GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 01:56:26 PM

Title: Gumshield / Mouth Guards
Post by: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 01:56:26 PM
Whats everyone's opinion on the new Gumshield / Mouth Guard rule?

Personally I hate the thought of them as Ive never wore one in my life and just see them as more of an inconvenience as its one extra thing to remember to bring on match day.  Also, I'm going to assume they affect your breathing which at 30 years of age, I need all the oxygen in my lungs I can get when playing.   A mouth guard will surely limit my intake of glorious air resulting in a probable blackout mid match some time this year.

Rediculous rule IMO TBF 
Title: Re: Gumshield / Mouth Guards
Post by: johnneycool on January 21, 2014, 03:37:57 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 01:56:26 PM

Personally I hate the thought of them as Ive never wore one in my life and just see them as more of an inconvenience as its one extra thing to remember to bring on match day.  Also, I'm going to assume they affect your breathing which at 30 years of age, I need all the oxygen in my lungs I can get when playing.   A mouth guard will surely limit my intake of glorious air resulting in a probable blackout mid match some time this year.

Rediculous rule IMO TBF

Get one with holes drilled in it FFS...

Post by: smort on January 21, 2014, 03:42:46 PM
Same as christmas lights, never wore one before and slightly worried it will take a while to get accustomed to.

Do players have to go and get them done individually? You would think some entrepreneurial dentist out there could make a few bob going round clubs fitting them out.
Post by: shark on January 21, 2014, 03:49:45 PM
Quote from: smort on January 21, 2014, 03:42:46 PM
Same as christmas lights, never wore one before and slightly worried it will take a while to get accustomed to.

Do players have to go and get them done individually? You would think some entrepreneurial dentist out there could make a few bob going round clubs fitting them out.

Our club got a local dentist to come to training and fit us all for one. Group rate worked out at almost half price.  Dentist made gumshields the only way to go. 
Post by: smort on January 21, 2014, 03:53:53 PM
Quote from: shark on January 21, 2014, 03:49:45 PM
Quote from: smort on January 21, 2014, 03:42:46 PM

Our club got a local dentist to come to training and fit us all for one. Group rate worked out at almost half price.  Dentist made gumshields the only way to go.

Hope my club does something similar then. Don't really have much time to go to a dentist and get one fitted. A few boys in my club have been extolling the self-mould gumshields, but id rather get a properly fitted one.
Post by: bridgegael on January 21, 2014, 04:05:44 PM
i can imagine this happening somewhere. "anybody got an extra gumshield"  :P
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 21, 2014, 04:20:53 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on January 21, 2014, 04:05:44 PM
i can imagine this happening somewhere everywhere. "anybody got an extra gumshield"  :P
Post by: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 04:26:23 PM
What happens if you dont wear one?

Sharing a gumshield, pretty damn gross  :-[
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 21, 2014, 04:28:41 PM
A completely necessary rule change IMO and it is going to be very difficult for referees to enforce at club level.
I know quite a few players already wear them, but it certainly shouldn't be forced upon people, especially as they can be quite expensive.

I take it this is all down to an insurance issue??
Post by: Under Lights on January 21, 2014, 04:31:45 PM
I think I read its a black card offence not to wear one.
Post by: Zulu on January 21, 2014, 04:37:16 PM
Not a black card offence but you can be ordered off if you refuse to wear one. Refs are not going to check on everyone though so you could potentially play a full game without one.
Post by: smort on January 21, 2014, 04:38:23 PM
got this from the gaa website

ROLE OF THE REFEREE
If a player refuses to comply with a Referee's instruction to wear a mouthguard, he will incur the penalty as outlined in (Rule 6.2, Rules of Foul Play, The Playing Rules of Football, Official Guide, Part 2, 2012) 'Caution the offender; order off if he persists'.
Post by: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 04:40:54 PM
Quote from: smort on January 21, 2014, 04:38:23 PM

ROLE OF THE REFEREE
If a player refuses to comply with a Referee's instruction to wear a mouthguard, he will incur the penalty as outlined in (Rule 6.2, Rules of Foul Play, The Playing Rules of Football, Official Guide, Part 2, 2012) 'Caution the offender; order off if he persists'.

Order off if he persists??  If he doesnt have a mouthguard at the start of the game, hes not going to have one 20 minutes in so I guess the player is essentially sent off?

What if you forget to take it with you?  Does that mean you have to sit out the game?  Cant expect people to share gumshields FFS
Its a pathetic rule.
Post by: ziggysego on January 21, 2014, 04:42:55 PM
Information and fitting for mouthguards in Greencastle tonight.

http://greencastlegaa.com/ancaisleanglas/news/dentist-mouth-guard/d859adf7-68e7-427b-a128-6b1219e1b6f1 (http://greencastlegaa.com/ancaisleanglas/news/dentist-mouth-guard/d859adf7-68e7-427b-a128-6b1219e1b6f1)
Post by: smort on January 21, 2014, 04:43:51 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 04:40:54 PM

ROLE OF THE REFEREE

Order off if he persists??  If he doesnt have a mouthguard at the start of the game, hes not going to have one 20 minutes in so I guess the player is essentially sent off?

What if you forget to take it with you?  Does that mean you have to sit out the game?  Cant expect people to share gumshields FFS
Its a pathetic rule.

Yes im thinking the same christmas lights. If a player has no gumshield or forgets it or something, then the manager will have to leave him out of the team. Crazy.
Post by: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 04:51:04 PM
Quote from: smort on January 21, 2014, 04:43:51 PM

ROLE OF THE REFEREE

Its a pathetic rule.

Yes im thinking the same christmas lights. If a player has no gumshield or forgets it or something, then the manager will have to leave him out of the team. Crazy.

Will the madness never end Smort?
Post by: smort on January 21, 2014, 04:53:02 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 04:51:04 PM

ROLE OF THE REFEREE

Its a pathetic rule.

Im just surprised management and backroom staff don't have to wear them as in many cases they are just as likely to get a slap   
Post by: Rossfan on January 21, 2014, 04:54:11 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 04:51:04 PM

ROLE OF THE REFEREE

Its a pathetic rule.

Go back to bet lads and try getting out the right side.
Such a pair of whingers.
Post by: smort on January 21, 2014, 05:01:09 PM
Do you agree the rossfan that a player shouldn't be able to play if he forgets his gumshield. the shout often goes around the changing room 'anybody spare socks/shorts'....people will forget it at some stage
Post by: Rossfan on January 21, 2014, 05:05:17 PM
Doesn't matter a fcuk whether I agree or not - it's now the rule.
I don't agree with handpassing the ball over the bar but the GAA still went ahead and allowed it.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on January 21, 2014, 05:09:54 PM

ROLE OF THE REFEREE

Its a pathetic rule.

Would be the same if you had no football boots with you sure.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 21, 2014, 08:15:35 PM
This is daft. Its like saying to the hurler, hurl a way lad, I know you forgot your helmet but never worry :-\. Common sense test required to be allowed to post please.
Post by: smort on January 21, 2014, 09:04:31 PM
There are an awful lot more head injuries in hurling than there are mouth injuries in football. I just don't see the need for this rule to have been brought in.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 21, 2014, 09:05:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 21, 2014, 08:15:35 PM
This is daft. Its like saying to the hurler, hurl a way lad, I know you forgot your helmet but never worry :-\. Common sense test required to be allowed to post please.
IMO a gumshield isn't a necessary piece of equipment .
There was no need for this rule to be brought in IMO and an awful lot of players are against it. Those that wanted to wear a gumsheild were free to do so, its a complete nonsense to force everyone to do it.
Post by: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 09:58:33 PM

Still should not be a compulsory rule IMO.  A helmet in hurling could save a life.  I dont think a gumshield is a life saving piece of equipment.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 21, 2014, 10:04:25 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 09:58:33 PM

Still should not be a compulsory rule IMO.  A helmet in hurling could save a life.  I dont think a gumshield is a life saving piece of equipment.

I've never known anyone to die from not wearing a helmet, I never wore one right up till we had to, did I want to hurl? yes, so I bought a helmet. Job done move on, those are the rules. A gumshield will not make you a worse footballer ffs, anyone using that as an excuse is thick (IMO ;)), it will prevent someone from losing their teeth though
Post by: smort on January 21, 2014, 10:34:17 PM
Who is saying it will make you a worse footballer? Its whether or not its a necessary piece of equipment. The helmet in hurling is of far more importance than a gumshield is in football. Did anyone have any problems with the helmet being made compulsory? I can't believe it was only 2010 when it was introduced when the dangers of a head injury are so apparent.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 21, 2014, 10:40:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 21, 2014, 10:04:25 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on January 21, 2014, 09:58:33 PM

I've never known anyone to die from not wearing a helmet, I never wore one right up till we had to, did I want to hurl? yes, so I bought a helmet. Job done move on, those are the rules. A gumshield will not make you a worse footballer ffs, anyone using that as an excuse is thick (IMO ;)), it will prevent someone from losing their teeth though
But why make them compulsory?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 21, 2014, 10:57:18 PM

Rediculous rule IMO TBF

Lights thinks it will affect his breathing and you agreed smort, which could hinder your performance

They are compulsory because they have had injuries in the past? I really don't think it's a big problem, it was a hassle at the start wearing a helmet but life's better with it
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2014, 08:58:18 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 21, 2014, 10:57:18 PM

Rediculous rule IMO TBF

Lights thinks it will affect his breathing and you agreed smort, which could hinder your performance

They are compulsory because they have had injuries in the past? I really don't think it's a big problem, it was a hassle at the start wearing a helmet but life's better with it

I would like to see the stats for serious dental/mouth injuries in gaelic football, i'd say the problem is minimal.
I would say broken leg is a far more common GAA injury (and far more serious), are compulsory shin guards next?
Post by: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 09:24:41 AM
Shin guards are unlikely to prevent a broken leg in football but gum shields can prevent dental injuries. Like MR2 I fail to see the issue, yes, current adult players will take time to get used to it but in a few months all players will have made that adjustment and the world will keep turning. Money may be the GAA's main motivation but if we can save money on dental injuries I don't see why we shouldn't. You'll still be able to play football and some day you might be glad you were wearing one.
Post by: smort on January 22, 2014, 09:39:48 AM
I agree, all players will just get on with it and wear one, but I just don't think they are a necessity whereas helmets in hurling are.
Post by: Canalman on January 22, 2014, 09:40:25 AM
Good rule alright to introduce them. Remember the same type of whinging when faceguards made mandatory in hurling. If it saves one player a serious dental injury it is well worth it.

The whinge for the sake of a whinge will blow over in a couple of weeks just like it did in the hurling when there was supposed to be an exodus of players from the game.

Post by: AZOffaly on January 22, 2014, 09:40:33 AM
I think I asked this before, but I'm not sure if I got the answer. Is there not an element of concussion minimisation/prevention with the gumshield. Acting as a sort of buffer to belts in the jaw, chin?

As regards people dying from getting a belt in the head, MR2, I'm sure there were a couple. I seem to remember a  former Dub dual player died I think from getting a belt of a hurl on the temple. I thought it was Mick Holden but I was raving there.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2014, 09:43:15 AM
Quote from: Canalman on January 22, 2014, 09:40:25 AM
Good rule alright to introduce them. Remember the same type of whinging when faceguards made mandatory in hurling. If it saves one player a serious dental injury it is well worth it.

The whinge for the sake of a whinge will blow over in a couple of weeks just like it did in the hurling when there was supposed to be an exodus of players from the game.
Its not like they are 'introducing them' gum shields have been about for years,anyone who wanted to wear one has always had the option, its the fact everyone is now being FORCED to wear one i have the issue with.
Obviously we will have to get on with it and wear one, there is now no choice, but that doesn't mean everyone has to agree with it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2014, 09:48:51 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 22, 2014, 09:40:33 AM
I think I asked this before, but I'm not sure if I got the answer. Is there not an element of concussion minimisation/prevention with the gumshield. Acting as a sort of buffer to belts in the jaw, chin?

As regards people dying from getting a belt in the head, MR2, I'm sure there were a couple. Mick Holden I think, the former Dub dual player died I think from getting a belt of a hurl on the temple.

As do footballers, Leitrim inter county footballer Phillip McGuinness after a blow to the head. But if the GAA can limit injuries at least then we'll be grand.

It's very simple, don't wear one and don't play, soccer lads have to wear shin pads, if you turn up at a game without them you can't play
Post by: theskull1 on January 22, 2014, 10:46:23 AM
So a 10 year old turns up for a big blitz but has lost his gumshield (kids ...you know what theyre like). His mentors let him play...its all about enjoyment right? A mentor from the other team notices he isnt wearing one and draws it to the attention of he officials that he shouldn't be playing and gets the young lad pulled to the sideline.

Which mentor do you side with?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2014, 11:03:23 AM
Serious question lads, how common are these dental injuries?
I have been playing senior club football for about 16 years and can only think of one incident were a player suffers a broken tooth in all that time.
I have coached underage for quite a few years and have never seen a child suffer any sort of injury like that.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on January 22, 2014, 11:09:05 AM
Have any of ye giving out about mouthguards ever wore one or ever had a mouth injury?

They will help to prevent injury (meaning you won't be missing games unneccessary).
If you ever get a tooth knocked out you are talking thousands€/£ to get an implant.
Post by: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 11:12:47 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on January 22, 2014, 10:46:23 AM
So a 10 year old turns up for a big blitz but has lost his gumshield (kids ...you know what theyre like). His mentors let him play...its all about enjoyment right? A mentor from the other team notices he isnt wearing one and draws it to the attention of he officials that he shouldn't be playing and gets the young lad pulled to the sideline.

If they turned up for a hurling blitz without a helmet would you let them play? For kids, a club could buy a few cheap ones to give to kids who have forgotten them. Anyway they've been compulsory for kids for a year now and I haven't heard of any issues.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2014, 11:14:05 AM

Same thing Skull, kids turns up with no helmet he can't play. Mentors/parents/players are all responsible for this, it's like going to a hurling match and forgeting stick/boots. It's crap on the kid but he'll not forget it again. I'd say most parents are for protecting their kids so they'll have no problem in ensuring their kids have the gumshield.

Was there a time years ago that juveniles had gumshields? I remember one or two times wearing one
Post by: smort on January 22, 2014, 11:14:10 AM
When considering gumshields for underage players, how many will they need during their playing careers if they play right up to adult level? I'm sure their mouths/teeth are continuing to grow and develop from 10 right up til 18/19. They would need a new gumshield every couple of years.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2014, 11:15:39 AM
Quote from: smort on January 22, 2014, 11:14:10 AM
When considering gumshields for underage players, how many will they need during their playing careers if they play right up to adult level? I'm sure their mouths/teeth are continuing to grow and develop from 10 right up til 18/19. They would need a new gumshield every couple of years.

You should train as a dentist now, be a fair bit of money in it with the gumshields!!!! ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Post by: smort on January 22, 2014, 11:18:13 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2014, 11:15:39 AM
Quote from: smort on January 22, 2014, 11:14:10 AM

You should train as a dentist now, be a fair bit of money in it with the gumshields!!!! ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Unfortunately it is a bit late for that. And i think there was plenty of money in dentistry before this
Post by: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 11:18:40 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2014, 11:03:23 AM
Serious question lads, how common are these dental injuries?
I have been playing senior club football for about 16 years and can only think of one incident were a player suffers a broken tooth in all that time.
I have coached underage for quite a few years and have never seen a child suffer any sort of injury like that.

I had a child lose a nice chunk of a front tooth after he clashed with the head of another kid and this was probably the fourth or fifth game he ever played. I think this is a fairly small change for people and will prevent dental injuries, some serious, over the years.
Post by: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 11:21:34 AM
Gum shields won't add a whole lot to the cost of a kid playing football. They don't need a particularly expensive one until they've stopped developing
Post by: johnneycool on January 22, 2014, 11:31:47 AM
Quote from: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 11:12:47 AM

If they turned up for a hurling blitz without a helmet would you let them play? For kids, a club could buy a few cheap ones to give to kids who have forgotten them. Anyway they've been compulsory for kids for a year now and I haven't heard of any issues.

You'd always have a few spare helmets around when coaching youngsters as no doubt one will turn up without one. I'd always a spare helmet with an adult team and it got plenty of use as the morons regularly turned up forgetting it or if someone got one damaged during a game.

Hygiene wise I'm not so sure you could be holding onto a few 'communal' gumshields though.

Use a bit of orange peel instead  ;D
Post by: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 12:28:58 PM
Ah no, I don't mean communal ones, though if washed properly afterwards I'm sure there'd be no issue. However, I was thinking of buying 20 cheap ones and if you have a kid without one their parents would have to buy it for £2 (for example). This way the club isn't out much, if anything, but a kid can still play. I don't think it's a major issue though as kids love to have the club gear and if you got club gum shields they'd sell like hot cakes.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2014, 12:37:03 PM
Quote from: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 12:28:58 PM
Ah no, I don't mean communal ones, though if washed properly afterwards I'm sure there'd be no issue. However, I was thinking of buying 20 cheap ones and if you have a kid without one their parents would have to buy it for £2 (for example). This way the club isn't out much, if anything, but a kid can still play. I don't think it's a major issue though as kids love to have the club gear and if you got club gum shields they'd sell like hot cakes.

They'll have them in the club colours and as long as everyone wears them then there should be no problem, it will at the very least cut down on the verbal abuse to the referees, will auditable abuse lol
Post by: theskull1 on January 22, 2014, 01:09:52 PM

If I was at the blitz and couldn't find a helmet for him, I would ask around for a lend of one or possibly see if his team mates might share theirs with him (when they're on the line). He wouldn't play without one. Would you not agree though comparing a hurling helmet with a gumshield is not a like for like comparison. 

Personally believe this rule if it is to be imposed, should be encouraged for all ages but only made mandatory for U16s and up when the physicality moves up a fair notch.

More need of a hurling helmet for a youngster learning the game. Never seen teeth being spat out at a juvenile football match yet, so don't see where the necessity is to drive this so hard across ALL agegroups.

The whole notion that an under 10 coach is going to arrive at a venue with additional gumshields with him and a kettle and bowl to fit them is stretching it. BTW a lot of pitches don't have a power source within easy access. Should he bring a flask?

You didn't answer my question BTW. Is it fair to assume you'd side with the mentor who gets the attention of the officials to get an U10 off the pitch?

Post by: Tony Baloney on January 22, 2014, 01:15:33 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 22, 2014, 11:31:47 AM

You'd always have a few spare helmets around when coaching youngsters as no doubt one will turn up without one. I'd always a spare helmet with an adult team and it got plenty of use as the morons regularly turned up forgetting it or if someone got one damaged during a game.

Hygiene wise I'm not so sure you could be holding onto a few 'communal' gumshields though.

Use a bit of orange peel instead  ;D
Or a well chewed piece of Hubba Bubba does the trick.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2014, 01:45:40 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on January 22, 2014, 01:09:52 PM

If I was at the blitz and couldn't find a helmet for him, I would ask around for a lend of one or possibly see if his team mates might share theirs with him (when they're on the line). He wouldn't play without one. Would you not agree though comparing a hurling helmet with a gumshield is not a like for like comparison. 

Personally believe this rule if it is to be imposed, should be encouraged for all ages but only made mandatory for U16s and up when the physicality moves up a fair notch.

More need of a hurling helmet for a youngster learning the game. Never seen teeth being spat out at a juvenile football match yet, so don't see where the necessity is to drive this so hard across ALL agegroups.

The whole notion that an under 10 coach is going to arrive at a venue with additional gumshields with him and a kettle and bowl to fit them is stretching it. BTW a lot of pitches don't have a power source within easy access. Should he bring a flask?

You didn't answer my question BTW. Is it fair to assume you'd side with the mentor who gets the attention of the officials to get an U10 off the pitch?

Which hat will I put on? As a referee I have to been seen to enforce the rules, As a mentor (if managed under12's for years) I'd say it's tough but he'll not play as in the unlikely event that this happens to be the time that the lad does loose a tooth or worse ends up running into a post and breaks a jaw who do I answer too? The parents for allowing the child to play? The county board for allowing him to play and then the club for allowing him to play? If I get back into taking kids teams again I won't be allowing any players to play without a gumshield in, tournament or not, my own girls play hockey every week, they have to and wear them without any fuss. I really fail to see the problem.

As for your question, if it's brought to my attention as a referee then I have to act on that, I would be failing in my duty of care  to the player in question by not requesting him to get a gumshield in, is this Health and Safety gone mad? probably. You can bet your bottom dollar that if I let one player off with not wearing one they all will and there will be a text from someone at Casement that they heard about it. The question was brought up the other night at the referee course, that's what we have to adhere to.
Post by: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 02:03:54 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on January 22, 2014, 01:09:52 PM

I'm pretty certain you can get gum shields that you simply wear, they're not great and probably quite uncomfortable but you don't need hot water or anything you just put them in your mouth and away you go.

I think it is worth enforcing it at all age groups as it will be the norm for everybody in a short time this way. If you only start to enforce it at U16 then you'll have issues at 16 that could have been sorted when the person was 6.

I agree that helmets and gum shields are at opposite ends of the safety spectrum but they are still part of the same issue - player safety and I really don't see why it is a major problem to have everyone wear them.

On your question, I would turn like to see a bit of common sense applied and let the lad play but if any of my kids repeatedly failed to bring a gum shield then I wouldn't play him/her myself. I've told our kids it is compulsory to wear them at training so it becomes habit and they get used to wearing them. If they arrive without one they can still train but I'll remind them that they need to bring it in future.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2014, 02:07:00 PM
It just seems to me to be an unnecessary rule brought in to solve a problem we didn't really have.
It could quite easily have been left as it was, if you were worried about getting a dental injury, you wore a gum shield.
If you didn't think it was that big of a risk and preferred not to wear one, (most players probably fell into this category) you could not wear one-  personal choice.
Post by: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 02:30:04 PM
But if you had every tooth in your head knocked out playing football you'd expect the GAA insurance scheme to cover it would you not? If there is something that could help the GAA reduce it's insurance premium by players wearing gum shields then I'm all for it
Post by: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2014, 02:39:15 PM
Quote from: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 02:30:04 PM
But if you had every tooth in your head knocked out playing football you'd expect the GAA insurance scheme to cover it would you not? If there is something that could help the GAA reduce it's insurance premium by players wearing gum shields then I'm all for it
So thats the issue then, insurance?
Why not get anyone who doesnt want to wear a gumsheild to sign an exemption form that any dental injuries they incur while not wearing a gumsheild aren't covered? (which is what they are saying at the minute now anyway)
Anyway, as i said, of all the injuries i've had and seen players get in gaelic football, dental ones aren't very high on the list.
Post by: theskull1 on January 22, 2014, 02:39:52 PM
Rules are rules so you have to apply them seems to be the order of the day.......very sheepish attitude lads

Leave that to the suits will youse  :-\

As others are saying, parents/players should be informed of the options out there to make our games safer for their wee johnny and help provide them with access to purchase the right gear if that's what they would like for their lad. For every 1000 lads wearing a gumshield, one or two *might save a tooth over their career. Let people decide themselves would be my view

With this type of subservience to health and safety mad officials,  we're not too far away from shin guards and padded gloves in hurling. Rubber headed hurls for seniors even.  :-\

*might .... does anyone really know if the cheap and nasty shop bought gumshields are fit for purpose? Ive also seen one person wearing a dentist fitted gumshield lose their front 2. They were easy found though .   
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 22, 2014, 02:47:39 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on January 22, 2014, 02:39:52 PM
Rules are rules so you have to apply them seems to be the order of the day.......very sheepish attitude lads

Leave that to the suits will youse  :-\

As others are saying, parents/players should be informed of the options out there to make our games safer for their wee johnny and help provide them with access to purchase the right gear if that's what they would like for their lad. For every 1000 lads wearing a gumshield, one or two *might save a tooth over their career. Let people decide themselves would be my view

With this type of subservience to health and safety mad officials,  we're not too far away from shin guards and padded gloves in hurling. Rubber headed hurls for seniors even.  :-\

*might .... does anyone really know if the cheap and nasty shop bought gumshields are fit for purpose? Ive also seen one person wearing a dentist fitted gumshield lose their front 2. They were easy found though .

(https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSPvdmym5d_-gKHbu2zfgydHU339aHKfYkY-ffE_Y9YIeTHUc2hGg)
Post by: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 02:52:25 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on January 22, 2014, 02:39:15 PM
Quote from: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 02:30:04 PM
So thats the issue then, insurance?
Why not get anyone who doesnt want to wear a gumsheild to sign an exemption form that any dental injuries they incur while not wearing a gumsheild aren't covered? (which is what they are saying at the minute now anyway)
Anyway, as i said, of all the injuries i've had and seen players get in gaelic football, dental ones aren't very high on the list.

I'm speculating on the reasons but reducing insurance premiums is no bad thing would you not agree? As MR2 said, his girls have to wear them playing hockey and while they might be more necessary in that sport I really fail to see what the issue is here unless you're just very keen on freedom of choice!
Post by: Rossfan on January 22, 2014, 03:02:23 PM
Quote from: Zulu on January 22, 2014, 02:52:25 PM
I really fail to see what the issue is here unless you're just very keen on freedom of choice!
Ahhh ..... it's the usual crowd who think HQ shouldn't make any rules or if they do they shouldn't apply them or expect "us" to apply them. :-[
Post by: Christmas Lights on April 18, 2014, 10:44:44 AM
Kept the gumshield in the sock for the whole game last week  8)

Hoping to do the same tomorrow  ;D

Tried to wear it but it was making me gag so I just put it in the sock.  Anyone having any difficulites addopting to gumshields if you have never worn one previously? 
Post by: Stall the Bailer on April 18, 2014, 11:42:28 AM
Trying wearing it at training to get used to it. Even it is only for a warm up or a jog.
Post by: INDIANA on April 18, 2014, 12:51:33 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on April 18, 2014, 10:44:44 AM

Tried to wear it but it was making me gag so I just put it in the sock.  Anyone having any difficulites addopting to gumshields if you have never worn one previously?

very few wearing them. Saw a club game recently in dublin and I reckon 20 lads weren't wearing them
Post by: supersarsfields on April 18, 2014, 01:20:37 PM
Just stick a slice of orange in at the start of the game.
Post by: grounded on April 18, 2014, 05:16:35 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on April 18, 2014, 10:44:44 AM

Was the guard made by a dentist or a pre fabricated boil in hot water type? In my experience those guards made by dentists/dental lab tend to have a superior fit and are therefore easier to wear as they tend not to move around after fitting initially. A poorly fitting guard will tend to move around the mouth restricting airflow when breathing as well as being uncomfortable to wear.  The guard should also be rinsed before and after use and stored in a hard container so as not to be deformed as this would affect the fit. I would also periodically leave in a mild disinfectant 1-2 hours. Like some of the other posters stated try wearing the guard at home/training to get used to it. During a match if you are really struggling for breath, take the guard out during a break in the match to fill the lungs.

Post by: Under Lights on April 22, 2014, 07:44:30 AM
Haven't wore it yet in the first two games. f**k the system.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 07, 2015, 02:34:36 PM
Is this role supposed to  be in force yet (not obvious in  the Down/Derry  match)?
Post by: Fuzzman on July 04, 2016, 03:37:28 PM
Was watching the Kerry v Tipp game yesterday and saw a sub coming on and right away he tucked his gumshield into his socks. Have noticed a lot of players don't seem to be wearing them at intercounty level.

Have the refs relaxed this rule or just not noticing?
At club level is it being adhered to?
Post by: johnneycool on July 04, 2016, 03:48:56 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 04, 2016, 03:37:28 PM
Was watching the Kerry v Tipp game yesterday and saw a sub coming on and right away he tucked his gumshield into his socks. Have noticed a lot of players don't seem to be wearing them at intercounty level.

Well if they get the teeth bucked out of them I presume they're not insured and will have to pick up the tab..

Maybe the GPA should put out a directive to their members on this.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 04, 2016, 04:58:13 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 04, 2016, 03:48:56 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 04, 2016, 03:37:28 PM

Well if they get the teeth bucked out of them I presume they're not insured and will have to pick up the tab..

Maybe the GPA should put out a directive to their members on this.

Have a cousin a dentist and I had the 2 nephews in getting mouthguards a few months back  and she was telling me about a lad who had come in with a mouth injury from a game - he was asking her what to put down on the insurance form, she helped him out in how to word it but she said she'd be very surprised if he managed to get the GAA insurance to cover it because it was something that wouldn't have happened if he'd been wearing a gumshield. Must ask her if she heard back what happened in the end.

She said the number of GAA mouth injuries are definitely down from before it was made compulsory.

At club level I think it varies hugely depending on the ref - I have seen refs warn players at the start of a game and I have seen a card given (that was a short while after it came it) I think underage tend to be very good at following it (the lads just see it as a bit of safety kit) but I think there are definitely a strong number of older players flouting it.

The GPA/GAA could do with a reminder campaign alright.

Post by: Lar Naparka on July 04, 2016, 10:52:19 PM
I can't understand why anyone would not wear a gumshield.
A puck in the gob or an elbow in the jaw could result  a mouthful of broken teeth or in extreme cases, concussion. Without the shield, the shock would pass up through the teeth to the skull and that could spell trouble.
The fact that it doesn't happen on a regular basis is no excuse for not wearing one. It's like sayng, 'Stuff house insurance, I haven't had a break in since I took out a policy so what's the need to have one if you don't need it?'
Post by: Christmas Lights on July 04, 2016, 11:55:32 PM
Over 2 years since I started this thread and I haven't worn a gum shield yet   8)

Lar naparka, reasons for not wearing a gum shield

- they make me gag
- they are ugly looking, makes one look like bubba from Forrest Gump
- they restrict the intake of O2
- I don't want to be one of those guys who pulls out his gum shield every break in play only to see a trail of slabbers follow from the mouth, disgusting.

Into the sock she goes every game
Post by: smort on July 05, 2016, 08:17:25 AM
I don't even bother taking mine out of the kit bag. When the rule first came in I had it in the sock, ready to put it in if a referee said anything, but I don't even bother with that anymore. Haven't been pulled on it yet and have yet to see anyone being pulled on it.
Post by: themac_23 on July 05, 2016, 08:47:39 AM
Strange that you boys are getting away with it for so long. Seems to be something referees in Antrim come down pretty hard on, I've seen plenty of players booked/ ordered off for gum shield offences, even a game i was at a few weeks ago a fella got put off until he had one, his team mates seemed pretty p*ssed off that he wasn't wearing one, seems most players in Antrim now wear one. i think maybe referees are looking out for number one in that regard. Maybe MR2 can shed some light, are the Antrim Referee committee maybe more pro active in keeping referees on the ball about gum shields?

Agree though, at IC level I've noticed very very few players wearing them.
Post by: Canalman on July 05, 2016, 10:11:20 AM
Referees here in Dublin from what I see would remind lads to wear them. Was at a game where one lad didn't have one and the ref pulled him up on it. He had to be substituted and sat out most of the game on the sideline.

Seem to be lots of guys with them in their socks.

Lunacy imo not to wear one. If hurlers can adapt to the faceguard no reason a club footballer can't handle a gumshield.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 05, 2016, 10:38:13 AM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on July 04, 2016, 11:55:32 PM
Over 2 years since I started this thread and I haven't worn a gum shield yet   8)

Lar naparka, reasons for not wearing a gum shield

- they make me gag
- they are ugly looking, makes one look like bubba from Forrest Gump
- they restrict the intake of O2
- I don't want to be one of those guys who pulls out his gum shield every break in play only to see a trail of slabbers follow from the mouth, disgusting.

Into the sock she goes every game
I pay house insurance and I hope to god I never have to use it, same as car insurance and travel cover.
I know it's fairly long odds that I'll ever need to make a claim against any of them  but I still think it's worthwhile paying both premiums just in case....
I'll gladly hand over the payments for the rest of my life and I'm hoping it will be dead money. In other words, I don't want to ever have to make a claim but it.
I have seen players getting teeth knocked out and I have seen others getting concussed following a blow to the chin. If any of those involved had been wearing gumshields, the damage would have been less severe.
IMO, getting used to wearing one is better any day than having to get used to wearing a set of falsies .
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 05, 2016, 12:36:25 PM
Have worn won since I saw the damage done years ago to a fellow not wearing one. Definitely a clamp down on it in Dublin as Canalman says. Yellows given and lads having to borrow some from subs. If I was a ref and I heard someone mouthing the first thing I'd be checking was if he was wearing a mouth guard, near impossible to talk with them in.
Post by: Karl Kennedy on September 05, 2018, 06:29:00 PM
Does anyone know what the best gumshield for children for GAA? Don't want to go through dentist as will grow out of it quickly so prefer to stick to a boil and bite one.
Post by: StephenC on September 05, 2018, 08:42:21 PM
Quote from: Karl Kennedy on September 05, 2018, 06:29:00 PM
Does anyone know what the best gumshield for children for GAA? Don't want to go through dentist as will grow out of it quickly so prefer to stick to a boil and bite one.

I've found Makura to be the best. Easy to trim as necessary also.