off a joke but didn't affect the result.
Big difference was we never really looked like scoring a goal apart from when the Kerry keeper fell asleep and was blessed to clear off the line in the first half.
Well done Kerry. 3 in a row is a fair achievement

I agree the Galway minor team of 94 really drove on and delivered at senior leve
Post by: blanketattack on September 19, 2016, 12:42:02 AM
Well done to Peter Keane and the Kerry minors. Had a tremendous year but especially when they hit Croke Park, scoring 6-57 in their 3 games at HQ.

3 in a row is quite an achievement but especially so with such a huge turnover each year, with an average of only 2 players surviving from the previous year's team to the next. Including subs, 50 Kerry players have won All Ireland minor medals in the last 3 years - that can only be a good thing. Next year's minor team is the first with a decent number of retainees with half the team eligible again next year.

2014 to 2016 has been good for Kerry GAA, with 15 Kerry teams having played All Ireland finals in Croke Park in the last 2 years, winning 14 of the 15 finals.

Post by: Jinxy on September 19, 2016, 01:38:19 PM
I'm assuming some AFL team is waiting in the wings to grab Clifford at the first available opportunity.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 19, 2016, 04:17:10 PM
The Kerry keeper had somebody watching down on him!!!
Post by: moysider on September 19, 2016, 10:25:43 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 19, 2016, 01:38:19 PM
I'm assuming some AFL team is waiting in the wings to grab Clifford at the first available opportunity.

Hopefully.
Post by: Walter Cronc on September 20, 2016, 09:43:20 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 19, 2016, 10:25:43 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 19, 2016, 01:38:19 PM

Hopefully.

Funny how possibly the greatest group of minor footballers (since Tyrone 97/98) and not much talk of AFL contracts. Is Tadhg Kenelly told to stay away from poaching the Kingdoms finest ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on September 20, 2016, 11:50:54 AM
That young O'Connor lad is apparently being lined up. Excellent midfielder.
Post by: Walter Cronc on September 20, 2016, 12:52:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 20, 2016, 11:50:54 AM

Mark O'Connor? what age is he? If its the one I'm thinking of I cant fathom how he hasn't been on their radar for 3/4 years.
Post by: Rossfan on September 20, 2016, 01:02:41 PM
What age was the Kerry no 2 with a big man's beard on him? ;D
Think his name was Naughton. Wonder where's his dad from?
Post by: Maroon Manc on September 22, 2016, 11:28:11 AM
I know Evan Murphy wasn't playing well but was surprised to see him come off so early, would have liked to have seen him move in to the full forward line where we lacked a bit of physicality.

Clifford is a special talent although thought Mulkerrins did very well on him.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 22, 2016, 11:31:22 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on September 20, 2016, 12:52:11 PM

Mark O'Connor? what age is he? If its the one I'm thinking of I cant fathom how he hasn't been on their radar for 3/4 years.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/kerry-starlet-mark-oconnor-to-try-out-for-afl-clubs-421128.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/kerry-starlet-mark-oconnor-to-try-out-for-afl-clubs-421128.html)
Post by: twohands!!! on September 22, 2016, 05:20:45 PM

Was named in the senior squad for either the Clare or Tipp game so could well be given a run in the league if he doesn't go to Oz fulltime.